Auto Recalls for Consumers

WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER - 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by WINNEBAGO

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/28/2014 - BANNING, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON INSPECTING THE MOTOR HOME IT WAS NOTICED THAT ALL FOUR ROTORS WERE DETERIORATED TO THE POINT OF POTENTIALLY FRACTURING INTERMITTENTLY. THE ROTORS WERE CRACKED AND THE MANUFACTURER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THE CONTACT WAS INCLUDED IN A SAFETY RECALL FOR THE CALIPERS. THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WOULD NOT REPLACE THE ROTORS WHICH WERE DETERIORATED AND CRACKED. THE CONTACT HAD TO ORDER THE PART FROM THE DEALER, WAIT FOR THE PART AND ONCE THE PART WAS AVAILABLE THE FOUR ROTORS WERE REPLACED. THE DEALER THEN COMPLETED THE RECALL REPAIR TO THE CALIPERS AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. DYD

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/18/2013 - SALEM, NJ
ON 09/13/13 I NOTICED AN ODOR OF GAS NEAR DRIVERS SIDE REAR TIRES. I SLID UNDER MOTORHOME AND NOTICED WET AREA ON GAS TANK. I INSPECTED THE GAS TANK AND FOUND GAS LEAKING FROM A SPOT WELD FOR THE INTERNAL BAFFLE IN THE GAS TANK. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT COULD CAUSE A FIRE, GENERATOR IS CLOSE BY. LEAK COULD ALSO BE IGNITED FROM A SPARK FROM A CAMPFIRE WHILE PARKED AT A CAMPGROUND.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/20/2011 - LIVINGSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER RV. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN THE CONTACT NOTICED FUEL LEAKING FROM THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A HOLE WITHIN AN INTERNAL WELD ON THE FUEL TANK. THE FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED. APPROXIMATELY THREE YEARS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO HAVE THE FAILURE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/8/2011 - EAGLE, WI
I OWN A 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER WPG38R. I INCURRED WHAT AMOUNTED TO A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM ON MY ON A GENERATOR, DIRECTLY CAUSED BY WINNEBAGO IGNORING ONAN'S "RECOMMENDED" INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. THOSE INSTRUCTIONS SPECIFICALLY STATE A SUPPORT BRACKET BE INSTALLED IF THE TAILPIPE ASSEMBLY IS MORE THAN 18" LONG. THE TAILPIPE ASSEMBLY ON THIS UNIT IS 25" LONG. THE FIX, IF CAUGHT EARLY ON COST ME $725.00. MY REAL CONCERN INVOLVES SAFETY. ONAN WARNS IN THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS " A HOT EXHAUST PIPE CAN CAUSE ---- SEVERE PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH. I ALSO ASSUME IT CAUSE CARBON MOXIDE POISONING OR HEAT/ FIRE DAMAGE TO THE MOTOR HOME. WINNEBAGO PUT IN WRITING TO ME THEY HAD ALL THEIR MODEL YEARS INSTALLATIONS APPROVED AND INSPECTED BY ONAN.. ONAN PUT IN WRITING TO ME THEY DIDN'T APPROVE OR INSPECT ANY INSTALLATIONS FOR ANY CUSTOMER. WHEN CONFRONTED WITH THIS INFORMATION, A WINNEBAGO CUSTOMER SERVICE REP ( BRIAN) TOLD ME THEN THE LACK OF THE SUPPORT INSTALLATION MUST HAVE BEEN APPROVED BY WINNEBAGO'S ENGINEERS. THEY ( WINNEBAGO) CONTINUED TO DENY ANY RESPONSIBILITY AS MY MOTOR HOME WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO ONAN'S WARRANTY THEY EXCLUDE ANY EXCEPTIONS TO THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. MY WARRANTY THEREFORE WAS VOIDED THE DAY WINNEAGO INSTALLED THE GENERATOR ON MY UNIT AND OTHERS OF SIMILAR LENGTH. A WINNEBAGO TECHNICAL SUPPORT MAN TOLD ME VERBALLY OVER THE PHONE THAT UNIT CERTAINLY SHOULD HAVE A SUPPOPRT BRACKET INSTALLED. HE THEN WENT ON WINNEBAGO'S MANUFACTURING INSTRUCTIONS FOR MY MODEL AND STATED HE WAS SURPRISED IT WASN'T INCLUDED IN THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. ONE OF THEIR INITIAL STATEMENTS TO ME OVER THE PHONE WAS "IF YOU THINK YOU'RE GETTING ANYTHING OUT OF WINNEBAGO, THINK AGAIN". THEY MAINTAINED THAT STANCE EVEN WHEN I SUBMITTED TO THEM THE SUPPORT INFORMATION I HAD COLLECTED THAT STATED THEY WERE AT FAULT. IT TOOK A LETTER FROM MY ATTORNEY AND A LOCAL TV STATION TO CHANGE THEIR MINDS AND REIMBURSE ME THE $725.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/8/2011 - EAGLE, WI
I OWN A 2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER WPG38R. I INCURRED WHAT AMOUNTED TO A PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM ON MY ON A GENERATOR, DIRECTLY CAUSED BY WINNEBAGO IGNORING ONAN'S "RECOMMENDED" INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. THOSE INSTRUCTIONS SPECIFICALLY STATE A SUPPORT BRACKET BE INSTALLED IF THE TAILPIPE ASSEMBLY IS MORE THAN 18" LONG. THE TAILPIPE ASSEMBLY ON THIS UNIT IS 25" LONG. THE FIX, IF CAUGHT EARLY ON COST ME $725.00. MY REAL CONCERN INVOLVES SAFETY. ONAN WARNS IN THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS " A HOT EXHAUST PIPE CAN CAUSE ---- SEVERE PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH. I ALSO ASSUME IT CAUSE CARBON MOXIDE POISONING OR HEAT/ FIRE DAMAGE TO THE MOTOR HOME. WINNEBAGO PUT IN WRITING TO ME THEY HAD ALL THEIR MODEL YEARS INSTALLATIONS APPROVED AND INSPECTED BY ONAN.. ONAN PUT IN WRITING TO ME THEY DIDN'T APPROVE OR INSPECT ANY INSTALLATIONS FOR ANY CUSTOMER. WHEN CONFRONTED WITH THIS INFORMATION, A WINNEBAGO CUSTOMER SERVICE REP ( BRIAN) TOLD ME THEN THE LACK OF THE SUPPORT INSTALLATION MUST HAVE BEEN APPROVED BY WINNEBAGO'S ENGINEERS. THEY ( WINNEBAGO) CONTINUED TO DENY ANY RESPONSIBILITY AS MY MOTOR HOME WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO ONAN'S WARRANTY THEY EXCLUDE ANY EXCEPTIONS TO THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. MY WARRANTY THEREFORE WAS VOIDED THE DAY WINNEAGO INSTALLED THE GENERATOR ON MY UNIT AND OTHERS OF SIMILAR LENGTH. A WINNEBAGO TECHNICAL SUPPORT MAN TOLD ME VERBALLY OVER THE PHONE THAT UNIT CERTAINLY SHOULD HAVE A SUPPOPRT BRACKET INSTALLED. HE THEN WENT ON WINNEBAGO'S MANUFACTURING INSTRUCTIONS FOR MY MODEL AND STATED HE WAS SURPRISED IT WASN'T INCLUDED IN THEIR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. ONE OF THEIR INITIAL STATEMENTS TO ME OVER THE PHONE WAS "IF YOU THINK YOU'RE GETTING ANYTHING OUT OF WINNEBAGO, THINK AGAIN". THEY MAINTAINED THAT STANCE EVEN WHEN I SUBMITTED TO THEM THE SUPPORT INFORMATION I HAD COLLECTED THAT STATED THEY WERE AT FAULT. IT TOOK A LETTER FROM MY ATTORNEY AND A LOCAL TV STATION TO CHANGE THEIR MINDS AND REIMBURSE ME THE $725.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/30/2010 - DENT, MN
WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS SAFETY RECALL 51101-C, REPLACEMENT OF BOSCH SERVICE BRAKE CALIPERS. DEALER INTENTIONALLY FAILED TO HAVE CALIPERS REPLACED PRIOR TO SALE OF VEHICLE. PURCHASER OF VEHICLE COMPLAINED TO DEALER THAT TIRES WERE BAD AND, AFTER REMOVING TIRES, THAT BRAKE PADS, CALIPERS AND ROTORS WERE ALSO BAD. DEALER REFUSED TO REMEDY ANY OF THE COMPLAINTS AND NEGLECTED TO INFORM PURCHASER OF VEHICLE OF THE SAFETY RECALL FOR NEARLY 2 WEEKS AFTER SALE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/17/2010 - RICHMOND, VA
THERE HAVE BEEN REPEATED ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR THE ABS SYSTEM ON MY CLASS A MOTORHOME,SINCE THE TIME OF PURCHASE, INCLUDING 1 MANUFACTURER RECALL ON THE ABS SYSTEM AND 2 RECALLS ON THE HYDRAULIC BRAKES. I HAVE COMPLETED ALL OF THE RECALL ORDERS AND ALSO HAD INTERMITTENT INSPECTIONS ON THE BRAKES. THIS MORNING I HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO A BRAKE FAILURE. THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WITHOUT SLOWING THE VEHICLE AND I WENT THROUGH A STOP SIGN, ACROSS A STATE HIGHWAY, OVER AN INCLINE AND THROUGH A FENCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/3/2009 - DELTONA, FL
THIS IS IN REFERENCE TO SAFETY RECALL 50901-C AN INTERIM NOTICE FROM WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS. MY MOTORHOME IS INVOLVED IN THIS RECALL. I EXPERIENCED BRAKE PROBLEM (OVER HEATING) RETURNING FROM A TRIP TO VIRGINIA IN SEPTEMBER 2009. I WAS ABLE TO GET HOME WITHOUT MAJOR PROBLEMS. THE MOTORHOME WAS REPAIRED WITH LIKE PARKS (SUBJECT TO FAILURE) PAID FOR BY WORKHORSE. WORKHORSE HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM GOING ON TWO YEARS AND CLAIMS TO BE HAVING PROBLEMS OBTAINING PARTS. IN THE MEAN TIME I AM RELUCTANT TO USE MY RV FOR FEAR OF BRAKE FAILURE AGAIN. I HAVE SPOKE WITH REPS FROM WORKHORSE AND THEY KEEP TELLING ME THAT PARTS WILL BE AVAILABLE SOON (FIRST IT WAS LATE SUMMER THEN FALL OR LATE WINTER AND NOW THEY TELL ME IT MAY SPRING). IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THEY ARE STALLING AND IN THE MEAN TIME I AM UNABLE (BECAUSE OF BRAKE FAILURE CONCERNS) TO USE MY RV. RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT SOMEONE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

VISIBILITY

10/26/2009 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING MY RV HOME FROM A TRIP WITH MY GRAND-DAUGHTER AND WAS TRAVELING ON A BUSY 2-LANE HIGHWAY. I WAS GOING APPROX. 50-55 MPH AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES FOR SLOWING TRAFFIC, THE PRIVACY CURTAIN (THE CURTAIN THAT COVERS THE WINDSHIELD AT NIGHT WHEN PARKED) PULLED LOOSE FROM THE WALL AND SLID FORWARD IN THE TRACK COVERING THE DRIVER'S HALF OF THE WINDSHIELD, BLOCKING MY VISION. I HELD THE STEERING WHEEL WITH ONE HAND AND MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE CURTAIN BACK SO THAT I COULD SEE WHERE I WAS GOING. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO SEE, I WAS ACROSS THE HIGHWAY CENTER LINE INTO THE ONCOMING LANE. THANKFULLY, THERE WAS NO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AT THAT MOMENT. I HELD THE CURTAIN BACK WITH ONE HAND AND HAD TO DRIVE SEVERAL MILES BEFORE I FOUND AN APPROPRIATE PLACE TO PULL OVER. ON CLOSER INSPECTION, THE CURTAIN STRAP WAS HELD IN PLACE WITH ONLY ONE SCREW INTO THIN WALL PANELING. THE SCREW WAS STRIPPED AND WHEN IT PULLED LOOSE FROM THE WALL THE CURTAIN RETAINING STRAP SLID TO THE FLOOR ALLOWING THE CURTAIN TO SPRING FORWARD IN THE TRACK. THERE WAS NO ANCHOR BEHIND THE WALL TO KEEP THE CURTAIN STRAP SECURED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/22/2009 - CENTRALIA, WA
2004 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER MHOME. W22 CHASSIS. 23,000 MILES LEFT REAR SIDE PASSENGER'S BRAKE SMOKING AND FROZE UP. TOOK TO WINNEBAGO DEALER -HAD IT CHECKED OUT ON 4/28/2009. ON MAY 14,2009 THE LEFT FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE SMOKED UP AND LOCKED UP. BRAKE FLUID BOILED AND CAUSED PLUG TO COME OUT OF HUB HOLDING AXLE GREASE. ON MAY 18, 2009 LEFT BRAKE SMOKED AND FROZE UP AGAIN -- SOFT MUSHY PEDAL WITH LEFT FRONT BRAKE SCREECHING NOISE. TOOK TO WINNEBAGO AUTHORIZED DEALER ON 20MAY2001. INSPECTED LEFT FRONT BRAKE AND SAID EVERYTHING WAS OK. PICKED UP VEHICLE ON MAY 22, 2001 AND LEFT FRONT BRAKE MUSHY AND BRAKE PETAL SUDDENLY DEPRESS ABOUT 3 INCHES AND THE LEFT FRONT BRAE GRABS AND PULLS TO THE LEFT. DEFINITELY A SERIOUS PROBLEM!!!!! SO MANY W22 WORKHORSE CHASSIS ON THE ROAD TODAY. WORKHORSE SHOULD REPLACE THE BRAKE CALIPERS IMMEDIATELY WITH THEIR IN STOCK REGULAR NEW CALIPERS UNTIL THE REFIT CALIPERS ARE READY IN THE FALL-2009.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds