Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 110 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (15)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (21) Structure (2) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - WAUKESHA, WI
MY KEY CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WHEN I AM DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

10/6/2014 - ORANGE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY ABOUT 60 MPH AND NOTICED THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND THEN THERE WAS SMOKE. I EXITED THE FREEWAY AND LET THE CAR SIT FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND THE SMOKE WENT AWAY. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC AND WE COULDN'T GET THE CAR TO DUPLICATE THE SMELL OR SMOKE. I HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE THEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - EDGEWOOD, TX
THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER ON MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN HAVING ISSUES SINCE I BOUGHT IT. THE KEY WILL FALL OUT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING. AFTER I AM STOPPED AND PARKED, THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER SEIZES UP AND WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO REMOVE KEY UNTIL AFTER I HAVE ALMOST EXHAUSTED ALL OPTIONS TO GET IT OUT, IE. SHAKING KEYS, BANGING ON IGNITION HOUSING, AND FINALLY HAVING TO USE FORCE AND ALMOST BREAKING THE KEY OFF IN THE IGNITION CYLINDER LOCK. AFTER LEAVING IT PARKED OVER NIGHT AND THE NEXT DAY TRYING TO START MY CAR, THE KEY IS HARD TO GET INTO THE CYLINDER AND HARD TO TURN IT TO THE RUN POSITION, BUT YOU CAN TAKE THE KEY OUT AT ANYTIME IT'S IN THE RUN POSITION. I HAVE READ THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS IGNITION CYLINDER LOCK ISSUE THE SAME AS I AM HAVING, AND BELIEVE THIS TO BE A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 SATURN VUE'S MANUFACTURED BY GENERAL MOTORS. PLEASE ADVISE AS THIS IS ONE HECK OF A COSTLY REPAIR OF OVER 300 US DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SYSTEM. IF YOU WILL TAKE THE TIME TO RESEARCH THIS ISSUE AND CHECK WITH GM DEALERS ON THE NUMBERS OF VEHICLES THEY HAVE REPLACED THE IGNITION CYLINDER LOCK ON THE SATURN VUE'S I AM SURE YOU WILL FIND A HUGE PATTERN DEFECTIVENESS . MY NEIGHBOR IS A MECHANIC AND SHE SAYS SHE'S DONE TONS OF THEM OVER THE YEARS ON THIS VEHICLE IN THE AFTERMARKET FIELD OF MECHANIC WORK. SHE'S THE ONE THAT SUGGESTED I CONTACT YOUR ORGANIZATION WITH THE PROBLEM. SHE HAS DONE RESEARCH OF INTERNET FORUMS AND FOUND THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS AND ALSO ON WEBSITES THAT LINK UP TO YOUR ORGANIZATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/29/2014 - LANCASTER, NY
BACK IN 2009 I RECEIVED A NOTICED ON A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION. I TOOK IT TO MY DEALER AND WAS REFUSED FOR ANY HELP WITH IT. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY REFUSED TO HELP ME. FOR MANY YEARS I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH NOISE, SHIFTING AND OTHER PROBLEMS. SOMETIMES IF I HAD IT IN REVERSE IT WOULD GO FORWARD AND IF I HAD IT IN DRIVE IT WOULD GO INTO REVERSE. THE GEARS WOULD STICK AND MY CAR WOULD JOLT REPEATEDLY. . ON THE 27TH OF SEPTEMBER I WAS ON MY WAY TO A FRIENDS HOUSE TO REPAIR MY U JOINT . I HAD MY 2 MONTH OLD SON IN THE CAR WITH ME, WE WERE ON A BUSY RD DOING 55MPH WHEN MY CAR MADE A VERY LOUD NOISE AND JUST STOPPED. IT WAS RUNNING BUT WOULDNT GO IN ANY GEAR. IT WAS VERY SCARY AND FEARED FOR MY SONS SAFTY. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY FRIENDS HOUSE TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT AND PEICES OF MY TRANSMISSION FELL EVERYWHERE ON THE GROUND. IT COMPLETELY BLEW. I WAS GREATFUL WE BOTH WERE NOT INJURED. I TRIED CONTACTING GM AGAIN AND THEY DENIED ANY SUCH RECALL AND REFUSED AGAIN TO HELP ME. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH NO JOB AND NOW NO VEHICLE. I NEED ANY HELP I CAN POSSIBLY GET. THIS HAS BEEN VERY UPSETTING AND STRESSFUL ON ME AND UNSURE WHAT TO DO. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

9/29/2014 - LA FAYETTE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND SHOOK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PRESSED. THE FAILURES OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FAILURE MAY BE DUE TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - LA FAYETTE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND SHOOK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PRESSED. THE FAILURES OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FAILURE MAY BE DUE TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

9/26/2014 - ROCHESTER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WOULD PULL OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE THE ENGINE WAS FULLY OPERATIONAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE CRANKSHAFT PULLEY ON FRONT OF ENGINE PARTIALLY SEPARATED FROM IT'S HUB, CAUSING A DRIVE BELT MIS-ALLIGNMENT OF THE PULLEYS FOR CRANKSHAFT, ALTERNATOR, AND AIR CONDITIONER. THIS CAUSED THE DRIVE BELT RUNNING OF THESE PULLEYS TO SHRED, RESULTING IN LOSS OF ELECTRICAL POWER WHILE DRIVING. WHILE LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT PART TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE, I FOUND OUT THAT GM HAS DISCONTINUED THIS PART, GM PART 12606927. ALSO, I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT A LARGE NUMBER OF THESE CRANKSHAFT DAMPNER PULLEYS ARE NOW FAILING, DEPLETING THE REMAINING GM PARTS STOCK TO ZERO IN THE USA, SUGGESTING A DEFECTIVE PART DESIGN. THIS DAMPNER-CRANKSHAFT PULLEY FITS SATURN VUE 2004 THRU 2007 WITH L66 3.5L 6 CYLINDER ENGINES, AS WELL AS OTHER GM CAR LINES. THE RESULTING LOSS OF ALTERNATOR POWER WILL QUICKLY RESULT IN DROP IN SYSTEM VOLTAGE DUE TO DISCHARGE OF BATTERY, CAUSING THE CAR ENGINE TO UNEXPECTEDLY SHUT DOWN. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND THESE VEHICLES NEED TO BE RECALLED BY GM TO CORRECT THIS CONDITION.

View Details

STEERING

9/10/2014 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
I WAS UNABLE TO UNLOCK STEERING TO GET MY KEY IN. STEERING LOCKED UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 OR 4 TIMES STARTING WHEN THE SUV WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD. ALSO MY KEY JUST COMES OUT WHILE SATURN IS STILL RUNNING, THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN 2009. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE KEY. I TRADED KEYS WITH MY HUSBAND. HE HAD THE SPARE. BUT IT IS STILL HAPPENING. I CAN PULL MY KEY OUT AND IT KEEPS RUNNING. THIS SATURN VUE 2005 SHOULD BE IN THE RECALL. I HAVE YOUNG CHILDREN THAT RIDE WITH ME. WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR A INJURY OR FATALITY?

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
AFTER INITIAL START, THE CAR KEY CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN. TO SWITCH OFF THE MOTOR, THE KEY MUST BE REINSERTED AS USUAL. THERE IS NO RESISTANCE IN REMOVING THE KEY WHILE THE MOTOR IS RUNNING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds