Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON DENALI - 2005 GMC YUKON DENALI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2005 GMC YUKON DENALI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 GMC YUKON DENALI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 GMC YUKON DENALI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4)
Electrical System (19) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (3) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

8/26/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE PLASTIC SURROUND AROUND MY SEAT BELT IS DEFECTIVE. THE PLASTIC TABS HAVE BROKEN FROM NORMAL USAGE AND THE SURROUND NOW IMPEDES EITHER LATCHING OR UNLATCHING, AND THE SEAT BELT COMES UNLATCHED WHEN IT APPEARS TO BE PROPERLY LATCHED. OTHER VEHICLES OF THE SAME YEAR/MODEL HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUE HAS OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE SEAT BELTS ON THE SAME VEHICLE. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE, BECAUSE (1) THE SEAT BELT EITHER APPEARS TO BE LATCHED WHEN IT IS NOT; OR (2) THE SEAT BELT WILL NOT UNLATCH WHEN THE RELEASE IS DEPRESSED, PREVENTING OCCUPANTS FROM EGRESSING THE VEHICLE QUICKLY IF NEEDED. THE TABS HOLDING THE PLASTIC SURROUND ARE TOO SMALL AND ALLOW THE BUCKLE TO FLEX AND JAM, OR THEY BREAK OFF AND INTERFERE WITH THE LATCH MECHANISM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - PALOS PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 GMC YUKON DENALI. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED, BUT FAILED TO INFLATE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM THE SCENE AND AWAITING REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2016 - CLIFTON, VA
SINCE 2009, I HAVE BEEN TAKING MY 2005 YUKON DENALI TO BOTH DEALERSHIPS AND OTHER MECHANIC SHOPS TO FIX A VERY HAZARDOUS PROBLEM. TO DATE, NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP OR ANYTIME WHEN TRAVELING BETWEEN 1- 2-3RD GEARS, THE ACCELERATOR WILL SUDDENLY STOP WORKING AND THE "TRACTION ACTIVE" LIGHT WILL COME ON. FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 SECONDS, THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE. THIS STARTED HAPPENING INFREQUENTLY - 1 PER MONTH - AND OVER THE YEARS HAS BECOME MUCH MORE FREQUENT - 2-3 TIMES A WEEK. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN THE ROAD CONDITIONS CHANGE. IT CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME UNDER ANY CONDITION. THE SCARY THING ABOUT THIS IS THAT WHEN YOU ARE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP AND OTHER CARS ARE ACCELERATING BEHIND YOU, THEY DON'T ANTICIPATE THAT YOU WILL STOP ACCELERATING (THE BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT COME ON), THEREFORE, THEY ALMOST REAR END ME. IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. MY DEALERSHIP DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX IT, YET THERE ARE COMPLAINTS ALL OVER THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM. I HAVE JUST FILED A CASE WITH GM FOR ASSISTANCE. WE WILL SEE WHAT THEY DO. I BELIEVE A RECALL IS LONG OVERDUE. WHILE WE HAVE NOT GOTTEN IN AN ACCIDENT, THAT IS SIMPLY BECAUSE WE HAVE BEEN LUCKY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/9/2016 - CLIFTON, VA
SINCE 2010, MY AIRBAG LIGHT HAS COME ON 5 TIMES. 3 OUT OF THE 5 TIMES, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE A SENSOR WHICH TYPICALLY COSTS APPROX $400-450. THE OTHER TWO TIMES, THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO RESET. I AM NOW IN THE POSITION OF HAVING TO SPEND ANOTHER $450 FOR ANOTHER NEW SENSOR IN ORDER TO TURN OFF THE AIRBAG LIGHT OR ELSE I CANNOT PASS INSPECTION. I HAVE ASKED FOR ASSISTANCE FROM GM AND THE DEALERSHIP. BUT, BECAUSE THE LIGHT COMES ON JUST AFTER ONE YEAR OF REPLACING A SENSOR, THE WORK IS NO LONGER UNDER DEALERSHIP WARRANTY. I HAVE FILED A CASE WITH GM ASKING FOR ASSISTANCE SO THAT I CAN GET THE CAR INSPECTED AND CONTINUE DRIVING THE CAR. THEY HAVE SAID THAT THEY CANNOT ASSIST. THEY HAVE LEFT ME WITH VERY FEW OPTIONS. I CAN PAY ANOTHER $450 IN ORDER FOR MY CAR TO BE INSPECTED, OR NOT DRIVE THE CAR AGAIN. THE AIR BAG IS AN IMPORTANT SAFETY FEATURE. BASED ON ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ONLINE, THIS PROBLEM IS RECURRING AND APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. THE DISTURBING THING ABOUT THIS ISSUE IS THAT I AM NOT SURE IF THE AIRBAG ACTUALLY IS IN WORKING ORDER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2015 - N SALT LAKE, UT
THE AIRBAG ERROR LIGHTS ARE ON. MECHANIC SAYS THE FRONT AIRBAG SENSORS WENT BAD. THE HORN DOES NOT WORK. THE DASH LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. MANY OF THE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL BUTTON LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. THE REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR IS BURNT OUT. THE FUEL PUMP MAKES VIBRATING NOISES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - N SALT LAKE, UT
THE AIRBAG ERROR LIGHTS ARE ON. MECHANIC SAYS THE FRONT AIRBAG SENSORS WENT BAD. THE HORN DOES NOT WORK. THE DASH LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. MANY OF THE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL BUTTON LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. THE REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR IS BURNT OUT. THE FUEL PUMP MAKES VIBRATING NOISES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/10/2015 - N SALT LAKE, UT
THE AIRBAG ERROR LIGHTS ARE ON. MECHANIC SAYS THE FRONT AIRBAG SENSORS WENT BAD. THE HORN DOES NOT WORK. THE DASH LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. MANY OF THE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL BUTTON LIGHTS ARE BURNT OUT. THE REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR IS BURNT OUT. THE FUEL PUMP MAKES VIBRATING NOISES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/1/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
VEHICLE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND BARELY CAME TO A STOP BEFORE HITTING A TREE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO DEALERSHIP JOYCE KOONS MANASSAS. DEALERSHIP CALLED BACK STATING BRAKE LINES HAD RUSTED OUT AND CONTAMINATED ROTORS, BRAKE PADS, FUEL PUMP, BACKING PLATES, RIGHT AND LEFT LEVEL SENSORS TO THE TUNE OF $3660. AFTER RESEARCHING THE INTERNET WE FOUND OUT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT GM REFUSES TO DO A RECALL ON. IF WE HAD BEEN ON I 95 WITH THE VEHICLE AT A HIGH SPEED, IT COULD HAVE BEEN A HORRIBLE ACCIDENT AND PEOPLE COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED. THIS VEHICLE IS VERY HEAVY AND WOULD BE DIFFICULT TO STOP AT HIGH SPEEDS. GM SAYS RUST DUE TO SALT BELT STATES. THE REASON YOU BUY A 4 WHEEL DRIVE OR ALL WHEEL DRIVE IS TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE IN THE SNOW. BUT THIS VEHICLE CAN'T TAKE THE SALT AND SAND PUT DOWN ON HIGHWAYS. BRAKES IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO HAVE ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER AND HAVE GM RECALL THESE VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED!

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - ORANGE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 55 FREEWAY, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY ELECTRICAL GPS, RADIO, AND POWER TURNED OFF FOR APPROX. 5 SEC. AND THE DASH REBOOTED, AND RADIO REMAINED OFF, AND THE CAR WAS STILL CRUISING, BUT LOSING SPEED. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND HAD TO RESTART WHILE CRUISING. IT IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. SPOKE TO GMC PARTS DEPT. ON THE PHONE, AND HE STATED THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED APPROX. 5 TIMES. I SHARED THAT INFORMATION TO THE PARTS DEPT. AND HE STATED THAT THEY COULD DO A DIAGNOSTIC THAT WOULD COST A PRETTY HI AMOUNT TO CHECK, AND IF NOTHING COME OUT OF IT I ASKED. THEN HE STATED NOTHING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - ORANGE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 55 FREEWAY, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY ELECTRICAL GPS, RADIO, AND POWER TURNED OFF FOR APPROX. 5 SEC. AND THE DASH REBOOTED, AND RADIO REMAINED OFF, AND THE CAR WAS STILL CRUISING, BUT LOSING SPEED. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND HAD TO RESTART WHILE CRUISING. IT IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. SPOKE TO GMC PARTS DEPT. ON THE PHONE, AND HE STATED THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED APPROX. 5 TIMES. I SHARED THAT INFORMATION TO THE PARTS DEPT. AND HE STATED THAT THEY COULD DO A DIAGNOSTIC THAT WOULD COST A PRETTY HI AMOUNT TO CHECK, AND IF NOTHING COME OUT OF IT I ASKED. THEN HE STATED NOTHING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds