Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 540 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (214) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (48) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (54) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (46) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (19) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (23)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2018 - WESTERLY, RI
WHILE DRIVING MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY WOULD COMPLETLEY STAHL WITHOUT ANY WARNING, JUST SHUT OFF.. I GOT THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED AND IT STILL STAHLED NUMEROUS TIMES BUT STARTED BACK UP SOON AFTER.. ALMOST CAUSING NUMEROUS ACCIDENTS JUST STOPPING WHILE DRIVING.. NOW MY VAN HAS STAHLED AND THIS TIME IT WILL NOT RESTART. I HAVE LOOKED UP RECALLS AND FOUND ONE THAT MADE SENSE FOR A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY FOR A FUEL PUMP WIRE THST HAS CORROSION CAUSING THE CAR TO STAHL. MY VANS VIN DOESNT FALL UNDER THIS RECALL....???

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/30/2018 - COARSEGOLD, CA
NHTSA RECALL 04V176000 DOES NOT INCLUDE OUR VIN, BUT IT SHOULD, BECAUSE THIS IS THE PROBLEM THAT HAS OCCURRED WITH OUR VEHICLE 3 TIMES NOW. THE TRANSMISSION HAS OVERHEATED AND FAILED. AND ACCORDING TO 04V176000, TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING IS A SERIOUS HAZARD THAT CAN CAUSE LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE!!! THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS DRIVING ON A 2-LANE HIGHWAY. THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT ON HWY 80 TOWARDS RENO. THE 3RD TIME IT HAPPENED, SHE WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT THE SAME PLACE I WAS, ON 41 NORTH. IT ALWAYS HAPPENS ON A MEDIUM TO LONG TRIP GOING UP AN INCLINE. OTHERS HAVE REPORTED THIS AS WELL, SO MUCH THAT THERE IS A SITE DEDICATED TO THIS VERY PROBLEM -- ODYSSEYTRANSMISSION.COM. IF YOU VISIT THIS WEBSITE YOU CAN SEE THE DEFINITE DIFFERENCE IN PROPORTION OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE EARLIER GENERATIONS VS THE LATER. IT APPEARS THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT CAUSES FLUID FLOW CONSTRICTION DURING TORQUE CONVERTER LOCK, WHICH RESULTS IN OVERHEATING. IN THE LAST INCIDENT, AS DESCRIBED BY MY WIFE, SHE WAS DRIVING UP 41, AND THE ENGINE WENT UP TO AROUND 4000 RPM. THE CAR SLOWED DOWN AND SHE SMELLED TRANSMISSION FLUID BURNING. SHE HAD TO WAIT ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR A WHILE, AND THEN IT STARTED TO WORK AGAIN. SHE GOT IT TO A SAFER PLACE AND THEN LET IT COOL FOR LONGER. SHE WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO GO HOME, WHICH WAS A COUPLE MILES AWAY, AND WE HAVE NOT DRIVEN IT SINCE. WE HAD THIS TRANSMISSION REBUILT BY SHAWS AUTO SALES 2 TIMES. THE MOST RECENT TIME WAS LESS THAN 1 YEAR AGO. WE HAVE NOT DONE ANY ABNORMAL DRIVING, OR ANY TOWING, OR ANYTHING. JUST NORMAL DRIVING. SO WE EXPECTED THE FIX TO LAST LONGER THAN THIS. SOUND LIKE A REASONABLE EXPECTATION? WE HAVE BEEN LUCKY THAT WE DIDN'T LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. BUT OTHERS MIGHT NOT BE SO LUCKY! THIS VIN AND OTHERS LIKE IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN 04V176000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/22/2018 - ROWLETT, TX
I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE TREATMENT I HAVE RECEIVED AS A HONDA OWNER. I OWN A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE SEATBELT RANDOMLY STOPPED WORKING AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX IT UNDER THE LIFETIME WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING HONDAS MY ENTIRE ADULT LIFE. CORPORATE MADE ME JUMP THROUGH HOOPS TO GATHER MY REGISTRATION INFORMATION FROM 2000! THEY SAID IF I COULD SHOW LOYALTY TO THE BRAND THEY WOULD FIX IT UNDER THE "GOOD WILL PROGRAM." THEY SAY THE CAR WAS WRECK BEFORE I BOUGHT IT AND THAT IS WHAT MESSED UP THE SEATBELT. HOWEVER, I PURCHASE THE CAR IN 2013. IT HAS BEEN WORKING FOR 5 YEARS AND THEN RANDOMLY GOES OUT BECAUSE OF AN ACCIDENT MORE THAN 5 YEARS AGO?! WHERE IS THE LOGIC?!!! WELL, SHOWING THAT I PREVIOUSLY OWNED A HONDA ACCORD WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH FOR CORPORATE TO CORRECT THEIR MISTAKE, BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE IT SERVICED AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP. I WAS LIVING IN BFE MISSISSIPPI AT THE TIME. HOW WAS THAT MY FAULT? THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN ROCKWALL, TEXAS IS A JOKE. THEY DETERMINED THEY WEREN'T GOING TO FIX IT RIGHT OFF THE BAT. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH, IT SEEMS HONDA SKIMPS OUT ON SEATBELTS. THIS IS WHERE THEY CUT COSTS. I HAD NEVER HAD A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH A HONDA UP UNTIL THIS POINT. THIS ISN'T FIXING SOMETHING THAT IS NO BIG DEAL: LIKE THE SPEAKER THAT FADES IN AND OUT OR THE LOCKS THAT DON'T ALWAYS UNLOCK TOGETHER. THIS IS MY LIFE THEY ARE PLAYING WITH! IT IS DISGUSTING! DO NOT BUY HONDA! I NEVER WILL AGAIN. TOYOTA WOULDN'T TREAT A LIFE LONG CUSTOMER LIKE THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/17/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND ON FOLLOWING THE TAKATA RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/16/2018 - HONEY BROOK, PA
THE CONTACT'S WIFE OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AT A LOW SPEED AND THEN ACCELERATED AT NORMAL SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO ROBERT AUTO MALL (19 PARK LANE, DOWNINGTOWN, PA 19335, (610) 269-8200) WHERE THE CONTACT WAS PROVIDED A HISTORY REPORT REGARDING THE TRANSMISSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE CONTACT WAS PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 06612914. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/28/2017 - LONDONDERRY, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE IN FOR STATE INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR BENCH SEAT WAS LOOSE DUE TO CORROSION OF THE UNI-BODY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE FAILED INSPECTION. DUE TO THE CORROSION, IT WAS UNSAFE TO HAVE PASSENGERS IN THE SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 255,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2017 - FAIRBURN, GA
AT 123,000 MILES TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH UNCONTROLLED GEAR CHANGES ON ROAD AND LOUD THUMP IN CHANGING GEAR FROM PARK TO DRIVE WHEN STARTING IN MORNING. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD NOT GO OFF. DEALER SAID A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS REQUIRED. AFTER INSTALLATION AND TRAVELLING TO 131,000 MILES THUMPING REOCCURRED IN CHANGE FROM PARK TO DRIVE. WAITING ON DEALER RESPONSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds