Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 959 complaints filed for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (37) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (105) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (99) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (321) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (260) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (18) Wheels (5)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/24/2016 - METHUEN, MA
BROUGHT MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA TO MECHANIC FOR SERVICE. HE NOTICED BOTH DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARDS ROTTED OUT. EACH SIDE HAS A 6" - 8" WIDE X ~18" LONG RECTANGULAR HOLE IN THE FLOORBOARD UNDERNEATH THE CARPET. YOU ARE ABLE TO PUSH UP ON THE CARPET FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE ON BOTH SIDES. THE ONLY THING SEPARATING THE DRIVER OR PASSENGER'S FEET FROM THE ROAD IN THESE AREAS IS THE CARPETING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - LAREDO, TX
VEHICLE ENGINE STOPED WHILE APPROACHING TRAFFIC LIGHT.WAS A LITTLE LATE IN STARTING UP AGAIN.IT JUST DIED.WENT TO AUTOZONE,GAVE ME A CODE PO335,WHICH INDICATED A FAULT IN THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR.CALL THE LOCAL NISSAN DEALER AND ASKED FOR A ECM REPROGRAMING,WHICH IS COVERED ON RECALL RO606,NOTHING WAS DONE.PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2016 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
WHEN I AM AT A LIGHT MY CAR JUST TURNS OFF

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/18/2016 - OAKDALE, PA
MY ALTIMA IS WELL MAINTAINED CAR BOUGHT ALL NEW FROM NISSAN DEALERSHIP. STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA NEEDS STATE INSPECTION DONE EVERY YEAR AND THIS YEAR MY ALTIMA FAILED SAFETY INSPECTION. MEANING, MY CAR IS DEEMED NOT SAFE TO DRIVE ON THE STREET BECAUSE OF NISSAN ALTIMA'S DESIGN FLAW MAKING FLOOR-BOARD BEHIND FRONT WHEELS GO RUSTED. I USE THE CAR TO COMMUTE EVERYDAY TO WORK, UNKNOWINGLY EXPOSING MYSELF TO UNFORESEEN DANGER. NISSAN SHOULD HAVE ADDRESSED THIS COMMON ISSUE HAPPENING TO MANY OTHER CONSUMERS BEFORE ANY LIFE THREATENING INCIDENT OCCUR TO THEIR SO CALLED "CUSTOMERS".

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/13/2016 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
VEHICLE BRIEFLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING BEGINNING 2014, LIKE A HICK-UP, INTERRUPTION OF POWER. HOWEVER IT WOULD CONTINUE. NO REAL PROBLEMS AT FIRST. THEN, BEGAN TO COMPLETELY POWER OFF, DIFFICULT TO RESTART AND I'D LOSE AUTO TRANSMISSION FUNCTION AND HAVE TO MANUALLY SHIFT WHICH BUCKED EVERY GEAR. PARK IT FOR A WHILE, RESTART AND IT'D DRIVE JUST FINE UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS WARM THEN IT'D POWER OFF...ALL OVER AGAIN.. MECHANIC STATED IT WAS THE TCM. REPLACED IT, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF, SEEMED FINE. NOW IT'S STALLING AND SAME ISSUES WITH TRANNY. NOW PULLING A CAMSHAFT SENSOR CODE. UGH! I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED IN 2014 AND IT'S ONLY BEEN DRIVABLE FOR 3 MONTHS. THE BIGGEST PAIN IN MY [XXX]. SHOULD'VE BOUGHT A HORSE INSTEAD. NISSAN YOU MANUFACTURE [XXX]POOR PRODUCTS KNOWINGLY AND HIDE!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/13/2016 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
AN EXISTING RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE SHOULD INCLUDE THE 3.5L ENGINE AS WELL AS CAMSHAFT/CRANKSHAFT AND TCM. ALL CAUSE SIMILAR LIFE-THREATENING SYMPTOMS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY POWERS COMPLETELY OFF BRIEFLY LOSING ALL POWER TO LIGHTS ETC, DECELERATE RAPIDLY AND YOU LOSE STEERING CONTROL AND SPEED CONTROL. VEHICLES COME UP ON YOU QUICKLY AT NIGHT AND EVEN IF YOU GET THE VEHICLE RESTARTED YOU HAVE NO POWER IN TRANSMISSION AND MERELY LIMP ON AT AN IDLE SPEED. VERY VERY DANGEROUS. WHY IT WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE ORIGINAL 2007 RECALL IS NISSAN TRYING TO SAVE A BUCK. THEY USED THE SAME MFG & SAME PARTS AS IN THE 2.5L. THEY KNOWINGLY WITHHELD IT FROM BEING INCLUDED. I ALSO CONTACTED THEM ABOUT THE TCM. KEEP IN MIND THE WERE BITING THEIR NAILS AFTER BEING PRESENTED WITH A CLASS ACTION SUITE REGARDING THE DEFECTIVE TCM. LUCKILY FOR THEM IT WAS DISMISSED TEMPORARILY. BUT THEY NEVER MENTIONED ANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS WHEN THEY RESPONDED TO ME AND NEVER OFFERED ANY RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/13/2016 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
AN EXISTING RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE SHOULD INCLUDE THE 3.5L ENGINE AS WELL AS CAMSHAFT/CRANKSHAFT AND TCM. ALL CAUSE SIMILAR LIFE-THREATENING SYMPTOMS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY POWERS COMPLETELY OFF BRIEFLY LOSING ALL POWER TO LIGHTS ETC, DECELERATE RAPIDLY AND YOU LOSE STEERING CONTROL AND SPEED CONTROL. VEHICLES COME UP ON YOU QUICKLY AT NIGHT AND EVEN IF YOU GET THE VEHICLE RESTARTED YOU HAVE NO POWER IN TRANSMISSION AND MERELY LIMP ON AT AN IDLE SPEED. VERY VERY DANGEROUS. WHY IT WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE ORIGINAL 2007 RECALL IS NISSAN TRYING TO SAVE A BUCK. THEY USED THE SAME MFG & SAME PARTS AS IN THE 2.5L. THEY KNOWINGLY WITHHELD IT FROM BEING INCLUDED. I ALSO CONTACTED THEM ABOUT THE TCM. KEEP IN MIND THE WERE BITING THEIR NAILS AFTER BEING PRESENTED WITH A CLASS ACTION SUITE REGARDING THE DEFECTIVE TCM. LUCKILY FOR THEM IT WAS DISMISSED TEMPORARILY. BUT THEY NEVER MENTIONED ANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS WHEN THEY RESPONDED TO ME AND NEVER OFFERED ANY RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/13/2016 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
AN EXISTING RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE SHOULD INCLUDE THE 3.5L ENGINE AS WELL AS CAMSHAFT/CRANKSHAFT AND TCM. ALL CAUSE SIMILAR LIFE-THREATENING SYMPTOMS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY POWERS COMPLETELY OFF BRIEFLY LOSING ALL POWER TO LIGHTS ETC, DECELERATE RAPIDLY AND YOU LOSE STEERING CONTROL AND SPEED CONTROL. VEHICLES COME UP ON YOU QUICKLY AT NIGHT AND EVEN IF YOU GET THE VEHICLE RESTARTED YOU HAVE NO POWER IN TRANSMISSION AND MERELY LIMP ON AT AN IDLE SPEED. VERY VERY DANGEROUS. WHY IT WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE ORIGINAL 2007 RECALL IS NISSAN TRYING TO SAVE A BUCK. THEY USED THE SAME MFG & SAME PARTS AS IN THE 2.5L. THEY KNOWINGLY WITHHELD IT FROM BEING INCLUDED. I ALSO CONTACTED THEM ABOUT THE TCM. KEEP IN MIND THE WERE BITING THEIR NAILS AFTER BEING PRESENTED WITH A CLASS ACTION SUITE REGARDING THE DEFECTIVE TCM. LUCKILY FOR THEM IT WAS DISMISSED TEMPORARILY. BUT THEY NEVER MENTIONED ANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS WHEN THEY RESPONDED TO ME AND NEVER OFFERED ANY RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2016 - MERIDEN, CT
TAKATA RECALL MY 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5S SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING.I ALMOST GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT ON A CITY STREET...

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/8/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
I BOUGHT THIS '05 ALTIMA ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO. I DON'T DRIVE AT NIGHT A LOT BUT WHEN I DID FOR THE 1ST TIME, I NOTICED THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WERE IN THE TREES. I FOUND AN ADJUSTMENT SCREW ON BACK OF THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY AND FOUND THAT WHEN I ADJUSTED IT, IT TURNED BOTH THE HI AND LOW BEAMS DOWN. WHEN THE LOW BEAMS CAME CLOSE TO LEVEL- THE HI BEAMS WERE NOW HITTING THE GROUND 15 FT IN FRONT OF THE CAR. I FOUND A RECALL # ON LINE FOR THIS VERY ISSUE DATING BACK TO BLOGS IN LATE 2004. IT'S # 07E087000. SUNNYVALE (CA) NISSAN TURNED ME AWAY THIS MORNING SAYING THAT BASED ON MY VIN- THERE IS NO RECALL ON THE HEADLIGHTS. THIS IS A HAZARD AS I HAVE LITTLE LIGHT ON THE ROAD AT NIGHT UNLESS I DRIVE WITH MY BRIGHTS ON. CAN YOU HELP? THANKS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds