Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/12/2010 - WENATCHEE, WA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH THE VEHICLE SLID ON BLACK ICE AND HIT THE GUARD RAIL. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL AND SUSTAINED INJURIES TO HER BACK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENCE. THE FRONT AND REAR FENDER WERE DAMAGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. A POLICE REPORT IS AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 02/18/10

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/14/2009 - PHOENIX, AZ
MAZDA 3 ENGINE MOUNTS CONTINUE TO FAIL, AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED TWICE IN 4 YEARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/14/2009 - RIVERSIDE, IL
I HAVE A 2004 MADZA3 WITH 73,560 MILES ON IT. THE A/T LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I STARTED THE CAR. SO I TURN OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED. THE A/T LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE TECH FOUND INTERNAL FAILURE DUE TO PRESSURE CONTROL SOLENOID AND NEEDS REBUILT TRANSMISSION. ( $3,700 DOLLARS !) THE TECH TOLD ME THAT 2003-2004 HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION. HE ALSO SAID, THAT HE HAD 3 TO 4 PER WEEK, WITH CUSTOMERS COMING IN FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. SO MY WARRANTY RAN OUT. BUT THAT'S NOT THE PROBLEM! THE MANUFACTURER KNEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM, (BACK THEN) BUT DIDN'T WANT TO HAVE A RECALL ON THE 2003 AND 2004 MADZA3 TRANSMISSION!! THEY KNEW IT WILL COST THEM ALOT MONEY!! THE MANUFACTURER FIGURES THAT HALF OF THE CUSTOMERS USUALLY ONLY KEEP THEIR CAR ONLY 2 TO 3 YEARS AND TRADE IT IN. THE OTHER HALF OF THE CUSTOMERS USUALLY HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY, SO THE MANUFACTURER WON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THE RECALL!! THAT'S BAD BUSINESS!! I ALSO LOOK IN THE INTERNET AND FOUND ALOT OF CUSTOMERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM!! IF THIS IS NOT THE RIGHT DEPT. THEN PLEASE FORWARD IT TO THE RIGHT DEPT. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2009 - WASHINTON DC, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA3. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE GREAT FORCE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS; THEREFORE, NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 65,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/14/2009 - SPARTANBURG, SC
THIS IS AN ON GOING PROBLEM, THE WIND SHIELD WHEN DRIVING INTO THE SUN HAS A GLITTERING EFFECT. NO MATTER HOW CLEAN IT ID. AS OF NOW WE HAVEN'T REPLACED IT. PLEASE CHECK INTO THIS AS IT'S HARD TO SEE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/29/2008 - SANTA ROSA, CA
THERE WERE NO MAJOR EVENTS THAT LEAD UP TO THE FAILURE, JUST NORMAL COMMUTING BACK AND FORTH TO WORK. THE FAILURE WAS MY PASSENGER SIDE ENGINE MOUNT, WHICH FAILED COMPLETELY, 1 OCCURRENCE WHICH HAPPENED JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY WINDOW. NO IMMEDIATE SIDE EFFECT BUT LONG TERM RAMIFICATIONS DUE TO STRESSES PLACED ON OTHER MOTOR/TRANSMISSION COMPONENTS STILL UNKNOWN. MOTOR MOUNT PURCHASED AND REPLACED BY MYSELF. OLD PART NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/23/2008 - HARVEST, AL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. SINCE 2007, THE CONTACT HEARD A TICKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE. THE NOISE INTENSIFIED AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE REPAIR WOULD COST $1,036. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER AS WELL. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,200.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/6/2008 - SAN FRANSICO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ONTO THE HIGHWAY AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE BEGAN VIBRATING AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FLASHED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. THE FAILURE HAS OCCURRED MORE THAN THREE TIMES. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 36,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

8/1/2008 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT HOLD, CAUSED DAMAGE TO CAR AND PRIVATE PROPERTY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/28/2008 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
I OWN A 2004 MAZDA 3-MANUAL (5 SPEED). IT ONLY HAS 40,000 MILES ON IT AND EACH YEAR I GET IT INSPECTED. EVERY YEAR LARGE AMOUNTS OF BRAKE DUST ACCUMULATES ON THE REAR WHEELS FROM THE REAR BRAKES. AS A RESULT THE BRAKE PADS ON THE REAR ARE COMPLETELY WORN WHILE THE FRONT BRAKES SEEM TO BE UNTOUCHED. THIS, ACCORDING TO MY SERVICE PROFESSIONAL IS AN INDICATION OF A FAULTY BRAKING SYSTEM. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL CARS IN THE PAST AND HAVE ONLY REPLACED THE REAR BRAKES A FEW TIMES WHILE I HAVE REPLACED THE FRONT SEVERAL TIMES. WHEN CONTACTING 3 DIFFERENT MAZDA DEALERSHIPS I WAS TOLD IT IS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR AND I WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPLACING THE BACK BREAKS AND THEY WILL DO NOTHING FOR THE FRONT SINCE THEY DO NOT SEE A PROBLEM. THIS CAR HAS FAILED TO ENGAGE THE ABS 2 TIMES, LUCKILY THE OTHER DRIVER WAS ABLE TO DRIVE AROUND ME AND MISS ME. IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE I WILL HAVE AN ACCIDENT DUE TO MY BRAKES FAILING TO ENGAGE ON THE FRONT! THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY MAZDA IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds