Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 933 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (44)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (101) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Engine (94) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (298) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/16/2016 - OREGON, WI
THERE IS A RUST/CORROSION HOLE IN THE FLOORBOARD BELOW THE DRIVERS FEET. I'M SURE IT HAS BEEN THERE FOR A WHILE BUT I JUST NOTICED IT RECENTLY BECAUSE I SAW A PIECE OF THE FLOOR DANGLING BELOW THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2016 - FAR ROCKAWAY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO THE DRIVE POSITION, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 204,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/4/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH 60,000 MILES ON IT NEEDED DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR REPLACED, DEALER TRIED TO TELL ME THIS WAS FROM SNOW AND SALT. VEHICLE IS LOCATED IN PHILADELPHIA AND NOT DRIVEN IN THIS TYPE OF WEATHER. NISSAN MANUFACTURES A REPLACEMENT SET OF FLOOR PANS BUT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THE DEFECT. I HAD TO BUY THE SET SO I HAVE THE PASSENGER SIDE FOR WHEN THAT RUST OUT. THIS WAS NOT A CHEAP FIX AND BASED ON AGE, CONDITION AND MILEAGE, THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2016 - NARRAGANSETT, RI
MY FRONT FLOORBOARDS ROTTED OUT RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE AND A $1,200 REPAIR BILL. IT WAS DISCOVERED AT A RHODE ISLAND STATE INSPECTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/22/2016 - FLUSHING, NY
MANY COMPLAINTS ARE ON THE WEB FROM OWNERS OF NISSAN ALTIMA REGARDING FLOOR BOARDS RUSTING AWAY. MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA HAS SUCH A PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH IT IS GARAGE KEPT. I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL FALL THROUGH THE RUSTED OUT FLOOR BOARDS OR MY SEAT WILL FALL THROUGH WHILE I OR ANY OTHER DRIVER IS DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I 1ST NOTICED HOW FLIMSY THE FLOOR BOARDS WERE MADE AFTER A WEEK OF HAVING THE CAR. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD RECALL THIS CAR TO FIX. PLEASE SEE THE FOLLOWING WEB SITE: HTTPS://CONSUMERIST.COM/2015/04/06/NHSTA-COMPLAINTS-SHOW-RUSTED-FLOORBOARDS-IN-OLDER-NISSAN-ALTIMAS-CREATE-FRED-FLINTSTONE-CARS/ MY FRIEND SPEND OVER $1000.00 TO HAVE THE FLOOR BOARDS REPAIRED AND I KNOW MORE. THANKS JULIO MORA

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
MY ENGINE STARTED MAKING A LOUD RATTLING NOISE. IT WAS ESPECIALLY LOUD WHEN IT WAS NOT MOVING BUT BECAME A LITTLE MORE SILENT ONCE THE CAR WAS MOVING. TOOK IT TO NISSAN TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME MY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS WERE FAILING AND THAT IT HAD TO BE FIXED VERY SOON BEFORE THE CHAIN SNAPS AND DAMAGES THE ENGINE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
FROM THE AUTO BODY SHOP'S DIAGNOSTIC & ESTIMATE REPORT: "RF INTERIOR FOOT SPACE SUNK IN MORE" & "FLOOR BOARD RUSTED OUT ON BOTH FRONT DRIVER & PASSENGER SIDES". IN OTHER WORDS, THE METAL FLOOR PANELS IN FRONT OF BOTH FRONT SEATS HAVE PREMATURELY CORRODED TO FAILURE, IN WHICH THE FLOOR IS NO LONGER SAFELY SUPPORTS THE OCCUPANTS & THE BARRIER BETWEEN INSIDE & OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN BREACHED. UPON INVESTIGATION THIS PROBLEM IS A COMMON WITH VEHICLES OF THIS MAKE, MODEL, & YEAR. THE METAL FLOOR PANEL & ITS CORROSION RESISTANCE ARE THE MANUFACTURER'S ERROR & ARE A SAFETY RISK TO THE USERS. I AM WORRIED ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY OF A FOOT OR ITEM FALLING THROUGH THE FLOOR, EXHAUST OR OTHER FUMES ENTERING THE INTERIOR, & THE CAR'S PERFORMANCE IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2016 - OSCAR, LA
MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA USES ABOUT 3 QUARTS OF OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I SEE NO LEAKS SO IT IS LOSING OIL IN THE ENGINE SOMEWHERE. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS VERY PROBLEM, WHY IS THERE NOTHING DONE ABOUT THIS?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/5/2016 - HILLSBORO, MO
MY REAR DRIVERS SIDE BRAKE CONTINUES TO HAVE ISSUES AFTER 4 REPAIRS THE CALIPERS , ROTORS, PADS, LINES EVERYTHING HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT THEY START TO GRIND AFTER 3 MONTHS OF DRIVING I HAVE HAD 2 DIFFERENT SHOPS WORK ON ITBUT STILL HAVING ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/24/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
TAKATA RECALL WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY MY CAR STARTED MAKING A SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT OF MY CAR I TURNED DOWN THE MUSIC TO LISTEN TO THE SOUND. AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR MADE ONE LAST SOUND THEN THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING SO I HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I GOT OUT TO CHECK THE CAR AND NOTICED IT WAS SMOKING I LOOKED UNDER THE CAR AND NOTICED IT WAS ON FIRE. I GRABBED MY KIDS OUT THE CAR AND MY BELONGINGS AND WALKED DOWN THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY JUST IN CASE THE CAR BLEW UP. I CALLED THE AMBULANCE AND NOTIFIED THEM ABOUT THE CAR. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER MY WHOLE ENTIRE CAR WAS IN FLAMES. AS I WAS ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY SOMEONE STOPPED AND LET ME AND MY KIDS SIT IN THE CAR UNTIL MY RIDE CAME. THE FIRE FIGHTERS CAME AND PUT THE FIRE OUT. THEY TOWED THE CAR AND WE LEFT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds