Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (59) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (1)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/11/2015 - DAYTON , OH
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, HELLO, I AM THE OWNER OF A 2004 FORESTER XT WHICH I LOVE. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND ITS BEEN NOTHING BUT RELIABLE UP TO THIS POINT. THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, AND WITH THAT COMES A COMMON PROBLEM FOR MANY SUBARU OWNERS. DURING THE COLD SNAPS, SAY BELOW 20-¦F, THERE IS STRONG FUEL SMELLS WHICH FILLS THE CABIN. IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING START-UP, AND LASTS ABOUT 15 MINS BEFORE THE CAR WARMS UP. FROM SEARCHING MANY FORUMS AND INTERNET THREADS IT SEEMS THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURING SINCE EARLY 2001. THERE WAS A RECALL NOTICE (WVK-21)FOR THE 2002 -2003 WRX'S WHICH HAD A SAME PROBLEM I AM EXPERIENCING NOW. UNFORTUNATELY A RECALL WAS NEVER ISSUED FOR LATER MODEL SUBARUS WHICH SUFFER THE SAME PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS FUEL LEAKING FROM 5 MAIN FUEL LINES GOING INTO THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. IT SEEMS THAT WHEN IT IS COLD OUTSIDE, THE LINES ARE SHRINKING AND IS ALLOWING FUEL TO SPEW OUT EVERYWHERE. JUST FROM SEARCHING FOR 3 DAYS I'VE SEEN 125 CASES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. WILL YOU PLEASE PUT OUT A BULLETIN BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THERE CAR EXPLODING BECAUSE OF EXTRA FUEL LEAKING OUT OF THE FUEL HOSES. PLEASE I BEG OF YOU, PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2015 - DAYTON , OH
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, HELLO, I AM THE OWNER OF A 2004 FORESTER XT WHICH I LOVE. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND ITS BEEN NOTHING BUT RELIABLE UP TO THIS POINT. THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, AND WITH THAT COMES A COMMON PROBLEM FOR MANY SUBARU OWNERS. DURING THE COLD SNAPS, SAY BELOW 20-¦F, THERE IS STRONG FUEL SMELLS WHICH FILLS THE CABIN. IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING START-UP, AND LASTS ABOUT 15 MINS BEFORE THE CAR WARMS UP. FROM SEARCHING MANY FORUMS AND INTERNET THREADS IT SEEMS THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURING SINCE EARLY 2001. THERE WAS A RECALL NOTICE (WVK-21)FOR THE 2002 -2003 WRX'S WHICH HAD A SAME PROBLEM I AM EXPERIENCING NOW. UNFORTUNATELY A RECALL WAS NEVER ISSUED FOR LATER MODEL SUBARUS WHICH SUFFER THE SAME PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS FUEL LEAKING FROM 5 MAIN FUEL LINES GOING INTO THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. IT SEEMS THAT WHEN IT IS COLD OUTSIDE, THE LINES ARE SHRINKING AND IS ALLOWING FUEL TO SPEW OUT EVERYWHERE. JUST FROM SEARCHING FOR 3 DAYS I'VE SEEN 125 CASES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. WILL YOU PLEASE PUT OUT A BULLETIN BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THERE CAR EXPLODING BECAUSE OF EXTRA FUEL LEAKING OUT OF THE FUEL HOSES. PLEASE I BEG OF YOU, PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/9/2015 - FEDERAL WAY, WA
BASICALLY I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME RAW FUEL SMELL MANY OTHERS HAVE DESCRIBED. THE HOSE UNDER THE INTERCOOLER AND SEVERAL OTHER HOSES AND PARTS VISIBLY LEAKS AND SMELLS WHEN TEMPERATURES ARE COLD OUTSIDE. I LIVE IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST...IT'S COLD A LOT HERE. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH MY DAUGHTER IN THE CAR, FOR HER HEALTH REASONS, AND REALLY DON'T LIKE WASTING MY HARD EARNED FUEL WAITING FOR THE CAR TO WARM UP WITH THE RECIRCULATING VENT FEATURE TURNED ON AND THE FACT THAT IT DRIPS THE FUEL OUT AND ONTO THE ENGINE... SINCE SOA HAS RECALLED THE WRX'S WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE, WHY DO THOSE OF US THAT OWN LEGACYS, OUTBACKS, FORESTERS AND I WOULD ALSO ASSUME BAJAS NOT BE TREATED THE SAME WAY? SOA NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS MATTER IMMEDIATELY AND KEEP ITS LOYAL CUSTOMERS EXACTLY THAT....LOYAL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/5/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
I HAVE NOTICED IN THE PAST FEW WEEKS THAT WHEN I COLD START (UNDER APPROXIMATELY 20 DEGREES) MY 04 SUBARU FORESTER, THERE IS A VERY POTENT RAW GAS SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. IT TYPICALLY DIMINISHES AS THE CAR HEATS UP BUT IF YOU TURN ON THE HEAT/VENTILATION SYSTEM THE SMELL BECOMES UNBEARABLE. IN DOING RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY SUBARU OWNERS (OF VARIOUS MODELS AND YEARS) ARE EXPERIENCING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH THIS SMELL NOR TRANSPORTING ANY PASSENGERS WITH THE CAR IN THIS CONDITION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
I HAVE NOTICED IN THE PAST FEW WEEKS THAT WHEN I COLD START (UNDER APPROXIMATELY 20 DEGREES) MY 04 SUBARU FORESTER, THERE IS A VERY POTENT RAW GAS SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. IT TYPICALLY DIMINISHES AS THE CAR HEATS UP BUT IF YOU TURN ON THE HEAT/VENTILATION SYSTEM THE SMELL BECOMES UNBEARABLE. IN DOING RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY SUBARU OWNERS (OF VARIOUS MODELS AND YEARS) ARE EXPERIENCING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH THIS SMELL NOR TRANSPORTING ANY PASSENGERS WITH THE CAR IN THIS CONDITION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/2/2015 - WATERBURY, CT
I WILL LIKE TO KNOW IF WHEN MY CAR WAS RECALL AND FIX THE FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM IN 2013 HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH MY WHEEL ALIGNMENT, SINCE IT SEEMS THAT THE DEALER AND TOWN FAIR TIRE CAN NOT GET IT RIGHT BECAUSE EVERY TIME I COMPLAINT AND GET IT FIX AND GO HOME AFTER A FEW MILES THE STEERING WHEEL GOES OFF CENTER AND START MAKING NOISE AT THE FRONT END ABOUT 55-65 MPH AND THIS BEGAN AFTER FIXING THE RECALL AND I CAN NOT DRIVE IN PEACE AND I WONDER IF AM NOT TAKING A CHANCE DRIVING A CAR THAT WAS STRAIGHT AS AN ARROW BEFORE THE PART REPLACEMENT,PLEASE HELP,THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/24/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
FUEL SMELL IN CABIN WITH BLOWER SET ON OUTSIDE AIR. THE CAUSE WAS A FUEL LEAK IN THE ENGINE BAY UNDER THE INTAKE MANIFOLD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ON DAYS WITH SUB-FREEZING TEMPERATURES, AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, A STRONG SMELL OF GAS IS PRESENT. UPON INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, THERE IS GASOLINE VISIBLY DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE BEHIND THE AC COMPRESSOR. THE GASOLINE LANDS ON THE ENGINE BLOCK AND PRODUCES VISIBLE VAPORS AS IT IS SLOWLY BURNED UP BY THE HEAT. UPON DISCUSSING THE PROBLEM WITH A SUBARU REPAIR SHOP, THEY SAID THIS IS QUITE COMMON FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - DENVER, CO
I PURCHASED A USED SUBARU FORESTER XT. THE CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 180,000 MILES AND WAS PURCHASED MID-WINTER IN DENVER, COLORADO. ON EXTREMELY COLD DAYS I NOTICED A RAW FUEL SMELL. IT WAS AN ALARMINGLY STRONG SMELL! I WAS ALL TOO FAMILIAR WITH THIS ISSUE SINCE I HAD ALSO OWNED A 2002 SUBARU WRX WITH APPROXIMATELY 155,000 WHICH INCIDENTALLY WAS COVERED UNDER A RECALL FOR THIS "KNOWN" ISSUE. INTERESTINGLY ENOUGH THERE WAS NO ISSUE WITH RAW GAS SMELL ON THE DAYS THAT WERE WARMER WITH EITHER VEHICLE. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT AT A SUBARU DEALERSHIP IN LONGMONT, COLORADO WHERE THEY ADVISED ME THAT THE FUEL HOSES WERE LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE MANIFOLD AND THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE AT THE TIME BECAUSE IT WAS BACK ORDERED APPROXIMATELY 6-8 WEEKS. I HAD A FACTORY TRAINED SUBARU TECHNICIAN THAT OWNS HIS OWN SHOP REPLACE A CERTAIN NUMBER OF THE FUEL DELIVERY HOSES WITH ORIGINAL SUBARU REPLACEMENT PARTS SINCE SAID PART WAS BACK ORDERED. I ALSO REPLACED THE LONG BLOCK (SUBARU) ALONG WITH A HOST OF OTHER ITEMS AT THE SAME TIME SINCE THE MOTOR WAS OUT. PRIOR TO GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP I WAS ABLE TO TEST THE VEHICLE'S INTERNAL ATMOSPHERE WITH A TOOL THAT DETECTS THE ENVIRONMENTS AIR QUALITY. THE ATMOSPHERE WAS ABLE TO TRIP THE TOOL SHOWING THAT THE ATMOSPHERE WAS IN A LOWER EXPLOSIVE LIMIT. IMAGINE MY SURPRISE THAT IT WAS THAT BAD. I DETERMINED THAT THIS ISSUE WARRANTED AN IMMEDIATE FIX WITH SUBARU FACTORY PARTS. AS OF THIS LAST WEEK, NOVEMBER 2014, WHEN DENVER HAD RECORD BREAKING COLD WEATHER I HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN WITH RAW FUEL SMELL. NOW, ONE COULD CONCLUDE THAT THE FACTORY TRAINED TECHNICIAN MADE AN ERROR REPLACING SAID PARTS BUT I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY VEHICLE WITHOUT ISSUE FOR NEARLY 9 WARM MONTHS. COINCIDENCE??? I'M BEGINNING TO WONDER. THIS FIX SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED UNDER A RECALL AS WAS MY 2002 SUBARU WRX. I CALLED S.O.A WITH NO HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
THE SMELL OF FUEL BECAME OBVIOUS AFTER A 10-15 MINUTE DRIVE. UPON EXAMINATION, THERE WAS FUEL DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE. THIS OCCURRED AFTER THE FIRST FREEZE OF THE YEAR, FITTING OTHER DESCRIPTIONS OF THIS ISSUE I FOUND FOR THIS MODEL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds