Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 801 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (69) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electrical System (201) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (204) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (2) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - WESTBURY , NY
AFTER HEAVY RAINFALL, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO TOLD ME THAT THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN. NO PRECURSORS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, NOW WARNING SIGNS

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2014 - WHITNEY POINT , NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE RECURRED BUT ONLY WHEN IT RAINED. THE CONTACT PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING INDEPENDENTLY, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE BUT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE CONTACT LIFTED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. MF

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2014 - FRISCO, TX
VEHICLE DIES WHEN IT RAINS OR IF YOU GO THROUGH A CAR WASH. THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF AND ALL POWER IS LOST. THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN PROBLEM OF THIS VEHICLE, YET DODGE HAS DONE NOTHING FOR IT. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN IT SUDDENLY DIES IN TRAFFIC PLUS IT IS RAINING. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO SEVERAL DODGE DEALERS OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS, YET THEY CLAIM THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX IT EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN FOR IT, BUT NOT A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2014 - COSHOCTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER OR AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS WASHED. THE VEHICLE WOULD ONLY RESTART AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DRY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT WATER LEAKED INTO THE ENGINE AND SPARK PLUGS, WHICH CAUSED CORROSION. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
I WAS DRIVING AND ACCELERATED TO PASS A VEHICLE. AS I SLOWED DOWN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE, LIFTED THE HOOD, AND SAW A SLIGHT WISP OF SMOKE. I ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE WITHOUT SUCCESS. AS IT WAS BEING TOWED, I NOTICED OIL LEAKING FROM THE ENGINE. IN RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE, I'VE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AS FAR AS OIL CHANGES, ETC.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
WE PURCHASED OUR PRE-OWNED 2004 5.7 LIMITED EDITION IN JANUARY 2007. IT HAD AROUND 40,000 MILES. WITHIN A YEAR OR SO AFTER, THE CD CHANGER STOPPED WORKING, AND THEN THE RADIO WOULD SOMETIMES NOT WORK AFTER HEAVY RAIN. DURING A HEAVY DOWNPOUR THE CAR WOULD SHAKE AND SOMETIMES TURN-OFF, LEAVING ME AND 2 SMALL KIDS STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY UNTIL THE RAIN LIGHTENED ENOUGH FOR THE CAR TO START AGAIN. WHENEVER WE WOULD TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE REPAIRED FOR THIS PROBLEM, WE WERE ALWAYS TOLD THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG THAT WOULD CAUSE THOSE TYPES OF PROBLEMS, BUT WE HAD NUMEROUS REPAIRS THAT WE NOW THINK WERE PROBABLY RELATED TO THE WATER PROBLEM, SUCH AS A NEW STARTER, REPAIRS FOR A COOLANT LEAK,ETC. IN EARLY 2014 THE CAR BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH OVERHEATING. A FEW DAYS AFTER A TWO OR THREE DAY PERIOD OF NEAR CONSTANT RAIN I WENT TO START THE CAR AND IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS FLOODED OR SOMETHING. THEN THERE WAS A LONG BANG FOLLOWED BY A TERRIBLE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. HAD IT TOWED AND LOOKED AT BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS WHO SAID THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE BLOCK AND THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. I JUST RECENTLY DECIDED TO SEARCH THE INTERNET TO SEE IF ANY OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF POSTS BY CONSUMERS WHO HAD THIS VERY SAME THING HAPPEN TO THIS MODEL DODGE DURANGO. IT SEEMS APPROPRIATE FOR DODGE TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR THIS AND PAY US FOR THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS SPENT ON REPAIRS, TOWS, HAVING TO SIT DANGEROUSLY ON THE SIDE OF HIGHWAYS WHEN THE CAR WOULD TURN OF IN THE HEAVY RAIN, AND THE FACT THAT WE ENDED UP JUST HAVING TO JUNK OUR CAR FOR A FEW HUNDRED BUCKS AND WILL NOW HAVE TO PURCHASE A BRAND NEW CAR WE CANNOT AFFORD WHEN WE HAD JUST PAID THIS ONE OFF TWO YEARS PRIOR. THEY SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR BASICALLY SELLING CARS WITH DEFECTIVE COMPONENTS TO UNSUSPECTING BUYERS FOR TENS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS!!!

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - PERRY, OH
2004 DODGE DURANGO V8 HEMI. ORIGINAL OWNER. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW OFF OF THE LOT. MAINTENANCE PERFORMED AS SCHEDULED. LOUD BANGING NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT AREA, AFTER SITTING OVER THE WEEKEND. VEHICLE WOULD ALWAYS STALL/SPUTTER IN THE RAIN. RAIN OVER THE WEEKEND, WHEN I STARTED THE TRUCK UP ON SUNDAY MORNING, THERE WAS A BANG AND A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE. TOOK TIMING ASSEMBLY APART FOUND A BROKEN GUIDE PIN, WAS NOT THE ISSUE. APPEARS TO BE BLOWN ROD. ENGINE TOAST....AFTER LOOKING FOR ENGINE ONLINE I FIND THIS FORUM, WHY WON'T ANYONE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS? I'M GLAD MY WIFE AND CHILDREN WERE NOT DRIVING THIS WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2014 - BATTLE GREEK, MI
I DROVE THE TRUCK 2 DAYS AGO AND IT RAN FINE. YESTERDAY IT RAINED ALL DAY AND WHEN I WENT TO START IT TODAY IT STARTED BUT HAD VERY LOUD BANGING NOISES FROM THE ENGINE. I SHUT IT DOWN THEN RESTARTED AND THE NOISES WERE WORSE. I THEN GOT ONLINE AND DID SOME RESEARCH AND SAW THAT THIS EXACT ISSUE HAS PLAGUED LOTS OF PEOPLE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. I CANNOT AFFORD TO GET THIS FIXED AS I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED. I WAS GETTING READY TO GO ON A JOB INTERVIEW...IT IS HARD TO KNOW WHAT THE RESULTS WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2014 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THE SERVICE HORN ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WIRING HARNESS AND AIR BAG WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,866.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2014 - MILWAUKEE , WI
THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WE PULLED THE FUSE FOR THE HORN AND REPLACED IT THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WE THEN TOOK IT IN TO GRIFFIN HUB DODGE AND CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP. I WAS TOLD AT ONE POINT THAT THE RELAY FOR THE AIRBAGS WAS BAD. THEN THE SECOND TIME THAT I CALLED I WAS TOLD THE WIRING FOR THE AIR BAKE WAS BAD. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO A DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF I GET THE SAME ANSWER. HOWEVER IF THE WIRING TO THE AIRBAG IS BAD THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds