Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 712 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (89) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (62) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (152) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (250) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/20/2014 - HUMMELSTOWN, PA
DROPPED CAR OFF FOR STATE INSPECTION. WAS TOLD THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR BOARDS WERE RUSTED THROUGH. NOT ABLE TO PASS INSPECTION BECAUSE OF THIS SAFETY ISSUE. IT ALLOWS FUMES TO ENTER THE CAR AND WEAKENS THE FLOOR FOR POSSIBLY PUTTING FOOT OR FEET THROUGH FLOOR BOARD. DEFINITELY A DESIGN FLAW AND SAFETY ISSUE. NISSAN SHOULD PAY OR HELP PAY FOR THIS DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/12/2014 - 3503 38TH STREET #103, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. TWO OCCUPANTS SUSTAINED INJURIES AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT AND HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,100.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/10/2014 - UNIVERSITY PARK, IL
JUST FOUND OUT THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR IS RUSTED, AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, I LEARN THAT MOST NISSAN ALTIMA OWNERS EXPERIENCE THIS SAME SAFETY ISSUE! THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS THE INSIDE FLOOR BECOMES WEAK AND CAN CAVE IN FROM THE RUST IF NOT REPAIRED. REPAIR OF THIS ISSUE IS COSTLY AND I'VE READ THAT NISSAN DOES NOT CONSIDER THIS A CRAFTSMANSHIP ISSUE BUT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. I'VE NEVER HEARD OF 20TH CENTURY CARS RUSTING OUT IN THIS MANNER, I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN NISSAN NOT BACKING THEIR PRODUCT!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2014 - UNIVERSITY PARK, IL
JUST FOUND OUT THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR IS RUSTED, AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, I LEARN THAT MOST NISSAN ALTIMA OWNERS EXPERIENCE THIS SAME SAFETY ISSUE! THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS THE INSIDE FLOOR BECOMES WEAK AND CAN CAVE IN FROM THE RUST IF NOT REPAIRED. REPAIR OF THIS ISSUE IS COSTLY AND I'VE READ THAT NISSAN DOES NOT CONSIDER THIS A CRAFTSMANSHIP ISSUE BUT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. I'VE NEVER HEARD OF 20TH CENTURY CARS RUSTING OUT IN THIS MANNER, I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN NISSAN NOT BACKING THEIR PRODUCT!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
TRYING TO LEAVE FOR WORK ONE MORNING AND MY CAR STOPS AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. I PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND TRY TO TURN IT ON, AND IT DOES BUT AS I START SPEEDING UP IT TURNS OFF AGAIN (AT THE INTERSECTION) AND NOW THE CHECK ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON. IT ALMOST CAUSED THE CAR BEHIND ME TO REAR END ME BUT HE SWERVED TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. I FOUND OUT IT WAS A FAULTY CRANKSHAFT FROM THE MECHANIC AND TOLD ME TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE HE THOUGHT THERE WAS A RECALL. L CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE WAS A RECALL BUT NOT ON MY CAR (DIFFERENT YEAR), INSTEAD THEY SAID THEY COULD CHANGE THE PART FOR $350 WITH LABOR. SO I COULD HAVE SERIOUSLY INJURED SOMEONE OR VISE VERSA AND IT'S NOT THEIR FAULT? I'M AM SO UPSET ABOUT HOW THEY ARE NOT AT FAULT FOR MAKING PARTS THAT DON'T WORK AND AT THE END THEY AREN'T LIABLE.

View Details

SEATS

8/7/2014 - ALGONQUIN, IL
YESTERDAY, AUGUST 6TH 2014 I HAD A GENTLEMAN COME UP TO ME WITH MY FRIENDS. HE TOLD ME HIS WIFE HAD THE SAME MODEL NISSAN ALTIMA THAT 2005 I HAD. HE LOOKED UNDER MY CAR AND TOLD HIS WIFE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM OF RUSTING OUT FLOOR PANS UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT AND PASSENGER SEAT. I CALLED NISSAN AND GOT A CASE NUMBER, IN THE MEANWHILE I HAD MY MECHANIC LOOK AT THE CAR AND IT IS NOT JUST RUST, THERE IS A HOLE UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. MY MECHANIC SAID IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND IT IS DANGEROUS! I BOUGHT THIS CAR FROM MY EX HUSBAND'S ESTATE. HE BOUGHT IT NEW FROM GERALD NISSAN IN NORTH AURORA, IL . HE HAD REGULAR MAINTENANCE DONE ON THE CAR. I GOT IT WHEN THE MILEAGE WAS 39,000 MILES. I DID PROCEED TO HAVE THE NISSAN MECHANICS LOOK IT OVER TO REPORT BACK TO NISSAN AND IT IS THE WHOLE PAN COVERING THE BOTTOM OF MY CAR, COST $3,000. I LISTED A CONSUMER COMPLAINT BUT NISSAN DOES NOT SEE THESE. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON MY EXACT CAR ON THIS SITE. I DO NOT THINK THAT HAVING MY SAFETY THREATENED BY THIS COMPANY'S NEGLECT IS A LAUGHING MATTER. I AM A REAL ESTATE BROKER AND USE MY CAR FOR BUSINESS. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION AND BEING A CORPORATE ENTITY, THEY DO NOT FEEL THAT THEY HAVE TO ACCOUNT FOR THEIR ERRORS. I AM 68 YEARS OLD AND I WANT TO LIVE. CAN YOU HELP ME?

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - FONTANA, CA
VEHICLE ENGINE STOPS. NISSAN WILL ONLY FIX PART OF THE CAUSE. EXPECTS CLIENTS TO FIX THE ACTUAL SENSOR. WOULDN'T RECOMMEND ANOTHER NISSAN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/2/2014 - MOUND BAYOU, MS
MY DASHBOARD IS CRACKING UP N I FOUND MYSELF CONSTANTLY BUYING GLUE IT WNT START EVEN AFTER I DNE HAD IT SERVICED

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - LONGMEADOW, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 12 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO RESUME TO NORMAL. THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE TIMES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/30/2014 - POUGHKESPSIE, NY
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH 108K. JUST NOTICED THAT BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER FLOOR BOARDS ARE GONE. RUSTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH, THE ONLY THING THERE IS THE CARPET BACKING MATERIAL SHOWING UNDER THE CAR. THIS IS CRAZY TO HAVE A CAR WITH JUST OVER 100K AND HAVE THE STEEL FLOOR GONE. MOST CERTAINLY A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds