Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN VUE - 2005 SATURN VUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 87 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN VUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN VUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN VUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (5)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (11)
Engine (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (21) Structure (2) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2014 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
THE KEY BECAME INCREASINGLY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE CAR ON. I HAD TO JIGGLE FOR SOME TIME TO GET IT TO WORK. THESE TIMES HAVE BECOME MUCH MORE FREQUENT AND MORE DIFFICULT TO TURN THE KEY. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY ONCE IT WAS STARTED AND THE CAR CONTINUED TO RUN. I FOUND THIS OUT BY CHANCE AND NOW IT JUST SLIDES IN AND OUT WHEN RUNNING!!! WELL IT FINALLY HAPPENED AND NO MATTER HOW HARD OR HOW MANY TIMES I HAVE TRIED, THE KEY WON'T WORK AT ALL. I WILL HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED IN THE MORNING TO HAVE THIS FIXED NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2014 - HOPE MILLS, NC
KEY CAN BE TAKEN OUT OF IGNITION WHILE DRIVING AND THE CAR STILL BE ON AND RUNNING AND OR BEING DRIVEN. AT ANY TIME AFTER STARTING THE CAR THE KEY CAN TAKEN OUT AND IT NOT AFFECT THE RUNNING OF THE CAR AT ALL. IT ALSO IS HARD TO TURN THE KEY TO START THE CAR. YOU HAVE TO WIGGLE THE KEY AROUND BEFORE IT RECONGNIZES THE KEY AND THEN IT WILL FINALLY TURN TO BE ABLE TO START THE CAR.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE TO DRIVE FORWARD. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHO ADVISED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STEERING CONTROL FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000. DJR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
DRIVING 65MPH ON THE FREEWAY MY VEHICLE WOULD NOT DOWN SHIFT (AUTOMATIC) AND STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE LOUD VIBRATING NOISE. LETTING OFF THE GAS HOPING AND THINKING IT WOULD DOWN SHIFT, THE CAR STARTED TO TOTALLY SLOW DOWN. SCARED BEING ON A FREEWAY WE PULLED TO THE SIDE, PUT ON THE HAZARD LIGHTS - WE PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED STARTING AGAIN BUT THE CAR WOULD NEVER GET ABOVE 40MPH. WE CRAWLED ALONG AT ABOUT 30MPH TO FIND AN EXIT RAMP, CALLED A TOW TRUCK ($300 FOR BEING OUT OF TOWN) TO BE TOWED BACK TO OUR MECHANIC SHOP. FOUND THE TORQUE CONVERTER WENT BAD WHICH "TOASTED" THE TRANSMISSION. WE ENDED UP REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION WITH A SAME YEAR AND MODEL AS THE OLD ONE. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICES THAT THERE HAD BEEN PRIOR ISSUES AND I AM NOW TERRIFIED THAT THIS ONE WILL GO BAD AS I HAVE RECENTLY READ THAT THESE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - VAN NUYS CA, CA
SINCE I HAVE HAD MY 2005 SATURN VUE I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. MY SHIFTING LINKAGE HAS GONE OUR SEVERAL TIMES. LEAVING ME IN WHATEVER GEAR I'M IN. THIS HAD HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY AT 65MPH THREE (3) TIMES! COMING DOWN A HILL AT 50MPH MY TRANSMISSION SHIFTED FROM 5TH TO 2ND! THAT BLEW MY CLUTCH! ($2000) MY LINKAGE WAS FIXED (THEORETICALLY) BY THREE DEALERSHIPS WHICH DID NOT LAST. ONE ONLY SIX (6) MONTHS! MY 5TH GEAR AND REVERSE DISAPPEARED IN MARCH OF 2014 ($1600) THEN AGAIN MY LINKAGE CABLES WOULDN'T WORK ($448) AND I HAD THEM REPLACED.FINALLY MY SHIFTING FORK FOR THREE (3) GEARS HAD TO BE REPLACED, THAT WAS ANOTHER $336! ON TOP OF ALL THIS MY IGNITION, AFTER A YEAR OF OWNING THIS CAR, I BOUGHT IT NEW, MY KEY WOULD FALL OUT IF MY KNEE HIT IT. WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING! IF I TURNED THE KEY TO THE LOCKED POSITION IT WOULD TAKE SEVERAL JIGGLES TO GET IT TO TURN TO THE RIGHT! WHEN I TOOK IT IT THE LAST TWO (2) FOR TRANSMISSION FIXES THE SHOP COULD NOT START THE CAR! I HAD TO BICYCLE 3 MILES TO THE SHOP TO GET IT STARTED! THE SHIFTING LINKAGE, TRANSMISSION AND KEY HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A PROBLEM! I AM THINKING OF SUING GM!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2014 - MAPLEWOOD, MN
FAULTY IGNITION! NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN THE GM RECALL!!! I AM NOT CERTAIN ON THE DATES OF THE INCIDENTS OR THE MILEAGE - THAT IS ALL ON FILE AT MERIT CHEVEROLET IN ST. PAUL, MN - I PLACED THIS INFORMATION IN THE FORM BECAUSE IT IS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO SUBMIT - I CAN RETRIEVE THE DATES OF SERVICE AND MILEAGE IF NEEDED OTHERWISE, THE REPAIRS ARE FILED!!! THE IGNITION SWITCH LOCKS UP - UNABLE TO TURN THE KEY TO START THE VEHICLE. TAKES GREAT MANIPULATION (JIGGLING) TO GET IT TO TURN. EVENTUALLY, COMPLETELY LOCKS AND MUST BE TOWED TO REPAIR. ONLY HAVE 1 CAR KEY AND 2 HOUSE KEYS ON THE RING. HAVE HAD NEW KEYS CUT. IGNITION STILL FAILS AND IT IS GETTING READY TO FAIL AGAIN! KEY HAS ALSO COME OUT OF THE IGNITION WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING - SAME ISSUE WITH GM IGNITION INVOLVED IN RECALLS. IGNITION HAS BEEN REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY AT MINIMUM ....2 TIMES THROUGH MERIT CHEVEROLET ON HWY 94 & CENTURY/120 IN ST PAUL MN. MAY HAVE BEEN A THIRD REPLACEMENT AT ANOTHER REPAIR SHOP AT OWNER'S COST - LOOKING FOR THE RECEIPT AND LOCATION FOR THAT. THE IGNITION IS GETTING READY TO FAIL AGAIN. THE 2005 SATURN VUE NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN THE CURRENT GM RECALL!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
KEY FALLS OUT WHEN DRIVING. HARD TO TURN CAR OFF AND ON. HAVE HAD CAR TURN OFF AFTER GOING OVER A SPEED BUMP AFTER THE KEY FELL OUT. LOCKED UP THE STEERING AND BRAKES. WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF $600 TO REPLACE THE IGNITION CYLINDER. ALL THESE SYMPTOMS ARE EXACTLY WHAT THE SYMPTOMS ARE FOR THE CARS THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED IN THE PAST FEW MONTHS. PLEASE MAKE THEM INCLUDE SATURN VUE, AS THE PART IS THE SAME THAT'S BEEN RECALLED ON THE ION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/23/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION FAILED TO TURN WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE. THE IGNITION KEY NEEDED TO BE MANIPULATED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE VEHICLE FINALLY STARTED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE KEY DETACHED FROM THE IGNITION AND LANDED ON THE CONTACT+S LAP WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND REMOVED THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, BUT THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING. THE KEY WAS REINSERTED AND MANIPULATED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE SHUT OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSISTENTLY. THE MANUFACTURED WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2014 - QUARRYVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN VUE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING AN ABRUPT LEFT TURN, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED INTO THE PARK POSITION AND TURNED OFF FOR FOUR SECONDS. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THERE WERE NO DIAGNOSTIC TEST COMPLETED BY THE DEALER OR MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2014 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
IN MAY OF 2013 MY HUSBAND AND I PURCHASED A 2005 SATURN VUE AT A DEALER IN ANGOLA, INDIANA WHILE VISITING WITH FAMILY. FOUR MONTHS LATER WE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE ORIGINAL TRANSMISSION TO THE POINT WHERE IT BLEW. BEFORE TAKING IT TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALER WE CALLED SEVERAL TRANSMISSION SHOPS AND THEY REFUSED TO DO THE WORK SINCE IT A CVT TRANSMISSION. SO THE LOCAL CHEVY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION AND IT HAD NOT BEEN 24 HOURS AND WE HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WE TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER THEY MADE SOME ADJUSTMENTS WHICH DID NOT HELP SO THE DEALER HAD TO REPLACE IT A SECOND TIME. I AM DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER. THEY MADE SOME ADJUSTMENTS TO THE SECOND ONE AND DURING ONE OF THEIR TEST DRIVES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SO THE SATURN VUE REMAINED AT THE DEALER FOR A MONTH. AND OF COURSE THE DEALER HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION FOR A 3RD TIME. TRANSMISSION NUMBER 3 LASTED FOR OCTOBER OF 2013 TO FEBRUARY OF 2014. THAT BEING SAID, THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED FOR THE 4TH TIME. THIS ONE ONLY LASTED TO JUNE. ON FRIDAY JUNE 13TH THE DEALER CALLED AND SAID THEY HAD TO ORDER THE 5TH REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION. I CALLED GM ON FRIDAY JUNE 13TH AND I WAS VERY UPSET WITH THEM. GM INFORMED ME AS SO DID THE DEALER THAT BECAUSE OF THE WARRANTY THE DEALER IS NOT ALLOWED TO OPEN A FAILED REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION. MY HUSBAND AND I ARE REALLY UPSET, WE FEEL THAT BECAUSE OF THIS WARRANTY AND THE DEALER NOT BEING ALLOWED TO FIND OUT WHY ALL OF THESE TRANSMISSIONS ARE FAILING GM IS COVERING SOMETHING UP. WE WANT ANSWERS!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds