Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GX 470 - 2004 LEXUS GX 470 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LEXUS

There are 22 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS GX 470. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS GX 470, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2016 - COLLEYVILLE, TX
CRACKED DASHBOARD WITH SHINY SPOTS THAT GIVE GLARE WHEN DRIVING IN THE SUN.THIS IS AN ISSUE WHENEVER THE CAR IS IN MOTION ON ANY SURFACE (STREET, HIGHWAY, TURNING, ETC). WE RECEIVED ZLD WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT NOTIFICATION AND GOT ON LOCAL DEALERSHIP (GRAPEVINE, TEXAS) "WILL CALL" LIST OVER A YEAR AGO. DEALERSHIP CONTINUES TO SAY THEY WILL CALL WHEN PART IS AVAILABLE. ONLINE IT APPEARS THE ONLY PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD DASHES REPLACED ARE THOSE WHO HAVE LEXUS BLOGS, ETC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/11/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
WHEN I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM THE LEXUS DEALER IT HAD AN OCCASIONAL THUMP, BUMP CLUNK WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. SORT LIKE SOMEONE WAS TRYING TO BUMP ME FORWARD. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AT EVERY SERVICE APPOINTMENT INCLUDING WARRANTY APPOINTMENTS. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IT IS. IT HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I THEREFORE HAVE TRIED TO DO SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND APPEARS THAT NOT ONLY DOES LEXUS KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT THEY MIGHT HAVE ACTUALLY PUBLISHED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL THAT THE VEHICLE IS BECOMING UNSAFE AND I BELIEVE WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ON THE LEXUS SITES THAT THIS IS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE NOT AN ISSUE THAT MY DEALER CONTINUALLY IGNORES. MY LEXUS ALSO IN COLD WEATHER (LOW 30S) HAS A LARGE GROWLING NOISE WHEN STOPPED AND BRAKES APPLIED. I THINK IT IS PART OF THE AFOREMENTIONED ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE ALIGNED A FEW TIMES. IT HAS A SENSATION OF PULLING RIGHT. HOWEVER IT STAYS TRUE, PRETTY MUCH, ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD NOT HAVE THIS FEELING IN THE STEERING PLAY. LASTLY, I AM CONSTANTLY CHANGING OUT THE OUTSIDE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE. HEADLIGHTS, TURN INDICATORS AND REAR BRAKE LIGHTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/27/2014 - ODESSA, FL
WE FIRST NOTICED WHAT LOOKED LIKE TINY BUBBLES UNDER THE DASH AND THE RAISED AREAS STARTED TO SHOW TINY SPLITS AND SINCE THEN HAS CONTINUED TO BUBBLE, SPLIT AND CRACK. THERE ARE SIGNIFICANT AREAS OF SPLITTING AROUND THE OUTLINE OF THE GAUGES, ACROSS THE TOP OF THE DASH, DOWN THE SIDES AND THEY CONTINUE TO GROW IN SIZE AND INTO OTHER AREAS. IN 2010 WROTE YOUR HEADQUARTERS AND AFTER A FEW MONTHS RECEIVED A CALL FROM ONE OF YOUR REPRESENTATIVES. HE ASKED SEVERAL QUESTIONS AND I TOLD HIM THE CAR HAD BEEN GARAGED SINCE WE BOUGHT IT IN 2006 FROM A LEXUS DEALER IN CLEARWATER. HE GAVE ME THE USUAL QUESTION AND ANSWER INVESTIGATION AND SAID HE COULD DO NOTHING. FINALLY, HE SAID SINCE I HAD NOT HAD EVERY OIL CHANGE AND REPAIR DONE AT A LEXUS DEALER AND THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED I WAS NOT ENTITLED TO ANYTHING AND I SHOULD HAVE EXTENDED THE WARRANTY. I FELT THE LEXUS I OWNED SHOULD NOT HAVE A DASH THAT WAS DETERIORATING AFTER THIS SHORT PERIOD OF OWNERSHIP AND IT HAD TO BE A DEFECT. YOUR REPRESENTATIVE OFFERED FOR LEXUS TO PAY FOR ONE-HALF THE COST OF THE DASH REPLACEMENT, BUT I FELT THAT THE DASH WAS DEFECTIVE AND THERE WAS NO REASON FOR ME TO PAY TO HAVE ANY PART OF THE REPLACEMENT. I FEEL THE ONLY REASON THE DASH COULD BE SPLITTING IS THE MATERIAL IT WAS FORMED WITH OR WHATEVER PROCESS WAS USED. I REALIZE AS OF THIS YEAR THE CAR IS TEN YEARS OLD, BUT THIS HAS BEEN ON ONGOING PROBLEM NOT A NEW ONE AND IT HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. I HAVE HAD FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE LEXUS AND ONLY IN THE LAST FEW YEARS HAS IT NEEDED ANY EXTENSIVE REPAIRS. AFTER CHECKING PRICES AT DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS I DID USE THE LEXUS DEALERSHIP, BECAUSE THEY WERE VERY CLOSE IN PRICE TO THE OTHER ESTIMATES THAT I HAD GOTTEN AND SINCE THEIR REPAIRMEN WERE TRAINED AND UPDATED ON LEXUS REPAIRS I RESPECTED AND APPRECIATED THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/22/2011 - SAUSALITO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING A RECURRING FAILURE IN WHICH THE FRONT TURN SIGNAL LIGHT BULBS STOPPED FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS IN WHICH THE BULBS WOULD BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 112,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

1/10/2011 - BANNER ELK, NC
SNOW CHAINS FOR LEXUS GX470 2004 BROKE AND CAUSED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES. PURCHASED: FEBRUARY, 2010. USED ONLY ONCE BEFORE IT BROKE (3 OF 4) AND DAMAGED VEHICLE. REPORT: CHAINS, FILLED QUESTIONNAIRE, SENT TO MANUFACTURER: SCC, IN CLACKAMAS, OR TO [XXX]. RESULTS OF [XXX]: CHAINS SHOULD HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ON ONLY THE REAR TIRES (THIS IS A 4WD) AND STORE PURCHASED FROM: VULCANTIRE, STATED FRONT AND REAR FOR BETTER VEHICLE CONTROL. ALSO, MR. CAPRINE STATED QUESTIONABLE CLEARANCE WITH GX470, WHEREAS THIS VEHICLE WAS BUILT FOR OFF-ROAD, AND HAS MUCH HIGHER CLEARANCE THAN OTHER VEHICLES. HE STATES THE GX470 HAS A HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM AND ADDED TO CAUSED CHAIN FAILURE, WHEREAS THE HEIGHT CONTROL IS MANUALLY ACTIVATED, AND WAS NEVER ACTIVATED SINCE PURCHASE; AND ONLY THE REAR SUSPENSION ELEVATES, WHEREAS 3 OF 4 CHAINS FAILED. [XXX] ALSO FAULTS THE CHAINS WERE NOT THE CORRECT, SINCE THE NEW TIRES INSTALLED WERE 265/70/17, WHEREAS THE OEM IS 265/65/17. THIS STATEMENT WAS NEGATED BY: VULCAN TIRE, LEXUS DEALERS IN KINGSPORT, TN AND WINSTON-SALEM, NC, AND THE LOCAL TIRE DEALER: CLARK TIRE, BOONE, NC. [XXX] CALLED BY TELEPHONE, EMAIL, AND HE HAS FAILED TO RESPOND. [XXX]TOOK THE CALL,AND INFORMED ME [XXX] WILL CALL BACK ON 1/3/2011, AND AS OF 1/10/2011, 7:52 P.M., NO CALLS WERE RETURNED. ALL OF THE REASONS FOR FAILURE WERE NEGATED BY THE LEXUS DEALER, AND THE BODY SHOP THAT REPAIRED VEHICLE (OLDE JONESBOROUGH BODY SHOP) AND THE GEICO CLAIMS ADJUSTER ([XXX]), BOTH FROM JOHNSON CITY, TN, NEGATED [XXX] STATEMENTS, AND BLAMED THE DIRECTLY VISUALIZED CHAINS (THEY WERE PRESENTED TO THEM) FAULTINESS. THE CHAINS WERE PRACTICALLY NEW, AND FAILED (3 OF 4). WITNESSES: NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR DR. WILLIAM WESTMORELAND , AND NEARBY NEIGHBOR [XXX] VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM MY HOME, DOWN 70 YARDS OF MY DRIVEWAY, UP TO NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR (40 YARDS) BEFORE FAILING. AS OF THIS DATE, NO COMPENSATION HAS BEEN MADE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

TIRES

1/10/2011 - BANNER ELK, NC
SNOW CHAINS FOR LEXUS GX470 2004 BROKE AND CAUSED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES. PURCHASED: FEBRUARY, 2010. USED ONLY ONCE BEFORE IT BROKE (3 OF 4) AND DAMAGED VEHICLE. REPORT: CHAINS, FILLED QUESTIONNAIRE, SENT TO MANUFACTURER: SCC, IN CLACKAMAS, OR TO [XXX]. RESULTS OF [XXX]: CHAINS SHOULD HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ON ONLY THE REAR TIRES (THIS IS A 4WD) AND STORE PURCHASED FROM: VULCANTIRE, STATED FRONT AND REAR FOR BETTER VEHICLE CONTROL. ALSO, MR. CAPRINE STATED QUESTIONABLE CLEARANCE WITH GX470, WHEREAS THIS VEHICLE WAS BUILT FOR OFF-ROAD, AND HAS MUCH HIGHER CLEARANCE THAN OTHER VEHICLES. HE STATES THE GX470 HAS A HEIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM AND ADDED TO CAUSED CHAIN FAILURE, WHEREAS THE HEIGHT CONTROL IS MANUALLY ACTIVATED, AND WAS NEVER ACTIVATED SINCE PURCHASE; AND ONLY THE REAR SUSPENSION ELEVATES, WHEREAS 3 OF 4 CHAINS FAILED. [XXX] ALSO FAULTS THE CHAINS WERE NOT THE CORRECT, SINCE THE NEW TIRES INSTALLED WERE 265/70/17, WHEREAS THE OEM IS 265/65/17. THIS STATEMENT WAS NEGATED BY: VULCAN TIRE, LEXUS DEALERS IN KINGSPORT, TN AND WINSTON-SALEM, NC, AND THE LOCAL TIRE DEALER: CLARK TIRE, BOONE, NC. [XXX] CALLED BY TELEPHONE, EMAIL, AND HE HAS FAILED TO RESPOND. [XXX]TOOK THE CALL,AND INFORMED ME [XXX] WILL CALL BACK ON 1/3/2011, AND AS OF 1/10/2011, 7:52 P.M., NO CALLS WERE RETURNED. ALL OF THE REASONS FOR FAILURE WERE NEGATED BY THE LEXUS DEALER, AND THE BODY SHOP THAT REPAIRED VEHICLE (OLDE JONESBOROUGH BODY SHOP) AND THE GEICO CLAIMS ADJUSTER ([XXX]), BOTH FROM JOHNSON CITY, TN, NEGATED [XXX] STATEMENTS, AND BLAMED THE DIRECTLY VISUALIZED CHAINS (THEY WERE PRESENTED TO THEM) FAULTINESS. THE CHAINS WERE PRACTICALLY NEW, AND FAILED (3 OF 4). WITNESSES: NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR DR. WILLIAM WESTMORELAND , AND NEARBY NEIGHBOR [XXX] VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM MY HOME, DOWN 70 YARDS OF MY DRIVEWAY, UP TO NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR (40 YARDS) BEFORE FAILING. AS OF THIS DATE, NO COMPENSATION HAS BEEN MADE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/7/2010 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 30 MPH WHEN HE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER, HEAD AND BACK. A PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NOSE AND BROKEN CHEEK BONE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT INFORM THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 89,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/12/2010 - ADRIAN, MI
MY LEXUS GX 470 HAS ACCELERATED UNCONTROLLABLY SINCE JAN7, 2010 (FIRST OCCURRENCE) AND LAST OCCURRENCE MARCH 12, 2010 . IT GENERALLY OCCURS AT LIGHT THROTTLE FROM A STOP AND TURNING LEFT AT INTERSECTIONS AND IS COMPOUNDED BY A LOSS OF ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ALSO ON WET PAVEMENT. THUS FAR, I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO REACT QUICKLY ENOUGH TO KEEP SPEEDS UNDER 60 MPH. MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER HAVE NOT BEEN SO FORTUNATE AND WILL NOT DRIVE IN AND /OR BE A PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. I'M HANDICAPPED AND HAD A SERVICE DOG WHO WAS KILLED IN ONE OF THE CRASHES. IF A NECK CAN BE BROKEN THEN WE ARE DEALING WITH A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I AM A FORMER TOYOTA EXECUTIVE ENGINEER/ CHIEF ENGINEER FOR 8 YEARS AND HAVE A HUGE AMOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE IN THIS SUBJECT , SUCH AS PROGRAM RETENTION OF ECM AND DENSO THROTTLE. TOYOTA KNEW OF THESE ELECTRONIC PROBLEMS BEGINNING IN 2002 HOW MANY DEATHS IN A LEXUS GX 470 , BEFORE A RECALL OCCURS?????????

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds