Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 737 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (74) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (90) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (171) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (252) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - MIAMI, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON A DAILY BASIS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLES CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT IT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE IS 86,000. DDR

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/17/2014 - BROADVIEW HEIGHTS, OH
FLOOR PAN IS COMPLETLY ROTTED OUT THIS CAR IS ONLY 9 YEARS OLD, I CONTACTED NISSAN AND THEY DID NOT WANT TO HELP... THIS COMPANY CHOOSES PROFIT OVER CUSTOMERS THAT IS WHY THEY MOVED ALL THEIR OFFICES TO INDIA FOR CHEAP LABOR... * DO NOT BUY NISS GO HONDA!!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/13/2014 - LEES SUMIT, MO
ROUGH IDLE. 3 YEARS AGO IT DID THE SAME THING AND I HAD THE 0'2 SENSORS REPLACED AND THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR REPLACED. I DRIVE IT IN TOWN SO IN THE 3 YEARS I HAVE PUT ABOUT 25,000 MILES ON IT. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT IS ON NOW AND NISSAN TOLD ME THAT I NEED TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP AND PAY THEM TO CHECK OUT THE ENGINE AND SEND NISSAN THE RESULTS AND THEY "MAY" REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF CHECKING IT OUT. I JUST REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS LAST WEEK BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THEM NEEDED REPLACED. IT RAN FINE FOR A LITTLE WHILE NOW BACK TO SAME THINGS. I HAVE NOTICED THAT IT LEAKS A LITTLE OIL, ABOUT THE SIZE OF A NICKEL OVER THE COURSE OF 2-3 DAYS. THERE IS ALSO OIL ROUND THE CRANKCASE. WONDERING WHY MIGHT BE. THANKS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - LEES SUMIT, MO
ROUGH IDLE. 3 YEARS AGO IT DID THE SAME THING AND I HAD THE 0'2 SENSORS REPLACED AND THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR REPLACED. I DRIVE IT IN TOWN SO IN THE 3 YEARS I HAVE PUT ABOUT 25,000 MILES ON IT. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT IS ON NOW AND NISSAN TOLD ME THAT I NEED TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP AND PAY THEM TO CHECK OUT THE ENGINE AND SEND NISSAN THE RESULTS AND THEY "MAY" REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF CHECKING IT OUT. I JUST REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS LAST WEEK BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THEM NEEDED REPLACED. IT RAN FINE FOR A LITTLE WHILE NOW BACK TO SAME THINGS. I HAVE NOTICED THAT IT LEAKS A LITTLE OIL, ABOUT THE SIZE OF A NICKEL OVER THE COURSE OF 2-3 DAYS. THERE IS ALSO OIL ROUND THE CRANKCASE. WONDERING WHY MIGHT BE. THANKS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/12/2014 - ENDICOTT, NY
PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR BOARDS ARE ROTTING THROUGH, REST OF MY ALTIMA IS RUST FREE....WHY??...I SEE THIS HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2005/NISSAN/ALTIMA/STRUCTURE/PROBLEM.ASPX

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2014 - ALVATON, KY
VEHICLE DIED WHILE COASTING DOWN THE SIDE STREET. ONCE I STOPPED THE VEHICLE I PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY TO OFF. WHEN TRYING TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE WOULD CRACK, BUT WOULD NOT START. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN LISTED FOR A RECALL FOR THE 2.5 ENGINE BUT NOT FOR MY 3.5 ENGINE, AND NISSAN WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP THE SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2014 - ALVATON, KY
VEHICLE DIED WHILE COASTING DOWN THE SIDE STREET. ONCE I STOPPED THE VEHICLE I PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY TO OFF. WHEN TRYING TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE WOULD CRACK, BUT WOULD NOT START. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN LISTED FOR A RECALL FOR THE 2.5 ENGINE BUT NOT FOR MY 3.5 ENGINE, AND NISSAN WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP THE SITUATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FUEL FILLER HOSE WAS CORRODED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 204,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/23/2014 - SCHAUMBURG ILL, IL
MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA HAS TWO RUST HOLES IN FLOOR PAN WHICH SEEMS UNACCEPTABLE AND A DEFECT IN WORKMANSHIP AND HAS BEEN OCCURING AMOUNG OTHER NISSAN ALTIMA OWNERS THE CAR EXTERIOR IS IN GREAT SHAPE MECHANICALLY AND BODY WISE EXCEPT FOR THE FAULTY FLOOR PAN RUST HOLES!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2014 - LOUDON, NH
TOOK THE CAR TO REPAIR SHOP FOR O/C AND WAS TOLD I HAD SLIGHT RUST UNDERNEATH PASSENGER DOOR. WAS TOLD IT SHOULD BE ALRIGHT FOR ANOTHER INSPECTION. WHEN I WENT FOR INSPECTION I WAS TOLD THEY COULDN'T INSPECT IT BECAUSE THE RUST HAD GOTTEN SO BAD IN THAT SAME AREA. I PAID CLOSE TO $500. FOR REPAIR AND WAS ALSO TOLD BY OTHERS THAT IT WAS A COMMON COMPLAINT FOR THAT YEAR CAR AND THAT IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW AND HAS BEEN SINCE CHANGED.CAR HAS NEVER BEEN RUN IN THE SALT AND WAS TOLD IT WAS WATER GETTING UP INSIDE THE ARE MENTIONED BECAUSE OF THE DESIGN FLAW AND SITTING THERE TO CAUSE THE RUST. WAS REALLY UPSET ABOUT THIS CONSIDERING THE CAR IS IN FANTASTIC SHAPE .. I THINK NISSAN SHOULD HELP FOR THE REPAIRS... I ALSO WAS TOLD I BECAUSE IT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE THE CAR DIDN'T HAVE THE 10 GRACE PERIOD FROM REGISTRATION TO INSPECTION , SO I DID IT IMMEDIATELY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds