Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1038 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (88) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (227) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (13) Structure (34) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (300) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/7/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
IT WAS A RAINI DAY AND DECIDED TO GO TO THE STORE TO GET GROCERIES. I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE TO GET TO THE STORE FROM MY HOME TO THE WHOLE FOODS IN SAN FRANCISCO CA ON FREEWAY I-280 NORTH NEAR THE EXIT ON GENEVA I HEARD A LOUD NOICE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, SO I DECIDED TO GET OUT ON THE EXIT TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON, I TURN LEFT ON GENEVA AV I WAITED ON RED LIGHT ON GENEVA AV AND HOWTH ST WHEN LIGHT TURN GREEN I LET GO THE BREAK AND STARTED TO GO SO I CAN PARK ON THE STREET AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN I HEARD A LOUD SOUND AND SAW A LOT OF SMOKE SO I PULLED OVER ON 33 GENEVA AV SAN FRANCISCO CA AND LOOKED AROUND AND FOUND PIECES OF THE ENGINE ON THE ROAD AND NEAR THE STARTER ON THE VEHICLE, THIS IS WHEN I KNEW IT WAS DONE ENGINE WAS BROKEN AND HAD TO CALL AAA TO GET A TOW TRUCK. LATER I DECIDED TO DO SOME RESEARCH ON WHAT JUST HAPPEN AND FOUND THAT A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAD PROBLEMS ON THIS VEHICLE JUST LIKE I DID.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
AIR BAG LIGHTS ON

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2017 - LUBBOCK, TX
HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH ENGINE ON DURANGO 4.7L OVERHEATING, I DRIVE 15 MINUTES TO WORK WHEN ITS WARM OUTSIDE AND ITS ALREADY OVERHEATING, IVE CHECKED VARIOUS FORUMS ONLINE EACH ONE HAD NUMEROUS PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE, WITH ALL THE PEOPLE COMPLAINING I FIGURED DODGE WOULD FIND A SOLUTION, OR FIGURED SOMEONE WOULD FILE A CLASS ACTION SUIT, BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/3/2017 - FORT MADISON, IA
INTERIOR LIGHTS STOP WORKING WHEN THE DOORS OR HATCH ARE OPENED YOU CAN MANUALLY TURN INTERIOR LIGHTS BY TOUCH OF BUTTONS . THEY WILL NOT COME ON BY DASH SWITCH EITHER . PARKED IN A GARAGE ALL THE TIME

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/31/2017 - CONWAY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE AT A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO WORK, THE ENGINE REVVED, AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,845.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2017 - CONWAY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE AT A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO WORK, THE ENGINE REVVED, AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,845.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/23/2017 - KINGSFORD, MI
1. RECALL FAILED TO REPAIR AIR BAG FAILURE. CURRENTLY - AIRBAGS ARE NOT FUNCTIONAL (DASH WARNING LIGHT). 2. AT APPROXIMATELY 72,000 MILES - VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHOW SIGNS OF RUST THROUGH AT BOTH REAR QUARTER PANELS AND BOTH ROCKER PANELS. BY 85000 MILES - COMPLETE BODY RUST THROUGH FAILURE WAS IRREPARABLE - VEHICLE WAS MAINTAINED EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN. 3. AT 100000 MILES - NOTED BY WAY OF MECHANIC THAT THE ENGINE WAS 'SLUDGED UP' TO THE POINT THAT THE VALVE TRAIN WAS STARVED OF LUBRICATION AND SUBSEQUENTLY - THE ENGINE HAS ENCOUNTERED WHAT APPEARS TO BE A TOTAL CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. VALVES, LASH ADJUSTER, PISTON ROD OR BEARINGS MAY ALL BE DESTROYED DIRECTLY DUE TO POOR DESIGN AND LOW QUALITY COMPONENTS FROM FCA. THERE ARE HUNDREDS (THOUSANDS) OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ACROSS MULTIPLE MEDIA REGARDING THIS 'FAMILIAR' DODGE ENGINE BREAKDOWN. FCA - OF COURSE - DENIES CULPABILITY CITING POOR USER MAINTENANCE. I HAVE RECORDS OF ALL OIL CHANGES FOR THE SUBJECT VEHICLE AT 3000 MILE INTERVALS CONSISTENTLY FROM THE DATE OF PURCHASE (5/2004), I SAY - 'FCA? TIME TO OWN UP TO THIS PROBLEM AND DO THE RIGHT THING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds