Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 645CI - 2005 BMW 645CI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2005 BMW 645CI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 BMW 645CI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 BMW 645CI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seats (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Structure (2)
Electrical System (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes (1) Steering (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2014 - PERRY HALL, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 645CI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 30 MPH UP A HILL, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED THE BRAKE BOOSTER , THE VACUUM PUMP, THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER, THE VACUUM LINE, THE BRAKE VACUUM PUMP, AND THE BRAKE VACUUM GASKET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V446000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,290.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - PIKESVILLE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY BMW 645 FAULT MESSAGE DISPLAYED (TRANSMISSION RELATED MALFUNCTION,DRIVE MODERATELY). AFTER THAT,THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON,ALONG WITH A NEW FAULT MESSAGE THAT DISPLAYED (INCREASED EMISSION). AFTER THAT, THE CAR SPEED ABRUPTLY WENT FROM 60, TO (WHAT FELT LIKE FIRST GEAR),THEN JUST CUT OFF!! THERE WERE CARS AND TRUCKS ALL AROUND ME,DOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 60 OR HIGHER,JUST MISSING ME,WHILE I'M SITTING STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY!! I PROCEEDED TO RESTART THE CAR,AND IT STARTED, WITH NO FAULT MESSAGES;NO SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT; AND DROVE FINE FOR A FEW DAYS,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I TOOK THE CAR TO A BMW REPAIR SHOPPED TO HAVE THE FAULT CODES READ, WHICH END UP BEING A LONG LIST OF CODES, THAT THE MECHANICS COULD NOT FIND THE REAL CAUSE OF THE ISSUE. SO,I HAD THE SHOP REPLACE MY SPARK PLUGS; IGNITION COIL; AND RESET THE COMPUTER CODES. THE CAR DROVE OKAY FOR ABOUT A MONTH,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO,THIS PROBLEM COULD CAUSE ME TO END UP IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT,I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR!! AS OF 07/06/2014, MY BMW 645 IS OFTEN SHOWING FALSE; LOW OIL MESSAGE; INCREASE EMISSION; TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION; AND CLEAR AFTER TURNING CAR OFF, AND RESTARTING THE CAR!! I AM SO CONFUSED ABOUT THIS BMW 645!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - PIKESVILLE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY BMW 645 FAULT MESSAGE DISPLAYED (TRANSMISSION RELATED MALFUNCTION,DRIVE MODERATELY). AFTER THAT,THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON,ALONG WITH A NEW FAULT MESSAGE THAT DISPLAYED (INCREASED EMISSION). AFTER THAT, THE CAR SPEED ABRUPTLY WENT FROM 60, TO (WHAT FELT LIKE FIRST GEAR),THEN JUST CUT OFF!! THERE WERE CARS AND TRUCKS ALL AROUND ME,DOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 60 OR HIGHER,JUST MISSING ME,WHILE I'M SITTING STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY!! I PROCEEDED TO RESTART THE CAR,AND IT STARTED, WITH NO FAULT MESSAGES;NO SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT; AND DROVE FINE FOR A FEW DAYS,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I TOOK THE CAR TO A BMW REPAIR SHOPPED TO HAVE THE FAULT CODES READ, WHICH END UP BEING A LONG LIST OF CODES, THAT THE MECHANICS COULD NOT FIND THE REAL CAUSE OF THE ISSUE. SO,I HAD THE SHOP REPLACE MY SPARK PLUGS; IGNITION COIL; AND RESET THE COMPUTER CODES. THE CAR DROVE OKAY FOR ABOUT A MONTH,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO,THIS PROBLEM COULD CAUSE ME TO END UP IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT,I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR!! AS OF 07/06/2014, MY BMW 645 IS OFTEN SHOWING FALSE; LOW OIL MESSAGE; INCREASE EMISSION; TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION; AND CLEAR AFTER TURNING CAR OFF, AND RESTARTING THE CAR!! I AM SO CONFUSED ABOUT THIS BMW 645!!

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2014 - PIKESVILLE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY BMW 645 FAULT MESSAGE DISPLAYED (TRANSMISSION RELATED MALFUNCTION,DRIVE MODERATELY). AFTER THAT,THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON,ALONG WITH A NEW FAULT MESSAGE THAT DISPLAYED (INCREASED EMISSION). AFTER THAT, THE CAR SPEED ABRUPTLY WENT FROM 60, TO (WHAT FELT LIKE FIRST GEAR),THEN JUST CUT OFF!! THERE WERE CARS AND TRUCKS ALL AROUND ME,DOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 60 OR HIGHER,JUST MISSING ME,WHILE I'M SITTING STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY!! I PROCEEDED TO RESTART THE CAR,AND IT STARTED, WITH NO FAULT MESSAGES;NO SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT; AND DROVE FINE FOR A FEW DAYS,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I TOOK THE CAR TO A BMW REPAIR SHOPPED TO HAVE THE FAULT CODES READ, WHICH END UP BEING A LONG LIST OF CODES, THAT THE MECHANICS COULD NOT FIND THE REAL CAUSE OF THE ISSUE. SO,I HAD THE SHOP REPLACE MY SPARK PLUGS; IGNITION COIL; AND RESET THE COMPUTER CODES. THE CAR DROVE OKAY FOR ABOUT A MONTH,AND THEN DID THE SAME THING AGAIN!! I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO,THIS PROBLEM COULD CAUSE ME TO END UP IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT,I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR!! AS OF 07/06/2014, MY BMW 645 IS OFTEN SHOWING FALSE; LOW OIL MESSAGE; INCREASE EMISSION; TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION; AND CLEAR AFTER TURNING CAR OFF, AND RESTARTING THE CAR!! I AM SO CONFUSED ABOUT THIS BMW 645!!

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WATER STARTED LEAKING FROM THE CAR AND ONCE CHECKED FOUND THAT THE ALUMINUM PIPE UNDER THE INTAKE HAD A CRACKED IN IT AND HAD TO REPLACE THE PIPE WITH A NEW METAL PIPE, WHICH COST ME 1500.00 AND THE BMW MECHANIC STATES MOST OF ALL THESE CARS EXPERIENCE THIS SAME PROBLEM, WHICH CAN LOCK UP YOUR MOTOR OR CRACKED THE HEADS ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2014 - RANCHO SANTA FE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 645 CI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DRIVER+S DOOR ERRONEOUSLY OPENED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2014 - PARLIN, NJ
PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILURE - BEEN DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH AND IT SEEMS LIKE BUNCH OF PPL GET THIS ERROR. I DON'T THINK IS NORMAL BECAUSE MY PASSENGER SEAT IS RARELY USED AND YET I'M GETTING THAT ERROR. MY CAR IS IN MINT CONDITION, NEVER ABUSED AND ALWAYS TAKEN CARED OF. LAST TIME I WAS AT THE DEALER THEY TOLD ME THAT THE ALTERNATOR MAKES THE COMPUTER GIVE OUT THAT ERROR SO I CHANGED THE ALTERNATOR AND THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILURE ERROR IS STILL THERE. I BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE 6SERIES MODELS CONSIDERING THAT BMW HAD SIMILAR RECALLS FOR THEIR 3, 5 AND X SERIES MODELS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/20/2014 - PARLIN, NJ
PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILURE - BEEN DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH AND IT SEEMS LIKE BUNCH OF PPL GET THIS ERROR. I DON'T THINK IS NORMAL BECAUSE MY PASSENGER SEAT IS RARELY USED AND YET I'M GETTING THAT ERROR. MY CAR IS IN MINT CONDITION, NEVER ABUSED AND ALWAYS TAKEN CARED OF. LAST TIME I WAS AT THE DEALER THEY TOLD ME THAT THE ALTERNATOR MAKES THE COMPUTER GIVE OUT THAT ERROR SO I CHANGED THE ALTERNATOR AND THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILURE ERROR IS STILL THERE. I BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE 6SERIES MODELS CONSIDERING THAT BMW HAD SIMILAR RECALLS FOR THEIR 3, 5 AND X SERIES MODELS.

View Details

WHEELS

4/30/2013 - FOREST HILLS, NY
2005 BMW 645CI. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SETTLEMENT REIMBURSEMENT FOR TWO WHEEL REPLACEMENTS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, TWO OF THE WHEELS CONTAINED SEVERAL CRACKS ON THE INNER LIP OF THE WHEEL, WHICH CAUSED HIM TO LOOSE DANGEROUS AMOUNTS OF TIRE PRESSURE ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS.

View Details

SEATS

2/21/2013 - RESTON, VA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 BMW 645 CI YESTERDAY, I NOTICED A STRONG BURN SMELL IN MY CAR. I THOUGHT IT WAS OUTSIDE UNTIL I EXPERIENCED THE SAME ODOR TODAY WHEN I TURNED ON MY SEAT WARMER. AFTER SOME INVESTIGATION, I'VE DISCOVERED THERE IS SMALL HOLE ON MY LEATHER SEAT. APPARENTLY, THE SEAT WARMER BURNT THROUGH THE LEATHER SEAT CAUSING THE SMELL. THIS HAVE GOT TO BE A DEFECT, HOW CAN BMW ENGINEER A PRODUCT THAT COULD POTENTIALLY CATCH ON FIRE. 02/20/2013 .... UPDATED 03/08/13 THE CONSUMER REQUESTED TO HAVE THE COMPLAINT DELETED FROM OUR DATABASE. UPDATED 03/11/13 UPDATED 3/13/13

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds