Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 831 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (5) Tires (19)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (97) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (81) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (231) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (259) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (17) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - AUGUSTA, GA
SO BESIDES THE FACT THAT MY FLOOR BOARD ON MY DRIVERS SIDE HAS A HUGE HOLE IN IT, THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR HAS CAUSE ME ENOUGH PROBLEMS TO WHERE I BELIEVE NISSAN SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR FIXING THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE IDLES ROUGH, WHEN ACCELERATING IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS ABOUT TO SHUT OFF, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES YOU CHANGE THE SENSOR. I'VE HAD MINE CHANGED FOUR TIMES. I AM ACTUALLY SICK OF THIS VEHICLE NOW AND WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER NISSAN. TO MAKE IT WORSE I CAN'T TAKE THE CAR OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE IT WILL GET HOT THEN THE CLUTCH STICKS TO THE FLOOR. I HAVE TO LIFT IT WITH MY FOOT AND IT STILL WON'T ENGAGE, IT LOSES ALL PRESSURE. SO DRIVING LONG DISTANCE IS OUT OF THE QUESTION. SOMEONE NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT. I ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE I COULDN'T GET MY CAR TO GO INTO THIRD GEAR. WHEN I DO GET IN AN ACCIDENT I WILL SUE NISSAN AND ANYBODY ELSE WHO KNEW ABOUT THESE PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR AND SAT BACK AND DID NOTHING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - AUGUSTA, GA
SO BESIDES THE FACT THAT MY FLOOR BOARD ON MY DRIVERS SIDE HAS A HUGE HOLE IN IT, THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR HAS CAUSE ME ENOUGH PROBLEMS TO WHERE I BELIEVE NISSAN SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR FIXING THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE IDLES ROUGH, WHEN ACCELERATING IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS ABOUT TO SHUT OFF, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES YOU CHANGE THE SENSOR. I'VE HAD MINE CHANGED FOUR TIMES. I AM ACTUALLY SICK OF THIS VEHICLE NOW AND WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER NISSAN. TO MAKE IT WORSE I CAN'T TAKE THE CAR OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE IT WILL GET HOT THEN THE CLUTCH STICKS TO THE FLOOR. I HAVE TO LIFT IT WITH MY FOOT AND IT STILL WON'T ENGAGE, IT LOSES ALL PRESSURE. SO DRIVING LONG DISTANCE IS OUT OF THE QUESTION. SOMEONE NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT. I ALMOST GOT HIT BECAUSE I COULDN'T GET MY CAR TO GO INTO THIRD GEAR. WHEN I DO GET IN AN ACCIDENT I WILL SUE NISSAN AND ANYBODY ELSE WHO KNEW ABOUT THESE PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR AND SAT BACK AND DID NOTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2015 - DRACUT, MA
MY VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING A WHINING NOISE AT IDLE AND ALSO WHILE DRIVING. UPON FURTHER REVIEW AND EXTENSIVE ONLINE RESEARCH AT MAXIMA FORUM, I HAVE FOUND OUT THERE'S A DESIGN FLAW ON THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS ON THESE V6 ENGINES. IF NOT REPAIRED CAN RESULT IN EXTENSIVE REPAIRS AND POSSIBLE LOSS OF ENGINE. HOWEVER, MY VEHICLE IS PAST THE WARRANTY MILEAGE. I DON'T KNOW IF NISSAN WILL GRANT THE FREE REPAIR SINCE IT IS A DESIGN FLAW BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/18/2015 - OSWEGO, IL
CAR SHUDDERED AND RPM DROPPED AND THEN CAME BACK UP TO CURRENT RPM LEVEL. CAME TO STOP LIGHT AND VEHICLE WAS THEN PUT INTO LIMP MODE. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND RPM'S WOULD NOT GO OVER 2000. PULLED OVER AND TURNED CAR OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND BEGAN TO TRY AND DRIVE IT AGAIN. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS. TRIED TO MANUALLY SHIFT THE AUTOMATIC TRANS AND IT WOULD HIT HARD UPON GEAR SHIFTS BUT WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME THE REMAINING FEW MILES.. BROUGHT VEHICLE IN TO A MECHANICS SHOP THE NEXT MORNING AND THE CODES INDICATE CAM POSITION SENSOR FAILURES. I SEE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AND A RECALL FOR THIS UNDER R2022 BUT OF COURSE MY VEHICLE IS NOT LISTED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND ALL VEHICLES SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AS IT IS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT COMES OUT OF NOWHERE WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I AM WAITING FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE REPAIRED TO SEE IF THE PROBLEM IS COMPLETELY RESOLVED AT MY EXPENSE. ANY HELP IN THIS MATTER WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - OSWEGO, IL
CAR SHUDDERED AND RPM DROPPED AND THEN CAME BACK UP TO CURRENT RPM LEVEL. CAME TO STOP LIGHT AND VEHICLE WAS THEN PUT INTO LIMP MODE. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND RPM'S WOULD NOT GO OVER 2000. PULLED OVER AND TURNED CAR OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND BEGAN TO TRY AND DRIVE IT AGAIN. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS. TRIED TO MANUALLY SHIFT THE AUTOMATIC TRANS AND IT WOULD HIT HARD UPON GEAR SHIFTS BUT WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME THE REMAINING FEW MILES.. BROUGHT VEHICLE IN TO A MECHANICS SHOP THE NEXT MORNING AND THE CODES INDICATE CAM POSITION SENSOR FAILURES. I SEE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AND A RECALL FOR THIS UNDER R2022 BUT OF COURSE MY VEHICLE IS NOT LISTED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND ALL VEHICLES SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AS IT IS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT COMES OUT OF NOWHERE WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I AM WAITING FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE REPAIRED TO SEE IF THE PROBLEM IS COMPLETELY RESOLVED AT MY EXPENSE. ANY HELP IN THIS MATTER WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - OSWEGO, IL
CAR SHUDDERED AND RPM DROPPED AND THEN CAME BACK UP TO CURRENT RPM LEVEL. CAME TO STOP LIGHT AND VEHICLE WAS THEN PUT INTO LIMP MODE. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND RPM'S WOULD NOT GO OVER 2000. PULLED OVER AND TURNED CAR OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND BEGAN TO TRY AND DRIVE IT AGAIN. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS. TRIED TO MANUALLY SHIFT THE AUTOMATIC TRANS AND IT WOULD HIT HARD UPON GEAR SHIFTS BUT WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME THE REMAINING FEW MILES.. BROUGHT VEHICLE IN TO A MECHANICS SHOP THE NEXT MORNING AND THE CODES INDICATE CAM POSITION SENSOR FAILURES. I SEE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AND A RECALL FOR THIS UNDER R2022 BUT OF COURSE MY VEHICLE IS NOT LISTED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AND ALL VEHICLES SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL AS IT IS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT COMES OUT OF NOWHERE WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I AM WAITING FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE REPAIRED TO SEE IF THE PROBLEM IS COMPLETELY RESOLVED AT MY EXPENSE. ANY HELP IN THIS MATTER WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/16/2015 - GARDEN CITY SOUTH, NY
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. I FOUND OUT ON LINE , THAT THERE IS AN INFERIOR DESIGN FLAW WHICH IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS,THAT INVOLVES WATER ACCUMULATION AND SEVERE RUSTING CLEAR THRU BOTH THE INNER AND LOWER FLOOR BOARDS, ON MOST 2002 TO 2006 NISSAN'S. I CHECKED MY VEHICLE AND FOUND ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE,I HAVE A 6 TO 8 INCH HOLE CLEAR THRU BOTH THE INNER AND LOWER FLOOR BOARDS. THIS CONDITION IS EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS IN THAT IN ADDITION TO SOMEONE POSSIBLY FALLING THRU THE HOLE , ENGINE EXHAUST CARBON MONOXIDE FUMES AS WELL AS WATER CAN ENTER THE VEHICLE. THERE IS ALSO THE POSSIBILITY OF AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE WIRING THAT CAN CAUSE A FIRE AND RESULT IN DEATH. IN READING ABOUT THIS DEFECT ON LINE IT STATS THAT REPAIRING THIS PROBLEM CAN COST THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND NISSAN KNEW OF THIS RUST PROBLEM , POOR WATER DRAINAGE CONDITION AND WILL NOT ISSUE A RECALL SINCE THIS CONDITION HAPPENED AFTER THE WARRANTY PERIOD. THE INTER NET ARTICLES STATED THAT HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS HAVE ALREADY BEEN FILED AND ADVISED PERSONS AFFECTED BY THIS PROBLEM TO CONTACT THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION ADMINISTRATION. I THANK YOU AND APPRECIATE YOUR PROMPT ATTENTION,IN LOOKING INTO THIS MATTER AND AWAIT YOUR RESPONSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/14/2015 - SAINT JOHNSVILLE , NY
FLOOR BOARDS ROTTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2015 - BETHEL PARK , PA
I AM PLACING A COMPLAINT AGAINST NISSAN MOTOR COMPANY FOR FAULTY FLOORING IN THEIR ALTIMA MODELS. I TRIED TO HAVE OUR CAR A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA INSPECTED TODAY BUT IT FAILED DO TO RUSTING FLOORS UNDER THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER FEET SECTION. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN ISSUE NOW THAT NBC NEWS HAS BROKE THE STORY ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IN ONE OF THE BROAD CAST. NISSAN SHOULD NOT BE LET OFF THE HOOK WITH THIS ISSUE SO I'M WRITING TO YOU IN HOPES THAT WILL NOT HAPPEN . THIS COMPANY SCREWED UP NOW PEOPLE SUCH AS MY FAMILY ARE LEFT WONDERING HOW TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT IS NO FAULT OF THEIR OWN. PLEASE DO SOMETHING !!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2015 - CYPRESS, TX
I AM DRIVING A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA SE-R WITH APPROXIMATELY 140,000 MILES ON IT. I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD AND COMING TO A STOP FOR A TRAFFIC LIGHT, PROBABLY AT 5 TO 10 MPH. THE ENGINE SHUT OFF FOR NO REASON. I WENT TO AUTOZONE AND GOT THE ENGINE CODE AND IT IS FOR CAN SHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I BROWSED INTERNET AND THIS SEEMS A COMMON PROBLEM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds