Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 126 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (45) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (23) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/10/2015 - VAN NUYS, CA
THIS CAR HAS A WIRELESS GAS PEDAL. MY CAR WOULD GO TO IDLE WHILE TRAVELING FREEWAY SPEEDS! THE ONLY WAY TO RECTIFY THIS WAS TURN OFF THE CAR (ON THE FREEWAY) AND RESTART IT! I HAD IT REPLACE $400! NOW, TWICE, IT GOES TO IDLE BY ITSELF! THE GAS PEDAL DOES NOT WORK UNTIL I SHUT OFF THE CAR AND RESTART IT! ALSO MY KEY STILLS FALLS OUT (SINCE 2006) AND WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

1/20/2015 - PRESCOTT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE IGNITION KEY FAILED TO DISENGAGE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, MI
FIRST OCCURRENCE - JULY 21, 2008 AT 35734 MILES: THE IGNITION KEY COULD NOT BE REMOVED AFTER IT WAS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION NOR COULD IT BE TURNED TO THE ACCESSORY OR START POSITION. SATURN OF TROY, MI REPLACED THE HOUSING, IGNITION CYLINDER AND KEYS. COST WAS COVERED BY WARRANTY. 2ND OCCURRENCE - JUNE 21, 2011 AT 57550 MILES: REPEAT OF 1ST OCCURRENCE. SUBURBAN CADILLAC BUICK OF TROY, MI REPLACED THE IGNITION CYLINDER AND KEYS. SINCE I HAD PURCHASED A EXTENDED WARRANTY, MY COST WAS $100.00. 3RD OCCURRENCE - SEPTEMBER 28, 2012 AT 63,597MILES: INTERMITTENTLY IGNITION KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH WITHOUT A LOT OF JIGGLING AND FORCE. TECHNICIAN AT SUBURBAN CADILLAC BUICK STATED THAT WE WERE NOT TURNING THE KEY FAR ENOUGH TO RELEASE IT FROM THE IGNITION. NO ACTION WAS TAKEN AT THAT TIME. 4TH OCCURRENCE - NOVEMBER 3, 2014 AT 75778 MILES: AFTER HEARING A REPORT CONCERNING A GM RECALL FOR VEHICLES WHICH ALLOWED REMOVING THE IGNITION KEY WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, I ATTEMPTED AND WAS ABLE TO DO THIS ON MY VUE. I WENT TO SUBURBAN CADILLAC BUICK WHERE THE TECHNICIAN CONFORMED THAT THIS WAS A FACT. HE CHECKED THE VIN AGAINST THE RECALL DATA BASE AND INFORMED ME THAT VUE WAS NOT ON THE LIST BUT THAT I SHOULD HAVE THE REPAIR MADE. THE PARTS HAD TO BE ORDERED AND THE REPAIR WAS MADE ON DECEMBER 15, 2014. THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER AND (2) KEYS WERE REQUIRED. TOTAL COST: $330.36.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

1/14/2015 - KINGS PARK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE KEY RELEASED OUT OF THE IGNITION AND FAILED TO GO BACK INTO THE IGNITION TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIRS WERE MADE BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING TO MARYLAND FROM CHARLOTTE NC. I WAS ON THE HWY GOING APPROX. 65. CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF, NO NOISE, NO WARNING. AS THE CAR SLOWED DOWN, I COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO A STOP. LOOKED DOWN AT THE GEAR SHIFT, IT WAS IN DRIVE. THE IGNITION WAS IN THE ON POSTION. I PUT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND SHUT OFF THE IGNITION. WAITING A FEW SECONDS, I TURNED THE KEY. THE CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME WENT OFF. IT WAS THE CHIME THAT THE CAR MAKES WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOOR AND THE KEYS ARE STILL IN THE IGNTION.( A SERIES OF QUICK DINGS) I DIDNT OPEN THE DOOR. ALL I DID WAS START THE CAR UP. I CONTINUED, NO PROBLEM. THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN ON SATURDAY NOVEMBER 29TH.2014 ON THE HIGHWAY GOING AROUND THE SAME SPEED. THE CAR JERKED SLIGHTLY AND SHUT OFF. THIS TIME IT WAS AT NIGHT. I COASTED TO THE EXIT THAT WAS COMING UP. HAD TROUBLE STERRING BECAUSE THE STEERING WENT OUT, HEAD LIGHTS DIMMED. CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE TOP OF THE EXIT. SAME SITUATION. IGNITION ON, CAR IN DRIVE. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF. TURNED THE IGNITION BACK ON. CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME THAT GOES OFF IF YOU OPEN UP THE DOOR WITH THE KEYS STILL IN THE IGNITION, WENT OFF AGAIN. THE SAME AS BEFORE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING TO MARYLAND FROM CHARLOTTE NC. I WAS ON THE HWY GOING APPROX. 65. CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF, NO NOISE, NO WARNING. AS THE CAR SLOWED DOWN, I COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO A STOP. LOOKED DOWN AT THE GEAR SHIFT, IT WAS IN DRIVE. THE IGNITION WAS IN THE ON POSTION. I PUT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND SHUT OFF THE IGNITION. WAITING A FEW SECONDS, I TURNED THE KEY. THE CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME WENT OFF. IT WAS THE CHIME THAT THE CAR MAKES WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOOR AND THE KEYS ARE STILL IN THE IGNTION.( A SERIES OF QUICK DINGS) I DIDNT OPEN THE DOOR. ALL I DID WAS START THE CAR UP. I CONTINUED, NO PROBLEM. THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN ON SATURDAY NOVEMBER 29TH.2014 ON THE HIGHWAY GOING AROUND THE SAME SPEED. THE CAR JERKED SLIGHTLY AND SHUT OFF. THIS TIME IT WAS AT NIGHT. I COASTED TO THE EXIT THAT WAS COMING UP. HAD TROUBLE STERRING BECAUSE THE STEERING WENT OUT, HEAD LIGHTS DIMMED. CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE TOP OF THE EXIT. SAME SITUATION. IGNITION ON, CAR IN DRIVE. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF. TURNED THE IGNITION BACK ON. CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME THAT GOES OFF IF YOU OPEN UP THE DOOR WITH THE KEYS STILL IN THE IGNITION, WENT OFF AGAIN. THE SAME AS BEFORE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING TO MARYLAND FROM CHARLOTTE NC. I WAS ON THE HWY GOING APPROX. 65. CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF, NO NOISE, NO WARNING. AS THE CAR SLOWED DOWN, I COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO A STOP. LOOKED DOWN AT THE GEAR SHIFT, IT WAS IN DRIVE. THE IGNITION WAS IN THE ON POSTION. I PUT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND SHUT OFF THE IGNITION. WAITING A FEW SECONDS, I TURNED THE KEY. THE CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME WENT OFF. IT WAS THE CHIME THAT THE CAR MAKES WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOOR AND THE KEYS ARE STILL IN THE IGNTION.( A SERIES OF QUICK DINGS) I DIDNT OPEN THE DOOR. ALL I DID WAS START THE CAR UP. I CONTINUED, NO PROBLEM. THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN ON SATURDAY NOVEMBER 29TH.2014 ON THE HIGHWAY GOING AROUND THE SAME SPEED. THE CAR JERKED SLIGHTLY AND SHUT OFF. THIS TIME IT WAS AT NIGHT. I COASTED TO THE EXIT THAT WAS COMING UP. HAD TROUBLE STERRING BECAUSE THE STEERING WENT OUT, HEAD LIGHTS DIMMED. CAR SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE TOP OF THE EXIT. SAME SITUATION. IGNITION ON, CAR IN DRIVE. I PUT MY FOOT ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF. TURNED THE IGNITION BACK ON. CAR STARTED UP AND THE CHIME THAT GOES OFF IF YOU OPEN UP THE DOOR WITH THE KEYS STILL IN THE IGNITION, WENT OFF AGAIN. THE SAME AS BEFORE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/9/2015 - KOKOMO, IN
WE HAVE HAD TROUBLE WITH THE IGNITION SINCE WE'VE HAD IT. AT FIRST WE COULDN'T GET THE KEY OUT OF IGNITION, HAD TO JIGGLE STEERING COLUME TO REMOVE KEY. HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH CLEANED. NOW KEY JUST FALLS OUT OF IGNITION WHILE RUNNING. IT'S DIFFICULT TO GET ANYONES ATTENTION ON THIS MATTER SINCE SATURN IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. ROHRMANS IN LAFAYETTE, IN. USE TO TAKE CARE OF OUR PROBLEMS WITH IT, WHEN SATURN WENT OUT G.M. DIRECTED US TO DEFOUWS IN LAFAYETTE. WE HAD A 2003 SATURN BEFORE AND HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT, SO PLEASE HELP US WITH THIS PROBLEM. THANK YOU: JOYCE NEAL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/7/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THE TRANSMISSSION STARTED MAKING A GRINDING SOUND. I PULLED OVER AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SATURN DEALERSHIP IN DURHAM NC. THEY FIXED THE TRANSMISSION AT NO COST EXEPT I WAS OUT THE MONEY FOR TOWING. AT THIS TIME THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION SUIT AND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD BE REPLACED AT NO COST. FOR ME AND IF I SOLD IT. THE NEXT PERSON TO OWN THE VEHICLE. APPROXIAMTELY A MONTH LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AGAIN ON THE CAR. I ONCE AGAIN HAD IT TOWED TO THE DURHAM SATURN AND THEY FIXED IT AT NOT PRICE. IT HAS JUST GONE OUT AGAIN 1-6-2015 AND WHEN I CALLED THE GM DEALERSHIP, I CALLED TWO OF THEM THOMPSONS GM IN RALEIGH AND HENDRICKS IN RALEIGH THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WON'T FIX IT ANYMORE THAT THEY ONLY HAD TO FIX IT FOR 5 YEARS OR 75,000 MILES OR IT WAS THEN INCREASED TO 8 YEARS OR 100,000 MILES. SO I AM OUTSIDE OF EITHER OF THESE PERAMETERS SO THEY SAID IT WAS GOING TO COST 5000.00 DOLLARS TO FIX THE TRANSMISSION. 4000.00 FOR PARTS AND APPROX.1000.00 FOR THE WORK OR THEY WILL GIVE ME 5000 DOLLAR CREDIT FOR THE CAR AS A TRADE IN ON A BRAND NEW GM VEHICLE THAT I WILL HAVE TO BUY TO GET ANY TRADE IN VALUE FOR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE IS STILL IN PERFECT CONDITION BECAUSE I HAVE TAKEN REALLY GOOD CARE OF IT. IT IS THE FIRST VEHICLE THAT I HAVE DRIVEN OFF THE SHOWROOM FLOOR AND I LOVE IT, BUT THEY NEED TO MAKE THIS RIGHT. THE SHOULD AT LEAST OF LET ME KNOW THAT THEY WEREN'T GOING TO HONOR THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT ANYMORE SO THAT I HAD A CHANCE TO GET RID OF IT BEFORE IT CAME TO THIS. THEY SAID THAT THEY SENT OUT PAPERWORK TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY ON THE CAR, BUT I WASN'T GOING TO SPEND THOUSANDS OF EXTRA DOLLARS PAYING FOR A WARRANTY THAT WOULD HAVE OBVIOUSLY NOT BEEN WORTH IT SINCE NOTHING ELSE HAS GOINE WRONG WITH THE CAR. THE ONE ISSUE I WAS WORRIED ABOUT I THOUGHT WAS COVERED IN THE SUIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

1/5/2015 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE KEY WOULD COME OUT FROM THE IGNITION WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds