Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2004 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 942 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (229) Exterior Lighting (35) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (141) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (330) Service Brakes Hydraulic (47) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (28) Steering (59) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Engine (23) Interior Lighting (7) Seats (19) Structure (33) Visibility (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (9) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (13) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/22/2017 - XENIA, OH
TAKATA RECALL. WHY WAS MY 2004 HONDA ACCORD NEVER INCLUDED IN ONE OF THE THREE RECALLS (15V320000, 14V700000, 15V370000) AFFECTING THE 2004 HONDA ACCORD? I PREVIOUSLY ASKED HONDA BUT THEY WOULD NOT RESPOND. WHAT IS THE TECHNICAL EXPLANATION WHY MY ACCORD WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THESE RECALLS.? I PURCHASED THE CAR NEW AND HAVE NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF ANY RECALLS. IS THE CAR SAFE TO DRIVE?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2017 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE SPEED BEGAN TO DROP AND THE TRANSMISSION STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/16/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
TRANSMISSION SLIPPING AND GRINDING. TOOK IT TO OUR TRUSTED MECHANIC AND HE SAID THE TRANSMISSION IS FAILING AND HAS TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 128,000 MILES. THERE WAS A NHTSA RECALL #: 04V176000 FOR 2003/2004 HONDAS DUE TO TRANSMISSION FAILURE WHICH COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT. I CONTACTED HONDA AND THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2017 - TAFT, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" AIR BAG OFF WARNING LIGHTS WILL STAY ON, AND HAS BEEN ILLUMINATED AT THE MAJORITY OF STARTS. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF WILL TURN ON, AND STAY-ON AT TIMES, MAJORITY WILL SHUT-OFF, THE DRIVER SIDE WILL TURN OFF SOMETIMES, MOSTLY THE LIGHT WILL STAY-ON. NOT HARDLY WILL THERE NOT BE ONE OF THE AIR-BAG LIGHTS ON, AND I NEVER KNOW WHICH SIDE, OR IF BOTH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/19/2016 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I DID TUNE UP MY CAR BECAUSE IS RUN NOT GOOD. THE BALL JOINT BROKE GOOD THE HAPPEN ON STREET IN REPAIR GET NEW BALL JOINT AND NEW AXLE BOTH THING FOR DRIVERS SIDE USED CAR HAD A GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE BUT AFTER START GIVING BAD MILEAGES. MANY TIME TUNE UP. AFTER THAT CAR NOT PICK SPEED. ONE DAY I DID GOOGLE SEARCH. I FIND HONDA RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION OVER ONE MILLION. I CALL HONDA DEALER ABOUT TRANSMISSION RECALL HE SAY NEED UP DATE SOFTWARE BUT THEY DON'T HAVE RECALL ABOUT THIS YET . BUT THEY HAVE RECALL AIRBAGS WAS WHICH HAVEN ALREADY DONE. NOW MY CAR HAVE PROBLEMS WITH TRANSMISSION ,BALL JOINT AXLE ,SMOKING. RADIO NOT WORKS ANOTHER I HOPE. I GET RECALL SOON . I WASN'T KNOW THAT TO FILE COMPLAINTS. NOW I KNOW AND I HELPS OTHER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/19/2016 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I DID TUNE UP MY CAR BECAUSE IS RUN NOT GOOD. THE BALL JOINT BROKE GOOD THE HAPPEN ON STREET IN REPAIR GET NEW BALL JOINT AND NEW AXLE BOTH THING FOR DRIVERS SIDE USED CAR HAD A GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE BUT AFTER START GIVING BAD MILEAGES. MANY TIME TUNE UP. AFTER THAT CAR NOT PICK SPEED. ONE DAY I DID GOOGLE SEARCH. I FIND HONDA RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION OVER ONE MILLION. I CALL HONDA DEALER ABOUT TRANSMISSION RECALL HE SAY NEED UP DATE SOFTWARE BUT THEY DON'T HAVE RECALL ABOUT THIS YET . BUT THEY HAVE RECALL AIRBAGS WAS WHICH HAVEN ALREADY DONE. NOW MY CAR HAVE PROBLEMS WITH TRANSMISSION ,BALL JOINT AXLE ,SMOKING. RADIO NOT WORKS ANOTHER I HOPE. I GET RECALL SOON . I WASN'T KNOW THAT TO FILE COMPLAINTS. NOW I KNOW AND I HELPS OTHER.

View Details

ENGINE

12/19/2016 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I DID TUNE UP MY CAR BECAUSE IS RUN NOT GOOD. THE BALL JOINT BROKE GOOD THE HAPPEN ON STREET IN REPAIR GET NEW BALL JOINT AND NEW AXLE BOTH THING FOR DRIVERS SIDE USED CAR HAD A GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE BUT AFTER START GIVING BAD MILEAGES. MANY TIME TUNE UP. AFTER THAT CAR NOT PICK SPEED. ONE DAY I DID GOOGLE SEARCH. I FIND HONDA RECALL FOR TRANSMISSION OVER ONE MILLION. I CALL HONDA DEALER ABOUT TRANSMISSION RECALL HE SAY NEED UP DATE SOFTWARE BUT THEY DON'T HAVE RECALL ABOUT THIS YET . BUT THEY HAVE RECALL AIRBAGS WAS WHICH HAVEN ALREADY DONE. NOW MY CAR HAVE PROBLEMS WITH TRANSMISSION ,BALL JOINT AXLE ,SMOKING. RADIO NOT WORKS ANOTHER I HOPE. I GET RECALL SOON . I WASN'T KNOW THAT TO FILE COMPLAINTS. NOW I KNOW AND I HELPS OTHER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/14/2016 - ROSEVILLE, CA
I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK, EXITING THE DOWNTOWN AREA AND ENTERING THE FREEWAY, WHEN THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR. THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT RE-ENGAGE WITHOUT MOVING THE SHIFTER DOWN TO THE D3 GEAR FIRST. I WAS ABLE TO LIMP THE CAR USING THIS METHOD TO THE NEAREST TRANSMISSION REPAIR SHOP. THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR SEVERAL MORE TIMES ON THE DRIVE TO THE REPAIR FACILITY. IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FAULTY THIRD CLUTCH AND A REPAIR ESTIMATE OF $3200-3400 FOR A REBUILT TRANSMISSION. I CHOSE A DIFFERENT REPAIR SHOP, WITH AN EQUALLY GOOD REPUTATION, AND HAD THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT FOR $2700. IT HAS BEEN BACK TO THE SAME REPAIR SHOP 3 TIMES AFTER THE REBUILD WITH SIMILAR SYMPTOMS. THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE RECURRING SLIPPAGE. RESEARCH REVEALS THAT HUNDREDS OF OTHER HONDA ACCORD OWNERS HAVE ENCOUNTERED THE SAME ISSUE OF TRANSMISSION FAILURE. IT APPEARS TO BE THE SAME PARTS FAILING IN A MAJORITY OF INSTANCES. THE TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP OUT OF GEAR FROM A DEAD STOP, IN MOTION AT SLOW SPEEDS OR MODERATE SPEEDS WITH NO DETECTABLE PATTERN. THE TRANSMISSION FAILING WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION CREATES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS, POTENTIALLY FATAL, DRIVING SITUATION. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. HONDA HAS ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS TRANSMISSION ALREADY BUT NOT FOR THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM. MY VEHICLE DOESN'T QUALIFY FOR THE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2016 - GAINESVILLE, GA
THE CAR WAS JUST AMAZING WHEN I BOUGHT IT. EVEN THO I PURCHASED IT USED I WENT STRAIGHT TO A SERVICE SHOP HAD THE OIL CHANGED AND COMPLETE TUNE UP DONE EXPECTING TO ENJOY THIS CAR I HAVE ALWAYS HEARD GREAT THINGS ABOUT. THE FIRST COUPLE MONTHS WERE GREAT, NO WORRIES. THEN IT SEEMS LIKE OUT OF NO WHERE I NOTICED A SLIGHT DIFFERENCE IN THE WAY IT DROVE, JUST THE COMPLETE FEELING OF THE CAR WAS DIFFERENT. THE NEXT DAY I WENT OUT TO EAT AND THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED HARD. OKAY I THOUGHT JUST NEED TO PAY ATTENTION, THAT NIGHT WHEN HEADING TO THE STORE IS WHEN IT BECAME CONSTANT, SHIFTING FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE A HARD SHIFT, FROM 1TO2 SLIP 2TO3 SLIP, THEN ONCE IT HEATED UP STOPPED. TODAY IS THE SECOND DAY OF HAVING TO DRIVE IT AND THE LIGHT FOR THE ENGINE CAME ON. THE CAR HAS ONLY 160,000 MILES ON IT, SUPPOSEDLY STILL IN ITS PRIME ACCORDING TO EARLY HONDA OWNERS, MY COUSIN HAD A EARLY 90'S MODEL ACCORD I KNOW LIVED TO ALMOST 300,000 ON THE SAME ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION. WHAT MAKES THIS GENERATION NOT ACCOUNTABLE OR NOT AS WORTHY OF THE SAME QUALITY THAT HAS GIVEN HONDA THE LOYALTY OF CUSTOMERS IT HAS NOW. THEY HAVE THE AUDACITY TO TURN A BLIND EYE ON THIS PROBLEM, KNOWING THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE A SELF INFLICTED AND THE DIRECT RESULT OF CHEAP PARTS AND A DESIGN FLAW THEY ALLOWED TO BE MASS PRODUCED KNOWING, THE "CERTAINTY" OF MASS FAILURE IT WOULD CREATE AFTER THE WARRANTY FREEING THEM OF LIABILITY. LEAVING THE DEDICATED CUSTOMERS, THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE HELPED HONDA BUILD THERE FOOT HOLD ON THE AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY IN THE USA, IN THE WIND. WHERE IS THE JUSTICE, THE ACCOUNTABILITY, KNOWINGLY PRODUCING A PRODUCT THAT'S DESIGN IS INADEQUATE, KNOWING DUE TO IMPROPER FLUID CONTROL OR LACK OF PROPER FLUID FLOW WILL UNDOUBTEDLY CAUSE FAILURE OF THE POWERTRAIN. HOW IS IT NOT CRIMINAL WHERE IS THE ACCOUNTABILITY I THOUGHT PRODUCING PRODUCTS WHICH U KNOW ARE DEFAULT IS ILLEGAL.

View Details

STEERING

10/6/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
PICKING UP SON FROM PRE-K AND CAR KEY WOULD NOT TURN OFF. AFTER MESSING WITH THE KEY AND JUGGLING IT FOR OVER AN HOUR, I WAS ABLE TO TURN IT OFF BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN ON AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT COULD BE THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds