Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/3/2009 - SALEM, NH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, STEERING WHEEL FELT A LITTLE LOOSE. LUCKILY ONLY WHILE BACKING INTO A PARKING SPOT - THE STEERING WHEEL FELL OFF INTO LAP. THE METAL BRACKET WAS CRACKED. CAR WAS BROUGHT TO A DEALERSHIP AND A NEW PART WAS ORDERED, CURRENTLY WAITING TO BE FIXED. DEALERSHIP DOES NOT SEEMED CONCERNED, NOR CAN THEY DETERMINE IF IT'S A MANUFACTURING DEFAULT. A CLAIM WAS STARTED WITH THE CHRYSLER CORPORATE OFFICE. WILL HAVE TO SEE IF RETRIBUTION WILL BE MADE. TRUCK HAS 125K MILES, HOWEVER REGULAR MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED. NO OTHER ISSUES OCCURRED PREVIOUSLY. A 9-MONTH PREGNANT WIFE AND HUSBAND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY. DODGE SHOULD INVESTIGATE BEFORE A TRAGIC ACCIDENT OR DEATH OCCURS.

View Details

WHEELS

1/3/2009 - SALEM, NH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, STEERING WHEEL FELT A LITTLE LOOSE. LUCKILY ONLY WHILE BACKING INTO A PARKING SPOT - THE STEERING WHEEL FELL OFF INTO LAP. THE METAL BRACKET WAS CRACKED. CAR WAS BROUGHT TO A DEALERSHIP AND A NEW PART WAS ORDERED, CURRENTLY WAITING TO BE FIXED. DEALERSHIP DOES NOT SEEMED CONCERNED, NOR CAN THEY DETERMINE IF IT'S A MANUFACTURING DEFAULT. A CLAIM WAS STARTED WITH THE CHRYSLER CORPORATE OFFICE. WILL HAVE TO SEE IF RETRIBUTION WILL BE MADE. TRUCK HAS 125K MILES, HOWEVER REGULAR MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED. NO OTHER ISSUES OCCURRED PREVIOUSLY. A 9-MONTH PREGNANT WIFE AND HUSBAND COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY. DODGE SHOULD INVESTIGATE BEFORE A TRAGIC ACCIDENT OR DEATH OCCURS.

View Details

STEERING

11/11/2008 - AMESBURY,MA, MA
I JUST READ ABOUT THE STEERING PROBLEMS BEING EXPERIENCED ON THE 2004 DODGE DAKOTA CLUB CAB MODELS. I HAVE TWICE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM . ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND ONCE AT MY OWN EXPENSE. THE STEERING JUST FREEZES UP AND THE WHEEL CANNOT BE TURNED WITH OUT A LOT OF EFFORT. WHEN YOU ROUND A CORNER, IT DOES NOT RECOVER AND YOU MUST TURN THE WHEEL BACK YOURSELF TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CONTINUE ON A STRAIGHT COURSE AFTER THE TURN. BOTH TIMES I WAS REQUIRED TO HAVE THE "MIDDLE STEERING SHAFT" REPLACED. APPARENTLY THERE IS A TOP,MIDDLE AND LOWER STEERING SHAFT AND BOTH TIMES AT DIFFERENT REPAIR FACILITIES IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS THE MIDDLE SHAFT THAT HAD FAILED. IT COMPLETELY FREEZES UP ON YOU.

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2008 - BETHLHEM, PA
2004 DODGE DAKOTA POWER STEERING GOES STIFF, LOOSE, STIFF, LOOSE, ETC. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING WRONG AND JUDGING BY THE COMPLAINTS I'VE RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET MANY MORE PEOPLE ARE DEALING WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. IT IS PUTTING PEOPLE+S LIVE IN DANGER AND A RECALL NEEDS TO BE ISSUES ASAP.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2008 - TAMPA, FL
1) NOTHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY, JUST REGULAR DRIVING 2) ITS VERY HARD TO STEER SOMETIMES, ITS LIKE STIFF-LOOSE-STIFF-LOOSE WHEN I TURN EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM AND GUYS ON DODGEFORUM.COM HAVE PINPOINTED THE PROBLEM BUT DEALERS WONT CHANGE THE PART, THEY WANT TO CHANGE THE POWER STEERING PUMP WHEN THE PROBLEM IS IN THE INTERMEDIATE ARM, ITS EXPENSIVE TO FIX AND WHY SHOULD WE PAY FOR A MANUFACTURER DEFECT? THE CONSEQUENCES UNFORTUNATELY CAN BE DEADLY. SOMETIMES ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER OR MAKE A QUICK TURN, IF SOMEONE CUTS YOU OFF AND YOU CANT TURN, WELL BAD THINGS CAN HAPPEN. 3)I CANNOT GET THE PART (INTERMEDIATE ARM) BECAUSE THEY ARE ON BACKORDER, COINCIDENCE??

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/8/2008 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND WAS TOWED TO THE DRIVER'S RESIDENCE. APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS LATER, THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT A NEW ENGINE WAS NEEDED DUE TO OIL SLUDGE BUILD UP. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 50,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

9/17/2008 - TINLEY PARK, IL
FROM THE VERY BEGINNING I KEPT HEARING NOISES FROM THE BRAKES AND FRONT END. THIS WAS GOING INTO THE 2ND YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. MY DODGE DAKOTA HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AT LEAST 15 TIMES FOR THE SAME THING. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE STEERING PARTS, SWAY BAR, BRAKES ROTORS, CALIBER AND STILL MAKE A A MOANING GROANING NOISE WHEN EVER I TURN OR GO OVER BUMPS.

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2008 - TINLEY PARK, IL
FROM THE VERY BEGINNING I KEPT HEARING NOISES FROM THE BRAKES AND FRONT END. THIS WAS GOING INTO THE 2ND YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. MY DODGE DAKOTA HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AT LEAST 15 TIMES FOR THE SAME THING. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE STEERING PARTS, SWAY BAR, BRAKES ROTORS, CALIBER AND STILL MAKE A A MOANING GROANING NOISE WHEN EVER I TURN OR GO OVER BUMPS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/17/2008 - TINLEY PARK, IL
FROM THE VERY BEGINNING I KEPT HEARING NOISES FROM THE BRAKES AND FRONT END. THIS WAS GOING INTO THE 2ND YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. MY DODGE DAKOTA HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AT LEAST 15 TIMES FOR THE SAME THING. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE STEERING PARTS, SWAY BAR, BRAKES ROTORS, CALIBER AND STILL MAKE A A MOANING GROANING NOISE WHEN EVER I TURN OR GO OVER BUMPS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/12/2008 - OLATHE, KS
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA SLT IS A PIECE OF CRAP. FIRST I HAD TO REPLACE THE VALVE BODY AT 53,000 MILES, NOW THE TORQUE CONVERTER TRIES TO LOCK TOO SOON (AT 30 MPH), WHICH RESULTS IN THE TRUCK SHUDDERING BETWEEN 30 AND 40 MPH. IT ONLY OCCURS UNDER LIGHT ACCELERATION. HEAVY ACCELERATION KEEPS THE CONVERTER FROM LOCKING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds