Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 803 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (69) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electrical System (202) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (205) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (3) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - PALM BAY, FL
RAIN POURED THROUGH THE WIPER COWL AND SATURATED THE ENGINE CAUSING IT TO HYDRO-LOCK AND BLOW A ROD. THIS IS JUST ONE OF THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS VEHICLE. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A VERY DANGEROUS MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND NO ONE IS DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT. IS THE GOVERNMENT WAITING FOR MORE PEOPLE TO BE KILLED ON THE HIGHWAYS DUE TO THIS? PLEASE ADVISE IF SOMETHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/27/2014 - HALLSZILLE, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY WHILE TRAVELING IN INCLIMATE WEATHER OR UPON TRAVELING OVER A PUDDLE OF WATER. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING UNSTABLE AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE CONTACT WAS TRYING TO PULL OVER AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE CONTACT TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH SPUN AROUND, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER MORE THAN ONCE AND CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, CHEST AND RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION PERTAINING TO FURTHER TESTING DUE TO THE CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS UNCONSCIOUS UPON HITTING HER HEAD ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW UPON THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKING AND THE BRAKE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE CRASH AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,890. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - HALLSZILLE, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY WHILE TRAVELING IN INCLIMATE WEATHER OR UPON TRAVELING OVER A PUDDLE OF WATER. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING UNSTABLE AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE CONTACT WAS TRYING TO PULL OVER AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE CONTACT TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH SPUN AROUND, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER MORE THAN ONCE AND CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, CHEST AND RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION PERTAINING TO FURTHER TESTING DUE TO THE CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS UNCONSCIOUS UPON HITTING HER HEAD ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW UPON THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKING AND THE BRAKE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE CRASH AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,890. DYD

View Details

STEERING

10/27/2014 - HALLSZILLE, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY WHILE TRAVELING IN INCLIMATE WEATHER OR UPON TRAVELING OVER A PUDDLE OF WATER. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING UNSTABLE AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE CONTACT WAS TRYING TO PULL OVER AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE CONTACT TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH SPUN AROUND, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER MORE THAN ONCE AND CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, CHEST AND RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION PERTAINING TO FURTHER TESTING DUE TO THE CRASH. THE CONTACT WAS UNCONSCIOUS UPON HITTING HER HEAD ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW UPON THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKING AND THE BRAKE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE CRASH AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,890. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - WESTBURY , NY
AFTER HEAVY RAINFALL, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO TOLD ME THAT THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN. NO PRECURSORS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, NOW WARNING SIGNS

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2014 - WHITNEY POINT , NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DURING RAIN WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2014 - FRISCO, TX
VEHICLE DIES WHEN IT RAINS OR IF YOU GO THROUGH A CAR WASH. THE ENGINE SHUTS OFF AND ALL POWER IS LOST. THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN PROBLEM OF THIS VEHICLE, YET DODGE HAS DONE NOTHING FOR IT. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN IT SUDDENLY DIES IN TRAFFIC PLUS IT IS RAINING. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO SEVERAL DODGE DEALERS OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS, YET THEY CLAIM THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX IT EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN FOR IT, BUT NOT A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2014 - COSHOCTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER OR AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS WASHED. THE VEHICLE WOULD ONLY RESTART AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DRY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT WATER LEAKED INTO THE ENGINE AND SPARK PLUGS, WHICH CAUSED CORROSION. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
I WAS DRIVING AND ACCELERATED TO PASS A VEHICLE. AS I SLOWED DOWN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE, LIFTED THE HOOD, AND SAW A SLIGHT WISP OF SMOKE. I ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE WITHOUT SUCCESS. AS IT WAS BEING TOWED, I NOTICED OIL LEAKING FROM THE ENGINE. IN RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE, I'VE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AS FAR AS OIL CHANGES, ETC.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
WE PURCHASED OUR PRE-OWNED 2004 5.7 LIMITED EDITION IN JANUARY 2007. IT HAD AROUND 40,000 MILES. WITHIN A YEAR OR SO AFTER, THE CD CHANGER STOPPED WORKING, AND THEN THE RADIO WOULD SOMETIMES NOT WORK AFTER HEAVY RAIN. DURING A HEAVY DOWNPOUR THE CAR WOULD SHAKE AND SOMETIMES TURN-OFF, LEAVING ME AND 2 SMALL KIDS STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY UNTIL THE RAIN LIGHTENED ENOUGH FOR THE CAR TO START AGAIN. WHENEVER WE WOULD TAKE THE CAR IN TO BE REPAIRED FOR THIS PROBLEM, WE WERE ALWAYS TOLD THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG THAT WOULD CAUSE THOSE TYPES OF PROBLEMS, BUT WE HAD NUMEROUS REPAIRS THAT WE NOW THINK WERE PROBABLY RELATED TO THE WATER PROBLEM, SUCH AS A NEW STARTER, REPAIRS FOR A COOLANT LEAK,ETC. IN EARLY 2014 THE CAR BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH OVERHEATING. A FEW DAYS AFTER A TWO OR THREE DAY PERIOD OF NEAR CONSTANT RAIN I WENT TO START THE CAR AND IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS FLOODED OR SOMETHING. THEN THERE WAS A LONG BANG FOLLOWED BY A TERRIBLE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. HAD IT TOWED AND LOOKED AT BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS WHO SAID THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE BLOCK AND THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. I JUST RECENTLY DECIDED TO SEARCH THE INTERNET TO SEE IF ANY OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF POSTS BY CONSUMERS WHO HAD THIS VERY SAME THING HAPPEN TO THIS MODEL DODGE DURANGO. IT SEEMS APPROPRIATE FOR DODGE TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR THIS AND PAY US FOR THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS SPENT ON REPAIRS, TOWS, HAVING TO SIT DANGEROUSLY ON THE SIDE OF HIGHWAYS WHEN THE CAR WOULD TURN OF IN THE HEAVY RAIN, AND THE FACT THAT WE ENDED UP JUST HAVING TO JUNK OUR CAR FOR A FEW HUNDRED BUCKS AND WILL NOW HAVE TO PURCHASE A BRAND NEW CAR WE CANNOT AFFORD WHEN WE HAD JUST PAID THIS ONE OFF TWO YEARS PRIOR. THEY SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR BASICALLY SELLING CARS WITH DEFECTIVE COMPONENTS TO UNSUSPECTING BUYERS FOR TENS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds