Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 553 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (219) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (55) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (20) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (24)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

3/22/2018 - ROWLETT, TX
I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE TREATMENT I HAVE RECEIVED AS A HONDA OWNER. I OWN A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE SEATBELT RANDOMLY STOPPED WORKING AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX IT UNDER THE LIFETIME WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING HONDAS MY ENTIRE ADULT LIFE. CORPORATE MADE ME JUMP THROUGH HOOPS TO GATHER MY REGISTRATION INFORMATION FROM 2000! THEY SAID IF I COULD SHOW LOYALTY TO THE BRAND THEY WOULD FIX IT UNDER THE "GOOD WILL PROGRAM." THEY SAY THE CAR WAS WRECK BEFORE I BOUGHT IT AND THAT IS WHAT MESSED UP THE SEATBELT. HOWEVER, I PURCHASE THE CAR IN 2013. IT HAS BEEN WORKING FOR 5 YEARS AND THEN RANDOMLY GOES OUT BECAUSE OF AN ACCIDENT MORE THAN 5 YEARS AGO?! WHERE IS THE LOGIC?!!! WELL, SHOWING THAT I PREVIOUSLY OWNED A HONDA ACCORD WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH FOR CORPORATE TO CORRECT THEIR MISTAKE, BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE IT SERVICED AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP. I WAS LIVING IN BFE MISSISSIPPI AT THE TIME. HOW WAS THAT MY FAULT? THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN ROCKWALL, TEXAS IS A JOKE. THEY DETERMINED THEY WEREN'T GOING TO FIX IT RIGHT OFF THE BAT. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH, IT SEEMS HONDA SKIMPS OUT ON SEATBELTS. THIS IS WHERE THEY CUT COSTS. I HAD NEVER HAD A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH A HONDA UP UNTIL THIS POINT. THIS ISN'T FIXING SOMETHING THAT IS NO BIG DEAL: LIKE THE SPEAKER THAT FADES IN AND OUT OR THE LOCKS THAT DON'T ALWAYS UNLOCK TOGETHER. THIS IS MY LIFE THEY ARE PLAYING WITH! IT IS DISGUSTING! DO NOT BUY HONDA! I NEVER WILL AGAIN. TOYOTA WOULDN'T TREAT A LIFE LONG CUSTOMER LIKE THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/17/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND ON FOLLOWING THE TAKATA RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/16/2018 - HONEY BROOK, PA
THE CONTACT'S WIFE OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AT A LOW SPEED AND THEN ACCELERATED AT NORMAL SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO ROBERT AUTO MALL (19 PARK LANE, DOWNINGTOWN, PA 19335, (610) 269-8200) WHERE THE CONTACT WAS PROVIDED A HISTORY REPORT REGARDING THE TRANSMISSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE CONTACT WAS PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 06612914. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/28/2017 - LONDONDERRY, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE IN FOR STATE INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR BENCH SEAT WAS LOOSE DUE TO CORROSION OF THE UNI-BODY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE FAILED INSPECTION. DUE TO THE CORROSION, IT WAS UNSAFE TO HAVE PASSENGERS IN THE SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 255,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2017 - FAIRBURN, GA
AT 123,000 MILES TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH UNCONTROLLED GEAR CHANGES ON ROAD AND LOUD THUMP IN CHANGING GEAR FROM PARK TO DRIVE WHEN STARTING IN MORNING. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD NOT GO OFF. DEALER SAID A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS REQUIRED. AFTER INSTALLATION AND TRAVELLING TO 131,000 MILES THUMPING REOCCURRED IN CHANGE FROM PARK TO DRIVE. WAITING ON DEALER RESPONSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2017 - LAYTON, UT
I STOPPED BEHIND A CAR WAITING TO MERGE FROM A PARKING LOT TO HIGHWAY 193. THE CAR AHEAD PULLED OUT A LITTLE. THEN APPARENTLY CHANGING HIS MIND, HE BACKED UP INTO ME. I HAD NOT PULLED FORWARD, BUT HE STILL TOTALED MY CAR. SURPRISINGLY, MY AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE. THE COLLISION BENT MY HOOD, CRACKED THE GRILL, BROKE THE BUMPER.

View Details

SEATS

9/30/2017 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
THE DRIVER SEAT BROKEN FOR NO REAZON, THE ALUMINIUN[ PART ,THE SEAT SUDDEN ROCKS BACK AND FORTH AND IS NOT STABLE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/22/2017 - NY, NY
I OWN HONDA ODESSY SINCE 09/ 2017. I REPLACED TIMING BELT WITH ONE YEAR WARRANTY, BECAUSE THE PREVIOUS OWNER DID NOT DO IT. 12/09/16 I TOOK MY HONDA ODESSY 2004 TO MANHATTAN HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR RECALL. I ASKED TO HONDA REPRESENTATIVE TO CHECK AND TELL ME WHAT IS NECESSARY TO REPLACE OR REPAIR. I KNEW THAT TRANSMISSION RECALL FOR HONDA ODESSY 2004 WAS OPEN AND TOLD THEM TO CHECK AND REPAIR IT IF IT IS NECESSARY, BUT THEY REFUSED TO DO IT THEY TOLD ME THAT MY HONDA HAS MANY ISSUES AND REPAIR ALL NECESSARY THINGS WILL COST ME $10000. THE FUEL PUMP, TIMING BELT, WHICH I ALREADY REPLACED, AND TRANSMISSION CLUTCH WAS INCLUDED IN THE REPAIR LIST. LAST MONTH I HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE WHEN DRIVING THIS CAR. IT WAS LOOSING POWER AND STOPPING WHEN I WAS DRIVING. IT WAS DANGEROUS FOR TRAFFIC. IT OCCUR ON VERY DANGEROUS SPATS, LIKE EXITS FROM HGWAY, BROOKLYN BRIDGE ETC., I COULD START UP CAR IN 5 MINUTES AND IT WAS DRAWING WITH NO PROBLEMS THEN. IT WAS A FEW TIMES LIKE THIS AND THE LAST TIME I DROVE HOME AND COULDN'T START UP THE CAR NO MORE. I TOWED CAR TO REPAIR SHOP AND MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT MY FUEL PUMP NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I CAME HOME AND STARTED RESEARCH AND FOUND THE RECALL FOR HONDA ODESSY FUEL PUMP, FOR HONDA ODESSY THAT WAS BUILT ON AND AFTER 06/21/04 IS ON RECALL FOR FUEL PUMP REPAIR OR REPLACE. MY HONDA ODESSY WAS BUILT 06/2004 I REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND CAR IS RUNNING VERY GOOD NOW AND I DO NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM AGAIN. BECAUSE I HAD THE FUEL PUMP PROBLEM AFTER MY CAR WAS ON RECALL, AND BECAUSE THEY KNEW THAT FUEL PUMP REPLACE WAS INCLUDED IN RECALL, AND THEY KNEW THAT MY CAR HAS THIS PROBLEM AND DID NOT FIXED IT I AM HEREBY ASKING THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TO REIMBURSE MONEY THAT I SPENT ON FUEL PUMP REPAIR $653.03. I ALSO ASKING HONDA DEALERSHIP TO CHECK AGAIN A TRANSMISSION AND REPAIR IT, IF IT IS NECESSARY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds