Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1052 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (132) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (90) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (229) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (13) Structure (34) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (302) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (255) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 131
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/27/2018 - AURORA, CO
I PURCHASED MY '04 DURANGO IN 2014 WITH 70,000 MILES ON IT AND JUST PAID IT OFF LAST MONTH. I HAVEN'T EVEN RECEIVED THE TITLE YET BUT YET I HAVE A TRUCK THAT DOESN'T RUN ANYMORE. ABOUT A WEEK OR SO AGO I WENT OUT TO START MY TRUCK AND THE ENGINE BEGAN TO KNOCK VERY LOUDLY. WE HAD A SMALL RAIN/SNOW EVENT THE NIGHT BEFORE AND THE TRUCK HAD BEEN SITTING OUTSIDE IN THE ELEMENTS. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE TRUCK AND WENT BACK INSIDE TO MAKE SOME CALLS AND GET ON THE INTERNET. I FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH THIS TRUCK CONCERNING WATER LEAKING INTO THE ENGINE CAUSING IT TO HYDROLOCK THE ENGINE CAUSING CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE/ ENGINE REPLACEMENT. PRIOR TO THIS, I HAD ISSUES WITH THE TRUCK CONCERNING IDLING AND/OR STALLING DURING THE RAIN OR WHEN GOING THROUGH A CAR WASH. I READ SO MANY COMMENTS FROM FELLOW VEHICLE OWNERS THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. THERE IS NO OTHER FIX. THE ESTIMATED FIX FOR THIS IS A NEW/USED ENGINE COSTING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS (I WAS QUOTED 7000, I ONLY PAID 10,000 FOR THE TRUCK WHEN I BOUGHT IT). I HAD A MECHANIC COME LOOK AT IT AND HE SAID THE TRUCK DROPPED A VALVE, IT WAS CYLINDER #3. MY ENGINE HAS JUST OVER 113,000 MILES ON IT. THERE IS NO REASON I SHOULD HAVE TO REPLACE AN ENGINE AT THIS MILEAGE. NONE WHATSOEVER. DELVING INTO THE ISSUE IT SEEMS AS IF THERE IS A REPLACEMENT PART (COWL FITTING) THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED THAT DODGE/CHRYSLER NEVER ISSUED A RECALL FOR ALTHOUGH THEY KNEW THERE WAS AN ISSUE AND IT WAS CAUSING ITS ENGINES TO BLOW RODS AND SUFFER IRREPARABLE DAMAGE. IF I HAD KNOWN THAT THIS I WOULD NEVER EVER HAVE BOUGHT IT ESPECIALLY FROM A COMPANY THAT DOESN'T CORRECT THEIR MISTAKES EVEN WHEN THEY KNOW ABOUT THEM. I HAVE NEVER OWNED A DODGE BEFORE AND I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER AGAIN OR RECOMMEND THEM TO OTHERS. THEY SHOULD STAND BY THEIR PRODUCT

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE TRANSFER CASE WILL MAKE NOISE WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS, IT WILL ALSO ENGAGE AND CHANGE THE AWD BY ITSELF TO 4LOCK WHEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD. IT CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARD OR ACCIDENT. THE AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LIGHT WILL ENGAGE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. THE FUEL PUMP SEEMS LIKE IT HAS AN AIR BUBBLE INSIDE AND SHOOTS OUT GASOLINE AND ALSO CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND STATIONARY. PLEASE FIX!!! RECALL!!! YOU HAVE TO HEAR THE NOISE AND DRIVE WHEN IT HAPPENS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE TRANSFER CASE WILL MAKE NOISE WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS, IT WILL ALSO ENGAGE AND CHANGE THE AWD BY ITSELF TO 4LOCK WHEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD. IT CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARD OR ACCIDENT. THE AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LIGHT WILL ENGAGE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. THE FUEL PUMP SEEMS LIKE IT HAS AN AIR BUBBLE INSIDE AND SHOOTS OUT GASOLINE AND ALSO CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND STATIONARY. PLEASE FIX!!! RECALL!!! YOU HAVE TO HEAR THE NOISE AND DRIVE WHEN IT HAPPENS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE TRANSFER CASE WILL MAKE NOISE WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS, IT WILL ALSO ENGAGE AND CHANGE THE AWD BY ITSELF TO 4LOCK WHEN DRIVING ON THE ROAD. IT CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARD OR ACCIDENT. THE AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LIGHT WILL ENGAGE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. THE FUEL PUMP SEEMS LIKE IT HAS AN AIR BUBBLE INSIDE AND SHOOTS OUT GASOLINE AND ALSO CAN CAUSE SERIOUSE HARM. ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND STATIONARY. PLEASE FIX!!! RECALL!!! YOU HAVE TO HEAR THE NOISE AND DRIVE WHEN IT HAPPENS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/27/2018 - JAMAICA, NY
2004 DODGE DURANGO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO A DEFECTIVE ENGINE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIGOROUSLY AND THE NOISE GREW LOUDER. THE DEALER ADVISED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD A CONTINUOUS OIL LEAK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2018 - GRAND FORAS, ND
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE WARMING UP THE UNOCCUPIED VEHICLE FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 MINUTES, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT AUCTION. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V092000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AS A POSSIBLE CAUSE OF THE FIRE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SEATS

3/5/2018 - COMPTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I HAD THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS REPAIRED ON 3/2/18 AT GLENN THOMAS IN SIGNAL HILL, CA. ON THIS DAY AFTER I WAS INFORMED THE JOB FOR THE AIR BAG REPAIR WAS COMPLETED. I SIGNED THE PAPERS ,AND I DROVE OFF THE LOT. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ON THE MY DASH. I WAS ONLY 10 MINUTES AWAY, SO I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND LEFT A VOICE MESSAGE. BUT I WENT AHEAD AND DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD SEE THAT THE LIGHT WAS ON. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR PUT THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL ON THE CAR AND IT GAVE HIM A PRINTOUT OF POSSIBLE ISSUES. HE THEN HAD A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT THE CAR. I WAITED IN THE CUSTOMER WAITING ROOM. WITHIN 30 MINUTES, THE ADVISOR CAME INTO THE WAITING AREA AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE SEAT TRACKING SENSOR ? (I MAY HAVE THE CORRECT WORDING INCORECCT) . I WAS THEN QUOTED A REPAIR PRICE OF $270 FOR ONE SEAT (DRIVER'S SIDE). I WAS TOLD THEY ONLY HAVE 1 PART IN STOCK AT THE TIME AND THAT IT WOULD BE 3 HOURS TO REPAIR. I DID NOT HAVE THE TIME TO WAIT FOR THIS REPAIR NOR DID I HAVE THE $270 FOR THE REPAIR. I THEN ASKED CAN THE CAR BE DRIVEN WITH THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON, AND I WAS TOLD YES, BUT THE AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IF INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT (CRASH). MY QUESTION... IS IF THIS SEAT TRACKING SENSOR IS IMPORTANT TO THE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE AIR BAGS WHY IS THIS NOT COVERED UNDER THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL. AND WHY IS IT NOT FREE TO THE CUSTOMER. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR IF THERE IS A OPEN ACTIVE RECALL AND THIS REPAIR FOR THE SEAT TRACKING IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE AIRBAGS. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO FURTHER. TAKATA AIRBAG REPAIR PERFORMED BY: GLENN THOMAS DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP 2100 EAST SPRING ST SIGNAL HILL, CA 90755 562-426-5111 SERVICE ADVISOR: KOREY WONG REPAIRED: 3/2/2018

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2018 - COMPTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I HAD THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS REPAIRED ON 3/2/18 AT GLENN THOMAS IN SIGNAL HILL, CA. ON THIS DAY AFTER I WAS INFORMED THE JOB FOR THE AIR BAG REPAIR WAS COMPLETED. I SIGNED THE PAPERS ,AND I DROVE OFF THE LOT. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ON THE MY DASH. I WAS ONLY 10 MINUTES AWAY, SO I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND LEFT A VOICE MESSAGE. BUT I WENT AHEAD AND DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD SEE THAT THE LIGHT WAS ON. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR PUT THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL ON THE CAR AND IT GAVE HIM A PRINTOUT OF POSSIBLE ISSUES. HE THEN HAD A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT THE CAR. I WAITED IN THE CUSTOMER WAITING ROOM. WITHIN 30 MINUTES, THE ADVISOR CAME INTO THE WAITING AREA AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE SEAT TRACKING SENSOR ? (I MAY HAVE THE CORRECT WORDING INCORECCT) . I WAS THEN QUOTED A REPAIR PRICE OF $270 FOR ONE SEAT (DRIVER'S SIDE). I WAS TOLD THEY ONLY HAVE 1 PART IN STOCK AT THE TIME AND THAT IT WOULD BE 3 HOURS TO REPAIR. I DID NOT HAVE THE TIME TO WAIT FOR THIS REPAIR NOR DID I HAVE THE $270 FOR THE REPAIR. I THEN ASKED CAN THE CAR BE DRIVEN WITH THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON, AND I WAS TOLD YES, BUT THE AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IF INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT (CRASH). MY QUESTION... IS IF THIS SEAT TRACKING SENSOR IS IMPORTANT TO THE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE AIR BAGS WHY IS THIS NOT COVERED UNDER THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL. AND WHY IS IT NOT FREE TO THE CUSTOMER. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR IF THERE IS A OPEN ACTIVE RECALL AND THIS REPAIR FOR THE SEAT TRACKING IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE AIRBAGS. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO FURTHER. TAKATA AIRBAG REPAIR PERFORMED BY: GLENN THOMAS DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP 2100 EAST SPRING ST SIGNAL HILL, CA 90755 562-426-5111 SERVICE ADVISOR: KOREY WONG REPAIRED: 3/2/2018

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/27/2018 - MOUNT HOLLY, NJ
I HAVE READ DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, AND NO ONE HAS DONE ANYTHING TO PROTECT THE CONSUMER. THE GAS TANK DOES NOT FILL AND SPITS FUEL OUT WHEN ABOUT 2/3 FULL. ALSO THE TANK IS COLLAPSING DO TO THE PRESSURE THAT BUILDS UP. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS SOME KIND OF ACTION TAKEN. PEOPLE NEED TO STOP TURNING THEIR HEADS AWAY FROM THESE PROBLEMS. I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO A MECHANIC WHO HAS STATED THIS IS A REAL CONCERN. WE RESEARCHED THIS TO FIND OUT NO ONE IS OWNING UP TO A POOR DESIGN. AND A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. NOT SURE WHY, JUST HAVE NO WORDS. DODGE NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE CARE OF THIS. I AM CURRENTLY LOOKING INTO HOW TO FILE A CLASS ACTION SUIT. SINCE EVERYONE DENIES THERE IS A PROBLEM. ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2018 - KODIAK, AK
2004 DODGE DURANGO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HAD A RECALL FOR AIRBAGS AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. THE CONSUMER STATED BATTERY DISCHARGED IN A VERY SHORT PERIOD OF TIME AFTER THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS MOVED TO THE OF POSITION. THE CONSUMER STATED IT WAS OVER 2 YEARS AND THE RECALL REPAIRS STILL HAD NOT BEEN COMPLETED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 131
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds