Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GX 470 - 2004 LEXUS GX 470 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LEXUS

There are 26 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS GX 470. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Steering (2) Tires (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/6/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
LEXUS IS SELLING VEHICLES WITH BAD BRAKE ACTUATORS. I TOOK IT TO THEM TWICE AND WHICH THEY SAY THEY DON'T KNOW WHY I'M HERE THE NOISE AND WHY MY BRAKE PEDAL WAS RATTLING WHEN I LOOK ON THE LEXUS FORUMS I SEE SEVERAL PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE BRAKE ACTUATORS ARE GOING OUT ON THEIR VEHICLES SOME VEHICLES ONLY HAVE $34,000 ON THEM. THE DANGEROUS PART IS THAT YOU GET NO WARNING LIGHTS OR ANYTHING IF IT GOES OUT AND YOU'RE ON THE EXPRESSWAY YOU CAN NOT STOP THE VEHICLE AT ALL, ONE PERSON EVEN BLOGGED ABOUT HOW THERE'S WENT COMPLETELY OUT ON THEM LUCKILY THEY WERE DRIVING UP IN THE DRIVEWAY BUT THE VEHICLE NEVER STOPPED. LEXUS IS CHARGING PEOPLE ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO $4,000 TO FIX THESE WHEN THEY KNOW THAT SEVERAL OF THEIR VEHICLES ARE HAVING THESE PROBLEMS WHILE STILL NEW. I JUST TOOK IT TO LEXUS AGAIN LAST WEEK AND THE SERVICEMEN SAID IT SOUNDS LIKE THE ACTUATOR IS GOING OUT IF IT IS THEN THAT'S GOING TO BE $4,000. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE I HEAR A LOT OF CLICKING UP UNDER THE HOOD AND YOU CAN FEEL THE VIBRATION ALL THE WAY THROUGH THE BRAKE PEDAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2017 - CHARLESTON, SC
CURTAIN SHIELD AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE. RECALL # 16V-065. LEXUS IS NOT REPAIRING THIS IN A TIMELY FASHION. IT HAS BEEN APPROX. SIX MONTHS SINCE WE FIRST RECEIVED NOTICE OF THIS RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2017 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX 470. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V065000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/26/2016 - HAMPTON, VA
CRACKED DASHBOARD AND OCCASIONAL THUMP,BUMP WHEN I STOP AT STOP LIGHTS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2016 - COLLEYVILLE, TX
CRACKED DASHBOARD WITH SHINY SPOTS THAT GIVE GLARE WHEN DRIVING IN THE SUN.THIS IS AN ISSUE WHENEVER THE CAR IS IN MOTION ON ANY SURFACE (STREET, HIGHWAY, TURNING, ETC). WE RECEIVED ZLD WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT NOTIFICATION AND GOT ON LOCAL DEALERSHIP (GRAPEVINE, TEXAS) "WILL CALL" LIST OVER A YEAR AGO. DEALERSHIP CONTINUES TO SAY THEY WILL CALL WHEN PART IS AVAILABLE. ONLINE IT APPEARS THE ONLY PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD DASHES REPLACED ARE THOSE WHO HAVE LEXUS BLOGS, ETC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/27/2014 - ODESSA, FL
WE FIRST NOTICED WHAT LOOKED LIKE TINY BUBBLES UNDER THE DASH AND THE RAISED AREAS STARTED TO SHOW TINY SPLITS AND SINCE THEN HAS CONTINUED TO BUBBLE, SPLIT AND CRACK. THERE ARE SIGNIFICANT AREAS OF SPLITTING AROUND THE OUTLINE OF THE GAUGES, ACROSS THE TOP OF THE DASH, DOWN THE SIDES AND THEY CONTINUE TO GROW IN SIZE AND INTO OTHER AREAS. IN 2010 WROTE YOUR HEADQUARTERS AND AFTER A FEW MONTHS RECEIVED A CALL FROM ONE OF YOUR REPRESENTATIVES. HE ASKED SEVERAL QUESTIONS AND I TOLD HIM THE CAR HAD BEEN GARAGED SINCE WE BOUGHT IT IN 2006 FROM A LEXUS DEALER IN CLEARWATER. HE GAVE ME THE USUAL QUESTION AND ANSWER INVESTIGATION AND SAID HE COULD DO NOTHING. FINALLY, HE SAID SINCE I HAD NOT HAD EVERY OIL CHANGE AND REPAIR DONE AT A LEXUS DEALER AND THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED I WAS NOT ENTITLED TO ANYTHING AND I SHOULD HAVE EXTENDED THE WARRANTY. I FELT THE LEXUS I OWNED SHOULD NOT HAVE A DASH THAT WAS DETERIORATING AFTER THIS SHORT PERIOD OF OWNERSHIP AND IT HAD TO BE A DEFECT. YOUR REPRESENTATIVE OFFERED FOR LEXUS TO PAY FOR ONE-HALF THE COST OF THE DASH REPLACEMENT, BUT I FELT THAT THE DASH WAS DEFECTIVE AND THERE WAS NO REASON FOR ME TO PAY TO HAVE ANY PART OF THE REPLACEMENT. I FEEL THE ONLY REASON THE DASH COULD BE SPLITTING IS THE MATERIAL IT WAS FORMED WITH OR WHATEVER PROCESS WAS USED. I REALIZE AS OF THIS YEAR THE CAR IS TEN YEARS OLD, BUT THIS HAS BEEN ON ONGOING PROBLEM NOT A NEW ONE AND IT HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. I HAVE HAD FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE LEXUS AND ONLY IN THE LAST FEW YEARS HAS IT NEEDED ANY EXTENSIVE REPAIRS. AFTER CHECKING PRICES AT DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS I DID USE THE LEXUS DEALERSHIP, BECAUSE THEY WERE VERY CLOSE IN PRICE TO THE OTHER ESTIMATES THAT I HAD GOTTEN AND SINCE THEIR REPAIRMEN WERE TRAINED AND UPDATED ON LEXUS REPAIRS I RESPECTED AND APPRECIATED THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/22/2011 - SAUSALITO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING A RECURRING FAILURE IN WHICH THE FRONT TURN SIGNAL LIGHT BULBS STOPPED FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS IN WHICH THE BULBS WOULD BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 112,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds