Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 54 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (25) Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - SHAWANO, WI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/11/2014 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE KNOB YOU CHANGE GEARS WITH HAS A PIN IT AND THE PIN HAS BROKEN. IT GOT TO BE A PROBLEM WHEN I WHEN TO THE JUNK YARD TO BUY A KNOB ALL OF THEM WAS BROKEN IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND IN THE JUNK YARD . WILL YOU PLEASE HELP ME FIND ONE I AM 75 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO SOME TIME WHEN I TRY TO PUT THE CAR IN GEAR IT WILL NOT MOVE. ONE AUTO REPAIRMAN SAY I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE DRIVE CONSOLE. PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2014 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE KNOB YOU CHANGE GEARS WITH HAS A PIN IT AND THE PIN HAS BROKEN. IT GOT TO BE A PROBLEM WHEN I WHEN TO THE JUNK YARD TO BUY A KNOB ALL OF THEM WAS BROKEN IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND IN THE JUNK YARD . WILL YOU PLEASE HELP ME FIND ONE I AM 75 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO SOME TIME WHEN I TRY TO PUT THE CAR IN GEAR IT WILL NOT MOVE. ONE AUTO REPAIRMAN SAY I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE DRIVE CONSOLE. PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2014 - SPOKANE, WI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR DAYS LATER WITH THE VEHICLE STALLING AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED AND REPLACED. THE MECHANIC ALSO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A LOW VOLTAGE CHARGE GOING THROUGH THE VEHICLE WHICH WAS INTERMITTENTLY SHORTING THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPACED BY THE INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MAUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - PLAQUEMINE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND FAILED TO TURN INTO THE ON POSITION. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND RESET THE PASS LOCK SENSOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - CROSS CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH ROLLED OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS SUSTAINED UNKNOWN INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2014 - CROSS CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH ROLLED OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS SUSTAINED UNKNOWN INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - WYOMING, MI
CAR WONT START AT TIMES BECAUSE OF IGNITION SWITCH A REAL PROBLEM GETTING TO WORK BEEN WAITING FOR MY RECALL HAVENT RECEIVED YET ITS NOT JUST A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ITS A PROBLEM GETTING THE CAR TO START ALSO PLEASE LET GM KNOW THIS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - LAKE ELMO, MN
THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM L WILL NOT ALWAYS WORK CORRECTLY SOMETIMES A WIDOW WILL NOT ROLL UP OR THE AUTOMATIC LOCK WILL NOT WORK ON ONE OR TWO DOORS. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR HAS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND RE-PROGRAMMED 3 TIMES SINCE JUNE OF 2010. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS RE PROGRAMMED AND THE SENOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED AND NOW ON JULY 30 THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND NEEDED RE PROGRAMMING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds