Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/7/2010 - BRANDYWINE , MD
ON FEBRUARY 5, 2010 AT APPROXIMATELY SIX PM ON MY WAY TO WORK I WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION. DUE TO THE SNOW ON THE ROAD I WAS NOT ABLE TO CONTROL MY VEHICLE, THUS LEADING TO THE ACCIDENT. THE FRONT AIRBAGS IN MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA DID NOT DEPLOY. THE OTHER VEHICLE INVOLVED IN THE ACCIDENT A HONDA CRV THEIR FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THAT CHRYSLER HAS HAD PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH AIRBAGS FAILING TO DEPLOY, THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND I WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK WITH A REPRESENTATIVE TO DISCUSS HOW THIS SITUATION CAN BE HANDLED.

View Details

STEERING

12/22/2009 - HOPEWELL, VA
I HAVE READ SO MANY OF THESE SAME ISSUES THAT I AM HAVING WITH MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE STEERING IS LOCKING UP AND VERY HARD TO TURN. I'VE TAKEN IT INTO A DEALERSHIP 3 TIMES NOW, AND THEY HAVE REPLACED POWER STEERING PUMP, CHECKED MY RACK AND PINION, AND ALL OTHER OPTIONS AND THE PROBLEM IS STILL OCCURRING. VERY SCARY. JUST HAD A BABY AND DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT WHERE NO ONE KNOWS WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I HAVE READ UP SO MANY OF THESE SAME COMPLAINTS AND THEY ARE ALL THE SAME AS WHAT I AM EXPERIENCING. THERE HAS GOT TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. VERY HARD TO TURN WHEEL AND GO STIFF LOOSE STIFF LOOSE. PLEASE ADVISE. THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

12/11/2009 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I PURCHASED A NEW 2004 DODGE DAKOTA PICKUP IN 2004. EVERY YEAR FOR INSPECTION, I HAVE NEEDED SEVERAL BALL JOINTS REPLACED. I WAS TOLD THIS PAST YEAR THAT I WAS REALLY CLOSE TO HAVING THE BALL JOINTS COMPLETELY BREAK OFF, WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME, ESPECIALLY SINCE THEY HAVE NEEDED REPLACED EVERY YEAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

12/11/2009 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I PURCHASED A NEW 2004 DODGE DAKOTA PICKUP IN 2004. EVERY YEAR FOR INSPECTION, I HAVE NEEDED SEVERAL BALL JOINTS REPLACED. I WAS TOLD THIS PAST YEAR THAT I WAS REALLY CLOSE TO HAVING THE BALL JOINTS COMPLETELY BREAK OFF, WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME, ESPECIALLY SINCE THEY HAVE NEEDED REPLACED EVERY YEAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY

11/16/2009 - GRAFTON, WV
MY SON WAS ON HIS WAY TO THE DOCTOR FOR AN INJECTION IN HIS 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH, HE TURNED ON THE PARKING LIGHTS AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS CAME ON ALL BY THEMSELVES. HE HAD NOT TURNED ON THE WINDSHIELD WIPER SWITCH. HE STOPPED THE TRUCK AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. ASSUMING THAT IT WAS A TEMPORARY GLITCH IN THE SYSTEM HE STARTED THE ENGINE AGAIN AND TURNED ON THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM. AT THAT TIME THE ENTIRE LIGHTING SYSTEM WENT CRAZY. THE HEADLIGHTS BEGAN FLASHING ON AND OFF, THE EMERGENCY WARNING SYSTEM BEGAN TO WORK AND THE DIRECTIONAL LIGHTS BEGAN TO BLINK ON THEIR OWN. BETWEEN FLASHES OF THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS A DIRECTIONAL LIGHT WOULD ELIMINATE. AGAIN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BEGAN TO OPERATE ON THEIR OWN AGAIN. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON A BUSY HIGHWAY AFTER DARK. WE ARE WAITING TO GET A DEALER TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM AT THIS TIME. AGAIN THIS COULD HAVE HAD A DISASTROUS ENDING IF HE HAD BEEN DRIVING AFTER DARK AND ON A BUSY HIGHWAY OR STREET.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/16/2009 - GRAFTON, WV
MY SON WAS ON HIS WAY TO THE DOCTOR FOR AN INJECTION IN HIS 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH, HE TURNED ON THE PARKING LIGHTS AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS CAME ON ALL BY THEMSELVES. HE HAD NOT TURNED ON THE WINDSHIELD WIPER SWITCH. HE STOPPED THE TRUCK AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. ASSUMING THAT IT WAS A TEMPORARY GLITCH IN THE SYSTEM HE STARTED THE ENGINE AGAIN AND TURNED ON THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM. AT THAT TIME THE ENTIRE LIGHTING SYSTEM WENT CRAZY. THE HEADLIGHTS BEGAN FLASHING ON AND OFF, THE EMERGENCY WARNING SYSTEM BEGAN TO WORK AND THE DIRECTIONAL LIGHTS BEGAN TO BLINK ON THEIR OWN. BETWEEN FLASHES OF THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS A DIRECTIONAL LIGHT WOULD ELIMINATE. AGAIN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BEGAN TO OPERATE ON THEIR OWN AGAIN. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON A BUSY HIGHWAY AFTER DARK. WE ARE WAITING TO GET A DEALER TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM AT THIS TIME. AGAIN THIS COULD HAVE HAD A DISASTROUS ENDING IF HE HAD BEEN DRIVING AFTER DARK AND ON A BUSY HIGHWAY OR STREET.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/21/2009 - LOWELL, IN
I OWN A 2004 DAKOTA QUAD 4X4 WITH 78K MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT THE TRUCK NEW AND HAVE TAKEN CARE OF IT. MOST OF THE MILES ARE HIGHWAY AND IT HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN OFF ROAD. SINCE ITS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY I GOT ONLINE TO RESEARCH A DIY SOLUTION. I FOUND THAT MANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD AND ARE HAVING ARE NOT JUST BEING EXPERIENCED BY MYSELF BUT OTHER DAKOTA OWNERS. 1) STEERING ISSUES THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES EXTREMELY HARD TO TURN AT TIMES BOTH GOING INTO AND COMING OUT OF A TURN. THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN FEB 2009 WITH 71K ON IT. IT IS MUCH MORE PREVALENT IN COLD WEATHER. I WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE THE TRUCK UNTIL THE WEATHER WARMED UP. (I HAVE NOT HAD THIS FIXED YET.) 2) BRAKE ISSUES 27K I HAD TO HAVE THE FRONT ROTORS AND THE REAR DRUMS TURNED AND NEW PADS AND SHOES INSTALLED AND HAD THE BRAKE FLUID CHANGED. 46K I HAD TO HAVE NEW FRONT ROTORS AND PADS ALONG WITH THE BRAKE FLUID CHANGED 77K REAR BRAKES BEGAN MAKING NOISE. THE PARKING BRAKE PAD HAD FALLEN OFF. I NOW NEED NEW REAR DRUMS AND SHOES AND PARKING BRAKE SHOE. ( I HAVE NOT HAD THIS FIXED YET) 3)SUSPENSION 77K I NEED A FRONT UPPER BALL JOINT PROBABLY DUE TO EXCESS STRAIN FROM THE DEFECTIVE STEERING. ( I HAVE NOT HAD THIS FIXED YET).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/9/2009 - SUMMIT, NY
WHILE DRIVING, HEARD CLUNKING NOISE THAT SEEMED TO COME FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE APPEARED NORMAL, INCLUDING THE WHEELS. I CHECKED UNDER HOOD AND UNDER FRONT END AND FOUND NOTHING BROKEN, MISSING OR LEAKING AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL LATER FELL OFF WITH ALL STUDS SHEARED OFF. ALSO, ONE LUG NUT ON THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS MISSING AND SEVERAL OTHERS WERE FOUND TO BE LOOSE, WITH SEVERAL STUDS CRACKED. BOTH WHEELS HAD BEEN PROPERLY INSTALLED AND TIGHTEN SOME MONTHS EARLIER. TO CORRECT, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS REPLACED. ALL STUDS ON BOTH FRONT WHEELS AND ALL LUG NUTS WERE REPLACED. ALSO, THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS AND PADS WERE REPLACED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE FELL ONTO THE LEFT FRONT ROTOR.

View Details

WHEELS

9/9/2009 - SUMMIT, NY
WHILE DRIVING, HEARD CLUNKING NOISE THAT SEEMED TO COME FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE APPEARED NORMAL, INCLUDING THE WHEELS. I CHECKED UNDER HOOD AND UNDER FRONT END AND FOUND NOTHING BROKEN, MISSING OR LEAKING AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL LATER FELL OFF WITH ALL STUDS SHEARED OFF. ALSO, ONE LUG NUT ON THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS MISSING AND SEVERAL OTHERS WERE FOUND TO BE LOOSE, WITH SEVERAL STUDS CRACKED. BOTH WHEELS HAD BEEN PROPERLY INSTALLED AND TIGHTEN SOME MONTHS EARLIER. TO CORRECT, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS REPLACED. ALL STUDS ON BOTH FRONT WHEELS AND ALL LUG NUTS WERE REPLACED. ALSO, THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS AND PADS WERE REPLACED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE FELL ONTO THE LEFT FRONT ROTOR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/9/2009 - SUMMIT, NY
WHILE DRIVING, HEARD CLUNKING NOISE THAT SEEMED TO COME FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE APPEARED NORMAL, INCLUDING THE WHEELS. I CHECKED UNDER HOOD AND UNDER FRONT END AND FOUND NOTHING BROKEN, MISSING OR LEAKING AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL LATER FELL OFF WITH ALL STUDS SHEARED OFF. ALSO, ONE LUG NUT ON THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS MISSING AND SEVERAL OTHERS WERE FOUND TO BE LOOSE, WITH SEVERAL STUDS CRACKED. BOTH WHEELS HAD BEEN PROPERLY INSTALLED AND TIGHTEN SOME MONTHS EARLIER. TO CORRECT, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS REPLACED. ALL STUDS ON BOTH FRONT WHEELS AND ALL LUG NUTS WERE REPLACED. ALSO, THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS AND PADS WERE REPLACED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE FELL ONTO THE LEFT FRONT ROTOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds