Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

9/12/2010 - OLD SAYBROOK, CT
HEATER/AC BLOWER MOTOR WIRING MELTS CAUSING FAILURE OF DEFROSTER, HEATER, A/C, PREMATURE FAILURE OF BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR, ETC. THIS MAY EVEN CAUSE A FIRE IF THE WIRES HAPPEN TO BE TOUCHING COMBUSTIBLES IN THE PASSENGER FOOTWELL WHEN THEY MELT. DODGE HAS RELEASED A KIT TO REPAIR THIS EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM. SEE MOPAR # 5017124AC. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL, NOT A FIX OFFERED AT OWNER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE: 1. WINDSHIELD MAY FOG UP REDUCING VISIBILITY AND LEADING TO ACCIDENT. 2. WIRING GETS HOT ENOUGH TO MELT INSULATION AND CONNECTOR AND COULD EASILY CAUSE A FIRE IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/4/2010 - ELBRIDGE, NY
THE CLOCK SPRING ON MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA IS BAD. THIS CONTROLS THE AIR BAG AND HORN. THE HORN IS REQUIRED FOR NYS INSPECTION. THIS PART IS NOT CURRENTLY AVAILABLE UNTIL NOVEMBER. IN THE MEAN TIME, I HAVE NO DRIVER AIR BAG AND A VEHICLE I CAN'T GET INSPECTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

8/2/2010 - FEDERAL, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR FACILITY FOR AN ALIGNMENT WHEN THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE SEVERELY WORN TO THE POINT WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM AN ALIGNMENT. THE LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE CAUSING THE TIRES TO WEAR UNEVENLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 97,700.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2010 - SEDALIA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE ATTEMPTING A TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE CONTACT HAD TO UTILIZE EXTREME BODILY FORCE IN ORDER TO MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO TEMPORARILY REPAIR THE VEHICLE BY LUBRICATING THE UNIVERSAL JOINT. HE STATED HE WOULD HAVE TO SPRAY THE UNIVERSAL JOINT EVERY 1,500 TO 2,000 MILES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 165,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2010 - ALLIANCE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE DASHBOARD AREA. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE RESISTOR THAT CONTROLS THE HEATER AND BLOWER HAD OVERHEATED, BURNED AND FAILED. THE CONTACT INSTALLED A NEW RESISTOR HOWEVER, IT ALSO BURNED AND FAILED. HE PURCHASED A NEW RESISTOR AND CONTACTED THE DEALER WHO ADVISED HIM THAT THEY WERE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE RESISTOR AND THAT IT WOULD CONTINUE TO FAIL AT A RAPID PACE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED HAVING THE DEALER PERFORM DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AT HIS EXPENSE. THE CONTACT DECLINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED AND THE NEW RESISTOR WAS NOT INSTALLED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

5/18/2010 - LARGO, FL
I OWN 2 DODGE/CHRYSLER PRODUCTS, IN THE 6 YEARS I HAVE HAD THESE CARS I HAVE HAD TO REPAIR THE ELECTRIC WINDOW CABLES 9 TIMES AT A COST OF $250.00 EACH TIME. I HAVE ASKED THE LOCAL DEALERS WHY THEY KEEP BREAKING AND I AM TOLD THAT THEY USE PLASTIC PIECES THAT DON'T HOLD UP. THESE PRODUCTS ARE SUPPOSED TO CARRY A LIFETIME WARRANTY WHICH NONE OF THE DEALERS WILL HONOR. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. I SPOKE TO THE MECHANIC IN MY HOME TOWN AND HE SAID THEY REPLACE AT LEAST 5 TO 6 OF THESE CABLES A DAY. WHY IS CHRYSLER ALLOWED TO USE THESE PRODUCTS WITH NO CONSEQUENCES? THE SAFETY ISSUE IS THE CABLES SNAP WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING AND THE WINDOWS FALL DOWN INTO THE TRACKS. IF YOU ARE IN BAD WEATHER YOU HAVE NO CHANCE OF FIXING THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. HOW CAN I GO ABOUT GETTING CHRYSLER TO RECALL THESE PRODUCTS AND MAKE THERE SUPPLIER ACCOUNTABLE? THINK ABOUT DRIVING ALONG AND YOUR WINDOW JUST FALLING DOWN TO THE TRACK AND THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT. NO LOCKING YOUR CAR FOR SAFETY, NO PROTECTING YOURSELF FROM THE ELEMENTS, NO WAY TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT SHELL OUT MORE MONEY FOR A PRODUCT THAT WILL ALWAYS FAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

STEERING

3/15/2010 - SALEM, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN WHEN THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED WITH CAUTION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE STEERING WHEELS INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. THE FAILURE RESULTED IN PREMATURE WEAR TO THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. THE PART WAS ORDERED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHICH THERE WAS NO RESOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2010 - WEDGEFIELD, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE DRIVER STATED THAT HE WAS DRIVING 40 MPH THROUGH A GREEN LIGHT WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE PULLED IN FRONT OF HIM AND CRASHED INTO HIS VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CENTER AND THE RIGHT SIDE OF HIS VEHICLE WERE DESTROYED. THE FRONT END AND THE FRAME WAS REPLACED. THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER WERE INJURED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 78,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/28/2010 - WARWICK, RI
MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA HAS STEERING PROBLEMS. AFTER TAKING IT TO A DODGE DEALER AND LEAVING IT FOR TWO DAYS THEY ARE UNABLE TO TELL ME WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THE VEHICLE IS VERY HARD TO STEER. FLUID IS NOT LEAKING, I HAVE DAYS THAT THE STEERING IS BETTER THAN OTHER DAYS..BUT FOR THE MOST PART THE STEERING IS GETTING HARDER EVERYDAY. I FEEL THAT IT IS GETTING VERY UNSAFE TO DRIVE,YET I CANNOT GET AN ANSWER TO WHAT IS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET AND THIS FORUM, I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHER 2004 DAKOTA OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. INFACT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE 2000 TO 2003 DAKOTAS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. YET THE 2004 HAS THE SAME STEERING DESIGN. I THINK THE 2004 DAKOTA SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. PLEASE HELP!! AS I CAN'T SEEM TO GET ANY ANSWERS TO WHAT IS CAUSING THIS STEERING PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2010 - CARLISLE, PA
I HAVE A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB 4X4 WITH THE MAGNUM ENGINE. IT HAS ROUGHLY 59,000 MILES ON IT. SOMETIME WITHIN THE PAST 3,000 MILES THE STEERING BEGAN TO GET STIFF. IT WAS A GRADUAL THING, SLOWLY GETTING WORSE UNTIL NOW I'M CONCERNED ABOUT IT FROM A SAFETY STANDPOINT. THE EXACT SYMPTOMS AT THIS POINT ARE THAT THE STEERING WILL GET STIFF THEN SMOOTH THEN STIFF THEN SMOOTH, DEPENDING ON THE POSITION OF THE WHEEL DURING A TURN. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM ONLINE FOR THIS PARTICULAR MODEL AND YEAR, IT IS APPARENTLY EITHER THE UPPER OR LOWER U-JOINT ON THE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE NOT CONFIRMED THIS, BUT WANTED TO LEND MY WEIGHT TO THE OBVIOUSLY HUGE NUMBER OF DODGE DAKOTA/DURANGO OWNERS WHO HAVE HAD THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds