Auto Recalls for Consumers

PORSCHE CAYENNE S - 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Porsche Cars North America, Inc.

There are 10 complaints filed for the 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Structure (1) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1)


 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

6/15/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
IN 2016, AT AROUND 85,000 MILES THE BIG O TIRES, LOCATED AT 3415 S MARYLAND PKWY, LAS VEGAS, NV 89169, INSTALLED FOUR NEW TIRE ON MY CAYENNE S, 2005. THE TIRE MANUFACTURER IS CONTINENTAL AND ALL TIRES ARE OF 275/45/19 SIZE. ANTICIPATING A 470 MILES TRIP ON JUNE 8, 2018 FROM LAS VEGAS TO MOAB, UT, ON THE PREVIOUS DAY I CHECK ALL TIRES FOR PRESSURE AND APPEARANCE. THE PRESSURE OF THE REAR TIRES WAS SET AT 40 PSI. NO VISIBLE DAMAGES WERE DETECTED. ON THE DAY OF THE TRIP, AT 80 MPH THE REAR LEFT TIRE SUDDENLY LOST PRESSURE REQUIRING SIGNIFICANT EFFORTS TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. AS SOON AS I MANAGED TO STOP AND LOOK AT THE PROBLEM TIRE, I NOTICED THAT ABOUT 70% OF THE TREAD LAYER WAS SEPARATED FROM THE BODY OF THE TIRE. AT THAT TIME, THE ODOMETER INDICATED THAT THE TIRES WERE USED ONLY FOR ABOUT 3,500 MILES. WHEN I CONTACTED BIG O TIRE IN LAS VEGAS ON MONDAY, JUNE 11, 2018, THE FIRST COMMENT THE MANAGER WAS THAT THE ACCIDENT WAS CAUSED BY A DEFECTIVE TIRE. HOWEVER, TWO DAYS AFTER RECEIVING THE CAR AND THE DAMAGED TIRE, HE INFORMED ME THAT CONTINENTAL REFUSED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY IN THIS CASE. THEY HAVE DETERMINED THAT A LOW AIR PRESSURE CAUSED THE DAMAGE. KNOWING THE FACTS, I BELIEVE THAT CONTINENTALÆS CONCLUSION IS MOST PROBABLY INCORRECT. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT FOR THE SAFETY OF MILLIONS OF USERS OF TIRES MANUFACTURED BY CONTINENTAL, THIS CASE IS INVESTIGATED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/4/2018 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V576000 (FUEL PUMP, GASOLINE) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION IN NOVEMBER OF 2017. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (THE COLLECTION, 200 BIRD ROAD, CORAL GABLES, FL 33146, PHONE (305) 444-5555), BUT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER HAD BEEN WAITING FOR PARTS FOR MORE THAN NINETY DAYS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE COLLECTION DEALER CONTACTED THEM CONCERNING PART AVAILABILITY. THE DEALER WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE AND THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT KNOW WHEN THEY WOULD ARRIVE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE VEHICLE MIGHT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE BEFORE PARTS BECAME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2016 - CANTON, CT
THE ENGINE HAS PLASTIC COOLANT PIPES BETWEEN THE FRONT AND BACK OF THE ENGINE. THEY FAILED AND DUMPED ALL THE COOLANT OUT WHILE ON THE ROAD. CAR WAS DISABLED AND HAD TO BE TOWED. AFTER RESEARCHING, IT'S CONCLUDED THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON FAILURE IN CAYENNES WITH A V8 ENGINE AT ABOUT 60000 MILES. MINE HAD 61000. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE CAR CAN BE DISABLED AT ANYTIME. ALSO, THE REPAIR IS VERY COSTLY, EXCEEDING 3000 USD FOR PARTS AND LABOR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/11/2014 - HONOLULU, HI
IN A PARKING LOT TRAVELING AT 7 MPH APPROX, APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE PSM (STABILITY MANAGEMENT) LIGHTS AND BUZZERS CAME ON. LOST ALL BRAKES ON THE CAR AND COULD NOT STOP. PUMPED THE BRAKES AND STILL NO STOPPING CAPABILITY. HAD TO HIT A POLE TO AVOID PEDESTRIANS AND OTHER CARS. DEALER DIAGNOSED THE CAUSE AS A YAW SENSOR FAILURE WHICH THEY SAY CONTROLLED THE ABS. MECHANICAL BRAKES SYSTEMS WERE OPERATIONAL AFTER CRASH. CRASH DAMAGE WAS NOT EXTENSIVE, AT APPROX 8-10 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/20/2011 - LIVINGSTONE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RADIATOR PIPE WAS FRACTURED, CAUSING ANTI FREEZE TO LEAK FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE ORIGINAL HOSE LINES WERE REPLACED WITH METAL LINES DUE TO CORROSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE HOWEVER, DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 75,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2011 - MACUNGIE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS FAILING AND THE TURN SIGNALS AND SPEEDOMITOR WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD THE CONTACT THAT THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL WOULD NEED TO BE REMOVED TO REPLACE A MICROCHIP AT A COST OF $2000. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,621 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 76,668. UPDATED 09/07/11

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/2/2008 - BURLINGAME, CA
I WAS DRIVING A PORSCHE CAYENNE S TODAY ON HIGHWAY AT 65MPH. THE CAR UNEXPECTEDLY SLOWED DOWN BY AROUND 20 MILES FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS. 5 MINUTES LATER, SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN AND THEN THE ENGINE STALLED, AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO STALL ON HIGHWAY, WITHOUT TOO MUCH CONTROL ON STEERING WHEEL. THE DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/11/2008 - SAN CLEMENTE, CA
I OWN A 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE. SINCE OWNING THIS TRUCK THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS ITEMS THAT HAVE GONE WRONG. ALL THE MAIN COMPUTERS HAD TO BE REPLACED, FRONT DRIVE SHAFT, TRANSMISSION, AND NOW A COOLANT TUBE. THE LAST ITEM IS MY CONCERN, WHICH COST $2,800.00 TO FIX ON A TRUCK THAT HAS 71,000 MILES ON IT. WHEN IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER I WAS TOLD THAT ALL THE CAYENNE?S FROM 2003 ? 2006 HAVE TO HAVE THIS PART CHANGED (IT?S MADE OF PLASTIC), BECAUSE IT BREAKS. NOW PORSCHE KNOWS THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THIS PART BECAUSE IT HAS RECALLED OF THE REPLACEMENT PARTS THAT WHERE ON ALL OF THE DEALERSHIPS SHELVES. AFTER DOING THIS THERE REDESIGNED THE AND PART MADE IT OUT OF ALUMINUM AND HAD THIS PART ON BACK ORDER BECAUSE THERE WHERE SO MANY CAYENNE?S THAT NEED THIS PART FIXED SITTING IN THE DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE TRIED WORKING WITH PORSCHE BUT THEY JUST SAY THAT I?M OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY WILL DO! IT SEEMS TO ME THAT WHEN THEY NEED TO REPLACE THIS PART ON ALL OF ITS TRUCKS THERE IS AN ISSUE. HELP!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/26/2007 - BABYLON, NY
I AM AN OWNER OF THE 2005 PORSCHE CAYENNE S. THE PORSCHE CAYENNE SEEMED TO HAVE A HESITATION ISSUE THAT WE HAVE TRIED TO HAVE REPAIRED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST. I WISH I HAD TAKEN CAR IN AS SOON AS I FIRST NOTICED, AS I WOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ABLE TO PURSUE THE NY STATE LEMON LAW, HAVING HAD THE CAR SERVICED FOR THIS ISSUE MORE THAN 3 TIMES WITH NO RESOLUTION. BUT THE SITUATION HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE WITH TIME AND THE DEALERS REFUSE TO RECOGNIZE, ACKNOWLEDGE AND FIX THE ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PEOPLE DRIVE THE CAR AND HAVE EXPERIENCED THE HESITATION ISSUE WHEN STEPPING ON THE THROTTLE, AS THE CARS WILL HESITATE AND ONLY MOVE AFTER PUMPING THE GAS PEDDLE A FEW TIMES. I HAVE HAD MORE THAN ONE DANGEROUS SITUATION ARISE AS I AM TRYING TO MAKE TURNS. I FINALLY SEARCHED THE WEB SITE CAR FORUMS TO SEE IF OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE AND HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR CASES AND WAS SURPRISED TO FIND NO RECALLS. PLEASE ASSIST WITH THIS ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE SERIOUSLY GETS HURT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2005 - CUPERTINO, CA
THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THEN LUNGES FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THIS IS THE WAY THE VEHICLE WAS DESIGNED.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds