Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 856 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (73) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electrical System (204) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (13) Structure (26) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (237) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (253) Interior Lighting (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/19/2015 - LA PLACE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS) AND 14V817000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIMEFRAME. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2015 - LINDALE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED INDICATING A MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATIONS OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS) AND 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIMEFRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V092000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT DID NOT RECALL RECEIVING A NOTIFICATION LETTER AND WAS NOT SURE WHEN THE DEALER WOULD REMEDY THIS RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/18/2015 - LINDALE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED INDICATING A MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATIONS OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS) AND 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIMEFRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V092000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT DID NOT RECALL RECEIVING A NOTIFICATION LETTER AND WAS NOT SURE WHEN THE DEALER WOULD REMEDY THIS RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
OUR 2004 DODGE DURANGO WAS PURCHASE USED, FROM ORIGINAL OWNER. ALL SERVICE RECORDS WERE GIVEN TO US, SHOWING PROPER MAINTENANCE OF VEHICLE. I TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE AND HEARD A HORRIBLE SOUND FROM THE ENGINE. AFTER HAVING IT TOWED, I LEARNED THE ENGINE THREW 2 RODS AND PUT HOLES IN THE ENGINE BLOCK. THIS IS A COMPLETE FAILURE TO THE ENGINE, WITH THE ONLY SOLUTION BEING TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE. BASED ON MY MECHANICS OBSERVATION, THIS IS A RESULT OF WATER BEING DIRECTED INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, THEREFORE RUSTING AND DESTROYING NECESSARY COMPONENTS. WHEN THE ENGINE WAS PULLED FROM MY VEHICLE, IT HAD BEEN SITTING IN A LARGE AMOUNT OF WATER, EVEN AFTER HAVING BEEN GARAGE KEPT FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. AFTER READING ONLINE, THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH THESE 2004 DURANGOS. AT THAT, DODGE HAS NEVER ISSUED A RECALL. I AM NOW OUT $7900 FOR A NEW ENGINE. ALL I CAN SAY, IS THANK GOD I WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I AM SO FEARFUL THIS WILL HAPPEN TO SOMEONE WHILE THEY ARE DRIVING, RESULTING IN SOMETHING TRAGIC. DUE TO THE FREQUENCY OF THIS FAILURE AND DODGE IGNORING IT, IT SEEMS AS THOUGH IT WILL TAKE SOMEONE TO BE KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE DODGE ADDRESSES THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/6/2015 - BUFFALO CENTER, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS), HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2015 - PEARLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V770000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS , IN
AS I WAS TURNING FROM THE LIGHT AND PRECEEDED TO EXCELERATE NOT EVEN DOING 5-10 MHP, I HEARD A SOUND, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BLOWN TIRE. I TURNED OFF THE TRUCK TO SEE IF I HAD A FLAT TIRE. NONE OF THE TIRES WHERE FLAT. SO I CALLED MY HUSBAND, HE LOOKED AT IT, THINKING IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY, DUE TO THE LIGHT THAT FLASHED ON THE DASH. SO HE BOUGHT A NEW THROTTLE, THAT AS WELL AS NEW SPARK PLUGS, AND STILL NOTHING. IT SEEMS IT WANTS TO START, BUT ISN'T STARTING. SO IF THIS IS THE HYDOLOCK THAT IS CAUSING WATER TO FLOW INTO THE ENGINE, YOU ALL NEED TO PAY FOR THIS. I HAVE HEARD THAT YOU ALL KNOW ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. LAWSUIT? I HOPE NOT. I JUST WANT MY TRUCK FIXED, BECAUSE I REALLY LIKE. PLEASE GET IN TOUCH WITH ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - GROTON, CT
CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. THE SAME "HEMI TICK" ISSUE AND CONSEQUENT VALVE/PISTON ROD FAILURE THAT HAS APPARENTLY BEEN REPORTED AND COMPLAINED ABOUT BY THOUSANDS OF CONSUMERS AND THOUSANDS OF TIMES. MINE WAS FAILED SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY IDLING. THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE THAT THE VALVE SPRINGS, SPRING SEATS, AND PISTON RODS ARE MADE OF GARBAGE MATERIALS, YET DODGE REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE OR MAKE ANY EFFORT TO MAKE RIGHT. THIS IS A MAJOR DESIGN DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BECOME A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - HAMMOND, IN
AFTER A THAW OF SNOW AND A EARLY MORNING RAIN, WENT TO START DURANGO AND WOULD NOT TURN OVER. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS DURANGO START TO A LOUD BANG AND RATTLING. TURNED OFF. TOLD THE ENGINE BLEW. MONTH PRIOR TO THIS WHEN IT WOULD RAIN THE DURANGO WOULD STALL. NO ONE COULD FIGURE OUT WHY. NOW WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD IS HYDROLOCK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/9INZYT3JUJW

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
I TURN MY CAR AND I NOTICE THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AND DOESN'T DISAPPEAR UNTIL NOW .. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds