Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 174 complaints filed for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Power Train (22) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (4) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (70)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (24) Visibility (2)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/15/2014 - WIXOM, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK DETACHED FROM VEHICLE BECAUSE THEY WERE INSTALLED INCORRECTLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/6/2014 - CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY I BEGAN TO NOTICE A LOUND BANGING COMING FROM THE BACK OF THE CAR. AFTER INSPECTING THE REAR DOOR TO VERIFY THE SOUND WAS NOT AN OPEN DOOR, I FOUND THAT THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR, SPECIFICALLY THE REAR RIGHT AXLE, WAS RUSTED AND DETERIORATING. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION I FOUND THAT THE SHOCK MOUNT HAD RUSTED, A PROBLEM THAT WILL SOON CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR THE WHEEL MOUNT. THERE ARE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE, ALL POINTING OUT THAT THIS IS A FACTORY ISSUE, AND ALL MAZDA TRIBUTES AND FORD ESCAPES IN THIS YEAR RANGE HAVE THIS EXACT PROBLEM. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT MUST BE FIXED IN THE NEXT WEEK OR ELSE I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR- A CAR I HAVE OWNED FOR LESS THAN A YEAR.

View Details

WHEELS

8/6/2014 - CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY I BEGAN TO NOTICE A LOUND BANGING COMING FROM THE BACK OF THE CAR. AFTER INSPECTING THE REAR DOOR TO VERIFY THE SOUND WAS NOT AN OPEN DOOR, I FOUND THAT THE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR, SPECIFICALLY THE REAR RIGHT AXLE, WAS RUSTED AND DETERIORATING. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION I FOUND THAT THE SHOCK MOUNT HAD RUSTED, A PROBLEM THAT WILL SOON CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR THE WHEEL MOUNT. THERE ARE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE, ALL POINTING OUT THAT THIS IS A FACTORY ISSUE, AND ALL MAZDA TRIBUTES AND FORD ESCAPES IN THIS YEAR RANGE HAVE THIS EXACT PROBLEM. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT MUST BE FIXED IN THE NEXT WEEK OR ELSE I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR- A CAR I HAVE OWNED FOR LESS THAN A YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
FLASHERS CAME ON WHEN CAR WAS STARTED AND WILL NOT TURN OFF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/2/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
FLASHERS CAME ON WHEN CAR WAS STARTED AND WILL NOT TURN OFF.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/30/2014 - CAMDEN, NJ
RIGHT AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR I HEARD NOISE UNDERNEATH, FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK AND AFTER PURCHASING IS WHEN THE DEALER SAID IT WAS IN AN ACCIDENT. I HAD ALREADY PURCHASED THE CAR AND PAID 9,000 DOLLARS FOR IT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND NOW I CAN NO LONGER DRIVE IT BECAUSE OF SAFETY. I WENT TO THE MANUFACTURER WHO HAS ESTIMATED THE TOTAL COST OF REPAIR INCLUDING PARTS IS $20,000 AND COMMENTED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IN A FLOOD AND NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THE CHASSIS/FRAME AROUND THE BACK RIGHT STRUT IS ALMOST GONE DUE TO RUST AND THE OTHER SIDE IS GOING AS WELL. THERE IS RUST UNDER ALL PARTS OF THE VEHICLE. I DON'T KNOW WHY THE DEALER WAS ALLOWED TO SALE ME THE CAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/22/2014 - ELLISVILLE, MO
THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL HOUSING AREA RUSTED SO BAD THAT THE TOP OF SHOCK BRACKET RUSTED AWAY AND SHOCK STARTED BANGING AGAINST FLOOR. TOOK IT TO MY MAZDA DEALER AND SERVICE MANAGER SAID IT WAS NOT RIGHT THAT THIS SHOULD HAPPEN. HE KNOWS THAT I GARAGE AND TAKE CAR OF MY VEHICLES.HE GAVE ME THE NUMBER TO CALL MAZDA FOR HELP. MAZDA SAID THEY WOULD NOT HELP! I CAN'T DRIVE THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE. BECAUSE OF FAMILY MEDICAL ISSUES I CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE IT FIXED AND I WILL NOT TRADE IT OFF TO AN UNSUSPECTING BUYER. DON'T KNOW WHAT I WILL DO. LOOKED ON INTERNET AND FOUND MANY OF THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH THE TRIBUTE AND FORD ESCAPE (BOTH, WHICH I BEEN TOLD BY CAR DEALERS' SERVICE PERSONAL, ARE THE SAME VEHICLE). YOU WOULD THINK A AUTO COMPANY WOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. I'M NO LONGER PROUD OF THE FACT THAT I HAVE OWNED ABOUT 10 MAZDA VEHICLES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/22/2014 - ELLISVILLE, MO
THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL HOUSING AREA RUSTED SO BAD THAT THE TOP OF SHOCK BRACKET RUSTED AWAY AND SHOCK STARTED BANGING AGAINST FLOOR. TOOK IT TO MY MAZDA DEALER AND SERVICE MANAGER SAID IT WAS NOT RIGHT THAT THIS SHOULD HAPPEN. HE KNOWS THAT I GARAGE AND TAKE CAR OF MY VEHICLES.HE GAVE ME THE NUMBER TO CALL MAZDA FOR HELP. MAZDA SAID THEY WOULD NOT HELP! I CAN'T DRIVE THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE. BECAUSE OF FAMILY MEDICAL ISSUES I CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE IT FIXED AND I WILL NOT TRADE IT OFF TO AN UNSUSPECTING BUYER. DON'T KNOW WHAT I WILL DO. LOOKED ON INTERNET AND FOUND MANY OF THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH THE TRIBUTE AND FORD ESCAPE (BOTH, WHICH I BEEN TOLD BY CAR DEALERS' SERVICE PERSONAL, ARE THE SAME VEHICLE). YOU WOULD THINK A AUTO COMPANY WOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. I'M NO LONGER PROUD OF THE FACT THAT I HAVE OWNED ABOUT 10 MAZDA VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/22/2014 - HOOVER, AL
WHEN APPROACHING A 4-WAY INTERSECTION DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS, THE LIGHT TURNED YELLOW THEN RED. I TRIED TO STOP BY PRESSING MY BRAKE PEDAL. MY VEHICLE DID NOT SLOW DOWN, BUT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UP HILL. I PRESSED AS HARD AS POSSIBLE BUT MY VEHICLE WENT THROUGH THE INTERSECTION AND I RAN INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. I WAS ORIGINALLY GOING ABOUT 30MPH AND WHEN I HIT THE OTHER VEHICLE, I WAS GOING ABOUT 25MPH. MY VEHICLE STOPPED AFTER HITTING THE OTHER VEHICLE BUT CONTINUED TO REV HIGHER. I WAS INJURED WHEN MY ARMS BENT THE STEERING WHEEL FORWARD, THE SEAT BELT BRUISED ME AND MY RIGHT FOOT (TALUS BONE) WAS BROKEN BY THE PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. I REQUIRED SURGERY. I WAS OUT OF WORK FOR 3 WEEKS AND WORE A CAST FOR 7 WEEKS. THE POLICEMAN WHO REPORTED TO THE ACCIDENT SITE DISCOVERED THE GAS PEDAL WAS HALF WAY DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND STUCK. THE OTHER DRIVER AND A WITNESS SAID THEY HEARD THE VEHICLE REVVING AFTER IT STOPPED AFTER IMPACT. THE VEHICLE CUT OFF AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS ON ITS OWN AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THERE ARE SIMILAR REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING ON THE WEBSITE BUT NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED. I HAD OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR 5 YEARS AND 9 MONTHS AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/22/2014 - HOOVER, AL
WHEN APPROACHING A 4-WAY INTERSECTION DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS, THE LIGHT TURNED YELLOW THEN RED. I TRIED TO STOP BY PRESSING MY BRAKE PEDAL. MY VEHICLE DID NOT SLOW DOWN, BUT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UP HILL. I PRESSED AS HARD AS POSSIBLE BUT MY VEHICLE WENT THROUGH THE INTERSECTION AND I RAN INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. I WAS ORIGINALLY GOING ABOUT 30MPH AND WHEN I HIT THE OTHER VEHICLE, I WAS GOING ABOUT 25MPH. MY VEHICLE STOPPED AFTER HITTING THE OTHER VEHICLE BUT CONTINUED TO REV HIGHER. I WAS INJURED WHEN MY ARMS BENT THE STEERING WHEEL FORWARD, THE SEAT BELT BRUISED ME AND MY RIGHT FOOT (TALUS BONE) WAS BROKEN BY THE PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. I REQUIRED SURGERY. I WAS OUT OF WORK FOR 3 WEEKS AND WORE A CAST FOR 7 WEEKS. THE POLICEMAN WHO REPORTED TO THE ACCIDENT SITE DISCOVERED THE GAS PEDAL WAS HALF WAY DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND STUCK. THE OTHER DRIVER AND A WITNESS SAID THEY HEARD THE VEHICLE REVVING AFTER IT STOPPED AFTER IMPACT. THE VEHICLE CUT OFF AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS ON ITS OWN AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THERE ARE SIMILAR REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING ON THE WEBSITE BUT NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED. I HAD OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR 5 YEARS AND 9 MONTHS AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds