Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 148 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Power Train (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (59) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (9) Visibility (1)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ON DAYS WITH SUB-FREEZING TEMPERATURES, AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, A STRONG SMELL OF GAS IS PRESENT. UPON INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, THERE IS GASOLINE VISIBLY DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE BEHIND THE AC COMPRESSOR. THE GASOLINE LANDS ON THE ENGINE BLOCK AND PRODUCES VISIBLE VAPORS AS IT IS SLOWLY BURNED UP BY THE HEAT. UPON DISCUSSING THE PROBLEM WITH A SUBARU REPAIR SHOP, THEY SAID THIS IS QUITE COMMON FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - DENVER, CO
I PURCHASED A USED SUBARU FORESTER XT. THE CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 180,000 MILES AND WAS PURCHASED MID-WINTER IN DENVER, COLORADO. ON EXTREMELY COLD DAYS I NOTICED A RAW FUEL SMELL. IT WAS AN ALARMINGLY STRONG SMELL! I WAS ALL TOO FAMILIAR WITH THIS ISSUE SINCE I HAD ALSO OWNED A 2002 SUBARU WRX WITH APPROXIMATELY 155,000 WHICH INCIDENTALLY WAS COVERED UNDER A RECALL FOR THIS "KNOWN" ISSUE. INTERESTINGLY ENOUGH THERE WAS NO ISSUE WITH RAW GAS SMELL ON THE DAYS THAT WERE WARMER WITH EITHER VEHICLE. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT AT A SUBARU DEALERSHIP IN LONGMONT, COLORADO WHERE THEY ADVISED ME THAT THE FUEL HOSES WERE LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE MANIFOLD AND THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE AT THE TIME BECAUSE IT WAS BACK ORDERED APPROXIMATELY 6-8 WEEKS. I HAD A FACTORY TRAINED SUBARU TECHNICIAN THAT OWNS HIS OWN SHOP REPLACE A CERTAIN NUMBER OF THE FUEL DELIVERY HOSES WITH ORIGINAL SUBARU REPLACEMENT PARTS SINCE SAID PART WAS BACK ORDERED. I ALSO REPLACED THE LONG BLOCK (SUBARU) ALONG WITH A HOST OF OTHER ITEMS AT THE SAME TIME SINCE THE MOTOR WAS OUT. PRIOR TO GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP I WAS ABLE TO TEST THE VEHICLE'S INTERNAL ATMOSPHERE WITH A TOOL THAT DETECTS THE ENVIRONMENTS AIR QUALITY. THE ATMOSPHERE WAS ABLE TO TRIP THE TOOL SHOWING THAT THE ATMOSPHERE WAS IN A LOWER EXPLOSIVE LIMIT. IMAGINE MY SURPRISE THAT IT WAS THAT BAD. I DETERMINED THAT THIS ISSUE WARRANTED AN IMMEDIATE FIX WITH SUBARU FACTORY PARTS. AS OF THIS LAST WEEK, NOVEMBER 2014, WHEN DENVER HAD RECORD BREAKING COLD WEATHER I HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN WITH RAW FUEL SMELL. NOW, ONE COULD CONCLUDE THAT THE FACTORY TRAINED TECHNICIAN MADE AN ERROR REPLACING SAID PARTS BUT I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY VEHICLE WITHOUT ISSUE FOR NEARLY 9 WARM MONTHS. COINCIDENCE??? I'M BEGINNING TO WONDER. THIS FIX SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED UNDER A RECALL AS WAS MY 2002 SUBARU WRX. I CALLED S.O.A WITH NO HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

11/13/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
THE SMELL OF FUEL BECAME OBVIOUS AFTER A 10-15 MINUTE DRIVE. UPON EXAMINATION, THERE WAS FUEL DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE. THIS OCCURRED AFTER THE FIRST FREEZE OF THE YEAR, FITTING OTHER DESCRIPTIONS OF THIS ISSUE I FOUND FOR THIS MODEL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
THE SMELL OF FUEL BECAME OBVIOUS AFTER A 10-15 MINUTE DRIVE. UPON EXAMINATION, THERE WAS FUEL DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE. THIS OCCURRED AFTER THE FIRST FREEZE OF THE YEAR, FITTING OTHER DESCRIPTIONS OF THIS ISSUE I FOUND FOR THIS MODEL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - LITTLETON , CO
WARMED UP VEHICLE. TEMP WAS BELOW 31 DEGREES CLOSER TO LOW 20'S. WITHIN TWO MINUTES FUEL SMELL ENTERED VEHICLE. OVER COME BY FUMES... ROLLED DOWN WINDOWS. PROBLEM TOOK AT LEAST 15 MINUTES AT LEAST TO GET RID OF SMELL. VERY WORRIED DUE TO FUEL BEING A HIGHLY COMBUSTIBLE FLUID IN A HOT ENGINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/5/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER, EVERY TIME THE WEATHER GETS BELOW 40 DEGREES OR SO, THE INTERIOR CABIN SMELLS LIKE RAW GASOLINE UPON STARTING THE CAR AND CONTINUING THROUGH SEVERAL MINUTES OF RUN TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/26/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
SINCE 2009 THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL STAY ON AFTER I HAVE STARTED THE CAR. IT WILL STAY ON FOR DAYS, WHETHER IT IS HOT SUMMER TIME OR COLD WINTER DAYS. IT MAY STAY ON FOR A FEW DAYS OR FOR MONTHS. THE LAST TIME WAS FROM JULY 19, 2014 TO AUGUST 25, 2014. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT I HAVE REVIEWED THE LIST OF VEHICLE SAFETY COMPLAINTS. SEEING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINING ON ENCOURAGES ME TO SUBMIT MY HISTORY ALSO. WHEN IT HAS BEEN ON, I THINK I SHOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALER BUT THEN IT GOES OFF BEFORE I CAN TAKE THE CAR IN TO THE DEALER. SEEING ALL THE COMPLAINTS I ALSO THINK SUBARU SHOULD BE RESPONSIVE TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/26/2014 - ALEXANDER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING INTO A RESIDENTIAL THE DRIVEWAY, THE FRONT PASSENGERS SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 11V464000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/11/2014 - ENOLA, PA
I STARTED THE CAR, PUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND ATTEMPTED TO MOVE IT INTO GEAR. IT WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF PARK. THE RELEASE WAS BROKEN. EVENTUALLY I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET IT INTO GEAR. IT HAS BEEN TO JACK WILLIAMS TIRE IN CAMP HILL, PA 17011 3-4 TIMES SINCE THEN FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2014 - EAST WENATCHEE, WA
THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ILLUMINATED FOR WEEKS AT A TIME AND THEN WILL RANDOMLY TURN OFF. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER TWICE AND THEY COULD NOT IDENTIFY THE PROBLEM. I HAVE CONTINUOUSLY HAD THE PROBLEM OFF AND ON FOR THE PAST YEAR. I SEE SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND YEAR SUBARU, THIS SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF BY SUBARU- TS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds