Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 937 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (44)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (101) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Engine (95) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (301) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/21/2016 - HUNTINGTON, NY
DEEPLY ROTTING FLOOR BOARD UNDER PASSENGER SIDE. 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH ONLY 83000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2016 - NORTON, MA
FLOOR UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT ROTTED OUT, HOLE EXPOSED TO THE OUTSIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/3/2016 - FLORIDA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR WAS CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/25/2016 - CAMBRIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER SOME TIME. THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/16/2016 - OREGON, WI
THERE IS A RUST/CORROSION HOLE IN THE FLOORBOARD BELOW THE DRIVERS FEET. I'M SURE IT HAS BEEN THERE FOR A WHILE BUT I JUST NOTICED IT RECENTLY BECAUSE I SAW A PIECE OF THE FLOOR DANGLING BELOW THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2016 - FAR ROCKAWAY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO THE DRIVE POSITION, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 204,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/4/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WITH 60,000 MILES ON IT NEEDED DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR REPLACED, DEALER TRIED TO TELL ME THIS WAS FROM SNOW AND SALT. VEHICLE IS LOCATED IN PHILADELPHIA AND NOT DRIVEN IN THIS TYPE OF WEATHER. NISSAN MANUFACTURES A REPLACEMENT SET OF FLOOR PANS BUT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THE DEFECT. I HAD TO BUY THE SET SO I HAVE THE PASSENGER SIDE FOR WHEN THAT RUST OUT. THIS WAS NOT A CHEAP FIX AND BASED ON AGE, CONDITION AND MILEAGE, THIS SHOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2016 - NARRAGANSETT, RI
MY FRONT FLOORBOARDS ROTTED OUT RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE AND A $1,200 REPAIR BILL. IT WAS DISCOVERED AT A RHODE ISLAND STATE INSPECTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/22/2016 - FLUSHING, NY
MANY COMPLAINTS ARE ON THE WEB FROM OWNERS OF NISSAN ALTIMA REGARDING FLOOR BOARDS RUSTING AWAY. MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA HAS SUCH A PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH IT IS GARAGE KEPT. I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL FALL THROUGH THE RUSTED OUT FLOOR BOARDS OR MY SEAT WILL FALL THROUGH WHILE I OR ANY OTHER DRIVER IS DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I 1ST NOTICED HOW FLIMSY THE FLOOR BOARDS WERE MADE AFTER A WEEK OF HAVING THE CAR. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD RECALL THIS CAR TO FIX. PLEASE SEE THE FOLLOWING WEB SITE: HTTPS://CONSUMERIST.COM/2015/04/06/NHSTA-COMPLAINTS-SHOW-RUSTED-FLOORBOARDS-IN-OLDER-NISSAN-ALTIMAS-CREATE-FRED-FLINTSTONE-CARS/ MY FRIEND SPEND OVER $1000.00 TO HAVE THE FLOOR BOARDS REPAIRED AND I KNOW MORE. THANKS JULIO MORA

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
MY ENGINE STARTED MAKING A LOUD RATTLING NOISE. IT WAS ESPECIALLY LOUD WHEN IT WAS NOT MOVING BUT BECAME A LITTLE MORE SILENT ONCE THE CAR WAS MOVING. TOOK IT TO NISSAN TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME MY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS WERE FAILING AND THAT IT HAD TO BE FIXED VERY SOON BEFORE THE CHAIN SNAPS AND DAMAGES THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds