Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 2500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 389 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (72) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Steering (146) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (59) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (74) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (8) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (3) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/8/2018 - GLENDALE, AZ
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (LARRY H MILLER CHRYSLER JEEP AVONDALE, 10055 W PAPAGO FWY, AVONDALE, AZ 85323, (480) 865-3981) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2018 - KERSEY, CO
WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY GASOLINE STARTED SPEWING UNDER PRESSURE FROM TOP OF FUEL PUMP, PULLED INTO PARKING LOT AWAY FROM OTHER VEHICLES AND WAITED FIVE TO TEN MINUTES BEFORE GASOLINE STOPPED SPRAYING OUT. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED HOME WHERE I COULD CHECK TO FIND OUT IF IT WAS ONLY A RUBBER HOSE AS I EXPECTED OR SOMETHING ELSE. I FOUND OUT IT WAS A FITTING AT TOP OF THE FUEL PUMP WHICH LOOKS LIKE METAL CONNECTOR WHERE THE GASOLINE WAS SPRAYING OUT OF A PIN HOLE, I LOST ABOUT 5 GALLONS OF GAS IN 14 MILES OF HIGHWAY DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

7/4/2018 - PORT WASHINGTON, NY
VEHICLE JUST CAME OFF THE EXPRESSWAY PASSENGER SIDE FRONT STEERING BALL JOINT BROKE AS VEHICLE WAS BEING PARKED, THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS REPLACED BY DODGE UNDER RECALL. THEY DID NOT WANT TO EXCEPT LIABILITY FOR THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT HAS BEEN A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AND THE DRIVERS SIDE THEY REPLACED UNDER RECALL IS SHOWING A LOT OF PLAY AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

6/9/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
WHEN I HIT A BUMP POT HOLE OR ROUGH SPOT IN THE ROAD MY VEHICLE GET S THE DREADED DEATH WOBBLE AND I HAVE TO IMMEDIATELY REDUCE MY SPEED TO AROUND 30 MILES PER HOUR AND I'M AFRAI ITS GOING TO BREAK SOMETHING IN MY STEERING AND CAUSE A CRASH OR I'M GOING TO GET REAR ENDED WHICH HAS ALMOST HAPPENED SEVERAL TIME BECAUSE OF OTHER DRIVERS FOLLOWING TO CLOSE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2018 - SAUGERTIES, NY
DRIVING ACCROSS THE KINGSTON RHINECLIFF BRIDGE AND HEARD CLUNKING AND SCRAPING FROM UNDER THE TRUCK BED. I PULLED OVER TO INSPECT THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND NOTICED THE GAS TANK STRAP HAD RUSTED AND FAILED LEAVING THE GAS TANK HANGING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/3/2018 - ARDMORE, TN
WHILE DRIVING, MY SEAT BELTS LOCK UP AND WILL NOT ALLOW ANY MOVEMENT - HOLDING THE OCCUPANT TIGHTLY TO THE BACK OF THE SEAT, INDUCING TREMENDOUS ANXIETY. WITH EACH MOVEMENT OF THE OCCUPANT, THE SEATBELT TIGHTENS. SEATBELT MUST BE UNBUCKLED TO RELEAVE PRESSURE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/22/2018 - REDDING, CA
WIPERS WORK FINE IN HIGH OR LOW POSITION BUT ARE SPORADIC AND OR STOP COMPLETELY IN THE INTERMITTENT POSITION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds