Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

7/20/2010 - BETHESDA, MD
LETTER FROM CONGRESSMAN VAN HOLLEN ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE SAFETY PROBLEMS (RANDOM STALLING) WITH HIS 2004 MAZDA3 THE CONSUMER WENT TO SEARS TO PURCHASE A BATTERY THINKING THAT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE RANDOM STALLING, BUT WAS TOLD THE BATTERY WAS FINE AND IT APPEARED THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS. THE CONSUMER THEN WENT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD DIFFERENT THINGS WERE WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS CAUSING IT TO STALL. THE CONSUMER PAID FOR THE REPAIRS, BUT WEEKS LATER THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE CLUTCH AND TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/20/2010 - BETHESDA, MD
LETTER FROM CONGRESSMAN VAN HOLLEN ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE SAFETY PROBLEMS (RANDOM STALLING) WITH HIS 2004 MAZDA3 THE CONSUMER WENT TO SEARS TO PURCHASE A BATTERY THINKING THAT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE RANDOM STALLING, BUT WAS TOLD THE BATTERY WAS FINE AND IT APPEARED THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS. THE CONSUMER THEN WENT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD DIFFERENT THINGS WERE WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS CAUSING IT TO STALL. THE CONSUMER PAID FOR THE REPAIRS, BUT WEEKS LATER THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE CLUTCH AND TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

7/7/2010 - TAMPA , FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID 04V468000, AIR BAG SENSOR, CONTROL MODULE WAS A PART OF HIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WAS NOT ALTHOUGH IT WAS EXHIBITING THE IDENTICAL FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHENEVER WAS RAINING OR WET OUTSIDE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED BUT THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. MAZDA WAS NOT CONTACTED WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 87,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/28/2010 - MODESTO, CA
I HAVE A 04 MAZDA 3 W/ AUTOMATIC TRANS / DRIVING INTO PARKING LOT HEARD A LOUD NOISE , CAR QUIT MOVING , DRIVER SIDE AXLE WAS HANGING / THE ENGINE HAD ALMOST DROP TO THE FLOOR , VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SHOP , THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE BRACKET WHICH HOLDS TRANSAXLE / ENGINE , ON DRIVER SIDE HAD BROKEN !! IT IS A ALUMINUM BRACKET WITH 3 BOLTS THAT CARRY ALL THE WEIGHT OF ENGINE / TRANSAXLE IT DAMAGED BOTH AXLE SHAFTS , CAUSED ABOUT $ 950.00 ON REPAIRS MY CONCERN IS THAT IT A VERY BAD / POOR / WEAK / DESIGN / THE GOOD THING IT HAPPENED AT LOW SPEED , IF IT WOULD HAVE BROKEN AT FREEWAY SPEED IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR DAMAGE / ACCIDENT !!

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/28/2010 - MODESTO, CA
I HAVE A 04 MAZDA 3 W/ AUTOMATIC TRANS / DRIVING INTO PARKING LOT HEARD A LOUD NOISE , CAR QUIT MOVING , DRIVER SIDE AXLE WAS HANGING / THE ENGINE HAD ALMOST DROP TO THE FLOOR , VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SHOP , THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE BRACKET WHICH HOLDS TRANSAXLE / ENGINE , ON DRIVER SIDE HAD BROKEN !! IT IS A ALUMINUM BRACKET WITH 3 BOLTS THAT CARRY ALL THE WEIGHT OF ENGINE / TRANSAXLE IT DAMAGED BOTH AXLE SHAFTS , CAUSED ABOUT $ 950.00 ON REPAIRS MY CONCERN IS THAT IT A VERY BAD / POOR / WEAK / DESIGN / THE GOOD THING IT HAPPENED AT LOW SPEED , IF IT WOULD HAVE BROKEN AT FREEWAY SPEED IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR DAMAGE / ACCIDENT !!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/15/2010 - FALLBROOK, CA
I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THE CAR THAT I HAVE HAD SINCE 2004 MAZDA 3. ON SUNDAY, I WAS HIT BY A CAR AT ABOUT A 20 TO 30 DEGREE ANGLE AND THE IMPACT HIT MY PASSENGER DOOR. NEITHER ONE OF US WAS GOING AT A SPEED THAT SHOULD HAVE HAD A RESULT IN THE DAMAGE THAT OCCURRED. WHEN HE HIT US AND THE CAR CAME TO REST, THE POLICE AND TOWING PEOPLE DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE HAD SNAPPED OFF ITS+ MOUNTING. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY EITHER. HE TOLD ME THAT BOTH HE AND THE TOWING AGENT HAD EVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE TO A CAR WITH AS LITTLE DAMAGE TO IT. I WENT TO THE TOW PLACE WHERE THEY WERE HOLDING MY CAR TO TAKE PICTURES AND LOOK AT THE CAR, AND BOTH OF THE PEOPLE (DIFFERENT PEOPLE THAN THE ORIGINAL TOW DRIVER) SAID THEY HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THAT. THE ONE GUY SAID ONLY TWICE HAS HE SEEN THAT HAPPEN AND BOTH HAD MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE CAR AND THAT THEY WERE DEMOLISHED UP TO HALF OF THE CAR. HE ALSO SAID THE MOUNTING PIECE OF HARDWARE LOOKED LIKE IT WAS MADE OF DIECAST NOT METAL OR ALUMINUM, WHEN WE INSPECTED IT WE NOTICED THE PART THAT WAS SNAPPED AND I MUST ADMIT IT LOOKED LIKE PLASTIC. I HAD TO HAVE THE STRUTS REPLACED IN 2008, BUT YET I HAD NEVER HIT THE TIRES HARD ON ANYTHING. MY QUESTION IS THIS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND COULD IT BE DANGEROUS TO OTHER DRIVERS OF THIS YEAR. I KNOW THAT THEY HAVE MADE ENGINES THAT ARE DESIGNED TO DROP IN ACCIDENT RECENTLY, BUT NOT FOR THIS YEAR AND NOT FOR THAT TYPE OF ACCIDENT. I HAVE WRITTEN TO MAZDA REQUESTING AN INVESTIGATION AND I AWAIT THEIR RESPONSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

3/15/2010 - FALLBROOK, CA
I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THE CAR THAT I HAVE HAD SINCE 2004 MAZDA 3. ON SUNDAY, I WAS HIT BY A CAR AT ABOUT A 20 TO 30 DEGREE ANGLE AND THE IMPACT HIT MY PASSENGER DOOR. NEITHER ONE OF US WAS GOING AT A SPEED THAT SHOULD HAVE HAD A RESULT IN THE DAMAGE THAT OCCURRED. WHEN HE HIT US AND THE CAR CAME TO REST, THE POLICE AND TOWING PEOPLE DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE HAD SNAPPED OFF ITS+ MOUNTING. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY EITHER. HE TOLD ME THAT BOTH HE AND THE TOWING AGENT HAD EVER SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE TO A CAR WITH AS LITTLE DAMAGE TO IT. I WENT TO THE TOW PLACE WHERE THEY WERE HOLDING MY CAR TO TAKE PICTURES AND LOOK AT THE CAR, AND BOTH OF THE PEOPLE (DIFFERENT PEOPLE THAN THE ORIGINAL TOW DRIVER) SAID THEY HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THAT. THE ONE GUY SAID ONLY TWICE HAS HE SEEN THAT HAPPEN AND BOTH HAD MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE CAR AND THAT THEY WERE DEMOLISHED UP TO HALF OF THE CAR. HE ALSO SAID THE MOUNTING PIECE OF HARDWARE LOOKED LIKE IT WAS MADE OF DIECAST NOT METAL OR ALUMINUM, WHEN WE INSPECTED IT WE NOTICED THE PART THAT WAS SNAPPED AND I MUST ADMIT IT LOOKED LIKE PLASTIC. I HAD TO HAVE THE STRUTS REPLACED IN 2008, BUT YET I HAD NEVER HIT THE TIRES HARD ON ANYTHING. MY QUESTION IS THIS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND COULD IT BE DANGEROUS TO OTHER DRIVERS OF THIS YEAR. I KNOW THAT THEY HAVE MADE ENGINES THAT ARE DESIGNED TO DROP IN ACCIDENT RECENTLY, BUT NOT FOR THIS YEAR AND NOT FOR THAT TYPE OF ACCIDENT. I HAVE WRITTEN TO MAZDA REQUESTING AN INVESTIGATION AND I AWAIT THEIR RESPONSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/3/2010 - LAKEFOREST, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. SHE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD BE DRIVEN AS AN AUTOMATIC OR A MANUAL. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH IN MANUAL MODE SHE ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT GEARS, TO NO AVAIL. SHE HAD TO TAKE HER FOOT OFF OF THE GAS PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE GEARS TO RELEASE AND AFTERWARDS THE GEARS STARTED TO SHIFT ON THEIR OWN. SHE WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE FREEWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER, BUT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. SHE WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE OR MAKE A TURN. THE VEHICLE BEGAN MOVING FROM ONE LANE TO ANOTHER AND ACCELERATED THROUGH A RED LIGHT TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE VEHICLE STOPPED ACCELERATING WITHIN IN A FEW MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THE INTAKE MANIFOLD MELTED, DAMAGED THE SENSOR AND THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, SENSORS, AND THE GASKETS; HOWEVER, SHE HAD TO ADD OIL TO THE ENGINE BECAUSE THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONSTANTLY. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ENGINE ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. SHE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND FILED A REPORT; HOWEVER , THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH THE REPAIRS. THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

3/3/2010 - LAKEFOREST, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. SHE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD BE DRIVEN AS AN AUTOMATIC OR A MANUAL. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH IN MANUAL MODE SHE ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT GEARS, TO NO AVAIL. SHE HAD TO TAKE HER FOOT OFF OF THE GAS PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE GEARS TO RELEASE AND AFTERWARDS THE GEARS STARTED TO SHIFT ON THEIR OWN. SHE WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE FREEWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER, BUT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. SHE WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE OR MAKE A TURN. THE VEHICLE BEGAN MOVING FROM ONE LANE TO ANOTHER AND ACCELERATED THROUGH A RED LIGHT TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE VEHICLE STOPPED ACCELERATING WITHIN IN A FEW MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THE INTAKE MANIFOLD MELTED, DAMAGED THE SENSOR AND THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, SENSORS, AND THE GASKETS; HOWEVER, SHE HAD TO ADD OIL TO THE ENGINE BECAUSE THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONSTANTLY. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ENGINE ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. SHE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND FILED A REPORT; HOWEVER , THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH THE REPAIRS. THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/2/2010 - WEYMOUTH, MA
TOTAL BRAKE FAILURE , TOWED TO DEALER TO FIND OUT WHY BRAKES FAILED, IT WAS FOUND TO BE A LOSS OF BRAKE FLUID DUE TO A RUBBING OF THE BRAKE LINE ON ANOTHER PART OF THE CAR, IT WAS REPAIRED AND AT THE SAME TIME THE OTHER SIDE WAS INSPECTED AND FOUND TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM, THE TECHNICIAN, SAID IT WAS A FACTORY DEFECT AND TOOK A PHOTO FOR US, AND WE CONTACTED MAZDA ABOUT THE PROBLEM WE HAVE HEARD BACK FROM THEM AS OF TODAY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds