Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (39) Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BREAK LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BREAK LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/6/2016 - KIRBYVILLE, TX
THE POWER STEERING KEEPS GOING OUT WHILE I'M DRIVING. THE BRAKES FELL WHEN ALL OF THE BREAK LIGHTS COME ON.. WHEN I TRY TO PUMP GAS THE GAS COMES BACK OUT AT ME

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2016 - MAPLE GROVE, MN
WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN, THERE WAS NO ABILITY TO TURN THE CAR. THE CAR DROVE ONTO A SIDEWALK. THE CAR WOULD NOT STEER. TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN THE WHEELS. THERE WAS A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. I'M AFRAID OF WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED IF I WAS ON THE FREEWAY OR IF THERE WERE PEOPLE ON THE SIDEWALK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

7/1/2016 - OAK HARBOR, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A REGULAR BASIS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO RESET THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND STATED THAT IT HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO START SINCE THE LAST FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED AND NO FURTHER REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/9/2016 - PLYMOUTH, IN
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT IMPACT TO THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG RELEASED INTO THE CONTACT'S FACE AND CAUSED HIM TO CRASH INTO A PARKED, UNOCCUPIED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED FROM SWELLING TO THE FACE AND MOUTH AREA THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/25/2015 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO START AND THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING AND NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,700.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2015 - HARLINGEN, TX
THE IGNITION CYLINDER ON MY 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC FAILED, AND THE KEY COMES OUT OF THE IGNITION IN THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE GENERAL MOTORS RECALL TO MAKE THE KEY HOLE SMALLER ON THE KEY ITSELF TO FIX IGNITION PROBLEMS IS AN INCOMPLETE REPAIR. UPON CONTACTING GM ABOUT THE IGNITION PROBLEM, THEY IMMEDIATELY TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, AND THEY HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO GILLMAN CHEVROLET HARLINGEN AT THEIR EXPENSE, BUT SO FAR GM HAS REFUSED TO MAKE A COMPLETE REPAIR TO THE IGNITION. GM MAINTAINS THAT THE RECALL TO THE IGNITION PROBLEM IS ONLY TO FIX THE KEY HOLE, AND DOES NOT WANT TO AUTHORIZE A COMPLETE REPAIR FOR THE IGNITION FAILURE. ALSO, THE SHIFTER SELENOID HAS FAILED, AND THE KEY WON'T RETURN TO THE OFF POSITION. THE THEFT SYSTEM ALSO FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE AND WON'T ALLOW THE CAR TO TURN ON. WHEN THE THEFT SYSTEM FAILS, THE ONLY WAY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IS TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION FOR 10 MINUTES WHICH THEN RESETS THE THEFT SYSTEM. GM IS BUILDING SUBSTANDARD VEHICLES AND WON'T MAKE COMPLETE REPAIRS ON THE FAULTY IGNITIONS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR GM CUSTOMERS AND AFTER A WEEK OF TRYING TO GET GM ASSISTANCE TO REPAIR MY IGNITION PROBLEM, THE GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE HAS NOT RETURNED MY CALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2015 - HARLINGEN, TX
THE IGNITION CYLINDER ON MY 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC FAILED, AND THE KEY COMES OUT OF THE IGNITION IN THE ACCESSORY POSITION. THE GENERAL MOTORS RECALL TO MAKE THE KEY HOLE SMALLER ON THE KEY ITSELF TO FIX IGNITION PROBLEMS IS AN INCOMPLETE REPAIR. UPON CONTACTING GM ABOUT THE IGNITION PROBLEM, THEY IMMEDIATELY TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, AND THEY HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO GILLMAN CHEVROLET HARLINGEN AT THEIR EXPENSE, BUT SO FAR GM HAS REFUSED TO MAKE A COMPLETE REPAIR TO THE IGNITION. GM MAINTAINS THAT THE RECALL TO THE IGNITION PROBLEM IS ONLY TO FIX THE KEY HOLE, AND DOES NOT WANT TO AUTHORIZE A COMPLETE REPAIR FOR THE IGNITION FAILURE. ALSO, THE SHIFTER SELENOID HAS FAILED, AND THE KEY WON'T RETURN TO THE OFF POSITION. THE THEFT SYSTEM ALSO FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE AND WON'T ALLOW THE CAR TO TURN ON. WHEN THE THEFT SYSTEM FAILS, THE ONLY WAY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IS TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION FOR 10 MINUTES WHICH THEN RESETS THE THEFT SYSTEM. GM IS BUILDING SUBSTANDARD VEHICLES AND WON'T MAKE COMPLETE REPAIRS ON THE FAULTY IGNITIONS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR GM CUSTOMERS AND AFTER A WEEK OF TRYING TO GET GM ASSISTANCE TO REPAIR MY IGNITION PROBLEM, THE GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE HAS NOT RETURNED MY CALLS.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2015 - SAINT ANN, MO
STEARING MAKES A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING AND I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY RAC N PINION AND SEVERAL COMPLAINT WERE REPORTED TO HIGHWAY SAFETY ABOUT THIS MATTER,

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds