Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 751 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Exterior Lighting (7) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (92) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (72) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (180) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - LA HABRA, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, IT APPEARS TO HAVE SHIFTING ISSUES THAT ARE KNOWN TO NISSAN. NISSAN NEEDS TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND STAND BY THEIR PRODUCT. HARD SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND AT INITIAL START UP. ALSO HAVE SHIFTING ISSUES FROM 3RD TO 4TH. THE SHIFTING FROM 3/4 IS WHEN VEHICLE IS AT OPERATING TEMPS. THERE IS A VERY HARD SHIFT AND DELAY IN SHIFT. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL DEALERS, AND ALL CLAIM NOT TO HAVE ANY RECALLS OR BULLETINS, OR DENY HEARING OF ANY SHIFTING ISSUES. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. GOING INTO 4TH FROM 3RD, VEHICLE SEEMS TO HAVE A DELAY AND STALLS, UNIT REVS, AND FINALLY KICKS INTO GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2015 - LA HABRA, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, IT APPEARS TO HAVE SHIFTING ISSUES THAT ARE KNOWN TO NISSAN. NISSAN NEEDS TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND STAND BY THEIR PRODUCT. HARD SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND AT INITIAL START UP. ALSO HAVE SHIFTING ISSUES FROM 3RD TO 4TH. THE SHIFTING FROM 3/4 IS WHEN VEHICLE IS AT OPERATING TEMPS. THERE IS A VERY HARD SHIFT AND DELAY IN SHIFT. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL DEALERS, AND ALL CLAIM NOT TO HAVE ANY RECALLS OR BULLETINS, OR DENY HEARING OF ANY SHIFTING ISSUES. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. GOING INTO 4TH FROM 3RD, VEHICLE SEEMS TO HAVE A DELAY AND STALLS, UNIT REVS, AND FINALLY KICKS INTO GEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2015 - SCRANTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. DUE TO CORROSION ON THE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE, A HOLE DEVELOPED ON THE DRIVER SIDE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE RUST MUST BE REMOVED AND A METAL PLATE MUST BE WELDED TO REPAIR THE HOLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
I WAS WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT TO TURN GREEN AND WHEN I STARTED GOING AND MY CAR MADE A LOUD NOISE SO I THOUGHT SOMEBODY HIT ME. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR,BUT NO HIT TO MY CAR. I THOUGHT THAT WAS WEIRD BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. IT DIDN'T HAPPENED AGAIN UNTIL A FEW MONTHS LATER. MOST OF THE TIME WHEN I START DRIVING I HEAR A BOOM SOUND AND I FEEL THAT MY ENGINE IS GOING TO BREAK DOWN. IT FEELS LIKE MY GEARS ARE NOT CONNECTING FROM FIRST TO SECOND OR IF THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT CONNECTING WITH MY ENGINE. IF I START DRIVING AND THEN I SPEED UP, MY CAR MAKES THE BOOM NOISE. THE SAME HAPPENS WHEN I'M COMING DOWN THE ROAD AT A REGULAR SPEED AND I SLOW DOWN BECAUSE TRAFFIC IS SLOWING, BUT THEN WE CONTINUE AT THE REGULAR SPEED MY CAR MAKES THE BOOM NOISE LIKE THE GEARS DIDN'T CONNECT. MY CAR IS AN AUTOMATIC. I TOOK MY CAR TO MY MECHANIC AND HE TOLD ME TO CHECK WITH NISSAN FOR ANY RECALLS BECAUSE MY CAR GAVE HIM A MOTOR CODE P0726 WHICH HAS TO DUE WITH THE MOTOR'S CRANKSHAFT. HE TOLD ME THAT MY ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION ARE NOT CONNECTING. I SEARCH TO SEE IF ANYBODY ELSE HAD THAT PROBLEM AND IT HAS BEEN PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUE FOR THIS PROBLEM. HOPEFULLY THERE'S A RECALL SOON TO PREVENT ANY ACCIDENTS DUE TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/31/2014 - ENDICOTT, NY
FLOOR BOARDS UNDERNEATH PASSENGER SIDES ARE ROTTING THROUGH...WHY??!!!!!!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

12/22/2014 - UPPER DARBY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE HAD EXCESSIVE RUST AND A HOLE WAS DEVELOPING UNDERNEATH THE DRIVER SIDE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/11/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
AT 80K MILES, THE 3.5L INFINITY/350Z MOTOR THAT HAS BEEN Y* WELL TAKEN CARE OF HAD A KNOWN ISSUE OCCUR WHICH CAUSED THE VALVE TO COME LOOSE IN THE ENGINE. THERE IS A PROBLEM WHERE SOME SCREWS WHICH HOLD A BUTTERFLY VALVE TOGETHER WIGGLE LOOSE AND IS INGESTED INTO THE ENGINE. THIS CAUSES THE VALVE TO GET DAMAGED AND FALL OUT RESULTING IN TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE. NISSAN KNOWS THIS OCCURS AND IS UNWILLING TO HELP ME WITH THE REPAIR. WHEN THIS OCCURRED TO ME, I WAS IN A VERY BAD SITUATION AND NEARLY LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR, I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO GAIN CONTROL AGAIN HOWEVER THERE WAS SOME DAMAGE TO THE CAR WHEN I NEARLY WENT INTO THE DITCH. I HAVE A POLICE REPORT AS WELL. SO NISSAN KNOWS THEIR TOP OF THE LINE ENGINES CAN WITH NO WARNING FAIL WHICH AT ANY SPEED CAN BE A POTENTIAL SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE FIX IS SIMPLE TO PREVENT IT, SECURE THOSE SCREWS WITH SOME GLUE OR LOCK TIGHT, BUT IF THEY ADMIT THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW, THEN THEY'D BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGED ENGINES AND THEY SEEM TO PREFER TO DENY IT. I JUST SPENT A WEEK TRYING TO GET THEM TO TAKE SOME RESPONSIBILITY AND THEY WONT. THIS IS BEYOND A WARRANTY ISSUE IN MY OPINION IF IT CAN CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOOSE POWER AND LOOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR. IT HAPPENS QUICKLY AND THE IMPACT ON CONTROL IS IMMEDIATE. NOT SAFE AT ANY SPEED. SO THIS COMPLAINT IS ONE OF SAFETY AND ONE OF HAVING TO COVER A TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE NO MATTER HOW WELL YOU TAKE CAR OF YOUR ENGINE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2014 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I BOUGHT A 2005 ALTIMA 2.5 S BRAND NEW AND IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGED AND KEPT IN PERFECT CONDITION. MY HEADLIGHTS HAVE STARTED TO OXIDIZE HORRIBLY BUT ONLY ON THE INSIDE, THIS SEEMS LIKE A POORLY MADE PRODUCT, IF AFTER ONLY ABOUT 5 YEARS MY HEADLIGHTS START FAILING TO PERFORM WITH NO WARRANTY?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2014 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2005 ALTIMA 2.5 S DECEMBER 2004 AND WITHIN A COUPLE OF WEEKS I HAD TAKEN IT IN TO THE DEALER THAT I PURCHASED IT FROM FOR A CLUNKING NOISE COMING FRONT THE ENGINE AREA AND A FEELING UNDER MY FEET LIKE SOMEONE WAS UNDER MY CAR STRIKING IT WITH A HAMMER, THIS OCCURS AT TAKE OFF, SHIFTING GEARS AND COMING TO A STOP (STILL DOWN SHIFTING), I ALSO FELT AS IF THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED VERY ROUGH FOR A NEW CAR, IT JUST REALLY ALWAYS FELT LIKE MY MOTOR WAS ABOUT TO DROP ON THE GROUND. THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE ADVISOR CAME OUT TO ME AND SAID THAT THE MECHANIC SAID HE COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO REPEAT IT SO IT SHOULD BE FINE. AS I DROVE AWAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN, I WAS HEATED AND CALLED THE DEALER WHEN I GOT HOME, THEY MADE ME ANOTHER APPT. AND THIS REPEATED AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN, NEVER BEING REPAIRED. NOW AFTER HITTING 100K MY CAR IS GREAT EXCEPT FOR THIS DARN CLUNKING, SO I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE, ENGINE MOUNTS BROKEN, MAINLY PASSENGER SIDE. SO I ORDERED PARTS AND HAD THEM ALL REPLACED AND SURE ENOUGH, I AM AMAZED I DIDN'T LOOSE MY MOTOR THE PASSENGER ONE WAS ALMOST LIKE NOTHING WAS THERE, OBVIOUSLY THIS IS A PART THAT HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR A REALLY LONG TIME. WITH SO MANY COMPLAINTS AND KNOWN ISSUES, WHY HAS THIS NOT BECOME A RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/3/2014 - ROUND LAKE, IL
BOUGHT MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA NEW AND REGULARLY SERVICED AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN CRYSTAL LAKE, IL. IT HAS 111,000 MILES ON IT, GARAGE KEPT AND IN PRISTINE CONDITION. ON OCTOBER 15, 2014 A PRIVATE PARTY INFORMED ME OF MY RUSTED FLOORBOARDS. THE DEALERSHIP IN ALL 9 1/2 YEARS NEVER MENTIONED THIS TO ME. CONTACTED NISSAN CORP WHO PUT ME IN TOUCH WITH REGIONAL REP. PHOTOS WERE TAKEN AND ESTIMATE OBTAINED BUT NISSAN REFUSES TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I AM TOLD A TSB WAS ISSUED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds