Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (38) Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/9/2016 - PLYMOUTH, IN
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT IMPACT TO THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG RELEASED INTO THE CONTACT'S FACE AND CAUSED HIM TO CRASH INTO A PARKED, UNOCCUPIED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED FROM SWELLING TO THE FACE AND MOUTH AREA THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/25/2015 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO START AND THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING AND NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,700.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2015 - HARLINGEN, TX
THE IGNITION CYLINDER ON MY 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC FAILED, AND THE KEY COMES OUT OF THE IGNITION IN THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE GENERAL MOTORS RECALL TO MAKE THE KEY HOLE SMALLER ON THE KEY ITSELF TO FIX IGNITION PROBLEMS IS AN INCOMPLETE REPAIR. UPON CONTACTING GM ABOUT THE IGNITION PROBLEM, THEY IMMEDIATELY TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, AND THEY HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO GILLMAN CHEVROLET HARLINGEN AT THEIR EXPENSE, BUT SO FAR GM HAS REFUSED TO MAKE A COMPLETE REPAIR TO THE IGNITION. GM MAINTAINS THAT THE RECALL TO THE IGNITION PROBLEM IS ONLY TO FIX THE KEY HOLE, AND DOES NOT WANT TO AUTHORIZE A COMPLETE REPAIR FOR THE IGNITION FAILURE. ALSO, THE SHIFTER SELENOID HAS FAILED, AND THE KEY WON'T RETURN TO THE OFF POSITION. THE THEFT SYSTEM ALSO FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE AND WON'T ALLOW THE CAR TO TURN ON. WHEN THE THEFT SYSTEM FAILS, THE ONLY WAY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IS TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION FOR 10 MINUTES WHICH THEN RESETS THE THEFT SYSTEM. GM IS BUILDING SUBSTANDARD VEHICLES AND WON'T MAKE COMPLETE REPAIRS ON THE FAULTY IGNITIONS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR GM CUSTOMERS AND AFTER A WEEK OF TRYING TO GET GM ASSISTANCE TO REPAIR MY IGNITION PROBLEM, THE GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE HAS NOT RETURNED MY CALLS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2015 - HARLINGEN, TX
THE IGNITION CYLINDER ON MY 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC FAILED, AND THE KEY COMES OUT OF THE IGNITION IN THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE GENERAL MOTORS RECALL TO MAKE THE KEY HOLE SMALLER ON THE KEY ITSELF TO FIX IGNITION PROBLEMS IS AN INCOMPLETE REPAIR. UPON CONTACTING GM ABOUT THE IGNITION PROBLEM, THEY IMMEDIATELY TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, AND THEY HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO GILLMAN CHEVROLET HARLINGEN AT THEIR EXPENSE, BUT SO FAR GM HAS REFUSED TO MAKE A COMPLETE REPAIR TO THE IGNITION. GM MAINTAINS THAT THE RECALL TO THE IGNITION PROBLEM IS ONLY TO FIX THE KEY HOLE, AND DOES NOT WANT TO AUTHORIZE A COMPLETE REPAIR FOR THE IGNITION FAILURE. ALSO, THE SHIFTER SELENOID HAS FAILED, AND THE KEY WON'T RETURN TO THE OFF POSITION. THE THEFT SYSTEM ALSO FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE AND WON'T ALLOW THE CAR TO TURN ON. WHEN THE THEFT SYSTEM FAILS, THE ONLY WAY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IS TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION FOR 10 MINUTES WHICH THEN RESETS THE THEFT SYSTEM. GM IS BUILDING SUBSTANDARD VEHICLES AND WON'T MAKE COMPLETE REPAIRS ON THE FAULTY IGNITIONS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR GM CUSTOMERS AND AFTER A WEEK OF TRYING TO GET GM ASSISTANCE TO REPAIR MY IGNITION PROBLEM, THE GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE HAS NOT RETURNED MY CALLS.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2015 - SAINT ANN, MO
STEARING MAKES A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING AND I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY RAC N PINION AND SEVERAL COMPLAINT WERE REPORTED TO HIGHWAY SAFETY ABOUT THIS MATTER,

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2015 - OROFINO, ID
MY CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC 2005 RANDOMLY DOES NOT START. IN MOST VEHICLES WHEN YOU START A VEHICLE ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS TURN THE KEY, THAT IS NOT THE CASE WITH THIS CAR, YOU FIRST HAVE TO TURN THE KEY AND LISTEN FOR THE FUEL PUMP TO ENGAGE THEN AND ONLY IF YOU HEAR THAT CAN YOU TURN THE KEY THE REST OF THE WAY TO START YOUR VEHICLE. IF YOU DO NOT HEAR THE FUEL PUMP AND GO AHEAD AND TRY TO START THE VEHICLE YOU TRIGGER THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW THE CAR TO START FOR ANOTHER 15 MINUTES. WHILE THIS IS NOT MUCH OF A SAFETY ISSUE IT IS STILL A HUGE ISSUE, LEAVING ME STRANDED, SOMETIMES STUCK IN A HOT CAR JUST TRYING TO GET IT TO START, MADE ME LATE FOR WORK AND OTHER FUNCTIONS NUMEROUS TIMES. AFTER WAITING YOUR 15 MINUTES YOUR VEHICLE STILL MAY NOT START. IF YOU HAVE ENOUGH PATIENTS YOU CAN SET THERE AND TURN THE KEY OFF AND ON UNTIL YOU HEAR THE FUEL PUMP ENGAGE. EVERYTHING ELSE IN THE VEHICLE WORKS RADIO, LIGHTS ETC. IT JUST DOES NOT START. LEAVING ME TO BELIEVE THE IGNITION IS TO BLAME, AND HERE RECENTLY I WILL TURN THE KEY AND ABSOLUTELY NOTHING HAPPENS. I THEN TRY AGAIN AND IT STARTS LIKE A CHARM UNTIL ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO AND I COULD NOT GET IT TO DO ANYTHING, MY BOYFRIEND INFORMED ME TO TURN THE KEY AND PUT THE CAR IN THE NEUTRAL POSITION AND TRY TO START IT AGAIN THIS WORKED. ALL I KNOW IS THIS CAR HAS GIVEN ME MANY PROBLEMS THAT MY GM CERTIFIED MECHANIC FATHER IS SHORT OF FIGURING OUT. I BELIEVE IT IS DUE TO FAULTY PARTS OR JUST A BAD MAKE OF CAR. THE ONLY THING I COULD DISPUTE THAT IS WHEN IT IS ACTUALLY STARTING, NOT SHUTTING DOWN ON ME IT IS A REASONABLY GOOD VEHICLE. IT GETS ME FROM POINT A TO POINT B NOT ALWAYS SAFELY OR RELIABLY BUT AT LEAST I HAVE A VEHICLE I JUST WHICH GM WOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR PART IN THIS CARS ISSUES. OR AT LEAST INFORM THE PUBLIC IN HOW TO FIX THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2015 - OROFINO, ID
AFTER TAKING MY CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC 2005 INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE RECALL IN WHICH THEY PUT INSERTS ON MY KEY AND A KING RING, RIDICULOUS IF YOU ASK ME, MY CAR HAS NOW DONE THE SAME THING THREE MORE TIMES I THOUGHT THE RECALL WAS SUPPOSE TO FIX. WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS ( 60 MPH., 45 MPH., 20 MPH) MY CARS SHUTS OFF AS IF I TURNED THE KEY OFF. MY POWER STEERING, BRAKES ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS ARE EFFECTED. I HAVE TO THEN TURN MY KEY TO THE OFF POSITION AND AGAIN START MY CAR TO CONTINUE DRIVING. IT DOES THIS WITH NO WARNING, WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HIGHWAY, WHILE TURNING, WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL WHICH ARE ALL VERY MUCH SAFETY ISSUES. DRIVING 60 ON A HIGHWAY AND THE CAR SHUTS DOWN LEAVING YOU WITH NO POWER STEERING NO POWER BRAKES NO WARNING LIGHTS ETC. VERY SCARY. WHILE TURNING A CORNER ALL OF A SUDDEN NO POWER STEERING SEEMS TO ME COULD CAUSE A MAJOR WRECK, AND WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL LOOSING YOUR POWER BRAKES COULD ALSO. THIS HAPPEN TO ME NUMEROUS TIMES BEFORE THE RECALL ALSO. I DO BELIEVE IT WAS A CHEAP WAY OF CHEVY TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS PROBLEM. WHEN I EXPLAINED TO THE DEALER MECHANIC WHAT WAS HAPPENING HE INFORMED ME THAT THE RECALL THAT FIXED THE KEY WOULD NOT HELP THE PROBLEM OF MY CAR RANDOMLY SHUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING IT SO WHAT WAS IT FOR THEN?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2015 - EVERETT, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE KEY WAS PLACED IN THE IGNITION, THE ENGINE FAILED TO START AND THE PASS LOCK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASS LOCK FAILED. THE VEHICLE CODES WERE RESET; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND DIAGNOSED AS PASS LOCK SENSOR FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,300. MA 10/22/2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE ANTI THEFT SENSOR LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED AND STAYED IN THE ON POSITION CAUSING THE IGNITION SWITCH TO BECOME DISABLED WHICH PREVENTED THE ENGINE FROM STARTING. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2015 - WESTERVILLE, OH
FUEL GAUGE FLUCTUATION AND ENGINE LIGHTS COMES ON. I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM UNTIL AFTER THE LAST RECALL CAR IS IN GOOD SHAPE AND I FEEL THAT SOMETHING WENT WRONG AND THEY FAILED TO TELL ME AT THE DEALSHIP. I NEED HELP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds