Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GX470 - 2005 LEXUS GX470 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 14 complaints filed for the 2005 LEXUS GX470

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 LEXUS GX470. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 LEXUS GX470, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/18/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I SAW JEN STRATHMORE'S NEWS, WATCH DOG REPORT ON CRACKED/MELTING DASHBOARDS. I WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT THAT I TOO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THE CRACKING STARTED A FEW YEARS AGO AND HAS SLOWING CONTINUED. MY ENTIRE DASH IS LITERALLY CRACKING OFF IN PIECES AND THERE IS FOAM PADDING EXPOSED. IT IS GETTING WORSE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY WITH THE AIR BAGS. I DRIVE A LEXUS SUV, AN EXPENSIVE CAR. I DID BRING IT TO JM LEXUS, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO ABOUT IT, NOW. I DIDN'T THINK I HAD A LEG TO STAND ON, UNTIL I SAW THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUES ON TELEVISION. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO NEXT. THANK YOU, LISA BEZICK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I SAW JEN STRATHMORE'S NEWS, WATCH DOG REPORT ON CRACKED/MELTING DASHBOARDS. I WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT THAT I TOO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THE CRACKING STARTED A FEW YEARS AGO AND HAS SLOWING CONTINUED. MY ENTIRE DASH IS LITERALLY CRACKING OFF IN PIECES AND THERE IS FOAM PADDING EXPOSED. IT IS GETTING WORSE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY WITH THE AIR BAGS. I DRIVE A LEXUS SUV, AN EXPENSIVE CAR. I DID BRING IT TO JM LEXUS, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO ABOUT IT, NOW. I DIDN'T THINK I HAD A LEG TO STAND ON, UNTIL I SAW THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUES ON TELEVISION. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO NEXT. THANK YOU, LISA BEZICK

View Details

SEATS

5/18/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I SAW JEN STRATHMORE'S NEWS, WATCH DOG REPORT ON CRACKED/MELTING DASHBOARDS. I WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT THAT I TOO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THE CRACKING STARTED A FEW YEARS AGO AND HAS SLOWING CONTINUED. MY ENTIRE DASH IS LITERALLY CRACKING OFF IN PIECES AND THERE IS FOAM PADDING EXPOSED. IT IS GETTING WORSE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY WITH THE AIR BAGS. I DRIVE A LEXUS SUV, AN EXPENSIVE CAR. I DID BRING IT TO JM LEXUS, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO ABOUT IT, NOW. I DIDN'T THINK I HAD A LEG TO STAND ON, UNTIL I SAW THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUES ON TELEVISION. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO NEXT. THANK YOU, LISA BEZICK

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/3/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
THERE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS WITH CERTAIN TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES DASHBOARDS CRACKING. THIS IS NOT ONLY A COSMETIC ISSUE BUT A SAFETY ISSUE (PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG) AS WELL AND EVEN TOYOTA REPAIR MANUALS SAY TO REPLACE THE DASH IF THERE ARE ANY CRACKS YET DEALERS ARE NOT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM AND ARE MAKING OWNERS PAY THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A NEW DASH WHEN CLEARLY THERE'S A DEFECT IN THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE DASH. THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR OVER 5YRS. AND TOYOTA / LEXUS HAS BEEN WELL AWARE OF IT, YET AS OF FEBRUARY 2014 THERE HAS STILL BEEN NO RECALL ISSUED? HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ LEXUS GX470 MODELS: HTTP://WWW.CLUBLEXUS.COM/FORUMS/GX-FIRST-GENERATION/427349-CRACKED-DASHBOARD.HTML HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ TOYOTA 4RUNNER MODELS: HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/MAINTENANCE-DETAILING/59435-CRACKED-DASH.HTML HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/4TH-GEN-T4RS/122935-**CKED-DASHBOARD-ACTION-REQUE**.HTML THERE ARE MANY OTHERS OUT THERE TOO, JUST GOOGLE "TOYOTA CRACKED DASH".

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
THERE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS WITH CERTAIN TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES DASHBOARDS CRACKING. THIS IS NOT ONLY A COSMETIC ISSUE BUT A SAFETY ISSUE (PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG) AS WELL AND EVEN TOYOTA REPAIR MANUALS SAY TO REPLACE THE DASH IF THERE ARE ANY CRACKS YET DEALERS ARE NOT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM AND ARE MAKING OWNERS PAY THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A NEW DASH WHEN CLEARLY THERE'S A DEFECT IN THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE DASH. THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR OVER 5YRS. AND TOYOTA / LEXUS HAS BEEN WELL AWARE OF IT, YET AS OF FEBRUARY 2014 THERE HAS STILL BEEN NO RECALL ISSUED? HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ LEXUS GX470 MODELS: HTTP://WWW.CLUBLEXUS.COM/FORUMS/GX-FIRST-GENERATION/427349-CRACKED-DASHBOARD.HTML HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ TOYOTA 4RUNNER MODELS: HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/MAINTENANCE-DETAILING/59435-CRACKED-DASH.HTML HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/4TH-GEN-T4RS/122935-**CKED-DASHBOARD-ACTION-REQUE**.HTML THERE ARE MANY OTHERS OUT THERE TOO, JUST GOOGLE "TOYOTA CRACKED DASH".

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
THERE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR YEARS WITH CERTAIN TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES DASHBOARDS CRACKING. THIS IS NOT ONLY A COSMETIC ISSUE BUT A SAFETY ISSUE (PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG) AS WELL AND EVEN TOYOTA REPAIR MANUALS SAY TO REPLACE THE DASH IF THERE ARE ANY CRACKS YET DEALERS ARE NOT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM AND ARE MAKING OWNERS PAY THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A NEW DASH WHEN CLEARLY THERE'S A DEFECT IN THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE DASH. THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR OVER 5YRS. AND TOYOTA / LEXUS HAS BEEN WELL AWARE OF IT, YET AS OF FEBRUARY 2014 THERE HAS STILL BEEN NO RECALL ISSUED? HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ LEXUS GX470 MODELS: HTTP://WWW.CLUBLEXUS.COM/FORUMS/GX-FIRST-GENERATION/427349-CRACKED-DASHBOARD.HTML HERE'S THE PROBLEM W/ TOYOTA 4RUNNER MODELS: HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/MAINTENANCE-DETAILING/59435-CRACKED-DASH.HTML HTTP://WWW.TOYOTA-4RUNNER.ORG/4TH-GEN-T4RS/122935-**CKED-DASHBOARD-ACTION-REQUE**.HTML THERE ARE MANY OTHERS OUT THERE TOO, JUST GOOGLE "TOYOTA CRACKED DASH".

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/25/2013 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DASH BOARD HAS BEGUN TO CRACK. CONCERNED THERE WOULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE IF THE AIR BAGS WERE DEPLOYED. APPARENTLY THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR THE LEXUS 03-09 IN THE GX MODEL AND ALSO THE RX MODEL. LEXUS IS FULL AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT HAS HAPPENED AFTER WARRANTY EXPIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/22/2013 - FOREST HEIGHTS, MD
NOTICE WHAT LOOKS LIKE A CUT ACROSS MY DASHBOARD, SO I ASKED MY DAUGHTERS DID ANYTHING HAPPENED WHILE THEY HAD THE TRUCK(?). I THAN GOOGLED CRACKED DASHBOARD ON GX470 2005 AND FIND MANY LEXUS OWNERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. WITH ALL OWNERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, I LOOKED FOR A RECALL. TO MY SURPRISE AS MUCH AS I TALK ABOUT MY LEXUS THEY DROPPED THE BALL(MY LAST LEXUS).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/11/2013 - WINTER SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 LEXUS GX470. THE CONTACT STATED THE DASHBOARD CRACKED NEAR THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER WHO STATED THE CRACK ORIGINATED BEHIND DASHBOARD IN THE STEERING AREA DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE LEATHER. THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED TO ASSIST WITH HALF OF THE REPAIR COST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,100. UPDATED 2/19/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DASHBOARD CRACKED ACROSS THE SEAM ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, DURING THE FIRST YEAR. THEN MULTIPLE CRACKS APPEARED ALL OVER THE DASHBOARD, INCLUDING A CRACK NEAR THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. UPDATED 02/25/13

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/18/2011 - KINGSTON, NY
S10 APPROPRIATE HANDLING - LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM COMPLAINT REGARDING SUDDEN ACCELERATION OF HIS 2005 TOYOTA LEXUS GX470 THE CONSUMER STATED AS HER HUSBAND WAS ENTERING THE GARAGE, HE SLOWED DOWN TO MOVE AROUND A GARBAGE PAIL IN THE GARAGE. AT THAT MOMENT, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND HIT A STORAGE SHELF AND THEN CRASHED THROUGH THE REAR WALL OF THE GARAGE. THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE CAUSED IT TO GO OVER THE FOUNDATION LIP OF THE REAR WALL. FORTUNATELY, THAT IS WHAT STOPPED THE VEHICLE FROM GOING FURTHER . THE CONSUMERS HUSBAND TRIED TO APPLY THE BRAKES DURING THE ACCELERATION, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds