Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 553 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (219) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (55) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (20) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (24)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2018 - LORAIN, OH
CORROSION WITHIN THE FUEL PUMP WIRING CONNECTOR AND THE FUEL PUMP RETAINING NUT WAS CRACKED / BROKEN. CUSTOMER COMPLAINT WAS STALLING WHILE DRIVING, NO START CONDITION. TROUBLESHOOTING PROCEDURE INDICATED THE FUEL PUMP WIRING CONNECTOR WAS FAULTY THE INSPECTION REVEALED THAT THE CONNECTOR WAS CORRODED APPARENTLY FROM MOISTURE. THIS ISSUE IS CERTAINLY A SAFETY CONCERN CONSIDERING THE FAULTY CONNECTION CAN CAUSE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER -> LOSS OF POWER STEERING, AND THE FAULTY FUEL PUMP NUT CAN CAUSE GASOLINE FUMES TO ESCAPE CONTAINMENT WHICH MAY LEAD TO AN EXPLOSION / FIRE. IF THE CONNECTOR WAS JIGGLED THE FUEL PUMP WOULD INTERMITTENTLY OPERATE AND OR FAIL. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER REFUSED TO RECOGNIZE THE SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIGN # 04V42000 OR THE HONDA SERVICE BULLETIN #04-049, AND REFUSED TO MITIGATE THE PROBLEM WITHOUT OFFERING THE OPTION TO REPAIR THE ISSUE OUTSIDE OF THE RECALL WHICH WOULD COST THE CUSTOMER $454.32 FOR THE FUEL PUMP REPAIR KIT IN ADDITION TO SERVICE FEES OF AT LEAST $374.00. THE VEHICLE WAS INITIALLY TOWED-IN AND PRESENTED FOR SERVICE ON JUNE OF 2018. THE HONDA DEALER IS PROVIDING WIRING HARNESS, RETAINING NUT AND GASKET AT A COST TO THE CUSTOMER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/6/2018 - LORAIN, OH
CORROSION WITHIN THE FUEL PUMP WIRING CONNECTOR AND THE FUEL PUMP RETAINING NUT WAS CRACKED / BROKEN. CUSTOMER COMPLAINT WAS STALLING WHILE DRIVING, NO START CONDITION. TROUBLESHOOTING PROCEDURE INDICATED THE FUEL PUMP WIRING CONNECTOR WAS FAULTY THE INSPECTION REVEALED THAT THE CONNECTOR WAS CORRODED APPARENTLY FROM MOISTURE. THIS ISSUE IS CERTAINLY A SAFETY CONCERN CONSIDERING THE FAULTY CONNECTION CAN CAUSE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER -> LOSS OF POWER STEERING, AND THE FAULTY FUEL PUMP NUT CAN CAUSE GASOLINE FUMES TO ESCAPE CONTAINMENT WHICH MAY LEAD TO AN EXPLOSION / FIRE. IF THE CONNECTOR WAS JIGGLED THE FUEL PUMP WOULD INTERMITTENTLY OPERATE AND OR FAIL. THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER REFUSED TO RECOGNIZE THE SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIGN # 04V42000 OR THE HONDA SERVICE BULLETIN #04-049, AND REFUSED TO MITIGATE THE PROBLEM WITHOUT OFFERING THE OPTION TO REPAIR THE ISSUE OUTSIDE OF THE RECALL WHICH WOULD COST THE CUSTOMER $454.32 FOR THE FUEL PUMP REPAIR KIT IN ADDITION TO SERVICE FEES OF AT LEAST $374.00. THE VEHICLE WAS INITIALLY TOWED-IN AND PRESENTED FOR SERVICE ON JUNE OF 2018. THE HONDA DEALER IS PROVIDING WIRING HARNESS, RETAINING NUT AND GASKET AT A COST TO THE CUSTOMER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2018 - WEST DOVER, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE FORWARD WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INDEPENDENTLY ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION AND THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2018 - WEST DOVER, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE FORWARD WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INDEPENDENTLY ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION AND THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

SEATS

5/7/2018 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
DRIVER'S SEAT HAS COME LOOSE AND IT IS NOT STABLE WHEN DRIVING, ESPECIALLY WHEN ADJUSTED FOR DIFFERENT DRIVES IN THE FAMILY. WENT TO DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY DON'T FIX THAT!!! MOVES SIDE TO SIDE AND STAYS ON ONE SIDE. HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING, AND WHEN STOPPED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2018 - NORTHVILLE, MI
HI THERE, I HAVE ISSUES WITH IGNITION CYLINDER LOCK SYSTEM AND LOOKS LIKE THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE MODEL/YEAR OF HONDA ODYSSEY I CURRENTLY OWN. I WAS WONDERING IF THE RECALL MISSED OTHER BATCHES OF HONDA ODYSSEY VANS MANUFACTURED DURING THE SAME TIME. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION:SWITCH RECALL FOR 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY THANKS, RAJ

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2018 - WESTERLY, RI
WHILE DRIVING MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY WOULD COMPLETLEY STAHL WITHOUT ANY WARNING, JUST SHUT OFF.. I GOT THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED AND IT STILL STAHLED NUMEROUS TIMES BUT STARTED BACK UP SOON AFTER.. ALMOST CAUSING NUMEROUS ACCIDENTS JUST STOPPING WHILE DRIVING.. NOW MY VAN HAS STAHLED AND THIS TIME IT WILL NOT RESTART. I HAVE LOOKED UP RECALLS AND FOUND ONE THAT MADE SENSE FOR A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY FOR A FUEL PUMP WIRE THST HAS CORROSION CAUSING THE CAR TO STAHL. MY VANS VIN DOESNT FALL UNDER THIS RECALL....???

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2018 - WESTERLY, RI
WHILE DRIVING MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY WOULD COMPLETLEY STAHL WITHOUT ANY WARNING, JUST SHUT OFF.. I GOT THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED AND IT STILL STAHLED NUMEROUS TIMES BUT STARTED BACK UP SOON AFTER.. ALMOST CAUSING NUMEROUS ACCIDENTS JUST STOPPING WHILE DRIVING.. NOW MY VAN HAS STAHLED AND THIS TIME IT WILL NOT RESTART. I HAVE LOOKED UP RECALLS AND FOUND ONE THAT MADE SENSE FOR A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY FOR A FUEL PUMP WIRE THST HAS CORROSION CAUSING THE CAR TO STAHL. MY VANS VIN DOESNT FALL UNDER THIS RECALL....???

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/30/2018 - WESTERLY, RI
WHILE DRIVING MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY WOULD COMPLETLEY STAHL WITHOUT ANY WARNING, JUST SHUT OFF.. I GOT THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED AND IT STILL STAHLED NUMEROUS TIMES BUT STARTED BACK UP SOON AFTER.. ALMOST CAUSING NUMEROUS ACCIDENTS JUST STOPPING WHILE DRIVING.. NOW MY VAN HAS STAHLED AND THIS TIME IT WILL NOT RESTART. I HAVE LOOKED UP RECALLS AND FOUND ONE THAT MADE SENSE FOR A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY FOR A FUEL PUMP WIRE THST HAS CORROSION CAUSING THE CAR TO STAHL. MY VANS VIN DOESNT FALL UNDER THIS RECALL....???

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/30/2018 - COARSEGOLD, CA
NHTSA RECALL 04V176000 DOES NOT INCLUDE OUR VIN, BUT IT SHOULD, BECAUSE THIS IS THE PROBLEM THAT HAS OCCURRED WITH OUR VEHICLE 3 TIMES NOW. THE TRANSMISSION HAS OVERHEATED AND FAILED. AND ACCORDING TO 04V176000, TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING IS A SERIOUS HAZARD THAT CAN CAUSE LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE!!! THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS DRIVING ON A 2-LANE HIGHWAY. THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT ON HWY 80 TOWARDS RENO. THE 3RD TIME IT HAPPENED, SHE WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT THE SAME PLACE I WAS, ON 41 NORTH. IT ALWAYS HAPPENS ON A MEDIUM TO LONG TRIP GOING UP AN INCLINE. OTHERS HAVE REPORTED THIS AS WELL, SO MUCH THAT THERE IS A SITE DEDICATED TO THIS VERY PROBLEM -- ODYSSEYTRANSMISSION.COM. IF YOU VISIT THIS WEBSITE YOU CAN SEE THE DEFINITE DIFFERENCE IN PROPORTION OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE EARLIER GENERATIONS VS THE LATER. IT APPEARS THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT CAUSES FLUID FLOW CONSTRICTION DURING TORQUE CONVERTER LOCK, WHICH RESULTS IN OVERHEATING. IN THE LAST INCIDENT, AS DESCRIBED BY MY WIFE, SHE WAS DRIVING UP 41, AND THE ENGINE WENT UP TO AROUND 4000 RPM. THE CAR SLOWED DOWN AND SHE SMELLED TRANSMISSION FLUID BURNING. SHE HAD TO WAIT ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR A WHILE, AND THEN IT STARTED TO WORK AGAIN. SHE GOT IT TO A SAFER PLACE AND THEN LET IT COOL FOR LONGER. SHE WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO GO HOME, WHICH WAS A COUPLE MILES AWAY, AND WE HAVE NOT DRIVEN IT SINCE. WE HAD THIS TRANSMISSION REBUILT BY SHAWS AUTO SALES 2 TIMES. THE MOST RECENT TIME WAS LESS THAN 1 YEAR AGO. WE HAVE NOT DONE ANY ABNORMAL DRIVING, OR ANY TOWING, OR ANYTHING. JUST NORMAL DRIVING. SO WE EXPECTED THE FIX TO LAST LONGER THAN THIS. SOUND LIKE A REASONABLE EXPECTATION? WE HAVE BEEN LUCKY THAT WE DIDN'T LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. BUT OTHERS MIGHT NOT BE SO LUCKY! THIS VIN AND OTHERS LIKE IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN 04V176000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds