Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 333 complaints filed for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (2) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (82)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (4) Structure (101) Visibility (2)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (115) Wheels (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/25/2018 - AGUSTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED, ACCELERATED AT A RAPID PACE, AND THEN DECELERATED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,940.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2018 - BRUNSWICK, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, SMOKE WAS NOTICED. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, BUT THE PASSENGER ADVISED HER TO RESTART THE ENGINE TO SEE FROM WHERE THE SMOKE WAS ORIGINATING. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, FLAMES WERE SEEN COMING FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE PASSENGER WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ECM, SPARK PLUGS, AND SIX COILS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO THE DEALER (KINGS COLONIAL FORD, 3565 COMMUNITY RD, BRUNSWICK, GA 31520), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/23/2018 - MELVINDALE, MI
THE SHOCK TOWER WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR. IT IS POSSIBLE TO SEE THE TIRE. THE RUST BEGAN IN GASOLINE ENTRY AREA PER THE MECHANIC AND THEN SPREAD TO THE SHOCK TOWER. THIS HAS ALSO EFFECTED THE THREADS ON THE TIRE. I BELIEVE THESE CARS SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY. THIS A DANGEROUS ISSUE. I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR REPAIRS RELATED TO THE RUST TOTALING $1056. DOES NOT INCLUDE THE NEED TO REPLACE THE WORN TIRES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/23/2018 - HYDE PARK, NY
BOTH REAR WHEEL WELL HOUSINGS , SUB FRAME , MAIN SUPPORTS RUSTED OUT , CAR NOW CANNOT BE DRIVEN. BROKE WHEN IT WAS BEING DRIVEN, CAR SANK DOWN ON PASSENGER SIDE , STARTED MAKING ALOUD POUNDING SOUND , IT HAPPENED ON A BUSY CITY STREET.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/4/2018 - ORONO, MN
ENTIRE UPPER MOUNTING AREA FOR RIGHT REAR SHOCK RUSTED AWAY; SHOCK INSECURE AT TOP INNER FENDER. REATTACHMENT NOT POSSIBLE DUE TO EXTENSIVE RUST; EXTENSIVE REPAIRS REQUIRED THAT WOULD EXCEED VEHICLE VALUE. OUR MECHANIC WAS SHOCKED WHEN HE SAW THE LEVEL OF RUST. WE WERE TOLD BY OUR AUTO SHOP THAT THIS WAS NOT NORMAL & WE SHOULD CONTACT MAZDA. MAZDA DID NOT RESOLVE. WE BELIEVE THAT THIS DEFECT IS SIMILAR TO THE DEFECT THAT CAUSED THE RECALL OF MAZDA TRIBUTES THROUGH YEAR 2004 - THE YEAR BEFORE OUR TRIBUTE WAS MANUFACTURED. OUR VEHICLE CANNOT BE REPAIRED. WE DID NOT TAKE PHOTOS AT THE SHOP & CANNOT GET A GOOD PICTURE OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE. WE CAN SUBMIT THE DOCUMENTS WE RECEIVED FROM OUR MECHANIC OR TAKE THE TRUCK BACK TO THE SHOP FOR A PICTURE OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE. THANK YOU FOR HELPING US ADDRESS OUR CONCERN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/23/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
THIS MAZDA TRIBUTE HAS EXTENSIVE AND UNREPAIRABLE RUST TO THE BODY, UNDERSTRUCTURE AND SUSPENSION PARTS THAN MAKES IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE. STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY IS COMPROMISED IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION, VEHICLE IS PRONE TO VEER OUT OF CONTROL DUE TO MISSING SUSPENSION PIECES AND GAS AND EXHAUST FUMES LEAK INTO THE CABIN DUE TO RUSTED OUT AND MISSING INNER BODY PANELS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/23/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
THIS MAZDA TRIBUTE HAS EXTENSIVE AND UNREPAIRABLE RUST TO THE BODY, UNDERSTRUCTURE AND SUSPENSION PARTS THAN MAKES IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE. STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY IS COMPROMISED IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION, VEHICLE IS PRONE TO VEER OUT OF CONTROL DUE TO MISSING SUSPENSION PIECES AND GAS AND EXHAUST FUMES LEAK INTO THE CABIN DUE TO RUSTED OUT AND MISSING INNER BODY PANELS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
THIS MAZDA TRIBUTE HAS EXTENSIVE AND UNREPAIRABLE RUST TO THE BODY, UNDERSTRUCTURE AND SUSPENSION PARTS THAN MAKES IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE. STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY IS COMPROMISED IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION, VEHICLE IS PRONE TO VEER OUT OF CONTROL DUE TO MISSING SUSPENSION PIECES AND GAS AND EXHAUST FUMES LEAK INTO THE CABIN DUE TO RUSTED OUT AND MISSING INNER BODY PANELS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

1/9/2018 - WEST CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNDISCLOSED SPEED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS SEVERE CORROSION ON THE A-FRAME AND REAR SUSPENSION SUPPORT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR SUSPENSION SUPPORT FRACTURED. WILKINS MAZDA (750 N YORK RD, ELMHURST, IL 60126, (630) 279-3000) WAS CONTACTED, BUT WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE WITH HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/2/2018 - ALTON, IL
OUR 2005 TRIBUTE MODEL HAS THE SAME RUSTING OUT OF THE RIGHT AND LEFT REAR WHEEL WELLS THAT THE 2001-2004 MODELS OF THE TRIBUTE HAVE EXPERIENCED. THOSE MODELS WERE REPAIRED UNDER A RECALL, BUT THIS YEAR'S MODEL AND FORWARD STILL HAVE THE SAME RUSTING OUT PROBLEM. DEALERS FOR MAZDA AND FORD WON'T EVEN LOOK AT THIS TO REPAIR IT. CAR IS NOW BASICALLY UNDRIVABLE. AND FROM WHAT I'VE FOUND, MAZDAWORLD.COM SAYS THAT MOST OF THESE VEHICLE WERE ACTUALLY MANUFACTURED IN 2004 BUT DATED TO 2005 MODEL YEAR. BUT AVOIDED THE 2004 RECALL BECAUSE OF THIS I CAN FIND A KIT ON EBAY TO FIX, BUT NO DEALERS WILL DO THE WORK. THERE HAVE BEEN PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS, BUT NO ACTION ON THIS KNOWN PROBLEM THAT HAS EXISTED IN PRIOR MODEL DESIGNS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds