Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 795 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (69) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electrical System (201) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (198) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (2) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - PERRY, OH
2004 DODGE DURANGO V8 HEMI. ORIGINAL OWNER. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW OFF OF THE LOT. MAINTENANCE PERFORMED AS SCHEDULED. LOUD BANGING NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT AREA, AFTER SITTING OVER THE WEEKEND. VEHICLE WOULD ALWAYS STALL/SPUTTER IN THE RAIN. RAIN OVER THE WEEKEND, WHEN I STARTED THE TRUCK UP ON SUNDAY MORNING, THERE WAS A BANG AND A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE. TOOK TIMING ASSEMBLY APART FOUND A BROKEN GUIDE PIN, WAS NOT THE ISSUE. APPEARS TO BE BLOWN ROD. ENGINE TOAST....AFTER LOOKING FOR ENGINE ONLINE I FIND THIS FORUM, WHY WON'T ANYONE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS? I'M GLAD MY WIFE AND CHILDREN WERE NOT DRIVING THIS WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2014 - BATTLE GREEK, MI
I DROVE THE TRUCK 2 DAYS AGO AND IT RAN FINE. YESTERDAY IT RAINED ALL DAY AND WHEN I WENT TO START IT TODAY IT STARTED BUT HAD VERY LOUD BANGING NOISES FROM THE ENGINE. I SHUT IT DOWN THEN RESTARTED AND THE NOISES WERE WORSE. I THEN GOT ONLINE AND DID SOME RESEARCH AND SAW THAT THIS EXACT ISSUE HAS PLAGUED LOTS OF PEOPLE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. I CANNOT AFFORD TO GET THIS FIXED AS I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED. I WAS GETTING READY TO GO ON A JOB INTERVIEW...IT IS HARD TO KNOW WHAT THE RESULTS WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2014 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THE SERVICE HORN ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WIRING HARNESS AND AIR BAG WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,866.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2014 - MILWAUKEE , WI
THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WE PULLED THE FUSE FOR THE HORN AND REPLACED IT THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WE THEN TOOK IT IN TO GRIFFIN HUB DODGE AND CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP. I WAS TOLD AT ONE POINT THAT THE RELAY FOR THE AIRBAGS WAS BAD. THEN THE SECOND TIME THAT I CALLED I WAS TOLD THE WIRING FOR THE AIR BAKE WAS BAD. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO A DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF I GET THE SAME ANSWER. HOWEVER IF THE WIRING TO THE AIRBAG IS BAD THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER A RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/2/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE VEHICLE GOES INTO RANDOM 4 WHEEL DRIVE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE WHILE CHANGING LANES OR MAKING TURNS. THE 4 LOCK ,SVC 4WD AND 4 LO ALSO WILL RANDOMLY FLASH. CLEARLY, THERE ARE A LOT OF THE SAME REPORTED ISSUES. ITS FRUSTRATION TO KNOW OF A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE AND NO ONE WILL ADDRESS IT. SOME TYPE OF USER ADVISORY SHOULD BE ISSUED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - WOONSOCKET, RI
DURANGO WAS ALWAYS WELL MAINTAINED AND TAKEN CARE OF. OIL CHANGED EVERY 3,000 MILES. ONE MORNING I STARTED THE TRUCK AND THERE WAS A STRANGE TICKING NOISE. THE NIGHT BEFORE THE TRUCK RAN FINE AS USUAL. IT RAINED HEAVILY THAT NIGHT. I DID NOT USE THE TRUCK AT ALL FOR FEAR OF DOING ANY DAMAGE. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DIDN'T ACTUALLY KNOW WHAT THE TICKING WAS AND WANTED ME TO PAY ABOUT $550 IN LABOR SO THEY COULD TAKE THE MOTOR APART. I DECIDED TO TAKE THE TRUCK HOME TO THINK ABOUT IT BECAUSE THE $550 WAS NOT EVEN FOR A REPAIR , IT WAS ONLY TO GET AN ESTIMATE . I DID NOT USE THE TRUCK AT ALL AND IT WAS JUST PARKED IN MY YARD. WHEN I STARTED THE TRUCK UP TO BRING IT TO MY OWN MECHANIC THE NOISE WAS A HORRENDOUS BANGING SOUND AND THE ENGINE STALLED. I DIDN'T EVEN USE THE TRUCK AT ALL AND A TICKING NOISE NOW TURNED INTO A BANGING SOUND. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY MECHANIC WHO INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED A MOTOR. BROKEN ROD. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW A TRUCK IN GREAT CONDITION, THAT LOOKS BRAND NEW, ALWAYS WELL MAINTAINED JUST BLOWS A MOTOR AT 100,800 MILES. I WENT TO ANOTHER DODGE DEALER BECAUSE I DIDN'T CARE FOR THE FACT THAT THE FIRST DEALER DID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING FOR ME. I WENT TO THE SERVICE DEPT. TO FIND OUT ABOUT A MOTOR AND WAS ACTUALLY GIVEN THE NAME OF A CO. THAT SELLS MOTORS BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT MY MOTOR IS ON BACK ORDER AND THE DEALER CAN'T EVEN GET ONE . I WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS A SHORTAGE BECAUSE ACROSS THE COUNTRY 18 MOTORS ARE BEING CHANGED DAILY. THAT SEEMS LIKE QUITE A HIGH NUMBER WHEN NOTHING IS BEING DONE FOR THE CONSUMER ABOUT THIS MATTER. IT WILL COST ME ABOUT $5000 TO $6000 TO REPLACE THE MOTOR SO NOW THE TRUCK IS JUST A PAPER WEIGHT IN MY BACK YARD. I ALREADY HAVE A HUGE INVESTMENT IN THIS TRUCK AND THE ENGINE SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED WHEN I TOOK SUCH GOOD CARE OF IT BUT IT WOULD SEEM THAT THE DEALER KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2014 - MOUNTAINTOP, PA
BOTH REAR QUARTER PANELS, BOTTOM OF PASSENGER DOORS, AND TAILGATE ROTTING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/19/2014 - COVINGTON , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHEN DRIVING THROUGH A CAR WASH AND RAINY CONDITIONS. PRIOR TO STALLING, THE VEHICLE WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE COWL SCREEN WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DISCOVERED THAT THE INJECTOR O-RING, PLUG WIRES, AND GASKETS AROUND THE INTAKE MANIFOLD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/18/2014 - SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA
THE AIR BAG LIGHT FOR BOTH THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE COME ON AND OFF DURING DRIVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
GAS SPILLS OUT WHEN FILLING THE TANK. RUST FROM GAS SPILLS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds