Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 993 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (108) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Engine (108) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (334) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 120
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2017 - HICKSVILLE, NY
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5SL, PAID $25000 AND I ALSO BOUGHT EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS VEHICLE,ALWAYS SERVICED BY NISSAN DEALER,I DO HAVE ALL THE RECORDS OF DEALER VISIT .NO BODY MENTIONED ME UP TO NOW THAT THERE IS A HEAVY RUST UNDER DRIVER SIDE.I HAVE ONLY 83000 MILES ON THIS CAR AND ALWAYS KEPT IN GARAGE.I WENT TO NISSAN DEALER AND THEY ARE ASKING $2500 TO FIX THIS ISSUE,I AM FEELING UNSAFE TO DRIVE, I DO SEE THAT EVERY ONE HAVE SAME ISSUE.THIS IS THE BIGGEST SAFETY ISSUE, I NEED YOUR HELP FOR THIS RECALL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.PASSENGER SIDE HAVE SAME ISSUE TOO. NOW I DO HAVE A BIG HOLE UNDER MY CARPET. MY WIFE DON'T. WANT TO DRIVE AND I AM ALSO SCARED TO DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2017 - FONTANA, CA
TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS... AT ABOUT 100,000 MILES, CAR BEGAN JERKING WHILE IN MOTION FROM STOP OR RED LIGHT.. WOULD BE FINE FOR A WHILE AND THEN AGAIN BEGAN JERKING. AT APPROXIMATELY 100,000 MILES, TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY NOT WORKING.. CAR IS FINE WHEN ON REVERSE BUT WILL NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND FIRST GEAR WHEN ON DRIVE "D". VERY EXPENSIVE TO FIX A CAR THAT OTHER THAN THIS IS IN GREAT CONDITION, CAR IS NOT OPERABLE AT THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2017 - MACON, GA
TRANSMISSION ROUGH SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. IT HESITATES WHILE ACCELERATING AND THEN STOPS OR JERKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2017 - MACON, GA
TRANSMISSION ROUGH SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. IT HESITATES WHILE ACCELERATING AND THEN STOPS OR JERKS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
NISSAN USED PARTS IN THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM WHICH PREMATURELY FAIL AND WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR AFTER WARRANTY. THE ISSUE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DISCOVERED UNTIL IT HAD ALREADY FAILED AND IN THIS CASE, IS NOT A REPAIR THE OWNER CAN PERFORM ON THEIR OWN. CERTAIN MECHANICS HAVE EVEN CHOSE NOT TO PERFORM THIS REPAIR AND THE ONES WHICH ARE ABLE TO, CHARGE IN THE $2000+ RANGE. WHEN CONTACTING NISSAN ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT HAD SAID IT WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. ONCE THE TIMING IS EFFECTED, THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN SEEM TO HAVE DROPPED IN PERFORMANCE IN WHICH I HAVE VERY SLUGGISH ACCELERATION AND CANNOT READY SPEEDS OVER 30 MPH. THERE IS NO WAY I WAS ABLE TO EVEN CHECK IF THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM HAD SIGNS OF GOING BAD, AND IF THERE WAS A RECALL, THIS ISSUE COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED FOR MYSELF AND OTHERS. THIS FAULTY SYSTEM CREATES AN UNSAFE, UNRELIABLE MACHINE WHICH NISSAN SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/15/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
NISSAN USED PARTS IN THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM WHICH PREMATURELY FAIL AND WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR AFTER WARRANTY. THE ISSUE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DISCOVERED UNTIL IT HAD ALREADY FAILED AND IN THIS CASE, IS NOT A REPAIR THE OWNER CAN PERFORM ON THEIR OWN. CERTAIN MECHANICS HAVE EVEN CHOSE NOT TO PERFORM THIS REPAIR AND THE ONES WHICH ARE ABLE TO, CHARGE IN THE $2000+ RANGE. WHEN CONTACTING NISSAN ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT HAD SAID IT WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. ONCE THE TIMING IS EFFECTED, THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN SEEM TO HAVE DROPPED IN PERFORMANCE IN WHICH I HAVE VERY SLUGGISH ACCELERATION AND CANNOT READY SPEEDS OVER 30 MPH. THERE IS NO WAY I WAS ABLE TO EVEN CHECK IF THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM HAD SIGNS OF GOING BAD, AND IF THERE WAS A RECALL, THIS ISSUE COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED FOR MYSELF AND OTHERS. THIS FAULTY SYSTEM CREATES AN UNSAFE, UNRELIABLE MACHINE WHICH NISSAN SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
IN 2008, MY CAR STATED HAVING DIFFICULTY STARTING FOR A FEW WEEKS THEN MY SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MY MECHANIC TOLD ME IT WAS FOR THE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I CHECKED WITH NISSAN AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR 2005 ALTIMAS BUT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE CAMSHAFT WAS REPLACE. LAST WEEK MY CAR TRANSMISSION STARTED JERKING AND SHORTLY AFTER THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MY MECHANIC TOLD ME IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I FORWARDED AN E-MAIL TO NISSAN ASKING WHAT WAS THE PARAMETERS OF THE RECALL AS THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME MY CAR HAD THIS PROBLEM. THEY RESPONDED THAT MY CAR IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND TO SEEK ASSISTANCE FROM MY LOCAL DEALER. I HAVE DEALT WITH THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN THE PAST AND THERE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. I HAVE READ THAT THIS SENOR CAN CAUSE MY CAR TO STALL WHILE DRIVING. I AM IN FEAR THIS WILL HAPPEN ON A NYC HIGHWAY, IN A DESERTED OR HIGH CRIME AREA. DO I HAVE ANY RECOURSE THAT WOULD MAKE NISSAN PAY FOR THIS $400.00 PLUS REPAIR?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/24/2017 - CANONSBURG, PA
I OWN A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA AND BOTH FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER FLOOR BOARDS RUSTED THROUGH TOTALLY. WOULD NOT PASS PA. INSPECTION. PER MY MECHANIC RUSTED BECAUSE HOW NISSAN ROUTES THE DRAIN HOSE FOR THE AIR CONDITIONER CAUSE THE PREMATURE/UNSAFE HOLES. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS TO RIDE IN THE CAR, TO WHERE INJURY WAS CERTAIN. TOOK TO AUTO BODY SHOP AND THEY ALSO SAID THE SAME CAUSE FOR THE RUSTED OUT FLOOR BOARDS. MY NISSAN ALTIMA WASN'T THE FIRST NISSAN ALTIMA THEY REPLACED THE FLOOR BOARDS. AGAIN THEY STATED VERY DANGEROUS TO OPERATE THIS CAR! IT COST ME $528.94 FOR THIS REPAIR! I WANT REIMBURSED! I ONLY INCLUDED THE PASSENGER PICTURE OF FLOOR BOARD DUE TO SIZE ALLOWED TO DOWNLOAD. THE DRIVER SIDE JUST AS BAD!

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - SANTA MARIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT IT FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE SERVICE ENGINE INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR AND CAM SHAFT SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2017 - NEW HAVEN, CT
I WAS DRIVING MYSELF AND CO WORKER HOME FROM WORK. WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CITY STREET MY CAR JUST STALLED OUT AND WOULD NOT START. I COULD HAVE BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY, OUR LIVES WERE PUT AT RISK DUE TO A DEFECT IN THE CAM SHAFT POSITION CENSOR ON MY 2005 NISSIAN ALTIMA. THE CONSUMER WOULD LIKE AN UPDATE ON THE INVESTIGATION INTO THE CAMSHAFT POSITION CENSOR AND THE FUEL PUMP. THE CONSUMER BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN INCOMPLETE RECALL THAT WAS PERFORMED ON THE CAMSHAFT CENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 120
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds