Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1059 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (134) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (91) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electrical System (230) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (13) Structure (34) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (305) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (255) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/13/2018 - DESTREHAN, LA
MY VEHICLE STALLS IN THE RAIN. IT STALLS AT A STOP OR ROLLING SPEEDS. IT IDLES ROUGH FIRST AND THEN STALLS OR SHUTS OFF. SOMETIMES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON, BUT NOT ALWAYS. THIS ONLY OCCURS IN THE RAIN. I'VE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT, AND THEY CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I'VE SPENT A LOT OF MONEY TRYING TO GET THIS FIXED. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, I'VE DISCOVERED THAT MANY OTHER DURANGO OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/13/2018 - DESTREHAN, LA
MY VEHICLE STALLS IN THE RAIN. IT STALLS AT A STOP OR ROLLING SPEEDS. IT IDLES ROUGH FIRST AND THEN STALLS OR SHUTS OFF. SOMETIMES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON, BUT NOT ALWAYS. THIS ONLY OCCURS IN THE RAIN. I'VE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT, AND THEY CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I'VE SPENT A LOT OF MONEY TRYING TO GET THIS FIXED. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, I'VE DISCOVERED THAT MANY OTHER DURANGO OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2018 - DESTREHAN, LA
MY VEHICLE STALLS IN THE RAIN. IT STALLS AT A STOP OR ROLLING SPEEDS. IT IDLES ROUGH FIRST AND THEN STALLS OR SHUTS OFF. SOMETIMES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON, BUT NOT ALWAYS. THIS ONLY OCCURS IN THE RAIN. I'VE HAD SEVERAL MECHANICS LOOK AT IT, AND THEY CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I'VE SPENT A LOT OF MONEY TRYING TO GET THIS FIXED. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, I'VE DISCOVERED THAT MANY OTHER DURANGO OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2018 - COVINGTON, KY
MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO HAS THE 5.7 HEMI. DURING HEAVY RAINS THE ENGINE WOULD START TO RUN ROUGH AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUT DOWN ON ME THREE DIFFERENT TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING DUE TO THE RAIN. DURING THIS ELECTRICAL SHUTDOWN STEERING WAS IMPOSSIBLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO STOP THE VEHICLE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE DID THIS TO ME ONE TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF TURNING AT AN INTERSECTION. FORTUNATELY NO ACCIDENT OCCURED. I FOUND THAT THE ISSUE WAS BEING CAUSED BY A FAULTY SEAL AT THE WIPER COWL. THIS LEAK LATER BLEW MY ENGINE AS THE WATER LEAK FOUND IT'S WAY INTO THE CYLINDERS AND BLEW A PISTON ROD. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS DEFECT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO CHRYSLER BY HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2018 - COVINGTON, KY
MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO HAS THE 5.7 HEMI. DURING HEAVY RAINS THE ENGINE WOULD START TO RUN ROUGH AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUT DOWN ON ME THREE DIFFERENT TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING DUE TO THE RAIN. DURING THIS ELECTRICAL SHUTDOWN STEERING WAS IMPOSSIBLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO STOP THE VEHICLE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE DID THIS TO ME ONE TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF TURNING AT AN INTERSECTION. FORTUNATELY NO ACCIDENT OCCURED. I FOUND THAT THE ISSUE WAS BEING CAUSED BY A FAULTY SEAL AT THE WIPER COWL. THIS LEAK LATER BLEW MY ENGINE AS THE WATER LEAK FOUND IT'S WAY INTO THE CYLINDERS AND BLEW A PISTON ROD. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS DEFECT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO CHRYSLER BY HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2018 - COVINGTON, KY
MY 2004 DODGE DURANGO HAS THE 5.7 HEMI. DURING HEAVY RAINS THE ENGINE WOULD START TO RUN ROUGH AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUT DOWN ON ME THREE DIFFERENT TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING DUE TO THE RAIN. DURING THIS ELECTRICAL SHUTDOWN STEERING WAS IMPOSSIBLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO STOP THE VEHICLE IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE DID THIS TO ME ONE TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF TURNING AT AN INTERSECTION. FORTUNATELY NO ACCIDENT OCCURED. I FOUND THAT THE ISSUE WAS BEING CAUSED BY A FAULTY SEAL AT THE WIPER COWL. THIS LEAK LATER BLEW MY ENGINE AS THE WATER LEAK FOUND IT'S WAY INTO THE CYLINDERS AND BLEW A PISTON ROD. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS DEFECT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO CHRYSLER BY HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2018 - RANDALLSTOWN, MD
2004 DODGE DURANGO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE FAILURE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE DUE TO THE VEHICLE BEING OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2018 - DENTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AROUND ALL DAY AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE, AFTER I STOPPED AT A SHOP AND RETURNED TO MY VEHICLE MY AIRBAG LIGHT ON MY DASH CAME ON, I IMMEDIATELY LOOKED UP ANY ACTIVE RECALLS AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE WERE 2 ON MY VEHICLE ACCORDING TO THE VIN. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE RECALL REPAIR THE DEALERSHIP REPAIRED THE 2 RECALLS, HOWEVER THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINED ON. WHEN I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS THEY CLAIM IT IS A SEPARATE ISSUE AND WANTED TO CHARGE ME $150 JUST TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. THEY RELEASED THE VEHICLE TO ME, STILL WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON. WHEN CONFRONTED IN REGARDS TO THE LIGHT BEING ON THE DEALERSHIP HAD NO CONCERN ABOUT THE LIGHT UNLESS I PAID $$$. BEING A RECALL WITH THE AIRBAGS I WOULD THINK THAT THE LIGHT REMAINING ON AND REPAIRING WHAT HAS TRIGGERED THE LIGHT TO BE COVERED UNDER THIS REPAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2018 - LAKE WORTH, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER (SCHUMACHER CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM OF DELRAY), 2102 S FEDERAL HWY A, DELRAY, FL, 561-935-4210) WAS CALLED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE EXPECTED DATE FOR PART AVAILABILITY WAS JULY 24, 2018. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/9/2018 - FARMINGTON, MN
THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY SWITCHES FROM AWD TO 4WD LOCK, DOES NOT SEEM TO BE ANY ONE THING THAT CAUSES IT. ALSO HAVE LOOKED UP HUNDREDS OF OTHER REPORTS ON THIS FROM OTHER PEOPLE. EVERYONE SAYS THAT DODGE DEALERS CLAIM THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD THIS BEFORE. BULLSHIT. DODGE IS TRYING NOT TO HAVE TO DO A RECALL. THAT IS OBVIOUS. SHAME ON DODGE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 132
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds