Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 702 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (89) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (59) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (149) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (250) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2014 - LYNN, MA
I WAS LOOKING AT MY CAR AND NOTICE THAT THE FLOOR PANELS FOR THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER ARE ROTTED AWAY. AFTER LOOKING AT THE REST OF THE CAR ITS CLEAR THAT ITS NOT YOUR EVERYDAY RUST. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ONLINE THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PEOPLE WITH NISSAN ALTIMA'S THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. HOW IS THIS NOT A RECALL BY NOW.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/20/2014 - LYNN, MA
I WAS LOOKING AT MY CAR AND NOTICE THAT THE FLOOR PANELS FOR THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER ARE ROTTED AWAY. AFTER LOOKING AT THE REST OF THE CAR ITS CLEAR THAT ITS NOT YOUR EVERYDAY RUST. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ONLINE THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PEOPLE WITH NISSAN ALTIMA'S THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. HOW IS THIS NOT A RECALL BY NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
ENGINE CUT OFF ALL BY ITSELF AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON. MECHANIC SAID THE PROBLEM WAS WITH MY CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THOSE SAME PARTS TWO YEARS AGO AS WELL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/14/2014 - GOFFSTOWN , NH
MY CAR FAILED INSPECTION BECAUSE THE FLOORBOARDS ARE RUSTED OUT. I WAS TOLD THIS IS VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND NISSAN NEEDS TO HAVE A RECALL BECAUSE THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A CAR OF THIS AGE WITH THE AMOUNT OF RUST IT HAS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/14/2014 - PLAINVIEW, NY
I OWN A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5S WITH 127,000 MILES. I NOTICED RUST PARTICLES ON MY DRIVEWAY AND INSPECTED THE BOTTOM OF MY CAR AND DISCOVERED THAT THE FLOOR BOARDS ON THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES HAVE COMPLETELY ROTTED/RUSTED OUT. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A CAR THAT HAS BEEN PROPERLY MAINTAINED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF FUMES AND THE INSTABILITY OF THE CAR'S FLOOR. NISSAN SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECT AND SHOULD PAY FOR THE NECESSARY REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2014 - PLAINVIEW, NY
I OWN A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5S WITH 127,000 MILES. I NOTICED RUST PARTICLES ON MY DRIVEWAY AND INSPECTED THE BOTTOM OF MY CAR AND DISCOVERED THAT THE FLOOR BOARDS ON THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES HAVE COMPLETELY ROTTED/RUSTED OUT. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A CAR THAT HAS BEEN PROPERLY MAINTAINED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF FUMES AND THE INSTABILITY OF THE CAR'S FLOOR. NISSAN SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECT AND SHOULD PAY FOR THE NECESSARY REPAIRS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/14/2014 - EATONTON, GA
I HAVE A 2005 ALTIMA 2.5S. I HAD THE SEVERE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARD RUST PROBLEM. THE RUST IS ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR MAT. A BIG HOLE ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. I CALLED THE DEALER BROUGHT THE CAR FOR INSPECTION AND THEY SEND ME TO NISSAN NORTH AMERICA (800) NISSAN-1 OR 800-647-7261). THEY'VE REFERRED ME TO WITH NISSAN REGIONAL CONSUMER AFFAIRS REGARDING THE RUSTED OUT FLOORBOARDS. I APPRECIATED THEIR "SURPRISE" AND "NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE". WHEN I TOLD HIM IT HOW BAD THE DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR RUST PROBLEM SHE SAID THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING RIGHT NOW WITH THAT BECAUSE IT'S NORMAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEM. THEY WILL NOT HELP ON THE REPAIR AND SEND ME TO BODY SHOP. THE REPLACEMENT/FIX OF HOLD FLOORBOARD WILL COST $1700 INCLUDING PARTS AND LABOR. I LOOKED MY COMPANY 1998 MAZDA TRUCK, IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN A LOT IN MUDDY ROADS AND SNOW, AND NO RUST AT ALL UNDER THE FLOORBOARD. I FOUND THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THE 2002-2006 NISSAN ALTIMA FLOORBOARD RUST PROBLEM ON GOOGLE, AND NISSAN REFUSED TO TAKE A RECALL FOR THIS MOST COMPLAINT PROBLEM. THIS IS A DESIGN/MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT NISSAN REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE. FYI: HTTP://WWW.NISSANFORUMS.COM/GENERAL-ALTIMA-STANZA-DISCUSSION/137783-ALTIMA-RUST-SHOCKER-5.HTML I SERVED MY CAR MANY TIMES IN NISSAN DEALERSHIP, INCLUDING OIL CHANGES AND WHOLE CAR INSPECTION. THEY NEVER MENTIONED THE FLOORBOARD RUST PROBLEM AT ALL TO ME UNTIL I FOUND IT. I DO BELIEVE THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM FOR A CAR DRIVEN ON THE ROAD, ESPECIALLY ON THE HIGHWAY,AND THE FLOORBOARD CAN FALL ANYTIME. I REALLY HOPE THIS CAN GET AN ATTENTION FOR EVERYONE WHO HAS 02-06 NISSAN ALTIMA AS WELL. GET THE CAR REPAIRED SOON TO REDUCE THE POTENTIAL FATALITY INCIDENT. I HOPE NISSAN CAN TAKE THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THAT REPAIR. THANK YOU!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/9/2014 - METHUEN, MA
MY 2005 FAILED SAFETY INSPECTION BECAUSE THE FLOOR BOARDS ARE RUSTED THROUGH. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON THE ISSUE. EVERY MECHANIC I BROUGHT IT TO FOR A QUOTE SAID THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL. NISSAN IS NOT WILLING TO HELP IT CUSTOMERS WITH THE REPAIRS. WHEN ARE YOU GUYS GOING TO STEP IN AND FORCE NISSAN TO ADDRESS THIS SAFETY ISSUE?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/8/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATE THAT SHE WAS ADVISED BY DEALER DURING A ROUTINE INSPECTION THAT THE FLOOR BOARDS ON DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE HAVE ROTTED OUT. THE DEALER STATED THAT FLOOR BOARDS WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THIS DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE OF VEHICLE WAS 150,000. RG

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2014 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ONCE THE KEY WAS PLACED AND TURNED IN THE IGNITION. THE KEY NEEDED TO BE TURNED AT LEAST TEN TIMES BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD START. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE STALLED BEFORE RESUMING NORMAL ACCELERATION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED DAILY. A LOCAL MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CRANK SHAFT AND ENGINE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. JCC

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds