Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COLORADO - 2005 CHEVROLET COLORADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 336 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET COLORADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET COLORADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET COLORADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (63) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (65) Exterior Lighting (50) Seat Belts (10) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Structure (13) Visibility (11)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (20) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (16) Wheels (2)
Equipment (6) Parking Brake (8) Service Brakes Electric (8) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2019 - PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL
WIRING FOR TURNSIGNALS MELTS DOWN. THERE IS A WIRE HARNESS WITH A CONNECTOR AT THE TURN FRONT SIGNALS, THE WIRE GAUGE IS IN ADEQAUTE AND CAUSEA EXCESSIVE HEAT BUILD-UP THIS CAUSES THE WIRES AND CONNECTORS TO THE FRONT TURN SIGNALS TO MELT DOWN AND THE TURN SIGNALS BECOME INOPERABLE. I HAVE REPLACED THESE COMPONENTS TWICE DUE TO THIA ISSUE. THE RESISTOR PACK FOR AIR CONDITIONING BLOWER FAN SPEED CONTROL MELTS AND CATCHES FIRE. I HAVE REPLACED THIS PART TWICE AND ULTIMATELY HAVE BYPASSED THE RESISTOR PACK LEAVING THE AC BLOWER WITH ONLY THE CHOICE OF HIGH SPEED OR OFF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2019 - PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL
WIRING FOR TURNSIGNALS MELTS DOWN. THERE IS A WIRE HARNESS WITH A CONNECTOR AT THE TURN FRONT SIGNALS, THE WIRE GAUGE IS IN ADEQAUTE AND CAUSEA EXCESSIVE HEAT BUILD-UP THIS CAUSES THE WIRES AND CONNECTORS TO THE FRONT TURN SIGNALS TO MELT DOWN AND THE TURN SIGNALS BECOME INOPERABLE. I HAVE REPLACED THESE COMPONENTS TWICE DUE TO THIA ISSUE. THE RESISTOR PACK FOR AIR CONDITIONING BLOWER FAN SPEED CONTROL MELTS AND CATCHES FIRE. I HAVE REPLACED THIS PART TWICE AND ULTIMATELY HAVE BYPASSED THE RESISTOR PACK LEAVING THE AC BLOWER WITH ONLY THE CHOICE OF HIGH SPEED OR OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2019 - HAYSVILLE, KS
I AM EXPERIENCING AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WHERE THE PASSLOCK SYSTEM FAILS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE TO WAIT 15 MINUTES FOR IT TO TIME OUT. THERE ARE FORUMS WITH THIS MODEL OF TRUCK THAT STATE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM BUT I HAVE FOUND NO RECALL ON IT. I HAVE FOUND THAT THE IGNITION AND BODY CONTROL MODULES WERE TO BLAME AND CURRENTLY DEALERS ARE CHARGING UPWARD OF $1100 TO REPAIR. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE DUE TO THE WIDESPREAD PROBLEM AND THAT IT IS A KNOWN DEFECT SPECIFIC TO THIS MODEL OF TRUCK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/31/2019 - MOKENA, IL
BOTH THE RIGHT AND LEFT SIDE FRAME RAILS ARE SERIOUSLY DETERIORATED WITH LARGE AMOUNTS OF THE STEEL MISSING. THE REMAINING FRAME IS HEAVILY RUSTED. THE FRONT OF THE TRUCK BED IS BEGINNING TO SINK DUE TO THE MISSING FRAME STEEL. THERE IS A REAL POSSIBILITY OF CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE FRAME WHICH WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/29/2019 - YORK, PA
MY VEHICLE FAILED STATE INSPECTION DUE TO EXCESSIVE RUST RESULTING IN HOLES IN THE FRAME CROSS MEMBER. THE RUST AND HOLES COMPROMISED THE VEHICLE SO BADLY THAT IT COULD HAVE EASILY BROKEN APART AND CAUSE CATASTROPHIC LOSS OF CONTROL. I THINK THAT THE FRAMES FOR SOME COLORADO WERE MANUFACTURED WITH STEEL THAT WAS NOT UP TO SPECIFICATION, MORE PRECISELY THE STEELS CHEMICAL CONTENT WAS INCORRECT. THIS CAUSED THE FRAME TO DETERIORATE TO THE POINT OF CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. FROM WHAT I GLEANED FROM THE INTERNET MODEL YEARS 2004 ,2005, AND 2006 WERE AFFECTED BY THIS DEFECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

2/4/2019 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET COLORADO. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BUMPING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE INTO A PARKING LOT AND NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE WAS LEANING OUT. THE CONTACT REMOVED THE TIRE AND NOTICED THE ENTIRE FRAME WAS CORRODED THROUGH THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/22/2019 - WAKEFIELD, RI
TAKATA RECALL MY FRAME RAILS ARE ROTTED THUR MAKING TRUCK NOT DRIVEABLE, DEALER ALSO AGREEDED AND SENT PAPERS TO GM, IN WITCH THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO NOTHING, I LOST A TRUCK WITH ONLY 89.000 MILES AND NO BODY ROT WITCH I HAD PLANED ON KEEPING FOR YEARS TO COME

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/11/2018 - STOW, OH
DRIVING ON EXPRESSWAY AT 65 MPH. TRUCK SEEMED TO LOCK UP PARKING BRAKE AND BEGAN TO SWERVE. CAR BEHIND ME TRIED TO AVOID HITTING ME AND SWERVED INTO OTHER LANE, BARELY MISSING A COLLISION HIMSELF. NURSED TRUCK HOME. TOOK TO MY MECHANIC AND EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED. IN THE PARKING LOT OF SERVICE CENTER HE CRAWLED UNDER TO CHECK PARKING BRAKE CABLE AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED MY FRAME HAD BROKEN ON BOTH SIDES! THIS TRUCK, SERIOUSLY, IS IN SHOW ROOM CONDITION. MECHANIC CHECKED ROCKER PANELS, FENDERS, UNDER BED AND FLOORBOARDS AND SAID THERE IS NO RUST ANYWHERE EXCEPT ON YOUR FRAME. I BABY THIS TRUCK AS I AM 71, RETIRED, ON PENSION AND SOCIAL SECURITY AND VET. THIS CAR IS WASHED AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK AND IN THE WINTER IT GETS WASHED TWICE A WEEK. IT HAS BEEN WAXED ELEVEN TIME IN THE PAST YEAR, AUGUST OF 2017 THRU SEPTEMBER OF 2018. MANUFACTURES RECOMMENDED SERVICES ARE ALL UP TO DATE OR EVEN EXCEEDED. INTERNET SHOWS THIS AS A COMPLAINT WITH MANY 2004 - 2006 COLORADO HAVING RUSTED OUT FRAMES AND GMC IS NOT WILLING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THEY SHOULD LEARN FROM TOYOTA HOW THEY TOOK CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS WITH RUSTED OUT FRAMES. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. WHEN THESE FRAMES BREAK AS MIN DID IT SLOWS DOWN QUICKLY AND WILL SWERVE. I THINK THE SLOW DOWN IS CAUSED PROBABLY WITH THE TWISTING OF THE BODY OR THE BED AND POSSIBLE STRAIN ON THE DIFFERENTIAL OR AXLE. JUST A GUESS. LUCKILY, THE CAR BEHIND ME WAS ABLE TO SWERVE OUT OF MY WAY, BUT JUST ABOUT HIT A PERSON IN THE LANE HE SWERVED INTO.THIS TRUCK IS GARAGE KEPT AND I ONLY AVERAGE ABOUT 4000 TO 5,000 MILE A YEAR. AND SERIOUSLY THIS TRUCK LOOKS LIKE IT CAME OFF THE SHOW ROOM FLOOR.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2018 - TULSA, OK
MULTI CYLINDER COMPRESSION FAILURE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2018 - FARMINGTON, CT
HELLO, I JUST PURCHASED A USED VEHICLE AND IT HAS THE SAME PASSCODE PROBLEM THAT MY 2000 EXPRESS VAN HAS. THIS IS A SUBSTANTIAL PROBLEM AND GM IS NOT OWNING UP TO THE PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE A FIX FOR IT. HOW LONG ARE YOU GOING TO IGNORE THAT ++TIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION HAVING TO WAIT 10 MIN. COULD BE LIFE THREATENING. ALL I WANT IS THE 05 COLORADO TO WORK, I+LL BE SELLING THE VAN AND PASSING THE PROBLEM TO SOMEONE ELSE. TIME TO STAND BEHIND YOUR VEHICLES, THIS WILL BE MY LAST GM VEHICLE IF YOU WON+T FIX IT. AFTER 30 YEARS OF LOYALTY YOU SHOULD HAVE MY BACK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds