Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2004 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Power Train (8) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (8) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - HENRICO, VA
EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS IN CABIN IN COLD WEATHER. I DRIVE MY SMALL DAUGHTER TO DAYCARE EVERY DAY IN THAT CAR. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS. ALSO, THE CAUSE OF THAT GAS SMELL IS THE GAS LEAKAGE FROM THE RUBBER HOSE OF THE FUEL LINE ONTO HOT COMPONENST IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT POSES SERIOUS RISK, AS IT IS BOTH A HEALTH AND A FIRE HAZARD. SUBARU NEEDS TO EXPAND THE EXISTING IMPREZA / WRX RECALLS TO FORESTER, AS THE RELEVANT PARTS ARE THE SAME AND THE ISSUE IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/19/2014 - MARYSVILLE, OH
MY CAR WAS PARKED. WHEN I GOT IN CAR AND TURNED KEY, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. CAR WAS NOT HIT OR IN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - ALLENTOWN, PA
WHEN WEATHER GOT COLDER THIS FALL AND WINTER SUDDENLY INTENSE SMELL OF FUEL IN CABIN. LOOKED UNDER HOOD, TIGHTENED WHATEVER FUEL CLAMPS I COULD REACH BUT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. EVERY DAY BELOW 40DEGREES POWERFUL SMELL OF RAW FUEL THROUGHOUT VEHICLE. THEN HAD TO TAKE TRIP INTO NEIGHBORING CITY, IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC EVEN WITH WINDOWS FULL OPEN IN 15 DEGREE WEATHER FUMES GOT SO OVERWHELMING I HAD TO PULL OVER IN A PARKING LOT, ESCAPE THE CAR AND VOMIT. BACK HOME CALLED DEALER, THEY SAID THEY KNEW EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS LEAKY FUEL HOSES AND CLAMPS UNDER INTAKE MANIFOLD AND QUOTED OVER $800 TO FIX AS THEY TOLD ME OTHER MODELS WERE COVERED BY RECALL BUT FORESTERS HAD "DODGED THE RECALL PROCESS" SO FAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/25/2014 - SAINT PAUL, MN
LEAKING FUEL WHEN COLD OUTSIDE, I CAN SEE FUEL DRIPPING FROM A FUEL LINE UNDER INTAKE MANIFOLD EVERY TIME I START MY CAR IN THE MORNING WHEN THE CAR IS COLD IN THE COLD WEATHER IN WINTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2014 - TYRINGHAM, MA
I AM EXPERIENCING AN EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS. THIS BEGAN WINTER OF 2013, WHICH I HAD REPAIRED AT MY EXPENSE OF $700+, THOUGH MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME SUBARU WAS RECALLING THIS AND REPAIRING FOR FREE ON OTHER MODELS. I AM ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED THAT THIS PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING NOW WINTER OF 2014, IN A VEHICLE WHICH I DRIVE MY SMALL CHILDREN IN. THE GAS SMELL IS HORRIFIC, TOXIC, AND DANGEROUS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2014 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
THERE IS A PRONOUNCED, UNMISTAKABLE SMELL OF UNCOMBUSTED GASOLINE EMANATING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AS SOON AS THE CAR IS STARTED ON COOL OR COLD MORNINGS. THE FUMES ENTER THE PASSENGER CABIN THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. IT IS STRONG ENOUGH TO CAUSE HEADACHES AND REQUIRE LOWERING THE WINDOWS UNTIL IT DISSIPATES MINUTES LATER. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN, WELL DOCUMENTED PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET CAUSED BY DEFECTIVE FUEL LINES UNDER THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. GASOLINE IS LEAKING ONTO HOT ENGINE COMPONENTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2014 - STROUDSBURG, PA
I'VE OWNED MY 2004 FORESTER FOR 4 YEARS NOW AND NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THIS WINTER SEEMINGLY HAVING LONGER COLD SPELLS SEEMED TO INDUCE THE PROBLEM. THERE IS A STRONG FUEL SMELL IN THE VEHICLE, ESPECIALLY WHEN I TURN ON THE HEAT, WHICH IS A MAJOR ISSUE IN THE WINTER. I'VE READ A LITTLE ABOUT IT AND IT SEEMS MANY OTHER SUBARU OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2014 - RICHMOND, CA
FUEL LINES CRACK IN COLD WEATHER (APPROX UNDER 25 AND UNDER). STRONG FUEL SMELL IN CABIN WAS ENOUGH TO MAKE PASSENGERS ILL, CAR WAS NOT DRIVEABLE. FUEL WAS POOLING IN THE ENGINE BAY NEAR THE HOT TURBO AND EXHAUST SYSTEM. CONTACTED DEALERSHIP, SERVICE WRITER KNEW WHAT THE ISSUE WAS AS SOON AS I TOLD HIM MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR - SAID IT'S VERY COMMON. FOUND PAGES OF COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA SITE AND HUNDREDS IN FORUMS. SUBARU ISSUED A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE ON THE 2003 GENERATION WRX VEHICLES, BUT NOT THE FORESTERS. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEMS. SUBARU'S ARE PURCHASED AS IDEAL SNOW VEHICLE, AND REPAIRS COST UPWARD OF $600. THIS IS A DIRECT SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2014 - RICHMOND, CA
FUEL LINES CRACK IN COLD WEATHER (APPROX UNDER 25 AND UNDER). STRONG FUEL SMELL IN CABIN WAS ENOUGH TO MAKE PASSENGERS ILL, CAR WAS NOT DRIVEABLE. FUEL WAS POOLING IN THE ENGINE BAY NEAR THE HOT TURBO AND EXHAUST SYSTEM. CONTACTED DEALERSHIP, SERVICE WRITER KNEW WHAT THE ISSUE WAS AS SOON AS I TOLD HIM MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR - SAID IT'S VERY COMMON. FOUND PAGES OF COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA SITE AND HUNDREDS IN FORUMS. SUBARU ISSUED A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE ON THE 2003 GENERATION WRX VEHICLES, BUT NOT THE FORESTERS. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEMS. SUBARU'S ARE PURCHASED AS IDEAL SNOW VEHICLE, AND REPAIRS COST UPWARD OF $600. THIS IS A DIRECT SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/8/2014 - LONE TREE, CO
UPON START UP IN COLD WEATHER (BELOW FREEZING), THERE IS A STRONG SMELL OF RAW FUEL IN THE CABIN. AT TIMES IT IS UNBEARABLE NECESSITATING ROLLING DOWN THE WINDOWS, EVEN IN SUB-FREEZING TEMPERATURES. IT LOOKS LIKE FUEL IS LEAKING FROM SOMEWHERE IN THE ENGINE BAY. IT HAS HAPPENED REPEATEDLY AND I WORRY THE FUMES ARE DANGEROUS FOR NOT ONLY PASSENGERS' HEALTH, BUT ALSO IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds