Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 184 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Fuel Propulsion System (46) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (61) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2017 - FRANKLIN PARK, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM GYM, I NOTICED THE CLUTCH PEDAL WAS NOT ENGAGING THE CLUTCH MAKING SHIFTING DIFFICULT. EVENTUALLY RETURNED HOME SAFELY AND UPON INSPECTION, I NOTICED A LARGE FIREWALL CRACK NEAR THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. THE LARGE FIREWALL CRACK COMPROMISED THE CLUTCH PEDAL FUNCTION. ALSO, FEAR OF POSSIBILITY OF BRAKE PEDAL FAILURE AND POSSIBLE EXPOSURE TO ENGINE BAY FUMES. I SPOKE TO A SUBARU SERVICE ADVISOR AND SUGGESTED TO "BRING-IN" FOR INSPECTION. ENROUTE TO THE DEALER WAITING FOR THE GREEN LIGHT ON THE MAIN STREET, DEPRESSED THE CLUTCH PEDAL AND FELT A SNAP THEN MY CLUTCH PEDAL PLAY IS NONE. LOOKED ON THE FLOOR OF MY CAR TO SEE WHAT FELL/DETACHED, AND IT LOOKED LIKE PART OF THE PEDAL BRACKET THAT ATTACHED TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. I EVENTUALLY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALER. ARE FIREWALL SUPPOSED TO CRACK?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/21/2017 - FRANKLIN PARK, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM GYM, I NOTICED THE CLUTCH PEDAL WAS NOT ENGAGING THE CLUTCH MAKING SHIFTING DIFFICULT. EVENTUALLY RETURNED HOME SAFELY AND UPON INSPECTION, I NOTICED A LARGE FIREWALL CRACK NEAR THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. THE LARGE FIREWALL CRACK COMPROMISED THE CLUTCH PEDAL FUNCTION. ALSO, FEAR OF POSSIBILITY OF BRAKE PEDAL FAILURE AND POSSIBLE EXPOSURE TO ENGINE BAY FUMES. I SPOKE TO A SUBARU SERVICE ADVISOR AND SUGGESTED TO "BRING-IN" FOR INSPECTION. ENROUTE TO THE DEALER WAITING FOR THE GREEN LIGHT ON THE MAIN STREET, DEPRESSED THE CLUTCH PEDAL AND FELT A SNAP THEN MY CLUTCH PEDAL PLAY IS NONE. LOOKED ON THE FLOOR OF MY CAR TO SEE WHAT FELL/DETACHED, AND IT LOOKED LIKE PART OF THE PEDAL BRACKET THAT ATTACHED TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. I EVENTUALLY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALER. ARE FIREWALL SUPPOSED TO CRACK?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2017 - FRANKLIN PARK, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM GYM, I NOTICED THE CLUTCH PEDAL WAS NOT ENGAGING THE CLUTCH MAKING SHIFTING DIFFICULT. EVENTUALLY RETURNED HOME SAFELY AND UPON INSPECTION, I NOTICED A LARGE FIREWALL CRACK NEAR THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. THE LARGE FIREWALL CRACK COMPROMISED THE CLUTCH PEDAL FUNCTION. ALSO, FEAR OF POSSIBILITY OF BRAKE PEDAL FAILURE AND POSSIBLE EXPOSURE TO ENGINE BAY FUMES. I SPOKE TO A SUBARU SERVICE ADVISOR AND SUGGESTED TO "BRING-IN" FOR INSPECTION. ENROUTE TO THE DEALER WAITING FOR THE GREEN LIGHT ON THE MAIN STREET, DEPRESSED THE CLUTCH PEDAL AND FELT A SNAP THEN MY CLUTCH PEDAL PLAY IS NONE. LOOKED ON THE FLOOR OF MY CAR TO SEE WHAT FELL/DETACHED, AND IT LOOKED LIKE PART OF THE PEDAL BRACKET THAT ATTACHED TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. I EVENTUALLY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALER. ARE FIREWALL SUPPOSED TO CRACK?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/15/2017 - COLUMBUS, OH
THERE IS A RAW GAS SMELL INSIDE THE CAR WHEN PARKED, OR STOPPED WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING IN COLD WEATHER.

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2017 - SOUTH BEND, IN
FUEL LEAK IN LINES ABOVE ENGINE BUT BELOW INTAKE DURING COLDER WEATHER. FUEL FUMES PULLED INTO VEHICLE BY HEATING SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/3/2017 - SOUTH BEND, IN
FUEL LEAK IN LINES ABOVE ENGINE BUT BELOW INTAKE DURING COLDER WEATHER. FUEL FUMES PULLED INTO VEHICLE BY HEATING SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - CRYSTAL LAKE, IL
THERE IS A TERRIBLE GAS SMELL DURING COLD WEATHER FROM SOME LEAK IN THE FUEL LINE. OTHER SUBARU MODELS HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM, BUT NOT THE FORESTER. THE SMELL IS SO BAD THAT IT HAS GIVEN ME HEADACHES AND NAUSEA. THE SMELL IS PARTICULARLY AWFUL WHEN THE HEAT IS TURNED ON, WHICH IS PROBLEMATIC SINCE ONE WANTS THE HEAT ON WHEN IT'S THAT COLD OUT. SMELL PERSISTS AROUND THE CAR EVEN WHEN IT ISN'T RUNNING AND IS SO BAD I CAN'T PARK IT INSIDE MY ATTACHED GARAGE BECAUSE IT COMES INTO THE HOUSE. SUBARU REALLY NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS. I HAVE MENTIONED IT TO MY MECHANIC SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY HAVE TRIED TO CORRECT IT BY TIGHTENING FUEL LINE CONNECTIONS, WHICH HAS NOT SOLVED THE ISSUE. THEY TOLD ME ABOUT THE OTHER MODELS BEING RECALLED, AND WHEN I RESEARCHED IT MYSELF I DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE HUNDREDS (AT LEAST) OF SUBARU FORESTER OWNERS WHO HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS A HEALTH HAZARD. I DON'T THINK ANYONE SHOULD BE BREATHING THESE CONCENTRATED FUMES. SUBARU NEEDS TO DO A RECALL AND REPLACE THESE FAULTY LINES. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR AT LEAST THE PAST 2 YEARS/WINTERS. MY MOST RECENT VISIT TO THE MECHANIC (TO ADDRESS THE FUEL SMELL AGAIN) WAS DECEMBER 23, 2016.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/19/2016 - EAST CHATHAM, NY
CAR LEAKS FUEL PROFUSELY FROM FUEL LINE NEAR ENGINE BLOCK WHEN RUNNING DURING COLD WEATHER TEMPERATURES BELOW 20 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/19/2016 - HELENA, MT
IN VERY COLD WEATHER, THERE IS A STRONG GASOLINE SMELL INSIDE THE CAR THAT REMAINS AS THE CAR WARMS UP. THIS ONLY OCCURS WHEN TEMPERATURES ARE WELL BELOW FREEZING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/19/2016 - HELENA, MT
IN VERY COLD WEATHER, THERE IS A STRONG GASOLINE SMELL INSIDE THE CAR THAT REMAINS AS THE CAR WARMS UP. THIS ONLY OCCURS WHEN TEMPERATURES ARE WELL BELOW FREEZING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds