Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (21) Equipment (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - WYOMING, MI
CAR WONT START AT TIMES BECAUSE OF IGNITION SWITCH A REAL PROBLEM GETTING TO WORK BEEN WAITING FOR MY RECALL HAVENT RECEIVED YET ITS NOT JUST A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ITS A PROBLEM GETTING THE CAR TO START ALSO PLEASE LET GM KNOW THIS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - LAKE ELMO, MN
THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM L WILL NOT ALWAYS WORK CORRECTLY SOMETIMES A WIDOW WILL NOT ROLL UP OR THE AUTOMATIC LOCK WILL NOT WORK ON ONE OR TWO DOORS. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR HAS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND RE-PROGRAMMED 3 TIMES SINCE JUNE OF 2010. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS RE PROGRAMMED AND THE SENOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED AND NOW ON JULY 30 THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND NEEDED RE PROGRAMMING.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

5/23/2014 - SANDY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF POSITION CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 128,000. RK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2014 - SANDY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF POSITION CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 128,000. RK

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2014 - EASTPOINTE, MI
THIS CAR HAS HAD THE CALIPERS REPLACED 2 TIMES NOW. THE FIRST IS RECORDED HERE AND THE SECOND OCCURRED ON JAN. 15, 2014. BOTH TIMES THE CAR LOST FLUID DUE TO CALIPER LEAKAGE. HAD DIFFICULTY STOPPING THE CAR THE SECOND TIME AROUND BUT WAS ABLE TO BRING IT TO A STOP WITHOUT INCIDENT. I HAVE A LICENSED MECHANIC TELLING ME THIS IS NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. THE FIRST INCIDENT PAID FOR WAS $285 AND THE SECOND WAS IN EXCESS $600. THIS IS NOT PART OF A RECALL BUT AM CERTAIN THAT THIS SHOULD NOT BE OCCURRING. SHOULD THIS RESULT IN A DETERMINATION OF FACTORY ERROR, IT WOULD BE GOOD TO GET REIMBURSED FOR THE HEAVY OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2014 - ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL
THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH THE POWER STEERING NOTE IN THE DASHBOARD (RADIO DISPLAY) Y WENT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID ME, THE POWER STEERING IS OK, I KEEP DRIVING THE CAR AND THE SIGN FOR POWER STEERING CONTINUED ON THE DASHBOARD AND I WENT TO ANOTHER EXPERTISE MECHANIC AND HE SAID ME IF IT CONTINUE AND THE DRIVING AND CONTROL THE CAR BECAME SO HARD, THE PROCEDURE TO FIX IS JUST STOP THE ENGINE FOR A WHILE AND START AGAIN, THIS CONDUCT I FOLLOWED FOR A LONG TIME BUT RECIENTLY BECAME SO HARD AND VERY DANGER TO DRIVE BECAUSE THE PROBLEM NOW IS RANDONLLY, SOME TIME EVERY FEW SECONDS OR EVERY HOUR OR A FEW TIME, SOME TIME AT THE MOMENT I TURNED VERY I WAS VERY CLOSE TO CRAH AGAINST OTHE VEHICULES AND DRIVING IN THE EXPRESS WAY I-95 FOR FORT LAUDERDALE HEADING SOUTH, I NEEDED TO BRAKE ABRUPTLY BECAUSE A LANDSCAPING TRAILER LEAVE GARDEN TOOL AND TRESS, MY VEHICLE TURNED WILD AND OUT CONTROL BETWEEN THE OTHER VEHICULE, ONLY GOD SAFE ME. I WENT TO THE OTHER MECHANIC AND SAID ME THAT IS A RECALL FOR GM AND I WENT TO LOCAL ROGER DEAN GM IN WEST PALM BEACH AND THEY SAID ME THAT FIX IT MATTER I NEED TO PAY, AFTER A FRIEND OF MINE SENT TO ME A WEBSITE WHER I FOUND THE RECALL FOR POWER STEERING IN MY CHEVY MALIBU 2005. REALLY I APRECIATE IF YOU HELP BECAUSE ROGER DEAN THE LOCAL GM DEALER IN WEST PALM BEACH REJECTED MY CASE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2014 - SPOKANE, WA
WE BOUGHT A 2005 CHEVY MALIBU CLASSIC BASE MODEL FROM A REPUTABLE DEALER. EVERYTHING WAS WORKING FINE UNTIL MY SON FLIPPED THE SWITCH ON THE TURN SIGNAL INDICATOR FOR THE LIGHTS FROM "AUTO" TO FULL LIGHTS AT NIGHT. THE DASH CLUSTER ILLUMINATION WENT OUT ALONG WITH THE RADIO BACK LIGHTING, HVAC BACK LIGHTING, DOOR LOCK AND WINDOW SWITCH LIGHTING. THE DOME LIGHT STOPPED WORKING. THE DOME LIGHT HAD BURNED WIRES AND THE PLASTIC FIXTURE WAS BURNED. REPLACED IT BACK TO THE HARNESS. FUSES KEPT BLOWING. HAVE SINCE TRIED REPLACING THE TURN INDICATOR/LIGHTS/WIPER MODULE, THE DIMMER SWITCH, AND DASH CLUSTER, UPON INSPECTING THE BODY CONTROL MODULE I FOUND CORRODED MODULE CONNECTORS THAT WERE CORRODED AND BURNED. NOW THE CAR WON'T START AND THE SUSPECT IS THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THIS IS CLEARLY AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION FROM THE ASSEMBLY LINE AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN WASTE BY MYSELF MY SON AND OTHERS REPORTING ACROSS THE INTERNET WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS AS OURSELVES

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds