Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 826 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (70) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electrical System (203) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (225) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (3) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/21/2015 - MCKINNEY, TX
WENT OUT TO START VEHICLE IN THE MORNING AND IT WOULD NOT CRANK OVER. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES, IT WAS RAINING AT THE TIME. LEFT VEHICLE FOR A FEW HOURS, RETURNED LATER TO START AND LOUD CLUNK COMING FROM MOTOR. LIFTED HOOD AND FOUND INTAKE TO BE TOTALLY COVERED IN WATER. WATER WAS FLOWING DOWN WINDSHIELD AND DIRECTLY OVER TOP OF MOTOR. UPON INSPECTION CONNECTING ROD WAS BROKEN DUE TO HYDRO LOCKING. APPARENTLY THIS IS A PROMINENT ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL. ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - HENDERSONVILLE, NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE HYDRO EXTENSION CYLINDER FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2015 - ST. LOUIS, MO
DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY. VEHICLE STARTED SHAKING AND THEN MADE LOUD NOISE LIKE A HAMMER HITTING ENGINE, THEN STARTED SMOKING WHITE SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. VEHICLE QUIT RUNNING. DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER. TRIED STARTING AGAIN AND ENGINE WAS RUNNING VERY ROUGH, SMELLED LIKE ELECTRICAL BURN AND BLOWING WHITE SMOKE. SHUT OFF ENGINE AND HAD VEHICLE TOWED. MECHANIC STATED ENGINE HAS TO BE REPLACED. HAVING VEHICLE TOWED TO DODGE DEALER FOR SECOND OPINION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2015 - SAVANNAH, GA
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IN LIGHT RAIN MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO BEGIN TO SHAKE AND STALL. AS I CAME TO A STOP I RECALL THE SUV SMOKING. I STOP THE SUV IMMEDIATELY AND COULD TELL THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I NOTIFIED MY MECHANIC AND HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO THE SHOP WHERE HE TOLD ME THE COWL PANEL WAS ALLOWING WATER TO LEAK ONTO MY ENGINE WHICH WOULD CAUSE WATER YO GET INTO MY INTAKE THAT WOULD RESULT INTO A BLOWN ENGINE. I NOTIFIED CHRYSLER/DODGE TO NO AVAIL THEY ACT AS IF THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THE ISSUE, WHICH IS SURELY INCORRECT BECAUSE OF ALL THE POST OF PEOPLE WOULD COMMON ISSUES WITH THERE DODGE DURANGO. THIS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2015 - KANSAS CITY, KS
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - UNION, MO
WE HAVE KEPT THIS DURANGO IN IMMACULATE SHAPE AND HAVE CONSISTENTLY DONE OF THE RECOMMENDED UPKEEP ON THE VEHICLE. WE CHANGE THE OIL EVERY 3,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD GOING APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES PER HOUR WHEN WITHOUT WARNING THE ENGINE JUST STARTED MAKING A LOUD NOISE. IT WAS DANGEROUS BECAUSE I HAD NOWHERE TO PULL OVER AND HAD TO CONTINUE APPROXIMATELY 1 MILE BEFORE I COULD GET TO A SHOULDER AND BEHIND ME WERE MULTIPLE VEHICLES. UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE WAS OIL. THE MECHANIC SAYS THAT THERE IS A HOLE IN THE ENGINE AND IT IS COMPLETELY BLOWN-CATATROPHIC. ENGINE FAILURE THAT WILL COST $6000 TO REPLACE. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE USED THE VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS, WE HAVE BARELY PUT 12000 MILES PER YEAR ON IT. AFTER SOME RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET WE FOUND OUT THAT THERE HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THIS ENGINE, MANY OF THEM PROBABLY UNREPORTED TO THE NHTSA. THE '05 AND LATER MODELS DO NOT SHOW ANYWHERE NEAR A SIMILAR AMOUNT OF ENGINE FAILURE COMPLAINTS. I WOULD HAVE TO BELIEVE THAT THERE HAVE. WE ARE DISGUSTED AND WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO LOOK INTO THIS-A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
NOTICED THE SVC 4WD LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH BOARD AND THEN THE VEHICLE'S REAR WHEELS LOCKED WHEN MAKING A TIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING SPACE. THE VEHICLE STOPPED AND WAS UNABLE TO MOVE AS IF BRAKE HAD BEEN APPLIED VERY HARD. UNPLUGGED THE BATTERY FOR ABOUT A MINUTE TO ALLOW THE SYSTEM TO RESET. THE SVC 4WD LIGHT DOESN'T COME ON. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE STILL LOCKS ITS REAR WHEELS WHEN MAKING A TIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING SPACE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - MOUNT HOLLY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A BANGING NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2015 - BALTIMORE , MD
TRIED TO START MY TRUCK AND ALL I AM HEARING IS LOUD KNOCKING. NO NOTICE OF ANYTHING BEING WRONG! ACCORDING TO ALL THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE SOUND IS, IT IS MOST LIKELY THE HYDROLOCK PROBLEM THAT CHRYSLER IS AWARE OF. I AM LUCKY THAT THIS DID NOT HAPPEN WHEN I WAS DRIVING , OR SOMEONE COULD HAVE GOTTEN SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED . IS THAT WHAT CHRYSLER IS WAITING FOR BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE? IF WE WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS ISSUE WAS EVEN POSSIBLE OF HAPPENING WE MAY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PREVENT IT BY FIXING THE SEAL. NOW WE HAVE A VEHICLE THAT LOOKS PRETTY, BUT IS UNDRIVABLE, AND CAN'T AFFORD TO FIX IT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - BEVERLY, MA
HAD JUST FIXED THE SENSORS ON THE TRUCK, PUT NEW BATTERY AND NEW TIRES. TOTALING OVER $1200. DRIVING THROUGH UNAVOIDABLE PUDDLES ON THE HIGHWAY, DURING A HEAVY RAIN IN MY AREA OF 4.5 INCHES. PARKED THE CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY AND WENT TO START IT THE NEXT MORNING AND HEARD THIS VERY LOUD GRINDING. HAD THE CAR TOWED. DIAGNOSIS: ENGINE HYDROLOCK. APPARENTLY DODGE HAS KNOWN OF THIS PROBLEM AS I SEE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ON YOUTUBE AND SIMILAR SITES. A $130 PART COULD'VE PREVENTED THIS FROM HAPPENING BUT WE WERE NEVER NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT. DODGE REFUSING TO HELP AND INSURANCE SAYING IT IS A KNOWN DEFECT SO THEY WON'T COVER IT EITHER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds