Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (6)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (23) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (74)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (4) Structure (31) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (35) Wheels (8)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/5/2015 - ERIE, PA
THE RIGHT BACK SIDE BY THE TIRED THE CHASSIS IS ALL RUST IT AND THE SHOCK IS LOOSE I CAN MOVE IT WITH MY HANDS AND THE LEFT SIDE IS ABOUT TO GET LIKE THE OTHER SIDE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/5/2015 - ERIE, PA
THE RIGHT BACK SIDE BY THE TIRED THE CHASSIS IS ALL RUST IT AND THE SHOCK IS LOOSE I CAN MOVE IT WITH MY HANDS AND THE LEFT SIDE IS ABOUT TO GET LIKE THE OTHER SIDE

View Details

WHEELS

3/5/2015 - ERIE, PA
THE RIGHT BACK SIDE BY THE TIRED THE CHASSIS IS ALL RUST IT AND THE SHOCK IS LOOSE I CAN MOVE IT WITH MY HANDS AND THE LEFT SIDE IS ABOUT TO GET LIKE THE OTHER SIDE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2015 - DEERFIELD, WI
I HAD A RATTLING NOISE THAT STARTED COMING FROM THE RIGHT REAR AND SOUNDED LIKE SOMETHING WAS BOUNCING AROUND IN THE BACK COMPARTMENT. IT GOT WORSE FAST. I WAS STUNNED TO FIND NOT ONLY THE RIGHT WHEEL WELL, BUT BOTH SIDES COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH AND THE SHOCKS WERE READY TO BREAK AWAY FROM THE MOUNTS. BOTH MY MECHANIC SHOP AND A REPUTABLE BODY SHOP INDEPENDENTLY TOLD ME THAT THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THE BODY SHOP IS HESITANT TO TOUCH IT. THEY SAID THAT THEY CAN TRY TO FABRICATE AND FIX IT, BUT THE PROBLEM IS WHEN THERE IS RUST INVOLVED, WHERE DO THEY STOP? I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE LESS THAN A YEAR AGO, SUPPOSEDLY TAKEN VERY GOOD CARE OF, AS I DO. I STILL OWE THOUSANDS ON IT AND I'M NOT HAPPY! MY 2002 ESCAPE DIDN'T HAVE RUST PROBLEMS ... THE MOTOR WENT OUT BEFORE IT HAD RUST!

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2015 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
DRIVING CROSS COUNTRY AND HEARD A LOUD THUMP IN RT REAR WHEEL WELL. AFTER THAT EVERY BUMP NO MATTER HOW SMALL THE THUMP BECAME MORE PRONOUNCED. STOPPED TO CHECK THINGS OUT, RT REAR WHEEL WELL COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH EXPOSING SUSPENSION AND CORROSION ON ATTACHMENT TO FRAME. ABLE TO DRIVE HOME SAFELY, HAD DEALERSHIP CHECK IT OVER AND COST OF REPAIR TO FRAME DAMAGE OVER COST OF VECHICLE. DEALERSHIP REPORTS ONGOING ISSUE WITH RT REAR WHEEL WELL ON 2005 YEAR. WAY TO EARLY FOR THIS MUCH CORROSION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2015 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
DRIVING CROSS COUNTRY AND HEARD A LOUD THUMP IN RT REAR WHEEL WELL. AFTER THAT EVERY BUMP NO MATTER HOW SMALL THE THUMP BECAME MORE PRONOUNCED. STOPPED TO CHECK THINGS OUT, RT REAR WHEEL WELL COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH EXPOSING SUSPENSION AND CORROSION ON ATTACHMENT TO FRAME. ABLE TO DRIVE HOME SAFELY, HAD DEALERSHIP CHECK IT OVER AND COST OF REPAIR TO FRAME DAMAGE OVER COST OF VECHICLE. DEALERSHIP REPORTS ONGOING ISSUE WITH RT REAR WHEEL WELL ON 2005 YEAR. WAY TO EARLY FOR THIS MUCH CORROSION.

View Details

WHEELS

2/9/2015 - NORTON , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT PASSENGER'S REAR WHEEL HOUSING HAD COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
HAD JUST RETURNED FROM DRIVING ON FREEWAY, PULLED INTO GAS STATION, NEEDED TO MOVE FOR ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN BRAKES FAILED AND PEDAL WENT DOWN TO FLOOR. ROLLED CAR INTO SNOW BANK TO AVOID ACCIDENT. NOTICED FLUID LEAKING AROUND FRONT TIRES. HAD TO FILL BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR AND DROVE CAR ACROSS STREET TO MECHANIC. BOTH FRONT BRAKE HOSES WERE SPLIT NEAR BASE OF CONNECTOR AND VERY STIFF. BOTH WERE REPLACED ALONG WITH 1 CALIPER FOR $300. MECHANIC STATED HE NEVER SAW BOTH HOSES GO AT ONCE AND WAS SURPRISED THEY SPLIT AT ONLY 100,000 MILES. PER THE INTERNET, MANY FORD ESCAPES AND MAZDAS HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THIS PROBLEM. WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF WE HAD STILL BEEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. I'M SURE FORD AND MAZDA ARE BOTH AWARE OF THIS ON GOING PROBLEM AND HAVE CHOSEN NOT TO REMEDY IT. HAVE OWNED MANY DIFFERENT CARS THROUGHOUT THE YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A BRAKE HOSE. I HOPE THEY DON'T WAIT FOR SOMEONE TO DIE BEFORE THEY DECIDE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. ON TOP OF THE FACT I DID NOT HAVE $300 TO SPARE FOR A REPAIR WHICH I FEEL WAS AVOIDABLE ON THEIR BEHALF.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/3/2015 - NILES, OH
MY 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE HAS RUSTED OUT IN THE RIGHT REAR WHEELHOUSE AROUND THE SHOCK MOUNT.CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT THEY HAVE NO FIX FOR AND TO TAKE IT TO A WELDING/FAB SHOP.THE MAZDA TRIBUTE ONLY HAS 71000 MILES ON IT SO IT IS NOT DUE TO ANY EXCESSIVE DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2015 - MANCHESTER, NH
I JUST WANTED TO ADD TO THE LONG LIST OF MAZDA TRIBUTE 2005 OWNERS WITH THE RIGHT REAR WHEELHOUSE PROBLEM DUE TO RUST AND CORROSION CAUSING THE STRUT TO DISCONNECT FROM THE FRAME. MY VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 116K MILES. THE LEFT REAR AND FRONT WHEEL HOUSE AREAS ARE IN GREAT SHAPE. ITS ASTONISHING WITH THE MULTITUDE OF MAZDA OWNERS REPORTING THIS ISSUE AND THE 100'S OF INTERNET WEB SITES DOCUMENTING THIS ISSUE THAT MAZDA HASN'T TAKEN OWNERSHIP OF THIS PROBLEM AND RELEASED A FIX. I'VE READ THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY DID JUST SO WITH THE COMPARABLE 2005 ESCAPE LINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds