Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 1003 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (85) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (110) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Engine (109) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (336) Visibility (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE; VEHICLE SUDDENLY HAS AN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER ON HIGHWAY AND WILL NOT CHANGE GEARS. CAMSHAFT SENSORS; SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER TRAVELING AT HIGH RATE OF SPEED, UNEXPECTED STALLING OR ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN AND NOT RESTART. BOTH VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE YOU ALMOST GET RUN OVER BY THE VEHICLE BEHIND YOU. THEY COME UP ON YOU TOO FAST, CONTINUING THEIR NORMAL HIGHWAY SPEEDS NOT REALIZING YOUR VEHICLES LOSS OF POWER UNTIL THEYRE RIGHT UP ON YOU THEN HAVE TO EITHER SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES OR MAKE SUDDEN LANE CHANGE WITHOUT PROPERLY SIGNALING WARNING OTHER DRIVERS. TIMING CHAIN GUIDE AND TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS; WEAR OUT PREMATURELY CAUSING LOOSENING OF THE TIMING CHAIN, MAKES A VERY LOUD CLANKING OR TICKING SOUND ASBIT HITS THE GUIDE AND CAN CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. STRUTS MOUNTS; CORRODE AND WEAR OUT CREATING A ROUGH AND UNSTABLE STEERING CONTROL AND CLANKING SOUND AS THE STRUTS HIT WHEN DRIVING OVER UNEVEN ROADWAYS, CRACKS, DRIVEWAYS AND SPEED BUMPS. MAKES IT MORE DIFFICULT TO STEER CAUSE THE VIBRATION AND RATTLING IN THE FRONT END. THIS OCCURS IN THE 3.5 LITER ENGINE. THERE HAS ALREADY BEEN SERVICE BULLETINS AND RECALLS ON THE 2.5 LITER ENGINE BUT NOT 3.5. THE ISSUES ARE THE SAME FOR BOTH ENGINES. THE SAME PARTS/MANUFACTURERS ARE USED ON BOTH YET THE 3.5 LITER WASNT INCLUDED. PROBLEMS ARE ONGOING DAILY. ITS VERY UNSAFE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/5/2017 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE; VEHICLE SUDDENLY HAS AN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER ON HIGHWAY AND WILL NOT CHANGE GEARS. CAMSHAFT SENSORS; SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER TRAVELING AT HIGH RATE OF SPEED, UNEXPECTED STALLING OR ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN AND NOT RESTART. BOTH VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE YOU ALMOST GET RUN OVER BY THE VEHICLE BEHIND YOU. THEY COME UP ON YOU TOO FAST, CONTINUING THEIR NORMAL HIGHWAY SPEEDS NOT REALIZING YOUR VEHICLES LOSS OF POWER UNTIL THEYRE RIGHT UP ON YOU THEN HAVE TO EITHER SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES OR MAKE SUDDEN LANE CHANGE WITHOUT PROPERLY SIGNALING WARNING OTHER DRIVERS. TIMING CHAIN GUIDE AND TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS; WEAR OUT PREMATURELY CAUSING LOOSENING OF THE TIMING CHAIN, MAKES A VERY LOUD CLANKING OR TICKING SOUND ASBIT HITS THE GUIDE AND CAN CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. STRUTS MOUNTS; CORRODE AND WEAR OUT CREATING A ROUGH AND UNSTABLE STEERING CONTROL AND CLANKING SOUND AS THE STRUTS HIT WHEN DRIVING OVER UNEVEN ROADWAYS, CRACKS, DRIVEWAYS AND SPEED BUMPS. MAKES IT MORE DIFFICULT TO STEER CAUSE THE VIBRATION AND RATTLING IN THE FRONT END. THIS OCCURS IN THE 3.5 LITER ENGINE. THERE HAS ALREADY BEEN SERVICE BULLETINS AND RECALLS ON THE 2.5 LITER ENGINE BUT NOT 3.5. THE ISSUES ARE THE SAME FOR BOTH ENGINES. THE SAME PARTS/MANUFACTURERS ARE USED ON BOTH YET THE 3.5 LITER WASNT INCLUDED. PROBLEMS ARE ONGOING DAILY. ITS VERY UNSAFE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2017 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE; VEHICLE SUDDENLY HAS AN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER ON HIGHWAY AND WILL NOT CHANGE GEARS. CAMSHAFT SENSORS; SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER TRAVELING AT HIGH RATE OF SPEED, UNEXPECTED STALLING OR ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN AND NOT RESTART. BOTH VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE YOU ALMOST GET RUN OVER BY THE VEHICLE BEHIND YOU. THEY COME UP ON YOU TOO FAST, CONTINUING THEIR NORMAL HIGHWAY SPEEDS NOT REALIZING YOUR VEHICLES LOSS OF POWER UNTIL THEYRE RIGHT UP ON YOU THEN HAVE TO EITHER SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES OR MAKE SUDDEN LANE CHANGE WITHOUT PROPERLY SIGNALING WARNING OTHER DRIVERS. TIMING CHAIN GUIDE AND TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS; WEAR OUT PREMATURELY CAUSING LOOSENING OF THE TIMING CHAIN, MAKES A VERY LOUD CLANKING OR TICKING SOUND ASBIT HITS THE GUIDE AND CAN CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. STRUTS MOUNTS; CORRODE AND WEAR OUT CREATING A ROUGH AND UNSTABLE STEERING CONTROL AND CLANKING SOUND AS THE STRUTS HIT WHEN DRIVING OVER UNEVEN ROADWAYS, CRACKS, DRIVEWAYS AND SPEED BUMPS. MAKES IT MORE DIFFICULT TO STEER CAUSE THE VIBRATION AND RATTLING IN THE FRONT END. THIS OCCURS IN THE 3.5 LITER ENGINE. THERE HAS ALREADY BEEN SERVICE BULLETINS AND RECALLS ON THE 2.5 LITER ENGINE BUT NOT 3.5. THE ISSUES ARE THE SAME FOR BOTH ENGINES. THE SAME PARTS/MANUFACTURERS ARE USED ON BOTH YET THE 3.5 LITER WASNT INCLUDED. PROBLEMS ARE ONGOING DAILY. ITS VERY UNSAFE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/2/2017 - HARRIMAN, NY
THE CAR STALLED WHILE MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED. CALLED AAA AND THE CAR WAS TOWED TO VILLAGE AUTO IN CHESTER NY .THERE THEY REPLACED THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSORS.I SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FOUND MANY PEOPLE REPORTING THE SAME PROBLEMS.SOME OF THE CARS WERE VOLUNTARY RECALLED. I CALLED NISSAN TO REPORT THE PROBLEM AND THEY TOLD ME THE RECALL GOES BY VIN NUMBER NOT BY THE MAKE AND MODEL. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY I'M HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE RECALLED CARS YET MY CAR ISN'T BEING RECALLED. IT'S LUCKY THAT THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN AT NIGHT AND MY DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A POLICE TURNAROUND AND FIND A LITTLE SAFETY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2017 - WEST CHESTER, PA
CAR WAS INVOLVED IN ONE FRONT END AND TWO REAR END ACCICDENTS OVER THE YEARS ALL REQUIRING EXTENSIVE BODY AND BUMPER REPAIR. IN ALL CASES THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING AT THE SPEED LIMIT WITH THE FRONT END ACCIDENT AND AT A SLOW SPEED APPROACHING A TRAFFIC SIGNAL AND OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE REAR END INCIDENTS. DIRECTION WAS STRAIGHT IN ALL CASES ON LOCAL STREETS NOT HIGHWAYS. LAST INCIDENT IS NOTED IN "WHEN DID THID HAPPEN" DATA. SEEMS UNLIKELY THAT THE BAGS WOULD NOT HAVE DEPLOYED EVER. IN LIGHT OF THE TAKATA RECALL AND OTHER AIRBAG SYSTEM ON/OFF PROBLEMS WITH NEARLY EVERY MANUFACTURER I AM CONCERED WITH THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE. MENTION OF THIS OVER THE YEARS WAS MET WITH DISMISAL BY REPAIR SHOPS AND MANUFACTURE'S DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT. HOW SAFE IS THIS VEHICLE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/9/2017 - WEST ISLIP, NY
MY CAR IS BEING ILLEGALLY REMOTELY HACKED BY AN I.T. TECHNICIAN BY THE NAME OF [XXX] WHO IS ILLEGALLY HACKING MY VEHICLE WITH BLUETOOTH. HIS BLUETOOTH DEVICE NUMBER THAT COMES UP IS [XXX] (WY STANDS FOR THE FIRST 2 LETTERS OF HIS LAST NAME, 23 IS PART OF HIS DATE OF BIRTH WHICH IS [XXX].) HIS # [XXX]. HIS ADDRESS: [XXX]. HIS EMAIL: [XXX]. [XXX] IS DANGEROUSLY HACKING MY VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES A DAY. [XXX]IS VERY DANGEROUS HE IS HACKING MY CAR ALMOST DAILY, SEVERAL TIMES DAILY. ** DOES EVERYTHING LISTED IN THE FBI IC3 ARTICLED CALLED "MOTOR VEHICLES INCREASINGLY VULNERABLE TO REMOTE EXPLOITS." *** HE HAS DISABLED MY ENGINE EVEN CAUSING 2 CAR ACCIDENTS RECENTLY IN JUNE & JULY 2017 (WHEN I WAS DRIVING UNDER 10 MILES PER HOUR), HE HAS DISABLED MY BRAKES, HE HAS HACKED MY TRACTION AT LEAST 100 TIMES AND THE LIGHT COMES ON STATING TCS OFF/SLIP INDICATING THAT THE TRACTION IS DISABLED-THE POLICE TOLD ME TO PRESS THE BUTTON ON THE DASHBOARD THAT SAYS TCS OFF WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND IT WILL RESET ITSELF-BUT IT DOESN'T BECAUSE [XXX] IS REMOTELY HACKING MY CAR. THIS HAPPENS WHEN I AM DRIVING AT A SLOW PACE USUALLY UNDER 10 MILES AN HOUR IS WHEN HE DISABLES MY ENGINE COMPLETELY REMOTELY AND HE CAUSED 2 CAR ACCIDENTS BY DOING THIS. BUT HE DISABLES THE TRACTION AT ANY SPEED OR EVEN BEFORE I TURN THE CAR ON, HE DISABLES IT WITH BLUETOOTH AND WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, I HAVE NO TRACTION. HE IS CLEARLY TRYING TO HARM/HURT ME. WHY ELSE WOULD ANYONE DO THIS? HE IS CLEARLY SICK AND HIS SICK DANGEROUS BEHAVIOR IS ESCALATING. EVERYDAY ILLEGALLY DANGEROUSLY REMOTELY HACKS MY VEHICLE MULTIPLE TIMES, DISABLED THE TRACTION. AS YOU KNOW, CAR HACKING IS VERY DANGEROUS-HE DOESN'T CARE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2017 - LAKE WORTH, FL
CAR STALLING WHILE IN MOTION DUE TO CRANK SHAFT SENSOR DEFECT, ALSO CAR IS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY DUE TO SPEED INPUT SENSOR DEFECT. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON, CODES GIVEN DURING DIAGNOSTICS ARE P0335 AND P0725.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/29/2017 - LAKE WORTH, FL
CAR STALLING WHILE IN MOTION DUE TO CRANK SHAFT SENSOR DEFECT, ALSO CAR IS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY DUE TO SPEED INPUT SENSOR DEFECT. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON, CODES GIVEN DURING DIAGNOSTICS ARE P0335 AND P0725.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/20/2017 - LYNWOOD, CA
TAKATA RECALL MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY ENGINE STARTED TO SHAKE A LITTLE HARD AND WHEN I PULLED OVER THE CAR TURNED OFF AND WOULDN'T START ANYMORE. I HAD TO GET A TOWING TRUCK TO GET HOME AND EVER SINCE MY CAR DOESNT START ANYMORE IT WILL JUST CRANK BUT WONT START.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/17/2017 - DEFOREST, WI
THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR BOARD IS RUSTED THROUGH. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND A SAFETY ISSUE NOT TO MENTION YOU CAN SMELL EXHAUST FUMES. NISSANPROBLEMS,COM SAYS: "A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT FILED IN THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS" BUT NISSAN IS TURNING THEIR BACK SAYING THIS IS NOT A DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds