Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 997 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (109) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Engine (108) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (336) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/17/2017 - DEFOREST, WI
THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR BOARD IS RUSTED THROUGH. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND A SAFETY ISSUE NOT TO MENTION YOU CAN SMELL EXHAUST FUMES. NISSANPROBLEMS,COM SAYS: "A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT FILED IN THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS" BUT NISSAN IS TURNING THEIR BACK SAYING THIS IS NOT A DEFECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/16/2017 - CAROL STREAM, IL
FLOOR BOARDS DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS COMPLETELY RUSTED THREW. THE REST OF THE CAR HAS NO RUST. HAS BEEN NOTED MANY TIMES IN 2002 TO 2006 ALTIMA'S EVEN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILED AGAINST THEM. THIS IS DANGEROUS AS THERE IS A HOLE THREW TO THE GROUND RIGHT UNDER YOU FEET WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2017 - ELVERTA, CA
TRANSMISSION SHIFT ERRATIC FROM 1 TO SECOND ON UPSHIFTING AND CLUNKS HARD FROM 2 TO 1 ON SLOWING DOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/30/2017 - ARVIN, CA
MY CAR HAS BEEN CHECKED THRU A SCANNER SINCE IT WONT START.AT FIRST IT STARTED NOT WANTING TO TURN ON ON THE FIRST TRY. IT DID THAT FOR ABOUT A COUPLE OF MONTHS TIL I DECIDED TO JUST STATION IT...AND NOW IT CRANKS AS IF IT WANTS TO START UP BUT IT DOESNT START UP. SO IVE REPLACED THE CAMSHAFT SENSOR BUT IT STILL WONT START SO I WAS TOLD ITS THE FUEL PUMP THAT NEEDS REPLACEMENT SO I WAS GOING TO PURCHASE ONE BUT WAS TOLD THERES A RECALL ON SUCH PART FOR NISSAN ALTIMA 2005. WHAT CAN I DO TO GET IT FIXED?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2017 - HICKSVILLE, NY
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5SL, PAID $25000 AND I ALSO BOUGHT EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS VEHICLE,ALWAYS SERVICED BY NISSAN DEALER,I DO HAVE ALL THE RECORDS OF DEALER VISIT .NO BODY MENTIONED ME UP TO NOW THAT THERE IS A HEAVY RUST UNDER DRIVER SIDE.I HAVE ONLY 83000 MILES ON THIS CAR AND ALWAYS KEPT IN GARAGE.I WENT TO NISSAN DEALER AND THEY ARE ASKING $2500 TO FIX THIS ISSUE,I AM FEELING UNSAFE TO DRIVE, I DO SEE THAT EVERY ONE HAVE SAME ISSUE.THIS IS THE BIGGEST SAFETY ISSUE, I NEED YOUR HELP FOR THIS RECALL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.PASSENGER SIDE HAVE SAME ISSUE TOO. NOW I DO HAVE A BIG HOLE UNDER MY CARPET. MY WIFE DON'T. WANT TO DRIVE AND I AM ALSO SCARED TO DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2017 - FONTANA, CA
TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS... AT ABOUT 100,000 MILES, CAR BEGAN JERKING WHILE IN MOTION FROM STOP OR RED LIGHT.. WOULD BE FINE FOR A WHILE AND THEN AGAIN BEGAN JERKING. AT APPROXIMATELY 100,000 MILES, TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY NOT WORKING.. CAR IS FINE WHEN ON REVERSE BUT WILL NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND FIRST GEAR WHEN ON DRIVE "D". VERY EXPENSIVE TO FIX A CAR THAT OTHER THAN THIS IS IN GREAT CONDITION, CAR IS NOT OPERABLE AT THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2017 - MACON, GA
TRANSMISSION ROUGH SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. IT HESITATES WHILE ACCELERATING AND THEN STOPS OR JERKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2017 - MACON, GA
TRANSMISSION ROUGH SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. IT HESITATES WHILE ACCELERATING AND THEN STOPS OR JERKS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
NISSAN USED PARTS IN THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM WHICH PREMATURELY FAIL AND WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR AFTER WARRANTY. THE ISSUE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DISCOVERED UNTIL IT HAD ALREADY FAILED AND IN THIS CASE, IS NOT A REPAIR THE OWNER CAN PERFORM ON THEIR OWN. CERTAIN MECHANICS HAVE EVEN CHOSE NOT TO PERFORM THIS REPAIR AND THE ONES WHICH ARE ABLE TO, CHARGE IN THE $2000+ RANGE. WHEN CONTACTING NISSAN ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT HAD SAID IT WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. ONCE THE TIMING IS EFFECTED, THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN SEEM TO HAVE DROPPED IN PERFORMANCE IN WHICH I HAVE VERY SLUGGISH ACCELERATION AND CANNOT READY SPEEDS OVER 30 MPH. THERE IS NO WAY I WAS ABLE TO EVEN CHECK IF THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM HAD SIGNS OF GOING BAD, AND IF THERE WAS A RECALL, THIS ISSUE COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED FOR MYSELF AND OTHERS. THIS FAULTY SYSTEM CREATES AN UNSAFE, UNRELIABLE MACHINE WHICH NISSAN SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/15/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
NISSAN USED PARTS IN THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM WHICH PREMATURELY FAIL AND WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR AFTER WARRANTY. THE ISSUE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DISCOVERED UNTIL IT HAD ALREADY FAILED AND IN THIS CASE, IS NOT A REPAIR THE OWNER CAN PERFORM ON THEIR OWN. CERTAIN MECHANICS HAVE EVEN CHOSE NOT TO PERFORM THIS REPAIR AND THE ONES WHICH ARE ABLE TO, CHARGE IN THE $2000+ RANGE. WHEN CONTACTING NISSAN ABOUT THIS ISSUE, THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT HAD SAID IT WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. ONCE THE TIMING IS EFFECTED, THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN SEEM TO HAVE DROPPED IN PERFORMANCE IN WHICH I HAVE VERY SLUGGISH ACCELERATION AND CANNOT READY SPEEDS OVER 30 MPH. THERE IS NO WAY I WAS ABLE TO EVEN CHECK IF THE TIMING CHAIN SYSTEM HAD SIGNS OF GOING BAD, AND IF THERE WAS A RECALL, THIS ISSUE COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED FOR MYSELF AND OTHERS. THIS FAULTY SYSTEM CREATES AN UNSAFE, UNRELIABLE MACHINE WHICH NISSAN SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds