Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2005 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (15) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/1/2017 - DAYTON, TN
AS OF MONDAY OCT 23RD 2017. MY 2005 MERCURY MARINER STARTED STUTTERING, HESITATING, LOSING POWER, SPITTING, SUFFERING, HOW EVERY YOU WOULD PUT IT. WHEN YOU PUSH ON THE GAS. IT DID THIS OFF AN ON THIS DAY. LATER THIS DAY IT FELT LIKE SOMEONE PRESSED ON THE BRAKES AND THEN FLOORED THE GAS AT THE SAME TIME. WHEN THIS HAPPENED THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT FLASHED AT THE SAME TIME IT DONE THIS. IT DOES IT WITH IN ABOUT 10 SECONDS THEN THE LIGHT GOES OUT AND GOES BACK TO SPITTING AN SPUTTERING AND THE RADIO VOLUME GOES DOWN AND BACK UP OFF AN ON AS THIS IS HAPPENING. IT CONTINUED DOING ALL OF THAT EVERY SO OFTEN EVERYDAY FROM OCT 23RD - OCT 31ST. ON OCT 31ST 2017 I WAS COMING HOME, IT WAS AROUND 9:30 P.M. SPEED LIMIT WAS 55 I WAS RUNNING RIGHT AT 60 COMING OVER HIWASSEE BRIDGE AND MY HOLE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN HAD NO LIGHT INSIDE OR OUT WASN'T RUNNING, COULDN'T STEER, TRIED TO TURN HAZARD LIGHTS ON TO LET CARS COMING BOTH WAYS I WAS THERE BUT NOTHING WOULD WORK. MY BOY FRIEND SAID I'M GOING TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL HE REACHED OVER TO SEE IF IT WOULD CRANK NOTHING I STARTED GETTING NERVOUS SO I JUST PUT IT BACK IN DRIVE AND AFTER A COUPLE SECONDS IT WAS RUNNING AGAIN BUT HAD NO LIGHTS AT ALL INSIDE OR OUT JUST COULD DRIVE. SO I WAS TRYING TO MAKE IT TO THE END OF THE BRIDGE WITH NO LIGHTS SO I COULD PULL OFF BUT IT STARTED ACTING GOING CRAZY FLASHING ON OFF LIKE IT WAS POSSESSED OR SOMETHING. IT DID THAT FOR ABOUT A MINUTE THE THE HEAD LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON JUST THE HEAD LIGHTS ONLY STILL HAD NO OTHER LIGHTS NO TAIL, BRAKE, OR INSIDE LIGHTS, JUST HEAD LIGHTS. SO I TRIED TO MAKE IT ON HOME. IT CONTINUED TO DO THE SPITTING AN SPUTTERING THING AND THE BATTERY LIGHT FLASHED ON THEN OFF ABOUT 3 TIMES IN 5 MILES MY TURN WAS COMING UP TO THE LEFT SO I JUST TIRED THE BLINKER HOPING IT WILL WORK, NO LUCK. AFTER I MADE THE LEFT TURN GOT GOING THE HAZARD LIGHTS CAME ON. 7 MILES ALL LIGHTS ON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/11/2017 - ROSEMEAD, CA
ON THE FREEWAY AND CAR SUDDENLY HAS OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING, AT THE SAME TIME I BEGAN LOSING POWER, I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF FREEWAY BUT NOT AFTER I OPEN HOOD AND NEARLY GOT RUN OVER. I WAS CHECKING TO SEE IF THERE WAS OVERHEATING OR SMOKE. BUT NOTHING. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED PCM, TRANSMISSION, AND TORQUE CONVERTER. CONSEQUENTLY MY SHIFTER IS BROKEN AND YOU CAN SEE DOWN INTO TRANSMISSION. OBVIOUSLY NO I CAN'T DRIVE, I WILL HAVE TO HAVE VEHICLE TOWED. WHY HASN'T TRANSMISSION BEEN RECALLED ON THIS VEHICLE. I COULD NOT THINK ABOUT IF MY CHILD WOULD HAVE BEEN WITH ME AND STOOD IN FRONT OF CAR. HE NEVER WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MOVE THAT QUICKLY OR EVEN WORSE WITH FREEWAY DRIVING I EVEN COULD HAVE BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/11/2017 - ROSEMEAD, CA
ON THE FREEWAY AND CAR SUDDENLY HAS OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING, AT THE SAME TIME I BEGAN LOSING POWER, I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF FREEWAY BUT NOT AFTER I OPEN HOOD AND NEARLY GOT RUN OVER. I WAS CHECKING TO SEE IF THERE WAS OVERHEATING OR SMOKE. BUT NOTHING. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED PCM, TRANSMISSION, AND TORQUE CONVERTER. CONSEQUENTLY MY SHIFTER IS BROKEN AND YOU CAN SEE DOWN INTO TRANSMISSION. OBVIOUSLY NO I CAN'T DRIVE, I WILL HAVE TO HAVE VEHICLE TOWED. WHY HASN'T TRANSMISSION BEEN RECALLED ON THIS VEHICLE. I COULD NOT THINK ABOUT IF MY CHILD WOULD HAVE BEEN WITH ME AND STOOD IN FRONT OF CAR. HE NEVER WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MOVE THAT QUICKLY OR EVEN WORSE WITH FREEWAY DRIVING I EVEN COULD HAVE BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/15/2016 - CONCORD, CA
MY 2005 MERCURY MARINER PREMIER HAS A PROBLEM WHEN DRIVING THAT THE LEFT AND RIGHT DOOR SHOWS THEY ARE AJAR. AND IT CYCLES BACK AND FORTH ACROSS THE DASH BOARD, YOU HEAR A BEEP THEN THE MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD . WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED AND LOCKED THE ALARM GOES OFF BETWEEN FIVE AND 10 TIMES A NIGHT DRAINING THE BATTERY. THIS HAS STARTED ABOUT A YEAR AND HALF AGO. I TOOK MY CAR INTO A FORD DEALERSHIP ON SEPTEMBER 27,20016 TO BE REPAIRED. I HAD THE CAR IN THEIR CAR CARE FOR TWO AND ONE HALF WEEKS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PART FOR THE RIGHT SIDE THE CABLE AND HANDLE ASSEMBLY IS RECALLED AND THERE IS NO REPLACEMENT AT THIS TIME AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FRAME FOR IT TO BE AVAILABLE. I SPENT $544.00 ON A RENTAL AND $604.39. I STILL DO NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED AND FORD DEALER SAYS IT HAS NO TIME ESTIMATE WHEN IT CAN BE REPAIRED IF ANY?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/13/2016 - CLARKSVILLE, IN
I PURCHASED A 2005 MERCURY MARINER ON 2/14/13 FROM A LOCAL DEALER IN MY AREA. WITHIN TWO DAYS THE VEHICLE BROKE DOWN ON ME. I DID NOT PURCHASE THE WARRANTY (STUPID MISTAKE) BUT I DID TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP IN WHICH THEY ASSURED ME THEY WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. IT WAS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM FAST FORWARD TO 03/2015 THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT IN THE VEHICLE WHICH COST ME AROUND $3,000. THAT IS MORE THAN I OWE ON THE VEHICLE, WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY FOR IT TWICE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2016 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. JUST AFTER MAKING MY FIRST PAYMENT, I WAS GOING DOWN THE INTERSTATE IN IT AND IT JERKED LIKE SOMETHING HAD BROKEN. IT NEVER LOST POWER. NEVER HAD ANY GAUGES COME ON OR ANYTHING. I DROVE IT TO THE CLOSEST STORE AND HAD IT TOWED HOME AND THEN TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN MY TOWN. THEY CALL ME 2 DAYS LATER AND SAY I NEED A NEW MOTOR $6500. THAT'S MORE THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH. I ASK HOW WAS THAT WHEN NO GAUGES CAME ON. HIS RESPONSE WAS "IT'S INTERNAL. GAUGES WON'T COME ON." NEITHER THE LOT I BOUGHT IT AT, FORD, NOR THE FINANCE COMPANY WILL HELP IN THE REPAIRS. JUDGING BY ALL OF THE COMPLAINTS LISTED HERE, THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL. NOW I'M STUCK WITH A LEMON, NO WAY TO FIX IT OR GET OUT OF IT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2016 - DEXTIR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. AFTER DRIVING HIGH SPEEDS AND COMING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2016 - DEXTIR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. AFTER DRIVING HIGH SPEEDS AND COMING TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2015 - WAKE FOREST, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING, WHILE EXITING HIGHWAY TRAFFIC. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/19/2015 - MONROE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE EXTERIOR HEADLIGHTS FAILED. THE CONTACT SWITCHED TO THE AUTOMATIC LIGHT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A LIGHT SWITCH FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds