Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 745LI - 2005 BMW 745LI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 18 complaints filed for the 2005 BMW 745LI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 BMW 745LI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 BMW 745LI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (2)
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Parking Brake (1) Seats (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - SAVANNAH, GA
MY VEHICLE STALLS IN TRAFFIC AND ONCE IT CUTS OFF THERE IS NO WAY TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL. A POLICE TRIED TO HELP ME OUT AND TOLD ME THAT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I KEEP HAVING THIS PROBLEM ESPECIALLY WHEN I'M DRIVING ON HIGHWAYS ONCE IT CUTS OFF THERE'S NO WAY FOR ME TO STEER OFF OF THE ROAD. IT'S FRIGHTENING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2013 - OAKLAND , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH AND ATTEMPTING A TURN, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAYED THAT THE DOORS WERE CLOSED. THE SOFT CLOSE AUTOMATIC OPTION FAILED AND THE CONTACT HAD TO SLAM THE DOOR IN ORDER FOR IT TO PROPERLY CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP FOR EMISSIONS INSPECTION AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE CRANK CASE VENTILATION VALVES HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIR WAS NOT PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V504000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES), HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2013 - OAKLAND , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH AND ATTEMPTING A TURN, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAYED THAT THE DOORS WERE CLOSED. THE SOFT CLOSE AUTOMATIC OPTION FAILED AND THE CONTACT HAD TO SLAM THE DOOR IN ORDER FOR IT TO PROPERLY CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP FOR EMISSIONS INSPECTION AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE CRANK CASE VENTILATION VALVES HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIR WAS NOT PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V504000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES), HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/19/2012 - DAVENPORT, IA
I TOOK MY 745LI TO THE ONLY BMW SERVICE CENTER IN DAVENPORT, IA FOR SERVICE AND THEY COULD NOT OPEN THE HOOD BY USING THE LATCH INSIDE THE CAR NOR COULD THEY OPEN IT BY ANY OTHER MEANS. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT LED UP TO THIS ISSUE, IT JUST HAPPENED. THEY FAILED ONCE AGAIN TO OPEN THE HOOD THE NEXT TIME I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR A SERVICE SO I ASKED THEM TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY STATED IT WAS NOT SOMETHING COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY, SO I WAS FORCED TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. THEY STATED THAT THEY HAD TO REMOVE MY FRONT TIRE IN ORDER TO OPEN THE HOOD AND THAT THE FAULTY PART WAS THE MECHANISM THAT CONNECTS WITH THE LATCH AND HOOD. I PAID OVER $3K FOR AN EXTENSIVE WARRANTY, SO I WAS LIVID THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WAS NOT COVERED. I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR NEW PARTS, REPAIRS AND OF COURSE LABOR. I KEEP MY VEHICLE IN TIP-TOP CONDITION AND I EVEN KEEP IT IN STORAGE DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT, IT WAS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD. FOR A $80K CAR; I EXPECTED MORE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

12/19/2012 - DAVENPORT, IA
I TOOK MY 745LI TO THE ONLY BMW SERVICE CENTER IN DAVENPORT, IA FOR SERVICE AND THEY COULD NOT OPEN THE HOOD BY USING THE LATCH INSIDE THE CAR NOR COULD THEY OPEN IT BY ANY OTHER MEANS. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT LED UP TO THIS ISSUE, IT JUST HAPPENED. THEY FAILED ONCE AGAIN TO OPEN THE HOOD THE NEXT TIME I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR A SERVICE SO I ASKED THEM TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY STATED IT WAS NOT SOMETHING COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY, SO I WAS FORCED TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. THEY STATED THAT THEY HAD TO REMOVE MY FRONT TIRE IN ORDER TO OPEN THE HOOD AND THAT THE FAULTY PART WAS THE MECHANISM THAT CONNECTS WITH THE LATCH AND HOOD. I PAID OVER $3K FOR AN EXTENSIVE WARRANTY, SO I WAS LIVID THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WAS NOT COVERED. I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR NEW PARTS, REPAIRS AND OF COURSE LABOR. I KEEP MY VEHICLE IN TIP-TOP CONDITION AND I EVEN KEEP IT IN STORAGE DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT, IT WAS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD. FOR A $80K CAR; I EXPECTED MORE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/29/2012 - CARDOVA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 745LI. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE HAD A ROUGH IDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED TO THE CONTACT THAT THE ENGINE AIR LINES WOULD HAVE TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT PASS THE STATE EMISSION TEST BECAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/13/2012 - NORTH PERGEN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 745 LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 04V379000 (SEATS).THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 102,300.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/7/2011 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING FROM A GARAGE, OIL WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER PERFORMED REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V446000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:VACUUM) BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2011 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
A FULL WARNING MESSAGE APPEARING IN THE IDRIVE WAS FAULT IN PASS.-RESTRAINT SYSTEM AFFECTING AIRBAG, BELT TENSIONER OR BELT-FORCE LIMITER. FASTEN AND CONTINUE TO WEAR BELTS. PLEASE CONTACT THE NEAREST BMW CENTER. NOW THE SEAT BELT /AIR BAG FAIL LIGHT STAYS ON AND PROVIDE A WARNING UPON START-UP.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/5/2011 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
A FULL WARNING MESSAGE APPEARING IN THE IDRIVE WAS FAULT IN PASS.-RESTRAINT SYSTEM AFFECTING AIRBAG, BELT TENSIONER OR BELT-FORCE LIMITER. FASTEN AND CONTINUE TO WEAR BELTS. PLEASE CONTACT THE NEAREST BMW CENTER. NOW THE SEAT BELT /AIR BAG FAIL LIGHT STAYS ON AND PROVIDE A WARNING UPON START-UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds