Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Tires (3)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (2) Structure (4) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/4/2016 - WAPPINGERS FALS, NY
AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, WITHIN A FEW MILES THE VEHICLE WILL STALL. DODGE ALREADY HAS EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE FUEL TANK OF VEHICLE BUILT AFTER SEPTEMBER 2003 BUT MINE WAS BUILT AUGUST 5 2003 SO IT IS OUTSIDE THEIR WINDOW. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE BECAUSE IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55 MILES AN HOUR AND I THEN HAVE NO POWER AND NEED TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC THAT IS GOING TO RUN ME OVER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/8/2016 - MECHANICSVILLE, MD
EVERY TIME WE FILL THE FUEL TANK THE CARAVAN CUTS OFF AND RIDES VERY ROUGH. THE RECALL ON THE DODGE CARAVAN WAS ON VANS BUILD STARTING ON 09/01/2003 MY CARAVAN WAS BUILT ON 09/29/2013.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/1/2016 - MECHANICSVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - GREENSBORO, NC
ENGINE STALLS OUT 10 OR 15 SECONDS AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK. USUALLY ON THE HIGHWAY YOU ARE TURNING ON TO. ITS BEEN DOING THIS FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2015 - GRAND FORKS, ND
THE VEHICLE STALLS OUT AFTER FILLING AT THE GAS STATION. REPORTEDLY DUE TO AN ISSUE WITH THE CHECK VALVE AND REQUIRES THE ENTIRE FUEL TANK TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/30/2015 - BAYTOWN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STARTED GOING TO THE RED SIDE; INDICATING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS HAVING TROUBLE REGULATING THE ENGINE COOLING SYSTEM. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL ENTERING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND CARBON FILTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/30/2015 - BAYTOWN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STARTED GOING TO THE RED SIDE; INDICATING THAT THE VEHICLE WAS HAVING TROUBLE REGULATING THE ENGINE COOLING SYSTEM. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL ENTERING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND CARBON FILTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2015 - ANTIOCH, TN
I WENT TO THE GAS STATION AND FILLED MY GAS TANK, NOT TOPPING IT OFF, AND AS SOON AS I TURNED OUT OF THE STATION ON A MAJOR ROAD THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALMOST RESULTING IN AN ACCIDENT. AFTER A QUICK RESTART THE VAN RAN FINE AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE FROM NASHVILLE, TN TO ATLANTA, GA WITH NO PROBLEMS. BUT WHEN I FILLED UP AGAIN IN ATLANTA, RIGHT AFTER PULLING OUT OF THE GAS STATION THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN, IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION. THIS PROBLEM IS WIDELY REPORTED ACROSS DODGE AND CHRYSLER VANS, WITH OVER 100 COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE. I'M HOPING THIS ISSUE WITH THE GAS TANK/SENSORS WILL BE ADDRESS. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2015 - STRONGHURST, IL
AFTER FUELING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOW ON AND INDICATES AN EMISSIONS LEAK WHICH CAUSES VAPORS TO NOW BUILD UP INSIDE THE VAN AFTER EVERY REFUELING. IF FILLED TO CAPACITY THE VEHICLE WILL ALSO STUTTER AND SOMETIMES COMPLETELY STALL SHORTLY AFTER FUELING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/15/2015 - CENTRAL POINT, OR
EVERY TIME I FILL MY TANK (I DO NOT TOP OFF), WITHIN A FEW MINUTES OF LEAVING THE STATION, THE VAN DIES. IT NORMALLY RE-STARTS, BUT IT TAKES QUITE A LOT OF GAS PEDAL PUMPING. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHEN IT HAPPENS IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION. I HAD THE FUEL PUMP AND FILTER REPLACED AND THAT DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. NOW I UNDERSTAND THAT THE VALVE ON TOP OF THE TANK IS AT FAULT, BUT YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TANK. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds