Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2005 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 50 complaints filed for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (12) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - HENDERSON, NV
THE CAR STALLED ON ME TWICE TODAY. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS TRAVELING ON GIBSON AT 45 MHP AND MADE A LEFT TURN SUDDENLY CAR STALLED WHILE IN GEAR. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER, HOWEVER I COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR. I CHECKED THE MANUAL AND CAME ACROSS THE FUEL SAFETY CUT OFF SWITCH LOCATED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE PANEL. I PUSHED THE RESET BUTTON AND WAS ABLE START THE CAR. SECOND TIME, I WAS APPROACHING A TRAFFIC LIGHT THE CAR STALLED ON ME AGAIN. I PUSHED THE RESET BUTTON AGAIN, AND STARTED THE CAR. AT THIS POINT I AM NOT SURE WHAT IS HAPPENING TO MY CAR, AND I DON'T WANT TO BE ON THE FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEEDS WHEN IT SUDDENLY HAPPENS AGAIN. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THE FUEL FLOW IS BEING SUDDENLY CUT OFF TO THE ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2015 - MARTIN, MI
THE VEHICLE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE, BOTH TRAVELLING 30MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE DRIVER WAS WEARING THEIR SEAT BELT, AND THEIR NOSE WAS BROKEN DUE TO COLLISION WITH THE STEERING WHEEL. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/1/2015 - MARTIN, MI
THE VEHICLE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE, BOTH TRAVELLING 30MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE DRIVER WAS WEARING THEIR SEAT BELT, AND THEIR NOSE WAS BROKEN DUE TO COLLISION WITH THE STEERING WHEEL. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - YORKVILLE, IL
THE GAS PEDAL STUCK WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR WOULD ONLY IDLE AND NOT MOVE. THE CAR WAS IN TRAFFIC AND ALMOST HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. ON A PRIOR DATE THE GAS PEDAL STUCK AND WOULD NOT MOVE, CAR JUST IDLED IN A PARKING LOT FOR ABOUT FIVE MINUTES. THIS WASN'T FIRST TIME IT STUCK, BUT PRIOR TIMES IT ALWAYS RELEASED RIGHT AWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/20/2014 - LYNN, MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY MY BRAKES WASN'T WORKING. AFTER GETTING IT CHECKED OUT, I FOUND THERE WAS A RIP IN THE FRONT BREAK HOSE. THIS CAUSED ALL OF MY BREAK FLUID TO LEAK OUT WHICH LEFT ME WITH NO BREAKS. WHEN YOUR BREAK HOSE IS RIPPED OR LEAKING, YOU RECEIVE NO WARNING THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. THIS PUTS YOU AND OTHERS AT RISK OF HAVING A BAD CAR CRASH. IT APPEARS THE SAME PROBLEM IS OCCURING WITH THE REAR BREAK HOSE. THIS VEHICE SHOULD BE RECALLED BECAUSE THESE BREAK HOSE CAN GIVE OUT AT ANYTIME WITHOUT WARNING AND COULD BE A HUGH TRADEGY FOR EVERYONE INVOLVED.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

7/22/2014 - WESTVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS TO ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND COULD BE RESTARTED HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED TWELVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN COVER FOR THE IGNITION WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - WESTVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS TO ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND COULD BE RESTARTED HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED TWELVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN COVER FOR THE IGNITION WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2014 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
CAR ACCELERATED AS I TRIED TO STOP. THEN WHEN I TRIED TO GO, I PRESSED THE GAS AND IT WOULD NOT GO BUT THE RPM'S WENT REALLY HIGH. THEN THE CAR DIED AND I HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES TO TURN IT BACK ON. 2ND INCIDENT- I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND TRIED TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED SO I HAD TO KEEP BREAKING BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP ACCELERATING SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON, NOTHING WORKED (HAD NO POWER AT ALL THEREFORE I COULD NOT TURN ON MY HAZARDS TO SIGNAL TO PEOPLE THAT MY CAR WAS STALLED). I WAITED THEN TRIED TO TURN IT ON AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON BUT WAS STILL ACCELERATING ONLY I WAS IN PARK SO IT DID NOT GO ANYWHERE. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF BUT DID NOT TURN THE CAR OFF SO I COULD TURN HAZARDS ON. I WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES THEN TRIED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2014 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
CAR ACCELERATED AS I TRIED TO STOP. THEN WHEN I TRIED TO GO, I PRESSED THE GAS AND IT WOULD NOT GO BUT THE RPM'S WENT REALLY HIGH. THEN THE CAR DIED AND I HAD TO WAIT A FEW MINUTES TO TURN IT BACK ON. 2ND INCIDENT- I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND TRIED TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED SO I HAD TO KEEP BREAKING BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP ACCELERATING SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON, NOTHING WORKED (HAD NO POWER AT ALL THEREFORE I COULD NOT TURN ON MY HAZARDS TO SIGNAL TO PEOPLE THAT MY CAR WAS STALLED). I WAITED THEN TRIED TO TURN IT ON AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON BUT WAS STILL ACCELERATING ONLY I WAS IN PARK SO IT DID NOT GO ANYWHERE. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF BUT DID NOT TURN THE CAR OFF SO I COULD TURN HAZARDS ON. I WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES THEN TRIED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
ANTI THEFT DASH LIGHT COMES ON SOLID FOR 2 OR 3 SECONDS. ENGINE LOSES POWER. AFTER 2 OR 3 SECONDS, THE ANTI THEFT LIGHT GOES OFF AND ENGINE REGAINS POWER. HAS HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY SEVERAL TIMES SINCE FIRST OCCURRENCE AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND INTERVALS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds