Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN NAVIGATOR - 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Suspension (17)
Electrical System (9) Equipment (2) Seats (3) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (9) Visibility (3)
Engine (1) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
FOR THE PAST 6-8 MONTHS MY VEHICLE HAS SPORADICALLY STALLED/STOPPED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. WHEN IT STOPS LIKE THIS IT CAN OCCUR ON THE HIGHWAY OR SURFACE STREETS WITHOUT NOTICE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE LINCOLN DEALER TWO TIMES WITH THE LAST TIME BEING TOLD IT WAS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM, WHICH I WAS SKEPTICAL, BECAUSE OF NO PREVIOUS PROBLEMS. I HAVE REQUESTED ASSISTANCE FROM FORD MOTOR WHO ESSENTIALLY DISMISSED WITHOUT ANY LIABILITY DUE TO THE CAR BEING OUT OF WARRANTY. I AM REQUESTING YOUR ASSISTANCE BEFORE THERE IS ANY INJURY, ACCIDENT OR FATALITY. I HAVE THE E-MAIL CORRESPONDENCE WITH FORD.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/19/2014 - NORTH TOPSAIL BEACH, NC
JAN 2012 AIR SUSPENSION LIGHT CAME ON AFTER BEING IN BELOW 30 DEGREES ON A TRIP. CAR WAS BOUNCING AND COULD NOT CONTROL IT PROPERLY. REPLACED AIR SHOCK ON REAR. NOV 2013 - SAME TEMPS AND SAME LIGHT AND CONTROL PROBLEM. AFTER THE CAR REACHED A WARMER TEMP.(SOUTH FOR 3 HOURS) IT NO LONGER BOUNCED AND WAS BACK TO NORMAL. SERVICE SHOP COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. DEC 2013 ANOTHER TRIP UP NORTH AND SAME THING.AND SAME SERVICE FIND. NOTHING. JAN 2014 IN A WARMER TEMP. LIGHT CAME ON AND BOUNCE CAME BACK. SERVICE SHOP SAID IT LOOKS LIKE THE COMPRESSOR IS GOING BAD. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO ME IS A SAFETY PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPAIRED BY FORD (LINCOLN). IT IS DANGEROUS AND CERTAINLY MAKES THE CAR UNCONTROLLABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/1/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
WHEN TEMPERATURES DROP NEAR OR BELOW FREEZING, THE AIR SUSPENSION SPRINGS STOP FUNCTIONING AT ALL. THE VALVE THAT HOLDS THE AIR IN THE AIR BAGS GETS FROST ON IT AND CAN'T CLOSE ANYMORE. THIS CAUSES THE SUSPENSION TO RIDE ON THE RUBBER STOPS. THE TIRES RUB IN THE FENDER WELLS. THE VEHICLE WILL EVENTUALLY RUB THE TIRE TO A TIRE FAILURE. THIS WILL CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND POSSIBLY CRASH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/29/2013 - LAS VEGAS , NV
HI I OWN A 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR FOR 6 MONTHS AFTER THE 3RD MONTH MY AIR SUSPENCION WENT OUT THE FRONT OF MY TRUCK IS SO LOW IT TOUCH THE TIRES WHEN I DRIVE THE TRUCK BOUNCE SO MUCH MY BACK AND HEAD HURTS I HATE TO DRIVE IT BUT IS THE ONLY CAR I HAVE AND NO MONEY TO FIX MY KIDS DONT LIKE TO DRIVE IN IT AND IM SCARE TO TAKE MY 7 MONTH OLD BABY ANY WERE BECAUSE I AM SCARED THAT SHE WILL GET HURT FROM ALL THE BOUNCING!!!! I SEEN OVER 10 NAVIGATOR WITH THE SAME PROBLEM LINCOLN NEED TO MAKE THIS A RECALL BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AROUND BOUNCING AND ITS HARD TO CONTROL THE STARING WHEEL

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/30/2013 - MCGUIRE AIR FORCE BASE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS 2004 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT SUSPENSION FAILED AND CAUSED THE FRONT END TO REST ON THE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION, WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE FRONT SUSPENSION SENSOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR, WHO REPLACED THE FRONT SUSPENSION SENSOR HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 55 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO ADVISED THAT THE AIR COMPRESSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,100 AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/11/2013 - YOAKUM, TX
THE SUN ROOF LEAKS, TAIL GATE DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY, AND RUNNING BOARD DON'T WORK PROPERLY AS WELL AND THE MY LOCAL FOR CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM:(

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/11/2013 - YOAKUM, TX
THE SUN ROOF LEAKS, TAIL GATE DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY, AND RUNNING BOARD DON'T WORK PROPERLY AS WELL AND THE MY LOCAL FOR CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM:(

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2013 - BURTONSVILLE, MD
REAR WINDOW WIPER POWER DOOR LOCKS GEAR SHIFTER ALL WENT OUT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/27/2012 - CAMDEN, AR
WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON AR HWY 9 A FEW MILES SOUTH OF MALVERN, ARKANSAS WITH MY WIFE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND MY SON IN THE SECOND ROW DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, A LOUD BANG OCCURRED. IN THE NEXT MOMENTS I REALIZED THE SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED ON BOTH SIDES OF THE VEHICLE, A SMELL LIKE FIREWORKS BECAME IMMEDIATELY APPARENT, AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE SUN VISOR WAS DESTROYED AND HANGING DOWN DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME AT AN ANGLE. I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND STAY IN MY LANE OF THE TWO-LANE HIGHWAY AND SLOWED DOWN. AFTER SHORTLY REALIZING WHAT HAPPENED, I LOOKED FOR A PLACE TO PULL OVER, DID SO, AND TOOK MY POCKET KNIFE AND CUT AWAY THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS TO BE ABLE TO SEE OUT OF THE SIDE WINDOWS AND CONTINUE OUR TRIP NORTH. I FOUND THE DRIVER'S VISOR VANITY MIRROR HAD SHATTERED IN PIECES IN MY LAP AND ON THE FLOOR, ALONG WITH OTHER PARTS FROM THE VISOR WHICH NOW HUNG DOWN AT A STEEP ANGLE. BOTH THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT SEAT BELTS WERE DAMAGED, AND THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT UPPER ANCHOR WOULD NO LONGER STAY LOCKED IN POSITION, SAGGING TO ITS LOWEST POSITION BY GRAVITY. LATER THAT DAY I DISCOVERED THAT THE MAP LIGHTS AND PASSENGER SIDE VISOR VANITY MIRROR LIGHT NO LONGER WORKED. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER NEAR WHERE I WAS STAYING, WHO TOLD ME THAT IT (AIR BAG SYSTEM) WAS NO LONGER COVERED BY WARRANTY. I THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY HOMETOWN DEALER TO FURTHER RESOLVE THE ISSUE, AND ALSO INSTIGATED A CASE WITH THE LINCOLN CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER TO SEE IF THEY WOULD HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/27/2012 - CAMDEN, AR
WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON AR HWY 9 A FEW MILES SOUTH OF MALVERN, ARKANSAS WITH MY WIFE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND MY SON IN THE SECOND ROW DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, A LOUD BANG OCCURRED. IN THE NEXT MOMENTS I REALIZED THE SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED ON BOTH SIDES OF THE VEHICLE, A SMELL LIKE FIREWORKS BECAME IMMEDIATELY APPARENT, AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE SUN VISOR WAS DESTROYED AND HANGING DOWN DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME AT AN ANGLE. I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND STAY IN MY LANE OF THE TWO-LANE HIGHWAY AND SLOWED DOWN. AFTER SHORTLY REALIZING WHAT HAPPENED, I LOOKED FOR A PLACE TO PULL OVER, DID SO, AND TOOK MY POCKET KNIFE AND CUT AWAY THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS TO BE ABLE TO SEE OUT OF THE SIDE WINDOWS AND CONTINUE OUR TRIP NORTH. I FOUND THE DRIVER'S VISOR VANITY MIRROR HAD SHATTERED IN PIECES IN MY LAP AND ON THE FLOOR, ALONG WITH OTHER PARTS FROM THE VISOR WHICH NOW HUNG DOWN AT A STEEP ANGLE. BOTH THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT SEAT BELTS WERE DAMAGED, AND THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT UPPER ANCHOR WOULD NO LONGER STAY LOCKED IN POSITION, SAGGING TO ITS LOWEST POSITION BY GRAVITY. LATER THAT DAY I DISCOVERED THAT THE MAP LIGHTS AND PASSENGER SIDE VISOR VANITY MIRROR LIGHT NO LONGER WORKED. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER NEAR WHERE I WAS STAYING, WHO TOLD ME THAT IT (AIR BAG SYSTEM) WAS NO LONGER COVERED BY WARRANTY. I THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY HOMETOWN DEALER TO FURTHER RESOLVE THE ISSUE, AND ALSO INSTIGATED A CASE WITH THE LINCOLN CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER TO SEE IF THEY WOULD HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds