Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA AMANTI - 2004 KIA AMANTI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2004 KIA AMANTI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 KIA AMANTI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 KIA AMANTI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (4)
Electrical System (6) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (8) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (8) Visibility (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - SEBASTIAN, FL
ON 6 SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS SLOWED DOWN AND "CHUGGED" OUT OF THROTTLE POWER WHILE INITIALLY DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF ANYWHERE BETWEEN 35 AND 65 MPH. IF THE VEHICLE DOES MANAGE TO KEEP DRIVING, IT DOES SO IN A VERY JERKY WAY, ALMOST LIKE SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO DRIVE STICK. I'VE FOUND THAT THE ONLY WAY AROUND THIS JERKING IS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN SPORT-SHIFT MODE IN A LOWER GEAR SO THAT THE RPMS STAY ABOVE 3000. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE IS ENTIRELY UNRESPONSIVE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS PRESSED, WHICH (MULTIPLE TIMES) NEARLY PUT ME IN A SEVERE CAR ACCIDENT ON BUSY I-95 IN BOTH FLORIDA AND PHILADELPHIA, PA. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS ONLY EVER REMAINED ON ONCE, GIVING AN ERROR CODE P1614: "ENHANCED TRACTION SYSTEM ENGINE CONTROL MODULE MALFUNCTION." IN THE PAST, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF AND BACK ON IMMEDIATELY HAS FIXED THE ISSUE TWICE. OTHER TIMES THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO REMAIN OFF FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE PROBLEM WOULD CLEAR UP. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ONLY 2 OF THE 6 TIMES THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED. THE FIRST TIME IT CAME ON, IT DID NOT REMAIN ON ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. CURRENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RUNNING SMOOTHLY SINCE THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE OF THIS ISSUE WHICH HAPPENED ON JANUARY 8, 2015. I DO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM MAY BE LINKED TO THE FUEL INJECTORS. I FIND THAT ADDING FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER TO A FULL TANK OF GAS EVERY OTHER WEEK HELPS ME AVOID HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - SEBASTIAN, FL
ON 6 SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS SLOWED DOWN AND "CHUGGED" OUT OF THROTTLE POWER WHILE INITIALLY DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF ANYWHERE BETWEEN 35 AND 65 MPH. IF THE VEHICLE DOES MANAGE TO KEEP DRIVING, IT DOES SO IN A VERY JERKY WAY, ALMOST LIKE SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO DRIVE STICK. I'VE FOUND THAT THE ONLY WAY AROUND THIS JERKING IS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN SPORT-SHIFT MODE IN A LOWER GEAR SO THAT THE RPMS STAY ABOVE 3000. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE IS ENTIRELY UNRESPONSIVE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS PRESSED, WHICH (MULTIPLE TIMES) NEARLY PUT ME IN A SEVERE CAR ACCIDENT ON BUSY I-95 IN BOTH FLORIDA AND PHILADELPHIA, PA. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS ONLY EVER REMAINED ON ONCE, GIVING AN ERROR CODE P1614: "ENHANCED TRACTION SYSTEM ENGINE CONTROL MODULE MALFUNCTION." IN THE PAST, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF AND BACK ON IMMEDIATELY HAS FIXED THE ISSUE TWICE. OTHER TIMES THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO REMAIN OFF FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE PROBLEM WOULD CLEAR UP. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ONLY 2 OF THE 6 TIMES THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED. THE FIRST TIME IT CAME ON, IT DID NOT REMAIN ON ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. CURRENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINS ON ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RUNNING SMOOTHLY SINCE THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE OF THIS ISSUE WHICH HAPPENED ON JANUARY 8, 2015. I DO BELIEVE THE PROBLEM MAY BE LINKED TO THE FUEL INJECTORS. I FIND THAT ADDING FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER TO A FULL TANK OF GAS EVERY OTHER WEEK HELPS ME AVOID HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 KIA AMANTI. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO RESET THE CODE IN ORDER TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON A DIFFERENT OCCASION WHILE TRAVELING 35 MPH ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, SLID OVER ICE AND CRASHED INTO A GUARD RAIL. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND BACK. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE INSURANCE ADJUSTOR AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE FURTHER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/4/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
WHEN I START MY CAR, THE RPM ACCELERATES HIGH AS IT WILL GO. VERY ANNOYING AND LOUD. IT DOES THIS MOST OF THE TIME SOME TIMES WHEN I COME TO A STOP LIGHT AND PROCEED FORWARD, THE CAR JERKS FORWARD AS I ACCELERATE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2014 - MACOMB, MI
KIA AMANTI LOSING POWER WHILE DRIVING OR LOSING POWER THEN ACCELERATING OUT OF CONTROL AND KIA SEEMS NOT TO BE ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/27/2014 - MACOMB, MI
KIA AMANTI LOSING POWER WHILE DRIVING OR LOSING POWER THEN ACCELERATING OUT OF CONTROL AND KIA SEEMS NOT TO BE ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/27/2014 - MACOMB, MI
KIA AMANTI LOSING POWER WHILE DRIVING OR LOSING POWER THEN ACCELERATING OUT OF CONTROL AND KIA SEEMS NOT TO BE ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/13/2013 - CONCORD, CA
TWO YEARS LATER WHEN WE PURCHASE THESE CAR, THE AIR BAG LIGHT SHOW. AND IT NEVER WHEN OFF SINCE THEN. TOOK TO THE MECHANIC AND SAID ITS VERY COMMON TO HAVE THESE KIND OF PROBLEM FOR KIAS. HE COULD NOT FIX IT HAD NO TOOLS ENOUGH TO DO IT. AND I HAD NO MONEY ENOUGH TO FIX THEY WANT TO REFER TO THE DEALER, AND DEALERS WANTS MORE THAT A 1,000 TO DO IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/31/2013 - DALLAS, PA
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND MY CAR LOSES POWER FAST NO MATTER WHAT SPEED I AM GOING. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE GAS AND THE RPM'S GO UP AND I AM ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE AT A SPEED OF 20MPH. AT TIMES MY CAR WILL DRIVE AT A NORMAL SPEED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL BE ON .ITS VERY STRANGE. I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT IT NEEDED A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER. IT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. ONE WEEK LATER THE SAME SYMPTOMS AND ANOTHER OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF OVER $1,000.00 AND ANOTHER PART. THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS MONTHS LATER. EACH TIME WITH A DIFFERENT DIAGNOSIS BY THE DEALER. MY MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM WHEN IT FIRST HAPPENED WITH HIS METER AND IT READ ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY. I TOLD THIS TO THE DEALER MONTHS AGO AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AGO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/31/2013 - DALLAS, PA
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND MY CAR LOSES POWER FAST NO MATTER WHAT SPEED I AM GOING. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE GAS AND THE RPM'S GO UP AND I AM ONLY ABLE TO DRIVE AT A SPEED OF 20MPH. AT TIMES MY CAR WILL DRIVE AT A NORMAL SPEED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL BE ON .ITS VERY STRANGE. I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT IT NEEDED A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER. IT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. ONE WEEK LATER THE SAME SYMPTOMS AND ANOTHER OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF OVER $1,000.00 AND ANOTHER PART. THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS MONTHS LATER. EACH TIME WITH A DIFFERENT DIAGNOSIS BY THE DEALER. MY MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM WHEN IT FIRST HAPPENED WITH HIS METER AND IT READ ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY. I TOLD THIS TO THE DEALER MONTHS AGO AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds