Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/3/2011 - LIVERPOOL, NY
POWER STEERING FAILURE, ENGINE MOUNT FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/3/2011 - LIVERPOOL, NY
POWER STEERING FAILURE, ENGINE MOUNT FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/25/2011 - WOODSTOCK, GA
2004 MAZDA 3 AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILURES. 1ST OFFENSE, IT REQUIRED A PCM VALVE/SOLENOID REPLACED., 2ND OFFENSE: TRANSMISSION LOST 4TH GEAR AND WONT SHIFT INTO 4TH GEAR. CAR IS IN A SHOP FOR DIAGNOSIS. ONLY GOES UP TO 35 MPH IF SHIFT MANUALLY AND IN 3RD GEAR, OTHERWISE IT REVS, JERKS, STALLS, ETC .

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2011 - ANTELOPE, CA
I LOVE MY 04 MAZDA 3, HOWEVER IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS WHEN MAKING LEFT TURNS I LOSE THE POWER STEERING. THE WHEEL ALMOST COMPLETELY LOCKS. IN 2 INSTANCES THE GAUGES HAVE GONE UP AND DOWN. I TURN THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT SEEMS TO HELP. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW, HELP!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

11/1/2010 - SAN ANGELO, TX
I OWN A 2004 MAZDA 3 HATCHBACK THAT I PURCHASED NEW. THE CAR HAS 74,000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN MAINTAINED FAITHFULLY BY MAZDA TECHNICIANS. DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE. TO REITERATE, THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE. HAD MY WIFE NOT NOTICED, AND HAD WE PARKED THE CAR IN THE GARAGE, IT WOULD HAVE BURNED DOWN THE HOUSE WITH US IN IT. WE MANAGED TO PUT THE CAR OUT AND TOOK IT TO THE MAZDA DEALERSHIP. THE TECHNICIAN TOLD US THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR FROZE AND THE BELT CAUGHT FIRE FROM THE FRICTION; THIS THEN IGNITED PLASTIC SPLASH GUARDS UNDER THE VEHICLE. ALL TOTAL - $1500 IN DAMAGE. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE COMPRESSOR SHOULD NOT HAVE CAUSED A FIRE, AND IN FACT THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME HE HAD SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT. I CONTACTED MAZDA AND ASKED THEM TO RECOMPENSE THE DAMAGE FROM THE FAILED COMPRESSOR AND THE FIRE, AND THEY REFUSE TO ASSIST ME (OR EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE THAT ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS' SPONTANEOUS COMBUSTION IS A PROBLEM), OR COMPENSATE ME. I AM LESS CONCERNED ABOUT COMPENSATION THAN I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF THESE CARS ON THE ROADS, BEING DRIVEN BY FAMILIES, WAITING TO CATCH FIRE AND BURN. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND ADDRESSED QUICKLY BEFORE SOMEONE LOSES THEIR LIFE. THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS OR EVEN WARNINGS FROM MAZDA THAT THIS IS A POTENTIAL PROBLEM. PLEASE, I AM ASKING THAT THE NHTSA ASSIST IN DOING SOMETHING BEFORE THIS POTENTIALLY FATAL MANUFACTURER DEFECT COSTS SOMEONE THEIR LIFE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/13/2010 - TACOMA, WA
2004 MAZDA 3 WITH 2.3 LITER ENGINE AND MANUAL TRANSMISSION MAZDA HAS A POOR DESIGN ENGINE OIL FILTER HOUSING. THE END IS MADE OF PLASTIC. THESE END CAPS TEND TO FATIGUE AND CRACK WITH AGE. THIS PART IS EXPOSED TO HIGH HEAT, VIBRATIONS, AND TORQUE. WHEN IT CRACKS AND LEAKS IT LEADS TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/20/2010 - ST. CATHARINES, NY
WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE TRANSMISSION OF MY 2004 MAZDA 3 WITH ONLY 84,000KM DIED AS IT LOST THE ABILITY TO REACH 3RD AND 4TH GEAR. THIS INCIDENT NEARLY COST ME MY LIFE YET MAZDA CANADA WOULD DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. WHAT KIND OF COMPANY CAN NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT AFTER SUCH A NEAR-FATAL INCIDENT. SUFFICE TO SAY THAT MAZDA WILL NEVER GET MY BUSINESS AGAIN. $3,200 LATER, I'M STILL ALIVE NO THANKS TO MAZDA.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2010 - DAVIE, FL
2004 MAZDA 3 HATCHBACK POWER STEERING LOCKUP, HARD TO STEER WHILE DRIVING. STARTED HAPPENING IN 2009.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2010 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
RANDOM POWER STEERING FAILURE. WHEN DRIVING ON HIGHWAY APPROX 65MPH, THE YELLOW DASH INDICATOR WARNING LIGHT FOR THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM ILLUMINATED AND POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING. I EXITED THE HIGHWAY AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND PULLED INTO A SIDE ROAD (WITH NO POWER STEERING), AND THEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN THE POWER STEERING LIGHT EXTINGUISHED AND IT WORKED FINE AGAIN. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT HAVE MORE THAN AVERAGE STRENGTH TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WITHOUT POWER STEERING!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2010 - BETHESDA, MD
LETTER FROM CONGRESSMAN VAN HOLLEN ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE SAFETY PROBLEMS (RANDOM STALLING) WITH HIS 2004 MAZDA3 THE CONSUMER WENT TO SEARS TO PURCHASE A BATTERY THINKING THAT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE RANDOM STALLING, BUT WAS TOLD THE BATTERY WAS FINE AND IT APPEARED THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS. THE CONSUMER THEN WENT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD DIFFERENT THINGS WERE WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS CAUSING IT TO STALL. THE CONSUMER PAID FOR THE REPAIRS, BUT WEEKS LATER THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE CLUTCH AND TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds