Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET OPTRA - 2005 CHEVROLET OPTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 5 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET OPTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET OPTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET OPTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1)


 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/28/2012 - ALAMOGORDO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET OPTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEAD LIGHTS FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WOULD TURN THE LIGHTS ON AND BURNING FUMES WOULD EMIT INTO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSE THAT THE WIRING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER A RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V482000 COMPONENT: EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,592.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2012 - GUELPH, OH
THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT ON WITH CODE B2502, B1104, B2500. THEY CALL THE REPLACED PART AS "DISPLAY/CLOCK" ASSEMBLY WHICH MAKES IT SOUND LIKE A NON-SAFETY RELATED ISSUE BUT IT IS ACTUALLY SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE AIRBAG. IT HAPPENED TWICE ON MY CAR. THE FIRST TIME IT IS WAS STILL IN WARRANTY, MILEAGE SHOULD BE AROUND 30K-40K KM. THIS TIME THE MILEAGE IS 125506KM. WHAT MAKES ME NERVOUS IS THAT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT IN THE "DISPLAY/CLOCK" UNIT FLASHES IRREGULARLY FOR ABOUT 10-30 SECONDS WHEN STARTING THE CAR. I SAID IRREGULAR FLASHES, I MEANT THE KIND THAT ARE CAUSED BY UNSECURED CONNECTION OF WIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2011 - ONTARIO, 00
CHEVROLET OPTRA 5 2005. HEADLAMP LOW BEAMS AND DAY TIME RUNNING LAMPS WORK SPORADICALLY. IT WAS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM AND I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED FROM GM DEALER. I ALREADY SPENT A LOT OF MONEY TRYING TO FIX IT (PROBLEM IS STILL ON IT) AND JUST NOW I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE SPECIAL DURING THE WINTER TIME. LAST YEAR I BOUGHT THIS CAR FROM MY OWN LEASE AND DEALER NEVER MENTIONED THE PROBLEM. SO I SHOULD GO TO THE SERVICE AND PAY TO FIX IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/20/2011 - ONTARIO, 00
CHEVROLET OPTRA 5 2005. HEADLAMP LOW BEAMS AND DAY TIME RUNNING LAMPS WORK SPORADICALLY. IT WAS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM AND I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED FROM GM DEALER. I ALREADY SPENT A LOT OF MONEY TRYING TO FIX IT (PROBLEM IS STILL ON IT) AND JUST NOW I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE SPECIAL DURING THE WINTER TIME. LAST YEAR I BOUGHT THIS CAR FROM MY OWN LEASE AND DEALER NEVER MENTIONED THE PROBLEM. SO I SHOULD GO TO THE SERVICE AND PAY TO FIX IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/16/2010 - GUELPH, ONTARIO, 00
WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 11PM, ALL LIGHTS SUDDENLY WENT OFF. THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED IN 2006(?) AND WAS FIXED. IN 2008(?), THERE WAS A RECALL FROM GM ABOUT THE ISSUE AND I DID BRING MY CAR TO DEALER FOR THE RECALL, ALTHOUGH I DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY DID. NOW IT IS HAPPENING AGAIN. I THINK EITHER THEY DIDN'T DO ANYTHING IN THE RECALL FOR ME OR THE FIX IN THE RECALL DOESN'T RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: REAR

6/28/2006 - CAMPINA, 00
I HAVE SUFFERED AN ACCIDENT IN WHICH I WAS SEVERELY INJURED BY THE SEAT BELT. I WAS IN THE BACK, RIGHT SIDE WITH MY SEAT BELT ON. BECAUSE OF IT I HAD A RUPTURED SPLEEN, RUPTURED SIGMOID, EXPLOSION OF APPENDIX AND RUPTURED CEC. NOT TO MENTION THE HORRIBLE HEMATOMAS IN AND OUTSIDE MY ABDOMEN. I NEEDED EMERGENCY SURGERY AND 2 WEEKS OF HOSPITALIZATION. THE CAR IN WHICH THIS HAPPENED IS A CHEVROLET LACETTI AND THE PLACE WHERE IT HAPPENED IS BUCHAREST, ROMANIA. I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST THIS COMPANY BECAUSE THIS KIND OF INJURY SHOULDN'T HAPPEN BECAUSE OF A SEAT BELT. I BELIEVE THAT THE DESIGN OF IT WAS INCORRECT AND THEY HAVE TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds