Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - BURLINGAME, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V468000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/18/2014 - APPLETON, WI
I HAD MY MECHANIC WORKING ON REPLACING A BURNT OUT LICENSE PLATE LIGHT WHEN HE DISCOVERED THAT THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING. HE TURNED THE LIGHTS OFF AND BACK ON, AND THE TAIL LIGHTS STARTED WORKING AGAIN, TURNED THE LIGHTS BACK OFF AND ON AGAIN, AND THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE BACK TO NOT WORKING AGAIN. HE IDENTIFIED THE FUSE BOX TO BE THE CAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, AS WHEN THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE OUT, HE WOULD HIT THE FUSE BOX WHICH WOULD THEN CAUSE THE LIGHTS TO COME BACK ON, AND HE DEMONSTRATED THIS FOR ME. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN TO ME AND AFTER ONLY A FEW MINUTES OF INTERNET RESEARCH I FOUND OTHERS WERE HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. I FEEL VERY FORTUNATE THAT I'VE NOT BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND. I'VE CALLED MAZDA AND THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT AWARE OF A KNOWN ISSUE AND THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE PART, BUT I'VE ALSO LEARNED THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN REISSUED 6 TIMES. THIS MAKES ME THINK IT HAS TO BE A KNOWN ISSUE, OTHERWISE WHY KEEP MODIFYING THE PART?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - APPLETON, WI
I HAD MY MECHANIC WORKING ON REPLACING A BURNT OUT LICENSE PLATE LIGHT WHEN HE DISCOVERED THAT THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING. HE TURNED THE LIGHTS OFF AND BACK ON, AND THE TAIL LIGHTS STARTED WORKING AGAIN, TURNED THE LIGHTS BACK OFF AND ON AGAIN, AND THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE BACK TO NOT WORKING AGAIN. HE IDENTIFIED THE FUSE BOX TO BE THE CAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, AS WHEN THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE OUT, HE WOULD HIT THE FUSE BOX WHICH WOULD THEN CAUSE THE LIGHTS TO COME BACK ON, AND HE DEMONSTRATED THIS FOR ME. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN TO ME AND AFTER ONLY A FEW MINUTES OF INTERNET RESEARCH I FOUND OTHERS WERE HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. I FEEL VERY FORTUNATE THAT I'VE NOT BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND. I'VE CALLED MAZDA AND THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT AWARE OF A KNOWN ISSUE AND THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE PART, BUT I'VE ALSO LEARNED THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN REISSUED 6 TIMES. THIS MAKES ME THINK IT HAS TO BE A KNOWN ISSUE, OTHERWISE WHY KEEP MODIFYING THE PART?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/4/2014 - IMPERIAL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME INOPERABLE. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2014 - IMPERIAL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME INOPERABLE. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/25/2014 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
MY 2 BOYS AND A FRIEND WERE IN THE CAR AND HAD RAN INTO THE BACK OF A TRUCK HARD ENOUGH TO MOVE THE MOTOR BACK, THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF, MY CHILDREN COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED. THANK GOD THEY HAD THEIR SEAT BELTS ON. WHY DO I PAY MONEY FOR SAFETY FEATURES IF THEY ARE NOT GOING TO WORK? I AM REALLY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED AND WILL MAKE SURE ALL OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY KNOW THAT OUR CAR WAS DEFECTIVE. I WILL LOOK INTO AN ATTORNEY TO MAKE SURE YOU FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CURB, A TREE, AND THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED MAJOR INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V468000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 10/8/14 UPDATED 3/25/2015

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CURB, A TREE, AND THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED MAJOR INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V468000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 10/8/14 UPDATED 3/25/2015

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/23/2013 - GILBERTSVILLE, PA
I WAS FILLING MY GAS TANK UP AND NOTICED FUEL LEAKING ON THE GROUND.DROPED CAR OFF FOR REPAIR. GARAGE DID SMOKE TEST OF FUEL TANK AND IDENTIFIED THAT THE PLASTIC RING ON FUEL PUMP WAS CRACKED, THE GARAGE HAD TO REMOVE THE FUEL TANK AND REPLACE THE PLASTIC RING AND SEAL. MY WARRANTY DID NOT COVER THIS REPAIR AND IT COST ME OUT OF POCKET $399.96 MY REQUEST IS THIS COVERED UNDER ANY REGULATIONS OR RECALLS ON THIS MAKE AND MODEL OF VEHICLE?

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2013 - WELCOME, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED TO OPERATE NORMALLY AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 114,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds