Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (56) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (8) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - LEWISBURG, WV
WHILE RUNNING THE BLOWER MOTOR ON HIGH, THE CABIN BEGAN TO FILL WITH TOXIC SMOKE. THE BLOWER'S HOT WIRE CONNECTION HAD OVERHEATED, CHARRED/MELTED THE PLASTIC HOUSING AROUND THE TERMINAL, CHARRED/MELTED THE WIRE'S INSULATION AT THIS CONNECTION, AND MELTED THE COPPER UNTIL IT FELL LOOSE. THE BLOWER RESIDES EXPOSED UNDER THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. NO EASILY COMBUSTIBLE MATERIALS WERE LOCATED UNDERNEATH THE BLOWER AT THAT TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT AIR BAG LIGHT HAS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD. IT STAYS ON EVERY TIME I START THE CAR AND DRIVE IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE LOCAL SUBARU DEALER IN ROCHESTER, MN (CLEMENTS). THEY SAY IT WILL COST $3000 TO INSTALL A BRAND NEW AIR BAG SYSTEM. I DISAGREE. THIS IS AN INHERENT , SERIOUS SAFETY FLAW IN THE CAR. IN MY OPINION, SUBARU SHOULD FIX IT FREE OF CHARGE. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY SAFETY ADVISORY FROM SUBARU OF AMERICA. YOUR GUIDANCE WOULD BE APPRECIATED. SURESH KOTAGAL

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2014 - SCARSDALE, NY
2004 SUBARU FORESTER XT HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE AND TURBO FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY. IT IS CLEAR THAT MY VEHICLE SUFFERED FROM SUBARU SERVICE CENTER NEGLIGENCE AND A DESIGN FLAW OF A BANJO BOLT THAT FILTERS OIL TO THE TURBO BUT EASILY GETS CLOGGED, SHUTTING OFF OIL TO THE TURBO, CAUSING OIL DEPRIVATION TO THE TURBO, BURNING OUT THE TURBO, AND CAUSING FRAGMENTS TO GET INTO THE ENGINE, BLOWING OUT THE ENGINE AS WELL. WHILE I WAS SPARED AN ACCIDENT AND INJURY, IT WAS A CLOSE CALL AS WHILE I WAS DRIVING I SUDDENLY HAD A FAILURE TO ACCELERATE, AND VERY NEARLY WAS PLOWED IN FROM BEHIND BY A LARGE TRACTOR TRAILER TRUCK. MY CAR NOW REQUIRES A COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF ENGINE AND TURBO, COSTING IN EXCESS OF $7,000. I HAVE DECIDED TO SELL THE VEHICLE RATHER THAN BEARING THE HUGE EXPENSE REQUIRED TO REPAIR. THE ISSUE WITH THIS BANJO BOLT AND SUBARU TURBO / ENGINES OF THIS ERA ARE WELL DOCUMENTED ON THE INTERNET AUTOMOBILE FORUMS AND IN SOCIAL MEDIA. SUBARU SHOULD COMPENSATE OWNERS FOR DEVALUING THEIR CARS, AND SHOULD HAVE A RECALL BEFORE MORE DRIVERS ARE HARMED OR KILLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN CABIN. I HAVE 2 KIDS THAT I TAKE TO SCHOOL, AND IN THE MORNING I HAVE TO START MY CAR 20 MIN BEFORE WE LEAVE AND OPEN THE WINDOWS TO AIR IT OUT. THE GAS SMELL IS TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS. THIS IS THE A DESIGN FLAW THAT POSES SERIOUS RISK, AS IT IS BOTH A HEALTH AND A FIRE HAZARD. IT SEEMS JUST ABOUT EVERY FORESTER OWNER HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS AS WELL. SUBARU NEEDS TO EXPAND THE EXISTING IMPREZA / WRX RECALLS TO THE FORESTER, AS THE RELEVANT PARTS ARE THE SAME AND THE ISSUE IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL. PLEASE FIX THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - HENRICO, VA
EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN CABIN IN COLD WEATHER. I DRIVE MY SMALL DAUGHTER TO DAYCARE EVERY DAY IN THAT CAR. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS. ALSO, THE CAUSE OF THAT GAS SMELL IS THE GAS LEAKAGE FROM THE RUBBER HOSE OF THE FUEL LINE ONTO HOT COMPONENST IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT POSES SERIOUS RISK, AS IT IS BOTH A HEALTH AND A FIRE HAZARD. SUBARU NEEDS TO EXPAND THE EXISTING IMPREZA / WRX RECALLS TO FORESTER, AS THE RELEVANT PARTS ARE THE SAME AND THE ISSUE IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/19/2014 - MARYSVILLE, OH
MY CAR WAS PARKED. WHEN I GOT IN CAR AND TURNED KEY, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. CAR WAS NOT HIT OR IN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - ALLENTOWN, PA
WHEN WEATHER GOT COLDER THIS FALL AND WINTER SUDDENLY INTENSE SMELL OF FUEL IN CABIN. LOOKED UNDER HOOD, TIGHTENED WHATEVER FUEL CLAMPS I COULD REACH BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. EVERY DAY BELOW 40DEGREES POWERFUL SMELL OF RAW FUEL THROUGHOUT VEHICLE. THEN HAD TO TAKE TRIP INTO NEIGHBORING CITY, IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC EVEN WITH WINDOWS FULL OPEN IN 15 DEGREE WEATHER FUMES GOT SO OVERWHELMING I HAD TO PULL OVER IN A PARKING LOT, ESCAPE THE CAR AND VOMIT. BACK HOME CALLED DEALER, THEY SAID THEY KNEW EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS LEAKY FUEL HOSES AND CLAMPS UNDER INTAKE MANIFOLD AND QUOTED OVER $800 TO FIX AS THEY TOLD ME OTHER MODELS WERE COVERED BY RECALL BUT FORESTERS HAD "DODGED THE RECALL PROCESS" SO FAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/25/2014 - SAINT PAUL, MN
LEAKING FUEL WHEN COLD OUTSIDE, I CAN SEE FUEL DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE UNDER INTAKE MANIFOLD EVERY TIME I START MY CAR IN THE MORNING WHEN THE CAR IS COLD IN THE COLD WEATHER IN WINTER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/16/2014 - TYRINGHAM, MA
I AM EXPERIENCING AN EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS. THIS BEGAN WINTER OF 2013, WHICH I HAD REPAIRED AT MY EXPENSE OF $700+, THOUGH MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME SUBARU WAS RECALLING THIS AND REPAIRING FOR FREE ON OTHER MODELS. I AM ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED THAT THIS PROBLEM IS RECURRING NOW WINTER OF 2014, IN A VEHICLE WHICH I DRIVE MY SMALL CHILDREN IN. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/16/2014 - TYRINGHAM, MA
I AM EXPERIENCING AN EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS. THIS BEGAN WINTER OF 2013, WHICH I HAD REPAIRED AT MY EXPENSE OF $700+, THOUGH MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME SUBARU WAS RECALLING THIS AND REPAIRING FOR FREE ON OTHER MODELS. I AM ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED THAT THIS PROBLEM IS RECURRING NOW WINTER OF 2014, IN A VEHICLE WHICH I DRIVE MY SMALL CHILDREN IN. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds