Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2004 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 942 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (229) Exterior Lighting (35) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (141) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (330) Service Brakes Hydraulic (47) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (28) Steering (59) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Engine (23) Interior Lighting (7) Seats (19) Structure (33) Visibility (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (9) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (13) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/18/2016 - WARREN, OH
IN SPRING 2014 I CONTACTED US GOVT NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION. AT WHICH TIME THEY INDICATED THAT HONDA HAD AN OPEN INVESTIGATION FOR AIR BAGS AUTOMATICALLY DEPLOYING. THE LADY ON THE PHONE TOLD ME TO CALL HONDA AND MAKE I REPORT WHICH I DID. HONDA HAD ME CONTACT THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHICH INDICATED THAT IT WOULD BE $395 TO INVESTIGATE THE ISSUE. I GOT BACK OF HOLD OF HONDA & TOLD THEM I WOULD NOT PAY FOR THEM TO INVESTIGATE THEIR AIR BAG ALMOST KILLING MY DAUGHTER, WHEN THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED WHILST DRIVING, NOT HITTING ANYTHING. FORTUNATELY FOR HER, IT WAS A SLOW SPEED WHEN THIS OCCURRED AND SHE WAS NOT HURT. TODAY I STOPPED AT HONDA CORTLAND OH APOSTILAKAS, I DIDN'T GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE. HONDA WANTS TO CHARGE ME OVER $1600 IN MATERIALS AND AN INDETERMINATE AMOUNT OF WORK HOURS TO PERFORM THE LABOR. AIR BAG DISABLES THE HEATER AND OTHER FUNCTIONS ON THE CAR, THUS IT NEEDS REPLACED OR PROVIDE A SOLUTION TO USE MY CAR AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/14/2016 - CALABASAS, CA
TAKATA RECALL OF AIR BAGS. HOW CAN I KNOW IF MY CAR IS IN DANGER OF KILLING ME OR MY PRECIOUS GRANDDAUGHTERS IF MY CAR IS IN AN ACCIDENT AND THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY? PLEASE ADVISE ON ANY NEW DEVELOPMENTS. I HAVE HAD THE AIRBAGS REPLACED ON A RECALL ALREADY, BUT HAVE HEARD THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE REPLACEMENTS.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2016 - BRADFORD, PA
JAN. 2015 TRAVELING AT 25 TO 30 MPH, DRIVER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, WHICH RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, SEPERATED CV SHAFT AND FENDER DAMAGE. NO INJURIES AND HAD TO HAVE TOWED. MAY 2015 TRAVELING 20 TO 25 MPH, PASSENGER LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE AND DAMAGE TO FENDER. LOCAL POLICE WERE CALLED, NO INJURIES AND VEHICLE TOWED. JULY 2016 BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, PASSENGER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED, CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, DAMAGE TO FENDER, SEPARATED CV SHAFT, AND DENTED THE OIL PAN, NO INJURIES. THERE IS A FAULT IN THE DESIGN OF THE LOWER BALL JOINT PLACEMENT, THE WEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE IS NATURALLY CAUSING THE BALL TO PRESS AGAINST THE RETAINING EDGE OF THE SOCKET, RESULTING IN METAL ON METAL CONTACT CAUSING THE RETAINING EDGE TO WEAR RESULTING IN SEPARATION OF THE BALL JOINT. THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT THIS WOULD BE TO REDESIGN THE FRONT SUSPENSION STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM. THE BALL JOINT SHOULD BE PRESSED INTO THE SOCKET WITH WEIGHT ON THE WHEELS NOT PULLING IT APART. MY ONLY SUGGESTIONS UNTIL SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS, IS GO TO A SERVICE GARAGE AND HAVE THEM CHECK THE BALL JOINTS WITH A PRY BAR BETWEEN THE STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM, IF THERE IS MOVEMENT HAVE IT REPLACED AND KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS. JUST SHAKING THE WHEEL BY HAND ISN'T ENOUGH TO SEE THE MOVEMENT. DO NOT PICK THE VEHICLE UP BY THE LOWER CONTROL ARM, IT CAN RESULT IN CONTROL ARM BUSHING SEPARATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/11/2016 - BRADFORD, PA
JAN. 2015 TRAVELING AT 25 TO 30 MPH, DRIVER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, WHICH RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, SEPERATED CV SHAFT AND FENDER DAMAGE. NO INJURIES AND HAD TO HAVE TOWED. MAY 2015 TRAVELING 20 TO 25 MPH, PASSENGER LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE AND DAMAGE TO FENDER. LOCAL POLICE WERE CALLED, NO INJURIES AND VEHICLE TOWED. JULY 2016 BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, PASSENGER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED, CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, DAMAGE TO FENDER, SEPARATED CV SHAFT, AND DENTED THE OIL PAN, NO INJURIES. THERE IS A FAULT IN THE DESIGN OF THE LOWER BALL JOINT PLACEMENT, THE WEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE IS NATURALLY CAUSING THE BALL TO PRESS AGAINST THE RETAINING EDGE OF THE SOCKET, RESULTING IN METAL ON METAL CONTACT CAUSING THE RETAINING EDGE TO WEAR RESULTING IN SEPARATION OF THE BALL JOINT. THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT THIS WOULD BE TO REDESIGN THE FRONT SUSPENSION STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM. THE BALL JOINT SHOULD BE PRESSED INTO THE SOCKET WITH WEIGHT ON THE WHEELS NOT PULLING IT APART. MY ONLY SUGGESTIONS UNTIL SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS, IS GO TO A SERVICE GARAGE AND HAVE THEM CHECK THE BALL JOINTS WITH A PRY BAR BETWEEN THE STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM, IF THERE IS MOVEMENT HAVE IT REPLACED AND KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS. JUST SHAKING THE WHEEL BY HAND ISN'T ENOUGH TO SEE THE MOVEMENT. DO NOT PICK THE VEHICLE UP BY THE LOWER CONTROL ARM, IT CAN RESULT IN CONTROL ARM BUSHING SEPARATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/11/2016 - BRADFORD, PA
JAN. 2015 TRAVELING AT 25 TO 30 MPH, DRIVER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, WHICH RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, SEPERATED CV SHAFT AND FENDER DAMAGE. NO INJURIES AND HAD TO HAVE TOWED. MAY 2015 TRAVELING 20 TO 25 MPH, PASSENGER LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE AND DAMAGE TO FENDER. LOCAL POLICE WERE CALLED, NO INJURIES AND VEHICLE TOWED. JULY 2016 BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, PASSENGER FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT SEPARATED, CAUSING WHEEL TO TURN SIDEWAYS IN WHEEL WELL, RESULTED IN DISABLING VEHICLE, DAMAGE TO FENDER, SEPARATED CV SHAFT, AND DENTED THE OIL PAN, NO INJURIES. THERE IS A FAULT IN THE DESIGN OF THE LOWER BALL JOINT PLACEMENT, THE WEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE IS NATURALLY CAUSING THE BALL TO PRESS AGAINST THE RETAINING EDGE OF THE SOCKET, RESULTING IN METAL ON METAL CONTACT CAUSING THE RETAINING EDGE TO WEAR RESULTING IN SEPARATION OF THE BALL JOINT. THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT THIS WOULD BE TO REDESIGN THE FRONT SUSPENSION STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM. THE BALL JOINT SHOULD BE PRESSED INTO THE SOCKET WITH WEIGHT ON THE WHEELS NOT PULLING IT APART. MY ONLY SUGGESTIONS UNTIL SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS, IS GO TO A SERVICE GARAGE AND HAVE THEM CHECK THE BALL JOINTS WITH A PRY BAR BETWEEN THE STEERING KNUCKLE AND LOWER CONTROL ARM, IF THERE IS MOVEMENT HAVE IT REPLACED AND KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS. JUST SHAKING THE WHEEL BY HAND ISN'T ENOUGH TO SEE THE MOVEMENT. DO NOT PICK THE VEHICLE UP BY THE LOWER CONTROL ARM, IT CAN RESULT IN CONTROL ARM BUSHING SEPARATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2016 - KOKOMO, IN
TAKATA RECALL: MY CAR WAS PURCHASED IN COLLEGE STATION, TEXAS AND SPENT ITS FIRST ELEVEN YEARS IN AUSTIN, TEXAS WHERE THE HEAT AND MOISTURE WAS PREVALENT AS ALLEGED IN THE REPORTS OF CAUSES FOR FAILURES OF THE TAKATA AIRBAGS YET MY CAR IS NEVER LISTED IN THE RECALL LISTS. AND WITH THE RECENT URGINGS OF THE NHTSA FOR OLDER VEHICLES FROM THAT REGION BEING AMONG THOSE IN MOST URGENT NEED OF HAVING THE AIRBAGS REPLACED I AM CONSIDERING HAVING THEM REPLACED ANYWAY AT MY OWN EXPENSE. MY QUESTIONS ARE: WILL I BE REIMBURSED WHEN MY CAR IS FINALLY RECALLED AND WHY ISN'T MY CAR INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2016 - THE VILLAGES, FL
"TAKATA RECALL" MY LOCAL PAPER STATED THAT YOU HAVE DECLARED ALL HONDA AIR BAGS TO BE UNSAFE, PARTICULARLY THOSE FOR 2004 HONDA ACCORDS LOCATED IN THE HIGH HEAT AND HUMIDITY ASSOCIATED WITH FLORIDA. I HAVE CONTACTED HONDA ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT MY CAR IS "COMPLETELY SAFE". I DON'T FEEL SAFE AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT NHTSA IS DOING ABOUT THIS SITUATION. THANKS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2016 - THOMASVILLE, NC
THE PANEL LIGHTS ON THE RADIO HAS WENT OUT. I CAN'T RECALL IF IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING OR NOT, BUT I NOTICED IT WHILE DRIVING. IN THE 2004 HONDA ACCORD, THE AC, RADIO, & CLOCK SHARE THE SAME DISPLAY. IT WAS RAINING THE OTHER NIGHT WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND MY WINDOWS FOGGED UP. IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND THE DEFROST BUTTON AT NIGHT SINCE ALL THE DISPLAY LIGHTS STOP WORKING. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY ISSUE AND HOPEFULLY HONDA WILL STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND FIX THIS ISSUE TO ENSURE THEIR CUSTOMERS ARE SAFE WHILE DRIVING THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/5/2016 - THOMASVILLE, NC
THE PANEL LIGHTS ON THE RADIO HAS WENT OUT. I CAN'T RECALL IF IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING OR NOT, BUT I NOTICED IT WHILE DRIVING. IN THE 2004 HONDA ACCORD, THE AC, RADIO, & CLOCK SHARE THE SAME DISPLAY. IT WAS RAINING THE OTHER NIGHT WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND MY WINDOWS FOGGED UP. IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND THE DEFROST BUTTON AT NIGHT SINCE ALL THE DISPLAY LIGHTS STOP WORKING. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY ISSUE AND HOPEFULLY HONDA WILL STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND FIX THIS ISSUE TO ENSURE THEIR CUSTOMERS ARE SAFE WHILE DRIVING THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

5/31/2016 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE RADIO FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE PADS, DOME LIGHT, AND MULTIPLE PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 252,869.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds