Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2005 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Structure (1) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (12) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - WESTVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS TO ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND COULD BE RESTARTED HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED TWELVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN COVER FOR THE IGNITION WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

7/22/2014 - WESTVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS TO ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND COULD BE RESTARTED HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED TWELVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN COVER FOR THE IGNITION WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2014 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
CAR ACCELERATED AS I TRIED TO STOP. THEN WHEN I TRIED TO GO, I PRESSED THE GAS AND IT WOULD NOT GO BUT THE RPM'S WENT REALLY HIGH. THEN THE CAR DIED AND I HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES TO TURN IT BACK ON. 2ND INCIDENT- I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND TRIED TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED SO I HAD TO KEEP BREAKING BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP ACCELERATING SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON, NOTHING WORKED (HAD NO POWER AT ALL THEREFORE I COULD NOT TURN ON MY HAZARDS TO SIGNAL TO PEOPLE THAT MY CAR WAS STALLED). I WAITED THEN TRIED TO TURN IT ON AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON BUT WAS STILL ACCELERATING ONLY I WAS IN PARK SO IT DID NOT GO ANYWHERE. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF BUT DID NOT TURN THE CAR OFF SO I COULD TURN HAZARDS ON. I WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES THEN TRIED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2014 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
CAR ACCELERATED AS I TRIED TO STOP. THEN WHEN I TRIED TO GO, I PRESSED THE GAS AND IT WOULD NOT GO BUT THE RPM'S WENT REALLY HIGH. THEN THE CAR DIED AND I HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES TO TURN IT BACK ON. 2ND INCIDENT- I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND TRIED TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED SO I HAD TO KEEP BREAKING BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP ACCELERATING SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON, NOTHING WORKED (HAD NO POWER AT ALL THEREFORE I COULD NOT TURN ON MY HAZARDS TO SIGNAL TO PEOPLE THAT MY CAR WAS STALLED). I WAITED THEN TRIED TO TURN IT ON AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON BUT WAS STILL ACCELERATING ONLY I WAS IN PARK SO IT DID NOT GO ANYWHERE. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF BUT DID NOT TURN THE CAR OFF SO I COULD TURN HAZARDS ON. I WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES THEN TRIED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
ANTI THEFT DASH LIGHT COMES ON SOLID FOR 2 OR 3 SECONDS. ENGINE LOSES POWER. AFTER 2 OR 3 SECONDS, THE ANTI THEFT LIGHT GOES OFF AND ENGINE REGAINS POWER. HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SEVERAL TIMES SINCE FIRST OCCURRENCE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND INTERVALS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
ANTI THEFT DASH LIGHT COMES ON SOLID FOR 2 OR 3 SECONDS. ENGINE LOSES POWER. AFTER 2 OR 3 SECONDS, THE ANTI THEFT LIGHT GOES OFF AND ENGINE REGAINS POWER. HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SEVERAL TIMES SINCE FIRST OCCURRENCE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND INTERVALS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/6/2013 - ROSEMEAD, CA
ON AUGUST,2013 I WENT GOT MY VEHICLE SMOGED . IT PASSES GOOD. THEN THE NEXT DAY I SEE ENGINE LIGHT AIR BAG LIGHT. THEN GOES OFF WHEN I STOP. SO I TRY TAKE TO A MECHANIC WHO I SPEND A GOOD LIKE ALMOST 800 STILL LIGHT IS ON NOW BOTTOM. NOW THE CAR DASH BOARD AND THE RADIO ARE SO HOT, IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING MAY CAUSE A FIRE! I WAS VERY SCARED! I WAS NEAR A LINCOLN DEALERSHIP WHO HAD A SERVICE CENTER IN DUARTE. CA. I NEVER KNEW. A PCM WAS A PART OF A TUNEUP! PLEASE THIS IS A 2300! AND I'M PUTTING OUT ANOTHER 1288!

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2013 - ROSEMEAD, CA
ON AUGUST,2013 I WENT GOT MY VEHICLE SMOGED . IT PASSES GOOD. THEN THE NEXT DAY I SEE ENGINE LIGHT AIR BAG LIGHT. THEN GOES OFF WHEN I STOP. SO I TRY TAKE TO A MECHANIC WHO I SPEND A GOOD LIKE ALMOST 800 STILL LIGHT IS ON NOW BOTTOM. NOW THE CAR DASH BOARD AND THE RADIO ARE SO HOT, IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING MAY CAUSE A FIRE! I WAS VERY SCARED! I WAS NEAR A LINCOLN DEALERSHIP WHO HAD A SERVICE CENTER IN DUARTE. CA. I NEVER KNEW. A PCM WAS A PART OF A TUNEUP! PLEASE THIS IS A 2300! AND I'M PUTTING OUT ANOTHER 1288!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/6/2013 - ROSEMEAD, CA
ON AUGUST,2013 I WENT GOT MY VEHICLE SMOGED . IT PASSES GOOD. THEN THE NEXT DAY I SEE ENGINE LIGHT AIR BAG LIGHT. THEN GOES OFF WHEN I STOP. SO I TRY TAKE TO A MECHANIC WHO I SPEND A GOOD LIKE ALMOST 800 STILL LIGHT IS ON NOW BOTTOM. NOW THE CAR DASH BOARD AND THE RADIO ARE SO HOT, IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING MAY CAUSE A FIRE! I WAS VERY SCARED! I WAS NEAR A LINCOLN DEALERSHIP WHO HAD A SERVICE CENTER IN DUARTE. CA. I NEVER KNEW. A PCM WAS A PART OF A TUNEUP! PLEASE THIS IS A 2300! AND I'M PUTTING OUT ANOTHER 1288!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2013 - ST.LOUIS, MO
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND MY HEAD LIGHTS WENT OFF. I HAVE PAID 3 DIFFERENT MECHANICS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND IT HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE. I EVEN PAID AAMCO OVER 500.00 TO FIX THIS AND THEY ENDED UP GIVING ME MY MONEY BACK. AND NOW THE WHOLE LIGHTING SYSTEM POPS ON AND OFF INCLUDING BACK LIGHTS AND RUNNING LIGHTS. MY BACK WIND SHIELD WIPER NO LONGER WORKS AND MY DOOR AJAR LIGHT STAYS ON..I LIKE MY TRUCK BUT I DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. I WORK 21 MILES FROM MY HOME AND I WORK NIGHT SHIFT. THIS IS DANGEROUS ON THE HIGHWAY. I PRAY EVER NIGHT I CAN GET TO WORK SAFELY WITH OUT MY LIGHTS GOING OUT ON ME. I CANNOT AFFORD ANOTHER CAR RIGHT NOW. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds