Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GX470 - 2005 LEXUS GX470 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2005 LEXUS GX470

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 LEXUS GX470. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 LEXUS GX470, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2015 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE LEXUS GX470 HAS MANY MAJOR SAFETY ISSUES THAT ARE GOING TO END UP IN DEATHS FOR EXAMPLE THE SUNROOF DRAINING SYSTEM OVERFLOWS AND DRAINS ON AND NEAR THE BRAKE PEDALS AND THE THEN OVERFLOWS ONTO THE FLOOR BOARDS CAUSING THE WHOLE GENERAL AREA TO BE EXTREMELY SLIPPERY AND AT TIMES RENDERING THE BRAKES UNUSABLE. THEN THE 2ND ISSUES IS THE SEAT-BELTS DO NOT ALWAYS FUNCTION CORRECTLY AT TIMES THE UNLATCH DURING HARD BRAKING. THE 3RD ISSUE IS THE STEERING WHEEL MATERIAL FAILS IN THE HIGH HEAT THE SAME AS THE DASHBOARD THAT THEY HAVE ALREADY VOLUNTARY RECALLED. THIS ISSUES IS SEEN ON ALMOST ALL LEXUS GX SERIES IN FL IF YOU REVIEW THE FORUM BOARDS VIA A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH YOU WILL SEE 1000'S OF OTHER OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME COMPLAINTS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/17/2015 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE LEXUS GX470 HAS MANY MAJOR SAFETY ISSUES THAT ARE GOING TO END UP IN DEATHS FOR EXAMPLE THE SUNROOF DRAINING SYSTEM OVERFLOWS AND DRAINS ON AND NEAR THE BRAKE PEDALS AND THE THEN OVERFLOWS ONTO THE FLOOR BOARDS CAUSING THE WHOLE GENERAL AREA TO BE EXTREMELY SLIPPERY AND AT TIMES RENDERING THE BRAKES UNUSABLE. THEN THE 2ND ISSUES IS THE SEAT-BELTS DO NOT ALWAYS FUNCTION CORRECTLY AT TIMES THE UNLATCH DURING HARD BRAKING. THE 3RD ISSUE IS THE STEERING WHEEL MATERIAL FAILS IN THE HIGH HEAT THE SAME AS THE DASHBOARD THAT THEY HAVE ALREADY VOLUNTARY RECALLED. THIS ISSUES IS SEEN ON ALMOST ALL LEXUS GX SERIES IN FL IF YOU REVIEW THE FORUM BOARDS VIA A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH YOU WILL SEE 1000'S OF OTHER OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME COMPLAINTS.

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2015 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE LEXUS GX470 HAS MANY MAJOR SAFETY ISSUES THAT ARE GOING TO END UP IN DEATHS FOR EXAMPLE THE SUNROOF DRAINING SYSTEM OVERFLOWS AND DRAINS ON AND NEAR THE BRAKE PEDALS AND THE THEN OVERFLOWS ONTO THE FLOOR BOARDS CAUSING THE WHOLE GENERAL AREA TO BE EXTREMELY SLIPPERY AND AT TIMES RENDERING THE BRAKES UNUSABLE. THEN THE 2ND ISSUES IS THE SEAT-BELTS DO NOT ALWAYS FUNCTION CORRECTLY AT TIMES THE UNLATCH DURING HARD BRAKING. THE 3RD ISSUE IS THE STEERING WHEEL MATERIAL FAILS IN THE HIGH HEAT THE SAME AS THE DASHBOARD THAT THEY HAVE ALREADY VOLUNTARY RECALLED. THIS ISSUES IS SEEN ON ALMOST ALL LEXUS GX SERIES IN FL IF YOU REVIEW THE FORUM BOARDS VIA A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH YOU WILL SEE 1000'S OF OTHER OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME COMPLAINTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2015 - NETCONG, NJ
THE DASHBOARD IS CRACKING

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/25/2015 - ROME, GA
WHEN CRANKING THE CHECK ENGINE AND THE VSC AND TRACTION LIGHT ALL COME ON. HAD THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP PUT IT ON THE MACHINE SAID IT WAS SOMETHING WITH EMISSIONS THAT WOULD RUN AROUND 2K TO REPAIR AT THE LEXUS DEALERSHIP. VEHICLE RUNS PERFECT. LIGHTS WILL GO OFF AT RANDOM TIMES BUT THEN COME BACK ON. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND THE VEHICLE IS STILL RUNNING GREAT. OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM ACCORDING TO MY GOOGLE INQUIRIES. I ALSO HAVE HAD MY ENTIRE DASHBOARD CRACK WHICH I UNDERSTAND LEXUS WILL BE FIXING AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2014 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. SERVICE IDENTIFIED A BROKEN WIRE IN THE DRIVERS SIDE AIRBAG. RECOMMENDATION WAS ALSO MADE TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE HARNESS AT $2500. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED, THE ENTIRE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED FOLLOWING THE CONTOUR OF THE CONTROLS AND GLOVEBOX. THIS WAS REPLACED AT NO CHARGE. SERVICE ADMITTED THAT THE CRACKING IS A COMMON PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2014 - APPLE SPRINGS, TX
DASH BOARD HAS BEGUN TO CRACK. CONCERNED THERE WOULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE IF THE AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. APPARENTLY THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR THE LEXUS GX470 FROM READING OTHER COMPLAINTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/16/2014 - WILMINGTON, NC
GROWING CRACKS ALL OVER THE DASH. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH MANY OTHER REPORTED INCIDENTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/16/2014 - WILMINGTON, NC
GROWING CRACKS ALL OVER THE DASH. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH MANY OTHER REPORTED INCIDENTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I SAW JEN STRATHMORE'S NEWS, WATCH DOG REPORT ON CRACKED/MELTING DASHBOARDS. I WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT THAT I TOO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THE CRACKING STARTED A FEW YEARS AGO AND HAS SLOWING CONTINUED. MY ENTIRE DASH IS LITERALLY CRACKING OFF IN PIECES AND THERE IS FOAM PADDING EXPOSED. IT IS GETTING WORSE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY WITH THE AIR BAGS. I DRIVE A LEXUS SUV, AN EXPENSIVE CAR. I DID BRING IT TO JM LEXUS, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO ABOUT IT, NOW. I DIDN'T THINK I HAD A LEG TO STAND ON, UNTIL I SAW THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUES ON TELEVISION. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO NEXT. THANK YOU, [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds