Auto Recalls for Consumers

ISUZU AXIOM - 2004 ISUZU AXIOM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Isuzu Manufacturing Services of America

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2004 ISUZU AXIOM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 ISUZU AXIOM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 ISUZU AXIOM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (2) Structure (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2013 - NAPA, CA
PCM OR POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE ERROR. OBD2 CODE P0602. AS A RESULT WAS SHUT OFF VEHICLE'S ALL POWER, ALL DASH LIGHT ICONS WERE ON SUDDENLY. FIRST ABS AND THEN AIR BAG, BRAKE, BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE ETC. VEHICLE WAS DIED IN SECONDS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF BUSY HIGHWAY I-80!! IT WAS HORRIBLE. NO PROBLEM WAS OCCURRED BEFORE. ISUZU COMPANY HAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. FULL MAINTENANCE FOR THIS CAR WAS PERFORMED ON TIME AS REQUIRED VIA ISUZU AXIOM MANUAL. I HAVE ALL RECORDS. SEVERAL MECHANICS TOLD ME THAT ALL ISUZUS HAVE A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2013 - NAPA, CA
PCM OR POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE ERROR. OBD2 CODE P0602. AS A RESULT WAS SHUT OFF VEHICLE'S ALL POWER, ALL DASH LIGHT ICONS WERE ON SUDDENLY. FIRST ABS AND THEN AIR BAG, BRAKE, BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE ETC. VEHICLE WAS DIED IN SECONDS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF BUSY HIGHWAY I-80!! IT WAS HORRIBLE. NO PROBLEM WAS OCCURRED BEFORE. ISUZU COMPANY HAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. FULL MAINTENANCE FOR THIS CAR WAS PERFORMED ON TIME AS REQUIRED VIA ISUZU AXIOM MANUAL. I HAVE ALL RECORDS. SEVERAL MECHANICS TOLD ME THAT ALL ISUZUS HAVE A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2013 - NAPA, CA
PCM OR POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE ERROR. OBD2 CODE P0602. AS A RESULT WAS SHUT OFF VEHICLE'S ALL POWER, ALL DASH LIGHT ICONS WERE ON SUDDENLY. FIRST ABS AND THEN AIR BAG, BRAKE, BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE ETC. VEHICLE WAS DIED IN SECONDS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF BUSY HIGHWAY I-80!! IT WAS HORRIBLE. NO PROBLEM WAS OCCURRED BEFORE. ISUZU COMPANY HAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. FULL MAINTENANCE FOR THIS CAR WAS PERFORMED ON TIME AS REQUIRED VIA ISUZU AXIOM MANUAL. I HAVE ALL RECORDS. SEVERAL MECHANICS TOLD ME THAT ALL ISUZUS HAVE A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/24/2011 - SHANNON, IL
ABOUT 1 1/2 YRS AGO THE CHECK ENGINE CAME ON IN MY 04 AXIOM. I TOOK TO THE SHOP AND THEY SAID IT WAS MISFIRING. I HAD THE SPARK PLUGS REPLACED, AND THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. WE THEN REPLACED 2 OF THE COILS, THEN THE SPARK PLUGS AGAIN, WITH NO LUCK. I HAVE EXPERIENCED LOSS OF POWER WHEN PULLING OUT FROM A STOP SIGN, RESULTING IN SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS FOR ACCIDENTS. THROUGHOUT ALL OF THIS I HAVE ALSO FOUND OIL SPOTS BEHIND MY EXHAUST WHEN THE VEHICLE IDLES, AND I GO THROUGH ALMOST 3 QTS OF OIL A WEEK! THE ENGINE HAS BEEN KNOCKING FOR WELL OVER A YEAR, AND WHILE I'VE HAD 4 MECHANICS LOOK AT IT , NOBODY HAS BEEN ABLE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE TO LET THE VEHICLE RUN FOR 10 MINUTES BEFORE DRIVING TO TRY AND AVOID THE ENGINE STALLING, AND I STILL HAVE SOME PROBLEMS WITH IT STALLING. THIS HAS BECOME A VERY EXPENSIVE AND DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH NO APPARENT END IN SIGHT. IF I WASN'T UPSIDE DOWN ON THE LOAN I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN RID OF IT BY NOW. I HAVE FOUND MANY ARTICLES ONLINE REGARDING THE OIL CONSUMPTION AND ENGINE STALLING PROBLEMS. I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/5/2010 - MOUNT DORA, FL
WHY WERE THE LAST TWO YEARS OF PRODUCTION(2003-2004) OF THESE VEHICLES NOT RECALLED TO BE TREATED TO SLOW RUSTING COMPONENTS IN THE UNDERCARRIAGE/FRAME ON ALL ISUZU RODEOS, HONDA PASSPORTS AND ISUZU AXIOMS. ALTHOUGH A LIMITED PRODUCTION, THE FINAL TWO YEARS ARE STILL GOING TO FAIL FROM SALT/CHEMICAL CONTAMINATION. I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2004. IT WAS ADVERTISED AS BEING FROM NORTH CAROLINA. I LATER DISCOVERED THE OWNER ALSO LIVED AND USED THE VEHICLE FOR MOST OF IT'S ROAD USE IN NEW YORK AND MASSACHSETTS. IT TOO HAS HAD A LARGE DOSE OF ROAD CHEMICALS. THE RECALL CURRENTLY CALLS FOR ISUZU TO INSPECT AND APPLY A RUST PREVENTIVE COATING TO SLOW/DELAY CORROSION THAT WILL CAUSE THE FRAME TO FAIL. WHY NOT INCLUDE ALL OF THESE FRAMES IN THE SAFETY RECALL? THE EXISTING ISUZU DEALER NETWORK IS EXITING THE AUTOMOTIVE MARKET. IF THE LAST TWO PRODUCTION YEARS FAIL IN A YEAR OR TWO, THERE WILL NOT BE A DEALER NETWORK THAT WILL SERVICE AN ISUZU PRODUCT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/14/2010 - WEST COLUMBIA, SC
I HAVE A 2004 AXIOM PURCHASED FROM HANCOCK ISUZU IN COLUMBIA SC AND APP. 1 YEAR AGO MY VEHICLE STARTED HESITATING WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. WHEN I GO TO PULL OFF THE TACHOMETER JUMPS TO 3 OR 4 RPMS BUT THE VEHICLE IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE. FINALLY,IT WILL GET GAS AND SUDDENLY TAKE OFF. IT FEELS THAT THE GAS IS NOT GETTING TO THE ENGINE OR EITHER THE TRANSMISSION IS STICKING. IT DOES THIS ON OCCASIONS, BUT WHO KNOW WHEN IT WILL DO IT NEXT. MY FEAR IS IT WILL DO IT WHEN I PULL OUT ON A BUSY ROAD AND NOT TAKE OFF IN TIME AND THEN ANOTHER CAR WILL HIT ME. THIS CAN BE A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM IF NOT FIXED. I SEE OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS TOO AND I THINK ISUZU SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR MAKING SURE IT GETS FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/14/2010 - WEST COLUMBIA, SC
I HAVE A 2004 AXIOM PURCHASED FROM HANCOCK ISUZU IN COLUMBIA SC AND APP. 1 YEAR AGO MY VEHICLE STARTED HESITATING WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. WHEN I GO TO PULL OFF THE TACHOMETER JUMPS TO 3 OR 4 RPMS BUT THE VEHICLE IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE. FINALLY,IT WILL GET GAS AND SUDDENLY TAKE OFF. IT FEELS THAT THE GAS IS NOT GETTING TO THE ENGINE OR EITHER THE TRANSMISSION IS STICKING. IT DOES THIS ON OCCASIONS, BUT WHO KNOW WHEN IT WILL DO IT NEXT. MY FEAR IS IT WILL DO IT WHEN I PULL OUT ON A BUSY ROAD AND NOT TAKE OFF IN TIME AND THEN ANOTHER CAR WILL HIT ME. THIS CAN BE A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM IF NOT FIXED. I SEE OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS TOO AND I THINK ISUZU SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR MAKING SURE IT GETS FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/14/2010 - WEST COLUMBIA, SC
AT 66000 MILES ON MY 2004 ISUZU AXIOM, I STARTED HEARING A NOISE THAT I HAD PREVIOUSLY HEARD A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE IN THE PAST 4 YEARS. I TOOK MY CAR TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID THERE WASN'T A DROP OF OIL IN THE CAR. I WAS STILL 1500 MILES AWAY FROM AN OIL CHANGE. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE AND THE SAME THING HAS HAPPENED--NOT A DROP OF OIL IN THE CAR WITH A 1000 MILES OR MORE FROM AN OIL CHANGE. THE MECHANIC SAID THE ONLY FIX IS A NEW ENGINE. MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, SO I HAD IT TOWED TO A DEALER IN AUGUSTA GEORGIA. I LIVE IN COLUMBIA SC AND THAT IS THE CLOSET PLACE I COULD TAKE IT TO HAVE WARRANTY WORK DONE. WHEN IT GOT THERE THE SERVICE MANAGER CALLED AND SAID, YOU NEED A NEW ENGINE--I AM GOING TO ORDER IT AND IT WILL BE HERE IN A WEEK OR SO. A FEW DAYS LATER HE CALLED BACK AND SAID ISUZU WOULDN'T SEND AN ENGINE WITHOUT DOING AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. CLEARLY THE CAR IS BURNING OIL BECAUSE THERE IS NO LEAK. WHEY SHOULD I HAVE TO GO THROUGH AND OIL CONSUMPTION TEST AFTER TWO MECHANICS HAVE SAID--YOU NEED AN ENGINE IN THE CAR. WHY CAN'T ISUZU STAND BEHIND THERE PRODUCTS AND WARRANTY AGREEMENTS. THE BOTTOM LINE IS THEY DON'T WANT TO PAY TO HAVE A NEW ENGINE PUT IN THE CAR. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE CAR BURNING OIL?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/25/2010 - PARKER, CO
THE ENGINE MAKES "CLACKING" TYPE SOUND WHEN STARTED AND CONTINUES FOR ABOUT 3-4 MINUTES. ONCE THE ENGINE IS WARM THE CLACKING STOPS. I'VE COMPLAINED TWICE ABOUT THIS NOISE TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD ENGINE IS NORMAL FOR THIS MODEL. OIL IS NORMAL. IT'S MADE THIS SOUND SINCE WE DROVE IT OFF THE LOT NEW. EVERYONE EXCEPT FOR DEALER THINKS THIS IS NOT NORMAL! EVERYONE TELLS ME TO CHECK MY OIL EVERYTIME I START UP AND THEY HEAR THE NOISE. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS FOR 4004 ISUZU AXIOM?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/3/2006 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
ENGINE MAKES "CLACKING OR PINGING TYPE SOUND" WHEN INITIALLY STARTED FOR ABOUT 3-4 MINUTES. ONCE ENGINE IS WARM (OR AT OPERATING TEMPERATURE) THE ENGINE SOUND IS NORMAL. IT APPEARS AS THOUGH THE ENGINE OIL TAKES TIME TO CIRCULATE TO ALL ENGINE PARTS OR PERHAPS VALVES ARE LOOSE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT EXCESSIVE ENGINE WEAR IF OIL IS NOT REACHING INTERNAL PARTS PROPERLY. DEALER SAYS ENGINE IS NORMAL FOR THIS MODEL. ALSO, DEALER NO LONGER SERVICES WARRANTY ON VEHICLE I.E. NO LONER AN ISUZU DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds