Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/23/2008 - CAPREOL, 00
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2004 MAZDA3 SPORT GT WHICH I PURCHASED BRAND NEW IN 2004. THE CAR HAS BEEN RUSTPROOFED BY KROWN SINCE IT'S FIRST YEAR, IS WASHED AT LEAST ONCE PER WEEK (MORE OFTEN IN WINTER MONTHS), AND IS OTHERWISE VERY WELL MAINTAINED. CURRENTLY I AM HAVING TO DEAL WITH A MAJOR RUST ISSUE WHICH, FROM READING MAZDA FORUM ENTRIES, IS PROVING TO BE EXTREMELY COMMON IN MY YEAR AND MAKE OF CAR. FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS THERE HAS BEEN COMPLETE RUSTING ON THE INSIDE OF THE REAR WHEEL WELLS WHICH HAS BEEN MENTIONED TO MY DEALERSHIP, TO NO AVAIL. NOW I ALSO HAVE RUSTING AT THE BOTTOM OF BOTH REAR PASSENGER DOORS, AND AT THE SEAMS BY THE BUMPER. ASIDE FROM THAT ISSUE, THE PAINT ON ALL 4 DOORS AND ON THE LIFTGATE (IT IS A HATCHBACK) IS BLISTERING! I DID BRING MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT WAS FLATLY TOLD THAT THERE IS ONLY A "PERFORATION" WARRANTY WHICH ONLY PERTAINS TO ACTUAL HOLES. MAZDA CANADA IS THEREFORE UNWILLING TO HELP DEFRAY ANY PART OF THE CONSIDERABLE REPAIR BILL. I BROUGHT MY CAR IN TO 3 SHOPS TO GET REPAIR ESTIMATES WHICH RANGE IN COST FROM $1000 TO FIX JUST THE OBVIOUS RUST SPOTS TO $1800 TO ALSO ADDRESS ALL THE BLISTERING. BASICALLY MOST OF THE CAR, WITH THE EXCEPTIONS OF THE FRONT HOOD (WHICH I HAD COVERED IN CLEAR COATING WHEN I GOT IT) AND THE ROOF, NEEDS TO BE SANDBLASTED AND COMPLETELY REFINISHED TO PROPERLY ADDRESS THE ISSUE. ALL SHOPS I'VE SPOKEN TO FIND THIS RUSTING/BLISTERING ISSUE ON A 2004 WELL-MAINTAINED CAR TO BE VERY UNUSUAL AND ATTRIBUTE IT TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. ONE PLACE EVEN MENTIONED THAT HE RECENTLY REFINISHED TWO OTHER MAZDA 3S IN THE SAME COLOR AS MINE (WINNING BLUE). SINCE THIS IS CLEARLY AN ISSUE WITH THE ORIGINAL PAINTING OF THE CARS, MAZDA CANADA SHOULD RECOGNIZE THIS AND OFFER ITS CUSTOMERS SOME LEVEL OF ASSISTANCE. ESPECIALLY SINCE THE PAINT REPAIRS ARE QUITE COSTLY, THE COMPANY SHOULD TAKE THIS MATTER SERIOUSLY. AS IS, MY COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN BRUSHED OFF AND IGNORED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

5/12/2008 - NEW YORK, NY
I AM GETTING 13MPG ON A MAZDA3. COMPANY IS UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO REPAIR. BRAKES NEEDED SERVICE AT 12 AND 20,000 MILES. ONLY 20,000 MILES IN 4 YEARS. ALWAYS FEELING OF DRAGGING AND THEY CLAIM NO BRAKE OR OTHER PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/1/2008 - ARNOLD, MO
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION/MANUAL JERKS WHEN GOING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR AND AFTER A PERIOD OF HARD DRIVING THE JERKING STOPS. THIS SHOULD NOT OCCUR IN A QUALITY VEHICLE LIKE THIS ONE, HOWEVER IT SHOULDN'T OCCUR AT ALL. PLEASE PROVIDE ME A SOLUTION TO THIS ANNOYING PROBLEM. FYI: I HAVE HAD THE TRANSMISSION FLUSHED AND NEW FLUID ADDED HOWEVER THE PROBLEM STILL REMAINS..HELP!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

4/23/2008 - ALHAMBRA, CA
MY 2004 MAZDA 3 OFTEN STALLS WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, I TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO RE-CREATE THE PROBLEM AND THEY WON'T FIX IT. I THINK MAZDA CORPORATION HAS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT CAUSE IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE TO MANY MAZDA 3 OUT THERE AND IT ALWAYS SCARE ME WHENEVER MY CAR STALLS ON THE FREEWAY AS IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

4/18/2008 - VALPARAISO, IN
ON 4/17/08 MY WIFE HAPPENED TO BE FOLLOWING ME AND SHE CALLED ME ON MY CELL PHONE AND SAID IT APPEARS YOU HAVE SOMETHING HANGING UNDER YOUR CAR. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER AND IT WAS THE SPLASH SHIELD AGAIN. THREE OF THE FRONT BOLTS WERE MISSING BUT FOUR OTHER BOLTS, TWO ON EACH SIDE,WERE STILL ATTACHED, SO IT WAS JUST THE CENTER THAT WAS BOWING DOWNWARD. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT IMMEDIATELY AND THE CAR WAS SERVICED ON 4/18/08. ORIGINALLY THE DEALER WAS GOING TO CHARGE ME FOR THE SPLASH SHIELD. HE SAID IT APPEARS SOMETHING STRUCK THE PART. SO, AFTER MUCH DISCUSSION AND AFTER I RETRIEVED THE PART FROM THE MECHANICS WORK BENCH I WAS ABLE TO PROVE THE PART WAS DRAGGING WHICH CAUSED THE SPLASH SHIELD TO BREAK APART. THERE WERE ROAD ABRASION MARKS ON THE SPLASH SHIELD. THIS IS THE SECOND SHIELD TO BE REPLACED ON MY CAR. IS MAZDA HAVING ISSUES WITH THESE SHIELDS. THE DEALER KEEPS A SUPPLY OF THEM IN STOCK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

3/18/2008 - FORT WAYNE, IN
2004 MAZDA 3, BROUGHT BRAND NEW FROM DEALER. HAD REAR BRAKE PROBLEMS, WAS FIXED DUE TO BAD EQUIPMENT/METAL USED FOR ROTORS OR THAT WAS WHAT I WAS TOLD. WARRANTY COVERED. NOW I AM AT JUST UNDER 50,000 MILES AND MY CLUTCH NEEDS REPLACED, CAUSE THEY SAID I BURNED IT UP. NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. I TOLD THEM OVER A YEAR AGO, THAT IT WHINED/SCREECHED WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, BUT ONLY WHEN IT WAS COLD. TOLD THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG, JUST WARM THE VEHICLE UP FIRST. NOW A SMELL SOMETHING BURNING AND THEY KEEP SAYING IT WAS MY FAULT. I'M THE ONLY ONE THAT DRIVES IT, GOING BACK AND FORTH TO WORK AND DROPPING MY KIDS OFF AT SCHOOL. VERY FRUSTRATED, BECAUSE I WAS TOLD ITS GOING TO COST OVER $1,000 TO FIX......

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/18/2008 - FORT WAYNE, IN
2004 MAZDA 3, BROUGHT BRAND NEW FROM DEALER. HAD REAR BRAKE PROBLEMS, WAS FIXED DUE TO BAD EQUIPMENT/METAL USED FOR ROTORS OR THAT WAS WHAT I WAS TOLD. WARRANTY COVERED. NOW I AM AT JUST UNDER 50,000 MILES AND MY CLUTCH NEEDS REPLACED, CAUSE THEY SAID I BURNED IT UP. NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. I TOLD THEM OVER A YEAR AGO, THAT IT WHINED/SCREECHED WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, BUT ONLY WHEN IT WAS COLD. TOLD THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG, JUST WARM THE VEHICLE UP FIRST. NOW A SMELL SOMETHING BURNING AND THEY KEEP SAYING IT WAS MY FAULT. I'M THE ONLY ONE THAT DRIVES IT, GOING BACK AND FORTH TO WORK AND DROPPING MY KIDS OFF AT SCHOOL. VERY FRUSTRATED, BECAUSE I WAS TOLD ITS GOING TO COST OVER $1,000 TO FIX......

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: LINKAGES

3/5/2008 - ELYRIA, OH
REPEATED FAILURES OF WINDSHIELD WIPER ARM DURING USE RESULTING IN TOTAL LOSS OF WIPER FUNCTION WHILE DRIVING, NEAR-INCIDENTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/28/2007 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
THE REAR BRAKES ON OUR 2004 MAZDA3 ARE WORN TO THE ROTORS FOR THE THIRD TIME IN 77,000 MILES. WHEN WE FIRST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE THE REAR BRAKES WERE SQUEAKING, SO WE INFORMED THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. WE ASSURED THAT THIS IS NORMAL, IT SHOULD GO AWAY IN A FEW THOUSAND MILES. IT NEVER WENT AWAY. I NOW NEED A THIRD SET OF REAR BRAKES, AND THE FRONTS ARE STILL IN GOOD SHAPE. IN ALL MY YEARS OF WORKING AROUND VEHICLES, I'VE NEVER SEEN A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE PASSENGER CAR THAT THE REAR BRAKES WORE FASTER THAN THE FRONT. IT'S NOW OBVIOUS TO ME AFTER DOING IN DEPTH INTERNET RESEARCH THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH BOTH THE MAZDA3 AND MAZDA6. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL YET? IS IT GOING TO TAKE SOME GETTING INJURED OR EVEN KILLED DUE TO BRAKE MALFUNCTION BEFORE THIS IS ADDRESSED? IF ONE REAR BRAKE WEARS FASTER THAN THE OTHER, AND A DRIVER HAS TO MAKE A PANIC STOP AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ONE BRAKE IS APPLIED AND THE OTHER......YOU GET THE POINT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

12/13/2007 - COLLEGE POINT, NY
I HAVE NOTIFY BY THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THE REAR BRAKE PAD IS NOT GOOD FIT WITH THE BRAKE SOCKET, IT HAVE A LOOSE SPACE, AND IT CREATED SOME NOISE I CAN'T CONCENTRATE ON DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds