Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT

10/18/2007 - ERDA, UT
CAR VIBRATES IN THE FRONT AT ALL SPEEDS. HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP (D DAHLE MAZDA OF SALT LAKE CITY) THREE TIMES AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. FIRST THE AIR COMPRESSOR WAS REPLACED AND THEN THE ENGINE MOUNTS. THE DEALERSHIP EXPLAINED ON MY LAST VISIT THAT THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS BENT. HOWEVER, WHEN I HAD THE WHEELS EXAMINED BY AN ALTERNATIVE AUTOMOTIVE SHOP, NO PROBLEM WITH THE WHEEL WAS NOTED. I ALSO ROTATED THE WHEEL IN QUESTION TO THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE AND THE VIBRATION OCCURRED IN THE SAME SPOT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/14/2007 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD, AT A LOW SPEED, CHANGING GEARS FROM 2ND TO 3RD, THE CAR STALLED. UPON TRYING TO RESTART THE CAR, IT WOULDN'T TURN OVER. AFTER THE CAR WAS PUSHED OFF OF THE ROAD, THERE WAS A PUDDLE OF OIL LEFT BEHIND. REALIZING THAT THE CAR WASN'T GOING TO RESTART, IT WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. AFTER BEING PUT UP ON THE LIFT, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE ROD SLAMMED INTO THE ENGINE BLOCKING, SEIZING THE ENGINE. THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN NO REASON FOR THE ROD TO CRACK ON A WELL MAINTAINED ENGINE, ON A 2004 VEHICLE. IN ORDER TO GET THIS CAR BACK ON THE ROAD, THE ENGINE WILL NEED TO BE COMPLETELY REPLACED. I DON'T SEE ANY RECALLS ON THIS MAKE AND MODEL, AND I TRULY FEEL THAT THERE WAS SOMETHING COMPROMISED WITH THE VEHICLE, IN ORDER FOR THIS TO HAPPEN. THE OIL WAS CHANGED JUST 5K MILES BEFORE. THERE WERE NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON... WE ARE VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS NEWS AND ARE HOPING MAZDA HAS EXPERIENCED OTHER PROBLEMS SUCH AS THIS ONE.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

9/13/2007 - WESTMONT, NJ
ALL 4 EAGLE RS A P205 GOODYEAR TIRES ON MY 2004 MAZDA 3 4 DOOR SEDAN ARE DEFECTIVE. ONE TIRE THE SIDEWALL TOTALLY CRACKED AND SEPARTED AND THE OTHER 3 TIRES ARE BEGINNING TO CRACK AND SEPARTE. I BELIEVE THESE TIRES ARE DEFECTIVE AND ARE A SAFETY HAZZARD. THE GOODYEAR DEALER HAS REFUSED TO RECTIFY THIS SITUATION. I KNOW THE TIRES ON THE NISSAN CARS ARE BEING REPLACED FOR THE SAME DEFECT. HOWEVER, I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT I WOULD NEED TO REPLACE ONE TIRE AND THE DEALER DID NOT CHECK THE OTHER 3 TIRES WHICH WHEN I TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER DEALER WHO SHOWED ME THE SEPARATING SIDEWALLS AND TOLD ME THAT THEY NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRE LISTED AS THE ONLY OPTION FOR EAGLE RSA ON YOUR FORM IS P245. THESE TIRES IN QUESTION ARE P205 SO I AM NOT SURE HOW TO REPORT THIS DEFECT.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

9/13/2007 - WESTMONT, NJ
SIDEWALL SEPARATION GOODYEAR EAGLE RSA TIRE ORIGINAL TIRE ON 2004 MAZDA 3 DRIVEN 21,400 MILES. PREVIOUSLY 2 UNEXPLAINED FLAT TIRES. TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO CHECK TIRES. NO CAUSE FOUND. FOR THE THIRD TIME, AIR WAS LEAKING FROM THE TIRE AND THE SIDEWALL SEPARATION WITH A LARGE DEEP CRACK WAS 3/4 AROUND THE TIRE. WHEN I TOOK IT TO A GOODYEAR DEALER I WAS TOLD THAT ONLY THE EAGLE RSA WERE BEING REPLACED ON THE NISSAN'S AND NOT THE MAZDA 3. NO FURTHER EXPLANATION WAS AVAILABLE. I NOW HAVE TO REPLACE AT LEAST ONE TIRE AND PERHAPS ALL FOUR BECAUSE OF THIS SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/7/2007 - TAMPA, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA MAZDA 3. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A THUMPING NOISE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BELT ON THE PULLEY FOR THE POWER HAD FAILED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PULLEY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 56,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

10/1/2006 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
12,000 MILES REAR BRAKES COMPLETELY WORN. PASSENGER SIDE ROTOR DEEPLY GROOVED. HAVE MORE THAN 3/4 PAD LEFT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

10/1/2006 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
12,000 MILES REAR BRAKES COMPLETELY WORN. PASSENGER SIDE ROTOR DEEPLY GROOVED. HAVE MORE THAN 3/4 PAD LEFT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/23/2006 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
REAR BRAKE ROTOR AND PADS EXPERIENCING EXCESSIVE WEAR. ABS SYSTEM SEEMS TO ACTIVATE PREMATURELY AT THE REAR WHEELS UNDER HEAVY BRAKING IN DRY CONDITIONS. REAR BRAKES WILL NEED COMPLETE REPLACEMENT AT 32K MILES WHILE THE FRONTS LOOK TO LAST 100K. DEALER SAYS WEAR IS NORMAL, INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOPS SAY NOT. THIS MAY BE EVIDENCE OF IMPROPER BRAKE BALANCE BETWEEN FRONT AND REAR WHICH COULD CAUSE SAFETY ISSUES EITHER DUE TO PREMATURE WEAR AND PARTS FAILURE OR UNDER CERTAIN BRAKING CONDITIONS. APPARENT PEMATURE ACTIVATION OF ABS SYSTEM DURING SUDDEN BRAKING STARTLED A YOUNG DRIVER OF THIS CAR WHO RELEASED PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE MISTAKING ABS PULSATION FOR A BRAKE FAILURE AND STRUCK ANOTHER CAR AS A RESULT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

9/20/2006 - CORONA, CA
REAR BRAKE ROTORS WARPED, GROOVED AND WORN BEYOND REPAIR AT 49,000 MILES. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS MY DRIVING "STYLE" BY THE MAZDA DEALERSHIP THAT PROBABLY CAUSED THE EXCESSIVE WEAR. HOWEVER, THE FRONT BRAKE PADS HAVE PLENTY OF LIFE LEFT IN THEM AND THE ROTORS ARE SMOOTH AS CAN BE (I EVEN CHECKED THE INSIDE). MY CAR HAS A MANUAL TRANSMISSION AND MY WIFE AND I COMMONLY "DOWNSHIFT" TO CONTROL ENGINE SPEED. MY DRIVING STYLE HAS GIVEN ME LONGER BRAKING SYSTEM LIFE ON CARS I DRIVE AND HAVE DRIVEN. I HAVE ALWAYS NOTICED THE EXCESSIVE BRAKE DUST ON THE REAR WHEELS OF MY CAR AND ON OTHERS ON THE ROAD SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN MARCH 2004, AND THOUGHT IT ODD SINCE MOST BRAKING IS DONE BY THE FRONT WHEELS. I HAVE SPENT MANY HOURS CLEANING THE BRAKE DUST FROM MY REAR WHEELS, SO I KNOW. UNFORTUNATELY, IT NEVER CLICKED IN MY HEAD THAT THE BRAKE ROTORS WERE BEING CARVED UP. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A WEAR ITEM AND NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY, BUT IS IT NOT COMMON IN THE INDUSTRY FOR THE PADS TO WEAR OUT MUCH BEFORE THE ROTORS? I THINK THERE IS CAUSE TO RESEARCH THIS FURTHER. I AM DISAPPOINTED IN THE TWO MAZDA DEALERSHIPS THAT HAVE DONE ALL MY OIL FILTER CHANGES AND HALF OF MY TIRE ROTATIONS, TO HAVE NEVER MENTIONED ANY BRAKE WEAR BEFORE. OTHER THAN THAT, SO FAR, THIS IS AN EXCEPTIONAL AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/9/2006 - AKRON, OH
I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP COUPLE TIMES PAST COUPLE YRS FOR EXCESSIVE BREAK DUST & SQUEAKING NOISE REAR OF THE CAR. THEY TOLD ME ITS NORMAL & THEY COULDN'T LOCATE OR HEARD ANY SQUEAKING NOISE. RECENTLY I WENT BACK TO GET AN OIL CHANGE & THEY NOTIFIED ME THAT I NEED MY BREAKS REPLACED. I DECIDED TO TAKE MY CAR TO TWO NATIONAL TIRE RETAILERS FOR PRICE QUOTES & BOTH RETAILERS TOLD ME ITS VERY RARE TO HAVE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE CAR THAT HAS LITTLE WEAR DOWN ON FRONT BREAK WHEELS BUT YET THE BACK REAR BREAKS & ROTORS NEEDED REPLACED, JUST UNDER 40K MILES. AFTER BEING NOTIFIED OF THE SERVER DEEP LIPS OF THE ROTORS I WENT BACK TO MAZDA DEALERSHIP & IT SEEMS THEY KNOW ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT THEY ARE TRYING TO COVER IT UP & SAYING ITS NORMAL WEAR & TEAR. AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL OTHER CARS EXPERTS. I BELIEVE THEIR IS FAULTY BREAKING ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds