Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2005 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 358 complaints filed for the 2005 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (3) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (23) Steering (272) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seats (7) Suspension (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/30/2018 - MURRYSVILLE, PA
BEFORE I BOUGHT THE CAR IT WAS REAR-ENDED FROM LOSING SPEED BECAUSE THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING. THIS IS IN THE DESIGN OF THIS YEAR OF MINI COOPER AS I AM FINDING THAT IT IS ON THE INTERNET AS JUST A BAD DESIGN. I CAN'T GET ANYONE TO WORK ON IT FOR A REASONABLE PRICE. I'M HOPING THERE'S SOME HELP OUT THERE FOR UNSUSPECTING INNOCENT PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO THOUGHT THEY WERE GETTING A GOOD CAR AND NOW IT IS JUST UNSAFE AS I HAVE HAD TO TOW IT 3 TIMES NOW AND I'VE ONLY HAD IT SINCE MAY OF THIS YEAR 2018.

View Details

STEERING

12/13/2017 - UNION BEACH, NJ
POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED WHILE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 90K AND FOR SOME REASON WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL PER MINI USA. MINI NEEDS TO REVIEW THE RECALL AND CORRECT ALL 2005 MINI COOPER'S WITH THIS DEFECT.

View Details

STEERING

11/30/2017 - AZUSA, CA
WHILE DRIVING CAR MY STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HEAVY AND HARD TO STEER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/30/2017 - AZUSA, CA
WHILE DRIVING CAR MY STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HEAVY AND HARD TO STEER.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2017 - RIO RANCHO, NM
STEERING IS DIFFICULT AND REQUIRES EXERTION WHEN I TURN THE WHEEL. I BELIEVE MY CAR SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL RECALL 15V-XXX: ELECTRO-HYDRAULIC POWER STEERING (EHPS) SYSTEM M32 02 15 IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL BUT BECAUSE MY CAR EXHIBITS THE SAME ISSUE THAT IS RECALLED ON CARS MADE IN THAT YEAR, I FEEL THAT THE LIMITS SHOULD BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE MY CAR AND OTHER CARS MANUFACTURED WHEN MINE WAS.

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2017 - LYNN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MINI COOPER. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V660000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE IN HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2017 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE POWER STEERING PUMP ON MY 2005 MINI COOPER S IS ACTING UP/ FAULTY, MAKING A GROAN NOISE AND STEERING IS HARD AT TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2017 - NORTH HILLS, CA
THE POWER STEERING IN MY MINI COOPER 2005 HAS BEEN INTERMITTENT. THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES VERY HARD TO TURN ALL OF A SUDDEN, PARTICULARLY AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN IT IS NEEDED THE MOST TO MAKE TURNS OR TO PARK. THERE ARE NO FAULT INDICATORS FOR THIS ISSUE ON THE DASHBOARD EITHER. THE VERY FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED IN MARCH 2011 WHEN MY CAR HAD LESS THAN 80,000 MILES ON IT. THE POWER STEERING BECAME COMPLETELY INOPERABLE. AT THAT TIME THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP FAILURE WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM IN MINI COOPER AND THAT THE PUMP HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE REPLACEMENT COST WAS TOO HIGH THOUGH, HENCE I CHOSE TO THINK ABOUT IT BEFORE HAVING IT REPLACED. LUCKILY, THE POWER STEERING STARTED WORKING AGAIN AND EVEN THOUGH STEERING BECAME A LITTLE HARD AT TIMES I GOT USED TO IT. BUT SINCE END OF APRIL 2017 THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE. STEERING GETS TOO HARD AT TIMES AND REQUIRES A LOT OF FORCE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT LOW SPEEDS. GETTING IN AND OUT A COMPACT PARKING SPOT IS EXCEPTIONALLY HARD. MAKING LEFT, RIGHT AND U TURNS ARE ALSO VERY HARD. EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY MY CAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. OR IF THE RECALL IS ONGOING, WHY SHOULD IT TAKE SO LONG SINCE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2017 - SANTA ANA, CA
PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION. TRANSMISSION DOES NOT SHIFT PROPERLY DOWNSHIFTS AT HIGH SPEEDS CAUSING THE ENGINE TO REV REALLY HIGH. JOLTS A LOT ON THE SPEED CHANGES. HAVING SIGNS INDICATIVE OF TRANSMISSION FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

3/3/2017 - VENICE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 MINI COOPER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING ABILITY HAD NOT RETURNED FOR ONE MONTH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN ELECTRO HYDRAULIC STEERING SYSTEM WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V660000 (STEERING), BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds