Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/1/2011 - ROSWELL, GA
2004 MAZDA 3. PURCHASED CAR USED IN MARCH 2007. PER OWNER SERVICE RECORDS, MOTOR MOUNT #3 FAILED AND IN 11/2006, PER SERVICE BULLETIN, AND WARRANTY, LOCAL DEALER PERFORMED PARTIAL ENGINE REPLACEMENT, INCLUDING RUBBER ON MOUNT #3. NO PROBLEMS WITH CAR LEADING UP TO INCIDENT, REGULAR MAINTENANCE PERFORMED DURING OWNERSHIP 2007 - CURRENT. CAR USED PRIMARILY TO AND FROM WORK, APPROX. 12K PER YEAR DRIVEN. ON 8/29, CAR JUST STOPPED, MOTOR AND TRANSMISSION FELL OUT OF CASING, CAR CRASHED ON HWY 9. TOWED TO MAZDA DEALERSHIP. INITIAL ESTIMATE OF REPAIR $990 APPROX. ESTIMATE REVISED TO $3500 APPROX. TRANSMISSION BRACKET SHEARED/BROKEN AT METAL. MOTOR MOUNT #4 & TRANSMISSION MOUNT SCREW COMPLETELY DISLODGED. RECOMMENDED REPAIR INCLUDES COMPLETELY NEW TRANSMISSION CASE AND MOUNTS. NOT SURE IF ANY DAMAGE DONE TO TRANSMISSION ITSELF. FAILURE REPORTED TO DSM AND MAZDA CORPORATE. DUE TO CAR OUT OF WARRANTY AND MILEAGE ON CAR $100K, DENIED ANY RECOURSE FROM MAZDA FOR STRUCTURAL FAILURE.

View Details

WHEELS

8/10/2011 - MARIPOSA, CA
FRONT WHEEL BEARING FAILS PREMATURELY. MY RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BEARING FAILED AT 58K MILES AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MY LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING IS FAILING AT 68K MILES AND NEEDS REPLACING. MY MECHANIC STATED THAT THESE PARTS SHOULD LAST MUCH LONGER, AND THAT CONTINUED DRIVING WITH A BAD BEARING COULD LEAD TO WHEEL LOCKUP AND AN ACCIDENT. MANY OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING OF SIMILAR FAILURE ON INTERNET FORUMS. MAZDA WON'T REPAIR THIS FREE OF CHARGE SINCE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/10/2011 - MARIPOSA, CA
FRONT WHEEL BEARING FAILS PREMATURELY. MY RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BEARING FAILED AT 58K MILES AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MY LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING IS FAILING AT 68K MILES AND NEEDS REPLACING. MY MECHANIC STATED THAT THESE PARTS SHOULD LAST MUCH LONGER, AND THAT CONTINUED DRIVING WITH A BAD BEARING COULD LEAD TO WHEEL LOCKUP AND AN ACCIDENT. MANY OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING OF SIMILAR FAILURE ON INTERNET FORUMS. MAZDA WON'T REPAIR THIS FREE OF CHARGE SINCE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/1/2011 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THERE WAS AN OIL LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE WITH AN OIL FILTER HOUSING CRACK. THE DEALER ALSO OFFERED TO ASSIST WITH THE REPAIR EXPENSES. THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 51,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/24/2011 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
1) DRIVING AT 60 MPH ON HIGHWAY, AT 4TH GEAR. 2) TRANSMISSION FAILED TO PUT POWER INTO THE WHEELS, CAUSING THE CAR TO DECELERATE RAPIDLY EVEN THOUGH RPM RISES WHEN THROTTLE IS PRESSED. ONLY 1ST AND 2ND GEARS ARE ABLE TO TRANSFER POWER FROM ENGINE TO WHEELS. 3) DEALER REFUSE TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION, EVEN THOUGH MALFUNCTIONING OF THIS PARTICULAR PART ARE APPARENT TO MANY OF THE OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/17/2011 - MARYSVILLE, OH
I BOUGHT A CAR RECENTLY, AND IT HAD SOME RUST ON BOTH REAR WHEEL WELLS IN THE SAME EXACT SPOTS. I HAVE A 2004 MAZDA 3I AND I TOOK IT TO ABOUT 4 BODY SHOPS TO HAVE IT WORKED ON. I GOT PRICES RANGING FROM 1000.00 DOLLARS TO 2500.00 DOLLARS TO FIX THE RUST. ALL OF THESE BODY SHOPS SAID THEY HAVE HAD AT LEAST ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME CAR AND THE SAME COMPLAINT AS I DID. MAZDA NEEDS TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO PAY 1000 DOLLARS TO GET MY CAR FIXED. MAZDA NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND FIX IT.

View Details

WHEELS

6/17/2011 - MARYSVILLE, OH
I BOUGHT A CAR RECENTLY, AND IT HAD SOME RUST ON BOTH REAR WHEEL WELLS IN THE SAME EXACT SPOTS. I HAVE A 2004 MAZDA 3I AND I TOOK IT TO ABOUT 4 BODY SHOPS TO HAVE IT WORKED ON. I GOT PRICES RANGING FROM 1000.00 DOLLARS TO 2500.00 DOLLARS TO FIX THE RUST. ALL OF THESE BODY SHOPS SAID THEY HAVE HAD AT LEAST ONE OTHER PERSON WITH THE SAME CAR AND THE SAME COMPLAINT AS I DID. MAZDA NEEDS TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO PAY 1000 DOLLARS TO GET MY CAR FIXED. MAZDA NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

5/25/2011 - FLORENCE, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE POWER STEERING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE STEERING PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

4/7/2011 - BRYANTOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45-50 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT BOTH AIR BAG WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD AND THE SHIFTING CONSOLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF APPROXIMATELY $778.00. THE CONTACT REFERENCED A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V468000 (AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE) AND STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE JANUARY 7, 2007. THE DEALER REPLACED A SUPPLEMENTAL RESTRAINT SYSTEM UNIT, THE PASSENGER SEAT FRAME AND INSTALLED AN AIR BAG SENSOR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 106,850. UPDATED 05/04/11 UPDATED 2/1/12

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

3/17/2011 - ABINGTON, MA
AFTER LESS THAN 40,000 MILES THE CLUTCH IN MY 2004 MAZDA 3 FAILED COMPLETELY AND REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. THE REPAIR BILL COST ME $1,100.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds