Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 915 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (81) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (47)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (101) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Engine (90) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (285) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (259) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/4/2016 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE PULLING OVER THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE, ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2016 - ITHACA, NY
SUNROOF BLEW AWAY WHILE WE WERE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. ALREADY SUBJECT TO VOLUNTARY SAFETY RECALL: HOLLAND 700 AND HOLLANDIA 900. WE DID NOT HAVE THE INFO. WEBASTO IS UNHELPFUL IN GETTING CAR REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/31/2016 - PENFIELD, NY
THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FLOORS ARE SERIOUSLY RUSTED WITH HOLES. I FOUND THE CONDITION WHEN I NOTICED SOMETHING HANGING UNDER THE CAR. IT WAS SOME SORT OF PLASTIC MATERIAL THAT LINED THE METAL FLOOR INSIDE THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/28/2016 - RIVER EDGE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A POLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK, CHEST, AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/26/2016 - APPLE SPRINGS, TX
TAKATA RECALL. I BOUGHT MY CAR EXACTLY 11 MONTHS AGO ON FEBRUARY 2015. I FIRST NOTICED WHEN I BOUGHT MY CAR THAT IT JERKED WHEN PUTTING IT IN DRIVE AND REVERSE, I TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE SALESMAN CONVINCED ME IT IS NOTHING. IT GOT WORSE OVER TIME. I FINALLY TOOK THE CAR TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP WHO SAID MOTOR MOUNTS NEED REPLACING. I THEN FOUND A NISSAN THREAD ABOUT THE DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION AND AUTOMATICALLY WAS ABLE TO SEE THAT MY CAR IS DOING 90% OF THE ISSUES LISTED. IT NOW JERKS WHEN I PUT IN DRIVE, REVERSE, WHEN I'M COMING TO A STOP, WHEN I PUSH THE BREAK, AND WHEN I EXCEED MORE THEN 60 MPH IT JERKS. AFTER READING TONS OF THREADS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IT SEEMS TO BE VERY COMMON AMONGST THE NISSAN ALTIMA 05S. I AM SCARED MY TRANSMISSION WILL GO OUT AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, I WAS TOLD THIS PROBLEM WAS NOTHING BUT NOW IT DEFINITELY SEEMS LIKE AN ISSUE THAT NISSAN JUDGED PUSHED UNDER THE RUG AND KEPT TELLING ME WAS NOTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2016 - APPLE SPRINGS, TX
TAKATA RECALL. I BOUGHT MY CAR EXACTLY 11 MONTHS AGO ON FEBRUARY 2015. I FIRST NOTICED WHEN I BOUGHT MY CAR THAT IT JERKED WHEN PUTTING IT IN DRIVE AND REVERSE, I TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE SALESMAN CONVINCED ME IT IS NOTHING. IT GOT WORSE OVER TIME. I FINALLY TOOK THE CAR TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP WHO SAID MOTOR MOUNTS NEED REPLACING. I THEN FOUND A NISSAN THREAD ABOUT THE DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION AND AUTOMATICALLY WAS ABLE TO SEE THAT MY CAR IS DOING 90% OF THE ISSUES LISTED. IT NOW JERKS WHEN I PUT IN DRIVE, REVERSE, WHEN I'M COMING TO A STOP, WHEN I PUSH THE BREAK, AND WHEN I EXCEED MORE THEN 60 MPH IT JERKS. AFTER READING TONS OF THREADS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IT SEEMS TO BE VERY COMMON AMONGST THE NISSAN ALTIMA 05S. I AM SCARED MY TRANSMISSION WILL GO OUT AND I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, I WAS TOLD THIS PROBLEM WAS NOTHING BUT NOW IT DEFINITELY SEEMS LIKE AN ISSUE THAT NISSAN JUDGED PUSHED UNDER THE RUG AND KEPT TELLING ME WAS NOTHING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2016 - NORTH MERRICK, NY
AS THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS ALTIMA, WE WERE ALARMED WHEN OUR SON SAID HE COULD SEE THE CARPETING HANGING THROUGH THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE. WE CONTACTED OUR NISSAN DEALER WHO SAID THE REPAIRS WOULDN'T BE COVERED AND TO PURSUE IT WITH NISSAN CORPORATE. WE PAID OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS (SAFETY CONCERNS) AND FORMALLY REQUESTED REIMBURSEMENT. I RECEIVED A CALL AND WAS TOLD IT WAS DECLINED DUE TO VEHICLE'S AGE AND DUE TO THE FACT WE'RE IN THE "NORTH-EAST SALT STATES". I ASKED WHY 2005 HONDA'S, CHEVY'S AND BUICK'S FROM THE SAME LOCALE AREN'T EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE?? WHEN I ASKED FOR A DETAILED DENIAL OF MY CLAIM (ONE CITING THE REASONS I WAS BEING GIVEN VERBALLY) I WAS TOLD ABSOLUTELY NOT AND THAT NISSAN WOULD ONLY SUPPLY A "GENERAL" LETTER OF DENIAL. SERIOUSLY?? DOES ANYONE ELSE THINK THIS SOUNDS LIKE AN UNETHICAL PRACTICE? ALL OF THESE SIMILAR STORIES AND YET NISSAN HASN'T BEEN CALLED ONTO THE CARPET?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE FLOOR BOARDS UNDER THE PASSENGER'S FEET ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE TREATED AS SUCH. I WAS DOING MY RESERACH AND FROM ALL THE REPORTS, IT DOESN'T SEEM LIKE NISSAN OR NHTSA IS TAKING THIS SERIOUSLY. YOU CAN SEE THE ROAD THRU THE HUGE HOLES.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2016 - BOISE, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/23/2015 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
"TAKATA AIR BAG" - NISSAN'S VIN SERVER HAS BEEN "DOWN" FOR OVER 2 WEEKS, AND DO NOT ANSWER THEIR PHONE TO CHECK IF OUR VEHICLE IS EFFECTED BY THE TAKATA AIR BAG RECALL. ALSO, THIS SITES NHTSA VIN SEARCH ALSO CRASHES WHEN SEARCHING FOR NISSAN VIN NUMBERS. NISSAN SHOULD BE ANSWERING THEIR PHONE, AND FIX THEIR WEBSITE SO VIN CAN BE RESEARCHED ON THIS SERIOUS - LIFE THREATENING ISSUE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds