Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 951 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (84) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (78) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electrical System (213) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (13) Structure (28) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Suspension (18) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (278) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/3/2016 - CHULA VISTA, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR THE AIR BAGS AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/29/2016 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - KATY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE SEVERELY AND VARIOUS WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE WITH NO FAILURE PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE THROTTLE BODY WAS SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,953.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2016 - JOPLIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FLOODED IN THE RAIN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/2/2016 - SUN CITY CENTER, FL
PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR HOUSING IN MY VEHICLE MAY RUPTURE ,FCA US LLC OS CONDUCTING A SAFETY RECALL REGISTERD IN FLORIDA.I BEING CALLING TO SCHEDULE A SERVICE APPOINTMENT SINCE JUNE 1915 BUT THEY DID NOT ORDER THE PARTS FOR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THANK VERY MUCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2015 - BOONE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2015 - GURLEY, AL
WHILE ENTERING A HIGHWAY AND ACCELERATING UP TO SPEED THERE WAS A LOUD BANG, BOTH HEARD AND FELT, FOLLOWED BY VERY ROUGH ENGINE OPERATION. TURNED ONTO THE FIRST AVAILABLE SIDE STREET AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE. WHILE EXAMINING THE VEHICLE AND LOOKING IN THROUGH THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL WELL DISCOVERED A HOLE IN THE ENGINE BLOCK. THE CRANKSHAFT IS VISIBLE THROUGH THE HOLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2015 - PLEASANT HILL, OR
WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR DURANGO UNTIL A FEW DAYS AGO. MY HUSBAND AND KIDS LOADED UP A FEW DAYS BEFORE CHRISTMAS TO GO DRIVE UP THE MOUNTAIN, THEY MADE JUST AS FAR AS THE NEIGHBORS DRIVEWAY WHEN THEY HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WERE ABLE TO PULL IN TO THE DRIVEWAY OF A NEIGHBOR. THE ENGINE COMPLETLY SEIZED, ALL OIL LEAKED OUT. THE CAR HAS ALWAYS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. NO WARNING AT ALL! A FEW DAYS EARLIER I HAD DROVE IT TO TOWN IN THE RAIN AND IT WAS IDLING ROUGH, BUT THE NEXT DAY SEEMED FINE. NOW THE ENGINE IS SHOT. WE HAVE BEEN HAVING HEAVY RAIN FOR DAYS AND LOOKS LIKE WATER WAS LEAKING IN TO THE ENGINE DUE TO A FAULTY COWL OR SOMETHING, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO FAIL. WE HAD JUST PUT BRAND NEW TIRES ON THE VEHICLE AND JUST RECEIVED NEW TAGS FOR IT! ALL THIS WITH ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING! WE ARE JUST OUT A VEHICLE AND 2 DAYS BEFORE CHRISTMAS! HAD WE KNOWN THIS WAS AN ISSUE WE WOULD HAVE GLADLY DONE EVERYTHING WE COULD TO FIX IT, BUT WE HAVE ONLY HAD THE VEHICLE FOR A FEW YEARS AND HAD NO IDEA RAIN COULD CAUSE OUR ENGINE TO SEIZE UP! THANKFUL IT HAPPENED CLOSE TO HOME AND NO ACCIDENT, BUT VERY SCARY WHEN SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPENS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/26/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PW
I HAVE A 2004 DODGE DURANGO 5.7 AND IT HAS BEEN HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE BATTERY CONTINUOUSLY DRAINING. IT STARTED IN NOV 2014 WHEN THE BATTERY DRAINED AND WOULD NOT HOLD A CHARGE. I LET THE VEHICLE SIT UNTIL MARCH 2015, WHEN I NEED AN INSPECTION, THE SHOP RECOMMENDED I PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY. I DID AND THE BATTERY DRAINED WITH 3 WEEKS, SO I EVENTUALLY SCHEDULE AN APPT. WITH THE DEALER TO HAVE A DRAIN ON THE BATTERY CHECK, THEY SENT THE VEHICLE BACK STATING THERE WAS NO DRAWL ON THE BATTERY, IT SAT FOR MONTHS AGAIN, BECAUSE IT DRAINED BACK OUT. IN NOV. 2015 I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE G07 INSTRUMENT PANEL RECALL AND TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER FOR THAT. THEY CLAIMED THEY REPAIRED A WIRE IN THE PANEL AND THAT FIXED THE DRAIN, HOWEVER I STILL LOST POWER 2 WEEKS LATER. I THEN TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALER TO HAVE THE RECALL CHECKED AGAIN, BECAUSE OF A DEAD BATTERY AGAIN THE HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR DASH LIGHTS WOULD FLICKER ON AND OFF. 3 DAYS LATER STILL NOTHING THEY STATED THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE FAILURE AND THEY DID NOT FIND ANY DRAIN OR FLICKERING. THE VERY MOMENT I PICKED UP THE VEHICLE AND DROVE IT HOME WITH MY HEADLIGHTS ON THEY BEGAN TO FLICKER ON AND OFF. TWO DAYS LATER MY BATTERY WAS DEAD AGAIN. THIS MAKES NO SENSE TO ME THAT THE DEALER CAN NOT PIN POINT ANYTHING, SO I BEGAN TO PROCEED TO FIX ON MY OWN, I HAVE FOUND THAT THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH WAS SHORTED OUT CAUSING THE LIGHTS TO GO ON AND OFF, AND I REPLACED IT. I STILL HAVE A DRAIN SOMEWHERE THOUGH, BATTERY DIED WITHIN 8 HOURS OF THE LAST START.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2009, WITHIN A 1 YEARS, I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING DURING A HEAVY DOWNPOUR THE CAR WOULD SHAKE AND SOMETIMES STALL OUT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IN 2011 AND THEY REPLACED THE INTAKE GASKETS. I AM NOW REALING THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE HAD A RECALL ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds