Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2004 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1061 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (134) Equipment (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (19) Power Train (91) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electrical System (230) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seat Belts (13) Structure (34) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (306) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (255) Interior Lighting (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

3/22/2018 - GRAND FORAS, ND
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE WARMING UP THE UNOCCUPIED VEHICLE FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 MINUTES, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT AUCTION. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V092000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AS A POSSIBLE CAUSE OF THE FIRE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. FIRE MARSHALL DETERMINED THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS WIRING.

View Details

SEATS

3/5/2018 - COMPTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I HAD THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS REPAIRED ON 3/2/18 AT GLENN THOMAS IN SIGNAL HILL, CA. ON THIS DAY AFTER I WAS INFORMED THE JOB FOR THE AIR BAG REPAIR WAS COMPLETED. I SIGNED THE PAPERS ,AND I DROVE OFF THE LOT. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ON THE MY DASH. I WAS ONLY 10 MINUTES AWAY, SO I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND LEFT A VOICE MESSAGE. BUT I WENT AHEAD AND DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD SEE THAT THE LIGHT WAS ON. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR PUT THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL ON THE CAR AND IT GAVE HIM A PRINTOUT OF POSSIBLE ISSUES. HE THEN HAD A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT THE CAR. I WAITED IN THE CUSTOMER WAITING ROOM. WITHIN 30 MINUTES, THE ADVISOR CAME INTO THE WAITING AREA AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE SEAT TRACKING SENSOR ? (I MAY HAVE THE CORRECT WORDING INCORECCT) . I WAS THEN QUOTED A REPAIR PRICE OF $270 FOR ONE SEAT (DRIVER'S SIDE). I WAS TOLD THEY ONLY HAVE 1 PART IN STOCK AT THE TIME AND THAT IT WOULD BE 3 HOURS TO REPAIR. I DID NOT HAVE THE TIME TO WAIT FOR THIS REPAIR NOR DID I HAVE THE $270 FOR THE REPAIR. I THEN ASKED CAN THE CAR BE DRIVEN WITH THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON, AND I WAS TOLD YES, BUT THE AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IF INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT (CRASH). MY QUESTION... IS IF THIS SEAT TRACKING SENSOR IS IMPORTANT TO THE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE AIR BAGS WHY IS THIS NOT COVERED UNDER THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL. AND WHY IS IT NOT FREE TO THE CUSTOMER. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR IF THERE IS A OPEN ACTIVE RECALL AND THIS REPAIR FOR THE SEAT TRACKING IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE AIRBAGS. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO FURTHER. TAKATA AIRBAG REPAIR PERFORMED BY: GLENN THOMAS DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP 2100 EAST SPRING ST SIGNAL HILL, CA 90755 562-426-5111 SERVICE ADVISOR: KOREY WONG REPAIRED: 3/2/2018

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2018 - COMPTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I HAD THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS REPAIRED ON 3/2/18 AT GLENN THOMAS IN SIGNAL HILL, CA. ON THIS DAY AFTER I WAS INFORMED THE JOB FOR THE AIR BAG REPAIR WAS COMPLETED. I SIGNED THE PAPERS ,AND I DROVE OFF THE LOT. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ON THE MY DASH. I WAS ONLY 10 MINUTES AWAY, SO I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND LEFT A VOICE MESSAGE. BUT I WENT AHEAD AND DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD SEE THAT THE LIGHT WAS ON. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR PUT THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL ON THE CAR AND IT GAVE HIM A PRINTOUT OF POSSIBLE ISSUES. HE THEN HAD A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT THE CAR. I WAITED IN THE CUSTOMER WAITING ROOM. WITHIN 30 MINUTES, THE ADVISOR CAME INTO THE WAITING AREA AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE SEAT TRACKING SENSOR ? (I MAY HAVE THE CORRECT WORDING INCORECCT) . I WAS THEN QUOTED A REPAIR PRICE OF $270 FOR ONE SEAT (DRIVER'S SIDE). I WAS TOLD THEY ONLY HAVE 1 PART IN STOCK AT THE TIME AND THAT IT WOULD BE 3 HOURS TO REPAIR. I DID NOT HAVE THE TIME TO WAIT FOR THIS REPAIR NOR DID I HAVE THE $270 FOR THE REPAIR. I THEN ASKED CAN THE CAR BE DRIVEN WITH THE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT ON, AND I WAS TOLD YES, BUT THE AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IF INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT (CRASH). MY QUESTION... IS IF THIS SEAT TRACKING SENSOR IS IMPORTANT TO THE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE AIR BAGS WHY IS THIS NOT COVERED UNDER THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL. AND WHY IS IT NOT FREE TO THE CUSTOMER. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR IF THERE IS A OPEN ACTIVE RECALL AND THIS REPAIR FOR THE SEAT TRACKING IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE AIRBAGS. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO FURTHER. TAKATA AIRBAG REPAIR PERFORMED BY: GLENN THOMAS DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP 2100 EAST SPRING ST SIGNAL HILL, CA 90755 562-426-5111 SERVICE ADVISOR: KOREY WONG REPAIRED: 3/2/2018

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/27/2018 - MOUNT HOLLY, NJ
I HAVE READ DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, AND NO ONE HAS DONE ANYTHING TO PROTECT THE CONSUMER. THE GAS TANK DOES NOT FILL AND SPITS FUEL OUT WHEN ABOUT 2/3 FULL. ALSO THE TANK IS COLLAPSING DO TO THE PRESSURE THAT BUILDS UP. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS SOME KIND OF ACTION TAKEN. PEOPLE NEED TO STOP TURNING THEIR HEADS AWAY FROM THESE PROBLEMS. I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO A MECHANIC WHO HAS STATED THIS IS A REAL CONCERN. WE RESEARCHED THIS TO FIND OUT NO ONE IS OWNING UP TO A POOR DESIGN. AND A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. NOT SURE WHY, JUST HAVE NO WORDS. DODGE NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE CARE OF THIS. I AM CURRENTLY LOOKING INTO HOW TO FILE A CLASS ACTION SUIT. SINCE EVERYONE DENIES THERE IS A PROBLEM. ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/23/2017 - MOUNT HOLLY, NJ
I CAN NOT FILL THE GAS TANK,FUEL STARTS TO COME OUT OF NECK ABOUT2/3 FULL THIS HAS BEEN AN ON GOING PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2017 - TIGARD, OR
DURANGO SLT 5.7L V8 HEMI ENGINE HYDRO LOCKED AND THREW A ROD WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE HYDRO LOCK ISSUE IS WIDELY REPORTED WITH THE 2004 FIRST GENERATION OF THE HEMI ENGINE. HOWEVER, DODGE DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THIS MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2017 - GLENDORA, CA
DODGE DURANGO LIMITED 4X4 ENGAGES 4 WHEEL DRIVE RANDOMLY ON THE FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEEDS, WITHOUT BEING TOLD TO. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUES AND I SEE MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT IT ONLINE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2017 - GREEN ISLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DURANGO. WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL SET FOR 68 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AN ADDITIONAL 20 MPH WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE CAUSED HER TO BE PULLED OVER BY THE POLICE. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL CLUNK SOUND. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 299,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
CALLED DEALER ON 10 OR 12 TIMES IN ZIP CODE 30067 OVER PASS 2 YEARS TO TAKE CARE OF RECALL NEVER HAD PARTS, ALWAYS ASKED ME TO CALL BACK ASK ME TO PAY FOR AIRBAG RECALL THEN APPLY FOR SOMEONE TO SENT ME MONEY BACK. ALL THE WRITTEN DOCS I HAVE RECEIVED FROM TK HOLDINGS INC IT CLEARLY STATES FREE REPAIR REPLAEMENT OF AIRBAG

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
IT WAS A RAINI DAY AND DECIDED TO GO TO THE STORE TO GET GROCERIES. I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE TO GET TO THE STORE FROM MY HOME TO THE WHOLE FOODS IN SAN FRANCISCO CA ON FREEWAY I-280 NORTH NEAR THE EXIT ON GENEVA I HEARD A LOUD NOICE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, SO I DECIDED TO GET OUT ON THE EXIT TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON, I TURN LEFT ON GENEVA AV I WAITED ON RED LIGHT ON GENEVA AV AND HOWTH ST WHEN LIGHT TURN GREEN I LET GO THE BREAK AND STARTED TO GO SO I CAN PARK ON THE STREET AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN I HEARD A LOUD SOUND AND SAW A LOT OF SMOKE SO I PULLED OVER ON 33 GENEVA AV SAN FRANCISCO CA AND LOOKED AROUND AND FOUND PIECES OF THE ENGINE ON THE ROAD AND NEAR THE STARTER ON THE VEHICLE, THIS IS WHEN I KNEW IT WAS DONE ENGINE WAS BROKEN AND HAD TO CALL AAA TO GET A TOW TRUCK. LATER I DECIDED TO DO SOME RESEARCH ON WHAT JUST HAPPEN AND FOUND THAT A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAD PROBLEMS ON THIS VEHICLE JUST LIKE I DID.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds