Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 790 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (68) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electrical System (201) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (196) Interior Lighting (11) Service Brakes (2) Tires (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - WOONSOCKET, RI
DURANGO WAS ALWAYS WELL MAINTAINED AND TAKEN CARE OF. OIL CHANGED EVERY 3,000 MILES. ONE MORNING I STARTED THE TRUCK AND THERE WAS A STRANGE TICKING NOISE. THE NIGHT BEFORE THE TRUCK RAN FINE AS USUAL. IT RAINED HEAVILY THAT NIGHT. I DID NOT USE THE TRUCK AT ALL FOR FEAR OF DOING ANY DAMAGE. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DIDN'T ACTUALLY KNOW WHAT THE TICKING WAS AND WANTED ME TO PAY ABOUT $550 IN LABOR SO THEY COULD TAKE THE MOTOR APART. I DECIDED TO TAKE THE TRUCK HOME TO THINK ABOUT IT BECAUSE THE $550 WAS NOT EVEN FOR A REPAIR , IT WAS ONLY TO GET AN ESTIMATE . I DID NOT USE THE TRUCK AT ALL AND IT WAS JUST PARKED IN MY YARD. WHEN I STARTED THE TRUCK UP TO BRING IT TO MY OWN MECHANIC THE NOISE WAS A HORRENDOUS BANGING SOUND AND THE ENGINE STALLED. I DIDN'T EVEN USE THE TRUCK AT ALL AND A TICKING NOISE NOW TURNED INTO A BANGING SOUND. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY MECHANIC WHO INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED A MOTOR. BROKEN ROD. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW A TRUCK IN GREAT CONDITION, THAT LOOKS BRAND NEW, ALWAYS WELL MAINTAINED JUST BLOWS A MOTOR AT 100,800 MILES. I WENT TO ANOTHER DODGE DEALER BECAUSE I DIDN'T CARE FOR THE FACT THAT THE FIRST DEALER DID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING FOR ME. I WENT TO THE SERVICE DEPT. TO FIND OUT ABOUT A MOTOR AND WAS ACTUALLY GIVEN THE NAME OF A CO. THAT SELLS MOTORS BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT MY MOTOR IS ON BACK ORDER AND THE DEALER CAN'T EVEN GET ONE . I WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS A SHORTAGE BECAUSE ACROSS THE COUNTRY 18 MOTORS ARE BEING CHANGED DAILY. THAT SEEMS LIKE QUITE A HIGH NUMBER WHEN NOTHING IS BEING DONE FOR THE CONSUMER ABOUT THIS MATTER. IT WILL COST ME ABOUT $5000 TO $6000 TO REPLACE THE MOTOR SO NOW THE TRUCK IS JUST A PAPER WEIGHT IN MY BACK YARD. I ALREADY HAVE A HUGE INVESTMENT IN THIS TRUCK AND THE ENGINE SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED WHEN I TOOK SUCH GOOD CARE OF IT BUT IT WOULD SEEM THAT THE DEALER KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2014 - MOUNTAINTOP, PA
BOTH REAR QUARTER PANELS, BOTTOM OF PASSENGER DOORS, AND TAILGATE ROTTING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/19/2014 - COVINGTON , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHEN DRIVING THROUGH A CAR WASH AND RAINY CONDITIONS. PRIOR TO STALLING, THE VEHICLE WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE COWL SCREEN WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DISCOVERED THAT THE INJECTOR O-RING, PLUG WIRES, AND GASKETS AROUND THE INTAKE MANIFOLD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/18/2014 - SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA
THE AIR BAG LIGHT FOR BOTH THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE COME ON AND OFF DURING DRIVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
GAS SPILLS OUT WHEN FILLING THE TANK. RUST FROM GAS SPILLS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
WHAT CAN I SAY... DODGE CLEARLY HAS A DESIGN FLAW IN WHICH WATER FROM RAIN, ECT... LEAKS ONTO ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS SLOWLY CAUSING THE DEATH OF VEHICLE WITH A DYING MOTOR AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. WATER POURS ONTO ENGINE RIGHT DOWN FROM THE WINDSHIELD. WHO DESIGNS THIS CRAP!!!! I USED THE BEST OILS AND NOW THIS IS WHAT I HAVE AS A REWARDS FROM DODGE FOR MY MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
WHAT CAN I SAY... DODGE CLEARLY HAS A DESIGN FLAW IN WHICH WATER FROM RAIN, ECT... LEAKS ONTO ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS SLOWLY CAUSING THE DEATH OF VEHICLE WITH A DYING MOTOR AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. WATER POURS ONTO ENGINE RIGHT DOWN FROM THE WINDSHIELD. WHO DESIGNS THIS CRAP!!!! I USED THE BEST OILS AND NOW THIS IS WHAT I HAVE AS A REWARDS FROM DODGE FOR MY MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2014 - LAKEWOOD, CO
MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO LIMITED WITH THE HEMI 5.7 HAS AN ERRATIC IDLE AT STOPS WHENEVER IT RAINS. LATER IN THE WEEK I WENT ON THE HIGHWAY AT 45 MPH THE ENGINE STALLED DURING A RAIN STORM. I ONLY HAVE 125,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I RESEARCHED THIS ONLINE AND FOUND IT WAS MOST LIKELY THE PLASTIC WIPER COWL BELOW THE WINDSHIELD ALLOWING WATER TO FLOW OVER THE TOP OF THE ENGINE, WHICH COLLECTS ON THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND MIGHT SLOWLY MAKE IT'S WAY IN TO THE BLOCK AND HYDROLOCK THE ENGINE. SERIOUSLY I THOUGHT. I WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND OPENED THE HOOD AND PLACED THE GARDEN HOSE OVER THE CENTER OF THE WINDSHIELD WITH THE WIPERS ON AND RAN THE WATER ON LOW, AND ALSO IN THE OFF POSITION. SURE ENOUGH A LOT OF WATER FLOWS IN TO THE DRIVER SIDE WIPER HOLE WHERE IT ROTATES AND SPREADS OUT OVER THE BACK TWO CYLINDERS OF THE CENTER OF THE ENGINE. I FOUND THERE IS POSSIBLY AN UPGRADE WIPER COWL THAT MAY PREVENT SOME OF THE WATER FLOW BUY NOT ALL OF IT. SO NOW I AM CONCERNED WITH THIS CIRCUMSTANCED EVEN AFTER I GET THE NEW COWL THAT WATER WILL STILL BE DAMAGING OR DESTROYING MY ENGINE ONE DAY FROM WATER FLOWING THROUGH THE COWL OVER THE TOP OF THE ENGINE ONCE AGAIN. THIS WOULD COST ME $5000-$6000 FOR ENGINE REPLACEMENT, JUST BECAUSE OF A POOR DESIGN, AND NO RECALL OR SOLUTION FROM DODGE TO TAKE CARE OF THIS WATER ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2014 - LAKEWOOD, CO
MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO LIMITED WITH THE HEMI 5.7 HAS AN ERRATIC IDLE AT STOPS WHENEVER IT RAINS. LATER IN THE WEEK I WENT ON THE HIGHWAY AT 45 MPH THE ENGINE STALLED DURING A RAIN STORM. I ONLY HAVE 125,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I RESEARCHED THIS ONLINE AND FOUND IT WAS MOST LIKELY THE PLASTIC WIPER COWL BELOW THE WINDSHIELD ALLOWING WATER TO FLOW OVER THE TOP OF THE ENGINE, WHICH COLLECTS ON THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND MIGHT SLOWLY MAKE IT'S WAY IN TO THE BLOCK AND HYDROLOCK THE ENGINE. SERIOUSLY I THOUGHT. I WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND OPENED THE HOOD AND PLACED THE GARDEN HOSE OVER THE CENTER OF THE WINDSHIELD WITH THE WIPERS ON AND RAN THE WATER ON LOW, AND ALSO IN THE OFF POSITION. SURE ENOUGH A LOT OF WATER FLOWS IN TO THE DRIVER SIDE WIPER HOLE WHERE IT ROTATES AND SPREADS OUT OVER THE BACK TWO CYLINDERS OF THE CENTER OF THE ENGINE. I FOUND THERE IS POSSIBLY AN UPGRADE WIPER COWL THAT MAY PREVENT SOME OF THE WATER FLOW BUY NOT ALL OF IT. SO NOW I AM CONCERNED WITH THIS CIRCUMSTANCED EVEN AFTER I GET THE NEW COWL THAT WATER WILL STILL BE DAMAGING OR DESTROYING MY ENGINE ONE DAY FROM WATER FLOWING THROUGH THE COWL OVER THE TOP OF THE ENGINE ONCE AGAIN. THIS WOULD COST ME $5000-$6000 FOR ENGINE REPLACEMENT, JUST BECAUSE OF A POOR DESIGN, AND NO RECALL OR SOLUTION FROM DODGE TO TAKE CARE OF THIS WATER ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/1/2014 - THORTON, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL FAILED TO RESPOND AND THE SERVICE FOUR WHEEL DRIVE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds