Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (27) Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

12/20/2014 - MILLVILLE, UT
FRONT DRIVER SEAT WELD BROKEN. SEAT LEANS TO SIDE. UNCOMFORTABLE DRIVING AND UNSAFE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2014 - VAN BUREN, AR
FROM THE TIME WE BOUGHT THIS CAR IN JUNE 2014 TO NOW, THE CAR HAS PERIODICALLY SHUT OFF WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION. USUALLY IT HAS OCCURRED AT VERY LOW SPEED FORTUNATELY. IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET THE KEY TO THE THE TRUE OFF POSITION DESPITE THIS. THE RECALL ONLY CALLS FOR A PLASTIC INSERT TO BE INSTALLED ON THE KEY, WHICH WAS DONE ON 10/30/14. THE CAR STILLS HAS THE SHUT OFF ISSUE, IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE, AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT NEEDS THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE LOCK CYLINDER REPLACED. THE INSERT ON THE KEY IS INSUFFICIENT TO FIX THE IGNITION SWITCH ISSUE. ONE STILL HAS TO KEEP NOTHING ELSE ON THE KEY RING, YET GM INSISTS THE PROBLEM IS TRULY FIXED BY PUTTING AN INSERT ON THE KEY. SOUNDS LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH IS FAULTY, TOO SENSITIVE AND THEY HAVE AN INSUFFICIENT FIX.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - HIXSON, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME. THE DEALER STATED THE PARTS NEEDED WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - SYLVANIA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE A RECALL NOTIFICATION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH THE STEERING ABILITY SEIZED. NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - WYOMING, MI
MY CAR HAS BEEN STALLING OUT RANDOMLY USUALLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS HAS DONE THIS ABOUT 5 TIMES IN TWO WEEKS I JUST HAD MY RECALL DONE BUT THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS VERY DANGEROUS MECHANIC SEEM TO THINK ITS MY IGNITION SWITCH NOT JUST THE KEYS AND COVER GM DID ON RECALL I'M WONDERING IF OTHER COMPLAINTS HAVE COME IN AND WHAT SHOULD I DO. I THOUGHT THIS IS WHY THEY RECALLED THE CARS FOR STALLING OUT, NO STEERING, BRAKES ETC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - SHAWANO, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/11/2014 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE KNOB YOU CHANGE GEARS WITH HAS A PIN IT AND THE PIN HAS BROKEN. IT GOT TO BE A PROBLEM WHEN I WHEN TO THE JUNK YARD TO BUY A KNOB ALL OF THEM WAS BROKEN IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND IN THE JUNK YARD . WILL YOU PLEASE HELP ME FIND ONE I AM 75 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO SOME TIME WHEN I TRY TO PUT THE CAR IN GEAR IT WILL NOT MOVE. ONE AUTO REPAIRMAN SAY I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE DRIVE CONSOLE. PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2014 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE KNOB YOU CHANGE GEARS WITH HAS A PIN IT AND THE PIN HAS BROKEN. IT GOT TO BE A PROBLEM WHEN I WHEN TO THE JUNK YARD TO BUY A KNOB ALL OF THEM WAS BROKEN IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND IN THE JUNK YARD . WILL YOU PLEASE HELP ME FIND ONE I AM 75 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO SOME TIME WHEN I TRY TO PUT THE CAR IN GEAR IT WILL NOT MOVE. ONE AUTO REPAIRMAN SAY I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE DRIVE CONSOLE. PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

10/6/2014 - SPOKANE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED AND REPLACED. ALSO, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS A LOW VOLTAGE CHARGE GOING THROUGH THE VEHICLE, WHICH CAUSED THE IGNITION SWITCH TO SHORT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - PLAQUEMINE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND FAILED TO TURN INTO THE ON POSITION. THE ANTI-THEFT SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND RESET THE PASS LOCK SENSOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds