Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (16)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (21) Structure (2) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2014 - LINCOLN, RI
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

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2014 - HAMMOND, IN
DRIVERS DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM IN OR OUTSIDE. REFERRED TO GM DEALERSHIP THAT WAS DESIGNATED BY GM TO WORK ON SATURNS. AFTER 4 HOURS AND 441.00, THEY REMOVED THE ENTIRE DOOR AND REPLACED THE DOOR LATCH. ALL OTHER ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS WORKED SUCH AS DOOR LOCKS, HANDLES, WINDOWS AND SIDE MIRRORS. I ALSO HAVE AN IGNITION ISSUE AND CAN REMOVE THE KEY WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING. WHY ARE SATURNS NOT PART OF THE IGNITION RECALL? JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE NO LONGER MANUFACTURED LIKE PONTIAC AND OLDSMOBILE? WHAT ABOUT OUR SAFETY?

View Details

STEERING

8/21/2014 - AKRON, OH
KEYS GET STUCK IN IGNITION NOT ALWAYS INTERMITTENT AND FOR NO REASON 5 TIMES SINCE I HAVE HAD THE CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2014 - EAST PEORIA, IL
THE IGNITION SWITCH ON OUR 2005 SATURN VUE IS MALFUNCTIONING AS DESCRIBED IN THE AUG 2014 GM RECALL AFFECTING OTHER MODELS. THE KEY IS DIFFICULT TO TURN TO START AND CAN BE REMOVED WHILE RUNNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2014 - DEPEW, NY
HAD KEY IN IGNATION CAR WAS RUNNING IN THE ON POSTION AND I WAS ABLE TO PULL THE KEY OUT.

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2014 - SHELBY, NC
I CAN REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHILE THE CAR IS STILL RUNNING. ALSO, THERE ARE TIMES THE IGNITION WILL PHYSICALLY NOT TURN SO THAT I CAN CRANK THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/11/2014 - LINDENHURST, NY
MY KEY CAME OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE IN DRIVE AND THE CAR DIDN'T SHUT OFF. SINCE THEN IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET THE KEY TO TURN THE IGNITION. THE KEY NEEDS TO BE WIGGLED AND PLAYED WITH TO TURN THE CAR ON EVERY TIME I WANT TO START IT. THE 2005 VUE NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THE RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds