Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 722 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (90) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (63) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (160) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (251) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2014 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
MY 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA BOUGHT USED DIDN'T EVEN HAVE IT FOR SIX MONTHS TRANSMISSION FAILED. WHEN EVER IT IS DRIVEN FOR 15 OR SO MINUTES IT WONT SHIFT GEARS AND WHEN COMING TO A STOP IT FEELS LIKE SOMEONE SLAMMED INTO ME FROM BEHIND. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN THIS VEHICLE. I NOTICED THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEN WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL. WHAT IS GOING TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2014 - CRYSTAL LAKE, IL
VEHICLE FLOOR BOARDS HAVE RUSTED THROUGH. THIS WAS DISCOVERED WHEN I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS ADVISED BY THE MECHANIC NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS THERE WERE 12 INCH HOLES IN THE FLOOR BOARDS ON BOTH THE DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER SIDES AND IT WAS NOT SAFE. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH NISSAN CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WILL NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE IN REPAIRING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/10/2014 - BALA CYNWYD, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR AN UNRELATED ISSUE AND THEY NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR PAN COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000. JS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/8/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH 80,000 MILES ON IT. MY FATHER TOOK HIS CAR INTO BE INSPECTED AND THEY WILL NOT PASS IT BECAUSE OF THE FLOOR BOARDS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ONLINE, THERE ARE MILLIONS OF DISSATISFIED NISSAN OWNERS WHO ARE BATTLING THIS VERY PROBLEM. NOW, IF MY FATHER CANNOT GET HIS CAR TO PASS INSPECTION, HE CANNOT USE IT. SO FAR, NISSAN HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING TO HELP WITH HIS ISSUE. MY FATHER HAS CALLED COUNTLESS REPAIR AND BODY SHOPS AND NO ONE WILL REPAIR ANY RUST. NOT EVEN THE DEALERSHIP. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP WAS NOTHING MORE THAN RUDE AND INSENSITIVE BUT DID TELL MY DAD THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AND REPAIR QUESTIONS ABOUT RUSTING FLOOR BOARDS. I HAVE SEEN PEOPLE CALL NISSAN CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS WITH THE SAME "SORRY" RESPONSE. NISSAN IS LOOKING AT A VERY LARGE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT WHICH I WILL PURSUE TO THE FULLEST BECAUSE OF THEIR LACK OF RESPECT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS AND FOR THEIR CRAFTMANSHIP, LACK OF CONCERN, LACK OF SOLUTIONS. I HOPE I AM JOINED BY ANYONE ELSE WHO IS BATTLING THIS PROBLEM, LEAVE YOUR COMPLAINT HERE, AND HOPEFULLY SOME HELP WILL BE COMING SOON!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH 80,000 MILES ON IT. MY FATHER TOOK HIS CAR INTO BE INSPECTED AND THEY WILL NOT PASS IT BECAUSE OF THE FLOOR BOARDS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ONLINE, THERE ARE MILLIONS OF DISSATISFIED NISSAN OWNERS WHO ARE BATTLING THIS VERY PROBLEM. NOW, IF MY FATHER CANNOT GET HIS CAR TO PASS INSPECTION, HE CANNOT USE IT. SO FAR, NISSAN HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING TO HELP WITH HIS ISSUE. MY FATHER HAS CALLED COUNTLESS REPAIR AND BODY SHOPS AND NO ONE WILL REPAIR ANY RUST. NOT EVEN THE DEALERSHIP. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP WAS NOTHING MORE THAN RUDE AND INSENSITIVE BUT DID TELL MY DAD THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AND REPAIR QUESTIONS ABOUT RUSTING FLOOR BOARDS. I HAVE SEEN PEOPLE CALL NISSAN CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS WITH THE SAME "SORRY" RESPONSE. NISSAN IS LOOKING AT A VERY LARGE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT WHICH I WILL PURSUE TO THE FULLEST BECAUSE OF THEIR LACK OF RESPECT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS AND FOR THEIR CRAFTMANSHIP, LACK OF CONCERN, LACK OF SOLUTIONS. I HOPE I AM JOINED BY ANYONE ELSE WHO IS BATTLING THIS PROBLEM, LEAVE YOUR COMPLAINT HERE, AND HOPEFULLY SOME HELP WILL BE COMING SOON!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/6/2014 - COTE ST LUC, NY
THIS CAR HAS VERY LITTLE MILAGE ONLY 25000 MILES (42000KM) AND THE PASSANGER FLOOR BOARD IS ROTTED OUT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS WEAKENS THE BODY INTEGRITY OF THE CAR. THE REST OF THE CAR HAS NOT RUST WHAT SO EVER. THIS SEEMS TO BE A DESIGN FAULT IN THE CAR AS THIER ARE QUITE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON FLOOR BOARDS ROTTEING OUT ON NISSAN ALTIMA 2002 TO 2006. I FEEL NISSAN SHOULD ADMIT TO HAVING DESIGN PROBLEMS FOR HAVING FLOOR BOARDS ROTTING OUT PREMATURELY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/6/2014 - RUTLAND, MA
MY CAR FAILED MA INSPECTION BECAUSE THE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR PAN IS RUSTED OUT. THE HOLE IS APPROXIMATELY 12 BY 10 INCHES. I FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE WEB FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. NISSAN REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. NISSAN CLAIMS IT IS CAUSED BY SALT IN THE NORTH EAST, BUT IF THAT WAS TRUE, THE ENTIRE FLOOR PAN WOULD HAVE RUST, NOT JUST ISOLATED TO THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE. LET ME REPEAT, THE REST OF THE FLOOR PAN IS FLAWLESS, NO SIGNS OF RUST WHATSOEVER. CLEARLY THIS IS A DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING FLAW. SOME CUSTOMERS HAVE BOTH FRONT SIDES RUSTED OUT. MY PASSENGER SIDE IS FINE AS THE ASSEMBLY LINE "HOLE" HAS BEEN PROPERLY FILLED IN. I HAVE TO ASSUME THE DRIVER SIDE WAS LEFT OPEN. THERE ARE MANY PICTURES ON THE WEB SHOWING EARLIER PHASES OF THIS PROBLEM SHOWING THAT THE RUST STARTED AT THE ASSEMBLY LINE HOLE. BASICALLY, THIS SMALL HOLE (1 INCH DIAMETER) ALLOWS WATER INTO THE INTERIOR. THE NOISE DAMPENING MATERIAL AND CARPET SOAK IT UP. THE WETNESS GOES UNDETECTED BY THE DRIVER BECAUSE THE FLOOR MAT HAS RUBBER BACKING, THEREBY SHOWING NO SIGNS OF WETNESS. AS WITH ANY PERPETUAL METAL WETNESS PROBLEM, RUST EVENTUALLY BECOMES A MAJOR PROBLEM. PLEASE MAKE NISSAN TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THIS PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/4/2014 - WINCHESTER, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FLOOR BOARD ON THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES WAS SEVERELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE DEEMED TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,300.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/3/2014 - CHESWICK, PA
TOOK MY CAR IN FOR STATE SAFETY INSPECTION AND WAS TOLD THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR WAS RUSTED THRU - I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT - HAD TO HAVE THE REPAIR COMPLETED TO PASS INSPECTION, NOW READING NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS THAT IT HAPPEN TO OTHERS - NISSAN NEEDS TO RETHINK THE RECALL ON THIS OR REIMBURSE FOR THE REPAIR - NOT CHEAP TO HAVE DONE!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
ENGINE SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING HOME AND MAKING A LEFT TURN IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" LIGHT CAME ON. WE ARE ONLY FORTUNATE NOT TO HAVE BEEN HIT BY ONCOMING VEHICLES! LONG BEACH HOOMAN NISSAN SAID THERE WAS NO CODE WHEN THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED AND ALTHOUGH THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO THE TECHNICIAN THE NEXT DAY WHEN THEY TEST DROVE MY CAR, THEY'VE WASHED THEIR HANDS FROM IT. SERVICE REP SAID WE CAN CONTACT NISSAN NORTH AMERICA. WE CALLED AND GOT A CALL CENTER IN THE PHILIPPINES. NISSAN WAS SUPPOSED TO CALL ME ON AN EXPEDITED BASIS BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A CALL AFTER LEAVING 3 MESSAGES FOR TEL. 615-725-7569. I AM WITHOUT A DRIVABLE SAFE CAR AND STUCK IN A PHONE MESSAGING BLACK HOLE! WHAT AM I TO DO AFTER ONLY 58,000 MILES? DO I HAVE TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT AND INJURED BEFORE NISSAN WILL PAY ATTENTION? IN ADDITION, THE DEALER REPLACED MY TRANSMISSION AT THE TUNE OF $4000 IN JULY 2013 BECAUSE OF A SIMILAR ENGINE STALL ISSUE WHEN THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON. THIS CAR IS STILL UNSAFE AND NOT DRIVABLE AND WE WASTED $4000 FOR A TRANSMISSION UNNECESSARILY, SINCE THE SAME ISSUE IS RECURRING. THIS CAR HAS ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER DEFECTS. VARIOUS DEALERS CONCLUDED DIFFERENT DIAGNOSES AT DIFFERENT TIMES BUT NO DEALER HAS BEEN ABLE TO FIX IT PERMANENTLY. NISSAN NORTH AMERICA NOT ONLY PUT OUT AN UNSAFE VEHICLE, BUT ALSO DECEIVED ME AS A LOYAL CUSTOMER ALL THESE YEARS PAYING THE DEALERS FOR BOGUS REPAIRS. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds