Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 839 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (71) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electrical System (203) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (230) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (3) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (253)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/27/2015 - DECATUR, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAS EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. SG

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2015 - SPRING, TX
I WAS NOTIFIED OF AN AIRBAG RECALL ON MY VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY 2 WEEKS AGO BUT THE LETTER INDICATED I COULD NOT CALL TO SCHEDULE MAINTANCE PRIOR TO 2/23. I STARTED CALLING FIRST THING THAT MONDAY. ALL 6 DEALERSHIPS I CONTACTED EITHER TAKE MY INFO AND SAY THEY WILL CALL ME BACK OR SAY THEY DON'T HAVE ANY PARTS TO CORRECT THE ISSUE AND I SHOULD CHECK BACK IN A COUPLE OF WEEKS. I HAVE RECEIVED NO RETURN PHONE CALLS FROM THE ONES THAT SAID THEY WILL GET BACK WITH ME. MY ONLY OPTION IS TO CONTINUE DRIVING A POSSIBLE DEATH TRAP FOR NO TELLING HOW LONG. NOT TO MENTION THERE'S BEEN THAT POSSIBILITY FOR THE LAST 11 YEARS. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V770000 (AIR BAGS)HOWEVER THE PARTS NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/19/2015 - COTTAGE GROVE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATE (SURGE FORWARD) WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE TO BE SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL OR THE IGNITION WOULD HAVE TO BE TURNED OFF IN ORDER TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/18/2015 - COTTAGE GROVE, OR
THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS RUNNING FINE THE EVENING BEFORE THIS ENGINE FAILURE, WAS PARKED OUTSIDE OVERNIGHT IN THE RAIN. THE NEXT MORNING THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND IMMEDIATELY STARTED MAKING LOUD MECHANICAL NOISES. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF IMMEDIATELY AND A PIECE OF THE ENGINE BLOCK WAS DISCOVERD ON THE FRAME AND A HOLE IN THE ENGINE BLOCK WAS NOTICED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - WICHITA, KS
AFTER A RAINSTORM, I WENT TO START MY VEHICLE AND IT WOULDN'T TURN OVER. THINKING IT WAS THE STARTER, I REPLACED THE STARTER AND VEHICLE STILL WOULD NOT START. AFTER MANUALLY ROTATING THE ENGINE BACK AND FORTH A FEW TIMES, THE ENGINE STARTED BUT THEN HAD A VERY LOUD ENGINE KNOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OFFICIALLY DIAGNOSED BY A MECHANIC BUT ALL INDICATIONS ARE THAT IT IS ENGINE ROD FAILURE DUE TO HYDROLOCK CONDITION. THIS IS SUPPORTED BY THE IDEA THAT THE ENGINE WOULD FREQUENTLY STALL DURING THE RAIN AND IN THE CAR WASH, AS MANY OTHERS HAVE REPORTED. IT HAD PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE OVER THE COURSE OF A YEAR UNTIL THIS HAPPENED. VEHICLE WAS SOLD AS-IS FOR REPAIR OR ENGINE REPLACEMENT FOR FRACTION OF RETAIL VALUE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2015 - EUREKA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL RATTLING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A HOLE BECAUSE THE ROD BLEW OUT OF THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2015 - MESQUITE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/9/2015 - INVERNESS, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds