Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 280 complaints filed for the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Equipment (2) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (3) Structure (43) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (47) Visibility (4)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

6/29/2019 - OXFORD, GA
275/45R20 SUMITOMO HTR SPORT H/P 110H THIS TIRE BLOWOUT AT ABOUT 45 MILES PER HOUR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/22/2019 - MONKTON, MD
THE LAST 3 VEHICLES I'VE OWNED HAVE HAD TOTAL BRAKE FAILURE DUE TO BRAKE LINE FAILURE/ WITH VEHICLES LASTING LONGER AND SALT TREATING FOR WINTER PRECIPITATION, STAINLESS SHOULD BE REQUIRED. THE MOST RECENT WAS A TOYOTA TUNDRA. PREVIOUSLY AN EXPEDITION AND A LEXUS RX300

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/8/2019 - CONWAY, NH
SEPT 2014 MY TRUCKS FRAME WAS RECALLED FOR THE RUST PROBLEM. THE FRAME WAS SCALED AND SPRAYED. MILEAGE 134,500. 6/2018 WITH MILEAGE 164,301 DEALER ADVISES ME FRAME IS GETTING RUSTY! I SAID YOU SCALED AND COATED IT IN 2014 ISN'T IT WARRANTED? THERE ANSWER WAS THAT ENDED LAST MONTH. NOW IT'S A YEAR LATER JUNE 2019 IT ONLY HAS 171,000 AND ONLY 36,500 MILES SINCE THE FRAME WAS COATED. THE TOYOTA DEALER FAILED THE NH STATE INSPECTION. I AM VERY UPSET AS I HAVE SPENT OVER $4500 IN THE PAST 18 MONTHS ON OTHER REPAIRS AND ON GONE 8K MILES. I NEVER WOULD HAVE DONE THOSE REPAIRS IF I WAS ADVISE HOW BAD IR HOW FAST THE RUST WAS GOING TO MAKE MY TRUCK UNSAFE TO DRIVE. WHY DID OTHER TRUCKS GET NEW FRAMES BECAUSE THEY DROVE MORE MILES THEN ME AND HAD THERE FRAMES RUST FASTED. THERE ARE TRUCKS NOW OF THE SAME AGE WITH NEW FRAMES WITH WELL OVER 200K +MILES BECAUSE THERE FRAMES RUSTED FASTER( TIME WISE). THIS IS NOT FAIR FOR THOSE WHO STILL HAVE JUNK FRAMES. ALL THE FRAMED ARE JUNK! BUT MANY GET STUCK WITH THEM BECAUSE IT TOOK LONGER TO RUST TO THE POINT OF FAILER BECAUSE WE DROVE THEM FEWER MILES PER YEAR! MY FRAME HAS FAILED IN THE SAME PLACES AS EVERY FRAME THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED,BUT BECAUSE IT LASTED PAST MAY 2018 MY TRUCK IS JUNK NOW BUT THE PERSON WHO'S FRAME RUSTED OUT BEFORE MAY 18 GETS TO CONTINUE DRIVING IT WITH THERE REPLACEMENT FRAME! HOW IS THIS FAIR???? IF MY FRAME WASN'T SCALED AND COATED IT WOULD HAVE RUSTED BEFORE MAY 2018 AND BEEN REPLACE! THEY JUST MADE IT LAST LONGER TO GET PAST THE MAY 2018 DATE!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/24/2019 - MERCER, PA
I HAVE ONLY OWNED THIS TRUCK FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS NOW. TOOK MY TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC TO GET SOME BRAKE WORK DONE. WHEN HE PULLED THE TIRE OFF OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE HE NOTICED A CRACK IN THE FRAME. SOME FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED SOME VERY BAD ROT ON THE FRAME AND A HOLE ABOUT THE SIZE OF TWO FISTS THAT SOMEBODY HAD TRIED TO PATCH WITH JUST BONDO AND PAINTED BACK OVER TO HIDE IT. IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN VISIBLE WITHOUT PULLING THE TIRE OFF. UNSURE OF WHEN THIS ALL OCCURRED BUT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN ROTTED OUT FOR A WHILE. I HAVE NO PICTURES TO UPLOAD AS IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND STILL AT THE GARAGE. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF OTHERS DRIVING THESE LATER YEARS FIRST GENERATION TUNDRAS AND TOYOTAS NEGLECT AT FIXING THIS SAFETY ISSUE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/22/2019 - DECATUR, AL
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED APROX 10 YEARS AGO. THE ISSUE THAT I HAVE HAD LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP REMAINS UNRESOLVED. WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE BRAKE IT IMMEDIATELY LUNGES FORWARD AND TRAVELS WITHOUT FOOT ON THE GAS UP TO SPEED OF 15 MPH ON FLAT LEVEL GROUND. IT IS DEFINITELY NOT SAFE. IT COULD CAUSE?AN ACCIDENT. MY BROTHER'S INSISTED THAT I HAVE IT LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE NOT HAD A SATISFACTORY ANSWER TO THIS ISSUE. AGAIN THE ANSWER REMAINS THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL. COULD IT BE A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/22/2019 - DECATUR, AL
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED APROX 10 YEARS AGO. THE ISSUE THAT I HAVE HAD LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP REMAINS UNRESOLVED. WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE BRAKE IT IMMEDIATELY LUNGES FORWARD AND TRAVELS WITHOUT FOOT ON THE GAS UP TO SPEED OF 15 MPH ON FLAT LEVEL GROUND. IT IS DEFINITELY NOT SAFE. IT COULD CAUSE?AN ACCIDENT. MY BROTHER'S INSISTED THAT I HAVE IT LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE NOT HAD A SATISFACTORY ANSWER TO THIS ISSUE. AGAIN THE ANSWER REMAINS THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL. COULD IT BE A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2019 - DECATUR, AL
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED APROX 10 YEARS AGO. THE ISSUE THAT I HAVE HAD LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP REMAINS UNRESOLVED. WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE BRAKE IT IMMEDIATELY LUNGES FORWARD AND TRAVELS WITHOUT FOOT ON THE GAS UP TO SPEED OF 15 MPH ON FLAT LEVEL GROUND. IT IS DEFINITELY NOT SAFE. IT COULD CAUSE?AN ACCIDENT. MY BROTHER'S INSISTED THAT I HAVE IT LOOKED AT BY TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. I HAVE NOT HAD A SATISFACTORY ANSWER TO THIS ISSUE. AGAIN THE ANSWER REMAINS THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL. COULD IT BE A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2019 - AMSTERDAM, NY
SERVICE BULLETIN P2445 FOR SECONDARY AIR INGECTION SYSTEM THEN NOTES THE FRAME IS CORROSION AND MOUNTS ARE BRAKING OFF

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/11/2019 - AMSTERDAM, NY
SERVICE BULLETIN P2445 FOR SECONDARY AIR INGECTION SYSTEM THEN NOTES THE FRAME IS CORROSION AND MOUNTS ARE BRAKING OFF

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2019 - AMSTERDAM, NY
SERVICE BULLETIN P2445 FOR SECONDARY AIR INGECTION SYSTEM THEN NOTES THE FRAME IS CORROSION AND MOUNTS ARE BRAKING OFF

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds