Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (5)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Tires (1)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (16)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Steering (12) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (21) Structure (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/17/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE CRANKSHAFT PULLEY ON FRONT OF ENGINE PARTIALLY SEPARATED FROM IT'S HUB, CAUSING A DRIVE BELT MIS-ALLIGNMENT OF THE PULLEYS FOR CRANKSHAFT, ALTERNATOR, AND AIR CONDITIONER. THIS CAUSED THE DRIVE BELT RUNNING OF THESE PULLEYS TO SHRED, RESULTING IN LOSS OF ELECTRICAL POWER WHILE DRIVING. WHILE LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT PART TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE, I FOUND OUT THAT GM HAS DISCONTINUED THIS PART, GM PART 12606927. ALSO, I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT A LARGE NUMBER OF THESE CRANKSHAFT DAMPNER PULLEYS ARE NOW FAILING, DEPLETING THE REMAINING GM PARTS STOCK TO ZERO IN THE USA, SUGGESTING A DEFECTIVE PART DESIGN. THIS DAMPNER-CRANKSHAFT PULLEY FITS SATURN VUE 2004 THRU 2007 WITH L66 3.5L 6 CYLINDER ENGINES, AS WELL AS OTHER GM CAR LINES. THE RESULTING LOSS OF ALTERNATOR POWER WILL QUICKLY RESULT IN DROP IN SYSTEM VOLTAGE DUE TO DISCHARGE OF BATTERY, CAUSING THE CAR ENGINE TO UNEXPECTEDLY SHUT DOWN. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND THESE VEHICLES NEED TO BE RECALLED BY GM TO CORRECT THIS CONDITION.

View Details

STEERING

9/10/2014 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
I WAS UNABLE TO UNLOCK STEERING TO GET MY KEY IN. STEERING LOCKED UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 OR 4 TIMES STARTING WHEN THE SUV WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD. ALSO MY KEY JUST COMES OUT WHILE SATURN IS STILL RUNNING, THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN 2009. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE KEY. I TRADED KEYS WITH MY HUSBAND. HE HAD THE SPARE. BUT IT IS STILL HAPPENING. I CAN PULL MY KEY OUT AND IT KEEPS RUNNING. THIS SATURN VUE 2005 SHOULD BE IN THE RECALL. I HAVE YOUNG CHILDREN THAT RIDE WITH ME. WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR A INJURY OR FATALITY?

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
AFTER INITIAL START, THE CAR KEY CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN. TO SWITCH OFF THE MOTOR, THE KEY MUST BE REINSERTED AS USUAL. THERE IS NO RESISTANCE IN REMOVING THE KEY WHILE THE MOTOR IS RUNNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
AFTER INITIAL START, THE CAR KEY CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN. TO SWITCH OFF THE MOTOR, THE KEY MUST BE REINSERTED AS USUAL. THERE IS NO RESISTANCE IN REMOVING THE KEY WHILE THE MOTOR IS RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
AFTER INITIAL START, THE CAR KEY CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN. TO SWITCH OFF THE MOTOR, THE KEY MUST BE REINSERTED AS USUAL. THERE IS NO RESISTANCE IN REMOVING THE KEY WHILE THE MOTOR IS RUNNING.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2014 - AMARILLO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH ATTEMPTING TO AVOID CRASHING INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE, THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKES AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE CRASHING INTO A METAL GROUND WIRE WHICH FLIPPED THE VEHICLE OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A BODY REPAIR SHOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT MADE AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V470000 (STEERING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V616000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2014 - LINCOLN, RI
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

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2014 - MILTON, FL
I WAS LEAVING WORK, I ENTERED MY CAR, PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE KEY. THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN. THE IGNITION WAS LOCKED AND THERE WAS NO UNLOCKING IT. I CALLED SEVERAL TOW COMPANIES AS THIS HAD HAPPENED A YEAR EARLIER AND A TOW COMPANY CAME OUT, SPRAYED THE IGNITION WITH WD-40 AND IT TURNED RIGHT AWAY. I TRIED THE WD-40 BEFORE CALLING THE TOW COMPANY AND IT DID NOTHING. WHEN THE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, HE HAD MADE A STATEMENT THAT HE HAD SEEN THIS A LOT WITH THESE SUV'S. HE GOT THE KEY INTO THE AUXILIARY POSITION AND HIT IT THE KEY WITH THE HARD END OF A BUTT OF A KNIFE. THIS MADE THE IGNITION SLIP TO THE "ON" POSITION. I COULD THEN TURN THE KEY AND START THE TRUCK. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO HAVE THIS IGNITION REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THIS IGNITION SHOULD BE REPLACED AS JUST BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT WITH THIS IGNITION. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS LOCKED UNTIL THE KEY COULD BE TURNED TO THE "ON" POSITION. I HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AT THIS TIME SO, THAT I CAN START THE TRUCK AND GET TO WORK. I AM TOLD IT WILL BE CLOSE TO $300 TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT!.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds