Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 852 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (73) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electrical System (203) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (13) Structure (26) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (236) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (253) Interior Lighting (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/27/2015 - PEARLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS , IN
AS I WAS TURNING FROM THE LIGHT AND PRECEEDED TO EXCELERATE NOT EVEN DOING 5-10 MHP, I HEARD A SOUND, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BLOWN TIRE. I TURNED OFF THE TRUCK TO SEE IF I HAD A FLAT TIRE. NONE OF THE TIRES WHERE FLAT. SO I CALLED MY HUSBAND, HE LOOKED AT IT, THINKING IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY, DUE TO THE LIGHT THAT FLASHED ON THE DASH. SO HE BOUGHT A NEW THROTTLE, THAT AS WELL AS NEW SPARK PLUGS, AND STILL NOTHING. IT SEEMS IT WANTS TO START, BUT ISN'T STARTING. SO IF THIS IS THE HYDOLOCK THAT IS CAUSING WATER TO FLOW INTO THE ENGINE, YOU ALL NEED TO PAY FOR THIS. I HAVE HEARD THAT YOU ALL KNOW ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. LAWSUIT? I HOPE NOT. I JUST WANT MY TRUCK FIXED, BECAUSE I REALLY LIKE. PLEASE GET IN TOUCH WITH ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - GROTON, CT
CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. THE SAME "HEMI TICK" ISSUE AND CONSEQUENT VALVE/PISTON ROD FAILURE THAT HAS APPARENTLY BEEN REPORTED AND COMPLAINED ABOUT BY THOUSANDS OF CONSUMERS AND THOUSANDS OF TIMES. MINE WAS FAILED SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY IDLING. THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE THAT THE VALVE SPRINGS, SPRING SEATS, AND PISTON RODS ARE MADE OF GARBAGE MATERIALS, YET DODGE REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE OR MAKE ANY EFFORT TO MAKE RIGHT. THIS IS A MAJOR DESIGN DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BECOME A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - HAMMOND, IN
AFTER A THAW OF SNOW AND A EARLY MORNING RAIN, WENT TO START DURANGO AND WOULD NOT TURN OVER. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS DURANGO START TO A LOUD BANG AND RATTLING. TURNED OFF. TOLD THE ENGINE BLEW. MONTH PRIOR TO THIS WHEN IT WOULD RAIN THE DURANGO WOULD STALL. NO ONE COULD FIGURE OUT WHY. NOW WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD IS HYDROLOCK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/9INZYT3JUJW

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
I TURN MY CAR AND I NOTICE THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AND DOESN'T DISAPPEAR UNTIL NOW .. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - WINNSBORO, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL DETACHED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VEER OFF THE ROAD, CRASH INTO SEVERAL TREES, ROLL OVER THREE TIMES, AND LAND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER'S LEFT ARM WAS INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

WHEELS

3/25/2015 - WINNSBORO, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL DETACHED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VEER OFF THE ROAD, CRASH INTO SEVERAL TREES, ROLL OVER THREE TIMES, AND LAND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER'S LEFT ARM WAS INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2015 - SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA
DRIVER SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ON IMPACT OF THE CAR SLAMMING INTO THE TELEPHONE POLE. IT WAS NOT UNTIL AFTER THE DRIVER HAD UNBUCKLED HERSELF THAT SHE SMELLED SMOKE AND THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. SHE SLAMMED HER BODY AND HEAD ALL OVER THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND SUSTAINED A CONCUSION AND OTHER MEDICAL INJURIES DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTIONING AIR BAG. I CALLED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY VIN WASN'T ON THE LIST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2015 - WAHIAWA , HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2015 - NASHVILLE , TN
WHEN IT RAINS WATER WOULD POUR INTO ENGINE AND EFFECT ELECTRICAL SYSYTEM AND CAUSE ENGINE PROBLEMS ENGINE LOCK UP ,ENGINE WOULD AUTOMATICALLY CUT OFF AND POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP WHILE MAKING A TURN IN MY 2005 HEMI DURANGO, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds