Auto Recalls for Consumers

PORSCHE CAYENNE - 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Porsche Cars North America, Inc.

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (4) Suspension (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Structure (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/12/2012 - BETHEL PARK, PA
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, CHECK ENGINE AND ADD COOLANT LIGHTS ON. STOPPED ADDED COOLANT, DROVE HOME PARKED IN DRIVEWAY. OUT TO USE CAYENNE AGAIN, NOTICED COOLANT ON DRIVEWAY, STARTED ENGINE COOLANT LEAK ALLOVER DRIVE. CALLED PORSCHE DEALER, NOT COVERED UNDER WARRENTY, ALSO 2 WEEK BACKLOG IN GETTING REPAIR, CALL INDEPENDENT SERVICE AND HAD TOW TO INDEPENDENT GARAGE. REPLACE ALL COOLANT PIPES AND WATER PUMP. AFTER REPAIR "INTERNAL ENGINE NOISE". OK TO DRIVE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/12/2012 - BETHEL PARK, PA
REAR LIFT GATE WOULD NOT STAY OPEN. DROVE TO INDEPENDENT REPAIR SERVICE, REPLACED BOTH REAR LIFTGATE SHOCK SUPPORTS. PORSCHE WOULD NOT COVER REPAIRS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2012 - BETHEL PARK, PA
WHILE DRIVING CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND VEHICLE LACK POWER. DROVE TO INDEPENDENT REPAIR SERVICE, REPLACED 8 IGNITION COILS AND 8 SPARK PLUGS TO CORRECT PROBLEM. ALL IGNITION COILS CRACKED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/3/2010 - SHARON, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A TICKING NOISE FOLLOWED BY A LOUD, THUMPING NOISE WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE. THE LOCAL AUTHORIZED DEALER STATED THAT THE BEARING AND DRIVE TRAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 93,000. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

6/11/2008 - LAKE FOREST, CA
BEGINNING IN AUGUST 2007, MY CAR EXPERIENCED TRANSMISSION SHIFTING PROBLEMS AND EVENTUALLY HAD TO HAVE THE CONTROL UNIT REPLACED. AFTERWARDS THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED DIFFERENTLY, BUT I ASSUMED THAT WAS RELATED TO THE NEW CONTROL UNIT. IN EARLY 2008, THE TRANSMISSION SEEMED TO RUN ROUGHER DURING WARM UP AND OCCASIONALLY THE RIGHT TIRE WOULD ?SKIP? AS IF TRACTION CONTROL ENGAGED FOR A BRIEF PERIOD. I ASSUMED (INCORRECTLY) THAT THIS WAS DUE TO TIRE WEAR. FINALLY, IN MAY 2008, THE DRIVE SHAFT FAILED. THIS WAS TWO MONTHS AFTER THE WARRANTY PERIOD AND AT 52,764 MILES. I HAVE READ ONLINE THAT THIS DRIVESHAFT HAS HAD MANY FAILURES, AND THAT DEALERSHIPS KEEP SEVERAL ON HAND TO ADDRESS THE RELATED PROBLEMS. WITH THAT IN MIND, I REQUESTED THAT PORSCHE REPLACE THE DRIVESHAFT UNDER WARRANTY. THE PART COST $895.51 PLUS $69.40 IN TAX FOR A TOTAL OF $964.91. SINCE THE LABOR WAS PERFORMED AT MY LOCAL SERVICE CENTER, I AM REQUESTING ONLY REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE PART. I HAVE SAVED THE FAILED PART AND CAN ALSO SUPPLY YOU WITH THE ORIGINAL PAPERWORK. I AM ATTACHING COPIES OF THE REPAIR BILL (IMPORT SPECIALTIES) AND THE PREVIOUS WARRANTY WORK (NEWPORT AUTO CENTER). PORSCHE DENIED THE CLAIM ON JUNE 9, 2008. THE DRIVESHAFT REPRESENTS BOTH A DEFECTIVE PART AND A POTENTIAL FOR A DANGEROUS SITUATION IT THE UNIT FAILED AT A HIGH SPEED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/7/2006 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
BREACH OF WARRANTY CLAIMS, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO IGNITION FAILURE, WIRING HARNESS PROBLEMS, AIRBAG ILLUMINATION WARNINGS, LOCK FAILURE, WINDOW FAILURE, ALL WITHIN THE FIRST 10 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE DOES NOT GO MORE THAN 2 OR 3 MONTHS AND 3,000 TO 4,000 MILES WITHOUT HAVING THESE PROBLEMS COME BACK DESPITE NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR THE CAR. TWICE THE CAR WOULD NOT SHUT OFF AND A THIRD TIME THE KEY BECAME LOCKED IN THE IGNITION AND THE IGNITION WOULD NOT TURN, START, ETC. THE LOCKS ALSO FAILED AND COULD NOT PUT THE CAR IN GEAR TO TOW. BECAME STUCK ON THE ROAD. MANUFACTURER & DEALER CAN'T GUARANTEE THE RELIABILITY OF VEHICLE BUT REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING BUT CONTINUE TO TEMPORARILY REPAIR CAR. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN SERVICE OVER 30 DAYS WITHIN 10 MONTH PERIOD (AND COUNTING).

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/1/2005 - RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA
CIRCLE IMPORTS LONG BEACH, CA A PORSCHE DEALER INSTALLED A NEW STEERING WHEEL ON OUR 04 PORSCHE CAYENNE. IN ONE WEEK TIME ON OCT. 15, 2005 THE AIR BAG IN THE CENTER OF THE WHEEL STARTED COMING LOOSE AND WAS FALLING OFF THE WHEEL. THE REPAIR TO THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN JUST A FEW DAYS HOWEVER, WHEN I QUESTIONED WHY THERE WERE NO SENSORS GIVING ME A WARNING, I WAS TOLD THAT NO SENSORS EXIST. WHEN I ASKED THE DEALER TO CONTACT PORSCHE CORPORATE TO PRESENT THIS PROBLEM, I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. SHORTLY AFTER THAT I EMAILED TO PORSCHE CORPORATE HOWEVER, NO ONE BOTHER TO REPLY. DURING THAT TIME I CALLED THEIR PORSCHE SURVEY CENTER BECAUSE OF A POST CARD I RECEIVED REGARDING THE QUALITY OF SERVICE, AGAIN NO ONE REPLIED TO ME. I HAVE COLOR PHOTOS OF THE DEFECTIVE AIR BAG/STEERING WHEEL AND SERVICE PAPERS SHOWING THAT SERVICE TOOK PLACE ON DATE MENTIONED ABOVE. I WOULD BE GLAD TO SHARE THE PICTURES WITH YOU AND I HOPE SOMEONE CAN GET PORSCHE TO RETROFIT A SENSOR TO THIS PROBLEM. I AM CERTAIN THAT IF WE HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THE AIR BAG WOULD NOT HAVE WORKED PROPERLY. ONCE YOU SEE THE PICTURES I THINK YOU'LL AGREE WITH MY FINDINGS. IF NEED TO I CAN ALSO PROVIDE 2 WITNESSES THAT DAY THAT SAW FIRST HAND THE DEFECTIVE AIRBAG. BEYOND THIS THE DEALER HAD PUT ON 40 MILES TO MY CAR DURING SERVICE WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION. THIS PORTION I WILL TAKE UP WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU UNLESS THIS FALLS IN YOUR JURISDICTION AS WELL AS THE ABOVE SAFETY ISSUE? BEST REGARDS, CHUCK YANG CELL 714-928-2788.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/18/2005 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONSUMER'S 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE WAS UNCONTROLLABLE WITH THE SLIGHTEST SNOWFALL. WHEN THE CONSUMER APPROACHED AN INTERSECTION HE WAS UNABLE TO STOP AND CONSEQUENTLY HE HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TIRES. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE ABS WAS ERRATIC.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS: UNIT

4/15/2004 - PALO ALTO, CA
WATER ACCUMULATED INSIDE THE HAZARD WARNING LIGHT LENS COMPARTMENT. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds