Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 731 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (90) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (168) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (251) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/23/2014 - SCHAUMBURG ILL, IL
MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA HAS TWO RUST HOLES IN FLOOR PAN WHICH SEEMS UNACCEPTABLE AND A DEFECT IN WORKMANSHIP AND HAS BEEN OCCURING AMOUNG OTHER NISSAN ALTIMA OWNERS THE CAR EXTERIOR IS IN GREAT SHAPE MECHANICALLY AND BODY WISE EXCEPT FOR THE FAULTY FLOOR PAN RUST HOLES!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2014 - LOUDON, NH
TOOK THE CAR TO REPAIR SHOP FOR O/C AND WAS TOLD I HAD SLIGHT RUST UNDERNEATH PASSENGER DOOR. WAS TOLD IT SHOULD BE ALRIGHT FOR ANOTHER INSPECTION. WHEN I WENT FOR INSPECTION I WAS TOLD THEY COULDN'T INSPECT IT BECAUSE THE RUST HAD GOTTEN SO BAD IN THAT SAME AREA. I PAID CLOSE TO $500. FOR REPAIR AND WAS ALSO TOLD BY OTHERS THAT IT WAS A COMMON COMPLAINT FOR THAT YEAR CAR AND THAT IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW AND HAS BEEN SINCE CHANGED.CAR HAS NEVER BEEN RUN IN THE SALT AND WAS TOLD IT WAS WATER GETTING UP INSIDE THE ARE MENTIONED BECAUSE OF THE DESIGN FLAW AND SITTING THERE TO CAUSE THE RUST. WAS REALLY UPSET ABOUT THIS CONSIDERING THE CAR IS IN FANTASTIC SHAPE .. I THINK NISSAN SHOULD HELP FOR THE REPAIRS... I ALSO WAS TOLD I BECAUSE IT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE THE CAR DIDN'T HAVE THE 10 GRACE PERIOD FROM REGISTRATION TO INSPECTION , SO I DID IT IMMEDIATELY

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/14/2014 - WALLINGTON, NJ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAM AND CRANKSHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
WHEN RESTARTING MY CAR WHEN DRIVING FOR A WHILE. I RESTART MY CAR AND IT HESITATE TO CRANK OVER THE ENGINE SHAKES LIKE IT MISFIRING. ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT TURNS ON AND ENGINE CRAWLS TO A HALT AND TURNS OFF. I TOOK IT TO MEINEKE THEY SAID IT WAS A BAD CAM SENSOR COST ME 130 TO REPLACE AND ENGINE WORKED FINE FOR 4 MONTHS. SAME PROBLEM AGAIN TOOK IT'S TO NISSAN OF MANHATTAN THEY SAID THE COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. WORKED FOR ABOUT 4 MORE MONTHS NOW LOOKS LIKE I'M GOING TO NEED THE CRANK SENSOR REPLACED AGAIN. THERE A RECALL ON MY MODEL CAR BUT NOT MY VIN NUMBER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/29/2014 - DAVENPORT, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARDS WERE RUSTED AND CREATED LARGE HOLES ON BOTH SIDES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
ON AUGUST 18, 2014, AFTER DROPPING MY SON OFF AT SCHOOL. I CAME TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED, I STARTED TO TAKE OFF AND NOTICED THE CAR HAS SHUT DOWN. I EVENTUALLY MADE IT HOME WITH THE CAR GOING A VERY LOW SPEED AND THEN SPEED UP, BUT WHEN CAR TO A START THE ENGINE STALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS PUT ON A COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT THE DIAGNOSIS WERE AND IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR COSTING $80 DOLLARS FOR TWO AND $70 FOR ANOTHER, HOWEVER THESE ITEMS HAS BEEN CHANGED ALONG WITH A TUNE UP AND THE CAR IS DOING THE SAME. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE COMPUTER, I NOTICED THERE WERE RECALLS ON THE CRANKSHAFT SENSORS AND THE ECM. I CONTACTED NISSAN DEALER, AN APPOINTMENT WAS MADE AND I WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT SHOWING SO THE PROBLEM HAD TO BEEN DONE, BECAUSE I'M THE SECOND OWNER. IT'S FUNNY HOW THIS PROBLEM COMES ABOUT AFTER 4 1/2 YEARS OF HAVING THIS VEHICLE AND THE RECALL SUPPOSE TO HAVE BEEN TAKING CARE OF WITH THE FIRST OWNER. THIS IS AN INCONVENIENCE AND IT'S FRUSTRATING. THERE IS ALSO RUSTING OF THE FLOOR UNDER THE CAR, YOU CAN SEE THE FLOOR COMING DOWN FROM UNDER THE CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS AN OUTRAGE AND SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AT THE COST OF THE DEALERS AND NOT THE OWNERS. THIS IS DANGEROUS, YOU CAN BE DRIVING AT A SPEED AND THE CAR JUST STOP, WHICH CAN CAUSE A VERY BAD ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/26/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
ON AUGUST 18, 2014, AFTER DROPPING MY SON OFF AT SCHOOL. I CAME TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED, I STARTED TO TAKE OFF AND NOTICED THE CAR HAS SHUT DOWN. I EVENTUALLY MADE IT HOME WITH THE CAR GOING A VERY LOW SPEED AND THEN SPEED UP, BUT WHEN CAR TO A START THE ENGINE STALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS PUT ON A COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT THE DIAGNOSIS WERE AND IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR COSTING $80 DOLLARS FOR TWO AND $70 FOR ANOTHER, HOWEVER THESE ITEMS HAS BEEN CHANGED ALONG WITH A TUNE UP AND THE CAR IS DOING THE SAME. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE COMPUTER, I NOTICED THERE WERE RECALLS ON THE CRANKSHAFT SENSORS AND THE ECM. I CONTACTED NISSAN DEALER, AN APPOINTMENT WAS MADE AND I WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT SHOWING SO THE PROBLEM HAD TO BEEN DONE, BECAUSE I'M THE SECOND OWNER. IT'S FUNNY HOW THIS PROBLEM COMES ABOUT AFTER 4 1/2 YEARS OF HAVING THIS VEHICLE AND THE RECALL SUPPOSE TO HAVE BEEN TAKING CARE OF WITH THE FIRST OWNER. THIS IS AN INCONVENIENCE AND IT'S FRUSTRATING. THERE IS ALSO RUSTING OF THE FLOOR UNDER THE CAR, YOU CAN SEE THE FLOOR COMING DOWN FROM UNDER THE CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS AN OUTRAGE AND SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AT THE COST OF THE DEALERS AND NOT THE OWNERS. THIS IS DANGEROUS, YOU CAN BE DRIVING AT A SPEED AND THE CAR JUST STOP, WHICH CAN CAUSE A VERY BAD ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/26/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
ON AUGUST 18, 2014, AFTER DROPPING MY SON OFF AT SCHOOL. I CAME TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED, I STARTED TO TAKE OFF AND NOTICED THE CAR HAS SHUT DOWN. I EVENTUALLY MADE IT HOME WITH THE CAR GOING A VERY LOW SPEED AND THEN SPEED UP, BUT WHEN CAR TO A START THE ENGINE STALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS PUT ON A COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT THE DIAGNOSIS WERE AND IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR COSTING $80 DOLLARS FOR TWO AND $70 FOR ANOTHER, HOWEVER THESE ITEMS HAS BEEN CHANGED ALONG WITH A TUNE UP AND THE CAR IS DOING THE SAME. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE COMPUTER, I NOTICED THERE WERE RECALLS ON THE CRANKSHAFT SENSORS AND THE ECM. I CONTACTED NISSAN DEALER, AN APPOINTMENT WAS MADE AND I WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT SHOWING SO THE PROBLEM HAD TO BEEN DONE, BECAUSE I'M THE SECOND OWNER. IT'S FUNNY HOW THIS PROBLEM COMES ABOUT AFTER 4 1/2 YEARS OF HAVING THIS VEHICLE AND THE RECALL SUPPOSE TO HAVE BEEN TAKING CARE OF WITH THE FIRST OWNER. THIS IS AN INCONVENIENCE AND IT'S FRUSTRATING. THERE IS ALSO RUSTING OF THE FLOOR UNDER THE CAR, YOU CAN SEE THE FLOOR COMING DOWN FROM UNDER THE CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS AN OUTRAGE AND SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AT THE COST OF THE DEALERS AND NOT THE OWNERS. THIS IS DANGEROUS, YOU CAN BE DRIVING AT A SPEED AND THE CAR JUST STOP, WHICH CAN CAUSE A VERY BAD ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/24/2014 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
FLOOR PAN ON BOTH DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER'S SIDES HAS RUSTED THROUGH. BOTH HOLES APPROXIMATELY 6"X14" IN SIZE. CAN SEE TO THE GROUND UNDER GAS FLAP LEVER. FIRST NOTICED AT 159000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/24/2014 - FULTON , IL
FLOORBOARDS ARE COMPLETELY ROTTED THROUGH ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES. NO RUST ANYWHERE ELSE ON CAR. CARPET CAN BE SEEN FROM UNDERNEATH OF CAR. MY MECHANIC NOTICED IT WHILE WORKING ON CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds