Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 191 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (61) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (19) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Suspension (14) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2018 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
GOT UP TO AND STARTED MY CAR TO GET IT WARMED UP SINCE IT WAS 8¦ F OUTSIDE. 20 MINUTES LATER WHEN I GOT INTO THE CAR THERE WAS A STRONG SMELL OF GAS. UPON INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT I FOUND THAT THERE WAS A FUEL LINE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE DRIPPING GASOLINE ONTO THE ENGINE BLOCK, WHERE IT WAS POOLING. WHILE SEARCHING ONLINE FOR INFO ON THIS, I FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH EARLY 2000'S SUBARUS, EVEN TO THE EXTENT THAT THEY RECALLED THE WRX MODELS FOR THIS EXACT REASON, BUT MADE NO MENTION OF THEIR OTHER MODELS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/30/2017 - PRATTSVILLE, NY
GAS SMELL COLD WEATHER CAR IDOLING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2017 - BANGOR, ME
JUST LIKE 60 OR SO OTHER 03-05 FORESTER XT OWNERS, I+M EXPERIENCING THE FUEL LEAK FROM THE RUBBER FUEL LINE WHERE IT CLAMPS ON TO THE METAL LINE TO THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE INJECTOR. JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE, THE ISSUE ONLY OCCURRED WHEN TEMPERATURES DROPPED BELOW ABOUT 20¦F - UNCOINCIDENTALLY, IN MY OPINION, THIS WAS THE FIRST NEW ENGLAND WINTER THIS CAR HAD EVER SEEN. SUBARU HAS ISSUED A RECALL FOR WRX WITH THE SAME EXACT ISSUE INVOLVING THE SAME EXACT HARDWARE. GET ON IT SUBARU, THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE AND AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS DESIGN FLAW. YOU+VE ALREADY FESSED UP TO THE ISSUE WITH OTHER VEHICLES USING THE EJ255 NOW DON+T FORGET ABOUT US FOZZY OWNERS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2017 - NEWBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. WHETHER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED OR BEING DRIVEN, A FUEL ODOR WAS DETECTED IN AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FUEL ODOR WAS MOST NOTICEABLE WHILE OPERATING THE HEATER. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MID-HUDSON SUBARU (1715 U.S. 9, WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY 12590 (866) 678-2048) SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO LEAKS OR FAILURES WERE DETECTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER FINALLY DETECTED A FUEL ODOR AND DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS A MALFUNCTION WITH TUBING OR PIPING WITHIN THE ENGINE. THE PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE COST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/24/2017 - NEWBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. WHETHER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED OR BEING DRIVEN, A FUEL ODOR WAS DETECTED IN AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FUEL ODOR WAS MOST NOTICEABLE WHILE OPERATING THE HEATER. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MID-HUDSON SUBARU (1715 U.S. 9, WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY 12590 (866) 678-2048) SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO LEAKS OR FAILURES WERE DETECTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER FINALLY DETECTED A FUEL ODOR AND DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS A MALFUNCTION WITH TUBING OR PIPING WITHIN THE ENGINE. THE PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE COST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/25/2017 - JAMAICA, NY
CAR HAS A STRONG GAS ODOR IN THE CAB WHEN TEMPERATURE DROPS TO 20 DEGREES AND BELOW. OCCURING ON COLD START AND CONTINUING IN MOTION ON LOCAL AND HIGHWAY DRIVING. AFTER A FEW UNSUCCESSFUL FIXES BY AUTHORIZED SUBARU SERVICE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS FOR THREE YEARS SOA NEEDS TO RECOGNISE THIS GAS LEAK FOR THIS MODEL AND YEAR AS A RECALL AND PERMINENT FIX PLEASE HELP

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/4/2017 - KELLOGG, ID
WHEN TEMPS DROP THERE IS A STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN THE CABIN, DOESN'T GO AWAY AND PEOPLE GET VERY SICK. IT DOESN'T MATTER IF IT'S IN MOTION, STOPPED, ANYWHERE, AND NOTHING CAUSES IT TO GO AWAY UNTIL WELL INTO SPRING TIME OR WARMER WEATHER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/11/2017 - EASTHAM, MA
DRIVING APPR. 35MPH ON STATE HIGHWAY 6 IN EASTHAM, MA WHEN STEERING WHEEL WAS JERKED OUT OF MY HANDS, CAR ABRUPTLY MOVED TO THE RIGHT AND INTO GRANITE CURB BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. UPON EXITING CAR I FOUND RIGHT FRONT TIRE TURNED TO THE RIGHT WHILE OTHER TIRES WERE FACING FORWARD. RIGHT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS BROKEN CAUSING CV AXLE TO BREAK AT INNER JOINT. THIS WAS A CROWDED HIGHWAY ON A SUMMER WEEKEND IN A RESORT AREA. I AM EXTREMELY FORTUNATE TO NOT HAVE BEEN INJURED OR CAUSED INJURY TO OTHERS. REPAIRS TOTALED $929.95

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2017 - FRANKLIN PARK, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM GYM, I NOTICED THE CLUTCH PEDAL WAS NOT ENGAGING THE CLUTCH MAKING SHIFTING DIFFICULT. EVENTUALLY RETURNED HOME SAFELY AND UPON INSPECTION, I NOTICED A LARGE FIREWALL CRACK NEAR THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. THE LARGE FIREWALL CRACK COMPROMISED THE CLUTCH PEDAL FUNCTION. ALSO, FEAR OF POSSIBILITY OF BRAKE PEDAL FAILURE AND POSSIBLE EXPOSURE TO ENGINE BAY FUMES. I SPOKE TO A SUBARU SERVICE ADVISOR AND SUGGESTED TO "BRING-IN" FOR INSPECTION. ENROUTE TO THE DEALER WAITING FOR THE GREEN LIGHT ON THE MAIN STREET, DEPRESSED THE CLUTCH PEDAL AND FELT A SNAP THEN MY CLUTCH PEDAL PLAY IS NONE. LOOKED ON THE FLOOR OF MY CAR TO SEE WHAT FELL/DETACHED, AND IT LOOKED LIKE PART OF THE PEDAL BRACKET THAT ATTACHED TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. I EVENTUALLY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALER. ARE FIREWALL SUPPOSED TO CRACK?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2017 - FRANKLIN PARK, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM GYM, I NOTICED THE CLUTCH PEDAL WAS NOT ENGAGING THE CLUTCH MAKING SHIFTING DIFFICULT. EVENTUALLY RETURNED HOME SAFELY AND UPON INSPECTION, I NOTICED A LARGE FIREWALL CRACK NEAR THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. THE LARGE FIREWALL CRACK COMPROMISED THE CLUTCH PEDAL FUNCTION. ALSO, FEAR OF POSSIBILITY OF BRAKE PEDAL FAILURE AND POSSIBLE EXPOSURE TO ENGINE BAY FUMES. I SPOKE TO A SUBARU SERVICE ADVISOR AND SUGGESTED TO "BRING-IN" FOR INSPECTION. ENROUTE TO THE DEALER WAITING FOR THE GREEN LIGHT ON THE MAIN STREET, DEPRESSED THE CLUTCH PEDAL AND FELT A SNAP THEN MY CLUTCH PEDAL PLAY IS NONE. LOOKED ON THE FLOOR OF MY CAR TO SEE WHAT FELL/DETACHED, AND IT LOOKED LIKE PART OF THE PEDAL BRACKET THAT ATTACHED TO THE CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER. I EVENTUALLY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALER. ARE FIREWALL SUPPOSED TO CRACK?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds