Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 143 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (9) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/26/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
SINCE 2009 THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL STAY ON AFTER I HAVE STARTED THE CAR. IT WILL STAY ON FOR DAYS, WHETHER IT IS HOT SUMMER TIME OR COLD WINTER DAYS. IT MAY STAY ON FOR A FEW DAYS OR FOR MONTHS. THE LAST TIME WAS FROM JULY 19, 2014 TO AUGUST 25, 2014. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT I HAVE REVIEWED THE LIST OF VEHICLE SAFETY COMPLAINTS. SEEING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINING ON ENCOURAGES ME TO SUBMIT MY HISTORY ALSO. WHEN IT HAS BEEN ON, I THINK I SHOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALER BUT THEN IT GOES OFF BEFORE I CAN TAKE THE CAR IN TO THE DEALER. SEEING ALL THE COMPLAINTS I ALSO THINK SUBARU SHOULD BE RESPONSIVE TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/26/2014 - ALEXANDER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING INTO A RESIDENTIAL THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT PASSENGERS SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 11V464000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/11/2014 - ENOLA, PA
I STARTED THE CAR, PUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND ATTEMPTED TO MOVE IT INTO GEAR. IT WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF PARK. THE RELEASE WAS BROKEN. EVENTUALLY I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET IT INTO GEAR. IT HAS BEEN TO JACK WILLIAMS TIRE IN CAMP HILL, PA 17011 3-4 TIMES SINCE THEN FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2014 - EAST WENATCHEE, WA
THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ILLUMINATED FOR WEEKS AT A TIME AND THEN WILL RANDOMLY TURN OFF. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER TWICE AND THEY COULD NOT IDENTIFY THE PROBLEM. I HAVE CONTINUOUSLY HAD THE PROBLEM OFF AND ON FOR THE PAST YEAR. I SEE SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND YEAR SUBARU, THIS SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF BY SUBARU- TS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - LEWISBURG, WV
WHILE RUNNING THE BLOWER MOTOR ON HIGH, THE CABIN BEGAN TO FILL WITH TOXIC SMOKE. THE BLOWER'S HOT WIRE CONNECTION HAD OVERHEATED, CHARRED/MELTED THE PLASTIC HOUSING AROUND THE TERMINAL, CHARRED/MELTED THE WIRE'S INSULATION AT THIS CONNECTION, AND MELTED THE COPPER UNTIL IT FELL LOOSE. THE BLOWER RESIDES EXPOSED UNDER THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. NO EASILY COMBUSTIBLE MATERIALS WERE LOCATED UNDERNEATH THE BLOWER AT THAT TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT AIR BAG LIGHT HAS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD. IT STAYS ON EVERY TIME I START THE CAR AND DRIVE IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE LOCAL SUBARU DEALER IN ROCHESTER, MN (CLEMENTS). THEY SAY IT WILL COST $3000 TO INSTALL A BRAND NEW AIR BAG SYSTEM. I DISAGREE. THIS IS AN INHERENT , SERIOUS SAFETY FLAW IN THE CAR. IN MY OPINION, SUBARU SHOULD FIX IT FREE OF CHARGE. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY SAFETY ADVISORY FROM SUBARU OF AMERICA. YOUR GUIDANCE WOULD BE APPRECIATED. SURESH KOTAGAL

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2014 - SCARSDALE, NY
2004 SUBARU FORESTER XT HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE AND TURBO FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY. IT IS CLEAR THAT MY VEHICLE SUFFERED FROM SUBARU SERVICE CENTER NEGLIGENCE AND A DESIGN FLAW OF A BANJO BOLT THAT FILTERS OIL TO THE TURBO BUT EASILY GETS CLOGGED, SHUTTING OFF OIL TO THE TURBO, CAUSING OIL DEPRIVATION TO THE TURBO, BURNING OUT THE TURBO, AND CAUSING FRAGMENTS TO GET INTO THE ENGINE, BLOWING OUT THE ENGINE AS WELL. WHILE I WAS SPARED AN ACCIDENT AND INJURY, IT WAS A CLOSE CALL AS WHILE I WAS DRIVING I SUDDENLY HAD A FAILURE TO ACCELERATE, AND VERY NEARLY WAS PLOWED IN FROM BEHIND BY A LARGE TRACTOR TRAILER TRUCK. MY CAR NOW REQUIRES A COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF ENGINE AND TURBO, COSTING IN EXCESS OF $7,000. I HAVE DECIDED TO SELL THE VEHICLE RATHER THAN BEARING THE HUGE EXPENSE REQUIRED TO REPAIR. THE ISSUE WITH THIS BANJO BOLT AND SUBARU TURBO / ENGINES OF THIS ERA ARE WELL DOCUMENTED ON THE INTERNET AUTOMOBILE FORUMS AND IN SOCIAL MEDIA. SUBARU SHOULD COMPENSATE OWNERS FOR DEVALUING THEIR CARS, AND SHOULD HAVE A RECALL BEFORE MORE DRIVERS ARE HARMED OR KILLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN CABIN. I HAVE 2 KIDS THAT I TAKE TO SCHOOL, AND IN THE MORNING I HAVE TO START MY CAR 20 MIN BEFORE WE LEAVE AND OPEN THE WINDOWS TO AIR IT OUT. THE GAS SMELL IS TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS. THIS IS THE A DESIGN FLAW THAT POSES SERIOUS RISK, AS IT IS BOTH A HEALTH AND A FIRE HAZARD. IT SEEMS JUST ABOUT EVERY FORESTER OWNER HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS AS WELL. SUBARU NEEDS TO EXPAND THE EXISTING IMPREZA / WRX RECALLS TO THE FORESTER, AS THE RELEVANT PARTS ARE THE SAME AND THE ISSUE IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL. PLEASE FIX THIS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/24/2014 - HENRICO, VA
EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN CABIN IN COLD WEATHER. I DRIVE MY SMALL DAUGHTER TO DAYCARE EVERY DAY IN THAT CAR. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS. ALSO, THE CAUSE OF THAT GAS SMELL IS THE GAS LEAKAGE FROM THE RUBBER HOSE OF THE FUEL LINE ONTO HOT COMPONENST IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT POSES SERIOUS RISK, AS IT IS BOTH A HEALTH AND A FIRE HAZARD. SUBARU NEEDS TO EXPAND THE EXISTING IMPREZA / WRX RECALLS TO FORESTER, AS THE RELEVANT PARTS ARE THE SAME AND THE ISSUE IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/19/2014 - MARYSVILLE, OH
MY CAR WAS PARKED. WHEN I GOT IN CAR AND TURNED KEY, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. CAR WAS NOT HIT OR IN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds