Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC VIBE - 2005 PONTIAC VIBE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 244 complaints filed for the 2005 PONTIAC VIBE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 PONTIAC VIBE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (131) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (2) Visibility (17)
Engine (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34) Power Train (32) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/18/2015 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO PERFORM THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. UPDATED 09/21/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2015 - LAVERNIA, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/4/2015 - WEST HAVEN, CT
I AM FILING A COMPLAINT ABOUT THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR RECALL (NHTSA RECALL # 15V285; GM RECALL # N140491), FOR WHICH I RECEIVED A LETTER YESTERDAY. I AM VERY DISTURBED TO BE TOLD THAT, UNTIL THE NECESSARY REPLACEMENT PART IS AVAILABLE, AND WITH ONLY THE ASSURANCE THAT GM (AND PRESUMABLY TOYOTA) IS "WORKING AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE TO CORRECT THIS CONDITION," I SHOULD NOT OPERATE THE CAR WITH THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPIED. I FIND IT DISTURBING AND ODD THAT THE PROSCRIPTION ONLY APPLIES TO THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT, EVEN THOUGH THE WARNING INCLUDES THE STATEMENT THAT MALFUNCTION OF THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG COULD RESULT IN "METAL FRAGMENTS STRIKING THE VEHICLE OCCUPANTS [INCLUDING, PRESUMABLY, ME] POTENTIALLY RESULTING IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH," I AM ALSO TROUBLED THAT NO ADVICE OR ACCOMMODATION IS MADE FOR THOSE FOR WHOM NOT USING THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT IS NOT AN OPTION, NOR IS THERE PROVISION BY GM/TOYOTA/TAKATA TO PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT CAR UNTIL SUCH TIME AS THE REPLACEMENT PART IS AVAILABLE, OR AT LEAST SOME SORT OF REMUNERATION FOR WHAT IT WILL COST THOSE AFFECTED TO RENT A CAR WHEN THEY MUST USE A FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. AND THERE'S THE SMALL MATTER THAT THE METAL FRAGMENTS COULD STRIKE MORE THAN JUST THE FRONT PASSENGER. THEREFORE, I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT NHTSA IS DOING TO ENSURE THAT PROPER COMPENSATION IS PROVIDED FOR THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2015 - PRINCETON, LA
I TOOK MY CAR TO MIKE MORGAN BUICK GMC OF SHREVEPORT LOUISIANA FOR THE RECALL REPAIR OF THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR MODULE. FIVE DAYS LATER MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT COMES ON. I TAKE MY CAR BACK TO MIKE MORGAN BUICK GMC. THEY INFORM ME THE WARNING LIGHT STEMS FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG AND THEY ONLY "REPAIRED" OR "TAMPERED" WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. I WILL HAVE TO PAY $922 TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. I DON'T KNOW IF THEM TAMPERING WITH MY AIRBAGS CAUSED THE LIGHT TO COME ON OR NOT. HOWEVER, I DO KNOW I HAD NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED IN MY DASHBOARD UNTIL MIKE MORGAN BUICK GMC OF SHREVEPORT LOUISIANA TAMPERED WITH MY CAR. THEY TOLD ME THE AIRBAG LIGHT BEING ON MEANS MY DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG IS DISABLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2015 - LIVE OAK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED IN THE IGNITION TO THE ON POSITION, THE ENGINE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE BEFORE STARTING. ALSO, WHEN THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE VIBRATED INTENSELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE SERVICE WAS REFUSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: TORQUE CONVERTER

7/8/2015 - PERRINTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUTTERED, VIBRATED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 291,561.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2015 - PERRINTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUTTERED, VIBRATED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 291,561.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/24/2015 - INDIANA, PA
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING. LOOKED UP RECALLS, FOUND A RECALL FOR AIRBAG BUT INCOMPLETE/NO REMEDY YET. CALLED TO SEE IF THIS WOULD BE COVERED DUE TO RECALL AND TOLD NO- THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT INVOLVED IN RECALL OF AIRBAG!!! REALLY? AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON FOR NO REASON, THERE IS A RECALL ON YEAR/MODEL FOR AIRBAG BUT MY SITUATION IS NOT RELATED??? AND WHO PUTS OUT A RECALL WITH NO REMEDY??

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2015 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
I HAVE A 2005 PONTIAC VIBE AND SINCE 2009 MY CAR HAS BEEN LOSING COOLING AND HAS A BURNING SMELL. OVER THE PAST 6 YEARS I'VE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO NUMEROUS REPAIR SHOPS TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE WITH NO RESULTS. IN 2010 I THERE WAS A ENGINE RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE AND I DON'T BELIEVE MY CAR WAS PROPERLY SERVICED. TODAY I STILL HAVE THE BURNING SMELL, SINCE THE RECALL REPAIR I'VE TAKEN IT TO REPAIR SHOPS WITHOUT RESULTS AND HAVE TO REFILL MY COOLING 3 - 4 TIMES A MONTH. THE SERVICE CENTERS HAVE SAID THEIRS NO LEAK BUT THERE COULD BE A TEMPERATURE ISSUE THAT BURNS THE COOLING BUT NO ONE IN THE PAST 6 YEARS HAS BEEN ABLE TO FIX IT AND THE SMELL IS GETTING WORST.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds