Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 972 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (105) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (104) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (328) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/17/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR AND ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/2/2017 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I STARTED LEASING MY ALTIMA IN 2008 AND PURCHASED THE CAR ABOUT 4 YEARS LATER. I TOOK IT TO HAVE MY MUFFLER CHECKED, BECAUSE I HEARD NOISE, AND IT WAS FOUND THAT THE FLOORBOARD ON THE FRONT , PASSENGER SIDE, IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. THE ONLY THING BETWEEN MY PASSENGERS AND THE STREET IS THE CARPET. NISSAN SAID THERE IS NO RECALL. THE CAR IS ONLY 11 YEARS OLD!

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

12/15/2016 - PALATINE, IL
SORRY FOR MY BELATED COMPLAINT. I JUST LEARNED OF YOUR WEBSITE. EARLY EVENING AUG 18, 2016 ENTIRE REAR WINDOW OF MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA COMPLETELY BLEW OUT FOR NO APPARENT REASON. FORTUNATELY -- NOBODY WAS SITTING IN BACK SEAT(S) OF MY CAR - NO ADULTS & NO CHILDREN !! WHAT A BIG MESS !! A CLEAR & NORMAL SUMMER EVENING - NO SEVERE WEATHER CONDITIONS TO EVEN PROVOKE A CRAZY & SUDDEN INCIDENT LIKE THIS. LUCKILY -- I WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY. I WAS ON A QUIET SUBURBAN ROAD WITH RELATIVELY LOW TRAFFIC. I WAS AT STOP LIGHT & SUDDENLY HEARD A LOUD POP SOUND -- ALMOST LIKE A GUN SHOT. I CHECKED MY REAR VIEW MIRROR & MY ENTIRE CAR REAR WINDOW WAS BLOWN OUT WITH VERY LARGE HOLES & TINY SHATTERED GLASS PIECES STREWN ALL OVER INSIDE BACK SEAT AREA OF MY CAR. SOME SHATTERED GLASS EVEN BLEW OUT ALL WAY TO FRONT SECTION WHERE I WAS SEATED !! I IMMEDIATELY GOT OFF THE ROAD & PULLED OVER INTO NEARBY WALGREENS PARKING LOT & CALLED LOCAL POLICE. POLICEMAN CAME & EXAMINED MY CAR. HE DID NOT FEEL ANY FOUL PLAY WAS INVOLVED NOR ANY GUNSHOT NOR BASEBALL THROWN INTO MY REAR CAR WINDOW. I TOOK 24 PHOTOS ? SEE 5 UPLOADED. HE HELPED ME GATHER MOST OF BROKEN & SHATTERED GLASS INTO A PLASTIC BAG. WE NOTED A FEW PIECES HAD DARK BROWN BURN MARKS ON THEM. HE SAID MOST LIKELY IT INDICATED A "SHORT" OCCURRED IN REAR DEFROSTER ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. HE COULD NOT PREPARE POLICE REPORT BCUZ IT DID NOT INVOLVE ANY FOUL PLAY. NEXT DAY I CALLED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS (NCA). THEY ASKED ME TO EMAIL MY 24 PHOTOS TO NCA & ONLY AGREED TO PAY TO REPLACE REAR CAR WINDOW. I TOLD NCA IT WAS PROBABLY A SHORT IN REAR DEFROSTER ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ? A SERIOUS NISSAN SAFETY ISSUE & DEFECT. FOR ME ? A SCARY INCIDENT !! I SAVED ALL SHATTERED GLASS PIECES WITH DARK BROWN BURN MARKS, BUT NCA DID NOT WANT THEM. UNFORTUNATELY -- I CAN ONLY UPLOAD 5 PHOTOS. IF YOU WANT TO VIEW ALL 24 PHOTOS - CALL OR TEXT MY CELL [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/15/2016 - PALATINE, IL
SORRY FOR MY BELATED COMPLAINT. I JUST LEARNED OF YOUR WEBSITE. EARLY EVENING AUG 18, 2016 ENTIRE REAR WINDOW OF MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA COMPLETELY BLEW OUT FOR NO APPARENT REASON. FORTUNATELY -- NOBODY WAS SITTING IN BACK SEAT(S) OF MY CAR - NO ADULTS & NO CHILDREN !! WHAT A BIG MESS !! A CLEAR & NORMAL SUMMER EVENING - NO SEVERE WEATHER CONDITIONS TO EVEN PROVOKE A CRAZY & SUDDEN INCIDENT LIKE THIS. LUCKILY -- I WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY. I WAS ON A QUIET SUBURBAN ROAD WITH RELATIVELY LOW TRAFFIC. I WAS AT STOP LIGHT & SUDDENLY HEARD A LOUD POP SOUND -- ALMOST LIKE A GUN SHOT. I CHECKED MY REAR VIEW MIRROR & MY ENTIRE CAR REAR WINDOW WAS BLOWN OUT WITH VERY LARGE HOLES & TINY SHATTERED GLASS PIECES STREWN ALL OVER INSIDE BACK SEAT AREA OF MY CAR. SOME SHATTERED GLASS EVEN BLEW OUT ALL WAY TO FRONT SECTION WHERE I WAS SEATED !! I IMMEDIATELY GOT OFF THE ROAD & PULLED OVER INTO NEARBY WALGREENS PARKING LOT & CALLED LOCAL POLICE. POLICEMAN CAME & EXAMINED MY CAR. HE DID NOT FEEL ANY FOUL PLAY WAS INVOLVED NOR ANY GUNSHOT NOR BASEBALL THROWN INTO MY REAR CAR WINDOW. I TOOK 24 PHOTOS ? SEE 5 UPLOADED. HE HELPED ME GATHER MOST OF BROKEN & SHATTERED GLASS INTO A PLASTIC BAG. WE NOTED A FEW PIECES HAD DARK BROWN BURN MARKS ON THEM. HE SAID MOST LIKELY IT INDICATED A "SHORT" OCCURRED IN REAR DEFROSTER ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. HE COULD NOT PREPARE POLICE REPORT BCUZ IT DID NOT INVOLVE ANY FOUL PLAY. NEXT DAY I CALLED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS (NCA). THEY ASKED ME TO EMAIL MY 24 PHOTOS TO NCA & ONLY AGREED TO PAY TO REPLACE REAR CAR WINDOW. I TOLD NCA IT WAS PROBABLY A SHORT IN REAR DEFROSTER ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ? A SERIOUS NISSAN SAFETY ISSUE & DEFECT. FOR ME ? A SCARY INCIDENT !! I SAVED ALL SHATTERED GLASS PIECES WITH DARK BROWN BURN MARKS, BUT NCA DID NOT WANT THEM. UNFORTUNATELY -- I CAN ONLY UPLOAD 5 PHOTOS. IF YOU WANT TO VIEW ALL 24 PHOTOS - CALL OR TEXT MY CELL [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/22/2016 - BALLWIN, MO
MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA HAS MAJOR RUSTING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THIS WAS FOUND AFTER THE CARPET ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR STARTED FALLING THROUGH THE FLOORBOARD. THIS ISSUE ALMOST HAD MY WIFE'S FOOT THROUGH THE FLOOR, WITHOUT HER KNOWING. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED (VIA RESEARCH AND REPORTS ON THE NEWS) TO BOTH NISSAN AND NHTSA AND BOTH STATE IT IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. HOW IS THIS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE IF YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT IT AND YOU COULD PUT YOUR FOOT THROUGH THE FLOOR?

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2016 - ANSONIA, CT
I HAVE SPENT OVER $2,000.00 IN REPAIRS DURING THE PAST MONTH. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO GEORGE HARTE NISSAN IN WEST HAVEN, CHARGED $711.00 PROBLEM NOT FIXED. CAR IS BURING OIL, HARD TO START AND THIS IS THE 2ND CATALOTOR CONVENTOR I PUT IN THE CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/1/2016 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARD WAS EXTREMELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE INSPECTED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIRING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/25/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
THE ENGINE MAY STOP RUNNING WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN AT A LOW SPEED INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/19/2016 - RIVER GROVE, IL
THE FLOORBOARDS ON MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA ARE CORRODING AND RUSTING OUT. YOU CAN TOUCH THE FLOOR CARPER FROM THE BOTTOM! THIS IS HAPPENING ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CAR THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS SUPPOSEDLY A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS CAR MAKE/MODEL AND THIS HAS HAPPENED TO A LOT OF PEOPLE. I AM NOT SURE BUT THE REPAIR COSTS ARE VERY EXPENSIVE FOR THIS TYPE OF WORK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/15/2016 - FORT WAYNE, IN
RUSTING FLOORBOARDS, FRONT, BOTH DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS SIDE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds