Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD MUSTANG - 2005 FORD MUSTANG Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 681 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD MUSTANG

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD MUSTANG. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD MUSTANG, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (229) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (3)
Electrical System (222) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Power Train (25) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (54)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (67) Seat Belts (2) Structure (55) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (4) Suspension (22) Wheels (3)
Equipment (10) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/18/2019 - MADRID, IA
TAKATA INFLATORS. I HAVE BEEN TRYING SINCE LAST AUGUST TO GET THE RECALL DONE ON BOTH MY FRONT AIRBAGS.FIRST THE DEALER(CHARLES GABUS FORD IN DESMOINES IOWA)PROMISED ME A LOANER CAR FOR THE DAY MY CAR WOULD BE IN THE SHOP,ONLY TO TRAVEL THERE 40 MILES AND THEN THEY SAY THEY HAD NONE AVAILABLE.THEN I CONTACTED FORD MOTOR CO. RECALL DEPARTMENT JUST TO TRY TO GET MY NAME OFF OF THEIR RECALL MAILING LIST DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY DON'T REALLY TAKE THIS RECALL SERIOUSLY.AFTER REQUESTING TO TALK TO A SUPERVISOR BECAUSE I WAS GETTING NOWHERE WITH THIS WOMAN ,SHE SIMPLY HUNG UP ON ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/6/2019 - ALBANY, NY
HAD AIR BAGS REPLACED ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO AND IT SHOWS ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE THAT BAGS STILL NEED TO REPLACED,HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE BEFORE IT SHOWS THEY WERE REPLACED?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2019 - PLYMOUTH, CA
ENGINE GOES TO FUEL THROTTLE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY OR IN TOWN & ALSO WHEN AT A FULL STOP ON ITS OWN I HAVE TO EITHER SHUT OFF IGNITION OR IF DRIVING PUT VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL THEN HIT THROTTLE TO STOP THE HIGH RPM EXTREMELY UNSAFE. HAVE NOT DRIVEN CAR IN OVER TWO MONTHD

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/16/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. WE NEED A FIX. WE KEEP GETTING RECALL NOTICES, WHEN WE CALL THE DEALERS, THE SAME ANSWER EVERY TIME, WE WILL CALL YOU WHEN WE GET THE PARTS. NO RETURNED CALLS. OUR FAMILY HAS A FORD AND CHEVY THAT HAVE BEEN ON THE RECALL LIST FOR "4" YEARS!?! NEITHER HAVE A FIX FOR IT. I UNDERSTAND TAKATA IS TO BLAME, BUT AN ALTERNATIVE FIX SHOULD BE MADE TO TAKE CARE OF THIS PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2019 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
AIRBAG RECALL - THE MANUFACTUER HAS BEEN SENDING REMINDERS ABOUT THE AIRBAG RECALL FOR YEARS NOW AND EVERY TIME I CHECK WITH MY NEAREST DEALERSHIP THEY PUT ME IN THE LIST TO RECIEVE PARTA BUT I NEVER GET THE CALL THAT THEY ARE IN. AND THE DEALER SAYS THE PART JUST ISN+T IN YET. AND THIS HAS BEEN OVER 4 YEARS NOW.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/23/2018 - CHESHIRE, CT
THERE IS AN APPARENT DESIGN FLAW IN 2005 MUSTANGS AS I HAVE READ HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS AS TO WHAT I AM EXPERIENCING. DUE TO THIS DESIGN FLAW AFTER A RECENT DAY OF HEAVY RAIN 1 HEADLIGHT AND 1 SIGNAL LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF ONCE THE CAR HAS BEEN SHUT OFF. I RESEARCHED AND APPARENTLY THE SMART JUNCTION BOX (SJB) GOT WET AND THE ELECTRICAL UNIT IS NOW MALFUNCTIONING. THERE WAS ALSO A STRONG BURNING SMELL WHEN I GOT HOME THAT NIGHT AS WELL. SPOKE WITH AN ONLINE MECHANIC TECHNICIAN AND HE CONFIRMED THAT THE SJB NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE HAS BEEN A LONG HISTORY OF THE CAR LEAKING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WHENEVER IT RAINS DUE TO THE DESIGN FLAW. ALSO MY GAS GAUGE NEVER READS PROPERLY, INSIDE LIGHTS ARE ALSO DIM/OFF AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN GOING ON AND OFF FOR NEARLY A YEAR AND MY MECHANIC COULD NOT DIAGNOSE WHY THE REVIEWS ONLINE SAID WHEN THEY SPOKE TO FORD THAT ADMITTED THAT IT WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM BUT BECAUSE THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL THAT THEY WILL NOT REPAIR THIS FOR FREE. ESTIMATES I READ PUT THE COST AROUND $1000 TO GET THIS FIXED AND DO NOT WANT TO PAY THAT KIND OF MONEY ESPECIALLY WHEN FORD ADMITS TO KNOWING THERE IS A PROBLEM. I AM HOPEFUL THAT WE CAN GET FORD TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS. IT IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM SINCE THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM CAN CAUSE A FIRE FROM REPORTS I HAVE READ. THIS HAPPENED TO MEET ON 12/21/18. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND PARKED THE CAR AND SHUT IT OFF. AS I LOCKED THE CAR I NOTICED THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE HEADLIGHT AND PASSENGER SIDE SIGNAL LIGHT STAYED ON AND I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TO MAKE THEM SHUT OFF. ALSO THERE WAS A STRONG BURNING ODOR WHEN I LIFTED THE HOOD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/23/2018 - CHESHIRE, CT
THERE IS AN APPARENT DESIGN FLAW IN 2005 MUSTANGS AS I HAVE READ HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS AS TO WHAT I AM EXPERIENCING. DUE TO THIS DESIGN FLAW AFTER A RECENT DAY OF HEAVY RAIN 1 HEADLIGHT AND 1 SIGNAL LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF ONCE THE CAR HAS BEEN SHUT OFF. I RESEARCHED AND APPARENTLY THE SMART JUNCTION BOX (SJB) GOT WET AND THE ELECTRICAL UNIT IS NOW MALFUNCTIONING. THERE WAS ALSO A STRONG BURNING SMELL WHEN I GOT HOME THAT NIGHT AS WELL. SPOKE WITH AN ONLINE MECHANIC TECHNICIAN AND HE CONFIRMED THAT THE SJB NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE HAS BEEN A LONG HISTORY OF THE CAR LEAKING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WHENEVER IT RAINS DUE TO THE DESIGN FLAW. ALSO MY GAS GAUGE NEVER READS PROPERLY, INSIDE LIGHTS ARE ALSO DIM/OFF AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN GOING ON AND OFF FOR NEARLY A YEAR AND MY MECHANIC COULD NOT DIAGNOSE WHY THE REVIEWS ONLINE SAID WHEN THEY SPOKE TO FORD THAT ADMITTED THAT IT WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM BUT BECAUSE THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL THAT THEY WILL NOT REPAIR THIS FOR FREE. ESTIMATES I READ PUT THE COST AROUND $1000 TO GET THIS FIXED AND DO NOT WANT TO PAY THAT KIND OF MONEY ESPECIALLY WHEN FORD ADMITS TO KNOWING THERE IS A PROBLEM. I AM HOPEFUL THAT WE CAN GET FORD TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS. IT IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM SINCE THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM CAN CAUSE A FIRE FROM REPORTS I HAVE READ. THIS HAPPENED TO MEET ON 12/21/18. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND PARKED THE CAR AND SHUT IT OFF. AS I LOCKED THE CAR I NOTICED THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE HEADLIGHT AND PASSENGER SIDE SIGNAL LIGHT STAYED ON AND I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TO MAKE THEM SHUT OFF. ALSO THERE WAS A STRONG BURNING ODOR WHEN I LIFTED THE HOOD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2018 - NORTHPOINT, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD MUSTANG. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V319000 (AIR BAGS) AND 16V384000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. TUSCALOOSA FORD (5801 MCFARLAND BLVD E, TUSCALOOSA, AL 35405, (205) 304-0719) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/10/2018 - WESTLAND, MI
TAKATA RECALL. UNKNOWN. THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD THE CAR WHEN THE AIRBAG FAILED AND NEVER TOOK CARE OF RECALL.

View Details

SEATS

12/9/2018 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
THERE WAS A RECALLL FOR DEFAULT WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND TAKATA AIRBAG

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds