Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2004 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 942 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (229) Exterior Lighting (35) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (141) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (330) Service Brakes Hydraulic (47) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (28) Steering (59) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Engine (23) Interior Lighting (7) Seats (19) Structure (33) Visibility (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (9) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (13) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2016 - SEAL BEACH, CA
TEXTBOOK CASE OF TRANSMISSION FAILURE FOR MY '04 HONDA ACCORD V-6 ON FRIDAY, MAY 22, 2015. CAR FAILED ON THE 15 FWY OUTSIDE OF BARSTOW, CA AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE LOS ANGELES AREA. WHEN I CONTACTED AMERICAN HONDA I WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. MY CAR, THOUGH 11 YEARS OLD, HAD ONLY 89.5K MILES ON IT. IT HAD BEEN SERVICED AT ALL TIMES BY MY HONDA DEALER, INCLUDING TRANSMISSION SERVICE 3 TIMES, INCLUDING JANUARY OF 2015. I HAVE ALL DOCUMENTATION. HONDA QUOTED ME $5,642.40 FOR THE REPAIR, AND ALSO IN A LETTER DATED 6/24/15 CONFIRMED THAT I NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION ASSEMBLY. I "ESCALATED" MY COMPLAINT TO AMERICAN HONDA AND WAS OFFERED $250 "CUSTOMER LOYALTY CARD" WHICH I INITIALLY DECLINED. I THEN CONTACTED AMERICAN HONDA AGAIN AND RECEIVED A $300 CARD FOR THE INCONVENIENCE THAT WHEN MY CAR WAS RETURNED TO ME BY HONDA THE ENTIRE AIR INTAKE SYSTEM WAS MISSING!! IT TOOK THE HONDA DEALERSHIP 3 DAYS T CONTACT ME AND RETURN THE AIR INTAKE SYSTEM. I BOUGHT THIS HONDA ACCORD BRAND NEW FROM THE HONDA DEALER AND AM THE ONLY OWNER/DRIVER. I STILL AM WITHOUT A RELIABLE VEHICLE AND THERE IS NO REASON THAT A TRANSMISSION, WHICH HAS BEEN CONSISTENTLY SERVICED BY THE DEALERSHIP, SHOULD FAIL WITH LESS THAN 90,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. HAD I NOT BEEN IN THE DESERT WITH LIGHTER TRAFFIC, I WOULD HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN AN EXTREME CRASH WITH OTHER VEHICLES. HONDA SHOULD REPAIR MY VEHICLE AND ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE CURRENT RECALL FAILS TO INCLUDE ADDITIONAL VIN THAT WERE AFFECTED. THEY FOCUS THEIR AD CAMPAIGN ON "HELPFUL", YET THEY DO NOT HELP THEIR HONDA OWNERS. SHAME ON HONDA AND I WOULD LIKE SOME RESULTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2016 - NORFOLK, VA
THE RADIO/CD PLAYER HASN'T WORKED ABOUT 95% OF THE LIFE OF THIS CAR. WHEN IT DOES IN FACT DECIDE TO TURN ON OUT OF NOWHERE, IT CREATES AN EXTREMELY LOUD STATIC NOISE THAT GREATLY STARTLES THE DRIVER, WHICH COULD POTENTIALLY BE A DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/18/2016 - BATTLEBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE SPEED LIMIT TO TAKE MY CHILDREN TO SCHOOL THIS MORNING 02-18-2016, MY HONDA WAS IN THE LAST GEAR BUT SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO A POWER GEAR CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK. MY CHILDREN AND I WERE ALMOST REAR ENDED BUT THE F-150 TRUCK BEHIND IS SWERVED TO KEEP FROM BITTING US. I WAS VERY AFRAID ALSO CAUSE THE SEAT BELT AROUND MY CHILDREN TIGHTENED TO THE POINT WHERE MY BABY BOY STARTED CRYING CAUSE IT WAS LIKE IT CHOKED HIM. AFTER DROPPING THEM OFF, I GOT TO THE STOP LIGHT WHICH IS ON A HILL AND THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. PUT IN PARK AND CUT OFF AND CAR THEN WENT INTO GEAR BUT DID NOT CHANGE FEARS TO WHERE IT REVED UP THE RPMS. CRUISED DOWN HILL TO MY HOME AND DECIDED TO BACK UP AND THE CAR WOULD IT EVEN BACK UP. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE CAUSE THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH HONDA AND ALL THE CAN TELL ME IS THAT THERE IS NO RECALL I. MY CAR EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING. I DID RESEARCH AND THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT SIMILAR PROBLEMS IF NOT THE SAME.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/18/2016 - BATTLEBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE SPEED LIMIT TO TAKE MY CHILDREN TO SCHOOL THIS MORNING 02-18-2016, MY HONDA WAS IN THE LAST GEAR BUT SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO A POWER GEAR CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK. MY CHILDREN AND I WERE ALMOST REAR ENDED BUT THE F-150 TRUCK BEHIND IS SWERVED TO KEEP FROM BITTING US. I WAS VERY AFRAID ALSO CAUSE THE SEAT BELT AROUND MY CHILDREN TIGHTENED TO THE POINT WHERE MY BABY BOY STARTED CRYING CAUSE IT WAS LIKE IT CHOKED HIM. AFTER DROPPING THEM OFF, I GOT TO THE STOP LIGHT WHICH IS ON A HILL AND THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. PUT IN PARK AND CUT OFF AND CAR THEN WENT INTO GEAR BUT DID NOT CHANGE FEARS TO WHERE IT REVED UP THE RPMS. CRUISED DOWN HILL TO MY HOME AND DECIDED TO BACK UP AND THE CAR WOULD IT EVEN BACK UP. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE CAUSE THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH HONDA AND ALL THE CAN TELL ME IS THAT THERE IS NO RECALL I. MY CAR EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING. I DID RESEARCH AND THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT SIMILAR PROBLEMS IF NOT THE SAME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/18/2016 - BATTLEBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE SPEED LIMIT TO TAKE MY CHILDREN TO SCHOOL THIS MORNING 02-18-2016, MY HONDA WAS IN THE LAST GEAR BUT SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO A POWER GEAR CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK. MY CHILDREN AND I WERE ALMOST REAR ENDED BUT THE F-150 TRUCK BEHIND IS SWERVED TO KEEP FROM BITTING US. I WAS VERY AFRAID ALSO CAUSE THE SEAT BELT AROUND MY CHILDREN TIGHTENED TO THE POINT WHERE MY BABY BOY STARTED CRYING CAUSE IT WAS LIKE IT CHOKED HIM. AFTER DROPPING THEM OFF, I GOT TO THE STOP LIGHT WHICH IS ON A HILL AND THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. PUT IN PARK AND CUT OFF AND CAR THEN WENT INTO GEAR BUT DID NOT CHANGE FEARS TO WHERE IT REVED UP THE RPMS. CRUISED DOWN HILL TO MY HOME AND DECIDED TO BACK UP AND THE CAR WOULD IT EVEN BACK UP. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE CAUSE THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH HONDA AND ALL THE CAN TELL ME IS THAT THERE IS NO RECALL I. MY CAR EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING. I DID RESEARCH AND THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT SIMILAR PROBLEMS IF NOT THE SAME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/5/2016 - HINES, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DRIVER SIDE GEAR FAILED AND THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE OF ENGINE RPMS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REBUILT. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V176000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 192,000. UPDATED 04/04/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE NOSE DIVED AS IF THE BRAKES HAD BEEN APPLIED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/5/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS IN A PARKING GARAGE AND PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT. I WAS WITHIN 2 FEET OF THE CONCRETE WALL AND FOOT OVER BREAK WHEN MY CAR ACCELERATED WITH ENOUGH FORCE TO DEPLOY THE AIRBAG AND PUSH THE FRAME INTO THE RADIATOR. IT HAPPENED SO FAST, I TRIED TO BRAKE BUT IT WAS OVER WITHIN SECONDS. I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN GOING MORE THAN 2MPH OR LESS AS I DID NOT EVEN HAVE FOOT ON GAS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS IN A PARKING GARAGE AND PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT. I WAS WITHIN 2 FEET OF THE CONCRETE WALL AND FOOT OVER BREAK WHEN MY CAR ACCELERATED WITH ENOUGH FORCE TO DEPLOY THE AIRBAG AND PUSH THE FRAME INTO THE RADIATOR. IT HAPPENED SO FAST, I TRIED TO BRAKE BUT IT WAS OVER WITHIN SECONDS. I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN GOING MORE THAN 2MPH OR LESS AS I DID NOT EVEN HAVE FOOT ON GAS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/4/2016 - HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA
THE CAR RADIO DOES NOT WORK, IT WILL TURN OFF SUDDENLY AND THEN WITHOUT WARNING AT ANY TIME WILL COME BACK ON AND THE LOUD UNANTICIPATED NOISE STARTLES THE DRIVER. THIS HAPPENS EVEN IF THE RADIO SWITCH IS TURNED OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - MILLERS CREEK, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO FUNCTION. AS A RESULT, ALL THE METERS AND GAUGES DISPLAYED INCORRECT READINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CIRCUIT BOARD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds