Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 746 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Exterior Lighting (7) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (91) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (69) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (175) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/11/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
AT 80K MILES, THE 3.5L INFINITY/350Z MOTOR THAT HAS BEEN Y* WELL TAKEN CARE OF HAD A KNOWN ISSUE OCCUR WHICH CAUSED THE VALVE TO COME LOOSE IN THE ENGINE. THERE IS A PROBLEM WHERE SOME SCREWS WHICH HOLD A BUTTERFLY VALVE TOGETHER WIGGLE LOOSE AND IS INGESTED INTO THE ENGINE. THIS CAUSES THE VALVE TO GET DAMAGED AND FALL OUT RESULTING IN TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE. NISSAN KNOWS THIS OCCURS AND IS UNWILLING TO HELP ME WITH THE REPAIR. WHEN THIS OCCURRED TO ME, I WAS IN A VERY BAD SITUATION AND NEARLY LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR, I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO GAIN CONTROL AGAIN HOWEVER THERE WAS SOME DAMAGE TO THE CAR WHEN I NEARLY WENT INTO THE DITCH. I HAVE A POLICE REPORT AS WELL. SO NISSAN KNOWS THEIR TOP OF THE LINE ENGINES CAN WITH NO WARNING FAIL WHICH AT ANY SPEED CAN BE A POTENTIAL SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE FIX IS SIMPLE TO PREVENT IT, SECURE THOSE SCREWS WITH SOME GLUE OR LOCK TIGHT, BUT IF THEY ADMIT THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW, THEN THEY'D BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGED ENGINES AND THEY SEEM TO PREFER TO DENY IT. I JUST SPENT A WEEK TRYING TO GET THEM TO TAKE SOME RESPONSIBILITY AND THEY WONT. THIS IS BEYOND A WARRANTY ISSUE IN MY OPINION IF IT CAN CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOOSE POWER AND LOOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR. IT HAPPENS QUICKLY AND THE IMPACT ON CONTROL IS IMMEDIATE. NOT SAFE AT ANY SPEED. SO THIS COMPLAINT IS ONE OF SAFETY AND ONE OF HAVING TO COVER A TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE NO MATTER HOW WELL YOU TAKE CAR OF YOUR ENGINE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2014 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I BOUGHT A 2005 ALTIMA 2.5 S BRAND NEW AND IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGED AND KEPT IN PERFECT CONDITION. MY HEADLIGHTS HAVE STARTED TO OXIDIZE HORRIBLY BUT ONLY ON THE INSIDE, THIS SEEMS LIKE A POORLY MADE PRODUCT, IF AFTER ONLY ABOUT 5 YEARS MY HEADLIGHTS START FAILING TO PERFORM WITH NO WARRANTY?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2014 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2005 ALTIMA 2.5 S DECEMBER 2004 AND WITHIN A COUPLE OF WEEKS I HAD TAKEN IT IN TO THE DEALER THAT I PURCHASED IT FROM FOR A CLUNKING NOISE COMING FRONT THE ENGINE AREA AND A FEELING UNDER MY FEET LIKE SOMEONE WAS UNDER MY CAR STRIKING IT WITH A HAMMER, THIS OCCURS AT TAKE OFF, SHIFTING GEARS AND COMING TO A STOP (STILL DOWN SHIFTING), I ALSO FELT AS IF THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED VERY ROUGH FOR A NEW CAR, IT JUST REALLY ALWAYS FELT LIKE MY MOTOR WAS ABOUT TO DROP ON THE GROUND. THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE ADVISOR CAME OUT TO ME AND SAID THAT THE MECHANIC SAID HE COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO REPEAT IT SO IT SHOULD BE FINE. AS I DROVE AWAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN, I WAS HEATED AND CALLED THE DEALER WHEN I GOT HOME, THEY MADE ME ANOTHER APPT. AND THIS REPEATED AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN, NEVER BEING REPAIRED. NOW AFTER HITTING 100K MY CAR IS GREAT EXCEPT FOR THIS DARN CLUNKING, SO I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE, ENGINE MOUNTS BROKEN, MAINLY PASSENGER SIDE. SO I ORDERED PARTS AND HAD THEM ALL REPLACED AND SURE ENOUGH, I AM AMAZED I DIDN'T LOOSE MY MOTOR THE PASSENGER ONE WAS ALMOST LIKE NOTHING WAS THERE, OBVIOUSLY THIS IS A PART THAT HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR A REALLY LONG TIME. WITH SO MANY COMPLAINTS AND KNOWN ISSUES, WHY HAS THIS NOT BECOME A RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/3/2014 - ROUND LAKE, IL
BOUGHT MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA NEW AND REGULARLY SERVICED AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN CRYSTAL LAKE, IL. IT HAS 111,000 MILES ON IT, GARAGE KEPT AND IN PRISTINE CONDITION. ON OCTOBER 15, 2014 A PRIVATE PARTY INFORMED ME OF MY RUSTED FLOORBOARDS. THE DEALERSHIP IN ALL 9 1/2 YEARS NEVER MENTIONED THIS TO ME. CONTACTED NISSAN CORP WHO PUT ME IN TOUCH WITH REGIONAL REP. PHOTOS WERE TAKEN AND ESTIMATE OBTAINED BUT NISSAN REFUSES TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I AM TOLD A TSB WAS ISSUED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/26/2014 - NOWTHEN, MN
HAD MY NISSAN IN FOR A OIL CHANGE AND IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BOTH THE DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS SIDE FLOOR BOARDS WERE ROTTED OUT. THERE IS NOT ANOTHER SPEC OF RUST ON THIS CAR. THANK GOODNESS FOR CARPET AND FLOOR MATS AS THAT IS ALL THAT IS BETWEEN ME AND THE ROAD. CALLED NISSAN TO REPORT ISSUE/ASK FOR REPAIR AND WAS TOLD NO. THEY STATED THAT MY CAR HAS NEVER BEEN IN FOR SERVICE AND IS OLD THEREFORE THEY WOULD NOT BE OFFERING ME ANY ASSISTANCE. EXPLAINED THAT MY B/F IS A MECHANIC AND HAS BEEN THE ONE MAINTAINING THIS CAR AND WOULD BE HAPPY TO PROVIDE THEM WITH ALL THE SERVICE RECORDS, BUT NISSAN DIDN'T CARE. CONTINUED TO TELL ME THAT BECAUSE MY CAR WAS OLD THEY WOULD NOT BE OFFERING ASSISTANCE. I LET HIM KNOW THROUGH MY RESEARCH THAT PEOPLE WERE HAVING LUCK GETTING NISSAN TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND HE SAID HE WOULDN'T CONFIRM THAT WHICH IS WHEN HE POINTED OUT MY SERVICE RECORDS AT A CERTIFIED NISSAN DEALERSHIP. I ASKED HIM IF THAT IS WHY NISSAN WOULDN'T COVER THE REPAIRS - B/C I HADN'T GIVEN NISSAN ALL MY HARD EARNED MONEY FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS - THERE WAS SILENCE ON THE OTHER END. FOR A MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR COMPANY THEY SURE NEED TO WORK ON THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND TAKING CARE OF THEIR CURRENT CUSTOMERS. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON THIS AND IT APPEARS TO BE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM FOR 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA'S. I AM THE 17TH PERSON IS THE PAST 2 MONTHS TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR THIS MAKE/MODEL/YR OF CAR ON THIS SITE ALONE. THERE ARE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ON OTHER SITES. I SEE A PATTERN HERE!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2014 - ROCHELLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR HAD OVERHEATED AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/21/2014 - RICHMOND, IN
A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO I NOTICED SOMETHING HANGING UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I HAD ASSUMED IT WAS A BRANCH OR SOMETHING AS SIMPLE. I ASKED A COUPLE OF CO-WORKERS IF THEY WOULDN'T MIND CHECKING IT OUT FOR ME. BOTH TOLD ME IT WAS A PIECE OF METAL HANGING BELOW THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARD. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE AUTO BODY SHOP WHERE IT WAS PUT ON A LIFT TO BE INSPECTED. I ALSO LOOKED AT THE CAR ALONG WITH THE SHOP'S OWNER AND OTHER MECHANIC. THE PASSENGER FLOORBOARD HAS RUSTED COMPLETELY THROUGH TO THE INTERIOR, A HOLE LARGE ENOUGH TO PUT ONE'S FOOT THROUGH IF IT WEREN'T FOR THE CARPETING. THE REST OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE WAS EXAMINED THEN THE BODY. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO SIGN OF RUST ON THIS VEHICLE WHATSOEVER. I HAVE READ HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS AGAINST THIS MODEL FOR THE EXACT SAME TYPE SITUATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/20/2014 - SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ
MY 17 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA ON MAY 21, 2014. SHE WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE IN WHICH SHE RECEIVED BACK, LEG AND KNEE INJURIES. MY VEHICLE WAS HIT HARD ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE IN WHICH THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN CLEARLY IT SHOULD HAVE BY THE IMPACT OF THE ACCIDENT AND THE SPEED OF THE OTHER DRIVER. TO ADD, MY DAUGHTER WAS WEARING HER SEAT BELT AND THANK GOD THERE WERE NO FATALITIES. WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I HAD NO IDEA THAT THERE HAD BEEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE FOR AIRBAG ISSUES. I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED IT IF SO. IN DOING RESEARCH I AM FINDING OUT ABOUT THE AIRBAG ISSUES AFFECTING PAST AND CURRENT NISSAN MODELS. THE CAR WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY. THE AIRBAG SYSTEM SHOULD DEPLOY WHEN THE RESTRAINT CONTROLLER DETECTS A MODERATE TO SEVERE FRONTAL COLLISION. IN MY RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SOME AIRBAGS FAIL TO DEPLOY BECAUSE AUTO MANUFACTURERS ATTEMPTS TO CUT COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH THEIR AIRBAG SYSTEMS, WHICH IN TURN REDUCES THE QUALITY OR THE QUANTITY OF THE AIRBAG SENSORS. I WOULD LIKE THE NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. I AM OUT A CAR AND STRONGLY CONSIDERING RETAINING AN ATTORNEY TO HANDLE THE CASE..,.UPDATED 12/03/14

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/20/2014 - SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ
MY 17 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA ON MAY 21, 2014. SHE WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE IN WHICH SHE RECEIVED BACK, LEG AND KNEE INJURIES. MY VEHICLE WAS HIT HARD ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE IN WHICH THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN CLEARLY IT SHOULD HAVE BY THE IMPACT OF THE ACCIDENT AND THE SPEED OF THE OTHER DRIVER. TO ADD, MY DAUGHTER WAS WEARING HER SEAT BELT AND THANK GOD THERE WERE NO FATALITIES. WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I HAD NO IDEA THAT THERE HAD BEEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE FOR AIRBAG ISSUES. I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED IT IF SO. IN DOING RESEARCH I AM FINDING OUT ABOUT THE AIRBAG ISSUES AFFECTING PAST AND CURRENT NISSAN MODELS. THE CAR WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY. THE AIRBAG SYSTEM SHOULD DEPLOY WHEN THE RESTRAINT CONTROLLER DETECTS A MODERATE TO SEVERE FRONTAL COLLISION. IN MY RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SOME AIRBAGS FAIL TO DEPLOY BECAUSE AUTO MANUFACTURERS ATTEMPTS TO CUT COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH THEIR AIRBAG SYSTEMS, WHICH IN TURN REDUCES THE QUALITY OR THE QUANTITY OF THE AIRBAG SENSORS. I WOULD LIKE THE NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. I AM OUT A CAR AND STRONGLY CONSIDERING RETAINING AN ATTORNEY TO HANDLE THE CASE..,.UPDATED 12/03/14

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/20/2014 - SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ
MY 17 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA ON MAY 21, 2014. SHE WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE IN WHICH SHE RECEIVED BACK, LEG AND KNEE INJURIES. MY VEHICLE WAS HIT HARD ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE IN WHICH THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN CLEARLY IT SHOULD HAVE BY THE IMPACT OF THE ACCIDENT AND THE SPEED OF THE OTHER DRIVER. TO ADD, MY DAUGHTER WAS WEARING HER SEAT BELT AND THANK GOD THERE WERE NO FATALITIES. WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I HAD NO IDEA THAT THERE HAD BEEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE FOR AIRBAG ISSUES. I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED IT IF SO. IN DOING RESEARCH I AM FINDING OUT ABOUT THE AIRBAG ISSUES AFFECTING PAST AND CURRENT NISSAN MODELS. THE CAR WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY. THE AIRBAG SYSTEM SHOULD DEPLOY WHEN THE RESTRAINT CONTROLLER DETECTS A MODERATE TO SEVERE FRONTAL COLLISION. IN MY RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SOME AIRBAGS FAIL TO DEPLOY BECAUSE AUTO MANUFACTURERS ATTEMPTS TO CUT COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH THEIR AIRBAG SYSTEMS, WHICH IN TURN REDUCES THE QUALITY OR THE QUANTITY OF THE AIRBAG SENSORS. I WOULD LIKE THE NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. I AM OUT A CAR AND STRONGLY CONSIDERING RETAINING AN ATTORNEY TO HANDLE THE CASE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds