Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (53) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (26) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2015 - DELAND, FL
(1) AIR BAGS-I WAS INVOLVED IN A MULTIPLE-VEHICLE ACCIDENT CAUSED BY BLACK ICE IN DEC, 2005 AND NOT ONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THIS WAS CONCERNING. (2) BRAKES-FROM DAY ONE, WHEN IT RAINS, MY BRAKES SOUND LIKE AN OLD PERSON TRYING TO MOVE. (3) IGNITION-TOO MANY TIMES TO MENTION. WHEN I WOULD PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND TRY TO START THE CAR, IT WOULDN'T MOVE AND I'D HAVE TO JOLT THE "FROZEN" STEERING WHEEL TO FINALLY GET THE KEY TO TURN/CAR TO START. (4) I'VE SEEN BOTH THE BRAKES & IGNITION ISSUES IN OTHER PEOPLE'S POSTS. JUST WANTED TO PUT THIS OUT THERE FOR INFORMATION'S SAKE. OTHERWISE, THE CAR'S BEEN GREAT TO ME. 10 YEARS OLD, ONLY 47K MILES ON IT AND I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THE BATTERY FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2015 - DELAND, FL
(1) AIR BAGS-I WAS INVOLVED IN A MULTIPLE-VEHICLE ACCIDENT CAUSED BY BLACK ICE IN DEC, 2005 AND NOT ONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THIS WAS CONCERNING. (2) BRAKES-FROM DAY ONE, WHEN IT RAINS, MY BRAKES SOUND LIKE AN OLD PERSON TRYING TO MOVE. (3) IGNITION-TOO MANY TIMES TO MENTION. WHEN I WOULD PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND TRY TO START THE CAR, IT WOULDN'T MOVE AND I'D HAVE TO JOLT THE "FROZEN" STEERING WHEEL TO FINALLY GET THE KEY TO TURN/CAR TO START. (4) I'VE SEEN BOTH THE BRAKES & IGNITION ISSUES IN OTHER PEOPLE'S POSTS. JUST WANTED TO PUT THIS OUT THERE FOR INFORMATION'S SAKE. OTHERWISE, THE CAR'S BEEN GREAT TO ME. 10 YEARS OLD, ONLY 47K MILES ON IT AND I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THE BATTERY FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/22/2015 - DELAND, FL
(1) AIR BAGS-I WAS INVOLVED IN A MULTIPLE-VEHICLE ACCIDENT CAUSED BY BLACK ICE IN DEC, 2005 AND NOT ONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THIS WAS CONCERNING. (2) BRAKES-FROM DAY ONE, WHEN IT RAINS, MY BRAKES SOUND LIKE AN OLD PERSON TRYING TO MOVE. (3) IGNITION-TOO MANY TIMES TO MENTION. WHEN I WOULD PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND TRY TO START THE CAR, IT WOULDN'T MOVE AND I'D HAVE TO JOLT THE "FROZEN" STEERING WHEEL TO FINALLY GET THE KEY TO TURN/CAR TO START. (4) I'VE SEEN BOTH THE BRAKES & IGNITION ISSUES IN OTHER PEOPLE'S POSTS. JUST WANTED TO PUT THIS OUT THERE FOR INFORMATION'S SAKE. OTHERWISE, THE CAR'S BEEN GREAT TO ME. 10 YEARS OLD, ONLY 47K MILES ON IT AND I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THE BATTERY FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - MERCED, CA
STIFF IGNITION SWITCH RIGHT FROM DAY 1 WHEN CAR WAS NEW,KEY DOES NOT FALL OUT BUT JAMS,ALSO FRONT STRUT SQEEK AND CREEK,SOUNDS LIKE A 100 YEAR OLD WAGON,SUPPOSE THERE WAS A RECALL FOR STRUT TOWER BUSHING,I WAS CHARGED $410 FOR THE REPAIR IN 2005,IF ANYTHING MADE IT WORSE,I HARDLY DROVE THIS CAR IT HAS 81000 KM,APPROX 48000 MILES,CURIOUS THE HATCH LOCK HAS ALWAYS BEEN STIFF AS WELL AND THE KEY GETS STUCK,SOUNDS TO ME LIKE A LOCK PROBLEM FROM THE START,DID GM OUTSOURCE THE LOCKS LIKE TOYOTA DID WITH THE GAS PEDALS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/21/2015 - DARTMOUTH, NC
CAR STALLED AND WOULDN'T RESTART. TOWED TO GARAGE WHERE THEY DETERMINED THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2015 - BINGHAMTON, NY
AFTER A YEAR OF COMPLAINTS BOTH HERE AND TO GM WITH VIDEOS PROVING MY SATURN VUE 2005 HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH ISSUE, SATURN FINALLY RECALLED IT. MYSELF AND OTHERS HAVE GOTTEN THE NOTICE HOWEVER IT CAME IN A WHITE ENVELOPE WITH BLACK WRITING THAT LOOKED SIMILAR TO JUNK MAIL. ALSO I SEE IT IS NOT NOTED ON YOUR PAGE. GM HAS CONFIRMED THE RECAL WHEN I CONTACTED THEM. WHY ARE THEY NOT FOLLOWING RECAL PROTOCOL? WHY IS IT NOT LISTED ON YOUR PAGE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
AT A STOP, THE CAR SHUTS OFF AUTOMATICALLY EVEN THOUGH THE IGNITION IS ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2015 - SANTA ROSA, CA
I JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE 2005 SATURN VUE WITH 61K MILEAGE 2 WEEKS AGO TO A DEALERSHIP AND I AM FRUSTRATED WITH THE KEY TO IGNITION WHEN YOU PULL IT OUT. IT GET STUCK ALL THE TIME AND IT MAKES ME CRAZY EVERYDAY.THOUGHT ITS JUST THE KEY PROBLEM. SO I WENT TO DEALERSHIP TO MAKE A BRAND NEW ONE AND PAID $108.00 FOR THE KEY, KEY CUT AND KEY CODE. BUT THE ISSUE IS STILL THE SAME. CALL A CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS MODEL TYPE. WHAT DO I DO NOW? AND ONE THING MORE THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT SMOOTH IN THE 1ST GEAR AND 2ND GEAR. IS THIS NORMAL FOR THE 2005 SATURN VUE V6 TRANSMISSION?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2015 - SANTA ROSA, CA
I JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE 2005 SATURN VUE WITH 61K MILEAGE 2 WEEKS AGO TO A DEALERSHIP AND I AM FRUSTRATED WITH THE KEY TO IGNITION WHEN YOU PULL IT OUT. IT GET STUCK ALL THE TIME AND IT MAKES ME CRAZY EVERYDAY.THOUGHT ITS JUST THE KEY PROBLEM. SO I WENT TO DEALERSHIP TO MAKE A BRAND NEW ONE AND PAID $108.00 FOR THE KEY, KEY CUT AND KEY CODE. BUT THE ISSUE IS STILL THE SAME. CALL A CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS MODEL TYPE. WHAT DO I DO NOW? AND ONE THING MORE THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT SMOOTH IN THE 1ST GEAR AND 2ND GEAR. IS THIS NORMAL FOR THE 2005 SATURN VUE V6 TRANSMISSION?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2015 - LEAVENWORTH, KS
WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 30 AND 40 MPH THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCES A VIBRATION IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS ALLEGEDLY REPAIRED BY A GM DEALER AT NO CHARGE. THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RESOLVED. AT LEAST 4 OTHER ATTEMPTS TO HAVE GM REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE REFUSED BY GM DEALERS EVEN AFTER THE REPAIR BULLETIN WAS EXTENDED INTO 2015. NOT SATISFIED I CONTACTED SOMEONE AT GM AND ASKED FOR A REFERRAL TO ANOTHER DEALER IN MY LOCAL AREA. I RECEIVED IT AND TOOK IT THE REFERRED DEALER AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION. AFTER INSPECTING THE CAR THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE VIBRATION ISSUE BUT SAID THAT BEFORE ANYTHING COULD BE DONE THE ENGINE BLOCK MOUNTS HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF APPROX. $1000. I THANKED THEM AND TOOK THE CAR TO MY TRUSTED REGULAR MECHANIC. I ASKED HIM TO CHECK THE ENGINE MOUNTS (WITHOUT TELLING HIM WHAT HAPPENED AT THE GM DEALER) AND GIVE ME A REPORT. UPON INSPECTING, HE STATED THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH THE ENGINE MOUNTS. AT THIS POINT, FRUSTRATED AND ANGRY WITH GM, I BASICALLY GAVE UP. FURTHERMORE, THIS OCCURRED AT THE TIME OF THE GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL DEBACLE.OUR SATURN VUE ALSO HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE IGNITION.ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WE WERE NOT ABLE TO REMOVE THE IGNITION KEY FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH WITHOUT PLIERS AND A LOT OF TIME. IT TOOK OVER AN HOUR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO REMOVE THE KEY. WE FOUND INFORMATION ONLINE WHERE GM ACKNOWLEDGED THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE VUE IGNITION SWITCHES, BUT SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO HAVE THE SWITCH REPLACED RESULTED IN REFUSALS BY GM DEALERS. I THOUGHT THIS WAS ODD GIVEN THE HUGE RECALL OF IGNITION SWITCHES BY GM AT THE TIME. WE BASICALLY RECEIVED THE SAME TREATMENT CONCERNING THE REAR END POWERTRAIN VIBRATION AFTER THE INITIAL REPAIR EVEN THOUGH THE MAINTENANCE BULLETIN EXTENDED THE REPAIR PERIOD. THERE WAS AN ALTERNATE REPAIR IF THE FIRST REPAIR FAILED, BUT THE DEALER WOULDN'T HONOR IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds