Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 849 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (73) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electrical System (203) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (13) Structure (25) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (3) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (235) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (253) Interior Lighting (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - HAMMOND, IN
AFTER A THAW OF SNOW AND A EARLY MORNING RAIN, WENT TO START DURANGO AND WOULD NOT TURN OVER. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS DURANGO START TO A LOUD BANG AND RATTLING. TURNED OFF. TOLD THE ENGINE BLEW. MONTH PRIOR TO THIS WHEN IT WOULD RAIN THE DURANGO WOULD STALL. NO ONE COULD FIGURE OUT WHY. NOW WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD IS HYDROLOCK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/9INZYT3JUJW

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
I TURN MY CAR AND I NOTICE THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AND DOESN'T DISAPPEAR UNTIL NOW .. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

WHEELS

3/25/2015 - WINNSBORO, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL DETACHED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VEER OFF THE ROAD, CRASH INTO SEVERAL TREES, ROLL OVER THREE TIMES, AND LAND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER'S LEFT ARM WAS INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - WINNSBORO, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL DETACHED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VEER OFF THE ROAD, CRASH INTO SEVERAL TREES, ROLL OVER THREE TIMES, AND LAND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER'S LEFT ARM WAS INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2015 - SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA
DRIVER SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ON IMPACT OF THE CAR SLAMMING INTO THE TELEPHONE POLE. IT WAS NOT UNTIL AFTER THE DRIVER HAD UNBUCKLED HERSELF THAT SHE SMELLED SMOKE AND THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. SHE SLAMMED HER BODY AND HEAD ALL OVER THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND SUSTAINED A CONCUSION AND OTHER MEDICAL INJURIES DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTIONING AIR BAG. I CALLED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY VIN WASN'T ON THE LIST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2015 - WAHIAWA , HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/22/2015 - NASHVILLE , TN
WHEN IT RAINS WATER WOULD POUR INTO ENGINE AND EFFECT ELECTRICAL SYSYTEM AND CAUSE ENGINE PROBLEMS ENGINE LOCK UP ,ENGINE WOULD AUTOMATICALLY CUT OFF AND POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP WHILE MAKING A TURN IN MY 2005 HEMI DURANGO, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2015 - NASHVILLE , TN
WHEN IT RAINS WATER WOULD POUR INTO ENGINE AND EFFECT ELECTRICAL SYSYTEM AND CAUSE ENGINE PROBLEMS ENGINE LOCK UP ,ENGINE WOULD AUTOMATICALLY CUT OFF AND POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP WHILE MAKING A TURN IN MY 2005 HEMI DURANGO, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/22/2015 - NASHVILLE , TN
WHEN IT RAINS WATER WOULD POUR INTO ENGINE AND EFFECT ELECTRICAL SYSYTEM AND CAUSE ENGINE PROBLEMS ENGINE LOCK UP ,ENGINE WOULD AUTOMATICALLY CUT OFF AND POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP WHILE MAKING A TURN IN MY 2005 HEMI DURANGO, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - BROOKLYN, CT
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW BACK IN MARCH OF 2005 AND HAS BEEN MAINTAINED AT REGULAR INTERVALS. RECENTLY WHEN IT RAINED A SPUTTER WAS NOTICED AND THOUGHT TO BE SPARK PLUG WIRES, WHICH HAD BEEN CHANGED APPROXIMATELY 1 YEAR PRIOR. THEN APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH AGO WE WENT TO START THE DURANGO AND IT WOULD NOT START. AT FIRST IT SOUNDED LIKE THE STARTER GRINDING SO I REMOVED THE STARTER AND HAD IT TESTED AND IT FINE. I ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OVER BY THE CRANKSHAFT BOLT AND THE ENGINE WOULD NOT MOVE. I REMOVED THE SPARK PLUGS AND FOUND THAT THE #7 SPARK PLUG HAD ICE ON IT. THE CYLINDER WAS FOUND TO BE FULL OF ICE. THE FOLLOWING DAY THE ICE MELTED AND THE ENGINE MOVED AND RAN. THE TRUCK DROVE FINE WITH NO ISSUES AFTER THAT. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS OF THE ENGINE HYDROLOCKING DUE TO A FAILURE IN THE COWL WHICH ALLOWED WATER TO POUR ONTO THE ENGINE. THE COMPLAINTS INDICATED THAT IT WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND THAT CHRYSLER HAD BEEN ADVISED OF THE ISSUE BUT NOTHING WAS DONE ABOUT IT. I THEN FOUND THAT WATER WAS LEAKING PAST THE COWL AND THE WIPER ARMS. ON MARCH 17, 2015 THE DURANGO AGAIN MADE THE GRINDING NOISE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START. THE #7 CYLINDER AND THE #8 CYLINDER HAD WATER IN THEM. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING FOR APPROXIMATELY 4 DAYS PRIOR AND IT HAD RAINED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WITH THE STARTER AND WOULD NOT TURN BY HAND WHEN TRIED AT THE FLYWHEEL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT EXHIBITED ANY ISSUES PRIOR TO BEING PARKED AND HAD NOT RUN SINCE IT WAS PARKED AND DID NOT TURN OVER AT ALL WHEN WE ATTEMPTED TO START IT. THE ENGINE IS BELIEVED TO BE SEIZED AND NO LONGER USABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds