Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2005 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2005 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (5) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Engine (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/3/2016 - NEW BRITAIN, CT
I REACHED OUT TO AUDI WHEN I RECEIVED AN EMAIL STATING RECALLS FOR MY CAR. I SPOKE TO 2 AUDI REPS AT THERE CALL CENTER WHOM BOTH STATED TO ME THAT I WAS WRONG ABOUT THE EMAIL I RECEIVED AND TO CHECK THIS SITE. ONCE I HAVE IT SHOWED AND STATED THE SAME RECALL THAT I RECEIVED AN EMAIL ABOUT. BUT ONCE I STATED THAT THE DEALER MAY NOT BE AWARE OF THE SCHEDULING OF THIS BUT BOTH REPS STATE THAT THE SITE BACKED BY AUTO TRADER AND KBB WAS INCORRECT. IT BOTHERS ME TO SEE THAT THIS COMPANY IS NOT AWARE OF THERE OWN DEFECTS WHICH MAKES ME WONDER WHAT ELSE IS EXTREMELY WRONG WITH THE CAR--------- ALSO AFTER SEEING THE RECALL MY PASSENGER LIGHT FOR THE AIRBAGS STARTED TO FLICKER WHEN NO ONE WAS IN THE CAR, WHICH LEAD TO SOME OTHER ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH MY CAR. MY WHOLE MMI INTERFACE MALFUNCTIONED TO WHERE ITS ONLY A BLACK SCREEN

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2016 - NEW BRITAIN, CT
I REACHED OUT TO AUDI WHEN I RECEIVED AN EMAIL STATING RECALLS FOR MY CAR. I SPOKE TO 2 AUDI REPS AT THERE CALL CENTER WHOM BOTH STATED TO ME THAT I WAS WRONG ABOUT THE EMAIL I RECEIVED AND TO CHECK THIS SITE. ONCE I HAVE IT SHOWED AND STATED THE SAME RECALL THAT I RECEIVED AN EMAIL ABOUT. BUT ONCE I STATED THAT THE DEALER MAY NOT BE AWARE OF THE SCHEDULING OF THIS BUT BOTH REPS STATE THAT THE SITE BACKED BY AUTO TRADER AND KBB WAS INCORRECT. IT BOTHERS ME TO SEE THAT THIS COMPANY IS NOT AWARE OF THERE OWN DEFECTS WHICH MAKES ME WONDER WHAT ELSE IS EXTREMELY WRONG WITH THE CAR--------- ALSO AFTER SEEING THE RECALL MY PASSENGER LIGHT FOR THE AIRBAGS STARTED TO FLICKER WHEN NO ONE WAS IN THE CAR, WHICH LEAD TO SOME OTHER ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH MY CAR. MY WHOLE MMI INTERFACE MALFUNCTIONED TO WHERE ITS ONLY A BLACK SCREEN

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2016 - NORTH CHICAGO, IL
TIMING CHAIN BROKE WHILE DRIVING HOME PARKED CAR IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/3/2016 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2005 AUDI A6 WHICH HAS A FAILURE OF THE REAR TAIL LIGHTS. BOTH THE DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER'S SIDE REAR TAIL LIGHTS FAIL TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON. THERE IS NO BRAKE LIGHT, TURN LIGHT INDICATOR, OR HAZARD LIGHTS THAT IS OPERABLE. AT FIRST IT WAS THOUGHT THAT THE BULBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HOWEVER, WHILE REPLACING THE BULB I NOTICED THAT THE CIRCUIT BOARD SHOWED SIGNS OF A BURNOUT. IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT AUDI HAS HAD A PROBLEM WITH VOLTAGE PROBLEMS WITH THE TAIL LIGHTS. WITHOUT TAIL LIGHTS, INDICATOR LIGHTS OR HAZARD LIGHTS THERE IS A SERIOUS CHANCE THAT AN ACCIDENT COULD OCCUR. CURRENTLY THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 112,000. AH

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2015 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
START ACCESS CONTROL UNIT (J518) MALFUNCTION. CAR WILL NOT START. AUDI DEALER CLAIMS THAT WHOLE STEERING COLUMN MUST BE REPLACED. QUOTE $2,400.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/15/2015 - STERLING, VA
VERY COMMON PROBLEM - "IGNITION MODULE DEFECTIVE" CODE AT 190,000 MILES. TEMPORARY REPAIR OF THE ISSUE WITH DTC RESET. FULL LOGGING OF CAR DATA VIA OBD-II PORT REVEALS ZERO FAULTS WHILE CAR IS RUNNING, AND DIAGNOSTIC TRAFFIC ON THE CAN BUS AT STARTUP SHOW ZERO FAULTS. ONCE KEY IS INSERTED IN DASH AND TURNED TO "ACCESSORY", MODULE FAULTS OUT WITHOUT ANY TRAFFIC SENT/RECEIVED. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND DEALERSHIP STATES THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. DEALERSHIP-ONLY REPAIR, PER MULTIPLE AUDI SERVICE TECHNICIANS, AUDI OF AMERICA REFUSES TO COMPLY WITH MASSACHUSETTS RIGHT TO REPAIR LAW BY MAKING AVAILABLE TO INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOPS, THE NECESSARY TOOLS AND EQUIPMENT TO ACCESS THE IMMOBILIZER HARDWARE. DEALER ESTIMATES/QUOTES RANGE FROM $2100-$3700 TO REPLACE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN WITH THE ATTACHED AND SEPARABLE IGNITION MODULE (ACCESSIBLE VIA 2 SCREWS AND 1 RIVET). DEALERSHIPS REFUSE TO REPLACE/RE-CODE ONLY THE IGNITION MODULE, STATING THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDS REPLACED. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER C6 BODY AUDI A6 OWNERS CONFIRM THE SAME DETAILS. NOTHING IS PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH OR MODULE, AND CLEARING DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES ALLOW THE VEHICLE TO START IMMEDIATELY. SUSPECT PLANNED OBSOLESCENCE OF THE PART IN QUESTION.

View Details

ENGINE

10/15/2015 - STERLING, VA
VERY COMMON PROBLEM - "IGNITION MODULE DEFECTIVE" CODE AT 190,000 MILES. TEMPORARY REPAIR OF THE ISSUE WITH DTC RESET. FULL LOGGING OF CAR DATA VIA OBD-II PORT REVEALS ZERO FAULTS WHILE CAR IS RUNNING, AND DIAGNOSTIC TRAFFIC ON THE CAN BUS AT STARTUP SHOW ZERO FAULTS. ONCE KEY IS INSERTED IN DASH AND TURNED TO "ACCESSORY", MODULE FAULTS OUT WITHOUT ANY TRAFFIC SENT/RECEIVED. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND DEALERSHIP STATES THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. DEALERSHIP-ONLY REPAIR, PER MULTIPLE AUDI SERVICE TECHNICIANS, AUDI OF AMERICA REFUSES TO COMPLY WITH MASSACHUSETTS RIGHT TO REPAIR LAW BY MAKING AVAILABLE TO INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOPS, THE NECESSARY TOOLS AND EQUIPMENT TO ACCESS THE IMMOBILIZER HARDWARE. DEALER ESTIMATES/QUOTES RANGE FROM $2100-$3700 TO REPLACE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN WITH THE ATTACHED AND SEPARABLE IGNITION MODULE (ACCESSIBLE VIA 2 SCREWS AND 1 RIVET). DEALERSHIPS REFUSE TO REPLACE/RE-CODE ONLY THE IGNITION MODULE, STATING THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDS REPLACED. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THE SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER C6 BODY AUDI A6 OWNERS CONFIRM THE SAME DETAILS. NOTHING IS PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH OR MODULE, AND CLEARING DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES ALLOW THE VEHICLE TO START IMMEDIATELY. SUSPECT PLANNED OBSOLESCENCE OF THE PART IN QUESTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2015 - PAW PAW , MI
MY CAR WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY, NEXT TIME I WENT TO DRIVE IT, IT WOULDN'T START. THE WHEELS AND SHIFTER ARE LOCKED UP .THE LIGHTS AND BELLS WORK, BUT IT TURNS OUT THAT THE MODULE THAT RECOGNIZES THE KEY HAS FAILED. I HAVE BEEN ON JUST ABOUT EVERY AUDI FORUM TO INVESTIGATE THIS, AND THIS IS AN INCREDIBLY COMMON COMPLAINT. THE PART THAT IS BROKE CANNOT BE FIXED, RATHER THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN HAS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF AT LEAST $2000, IN SOME CASES OVER $3000. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS DESIGN DEFECT AND AUDI NEEDS TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE. PAYING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A MODULE THAT FAILS TO RECOGNIZE A KEY IS BEYOND RIDICULOUS. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS WHATSOEVER TO INDICATE THAT THIS PART WAS FAILING. LUCKILY IT IS CURRENTLY STUCK IN MY DRIVEWAY. IT COULD HAVE LEFT ME STRANDED ANYWHERE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2015 - HIGHLAND PARK, IL
ENGINEERING FLAW LEAD TO EXTRAORDINARY EXPENSE REPLACING THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN INSTEAD OF JUST THE MODULE THAT FAILED. DOING SOME REVIEWS ON-LINE - SEEMS TO BE A WELL KNOWN AND COMMON PROBLEM BUT AUDI DOES NOT WANT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT - HTTP://WWW.AUDIWORLD.COM/FORUMS/A6-S6-C6-PLATFORM-DISCUSSION-58/TRANSPONDER-STEERING-COLUMN-2834070/ MILLAGE LISTED AS APPROX SINCE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW.

View Details

STEERING

8/31/2015 - HIGHLAND PARK, IL
ENGINEERING FLAW LEAD TO EXTRAORDINARY EXPENSE REPLACING THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN INSTEAD OF JUST THE MODULE THAT FAILED. DOING SOME REVIEWS ON-LINE - SEEMS TO BE A WELL KNOWN AND COMMON PROBLEM BUT AUDI DOES NOT WANT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT - HTTP://WWW.AUDIWORLD.COM/FORUMS/A6-S6-C6-PLATFORM-DISCUSSION-58/TRANSPONDER-STEERING-COLUMN-2834070/ MILLAGE LISTED AS APPROX SINCE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds