Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GX 470 - 2004 LEXUS GX 470 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LEXUS

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS GX 470. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - ODESSA, FL
WE FIRST NOTICED WHAT LOOKED LIKE TINY BUBBLES UNDER THE DASH AND THE RAISED AREAS STARTED TO SHOW TINY SPLITS AND SINCE THEN HAS CONTINUED TO BUBBLE, SPLIT AND CRACK. THERE ARE SIGNIFICANT AREAS OF SPLITTING AROUND THE OUTLINE OF THE GAUGES, ACROSS THE TOP OF THE DASH, DOWN THE SIDES AND THEY CONTINUE TO GROW IN SIZE AND INTO OTHER AREAS. IN 2010 WROTE YOUR HEADQUARTERS AND AFTER A FEW MONTHS RECEIVED A CALL FROM ONE OF YOUR REPRESENTATIVES. HE ASKED SEVERAL QUESTIONS AND I TOLD HIM THE CAR HAD BEEN GARAGED SINCE WE BOUGHT IT IN 2006 FROM A LEXUS DEALER IN CLEARWATER. HE GAVE ME THE USUAL QUESTION AND ANSWER INVESTIGATION AND SAID HE COULD DO NOTHING. FINALLY, HE SAID SINCE I HAD NOT HAD EVERY OIL CHANGE AND REPAIR DONE AT A LEXUS DEALER AND THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED I WAS NOT ENTITLED TO ANYTHING AND I SHOULD HAVE EXTENDED THE WARRANTY. I FELT THE LEXUS I OWNED SHOULD NOT HAVE A DASH THAT WAS DETERIORATING AFTER THIS SHORT PERIOD OF OWNERSHIP AND IT HAD TO BE A DEFECT. YOUR REPRESENTATIVE OFFERED FOR LEXUS TO PAY FOR ONE-HALF THE COST OF THE DASH REPLACEMENT, BUT I FELT THAT THE DASH WAS DEFECTIVE AND THERE WAS NO REASON FOR ME TO PAY TO HAVE ANY PART OF THE REPLACEMENT. I FEEL THE ONLY REASON THE DASH COULD BE SPLITTING IS THE MATERIAL IT WAS FORMED WITH OR WHATEVER PROCESS WAS USED. I REALIZE AS OF THIS YEAR THE CAR IS TEN YEARS OLD, BUT THIS HAS BEEN ON ONGOING PROBLEM NOT A NEW ONE AND IT HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. I HAVE HAD FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE LEXUS AND ONLY IN THE LAST FEW YEARS HAS IT NEEDED ANY EXTENSIVE REPAIRS. AFTER CHECKING PRICES AT DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS I DID USE THE LEXUS DEALERSHIP, BECAUSE THEY WERE VERY CLOSE IN PRICE TO THE OTHER ESTIMATES THAT I HAD GOTTEN AND SINCE THEIR REPAIRMEN WERE TRAINED AND UPDATED ON LEXUS REPAIRS I RESPECTED AND APPRECIATED THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/22/2011 - SAUSALITO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING A RECURRING FAILURE IN WHICH THE FRONT TURN SIGNAL LIGHT BULBS STOPPED FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS IN WHICH THE BULBS WOULD BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 112,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

TIRES

1/10/2011 - BANNER ELK, NC
SNOW CHAINS FOR LEXUS GX470 2004 BROKE AND CAUSED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES. PURCHASED: FEBRUARY, 2010. USED ONLY ONCE BEFORE IT BROKE (3 OF 4) AND DAMAGED VEHICLE. REPORT: CHAINS, FILLED QUESTIONNAIRE, SENT TO MANUFACTURER: SCC, IN CLACKAMAS, OR TO [XXX]. RESULTS OF [XXX]: CHAINS SHOULD HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ON ONLY THE REAR TIRES (THIS IS A 4WD) AND STORE PURCHASED FROM: VULCANTIRE, STATED FRONT AND REAR FOR BETTER VEHICLE CONTROL. ALSO, MR. CAPRINE STATED QUESTIONABLE CLEARANCE WITH GX470, WHEREAS THIS VEHICLE WAS BUILT FOR OFF-ROAD, AND HAS MUCH HIGHER CLEARANCE THAN OTHER VEHICLES. HE STATES THE GX470 HAS A HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM AND ADDED TO CAUSED CHAIN FAILURE, WHEREAS THE HEIGHT CONTROL IS MANUALLY ACTIVATED, AND WAS NEVER ACTIVATED SINCE PURCHASE; AND ONLY THE REAR SUSPENSION ELEVATES, WHEREAS 3 OF 4 CHAINS FAILED. [XXX] ALSO FAULTS THE CHAINS WERE NOT THE CORRECT, SINCE THE NEW TIRES INSTALLED WERE 265/70/17, WHEREAS THE OEM IS 265/65/17. THIS STATEMENT WAS NEGATED BY: VULCAN TIRE, LEXUS DEALERS IN KINGSPORT, TN AND WINSTON-SALEM, NC, AND THE LOCAL TIRE DEALER: CLARK TIRE, BOONE, NC. [XXX] CALLED BY TELEPHONE, EMAIL, AND HE HAS FAILED TO RESPOND. [XXX]TOOK THE CALL,AND INFORMED ME [XXX] WILL CALL BACK ON 1/3/2011, AND AS OF 1/10/2011, 7:52 P.M., NO CALLS WERE RETURNED. ALL OF THE REASONS FOR FAILURE WERE NEGATED BY THE LEXUS DEALER, AND THE BODY SHOP THAT REPAIRED VEHICLE (OLDE JONESBOROUGH BODY SHOP) AND THE GEICO CLAIMS ADJUSTER ([XXX]), BOTH FROM JOHNSON CITY, TN, NEGATED [XXX] STATEMENTS, AND BLAMED THE DIRECTLY VISUALIZED CHAINS (THEY WERE PRESENTED TO THEM) FAULTINESS. THE CHAINS WERE PRACTICALLY NEW, AND FAILED (3 OF 4). WITNESSES: NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR DR. WILLIAM WESTMORELAND , AND NEARBY NEIGHBOR [XXX] VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM MY HOME, DOWN 70 YARDS OF MY DRIVEWAY, UP TO NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR (40 YARDS) BEFORE FAILING. AS OF THIS DATE, NO COMPENSATION HAS BEEN MADE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EQUIPMENT

1/10/2011 - BANNER ELK, NC
SNOW CHAINS FOR LEXUS GX470 2004 BROKE AND CAUSED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES. PURCHASED: FEBRUARY, 2010. USED ONLY ONCE BEFORE IT BROKE (3 OF 4) AND DAMAGED VEHICLE. REPORT: CHAINS, FILLED QUESTIONNAIRE, SENT TO MANUFACTURER: SCC, IN CLACKAMAS, OR TO [XXX]. RESULTS OF [XXX]: CHAINS SHOULD HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ON ONLY THE REAR TIRES (THIS IS A 4WD) AND STORE PURCHASED FROM: VULCANTIRE, STATED FRONT AND REAR FOR BETTER VEHICLE CONTROL. ALSO, MR. CAPRINE STATED QUESTIONABLE CLEARANCE WITH GX470, WHEREAS THIS VEHICLE WAS BUILT FOR OFF-ROAD, AND HAS MUCH HIGHER CLEARANCE THAN OTHER VEHICLES. HE STATES THE GX470 HAS A HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM AND ADDED TO CAUSED CHAIN FAILURE, WHEREAS THE HEIGHT CONTROL IS MANUALLY ACTIVATED, AND WAS NEVER ACTIVATED SINCE PURCHASE; AND ONLY THE REAR SUSPENSION ELEVATES, WHEREAS 3 OF 4 CHAINS FAILED. [XXX] ALSO FAULTS THE CHAINS WERE NOT THE CORRECT, SINCE THE NEW TIRES INSTALLED WERE 265/70/17, WHEREAS THE OEM IS 265/65/17. THIS STATEMENT WAS NEGATED BY: VULCAN TIRE, LEXUS DEALERS IN KINGSPORT, TN AND WINSTON-SALEM, NC, AND THE LOCAL TIRE DEALER: CLARK TIRE, BOONE, NC. [XXX] CALLED BY TELEPHONE, EMAIL, AND HE HAS FAILED TO RESPOND. [XXX]TOOK THE CALL,AND INFORMED ME [XXX] WILL CALL BACK ON 1/3/2011, AND AS OF 1/10/2011, 7:52 P.M., NO CALLS WERE RETURNED. ALL OF THE REASONS FOR FAILURE WERE NEGATED BY THE LEXUS DEALER, AND THE BODY SHOP THAT REPAIRED VEHICLE (OLDE JONESBOROUGH BODY SHOP) AND THE GEICO CLAIMS ADJUSTER ([XXX]), BOTH FROM JOHNSON CITY, TN, NEGATED [XXX] STATEMENTS, AND BLAMED THE DIRECTLY VISUALIZED CHAINS (THEY WERE PRESENTED TO THEM) FAULTINESS. THE CHAINS WERE PRACTICALLY NEW, AND FAILED (3 OF 4). WITNESSES: NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR DR. WILLIAM WESTMORELAND , AND NEARBY NEIGHBOR [XXX] VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM MY HOME, DOWN 70 YARDS OF MY DRIVEWAY, UP TO NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR (40 YARDS) BEFORE FAILING. AS OF THIS DATE, NO COMPENSATION HAS BEEN MADE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/7/2010 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 30 MPH WHEN HE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER, HEAD AND BACK. A PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NOSE AND BROKEN CHEEK BONE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT INFORM THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 89,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/12/2010 - ADRIAN, MI
MY LEXUS GX 470 HAS ACCELERATED UNCONTROLLABLY SINCE JAN7, 2010 (FIRST OCCURRENCE) AND LAST OCCURRENCE MARCH 12, 2010 . IT GENERALLY OCCURS AT LIGHT THROTTLE FROM A STOP AND TURNING LEFT AT INTERSECTIONS AND IS COMPOUNDED BY A LOSS OF ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALSO ON WET PAVEMENT. THUS FAR, I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO REACT QUICKLY ENOUGH TO KEEP SPEEDS UNDER 60 MPH. MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER HAVE NOT BEEN SO FORTUNATE AND WILL NOT DRIVE IN AND /OR BE A PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. I'M HANDICAPPED AND HAD A SERVICE DOG WHO WAS KILLED IN ONE OF THE CRASHES. IF A NECK CAN BE BROKEN THEN WE ARE DEALING WITH A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I AM A FORMER TOYOTA EXECUTIVE ENGINEER/ CHIEF ENGINEER FOR 8 YEARS AND HAVE A HUGE AMOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE IN THIS SUBJECT , SUCH AS PROGRAM RETENTION OF ECM AND DENSO THROTTLE. TOYOTA KNEW OF THESE ELECTRONIC PROBLEMS BEGINNING IN 2002 HOW MANY DEATHS IN A LEXUS GX 470 , BEFORE A RECALL OCCURS?????????

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/28/2009 - CAMARILLO, CA
SUDDEN ACCELERATION PROBLEM OCCURRED WHEN A 2004 GX-470 DECELERATED FROM 30 MPH TO APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH TO TURN LEFT INTO A DRIVEWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FULL THROTTLE AND COLLIDED WITH A PARKED CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY. THERE WERE TWO PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE, ONE IN THE FRONT NEXT TO THE DRIVER THE SECOND AN INFANT IN A CAR SEAT IN THE BACK CENTER POSITION OF THE VEHICLE. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION WAS COINCIDENT AS THE DRIVER INITIATED THE TURN INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT CAR TIRES WHERE FULLY TURNED TO THE LEFT AND THE PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT OPENED THE FRONT LEFT CAR DOOR TO EXIT THE VEHICLE BEFORE IT WAS FULLY STOPPED. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION PUSHED THE PASSENGER EXITING THE VEHICLE BACK INTO HIS SEAT AND HE NEVER WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA AND THERE WERE NO ADDITIONAL MATS IN THE VEHICLE OTHER THAN THE ORIGINAL LEXUS CAR MATS. IN ADDITION A POSSIBLE RELATED SYMPTOM OCCURRED TWICE OVER THE FOUR YEAR HISTORY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN SENT BACK TO LEXUS IN WHICH IT WAS REPORTED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN PALM SPRINGS AND THE TEMPERATURE WAS OVER 110 DEGREES THAT THERE WERE ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. LEXUS RETURNED THE VEHICLE INDICATING THAT THEY COULD NOT REPEAT THE PROBLEM BUT DID NOT INVESTIGATE THE PROBLEM UNDER THE HEAT CONDITIONS. EVEN AFTER THE ACCIDENT LEXUS REFUSES TO TEST THE VEHICLE UNDER THE HEAT CONDITIONS. THE DAY OF THE ACCIDENT THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 75 DEGREES. THE PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT IS AN ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING THAT RUNS A COMPANY THAT IS KNOW IN THE INDUSTRY AS RESOLVING INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS IN THE MOST COMPLEX SYSTEMS OF DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE (DOD) (E.G. F-14, EA-6B). HIS OBSERVATION DURING THE ACCIDENT IS THAT THERE WAS EXTREMELY LOW PROBABILITY THAT THE DRIVER COULD OF MOVED THEIR FOOT FROM BRAKE THAT WAS USED TO DECELERATE THE VEHICLE TO THE POINT WHEN THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION STARTED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/22/2007 - CAMARILLO, CA
SUDDEN ACCELERATION PROBLEM OCCURRED WHEN A 2004 GX-470 DECELERATED FROM 30 MPH TO APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH TO TURN LEFT INTO A DRIVEWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FULL THROTTLE AND COLLIDED WITH A PARKED CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY. THERE WERE TWO PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE, ONE IN THE FRONT NEXT TO THE DRIVER THE SECOND AN INFANT IN A CAR SEAT IN THE BACK CENTER POSITION OF THE VEHICLE. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION WAS COINCIDENT AS THE DRIVER INITIATED THE TURN INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT CAR TIRES WHERE FULLY TURNED TO THE LEFT AND THE PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT OPENED THE FRONT LEFT CAR DOOR TO EXIT THE VEHICLE BEFORE IT WAS FULLY STOPPED. THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION PUSHED THE PASSENGER EXITING THE VEHICLE BACK INTO HIS SEAT AND HE NEVER WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA AND THERE WERE NO ADDITIONAL MATS IN THE VEHICLE OTHER THAN THE ORIGINAL LEXUS CAR MATS. IN ADDITION A POSSIBLE RELATED SYMPTOM OCCURRED TWICE OVER THE FOUR YEAR HISTORY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN SENT BACK TO LEXUS IN WHICH IT WAS REPORTED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN PALM SPRINGS AND THE TEMPERATURE WAS OVER 110 DEGREES THAT THERE WERE ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. LEXUS RETURNED THE VEHICLE INDICATING THAT THEY COULD NOT REPEAT THE PROBLEM BUT DID NOT INVESTIGATE THE PROBLEM UNDER THE HEAT CONDITIONS. EVEN AFTER THE ACCIDENT LEXUS REFUSES TO TEST THE VEHICLE UNDER THE HEAT CONDITIONS. THE DAY OF THE ACCIDENT THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 75 DEGREES. THE PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT IS AN ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING THAT RUNS A COMPANY THAT IS KNOW IN THE INDUSTRY AS RESOLVING INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS IN THE MOST COMPLEX SYSTEMS OF DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE (DOD) (E.G. F-14, EA-6B). HIS OBSERVATION DURING THE ACCIDENT IS THAT THERE WAS EXTREMELY LOW PROBABILITY THAT THE DRIVER COULD OF MOVED THEIR FOOT FROM BREAK THAT WAS USED TO DECELERATE THE VEHICLE TO THE POINT WHEN THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION STARTED.

View Details

STEERING

1/2/2007 - RIVERVIEW, FL
MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING OUR NEWLY PURCHASED 2004 LEXUS 470GX TO GEORGIA WHEN HE ENCOUNTERED PROBLEMS WITH DRIVING UNDER RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS IN NORTH FLORIDA. MY HUSBAND COMMUNICATED THE STEERING WAS VERY LOOSE AND THE CAR WAS PULLING. ACCORDING TO MY HUSBAND, THIS HAPPENED TWO TIMES AND ON THE THIRD INCIDENT THE VEHICLE WENT OUT OF CONTROL. MY HUSBAND WAS NOT ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND IT FLIPPED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES BEFORE ENDING UP IN THE MEDIAN ON IT'S SIDE. MY HUSBAND IS A VERY SAFE DRIVER AND WAS EXERCISING MUCH CAUTION WHEN DRIVING. HE'S DRIVEN AN SUV (1997 TOYOTA 4RUNNER) FOR EIGHT YEARS. WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ON 12/23/06 AND I AM CONCERNED THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. WE'VE DRIVEN IN WORSE WEATHER CONDITIONS AND NEVER HAD ANYTHING REMOTELY WRONG HAPPEN...I'M NOT SURE WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THIS AND SEEK OUT SOME HELP AND ADVICE. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/23/2006 - ROSLYN HEIGHTS, NY
AUTO: LEXUS 2004 GX470 SUV PART: DRIVER'S LEFT FOOT REST. PROBLEM: THE PART IN QUESTION BECAME UN-BOLTED TO THE VEHICLE INSIDE CABIN DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR AND BECAME WEDGED UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL DURING VEHICLE OPERATION. DRIVER (MY WIFE) APPLIED BRAKE APPROACHING STOP SIGN ONLY TO FIND BRAKE PEDAL STUCK. FRANTIC REPEATED BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATION BY HER FINALLY DISLODGED FOOT REST FROM UNDER BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE JUST BARELY STOPPED PRIOR TO ENTERING INTERSECTION. DEALERSHIP HAS AGREED TO REPAIR PART.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds