Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/8/2019 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT MAIN MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. AN UNKNOWN DEALER WAS CONTACTED, BUT COULD NOT ASSIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,680.

View Details

STEERING

12/15/2017 - SUNNYVALE, CA
THE LOCK RELEASE LEVER ON THE STEERING WHEEL GET LOOSE WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND DOES NOT LOCKED IN PLACE. THIS CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND SERIOUS INJURIES. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO GET THIS REPAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/29/2017 - LAKE SAINT LOUIS, MO
I WAS REAR ENDED WHILE PREGNANT AND DRIVING MY 2004 MAZDA 3 HATCHBACK. THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED BUT I WAS ON MY WAY TO A DOCTOR+S APPOINTMENT AND WAS ABLE TO HAVE AN ULTRASOUND TO ENSURE MY CHILD WAS SAFE. NO INSURANCE CLAIM WAS FILED BUT I WAS CONCERNED. I WAS AT A STOP SIGN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2017 - JASPER, AL
NO PROBLEMS FROM CAR NO WARNING LIGHT. BIG BANG THEN ENGINE MAKING VERY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE...ON INTERSTATE... STILL CRANKS BUT NEEDS MOTOR...READ THAT LOT OF PEOPLE HAVE HAD SAME PROBLEMS

View Details

SEATS

5/28/2017 - PALM DESERT, CA
DRIVER SIDE FRONT SEAT WOBBLES-ENTIRE ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED-DANGEROUS IF WELD HAD BROKEN WHILE ON FREEWAY-WHY ISN'T THIS A SAFETY RECALL-NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS FOR VARIOUS MODEL YEARS EVEN WHEN NEW-ARE SEATS REMOVED BY L0-JACK TECHS WHEN INSTALLING LO-JACK DEVICES?

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
POWER STEERING GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY. OFTEN STARTS WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE LEFT. THE POWER STEERING FAILURE LIGHT , OR SOMETIMES ALL WARNING LIGHTS, COME ON. THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN IN EITHER DIRECTION AND THE CAR IS DIFFICULT AND HAZARDOUS TO NAVIGATE TO A STOP. ELECTRONICS FLASH ON AND OFF (HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, ETC.). CAR SOMETIMES DIES. IF THE STEERING WHEEL IS NOT PERFECTLY STRAIGHT WHEN THE CAR DIES, IT IS LOCKED AND THE CAR CANNOT BE RESTARTED UNTIL SOMEONE CAN WRENCH THE STEERING WHEEL STRAIGHT AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED OFF AND ON FOR A YEAR. SINCE IT IS INTERMITTENT, MECHANICS ARE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2016 - TROY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE STEERING WHEEL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND WAS HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON A FEW TIMES AND SHIFTED THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT, BUT THE WHEEL WOULD NOT UNLOCK. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,173.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2015 - MORGAN HILL, CA
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WITH EVAP LEAK CODE. SMALL LEAK AT FIRST THEN INCLUDED LARGE LEAK CODE LATER. ALSO BEGAN TO NOTICE STRONG GAS SMELL OUTSIDE VEHICLE AFTER FUELING. TURNED OUT THE FUEL PUMP RING THAT HOLDS DOWN AND SEALS FUEL PUMP TO FUEL TANK HAD CRACKED. OVER TIME THE SPLIT BECAME LARGER. WHEN TANK WAS FILLED, RAW FUEL WOULD LEAK OUT AROUND PUMP ON TOP OF TANK. WHICH ALSO HAPPENS TO BE RIGHT UNDER THE REAR SEAT WHERE ME KIDS SIT. REPLACEMENT WAS EXPENSIVE BECAUSE THE RING COULD NOT BE REMOVED FROM UNDER THE SEAT. IT REQUIRED DROPPING THE TANK TO REPAIR. MECHANIC FELT IT WAS A STRESS CRACK. THE FUEL PUMP HAD NEVER BEEN WORKED ON BEFORE. THE ORIGINAL RING WAS INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2015 - HEBRON, KY
WAS IN ACCIDENT HIT DITCH AND TREE HEAD ON AND AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, CAUSING INJURY TO FACE FROM HITTING STEERING WHEEL. WAS ON CITY STREET AND IN MOTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/29/2015 - GREENVILLE, SC
THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL SMELL THAT WAS OCCURRING ON BOTH THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF MY CAR EVERY TIME I FILLED MY CAR UP. I TOOK TO MY THE MECHANIC AND IT WAS FOUND MY FUEL TANK WAS LEAKING IN 2 SPOTS. ONE WAS PART OF THE GAS TANK THAT VENTS THE FUMES - THAT SEAL WAS LEAKING AND THE OTHER WAS PART OF THE LOCKING RING THAT IS ON THE GAS TANK ITSELF WAS CRACKED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds