Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2005 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 56 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (13) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/5/2016 - DEXTIR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. AFTER DRIVING HIGH SPEEDS AND COMING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2016 - DEXTIR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. AFTER DRIVING HIGH SPEEDS AND COMING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2015 - WAKE FOREST, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING, WHILE EXITING HIGHWAY TRAFFIC. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/19/2015 - MONROE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE EXTERIOR HEADLIGHTS FAILED. THE CONTACT SWITCHED TO THE AUTOMATIC LIGHT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A LIGHT SWITCH FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2015 - BAY CITY, WI
RECEIVED AN ABS TROUBLE CODE. MECHANIC CHECKED AND SAID IT WAS THE ABS TONE WHEEL ON THE OUTTER LEFT FRONT CV JOINT. MECHANIC SAID THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH FRONT TONE WHEELS ON THE MERCURY MARINERS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED BY FORD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CAR IS PARKED IN MY OFFICE PARKING LOT. THE CAR ALARM GOES OFF. I CAN SEE OUT THE WINDOW THERE IS NO ONE AROUND THE CAR. I USE THE REMOTE TO TURN IT OFF. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY, A FEW TIMES A DAY. I EVEN TOOK THE KEYS OUT OF MY POCKET AND JUST HAVE THEM SITTING ON MY DESK...IT STILL HAPPENS....UPDATE 9/15/15

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CAR IS PARKED IN MY OFFICE PARKING LOT. THE CAR ALARM GOES OFF. I CAN SEE OUT THE WINDOW THERE IS NO ONE AROUND THE CAR. I USE THE REMOTE TO TURN IT OFF. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY, A FEW TIMES A DAY. I EVEN TOOK THE KEYS OUT OF MY POCKET AND JUST HAVE THEM SITTING ON MY DESK...IT STILL HAPPENS....UPDATE 9/15/15

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/24/2015 - SAGLE, ID
I WAS STOPPED IN A HIGHWAY TURN LANE, WAITING FOR TRAFFIC TO PASS IN ORDER TO MAKE A LEFT TURN, WHEN HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND THE REAR WINDOW ON THE LIFT GATE SUDDENLY SHATTERED AND EXPLODED OUTWARD FROM THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE, WITH MOST OF THE GLASS ENDING UP ON THE ROADWAY. THIS OCCURRED IN THE EARLY AFTERNOON ON A WARM BUT NOT HOT DAY (TEMPS WHERE PROBABLY IN THE LOW 80S).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - HENDERSON, NV
THE CAR STALLED ON ME TWICE TODAY. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS TRAVELING ON GIBSON AT 45 MHP AND MADE A LEFT TURN SUDDENLY CAR STALLED WHILE IN GEAR. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER, HOWEVER I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR. I CHECKED THE MANUAL AND CAME ACROSS THE FUEL SAFETY CUT OFF SWITCH LOCATED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE PANEL. I PUSHED THE RESET BUTTON AND WAS ABLE START THE CAR. SECOND TIME, I WAS APPROACHING A TRAFFIC LIGHT THE CAR STALLED ON ME AGAIN. I PUSHED THE RESET BUTTON AGAIN, AND STARTED THE CAR. AT THIS POINT I AM NOT SURE WHAT IS HAPPENING TO MY CAR, AND I DON'T WANT TO BE ON THE FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEEDS WHEN IT SUDDENLY HAPPENS AGAIN. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THE FUEL FLOW IS BEING SUDDENLY CUT OFF TO THE ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2015 - MARTIN, MI
THE VEHICLE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE, BOTH TRAVELING 30MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE DRIVER WAS WEARING THEIR SEAT BELT, AND THEIR NOSE WAS BROKEN DUE TO COLLISION WITH THE STEERING WHEEL. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds