Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (25) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (78)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (4) Structure (84) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (96) Wheels (18)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/14/2017 - RHINELANDER, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON AN ICY ROAD, HEARD A LOUD BANG, FOLLOWED BY A LOUD THUMPING NOISE FROM REAR OF VEHICLE. IT CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL AND SLIDE INTO A SNOW BANK. THE RIGHT REAR SHOCK HAD BROKEN LOOSE AND BROKE THROUGH THE INSIDE OF CARGO FLOOR. I NEEDED THE SUV FOR GOING TO WORK AND HAD TO GET IT REPAIRED AT THE COST OF OVER $1000. I FEEL MAZDA SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE REPAIR BILL. THE WHOLE SHOCK TOWER WAS RUSTED THROUGH.I STILL HAVE A HOLE IN THE INSIDE CARGO FLOOR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/14/2017 - RHINELANDER, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON AN ICY ROAD, HEARD A LOUD BANG, FOLLOWED BY A LOUD THUMPING NOISE FROM REAR OF VEHICLE. IT CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL AND SLIDE INTO A SNOW BANK. THE RIGHT REAR SHOCK HAD BROKEN LOOSE AND BROKE THROUGH THE INSIDE OF CARGO FLOOR. I NEEDED THE SUV FOR GOING TO WORK AND HAD TO GET IT REPAIRED AT THE COST OF OVER $1000. I FEEL MAZDA SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE REPAIR BILL. THE WHOLE SHOCK TOWER WAS RUSTED THROUGH.I STILL HAVE A HOLE IN THE INSIDE CARGO FLOOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/14/2016 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
VEHICLE WITH ODOMETER ~102500 MILES LOST ALL POWER CLIMBING A BRIDGE AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSING FOLLOWING TRAFFIC TO STOP ABRUPTLY. ENGINE RE-STARTED BUT RUNS ROUGH DUE TO MISFIRE, ACCELERATES POORLY. DIAGNOSED BY MAZDA DEALER AS PCM FAILURE. ESTIMATED REPLACEMENT COST = $2600 USD WHICH MAKES THIS FAILURE A TOTAL LOSS OF THIS VEHICLE. THIS IS A WIDELY KNOWN AND EXPERIENCED ISSUE AMONG 2001 - 2006 MAZDA TRIBUTES FOR THIS FORD MANUFACTURED ENGINE. SIDE NOTE, CLASS ACTION SUIT FILED AGAINST FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR SAME ISSUES WITH 5.1L ENGINES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2016 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
VEHICLE WITH ODOMETER ~102500 MILES LOST ALL POWER CLIMBING A BRIDGE AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSING FOLLOWING TRAFFIC TO STOP ABRUPTLY. ENGINE RE-STARTED BUT RUNS ROUGH DUE TO MISFIRE, ACCELERATES POORLY. DIAGNOSED BY MAZDA DEALER AS PCM FAILURE. ESTIMATED REPLACEMENT COST = $2600 USD WHICH MAKES THIS FAILURE A TOTAL LOSS OF THIS VEHICLE. THIS IS A WIDELY KNOWN AND EXPERIENCED ISSUE AMONG 2001 - 2006 MAZDA TRIBUTES FOR THIS FORD MANUFACTURED ENGINE. SIDE NOTE, CLASS ACTION SUIT FILED AGAINST FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR SAME ISSUES WITH 5.1L ENGINES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/2/2016 - ORLAND PARK, IL
THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL IS COMPLETELY RUSTED AND THE MOUNT IS LOOSE ATTACHED TO NOTHING. NOTICED IT WHILE RIDING DOWN A SMOOTH STREET WHEN I HEARD A LOUD THUMP. IN THAT MOMENT I THOUGHT I LEFT MY REAR PASSENGER DOOR OPEN. I WAS LUCKY I WAS RIDDING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2016 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE FAILURE FIRST OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN 2012. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE MOTHERBOARD BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE COMPUTER AND THREE CYLINDERS WERE NOT WORKING. THE CONTACT INQUIRED WITH THE MANUFACTURER AND NO INFORMATION WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED THREE TIMES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2016 - CROSS PLAINS, TN
INTERSTATE DRIVING, ENGINE LOST POWER. 92,000 MILES. ALL MAINTENANCE RECORDS AVAILABLE. MANY REPAIRS FOR LOW MILEAGE. CODES REVEALED 4 COIL PACKS OUT. REPLACED ALL 6. CAR STILL DOES NOT HAVE COMPRESSION. DEAD. SHAME ON YOU MAZDA!!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/21/2016 - PARKVILLE, MD
AFTER HITTING A DEER AT ABOUT 45-55 MPH, MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY DESPITE SMELLING THE GUNPOWDER USED TO DEPLOY THEM. THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE DASH IS ON AS IF THE AIRBAG HAD DEPLOYED

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/20/2016 - RAVENNA, OH
WHILE DRIVING I HEARD A THUMPING SOUND COMING FROM RIGHT REAR OF VEHICLE. MECHANIC CHECKED IT OUT AND FOUND THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT STATING IT WAS A DANGER TO DRIVE THE CAR HE CHECKED WITH A BODY SHOP AND WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT WANT TO REPAIR BECAUSE OF LIABILITY ISSUES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/20/2016 - HARRISVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A BANGING NOISE UNDERNEATH THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER, LOOKED UNDERNEATH, AND FOUND THAT THE SHOCK OF THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE WAS DETACHTED. THE SHOCK WOULD LEAN AGAINST THE TIRE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING TURNED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK WAS DETACHED AND THE AREA WERE THE SHOCK WAS LOCATED WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE INSIDE FINDER PANEL AND THE SHOCK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED BY A RECALL. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds