Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 663 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19)
Electrical System (70) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (36) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (85) Steering (23) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine (49) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (9) Structure (128) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (248) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (16) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/17/2014 - DUMONT, NJ
NISSAN SAID MY VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL FOR THE CAMSHAFT AND SENSOR..WHICH HAD TO BE REPLACED..DUE TO THE VECHILE JUST STALLING ALL OF A SUDDEN...VERY DANGEROUS..IF THERE IS A RECALL FOR A PART...THEN THERE IS A RECALL..IT CANNOT BE EITHER OR. PLEASE RESPOND

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A CRANK SHAFT SENSOR DEFECT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 109,000. ML

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/12/2014 - PORT HURON , MI
ERATIC IDLE, RANDOM MISFIRE, BAD MPG, CAR IS SLUGGISH I BELIEVE THE POWER VALVE IS THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2014 - PORT HURON , MI
ERATIC IDLE, RANDOM MISFIRE, BAD MPG, CAR IS SLUGGISH I BELIEVE THE POWER VALVE IS THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - HANFORD, CA
CAR WOULD COMPLETEY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING 55 PLUS.AT ABOUT 20 MILES OR MORE AND ON FREEWAY WAS VERY DANGEOURS. WOULD NOT TURN ON UNTILE 20 MINS. LATER AND NOTICE IF ENGINE WAS WARM IT SHUT IT DOWN.HOPEFULLY THIS WORKS BUT CAR HAS TO HAVE MOTOR MOUNTS REPLACE AND BEING HANDICAP NEED THIS CAR.IV NOTICE 2.5 HAS SAME PROBLEMS AND RECALLED. IF I HAD BEEN IN MIDDLE LANE OR NO AREA TO PULL OVER ACCIDENT WOULD OF HAPPEN PLUS YOU LOSE ALL POWER STEERING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
I SEE IN 2007 NISSAN RECALLED THE CRANKSHAFT AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF THIS. I TOOK MY CAR TO SEARS ON MARCH 31ST AND BROUGHT A BATTERY BECAUSE I THOUGHT THIS WAS THE PROBLEM THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS STILL ON SO I TOOK MY CAR TO MY MECHANIC TODAY 4-1-14 AND WAS TOLD NOT ONLY DO I HAVE TO REPLACE MY CRANKSHAFT SENSOR, BUT MY SPEED SENSOR AND MY FUEL PUMP SYSTEM WHICH IS GOING TO COST ME A TOTAL OF $1395.66 TO REPAIR IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO ABOUT THIS SINCE NISSAN NEVER INFORMED ME OF THE PROBLEM WITH THE CRANKSHAFT IN 2007?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/1/2014 - EXTON, PA
I TOOK MY NISSAN ALTIMA TO MY NISSAN DEALER TO HAVE AN "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" REPAIRED. THEY TOLD ME THAT MY FLOORBOARDS HAD RUSTED OUT AND WOULD NOT PASS STATE INSPECTION. THE CAR SHOWS NO VISIBLE SIGN OF RUST ANYWHERE ON THE BODY. THIS MUST BE A DESIGN DEFECT BECAUSE CARS DO NOT RUST OUT ANYMORE. HOW CAN YOU HELP ME? THANKS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2014 - LAURINBURG, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25-30 MPH AND ATTEMPTED TO AVOID CRASHING INTO A SMALL ANIMAL THAT CROSSED INTO THE ROADWAY HOWEVER, CRASHED INTO A DITCH INSTEAD. THE SEAT BELTS FAILED TO RETRACT AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHARP BODILY PAINS TO THE SHOULDERS, RIBS, NECK AND HEAD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT ALERTED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/27/2014 - LAURINBURG, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25-30 MPH AND ATTEMPTED TO AVOID CRASHING INTO A SMALL ANIMAL THAT CROSSED INTO THE ROADWAY HOWEVER, CRASHED INTO A DITCH INSTEAD. THE SEAT BELTS FAILED TO RETRACT AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHARP BODILY PAINS TO THE SHOULDERS, RIBS, NECK AND HEAD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT ALERTED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - JACKSON, MS
PROBLEM BEGUN BY MY VEHICLE BEING HARD TO START. YOU COULD ATTEMPT TO START THE CAR FOR 5 OR SO MINUTES WITHOUT SUCCESS. YOU COULD WAIT ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN AND THE VEHICLE WOULD EVENTUALLY START BUT RUN PRETTY ROUGH. IT WOULD ALSO PREFORM WITH POOR POWER DURING OPERATION. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE WHEN THE "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" LIGHT CAME ON. NOW THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON 4 TO 5 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE ENGINE WILL RE-START BUT RUNS ROUGH. I'M AFRAID THAT THIS COULD HAPPEN AT THE WRONG PLACE AND TIME MY WIFE AND FAMILY CAN BE HURT OR KILLED. I READ A RECALL ON DEFECT OF THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR WHICH CAUSES THE IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS THAT MY CAR HAS BUT WHEN I TOOK IT TO CANNON NISSAN AT JACKSON MS. THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. WHAT CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS? PLEASE GIVE ME A RESPONSE ON THIS IF YOU CAN AT CLARKFAM04@BELLSOUTH.NET OR RCLARK@MEMEXCU.COM. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR CARE AND ASSISTANCE. - ROBERT CLARK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds