Auto Recalls for Consumers

PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO - 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Porsche Cars North America, Inc.

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Tires (2) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

12/27/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
I HEARD SOME KNOCKING FROM THE AREA OF THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET ABOUT 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED AND INSPECTED UNDER THE CAR AND SAW NOTHING. SO I DECODED TO BRING IT TO MY SERVICE PROVIDER. I DROVE ABOUT 3 MILES AT SLOW SPEEDS TO GET TO THE SERVICE PROVIDER. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BOLTS THAT HOLDS THE KNUCKLE TO THE WHEEL HAD BACKED OUT AND WAS BANGING AROUND THE BREAK SYSTEM. THEY SAID I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

12/27/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
I HEARD SOME KNOCKING FROM THE AREA OF THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET ABOUT 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED AND INSPECTED UNDER THE CAR AND SAW NOTHING. SO I DECODED TO BRING IT TO MY SERVICE PROVIDER. I DROVE ABOUT 3 MILES AT SLOW SPEEDS TO GET TO THE SERVICE PROVIDER. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BOLTS THAT HOLDS THE KNUCKLE TO THE WHEEL HAD BACKED OUT AND WAS BANGING AROUND THE BREAK SYSTEM. THEY SAID I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
I HEARD SOME KNOCKING FROM THE AREA OF THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET ABOUT 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED AND INSPECTED UNDER THE CAR AND SAW NOTHING. SO I DECODED TO BRING IT TO MY SERVICE PROVIDER. I DROVE ABOUT 3 MILES AT SLOW SPEEDS TO GET TO THE SERVICE PROVIDER. AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BOLTS THAT HOLDS THE KNUCKLE TO THE WHEEL HAD BACKED OUT AND WAS BANGING AROUND THE BREAK SYSTEM. THEY SAID I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TAKATA AIRBAG FAILURE LIGHT IS ON!

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2018 - FT LAUDERDALE FL, FL
LEAKING PLASTIC COOLING PIPES, VEHICLE IN MOTION, CITY STREET BOCA RAYON FL

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2013 - ROCKLEDGE, FL
OWNER OPERATES A 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO, 4.5L V8 ENGINE. THIS VEHICLE, WITH JUST OVER 61,000 MILES BEGAN TO OVERHEAT FOUR DAYS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT (DETECTED BY FLUCTUATING TEMPERATURE GAUGE). THE ENGINE COOLANT WAS FOUND TO BE LOW IN THE SERVICE BOTTLE BY APPX. 2 QUARTS WHEN CHECKED AND WAS REFILLED. THE EVENING BEFORE THE INCIDENT OWNER'S SPOUSE REPORTED A LOW COOLANT ALARM MESSAGE HAD DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, COOLANT WAS ABOUT 2 QUARTS LOW IN THE SERVICE BOTTLE AND WAS REFILLED. THE NEXT DAY THE VEHICLE WAS BEING RUN AT 1500 RPM (FAST IDLE) IN A PARKED POSITION IN THE OWNER'S DRIVEWAY FOR A TEST WHEN A FLOOD OF ENGINE COOLANT WAS OBSERVED COMING FROM THE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. VEHICLE ENGINE WAS IMMEDIATELY SECURED TO AVOID DAMAGE. AT THIS POINT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED DRIVABLE AND WOULD NEED TO BE TOWED TO A SERVICE FACILITY. AN INVESTIGATIVE TEARDOWN REVEALED A RUPTURED PLASTIC COOLING PIPE INSIDE THE VALLEY OF THE ENGINE, THIS FAILURE REQUIRED REMOVAL OF THE INTAKE MANIFOLD TO DIAGNOSE AND IS NOT A ROADSIDE-REPAIRABLE EVENT. THE EVENT CAUSED LOSS OF MORE THEN 50% OF TOTAL COOLANT VOLUME AS ONLY APPX. 1 GALLON WAS RECOVERED FROM THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO TEARDOWN. A PRESCRIBED REPAIR KIT FOR THIS FAILURE (REPLACEMENT COOLING PIPES KIT) WAS OBTAINED FROM SONNEN PORSCHE, SAN FRANCISCO CA AND INSTALLED BY VEHICLE OWNER. AFTER FILLING OF COOLANT AND TEST DRIVING, NO FURTHER PROBLEM WAS NOTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

7/12/2011 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO. THE LEFT FRONT AIR SUSPENSION COLLAPSED WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH. THE AIR SUSPENSION BAG ALSO EXPLODED WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO MOVE UNCONTROLLABLY TO THE LEFT. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT IT WAS A FAULT OR DEFECTON TO THE FRONT LEFT SIDE SUSPENSION AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE SUSPENSION WAS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY AND PORSCHE HAVE NO INTEREST IN HELPING. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND WILL COST APPROX $4,000 TO REPLACE THROUGH A PORSCHE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: AIR SUSPENSION: SPRINGS/BAGS

11/17/2009 - LANGHORN, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 PORSCHE CAYENNE TURBO. THE AIR SUSPENSION COLLAPSED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH. THE AIR SUSPENSION BAG ALSO EXPLODED WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO MOVE UNCONTROLLABLY FROM THE RIGHT TO THE LEFT LANE. THE VEHICLE ALMOST ROLLED OVER DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT IT WAS A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT. THE DEALER ALSO CONFIRMED THAT THE COLLAR WHICH IS METAL SPLIT AND PUNCTURED THE SUSPENSION BAG. THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE SUSPENSION WAS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,000. UPDATED 2/17/10 UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE COLLAR ON THE AIR SUSPENSION BELLOW ON THE RIGHT FRONT HAD SHEARED AND PUNCTURED THE AIR SUSPENSION BAG THAT CAUSED THE SUSPENSION TO DROP SUDDENLY. UPDATED 02/22/10.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

11/9/2009 - LANGHORNE , PA
DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT AROUND 64 MILES PER HOUR WHEN THE ENTIRE FRONT TRANSMISSION DROPPED AND WE NEARLY ROLLED OVER ON OUR VEHICLE WITH A 4 YEAR OLD CHILD IN THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY. FORTUNATELY WE WERE IN THE LEFT LANE WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

11/13/2008 - WALTHAM, MA
HORN DOSE NOT WORK, NAVIGATION SYSTEM NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY, RADIO NO LONGER WORKS. REFERENCE CAMPAIGN ID 04V069000.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds