Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 66 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/14/2014 - BARBERTON, OH
THE KEY BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE IGNITION ON. I USED THE SECOND KEY AND IT WORKED BETTER FOR A FEW YEARS BUT IS BECOMING A PROBLEM AGAIN. I DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING HEAVY HANGING FROM THE IGNITION KEY. I ALSO DISCOVERED THAT THE IGNITION KEY CAN BE REMOVED WHILE THE VEHICLE IS RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2014 - GOODRICH, MI
THE KEY CAN BE PULLED OUT WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING. I DID THIS BY ACCIDENT ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE. I JUST READ THE ARTICLE ABOUT THE CURRENT GM RECALL IN THE USA TODAY NEWSPAPER. I'M NOT CONCERNED ABOUT IT BEING A SAFETY ISSUE AS I UNDERSTAND IT. I TRY NOT TO PULL IT OUT ANYMORE AS I THINK THAT WOULD LOOSEN IT UP MORE. I DON'T THINK IT EVER GOES OUT OF THE RUN CONDITION. I DID FEEL THOUGH THAT GM MAY HAVE EXCLUDED MY VEHICLE (THE SATURN VUE'S) EVEN THOUGH I FELT THEY HAD SIMILAR/SAME PARTS AS THE ONES IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGNS. I BELIEVE THERE ARE SEVERAL OEM'S (IF NOT ALL WHEN THE VEHICLE GETS OLD) THAT HAVE THIS ISSUE AND I ALSO BELIEVE THAT IT IS NOT A REAL SAFETY ISSUE. THE CUSTOMER KNOWS THEY HAVE AN ISSUE WHICH MAKES THEM SHARE ON THE LIABILITY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/6/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
FUEL LINES ARE RUSTED OUT AND LEAKING GAS ONLY AT THE RETAINING CLIPS UNDER THE REAR DOORS. THE LINES ARE NOT RUSTED IN ANY OTHER AREA.

View Details

SEATS

4/2/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND WE HAD A LITE SNOW THE NIGHT BEFORE. I HIT A SLICK SPOT ON HIGHWAY AND LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR AND HIT A TELEPHONE POLL. THE CAR IS NOW TOTALED, THE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY TORN OFF, DRIVERS SEAT BROKE, WINDSHIELD SHATTERED AND WAS PARTIALLY ON THE DASH. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS RESULTED IN A HEAD CONCUSSION, TORN RIGHT SHOULDER AND BADLY BRUISED KNEES ALONG WITH MINOR CUTS TO HANDS AND FACE. THE MAN WHO TOWED IT AWAY ALSO WONDERED ABOUT THIS. I'M WONDERING IF THERE WAS A RECALL THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO FIND ON MY 2005 SATURN VUE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND WE HAD A LITE SNOW THE NIGHT BEFORE. I HIT A SLICK SPOT ON HIGHWAY AND LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR AND HIT A TELEPHONE POLL. THE CAR IS NOW TOTALED, THE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY TORN OFF, DRIVERS SEAT BROKE, WINDSHIELD SHATTERED AND WAS PARTIALLY ON THE DASH. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS RESULTED IN A HEAD CONCUSSION, TORN RIGHT SHOULDER AND BADLY BRUISED KNEES ALONG WITH MINOR CUTS TO HANDS AND FACE. THE MAN WHO TOWED IT AWAY ALSO WONDERED ABOUT THIS. I'M WONDERING IF THERE WAS A RECALL THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO FIND ON MY 2005 SATURN VUE?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/2/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND WE HAD A LITE SNOW THE NIGHT BEFORE. I HIT A SLICK SPOT ON HIGHWAY AND LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR AND HIT A TELEPHONE POLL. THE CAR IS NOW TOTALED, THE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY TORN OFF, DRIVERS SEAT BROKE, WINDSHIELD SHATTERED AND WAS PARTIALLY ON THE DASH. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THIS RESULTED IN A HEAD CONCUSSION, TORN RIGHT SHOULDER AND BADLY BRUISED KNEES ALONG WITH MINOR CUTS TO HANDS AND FACE. THE MAN WHO TOWED IT AWAY ALSO WONDERED ABOUT THIS. I'M WONDERING IF THERE WAS A RECALL THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO FIND ON MY 2005 SATURN VUE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2014 - LOGANVILLE, GA
THE IGNTION ON THIS CAR KEEPS LOCKING UP..I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A DEALER THINKING THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS. I WOULD LOVE AN OPPORTUNITY TO TALK TO SOMEONE ABOUT THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/29/2014 - GOSHEN, KY
THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM THAT HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE 2005 SATURN VUE HAS THE SAME IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEM THAT GM IS ADDRESSING IN THEIR CURRENT RECALL. HOWEVER, THIS CAR IS NOT LISTED AS PART OF THE RECALL. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN DRIVE AT ANY SPEED, THE SWITCH CAN TURN EASILY INTO ACCESSORY MODE. THIS TURNS OFF THE ENGINE AND ALSO DISABLES MULTIPLE SAFETY FEATURES (POWER STEERING, POWER BRAKES, AND AIRBAGS). THE SITUATION THIS CREATES IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. ADDITIONALLY, THE KEY ITSELF IS ABLE TO SLIP OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING WITH THE CAR IN DRIVE. THIS TOO CAN HAPPEN AT ANY SPEED. DESPITE NUMEROUS REPORTS FROM CONSUMERS IT APPEARS THIS MODEL HAS NOT BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AS IT RIGHTFULLY SHOULD.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - BINGHAMTON, NY
WHILE IN OUR DRIVEWAY GETTING READY TO LEAVE IN OUR SATURN VUE, MY HUSBAND PUT THE CAR INTO REVERSE AND STARTED TO BACK UP. AT THIS TIME THE LANYARD ON THE KEY CHAIN GOT HOOKED AND TUGGED THE KEY A BIT. THE ENTIRE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. AFTER HEARING OF THE RECENT GM RECALLS AND REMEMBERING THIS HAPPENING WITH MY VUE, WE TRIED TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM WHILE IN MY DRIVEWAY, BUT NOT IN PARK OR NEUTRAL. BY TUGGING ON THE LANYARD, THE ENGINE TURNS OFF WHEN THE CAR IS IN DRIVE PRETTY MUCH EVERY TIME. I HAVE ALSO HAD THE KEY COME COMPLETELY OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE DRIVING, BUT AS LONG AS IT COMES STRAIGHT OUT AND DOES NOT PULL AT AN ANGLE TO TURN THE STARTER, THE CAR STAYS ON AND CONTINUES TO DRIVE WITH NO KEY IN THE IGNITION. GM NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS MODEL AS WELL AS THE OTHERS. IF WE CAN EVEN REPLICATE THE ISSUE ON DEMAND, THERE DEFINITELY IS A PROBLEM. I CAN PRODUCE VIDEO OF THIS HAPPENING WITH MY CAR ON REQUEST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2014 - ROYAL OAK, MI
STARTING APPROX 3 YEARS AND 30K MILES AGO THE IGNITION SWITCH WOULD NOT TIGHTLY HOLD THE KEY IN THE CYLINDER. APPROX 2 YEARS AGO THE IGNITION KEY WITH CONNECTED KEY RING FELL OUT OF THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER AND ONTO THE VEHICLE FLOOR BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO RUN AND ACT NORMALLY. WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION I TURNED THE IGNITION SWITCH TO OFF WITHOUT USING THE KEY AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND THE COLUMN LOCKED. WE NOW DRIVE THE CAR WITH ONLY THE IGNITION KEY AND SMALL KEY RING ATTACHED TO MINIMIZE ANY WEIGHT ON THE KEY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds