Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 2500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 386 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (71) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Steering (145) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (59) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (74) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (8) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (3) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/9/2018 - AUGUSTA, GA
WHEN I HIT A BUMP POT HOLE OR ROUGH SPOT IN THE ROAD MY VEHICLE GET S THE DREADED DEATH WOBBLE AND I HAVE TO IMMEDIATELY REDUCE MY SPEED TO AROUND 30 MILES PER HOUR AND I'M AFRAI ITS GOING TO BREAK SOMETHING IN MY STEERING AND CAUSE A CRASH OR I'M GOING TO GET REAR ENDED WHICH HAS ALMOST HAPPENED SEVERAL TIME BECAUSE OF OTHER DRIVERS FOLLOWING TO CLOSE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/30/2018 - AIKEN, SC
ALL LIGHTS (HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, ETC.) COME ON WHILE VEHICLE TURNED OFF AND TURN OFF WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. ALSO, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS RUN ALL THE TIME AND CAN NOT BE TURNED OFF. DRAINS BATTERY WHILE NOT RUNNING, THEN WILL NOT START. FACTORY TRAINED MECHANIC SAYS IT IS A "BAD TIPM" (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT ORDER A NEW TIPM AS DODGE DOES NOT MAKE THESE ANYMORE (VEHICLE IS 12 YEARS OLD). MY VEHICLE IS PRACTICALLY USELESS AND NOW VALUELESS, AS I CAN NOT GET NEEDED PARTS TO REPAIR. MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THAT AFTERMARKET PARTS (INCLUDING FAN CLUTCH FOR THIS VEHICLE) DOES NOT WORK WELL AND END UP NEEDING REPLACEMENT ALMOST AS SOON AS REPAIRS ARE DONE. THIS REALLY SUCKS THAT AN AMERICAN AUTO MANUFACTURER CAN FAIL TO MAKE PARTS AVAILABLE FOR 12 YEAR OLD VEHICLES. I GUESS THEY NEED TO SELL A NEW ONE THAT BAD! NOT ANOTHER DODGE, FOR SURE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2018 - SAUGERTIES, NY
DRIVING ACCROSS THE KINGSTON RHINECLIFF BRIDGE AND HEARD CLUNKING AND SCRAPING FROM UNDER THE TRUCK BED. I PULLED OVER TO INSPECT THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND NOTICED THE GAS TANK STRAP HAD RUSTED AND FAILED LEAVING THE GAS TANK HANGING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/3/2018 - ARDMORE, TN
WHILE DRIVING, MY SEAT BELTS LOCK UP AND WILL NOT ALLOW ANY MOVEMENT - HOLDING THE OCCUPANT TIGHTLY TO THE BACK OF THE SEAT, INDUCING TREMENDOUS ANXIETY. WITH EACH MOVEMENT OF THE OCCUPANT, THE SEATBELT TIGHTENS. SEATBELT MUST BE UNBUCKLED TO RELEAVE PRESSURE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/22/2018 - REDDING, CA
WIPERS WORK FINE IN HIGH OR LOW POSITION BUT ARE SPORADIC AND OR STOP COMPLETELY IN THE INTERMITTENT POSITION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2018 - COLLEGEVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS IN OPEN POSITION, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED OUT OF PARK INTO REVERSE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL DURING THE INCIDENT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V821000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THERE WERE NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - HEPHZIBAH, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (MILTON RUBEN CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM, 3508 WASHINGTON RD, AUGUSTA, GA 30907, (706) 863-6633) WAS CONTACTED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT DID NOT FOLLOW UP WITH A CALLBACK. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/17/2017 - UINTAH, UT
INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION, AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN INTO THE DEALER UPON NOTICE OF THE RECALL FOR TEKATA TK HOLDINGS AIR BAGS. THE REPAIRS WERE MADE. INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED IN THIS ACCIDENT,BUT COULD HAVE BEEN MINIMIZED IF OUR AIRBAGS WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED. THE OTHER DRIVER RAN A RED LIGHT AT A HIGH SPEED DRIVING A 2007 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER. HER AIRBAGS DID DEPLOY JUST FINE. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AT THE INTERSECTION OF LAYTON PARKWAY AND MAIN STREET IN LAYTON, UTAH HAVING A GREEN ARROW AND THE RIGHT OF WAY PROCEEDED UPON VISUALIZING THE INTERSECTION FOR ALL TRAFFIC TO HAVE STOPPED, THIS OTHER DRIVER CAME OFF THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED BLOWING THROUGH THE RED LIGHT AND HITTING US HEAD ON. THE IMPACT COMPLETELY LIFTED MY TRUCK UP AND SPUN IT AROUND A FULL 180 DEGREES POINTING IT IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. MY RATE OF SPEED AT THE TIME OF THE IMPACT WAS ONLY 5-10 MPH

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds