Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 758 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Exterior Lighting (7) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (92) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (73) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (183) Visibility (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (254) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (6) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/28/2015 - STATHAM, GA
I PURCHASED SOMEONE ELSE LEMON! EXTREME USE OF OIL WITH NO VISIBLE OIL LEAKS. I HAVE TO ADD OIL AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK. NO ONE CAN FIND AN OIL LEAK. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND 1000'S OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. IT IS A KNOWN NISSAN PROBLEM THAT THEY REFUSE TO ADDRESS!

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2015 - NEWARK, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE BATTERY AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH CAM SHAFT POSITION SENSORS AND THE VIAS SWIRL CONTROL VALVES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V527000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING).THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/19/2015 - HIALEAH, FL
THE VEHICLE STARTING LOSING THE PAINT FOR NO REASON IVE ALWAYS TAKEN CARE OF MY CARS THERES NO VALID REASON THAT THIS PAINT SHOULD HAVE STARTED TO CRACK LIKE THIS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/14/2015 - OLATHE, KS
ON A RECENT TRIP FOR OIL CHANGE I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT A SPOT OF RUST ON THE REAR QUARTER PANEL. THEY SAID A BRACKET WAS RUSTING THAT HOLDS THE REAR QUARTER PANEL ON. THE REAL PROBLEM, THEY POINTED OUT WAS THE SEVERE RUST UNDER THE FRONT FLOORBOARDS, BOTH PASSENGER'S AND DRIVER'S SIDE. I WAS HOPING TO GET ABOUT 6,000 FOR THE CAR TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW ONE. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE ENGINE RUNS GREAT IT IS VERY UPSETTING TO KNOW THAT IT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THEY SAID THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON THE RUST.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/14/2015 - OLATHE, KS
ON A RECENT TRIP FOR OIL CHANGE I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT A SPOT OF RUST ON THE REAR QUARTER PANEL. THEY SAID A BRACKET WAS RUSTING THAT HOLDS THE REAR QUARTER PANEL ON. THE REAL PROBLEM, THEY POINTED OUT WAS THE SEVERE RUST UNDER THE FRONT FLOORBOARDS, BOTH PASSENGER'S AND DRIVER'S SIDE. I WAS HOPING TO GET ABOUT 6,000 FOR THE CAR TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW ONE. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE ENGINE RUNS GREAT IT IS VERY UPSETTING TO KNOW THAT IT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THEY SAID THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON THE RUST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/14/2015 - OLATHE, KS
ON A RECENT TRIP FOR OIL CHANGE I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT A SPOT OF RUST ON THE REAR QUARTER PANEL. THEY SAID A BRACKET WAS RUSTING THAT HOLDS THE REAR QUARTER PANEL ON. THE REAL PROBLEM, THEY POINTED OUT WAS THE SEVERE RUST UNDER THE FRONT FLOORBOARDS, BOTH PASSENGER'S AND DRIVER'S SIDE. I WAS HOPING TO GET ABOUT 6,000 FOR THE CAR TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW ONE. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE ENGINE RUNS GREAT IT IS VERY UPSETTING TO KNOW THAT IT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THEY SAID THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON THE RUST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/13/2015 - CHARLOLETT, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO OPEN THE DOOR. THE FAILURE RECURRED IN COLD WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SEATS

2/10/2015 - GRANDVIEW, MO
FIRST THING I NOTICED THE RUSTING OF THE FLOOR UNDERNEATH THE SCREW BOLTS HOLDING DOWN THE DRIVER SEAT TO BE COMPLETELY RUSTED, MY CONCERN IS THAT IF THAT SCREW BOLT SNAPS OR PULL AWAY FROM THE FLOOR BOARD THERE COULD POSSIBLY BE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WHILE MAKING A TURN AND THE SEAT SLIPS OUT OF PLACE WHILE TURNING. I QUESTIONED THIS AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP THIS PAST DECEMBER 2014 WHEN I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE 61,000 MILE CHECK UP. THEN I ALSO WAS TOLD THAT MY STEERING HAD CONTAMINATION IN IT, WHICH FROM JANUARY OF 2005 NISSAN IS THE ONLY COMPANY THAT PERFORMS MAINTENANCE ON MY CAR. I CAME HOME AND LOOKED THIS UP ON THE INTERNET ABOUT ANY RECALLS ON NISSAN CONCERNING STEERING PROBLEMS. I HAD READ WHERE THERE HAVE BEEN CAR WRECKS CONCERNING THE STEER GOING OUT WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2015 - GRANDVIEW, MO
FIRST THING I NOTICED THE RUSTING OF THE FLOOR UNDERNEATH THE SCREW BOLTS HOLDING DOWN THE DRIVER SEAT TO BE COMPLETELY RUSTED, MY CONCERN IS THAT IF THAT SCREW BOLT SNAPS OR PULL AWAY FROM THE FLOOR BOARD THERE COULD POSSIBLY BE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WHILE MAKING A TURN AND THE SEAT SLIPS OUT OF PLACE WHILE TURNING. I QUESTIONED THIS AT THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP THIS PAST DECEMBER 2014 WHEN I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE 61,000 MILE CHECK UP. THEN I ALSO WAS TOLD THAT MY STEERING HAD CONTAMINATION IN IT, WHICH FROM JANUARY OF 2005 NISSAN IS THE ONLY COMPANY THAT PERFORMS MAINTENANCE ON MY CAR. I CAME HOME AND LOOKED THIS UP ON THE INTERNET ABOUT ANY RECALLS ON NISSAN CONCERNING STEERING PROBLEMS. I HAD READ WHERE THERE HAVE BEEN CAR WRECKS CONCERNING THE STEER GOING OUT WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/10/2015 - LEES SUMMIT, MO
I SAW A TV NEWS STORY ABOUT A PROBLEM WITH 2002-2006 NISSAN ALTIMAS HAVING RUSTED OUT FLOORBOARDS. I CHECKED UNDERNEATH MY NISSAN ALTIMA AND THE FLOORBOARD IS RUSTED OUT TO THE POINT WHERE THERE IS A HOLE IN IT. YOU CAN PUT YOUR FINGER IN IT AND CHIP AWAY THE METAL IN THE FLOORBOARD. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. THIS HOLE IS ONLY GOING TO GET BIGGER AS THE METAL WILL RUST EVEN MORE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds