Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 553 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (219) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (55) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (20) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (24)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/2/2017 - BELLEVUE, WA
PAINT BEGAN PEELING SOMETIME BUT NOT NOTICEABLY UNTIL A YEAR AGO. WHEN SERVICED AT A HONDA DEALER, THEY SHRUGGED AND SAID THEY DIDN'T HANDLE PAINT. THE DAMAGE HAS INCREASED GREATLY (SEE PHOTOS) AND RUST IS BEGINNING TO BE VISIBLE. THE PAINT FLAKES OFF WHILE I DRIVE. I CANNOT SELL THE CAR IN THIS SHAPE. HONDA'S UNDERCOAT IS BLAMED IN RESEARCH I HAVE MADE. I HAVE ALWAYS TRUSTED HONDA, BUT AM ALARMED AND UNABLE TO BELIEVE THIS IS HAPPENING. WANT TO SELL THIS CAR BACK TO HONDA FOR BLUE BOOK PRICE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR WHILE PARKED, THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TO OVER 5,000 RPMS. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. WHEN THIS OCCURRED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP IMMEDIATELY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY UNABLE TO SHIFT FROM PARK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR WHILE PARKED, THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TO OVER 5,000 RPMS. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. WHEN THIS OCCURRED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP IMMEDIATELY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY UNABLE TO SHIFT FROM PARK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR WHILE PARKED, THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TO OVER 5,000 RPMS. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. WHEN THIS OCCURRED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP IMMEDIATELY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY UNABLE TO SHIFT FROM PARK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/1/2017 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE PARKED, THE AIR BAG MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE EYE AND ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE OF AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2017 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE PARKED, THE AIR BAG MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE EYE AND ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE OF AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/21/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THE REAR BUMPERS RUSTING AWAY WITH NO WAY OF KNOWING. MY FAMILY RODE AROUND IN THIS CAR FOR MAYBE 2-3 YEARS WITH A BUMPER THAT HAD RUSTED SO BADLY IT WAS LITERALLY FALLING APART, BUT REMAINED INSIDE OF THE BUMPER COVER, SO WE DID NOT KNOW IT. FINALLY IT RUSTED SO BADLY THAT IT BEGAN TO LEAVE RUST STAINS ON THE DRIVEWAY AND I TRACED IT TO THIS PROBLEM. BY THIS TIME THE BUMPER WAS ALMOST GONE. IT PROBABLY PAST THE POINT OF PROVIDING ANY PROTECTION MAYBE 2 YEARS AGO. THIS CAR HAS A REAR FACING SEAT AND IS USED OFTEN. IT TERRIFIES ME TO KNOW A REAR END COLLISION AT PRACTICALLY ANY SPEED WOULD HAVE BEEN FAR WORSE THEN IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN AND PROBABLY IMPACTED THE FUEL TANK, AGAIN, AT FAR LOWER SPEEDS THAN IT WOULD NORMALLY. MY SEARCH ON THE INTERNET SHOWS THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED ISSUE, THERE ARE PLENTY OF PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS. IN MY OPINION THIS NEEDS TO BE CHECKED OUT ON ALL ODYSSEY'S. PEOPLE ARE DRIVING AROUND THINKING THEY ARE PROTECTED AND PROBABLY AREN'T. A REAR COLLISION COULD RESULT IN DEATH DUE TO THE GAS TANK BEING LEFT UNPROTECTED AND REAR PASSENGERS EXPOSED TO SERIOUS INJURIES AT MUCH LOWER SPEEDS. I DO NOT LIVE IN AN AREA WITH LOTS OF SALT WATER OR SALTED ROADS, THERE IS NOT A RUST ISSUE ANYWHERE ELSE, THIS SEEMS TO BE ISOLATED TO JUST THE REAR BUMPER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/7/2017 - EL PASO, TX
NHTSA TICKET #: 1068744 I AM SUBMITTING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE I TOOK MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY TO RUDOLPH HONDA IN EL PASO, TX TO CORRECT FOUR RECALLS. THE RECALLS WERE NOT CORRECTED BECAUSE MY VEHICLE NOW HAS ITS SRS INDICATOR LIGHT CONSTANTLY ON ALONG WITH THE SIDE AIRBAG OFF AND PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF INDICATOR LIGHTS FLASHING. FAILED COMPONENT 2: SRS ECU

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2017 - EL PASO, TX
NHTSA TICKET #: 1068744 I AM SUBMITTING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE I TOOK MY 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY TO RUDOLPH HONDA IN EL PASO, TX TO CORRECT FOUR RECALLS. THE RECALLS WERE NOT CORRECTED BECAUSE MY VEHICLE NOW HAS ITS SRS INDICATOR LIGHT CONSTANTLY ON ALONG WITH THE SIDE AIRBAG OFF AND PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF INDICATOR LIGHTS FLASHING. FAILED COMPONENT 2: SRS ECU

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/9/2017 - BRICK LINK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE PAST 35 MPH WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds