Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA AMANTI - 2004 KIA AMANTI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2004 KIA AMANTI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 KIA AMANTI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 KIA AMANTI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (4)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (9) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (9) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2017 - EIGHT MILE, AL
WELL I GOT MY CAR ON WEEK AND NOW MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND THE BRAKE LIGHT IS ON AND SO TODAY I TAKE IT TO 5TAKE OIL CHANGE AND GOT A OIL CHANGE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY CAR HAD TRANSMISSION LEAK AND OIL LEAK AND NOW MY MHP GOIN DOWN AND WANT AND WANT SHOW ME MY SPEED AND THEY DON'T KNOW WANT THE PROBLEM IS AND MY CAR JUST NOT WORKING NOW .WHAT Y'ALL GOIN TO DO.PLEASE PLEASE. I HAVE KIDS .THAT SICK.PLEASE .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2017 - EIGHT MILE, AL
WELL I GOT MY CAR ON WEEK AND NOW MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND THE BRAKE LIGHT IS ON AND SO TODAY I TAKE IT TO 5TAKE OIL CHANGE AND GOT A OIL CHANGE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY CAR HAD TRANSMISSION LEAK AND OIL LEAK AND NOW MY MHP GOIN DOWN AND WANT AND WANT SHOW ME MY SPEED AND THEY DON'T KNOW WANT THE PROBLEM IS AND MY CAR JUST NOT WORKING NOW .WHAT Y'ALL GOIN TO DO.PLEASE PLEASE. I HAVE KIDS .THAT SICK.PLEASE .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/1/2017 - EIGHT MILE, AL
WELL I GOT MY CAR ON WEEK AND NOW MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND THE BRAKE LIGHT IS ON AND SO TODAY I TAKE IT TO 5TAKE OIL CHANGE AND GOT A OIL CHANGE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY CAR HAD TRANSMISSION LEAK AND OIL LEAK AND NOW MY MHP GOIN DOWN AND WANT AND WANT SHOW ME MY SPEED AND THEY DON'T KNOW WANT THE PROBLEM IS AND MY CAR JUST NOT WORKING NOW .WHAT Y'ALL GOIN TO DO.PLEASE PLEASE. I HAVE KIDS .THAT SICK.PLEASE .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/24/2017 - BAYAMON, PR
THE CAR WHILE DRIVING TURNS OFF AND LATER IT WILL RUN BUT WON'T ACCELERATE

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/24/2017 - BAYAMON, PR
THE CAR WHILE DRIVING TURNS OFF AND LATER IT WILL RUN BUT WON'T ACCELERATE

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/24/2017 - BAYAMON, PR
THE CAR WHILE DRIVING TURNS OFF AND LATER IT WILL RUN BUT WON'T ACCELERATE

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2016 - SPARTENBURG, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 KIA AMANTI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE TURNED OFF AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE ENGINE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,045.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2016 - VICTORVILLE, CA
WHILE MAKING A LEFT THE CARD WAS STRUCK ON THE DRIVER SIDE (REAR PASSENGER DOOR) BY A PERSON RUNNING A RED LIGHT. THE IMPACT WAS SEVERE ENOUGH THAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY DEEM THE CAR A TOTAL LOSS. THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG WAS NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - SEBASTIAN, FL
ON 6 SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS SLOWED DOWN AND "CHUGGED" OUT OF THROTTLE POWER WHILE INITIALLY DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF ANYWHERE BETWEEN 35 AND 65 MPH. IF THE VEHICLE DOES MANAGE TO KEEP DRIVING, IT DOES SO IN A VERY JERKY WAY, ALMOST LIKE SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO DRIVE STICK. I'VE FOUND THAT THE ONLY WAY AROUND THIS JERKING IS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN SPORT-SHIFT MODE IN A LOWER GEAR SO THAT THE RPMS STAY ABOVE 3000. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE IS ENTIRELY UNRESPONSIVE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS PRESSED, WHICH (MULTIPLE TIMES) NEARLY PUT ME IN A SEVERE CAR ACCIDENT ON BUSY I-95 IN BOTH FLORIDA AND PHILADELPHIA, PA. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS ONLY EVER REMAINED ON ONCE, GIVING AN ERROR CODE P1614: "ENHANCED TRACTION SYSTEM ENGINE CONTROL MODULE MALFUNCTION." IN THE PAST, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF AND BACK ON IMMEDIATELY HAS FIXED THE ISSUE TWICE. OTHER TIMES THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO REMAIN OFF FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE PROBLEM WOULD CLEAR UP. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ONLY 2 OF THE 6 TIMES THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED. THE FIRST TIME IT CAME ON, IT DID NOT REMAIN ON ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. CURRENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RUNNING SMOOTHLY SINCE THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE OF THIS ISSUE WHICH HAPPENED ON JANUARY 8, 2015. I DO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM MAY BE LINKED TO THE FUEL INJECTORS. I FIND THAT ADDING FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER TO A FULL TANK OF GAS EVERY OTHER WEEK HELPS ME AVOID HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - SEBASTIAN, FL
ON 6 SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS SLOWED DOWN AND "CHUGGED" OUT OF THROTTLE POWER WHILE INITIALLY DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF ANYWHERE BETWEEN 35 AND 65 MPH. IF THE VEHICLE DOES MANAGE TO KEEP DRIVING, IT DOES SO IN A VERY JERKY WAY, ALMOST LIKE SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO DRIVE STICK. I'VE FOUND THAT THE ONLY WAY AROUND THIS JERKING IS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN SPORT-SHIFT MODE IN A LOWER GEAR SO THAT THE RPMS STAY ABOVE 3000. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE IS ENTIRELY UNRESPONSIVE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS PRESSED, WHICH (MULTIPLE TIMES) NEARLY PUT ME IN A SEVERE CAR ACCIDENT ON BUSY I-95 IN BOTH FLORIDA AND PHILADELPHIA, PA. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS ONLY EVER REMAINED ON ONCE, GIVING AN ERROR CODE P1614: "ENHANCED TRACTION SYSTEM ENGINE CONTROL MODULE MALFUNCTION." IN THE PAST, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF AND BACK ON IMMEDIATELY HAS FIXED THE ISSUE TWICE. OTHER TIMES THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO REMAIN OFF FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE PROBLEM WOULD CLEAR UP. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ONLY 2 OF THE 6 TIMES THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED. THE FIRST TIME IT CAME ON, IT DID NOT REMAIN ON ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. CURRENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RUNNING SMOOTHLY SINCE THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE OF THIS ISSUE WHICH HAPPENED ON JANUARY 8, 2015. I DO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM MAY BE LINKED TO THE FUEL INJECTORS. I FIND THAT ADDING FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER TO A FULL TANK OF GAS EVERY OTHER WEEK HELPS ME AVOID HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds