Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (23) Equipment (2) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - PLAQUEMINE, LA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WAS STUCK IN THE IGNITION SEVERAL TIMES AND THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN OVER INTO AN ON POSITION. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND PROVIDED RESET THE PASS LOCK SENSOR BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE STALLED, THE KEY WAS CONTINUING TO BE DIFFICULT TO REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION AND WOULD NOT TURN OVER INTO THE ON POSITION. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO NOTIFIED OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT, WAITED FOR FOUR HOURS AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE RECALL APPOINTMENT WAS NOT DONE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT AWARE OF WHEN THE APPOINTMENT WAS TO BE SCHEDULED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. DYD

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2014 - CROSS CITY, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH OUT WARNING. THIS CAUSED THE CONTACT TO FLIP THE VEHICLE OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS WERE INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 100,000. RG

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - CROSS CITY, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH OUT WARNING. THIS CAUSED THE CONTACT TO FLIP THE VEHICLE OVER THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS WERE INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 100,000. RG

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - WYOMING, MI
CAR WONT START AT TIMES BECAUSE OF IGNITION SWITCH A REAL PROBLEM GETTING TO WORK BEEN WAITING FOR MY RECALL HAVENT RECEIVED YET ITS NOT JUST A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ITS A PROBLEM GETTING THE CAR TO START ALSO PLEASE LET GM KNOW THIS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - LAKE ELMO, MN
THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM L WILL NOT ALWAYS WORK CORRECTLY SOMETIMES A WIDOW WILL NOT ROLL UP OR THE AUTOMATIC LOCK WILL NOT WORK ON ONE OR TWO DOORS. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR HAS HAD TO BE REPLACED AND RE-PROGRAMMED 3 TIMES SINCE JUNE OF 2010. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS RE PROGRAMMED AND THE SENOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED AND NOW ON JULY 30 THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED AGAIN AND NEEDED RE PROGRAMMING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2014 - CEDAR FALLS, IA
WHILE CHECKING OUT MY DAUGHTERS 2005 MALIBU CLASSIC FOR COMPLAINTS ABOUT INTERMITTENT AIRBAG LIGHT I HAPPENED TO SLIGHTLY TUG ON HER KEYCHAIN WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I LOST POWER STEERING. I LOST POWER BRAKES. I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR WHILE IT WAS MOVING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL IT OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT RESTART UNTIL I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO PARK. I INVESTIGATED THIS ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER GM VEHICLES BEING RECALLED BUT NOT THIS ONE. I CALLED GM'S RECALL LINE. THEY SAID TO CONTACT MY DEALER. I ASKED THE DEALER TO MAKE SOME KEYS WITH A CENTER HOLE RATHER THAN A SLOT (AT MY EXPENSE) TO PREVENT THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM ROTATING TO ENGINE OFF WHEN A KEYCHAIN IS ATTACHED. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO IT WITHOUT GM AUTHORIZATION. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS USING THIS VEHICLE. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

5/23/2014 - SANDY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF POSITION CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 128,000. RK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2014 - SANDY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY WAS ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF POSITION CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 128,000. RK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds