Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (39) Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/26/2017 - CHULA VISTA, CA
TAKATA RECALL ON 01/10/2012 , I WAS IN A CRASH ,, INVOLVING A AIR BAG DEPOLYMENT IN WHICH , THE AIR BAR DEPLOYED DURRING A CRASH , , I REAR ENDED A CAR AFTER IT HAD STOPPED SUDDENDLY AFTER A PEDIESTRAIN HAD CROSSED THE STREET , UNEXPECTALLY , ,, AFTER THE SUDDEN DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAG , SO MUCH MATERAIL HAD BLOWEN OUT OF THE AIR BAG , HITTING MY HAND , MOST OF THE INJURY WAS ON MY FACE AREA MOUTH WAS BLEEDING AS THE MATERAIL HAD STRUCK MY MOUTH AREA , ,, I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE , FROM THE SMOKE AND MATERAIL EXPLOIDED OUT OF IT , I HAD A HARD TIME SLEEPING AND WAS VERY DISTRUBED BY IT , THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE JUNK YARD , AS THE INSURANCE COMPANY TOOK THE CAR , AS IT WAS JUNKED , CAN PROVIDE POLICE REPORT AND INSURANCE DOCUMENTS , JUST NEED SOME TIME TO RETRIVE THEM ,

View Details

STEERING

10/25/2017 - STREATOR, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AND TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO TURN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL HAD TO BE TURNED SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO TURN. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, THE POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DISCOVERED THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS RUSTED AND DETACHED FROM THE FRAME. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS REPLACED BY THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 153,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/25/2017 - SPRING CITY, TN
SINCE 2010, WITH CAR ONLY BEING 5 YEARS OLD, THE KEY BEGAN HARDLY WORKING IN THE IGNITION. WE HAD TO KEEP JIGGLING AND RE-TRYING UNTIL WOULD WORK. THE RECALL ONLY COVERED NOTIFYING OWNERS NOT TO PUT EXTRA KEYS ON THEIR KEY CHAIN BUT WOULD NOT COVER THE FACT THAT THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER WAS FAULTY. CONTINUED TO LIVE WITH THIS PROBLEM, THEN THE THEFT DETERRANT LIGHT STARTED GOING ON BECAUSE OF THE NECESSARY JIGGLING -- WHERE THE CAR WON'T START AND YOU HAVE TO TURN TO ACC AND WAIT 10 MINUTES. ONCE AGAIN, DEALER REFUSED TO COVER. STATIONARY PROBLEM, BUT FOR MY ELDERLY FATHER, NOT GOOD FOR THE KEY NOT TO WORK FOR A WHILE, OR WILL NOT START FOR AT LEAST 10 MINUTES DUE TO THEFT SYSTEM BEING ACTIVIATED

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2017 - RIVERDALE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,569.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/16/2017 - BUCKEYE, AZ
MAY BE FUEL PUMP. CAR WILL TURN OVER BUT WON'T START.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME.

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2016 - MAPLE GROVE, MN
WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN, THERE WAS NO ABILITY TO TURN THE CAR. THE CAR DROVE ONTO A SIDEWALK. THE CAR WOULD NOT STEER. TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN THE WHEELS. THERE WAS A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. I'M AFRAID OF WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED IF I WAS ON THE FREEWAY OR IF THERE WERE PEOPLE ON THE SIDEWALK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

7/1/2016 - OAK HARBOR, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A REGULAR BASIS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO RESET THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND STATED THAT IT HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO START SINCE THE LAST FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED AND NO FURTHER REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds