Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2004 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 942 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (229) Exterior Lighting (35) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (141) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (330) Service Brakes Hydraulic (47) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (28) Steering (59) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Engine (23) Interior Lighting (7) Seats (19) Structure (33) Visibility (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (9) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (13) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: HOSE, PIPING, AND CONNECTIONS

9/27/2016 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO MOVE AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,340. UPDATED 11/29/16

View Details

STEERING

9/27/2016 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO MOVE AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,340. UPDATED 11/29/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2016 - CARROLLTON, TX
2005 HONDA ACCORD V6 AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT AT ONLY 145,000 MILES. I CALLED A FEW TRANSMISSION SHOPS AND THE 2003, 2004, & 2005 HONDA ACCORDS WITH THE V6 ENGINE ARE KNOWN TO GO OUT AROUND THIS MILEAGE. I CALLED HONDA AND THEY DENIED THAT THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG. I CHECKED OTHER ONLINE FORUMS AND THEY ALL STATE THAT THE TRANSMISSIONS ARE FAULTY AND SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2016 - RIO VISTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, A CLICKING NOISE STARTED TO EMERGE FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. IN 2004,THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPAIRED THROUGH A MANUFACTURER'S RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2016 - KERNERSVILLE, NC
WHILE DRIVING, I HEAR AND FEEL A LOUD THUMP, THE CAR BEGINS TO JERK, SLOWS DOWN, AND THREE DIFFERENT LIGHTS APPEAR ALL AT ONCE ON THE DASHBOARD. IT'S BEGINNING TO HAPPEN MORE FREQUENTLY. PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS. NO ONE CAN SEEM TO TELL ME WHAT'S WRONG. I AM AWARE THAT HONDA PASSED A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION ON THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL OF MY CAR, BUT MY CAR WASN'T ABLE TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE RECALL, BECAUSE MY VIN # DIDN'T APPLY. I BELIEVE THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH MY TRANSMISSION AND ALL VIN #'S THAT SHARE THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL AS I SHOULD BE AWARDED THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THIS RECALL OPTION AS WELL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2016 - PALM SPRINGS, CA
TAKATA RECALL ON JULY 19, 2016 MY WIFE WAS RETURNING FROM A LUNCHEON ABOUT 2PM ON HWY 111 ON A SUNNY, DRY AFTERNOON FOLLOWING TRAFFIC WITHIN SPEED LIMITS WHEN TO THE BEST OF HER RECOLLECTION THE AIR BIG EXPLODED CAUSING PHYSICAL DAMAGE TO MY WIFE. SHE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND RAN INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE' THIS ACCIDENT RESULTED IN THE TOTAL LOSS OF THE ACCORD. ABOUT SIX OR EIGHT WEEKS AGO I TOOK THE ACCORD IN TO THE HONDA DEALER IN CATHEDRAL CITY AND REQUESTED THAT THE AIR BAG BE INSPECTED AS A WAS AWARE OF A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE IN MAY 2016. I WAS TOLD THAT THE AIR BAG WAS SAFE AND NOTHING WAS DONE ON THE CAR. I HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE THAT THE RECALL WORK ON THIS AIR BAG (REPLACE PARTS) SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE BY THE DEALER AND THIS ACCIDENT WOULD NOT HAVE OCCURRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2004 ACCORD TRANSMISSION BEGAN LEAKING AT THE SAME TIME AS ABS TROUBLE, WHAT SEEMS TO BE SUSPENSION PROBLEMS (BAD SPRINGS?), HOOD STRUTS FAILED. THESE ALL HAPPENED ABOUT A MONTH AFTER ONE DEALER REPLACED AN ENGINE MOUNT AND LEAKING POWER STEERING FLUID CONTAINER. THE TRUNK OPENING SWITCH WOULD NOT WORK BUT WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. I HAD THE ABS LOOKED AT AT ANOTHER DEALER AND FOR $100 AN "ELECTRICAL SWITCH" UNDER THE GAS PEDAL WAS REPLACED. THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING AGAIN. THEY SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE FIXED FOR $2000 AND THAT MY CAR WAS NOT IN THE RECALL. I SAW MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT TRANSMISSION LEAKS ONLINE AND ABOUT THE GAS DOOR NOT OPENING. THE DEALER DIDN'T WANT TO HEAR ABOUT THAT. (ENGINE MOUNTS AND HOOD STRUTS ARE POPULAR ITEMS ON AMAZON.) I WAS LUCKY THAT MY HEAD WASN'T UNDER THERE WHEN THE HOOD FELL. I HAD OPENED THE HOOD TO CHECK THE POWER STEERING FLUID AND WENT TO THE TRUNK TO GET SOME, WHEN IT FELL. I WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THEM FROM AMAZON. I HAD THE ENGINE CUT OUT TWICE WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN AFTER LAST INSPECTION. I LOST STEERING AND SAW THE ENGINE LIGHT COME ON SO I QUICKLY STARTED THE ENGINE AGAIN. ABOUT A MONTH APART. IT DIDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. IT SEEMS STRANGE TO ME THAT ALL OF THIS HAPPENED WITHIN 6 MONTHS AFTER AN INSPECTION.

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2004 ACCORD TRANSMISSION BEGAN LEAKING AT THE SAME TIME AS ABS TROUBLE, WHAT SEEMS TO BE SUSPENSION PROBLEMS (BAD SPRINGS?), HOOD STRUTS FAILED. THESE ALL HAPPENED ABOUT A MONTH AFTER ONE DEALER REPLACED AN ENGINE MOUNT AND LEAKING POWER STEERING FLUID CONTAINER. THE TRUNK OPENING SWITCH WOULD NOT WORK BUT WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. I HAD THE ABS LOOKED AT AT ANOTHER DEALER AND FOR $100 AN "ELECTRICAL SWITCH" UNDER THE GAS PEDAL WAS REPLACED. THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING AGAIN. THEY SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE FIXED FOR $2000 AND THAT MY CAR WAS NOT IN THE RECALL. I SAW MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT TRANSMISSION LEAKS ONLINE AND ABOUT THE GAS DOOR NOT OPENING. THE DEALER DIDN'T WANT TO HEAR ABOUT THAT. (ENGINE MOUNTS AND HOOD STRUTS ARE POPULAR ITEMS ON AMAZON.) I WAS LUCKY THAT MY HEAD WASN'T UNDER THERE WHEN THE HOOD FELL. I HAD OPENED THE HOOD TO CHECK THE POWER STEERING FLUID AND WENT TO THE TRUNK TO GET SOME, WHEN IT FELL. I WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THEM FROM AMAZON. I HAD THE ENGINE CUT OUT TWICE WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN AFTER LAST INSPECTION. I LOST STEERING AND SAW THE ENGINE LIGHT COME ON SO I QUICKLY STARTED THE ENGINE AGAIN. ABOUT A MONTH APART. IT DIDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. IT SEEMS STRANGE TO ME THAT ALL OF THIS HAPPENED WITHIN 6 MONTHS AFTER AN INSPECTION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/23/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2004 ACCORD TRANSMISSION BEGAN LEAKING AT THE SAME TIME AS ABS TROUBLE, WHAT SEEMS TO BE SUSPENSION PROBLEMS (BAD SPRINGS?), HOOD STRUTS FAILED. THESE ALL HAPPENED ABOUT A MONTH AFTER ONE DEALER REPLACED AN ENGINE MOUNT AND LEAKING POWER STEERING FLUID CONTAINER. THE TRUNK OPENING SWITCH WOULD NOT WORK BUT WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. I HAD THE ABS LOOKED AT AT ANOTHER DEALER AND FOR $100 AN "ELECTRICAL SWITCH" UNDER THE GAS PEDAL WAS REPLACED. THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING AGAIN. THEY SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE FIXED FOR $2000 AND THAT MY CAR WAS NOT IN THE RECALL. I SAW MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT TRANSMISSION LEAKS ONLINE AND ABOUT THE GAS DOOR NOT OPENING. THE DEALER DIDN'T WANT TO HEAR ABOUT THAT. (ENGINE MOUNTS AND HOOD STRUTS ARE POPULAR ITEMS ON AMAZON.) I WAS LUCKY THAT MY HEAD WASN'T UNDER THERE WHEN THE HOOD FELL. I HAD OPENED THE HOOD TO CHECK THE POWER STEERING FLUID AND WENT TO THE TRUNK TO GET SOME, WHEN IT FELL. I WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THEM FROM AMAZON. I HAD THE ENGINE CUT OUT TWICE WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN AFTER LAST INSPECTION. I LOST STEERING AND SAW THE ENGINE LIGHT COME ON SO I QUICKLY STARTED THE ENGINE AGAIN. ABOUT A MONTH APART. IT DIDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. IT SEEMS STRANGE TO ME THAT ALL OF THIS HAPPENED WITHIN 6 MONTHS AFTER AN INSPECTION.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2016 - BUCKEYE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND A SQUEALING NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND OBSERVED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE WAS LEAKING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V222000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 198,678.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds