Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (8) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (59) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (1)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/24/2015 - NEW YORK, NY
THERE IS A VERY STRONG AND DISTINCT SMELL OF RAW FUEL COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN THE WEATHER IS BELOW FREEZING (20F OR BELOW). THE SMELL COMES THROUGH THE AIR VENTS INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT AND IS STRONG ENOUGH TO CAUSE A HEADACHE FOR THE PASSENGERS IN THE CAR. THE SMELL IS WORST WHEN THE CAR IS STOPPED AFTER A DRIVE. IT SEEMS THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH SUBARU WRX 2002 & 2003 CARS AND SUBARU HAS ISSUED A RECALL FOR THEM. THIS ALSO SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ENOUGH PROBLEM FOR SUBARU FORRESTER CARS FROM THE SAME TIMEFRAME. ON THE WEBSITE HTTP://WWW.ABOUTAUTOMOBILE.COM/COMPLAINT/2004/SUBARU/FORESTER, ALMOST 50% OF THE COMPLAINTS OUT OF 154 COMPLAINTS IS ABOUT THIS FUEL LEAK ISSUE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM ACCORDING TO DEALERS AND OTHER SUBARU FORRESTER OWNERS AS WELL (HTTP://WWW.SUBARUFORESTER.ORG/VBULLETIN/F87/SMELL-GAS-COLD-STARTS-41319/). IT HAS ALSO BEEN DOCUMENTED BY OTHER OWNERS AT NHTSA: HTTPS://SITES.GOOGLE.COM/SITE/20042005FORESTERXTFUELLEAKS/ SUBARU OF AMERICA SEEMS TO HAVE IMPLICITLY ACKNOWLEDGED THE SYSTEMIC PROBLEM AS THEY HAVE BEEN REIMBURSING SOME OWNERS (BUT NOT ALL) FOR THEIR SERVICE COSTS WHICH CAN BE IN THE RANGE FOR $800 (HTTP://WWW.SUBARUFORESTER.ORG/VBULLETIN/F88/FIXING-LEAKING-FUEL-GAS-LINE-86782/). HOWEVER, SUBARU HAS NOT RECALLED THESE CARS AND IS EXPECTING OWNERS TO FIX THE PROBLEMS WHICH MAY MAY CAUSE HEALTH ISSUES AND GIVEN FUEL LEAKING ON HOT ENGINE PARTS, MAY LEAD TO AN ENGINE FIRE IF NOT FIXED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/23/2015 - KANSAS CITY, MO
STRONG ODOR OF GAS WHEN OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE DROPS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/10/2015 - EL CAJON, CA
HAVING SEEN THE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER USERS REGARDING THE RELIABILITY OF AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN THIS MODEL VEHICLE. RELEVANT TO LET THE PROPER AUTHORITIES KNOW OF A ROLLOVER ACCIDENT IN WHICH NO AIRBAGS (NOR FRONT NOR SIDE) DEPLOYED WITH A RESULTING FATALITY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/10/2015 - EL CAJON, CA
HAVING SEEN THE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER USERS REGARDING THE RELIABILITY OF AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN THIS MODEL VEHICLE. RELEVANT TO LET THE PROPER AUTHORITIES KNOW OF A ROLLOVER ACCIDENT IN WHICH NO AIRBAGS (NOR FRONT NOR SIDE) DEPLOYED WITH A RESULTING FATALITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2015 - EL CAJON, CA
HAVING SEEN THE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER USERS REGARDING THE RELIABILITY OF AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN THIS MODEL VEHICLE. RELEVANT TO LET THE PROPER AUTHORITIES KNOW OF A ROLLOVER ACCIDENT IN WHICH NO AIRBAGS (NOR FRONT NOR SIDE) DEPLOYED WITH A RESULTING FATALITY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2015 - OAKLAND, ME
NOTICED A STRONG FUEL SMELL AFTER LETTING THE CAR WARM UP ON A COLD MORNING, ODOR WENT AWAY AFTER 15-20 MINUTES. FUEL SMELL HAS GOTTEN STRONGER, AND IS NOW CONSTANT EVEN WHEN OPERATING UNDER HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THIS IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS MANY OTHER FORESTER OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT. ISSUES IT WITH THE FUEL LINE GOING TO THE INJECTORS ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE MOTOR. IS EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE AND PARTS THAT SUBARU USES ON THE WRX WHICH WAS RECALLED FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/2/2015 - OAKLAND, ME
NOTICED A STRONG FUEL SMELL AFTER LETTING THE CAR WARM UP ON A COLD MORNING, ODOR WENT AWAY AFTER 15-20 MINUTES. FUEL SMELL HAS GOTTEN STRONGER, AND IS NOW CONSTANT EVEN WHEN OPERATING UNDER HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THIS IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS MANY OTHER FORESTER OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT. ISSUES IT WITH THE FUEL LINE GOING TO THE INJECTORS ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE MOTOR. IS EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE AND PARTS THAT SUBARU USES ON THE WRX WHICH WAS RECALLED FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/11/2015 - DAYTON , OH
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, HELLO, I AM THE OWNER OF A 2004 FORESTER XT WHICH I LOVE. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND ITS BEEN NOTHING BUT RELIABLE UP TO THIS POINT. THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, AND WITH THAT COMES A COMMON PROBLEM FOR MANY SUBARU OWNERS. DURING THE COLD SNAPS, SAY BELOW 20-¦F, THERE IS STRONG FUEL SMELLS WHICH FILLS THE CABIN. IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING START-UP, AND LASTS ABOUT 15 MINS BEFORE THE CAR WARMS UP. FROM SEARCHING MANY FORUMS AND INTERNET THREADS IT SEEMS THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURING SINCE EARLY 2001. THERE WAS A RECALL NOTICE (WVK-21)FOR THE 2002 -2003 WRX'S WHICH HAD A SAME PROBLEM I AM EXPERIENCING NOW. UNFORTUNATELY A RECALL WAS NEVER ISSUED FOR LATER MODEL SUBARUS WHICH SUFFER THE SAME PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS FUEL LEAKING FROM 5 MAIN FUEL LINES GOING INTO THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. IT SEEMS THAT WHEN IT IS COLD OUTSIDE, THE LINES ARE SHRINKING AND IS ALLOWING FUEL TO SPEW OUT EVERYWHERE. JUST FROM SEARCHING FOR 3 DAYS I'VE SEEN 125 CASES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. WILL YOU PLEASE PUT OUT A BULLETIN BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THERE CAR EXPLODING BECAUSE OF EXTRA FUEL LEAKING OUT OF THE FUEL HOSES. PLEASE I BEG OF YOU, PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2015 - DAYTON , OH
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, HELLO, I AM THE OWNER OF A 2004 FORESTER XT WHICH I LOVE. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND ITS BEEN NOTHING BUT RELIABLE UP TO THIS POINT. THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, AND WITH THAT COMES A COMMON PROBLEM FOR MANY SUBARU OWNERS. DURING THE COLD SNAPS, SAY BELOW 20-¦F, THERE IS STRONG FUEL SMELLS WHICH FILLS THE CABIN. IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING START-UP, AND LASTS ABOUT 15 MINS BEFORE THE CAR WARMS UP. FROM SEARCHING MANY FORUMS AND INTERNET THREADS IT SEEMS THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURING SINCE EARLY 2001. THERE WAS A RECALL NOTICE (WVK-21)FOR THE 2002 -2003 WRX'S WHICH HAD A SAME PROBLEM I AM EXPERIENCING NOW. UNFORTUNATELY A RECALL WAS NEVER ISSUED FOR LATER MODEL SUBARUS WHICH SUFFER THE SAME PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS FUEL LEAKING FROM 5 MAIN FUEL LINES GOING INTO THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. IT SEEMS THAT WHEN IT IS COLD OUTSIDE, THE LINES ARE SHRINKING AND IS ALLOWING FUEL TO SPEW OUT EVERYWHERE. JUST FROM SEARCHING FOR 3 DAYS I'VE SEEN 125 CASES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. WILL YOU PLEASE PUT OUT A BULLETIN BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THERE CAR EXPLODING BECAUSE OF EXTRA FUEL LEAKING OUT OF THE FUEL HOSES. PLEASE I BEG OF YOU, PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/9/2015 - FEDERAL WAY, WA
BASICALLY I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME RAW FUEL SMELL MANY OTHERS HAVE DESCRIBED. THE HOSE UNDER THE INTERCOOLER AND SEVERAL OTHER HOSES AND PARTS VISIBLY LEAKS AND SMELLS WHEN TEMPERATURES ARE COLD OUTSIDE. I LIVE IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST...IT'S COLD A LOT HERE. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH MY DAUGHTER IN THE CAR, FOR HER HEALTH REASONS, AND REALLY DON'T LIKE WASTING MY HARD EARNED FUEL WAITING FOR THE CAR TO WARM UP WITH THE RECIRCULATING VENT FEATURE TURNED ON AND THE FACT THAT IT DRIPS THE FUEL OUT AND ONTO THE ENGINE... SINCE SOA HAS RECALLED THE WRX'S WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE, WHY DO THOSE OF US THAT OWN LEGACYS, OUTBACKS, FORESTERS AND I WOULD ALSO ASSUME BAJAS NOT BE TREATED THE SAME WAY? SOA NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS MATTER IMMEDIATELY AND KEEP ITS LOYAL CUSTOMERS EXACTLY THAT....LOYAL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds