Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Fuel Propulsion System (38) Power Train (9) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (61) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (11) Visibility (1)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/7/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2016 - MOOREFIELD, WV
FUEL LINES SEEP FUEL ONTO THE TOP OF ENGINE BLOCK AND NEAR TURBO INLET AREA WHEN TEMPERATURES ARE BELOW ~20 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. THE SEEPAGE OCCURS AT THE CLAMPS BETWEEN THE METAL AND GAS LINES BELOW THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. THESE CLAMPS ARE NOT ACCESSIBLE WITHOUT REMOVAL OF MANY PARTS BY A PROFESSIONAL MECHANIC. GAS FUMES FILL THE CABIN WHEN THIS OCCURS AS WELL. FUMES ARE NOT BAD WHEN MOVING BUT IF STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN OR AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE THE FUMES ARE VERY STRONG. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN ISSUE WITH OTHER MODEL SUBARUS (2002 - 2003 SUBARU IMPREZA & IMPREZA WRX) THAT HAVE A VERY SIMILAR ENGINE CONFIGURATION BUT HAS NEVER BEEN ADDRESSED WITH THE SUBARU FORESTER. THE CONCERNS I HAVE ARE 1) FIRE HAZARD OF GAS POOLING ON TOP OF ENGINE BLOCK NEAR TURBO AND OTHER COMPONENTS 2) FUMES BUILDING UP IN THE PASSENGER CABIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/19/2016 - WAYNE, PA
THERE IS A STRONG GASOLINE SMELL INSIDE THE CAR WHEN THE HEAT IS ON AND THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMPERATURE IS AROUND 30F OR COLDER. THE ODOR OCCURS REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THE CAR IS MOVING OR NOT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - WALTHAM, MA
LEAKING GAS UNDER THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WHEN IT IS COLD OUT, 90K MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/5/2016 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
IN COLD WEATHER THERE IS A FUEL SMELL IN THE CABIN. I'M TOLD THIS IS A COMMON SUBARU PROBLEM THAT RESULTS FROM THE METAL FUEL LINE JOINING WITH A RUBBER/PLASTIC HOSE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE METAL AND RUBBER EXPAND/CONTRACT AT DIFFERENT RATES AS THE TEMPERATURE CHANGES RESULTING IN A FUEL LEAK. IT IS MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN STATIONARY IDLING DURING COLD WEATHER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2016 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
APPROX. 90000 MILES - STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE INSIDE PASSENGER CABIN. LEAKING SEAL AS DESCRIBED BY 1000'S OF OTHER SUBARU OWNERS. WHY NO RECALL OR ADVISORY ON WHAT OWNER'S SHOULD LOOK FOR. BETWEEN GM FIRES, ETC, NOT EXACTLY SURE WHAT YOU ALL NEED TO ISSUE RECALL ORDER/NOTIFICATIONS. SAD.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/6/2015 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
HAVING RECENTLY BOUGHT MY 2004 SUBARU FORESTER XT, IT RAN GREAT FOR THE FIRST FEW MONTHS. THEN, WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY, ALMOST LIKE AN EARTHQUAKE. HAVING TAKEN IT TO SUBARU A MONTH BEFORE, I MENTIONED THAT IT WAS DOING THIS A LITTLE, BUT NOT TO THE EXTENT THAT IT DID ON THE HIGHWAY. HE SAID IT WOULD BE $150 TO LOOK AT IT. TAKING IT IN TO A DIFFERENT MECHANIC, THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE LOWER CONTROL ARM. LOOKING TODAY ONLINE FOR RECALLS ON ANOTHER ISSUE I'M EXPERIENCING, I SEE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS EXACT ISSUE, BUT ONLY FOR CARS SOLD IN CERTAIN STATES. THIS IS THE EXACT ISSUE THAT WAS WRONG WITH MY SUBARU, AND I BELIEVE THAT OWNERS IN OTHER STATES ARE EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE AS WELL. HOPEFULLY YOU WILL LOOK AT THIS BEFORE THIS HAPPENS TO SOMEONE ON THE INTERSTATE AND THEY LOSE CONTROL OF THEIR VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/6/2015 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
DANGEROUS!! I AM THE RECENT PROUD OWNER OF A 2004 SUBARU FORESTER XT. A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO WE GOT OUR FIRST FREEZE. I WALK OUT TO START MY CAR AND IT'S NOT TURNING OVER AND A STRONG FUEL SMELL IS FILLING THE CABIN. I KEEP TRYING THINKING THAT IT MAY TURN OVER. WITH NO LUCK, AND FEARING SOMETHING IS WRONG (OR MAY POSSIBLY BLOW UP), I STOP AND GET OUT. TAKING A CLOSER LOOK HAVING PARKED IT SOME DIRT, I SEE THAT IT IS VISIBLY MOIST UNDER MY CAR. THE GROUND IS SATURATED WITH GAS. LUCKILY IT DIDN'T CONTACT ANY SPARK IN THE ENGINE OR I WASN'T SMOKING, BECAUSE I WOULDN'T BE HERE TODAY TO TELL THIS STORY. IT WAS A TON OF GAS. PLEASE FIX THIS BEFORE SOMEONE DIES OR GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/23/2015 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
DURING WINTER MONTHS 2004 FORESTER XT EMITS NOXIOUS FUEL SMELL INTO CABIN. SOURCE IS FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT IN AREA OF TURBO/EXHAUST MANIFOLD AS DISCOVER FROM PUDDLE ON GARAGE FLOOR DURING WARM UP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/17/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE FUEL LINES UNDER THE MANIFOLD ON THE PASSENGER SIDE ARE LEAKING FUEL WHEN FIRST STARTING AND IT IS COLD OUTSIDE(BELOW 50F). THE FUMES AND FILLING THE CAB OF THE CAR WHEN THE HEATER IT ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds