Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1043 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (129) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (89) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (227) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (13) Structure (34) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (300) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2017 - GLENDORA, CA
DODGE DURANGO LIMITED 4X4 ENGAGES 4 WHEEL DRIVE RANDOMLY ON THE FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEEDS, WITHOUT BEING TOLD TO. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUES AND I SEE MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT IT ONLINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2017 - CHULA VISTA, CA
RECALL

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2017 - GREEN ISLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL SET FOR 68 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AN ADDITIONAL 20 MPH WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE CAUSED HER TO BE PULLED OVER BY THE POLICE. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL CLUNK SOUND. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 299,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - DARIEN, GA
TAKATA AIR BAG LIGHT'S APPEARED ON WHEN WE PURCHASE THE VEHICLE. WE SEARCHED THE MANUAL TO SEE IF THERE WAS A REASON WHY THE LIGHTS WOULD BE ON. MONTHS LATER WE RECEIVED IN THE MAIL A RECALL FOR THE INFLATOR AIR BAG ON DRIVER AND PASSENGER. I DROPPED VEHICLE OFF FOR SERVICE WERE I WAS REFERRED TO DODGE/JEEP/CHRYSLER AND WAS TOLD I WOULD RECEIVE VEHICLE BEFORE THE END OF DAY PICKED VEHICLE UP NEXT DAY. DROVE OF LOT THE LIGHT WAS OFF. FEW DAYS LATER THE LIGHT ON PASSENGER SIDE COMES ON AND OFF. I HAVE CONTACTED PLACE WERE I HAD AIRBAGS REPLACED AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN A CALL BACK TO TAKE IT BACK TO BE SERVICED. THE THE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES AND DRIVING ALWAYS STAYS ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
CALLED DEALER ON 10 OR 12 TIMES IN ZIP CODE 30067 OVER PASS 2 YEARS TO TAKE CARE OF RECALL NEVER HAD PARTS, ALWAYS ASKED ME TO CALL BACK ASK ME TO PAY FOR AIRBAG RECALL THEN APPLY FOR SOMEONE TO SENT ME MONEY BACK. ALL THE WRITTEN DOCS I HAVE RECEIVED FROM TK HOLDINGS INC IT CLEARLY STATES FREE REPAIR REPLAEMENT OF AIRBAG

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
IT WAS A RAINI DAY AND DECIDED TO GO TO THE STORE TO GET GROCERIES. I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE TO GET TO THE STORE FROM MY HOME TO THE WHOLE FOODS IN SAN FRANCISCO CA ON FREEWAY I-280 NORTH NEAR THE EXIT ON GENEVA I HEARD A LOUD NOICE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, SO I DECIDED TO GET OUT ON THE EXIT TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON, I TURN LEFT ON GENEVA AV I WAITED ON RED LIGHT ON GENEVA AV AND HOWTH ST WHEN LIGHT TURN GREEN I LET GO THE BREAK AND STARTED TO GO SO I CAN PARK ON THE STREET AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN I HEARD A LOUD SOUND AND SAW A LOT OF SMOKE SO I PULLED OVER ON 33 GENEVA AV SAN FRANCISCO CA AND LOOKED AROUND AND FOUND PIECES OF THE ENGINE ON THE ROAD AND NEAR THE STARTER ON THE VEHICLE, THIS IS WHEN I KNEW IT WAS DONE ENGINE WAS BROKEN AND HAD TO CALL AAA TO GET A TOW TRUCK. LATER I DECIDED TO DO SOME RESEARCH ON WHAT JUST HAPPEN AND FOUND THAT A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAD PROBLEMS ON THIS VEHICLE JUST LIKE I DID.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
AIR BAG LIGHTS ON

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
CAR HAS A NEW ENGINE AND THIRD WATER PUMP. IT FAILED AFTER 5000 MILES AND ENGULFED IN FLAMES CAUSING THE FAILURE OF THE BELT, TENSIONER, MAIN DRIVE PULLEY AND AC COMPRESSOR. TODAY DODGE JUST RECALLED THESE PUMPS FOR THE VERY SAME REASON BEARING FAILURE AND SUPER HOT CONDITIONS CAUSING FIRES AND FAILURE. I WAS JUST REDRIVING ALONG THE TRUCK HAS BEEN RUNNING WELL AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF ISSUES, NO NOISE, SMELL, LIGHTS OR STRUGGLE. CAR WAS AT NORMAL OPPERATING TEMPURTURE AND DAYTIME TRAFFIC. STOPPED FOR GAS STAYED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN DRIVE ON, WITHIN TWO MILES WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR NOISE THE CAR STARTED SMOKING PULLED OVER AND SMELLED A RUBBER NOTICES NO LEAKS IN THE WATER DELIVERY SYSTEM OIL, TRANS, OR POWER STEERING, THE BELT WAS RED HOT AND SMELLED LIKE A HOUSE FIRE CAR WAS TAKEN 200 YARDS TO PEP BOYS AND REPAIRED AT THE COST OF $1300. SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 5000 MILES ON THE WATER PUMP AND 20,0000 ON A NEW ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds