Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 2500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 380 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (71) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Steering (144) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (58) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (74) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (8) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (3) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - HEPHZIBAH, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (MILTON RUBEN CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM, 3508 WASHINGTON RD, AUGUSTA, GA 30907, (706) 863-6633) WAS CONTACTED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT DID NOT FOLLOW UP WITH A CALLBACK. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/17/2017 - UINTAH, UT
INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION, AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN INTO THE DEALER UPON NOTICE OF THE RECALL FOR TEKATA TK HOLDINGS AIR BAGS. THE REPAIRS WERE MADE. INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED IN THIS ACCIDENT,BUT COULD HAVE BEEN MINIMIZED IF OUR AIRBAGS WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED. THE OTHER DRIVER RAN A RED LIGHT AT A HIGH SPEED DRIVING A 2007 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER. HER AIRBAGS DID DEPLOY JUST FINE. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AT THE INTERSECTION OF LAYTON PARKWAY AND MAIN STREET IN LAYTON, UTAH HAVING A GREEN ARROW AND THE RIGHT OF WAY PROCEEDED UPON VISUALIZING THE INTERSECTION FOR ALL TRAFFIC TO HAVE STOPPED, THIS OTHER DRIVER CAME OFF THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED BLOWING THROUGH THE RED LIGHT AND HITTING US HEAD ON. THE IMPACT COMPLETELY LIFTED MY TRUCK UP AND SPUN IT AROUND A FULL 180 DEGREES POINTING IT IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. MY RATE OF SPEED AT THE TIME OF THE IMPACT WAS ONLY 5-10 MPH

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/26/2017 - JUNEAU, AK
BOTH REAR WHEEL WELLS ARE RUSTING OUT FROM INSIDE OUT. I KNOW THIS IS A OLD VEHICLE NOW BUT THIS SHOULD RUST FROM OUTSIDE IN. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF TRUCK SO IT DOESN'T RUST AWAY ON ME, THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING TO HAVE HAPPEN. RUST WILL EAT THRU SOON ENOUGH AND ROCKS WILL BE ABLE TO BE FLUNG OUT AT OTHER CARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2017 - GREENTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 05V462000 (POWER TRAIN). WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE HORN BEGAN TO SOUND AND THE WARNING INDICATORS BEGAN TO FLICKER INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (B&B CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM 125 GRANDVIEW AVENUE, HONESDALE, PA 18431), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT PRESENT PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS BEING INVESTIGATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 375,321.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/7/2017 - GREENTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 05V462000 (POWER TRAIN). WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE HORN BEGAN TO SOUND AND THE WARNING INDICATORS BEGAN TO FLICKER INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (B&B CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM 125 GRANDVIEW AVENUE, HONESDALE, PA 18431), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT PRESENT PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS BEING INVESTIGATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 375,321.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2017 - GREENTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 05V462000 (POWER TRAIN). WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE HORN BEGAN TO SOUND AND THE WARNING INDICATORS BEGAN TO FLICKER INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (B&B CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM 125 GRANDVIEW AVENUE, HONESDALE, PA 18431), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT PRESENT PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS BEING INVESTIGATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 375,321.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/22/2017 - BEAVERCREEK, OR
TAKATA AIRBAG I RECEIVED A LETTER REGARDING THE RECALL AND I WENT ON LINE SO THAT I WOULD BE NOTIFIED WHEN THE PART BECAME AVAILABLE. AFTER RECEIVING NOTICE THE PART WAS AVAILABLE I CALLED THE DEALER TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT. THEY COULDN'T GET ME IN FOR 2 WEEKS. I DROPPED THE TRUCK OFF AT RON TONKIN DODGE IN MILWAUKIE OR. THEY CALLED AND NOTIFIED ME THAT THE PART WAS BACK ORDERED FOR ANOTHER MONTH. I LIVE 45 MILES AWAY AND MAKING ARRAIGNMENTS FOR A PICK UP RIDE TO AND FROM DEALER IS NOT EASY. WHY AM I GETTING LETTERS TELLING ME THE PARTS ARE AVAILABLE WHEN THEY ARE NOT. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER ALMOST A YEAR FROM THE TIME I REGISTERED ON LINE UNTIL TODAY. I THOUGHT I HAD THE TRUCK SOLD WITH THE STIPULATION I HAD ALL RECALLS AND SERVICE UP TO DATE. THE BUYER DOES NOT WANT TO WAIT FOR A MONTH. THEY WILL BUY ANOTHER TRUCK. AFTER ALL THIS, I AM NOT HAPPY. I TRIED THE PHONE NUMBERS ON THE NOTIFICATION, I GET A VERY FAST BUSY SIGNAL. I HOPE NO ONE IS INJURED DURING THE WAIT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/15/2017 - FESTUS, MO
TAKATA RECALL, WHILE LOOKING UP THE STATUS OF THE PASSENGER AB RECALL, I FOUND OUT THAT REPLACEMENT AB WERE AVAILABLE. I HAD NOT RECEIVED A NOTICE THAT PARTS WERE AVAILABLE AS I DID FOR THE DRIVER SIDE AB. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALER THAT REPLACED THE DRIVER SIDE TO FIND OUT WHEN I COULD BRING MY TRUCK IN TO HAVE THE PASSENGER SIDE REPLACED I WAS TOLD THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY REPLACEMENTS IN STOCK, BUT THEY COULD ORDER ONE, THIS WAS ON 5/26/17. AFTER TWO WEEKS WENT BY WITHOUT GETTING A CALL THAT MY AB HAD COME IN, I CALLED THE DEALER ON 6/5/17, AND FOUND OUT THAT A RECALL AB PART HAD ARRIVED AND THAT THE DEALER DIDN'T THINK IT WAS IMPORTANT TO CALL & LET ME KNOW THAT THEY COULD FIX MY TRUCK. I HAD TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT, NOT FOR THAT DAY OR THE NEXT DAY, BUT 3 DAYS LATER. SO ON 6/8/17, I FINALLY HAD A SERIOUS RECALL ITEM REPLACED, BUT IT WAS ONLY BECAUSE I FOLLOWED UP ON IT. THEN I HAD TO HAVE THE DEALER ORDER THE AB AND CALL TO FIND OUT WHY I HADN'T BEEN NOTIFIED WHEN THE PART CAME IN. FINAL STRAW WAS HAVING TO WAIT OVER THREE DAYS TO HAVE PART INSTALLED, WHEN IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN WORKED IN THE DAY I CALLED. I FEEL THAT FCA DOESN'T CARE ABOUT A 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLE NEEDING AN AIRBAG REPLACED THAT ENDANGERED NOT ONLY MY LIFE, BUT THE LIFE OF ANYONE THAT CHOOSE TO RIDE IN MY VEHICLE FOR OVER 13 MONTHS. THAT TYPE OF DISREGARD FOR A PREVIOUS CUSTOMER IS DISGRACEFUL AND SHOWS A COMPLETE LACK OF CONCERN FOR ANYONE OWNING ONE OF THEIR VEHICLES. I'M REALLY WRITING TO LET YOU KNOW THAT IF I HADN'T BEEN CHECKING ON THIS REGULARLY, I WOULD STILL HAVE A DEFECTIVE AB IN MY TRUCK. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE PARTS AVAILABLE NOTIFICATION SYSTEM WITH THIS RECALL SYSTEM, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE DEALER HAS TO ORDER A RECALL PART AND THEN CAN'T NOTIFY ME WHEN THE PART IS AVAILABLE. THEN HAVING TO WAIT TO GET AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE INSTALLED FOR 3 DAYS. THANK YOU, DAN MCCAFFREY

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/26/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
FRONT END DEATH WOBBLE AFTER HITTING A BUMP AT 65 MPH

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2017 - WHITING, NJ
TAKATA RECALL DEALER STILL DOES NOT HAVE PARTS TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds