Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 814 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (69) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electrical System (203) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (214) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (3) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 101
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/20/2014 - WEATHERFORD , TX
I WAS FILLING UP MY GAS TANK WHEN THE CAR STARTED SPITTING OUT GAS AT ME. LUCKILY I STOPPED IT FAST ENOUGH BUT HAD SOME GAS ON ME AND ALL OVER THE SIDE OF MY CAR. I'VE LOOKED THIS UP AND IT SEEMS TO BE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THE DURANGOS. I REALLY WOULD LIKE TO FILL MY CAR UP WITHOUT WORRYING ABOUT BEING COVERED IN GAS OR MY CAR STARTING TO RUST.

View Details

ENGINE

12/19/2014 - BROOKSVILLE, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRYING TO START THE VEHICLE THERE WAS A TICKING SOUND LIKE A VALVE WAS OUT OF ADJUSTMENT, AND THE BOLT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WAS MAKING AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, THE PROBLEM RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC AND WAS DIAGNOSED WITH SEVERAL DIFFERENT DIAGNOSIS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED, AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.RW

View Details

ENGINE

12/16/2014 - ATLANTIC CITY , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE PULLEY AND TIMING BELT WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTON BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 179,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2014 - MURFREESBORO, TN
I CONTINUE TO HAVE ENGINE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO DIE WHEN MAKING A TURN, OR LOW SPEED. I HAVE DONE SEVERAL THINGS TO FIX THIS. CHANGED THE BATTERY, OIL CHANGES, RADIATOR FLUSH. PLEASE ADVISE ON WHAT I NEED TO DO TO GET THIS FIXED. THERE ISN'T ANY CODES ON THE CHECK ENGINE COMPUTER.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/4/2014 - WAYNESBORO, VA
ALL ALERT LIGHTS ON DASH REMAIN ON. WINDOWS HEADLIGHTS, SPEEDOMETER, WIPERS ALL NOT WORKING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/4/2014 - WAYNESBORO, VA
ALL ALERT LIGHTS ON DASH REMAIN ON. WINDOWS HEADLIGHTS, SPEEDOMETER, WIPERS ALL NOT WORKING

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/4/2014 - WAYNESBORO, VA
ALL ALERT LIGHTS ON DASH REMAIN ON. WINDOWS HEADLIGHTS, SPEEDOMETER, WIPERS ALL NOT WORKING

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2014 - MOUNT LAUREL, NJ
I HAVE A 2004 DODGE DURANGO LIMITED WITH A 5.7 HEMI ENGINE. WE HAD A HEAVY RAIN STORM AT NIGHT AND THE NEXT MORNING I WENT TO START UP THE CAR AND HEARD A LOUD NOISE IN THE ENGINE UPON START UP FOLLOWED BY A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE. HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO A SHOP WHERE THEY DISCOVERED RAIN WATER SEEPED INTO THE CYLINDER WHICH BLEW THE ROD AND PISTIONS DUE TO THE HEAVY RAIN WATER COMING DOWN THE WINDSHIELD AND SITTING ON TOP OF THE ENGINE OVERNIGHT. I STILL OWE 7000.00 ON THE LOAN AND NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. NOW DODGE KNOWS ABOUT THE FLAW AND WILL NOT BACK UP THERE BAD DESIGN FLAW AND FIX MY ENGINE. SO I HAVE NO CAR AND A 7000.00 BALANCE LEFT I HAVE TO STILL PAY. DODGE SHOULD REPLACE MY ENGINE SINCE THEIR DESIGN CAUSED IT TO BLOE UP IN THE FIRST PLACE >>>PLEASE HELP DONT LET DODGE GET AWAY WITH NOT FIXING THEIR MISTAKE AND NOW I HAVE NO CAR AND HAVE TO WALK TO WORK OR TAKE THE BUS PLUS I HAVE TO PAY NY CAR LOAN 7000.00 BALANCE...IS THERE ANY JUSTICE !!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/21/2014 - SPRING LAKE , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/19/2014 - TOLLAND , CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED FOR A PROLONGED PERIOD OF TIME, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE STARTED TO KNOCK VIOLENTLY. THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND IT WAS NEVER RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 101
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds