Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1024 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (120) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (87) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electrical System (225) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (13) Structure (33) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (293) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 127
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/12/2017 - WICHITA, KS
LEFT REAR QUARTER PANEL SHOWS RUST TO THE SIDE OF THE FUEL DOOR LID. RUST IS THROUGH PANEL. PAINT AND BODY BUBBLING UP, CONDITION IS CROSSING OVER TO THE LEFT REAR WHEEL AREA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/12/2017 - WICHITA, KS
LEFT REAR QUARTER PANEL SHOWS RUST TO THE SIDE OF THE FUEL DOOR LID. RUST IS THROUGH PANEL. PAINT AND BODY BUBBLING UP, CONDITION IS CROSSING OVER TO THE LEFT REAR WHEEL AREA.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2017 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE WINDSHIELD WIPER COWL BECAME DEFECTIVE AND LET WATER INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, SPECIFICALLY THE FUEL INTAKE MANIFOLD. AFTER ABOUT 5 YEARS OF RANDOM WATER RELATED STALLS (RAIN,DEW,CAR WASHES) WHICH COULD NEVER BE REPLICATED BY NUMEROUS MECHANICS AND THEREFORE NOT PROPERLY DIAGNOSED, WATER EVENTUALLY FOUND ITS WAY INTO A PISTON CHAMBER. WHILE ON THE FREEWAY IN SAN FRANCISCO ON MARCH 31,2017, HYDROLOCK ENSUED AND CAUSED THE NUMBER FOUR PISTON ROD TO SNAP AND BREAK THROUGH THE ENGINE BLOCK DESTROYING THE ENGINE. I WAS AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP IN COLMA A FEW WEEKS PRIOR FOR AN UNRELATED AIRBAG RECALL FIX AND SPOKE TO THE A SERVICE SUPERVISOR ABOUT THE WATER RELATED STALLING ISSUE. HE BASICALLY TOLD ME TO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE BECAUSE THEY ONLY USE OE PARTS AND EVEN IF THEY COULD FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM (NO GUARANTEE), THEY PROBABLY COULDN'T GET ORIGINAL PARTS. HE ACTED LIKE HE WAS DOING ME A FAVOR! I FEEL AS THE DODGE AND THE DEALERSHIP IS NEGLIGENT. I HAVE FOUND OUT SUBSEQUENTLY THAT THIS ISSUE IS WIDELY KNOW AMONGST PARTS SUPPLIERS (SPECIFICALLY USED AND REBUILT ENGINE SUPPLIERS) AND HAS A HIGH RATE OF INCIDENCE ACCORDING TO VARIOUS INTERNET FORUMS. I HAVE LODGED A FORMAL NOTICE/COMPLAINT WITH DODGE AS HAVE MANY, MANY OTHERS. I GOT THREE QUOTES FOR REPLACING THE ENGINE, ALL WERE OVER $6000. THE VEHICLE PROVED TO NOT BE WIORTH THAT COST TO FIX. I HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY DONATED IT TO A LOCAL CHARITY. THIS PROBLEM DEFINITELY DESERVES A RECALL, AND CUSTOMERS SUCH AS MYSELF WHO HAVE INCURRED FINANCIAL LOSSES SHOULD BE COMPENSATED. THANKS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/15/2017 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHENEVER IT RAINED OR SNOWED, WATER LEAKED INTO THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE HOOD. THE WATER ENTERED THE MOTOR AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO STALL AND THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER WAS LEAKING INTO THE MOTOR AND THE PISTONS, WHICH CAUSED THEM TO FAIL. AS A RESULT, THE MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2017 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHENEVER IT RAINED OR SNOWED, WATER LEAKED INTO THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE HOOD. THE WATER ENTERED THE MOTOR AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO STALL AND THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER WAS LEAKING INTO THE MOTOR AND THE PISTONS, WHICH CAUSED THEM TO FAIL. AS A RESULT, THE MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2017 - CARPINTERIA, CA
I WAS TOLD I WOULD GET A LOANER CAR FOR MY DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG, THEN EVERY TIME I AM PUT THROUGH TO TO DEALER I AM THEN TOLD I MAY HAVE TO GO TO THE ENTERPRISE AND GET A RENTAL AND PUT DOWN $100 OF MY OWN MONEY... I DON'T HAVE THAT. SO THAT IS STILL NOT REPLACED, ALSO NOW THERE IS NO PARTS FOR THE PASSENGER SIDE AND IT'S NOT AT ALL SAFE, THE LIGHT IS GOING OFF AND ON IN MY CAR AND I HAVE SECTION 1 AND MY CAR IS 2004 MEANING THE 6-9 YEARS IS NOW IN THE 13TH YEAR. I WANT A LOANER CAR TILL YOU CAN FINALLY FIX BOTH AIRBAGS, THIS IS INSANE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/21/2017 - OCKLAWAHA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT APPLYING PRESSURE TO THE PEDAL. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE RPM NEEDLE WOULD GO UP TO 3,000 RPMS AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE AND NO PRESSURE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AFTER SLAMMING THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER WHO STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO FURTHER ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 274,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/21/2017 - OCKLAWAHA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT APPLYING PRESSURE TO THE PEDAL. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE RPM NEEDLE WOULD GO UP TO 3,000 RPMS AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE AND NO PRESSURE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AFTER SLAMMING THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER WHO STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO FURTHER ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 274,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/21/2017 - IRONDALE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT TIE ROD FRACTURED PREMATURELY. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE ENGINE, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT END. THE CONTACT, AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT THE FRONT TIE ROD FRACTURED IN THE MIDDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 198,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/16/2017 - FAIR LAWN, NJ
THIS RECALL HAS BEEN PENDING SINCE MAY 2016, HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP BUT PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. PLEASE HELP US SO WE CAN GET THIS DONE AT DEALERSHIP EITHER LITTLE FALLS, NJ OR ANY OTHER LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 127
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds