Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (116) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (2)
Child Seat (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (13) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (3) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (6) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/14/2019 - DYER, IN
VEHICLE 2004 HYUNDAI INVOLVED IN ACCIDENT ON THE STREET, THIS VEHICLE OWNER WAS BELTED WHEN THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED, THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, THIS VEHICLE OWNER SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES INCLUDING FRACTURED VERTEBRATE OF LUMBAR 1 AND 2 AND FRACTURED RIBS, NOTE NO OTHER VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED, THIS VEHICLE OWNER SIDE SWIPED A TREE AND SUSTAINED MINIMAL DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END, THIS VEHICLE OWNER WAS TREATED AT THE SCENE, TRANSPORTED TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM WAS HOSPITALIZED FOR 7 DAYS; CURRENTLY, RECEIVING OUT PATIENT CARE WITH SCHEDULED MEDICAL APPOINTMENTS, THIS VEHICLE OWNER IS NOT CLEARED TO RETURN TO WORK AT THIS TIME, AND FOR AT LEAST 9 WEEKS. THE FAULTY AIRBAGS FAILED TO KEEP THIS DRIVER SAFE, AND SEVERELY INJURED HIM. HE SUFFERED 2 BROKEN BACK BONES, A BROKEN RIB, SCRAPES AND BRUISES. ON TOP OF THE PHYSICAL TRAUMA, HE AND HIS FAMILY, WIFE AND TWO DAUGHTERS, ARE SUFFERING FROM EMOTIONAL TRAUMA. THE ACCIDENT IN ITSELF, SHOULD NOT HAVE CAUSED THIS PHYSICAL TRAUMA, THE CAR DID NOT FLIP, TURN OVER, OR IMPACT ANY OTHER VEHICLES. THE DRIVER WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY, BUT A COMMON STREET, SO HE WAS NOT TRAVELING OVER 40 MPH. THE INJURIES SUSTAINED ARE A DIRECT RESULT OF THE FAULTY AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2019 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
SRS (AIRBAG) SERVICE REMINDER INDICATOR CAME ON. I WENT TO AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND THEY RAN AN OBDII REPORT ON A BOSCH SCANNER. A B1448 OC (OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION) - PASSENGER SENSOR MAT DEFECT CAME BACK. THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM THAT THE 2006-2008 HYUNDAI SONATAS HAVE A RECALL ON. THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR, TO DETECT A CHILD SEAT OR ADULT IN THE SEAT, MAY RECOGNIZE A SMALL ADULT AS A CHILD SEAT. IF THIS HAPPENS AND THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG IS DEACTIVATED, THE RISK OF INJURY IN A CRASH MAY BE INCREASED. I WENT TO HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA HEADQUARTERS IN FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CALIFORNIA AT 3:45 ON JANUARY 17, 2019 AND LEFT MY CONTACT INFORMATION ON A CARD AT THE FRONT DESK REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD BE CONTACTED BUT TO DATE HAVE HAD NO REPLY FROM HMA. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V161000 AS THIS PRESENTS THE SAME DANGER TO ELANTRA OCCUPANTS AS THE SONATA RECALL, HYUNDAI SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO OFFER THE SAME REPAIR EXTENSION (15 YEARS) AS THE SONATA HAS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/25/2018 - WEST HEMPSTEAD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE THROTTLE POSITIONING SENSOR FAILED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. UPON DECELERATION, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED RAPIDLY. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT DESCRIBED THE BRAKE PEDAL AS HAVING A "DEAD SPOT", THUS THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AFTER THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. ON ONE OCCASION, THERE WAS AN INCREASE IN THE RMPS THAT WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE WORN POSITION SENSOR. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY REPLACED THE POSITIONING SENSOR. MILLENNIUM HYUNDAI (265 NORTH FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ACKNOWLEDGED THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2018 - WEST HEMPSTEAD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE THROTTLE POSITIONING SENSOR FAILED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. UPON DECELERATION, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED RAPIDLY. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT DESCRIBED THE BRAKE PEDAL AS HAVING A "DEAD SPOT", THUS THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AFTER THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. ON ONE OCCASION, THERE WAS AN INCREASE IN THE RMPS THAT WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE WORN POSITION SENSOR. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY REPLACED THE POSITIONING SENSOR. MILLENNIUM HYUNDAI (265 NORTH FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ACKNOWLEDGED THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/25/2018 - GRAHAM, WA
I HAVE CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AND WAS TOLD IT+S STANDARD TO REMOVE A FRONT SEAT AND GIVE THE CAR BACK UNTIL THEY GET PARTS FOR THE RECALL I FEEL THIS COULD CAUSE AIR BAG SYSTEMS NOT TO BE ACTIVE AND ALSO WITHOUT THE SEAT THE CARS ABILITY TO HOLD UP IN A CRASH IS REDUCED DUE TO MISSING COMPONENTS THAT PROVIDE SOME STRUCTURAL SUPPORT ALL I HAVE REQUESTED WAS A RENTAL CAR FOR THE TIME IT TAKES TO PERFORM MY RECALL AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING A CAR WITHOUT A FRONT SEAT I HAVE HAD THE DEALER DECLINE MY REQUEST AND SAID IF I WANT IT DONE THE SEAT WILL BE REMOVED AND THE CAR GIVEN BACK TO ME IS THIS A SAFE PRACTICE FOR A DEALER TO REMOVE A SEAT THAT HAS ONE OF THE SIDE AIR BAGS IN IT AND ADVISE THE OWNER TO DRIVE THE CAR AS NORMAL? ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THIS COMPANY WILL BE MUCH APPRECIATED AND TO BE CLEAR THERE IS A ACTIVE AIR BAG LIGHT ON WITH A CODE THE RELATES TO OCCUPANCY DETECTION FOR PASSANGER FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS

View Details

SEATS

6/25/2018 - GRAHAM, WA
I HAVE CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AND WAS TOLD IT+S STANDARD TO REMOVE A FRONT SEAT AND GIVE THE CAR BACK UNTIL THEY GET PARTS FOR THE RECALL I FEEL THIS COULD CAUSE AIR BAG SYSTEMS NOT TO BE ACTIVE AND ALSO WITHOUT THE SEAT THE CARS ABILITY TO HOLD UP IN A CRASH IS REDUCED DUE TO MISSING COMPONENTS THAT PROVIDE SOME STRUCTURAL SUPPORT ALL I HAVE REQUESTED WAS A RENTAL CAR FOR THE TIME IT TAKES TO PERFORM MY RECALL AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING A CAR WITHOUT A FRONT SEAT I HAVE HAD THE DEALER DECLINE MY REQUEST AND SAID IF I WANT IT DONE THE SEAT WILL BE REMOVED AND THE CAR GIVEN BACK TO ME IS THIS A SAFE PRACTICE FOR A DEALER TO REMOVE A SEAT THAT HAS ONE OF THE SIDE AIR BAGS IN IT AND ADVISE THE OWNER TO DRIVE THE CAR AS NORMAL? ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THIS COMPANY WILL BE MUCH APPRECIATED AND TO BE CLEAR THERE IS A ACTIVE AIR BAG LIGHT ON WITH A CODE THE RELATES TO OCCUPANCY DETECTION FOR PASSANGER FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/25/2018 - GRAHAM, WA
I HAVE CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AND WAS TOLD IT+S STANDARD TO REMOVE A FRONT SEAT AND GIVE THE CAR BACK UNTIL THEY GET PARTS FOR THE RECALL I FEEL THIS COULD CAUSE AIR BAG SYSTEMS NOT TO BE ACTIVE AND ALSO WITHOUT THE SEAT THE CARS ABILITY TO HOLD UP IN A CRASH IS REDUCED DUE TO MISSING COMPONENTS THAT PROVIDE SOME STRUCTURAL SUPPORT ALL I HAVE REQUESTED WAS A RENTAL CAR FOR THE TIME IT TAKES TO PERFORM MY RECALL AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING A CAR WITHOUT A FRONT SEAT I HAVE HAD THE DEALER DECLINE MY REQUEST AND SAID IF I WANT IT DONE THE SEAT WILL BE REMOVED AND THE CAR GIVEN BACK TO ME IS THIS A SAFE PRACTICE FOR A DEALER TO REMOVE A SEAT THAT HAS ONE OF THE SIDE AIR BAGS IN IT AND ADVISE THE OWNER TO DRIVE THE CAR AS NORMAL? ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THIS COMPANY WILL BE MUCH APPRECIATED AND TO BE CLEAR THERE IS A ACTIVE AIR BAG LIGHT ON WITH A CODE THE RELATES TO OCCUPANCY DETECTION FOR PASSANGER FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS

View Details

STEERING

2/15/2018 - COLUMBUS, OH
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND SUDDENLY WHILE TRYING TO CHANGE LANE THE STEERING FREEZES ON ME, THIS HAPPEN NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/7/2018 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE ANTILOCK MACHINE IS LOCKING THE WHEELS SO MUCH THAT STOPS THE CAR COMPLETELY RIGHT IN THE MIDLE OF THE TRAFFIC AND THE TIRES SMELL LIKE BURNING TIRES. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TWICE. I AM SO AFRAID THAT THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY, THAT I DO NOT DRIVE THERE, ONLY THE STREETS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/1/2018 - PHOENIX, AZ
MY 2004 ELANTRA GLS HAS THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS: 1 - THE PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF SIGN STAYS ON, EVEN WITH MY WIFE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. 2 - THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD IS ALWAYS ON, AND MY HORN IS NOT WORKING, FOR THE LAST TWO / THREE WEEKS (NOV / DEC 2017).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds