Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S40 - 2005 VOLVO S40 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2005 VOLVO S40

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 VOLVO S40. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 VOLVO S40, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Parking Brake (1) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2014 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
3 OF THE 4 DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS ON MY CAR HAVE STOPPED WORKING. THIS HAPPENED RIGHT AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. THE LOCKS WILL NOT LONGER LOCK OR UNLOCK. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. PLEASE LOOK AT REQUIRING VOLVO TO FIX THIS ISSUE. IT IS A KNOW ISSUE DUE TO FAULTY PARTS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/2/2014 - PROVIDENCE , RI
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 VOLVO S40. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER WAS LEAKING INTO THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR BOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUN ROOF LINES NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 34,900. KMJ

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/30/2013 - JACKSON, TN
MY CAR WAS MAKING A PUMPING NOISE FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND THEY INFORMED ME OF THE PEM RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP TO HAVE REPAIRED AND THEY SAID THE PEM WAS NOT THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT WAS A FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR AND POSSIBLY THE FUEL PUMP ITSELF. I DECLINED THE REPAIR AND EXACTLY 2 WEEKS LATER THE CAR FAILED TO START. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC SINCE I LIVE 70 MILES FROM THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP. MY MECHANIC REPLACED AND MOVED THE PEM TO A NEW LOCATION, WHICH WAS EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS FOR! THE DEALERSHIP GAVE ME A FORM FOR REIMBURSEMENT FROM VOLVO, BUT VOLVO REFUSED TO PAY THE $634 THAT I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. THEY FIRST TRIED TO SAY IT WAS NOT A "GENUINE VOLVO PART" BUT I VERIFIED IT WAS. THEN THEY SAID SINCE I DECLINED THE REPAIR FOR THE FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR, THEY COULD NOT PAY! THE REIMBURSEMENT FORM IS FOR THE PEM AND HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR. SO THIS PEM BECAME FAULTY IN A 2 WEEK PERIOD? I THINK NOT! OBVIOUSLY VOLVO DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR CARS AND I FEEL LIKE THEY LIED TO ME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/30/2013 - JACKSON, TN
MY CAR WAS MAKING A PUMPING NOISE FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND THEY INFORMED ME OF THE PEM RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP TO HAVE REPAIRED AND THEY SAID THE PEM WAS NOT THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT WAS A FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR AND POSSIBLY THE FUEL PUMP ITSELF. I DECLINED THE REPAIR AND EXACTLY 2 WEEKS LATER THE CAR FAILED TO START. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC SINCE I LIVE 70 MILES FROM THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP. MY MECHANIC REPLACED AND MOVED THE PEM TO A NEW LOCATION, WHICH WAS EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS FOR! THE DEALERSHIP GAVE ME A FORM FOR REIMBURSEMENT FROM VOLVO, BUT VOLVO REFUSED TO PAY THE $634 THAT I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. THEY FIRST TRIED TO SAY IT WAS NOT A "GENUINE VOLVO PART" BUT I VERIFIED IT WAS. THEN THEY SAID SINCE I DECLINED THE REPAIR FOR THE FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR, THEY COULD NOT PAY! THE REIMBURSEMENT FORM IS FOR THE PEM AND HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR. SO THIS PEM BECAME FAULTY IN A 2 WEEK PERIOD? I THINK NOT! OBVIOUSLY VOLVO DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR CARS AND I FEEL LIKE THEY LIED TO ME.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

7/30/2013 - TROY, MI
2005 VOLVO S40. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DEFECTIVE SUN ROOF DRAINAGE THAT LEAD TO VEHICLE ELECTRICAL DAMAGE. THE CONSUMER NOTICED WATER LEAKING IN THE VEHICLE AND SOAKING THE FLOOR MATS BEHIND THE DRIVER'S SEAT. YEARS LATER, THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THERE WAS KNOWN DEFECT IN THE SUNROOF DRAINS, THAT CAUSED THEM TO BECOME CLOGGED AND FLOOD THE FLOOR, WHERE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS WERE STORED. ALTHOUGH, THE DRAINAGE CLOGS COULD BE CLEARED, IT WOULD ONLY BE A TEMPORARY FIX DUE TO THE DEFECT, AND THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WAS LIKELY ALREADY DAMAGED FROM ALL THE LEAKING AND IT WOULD COST $5,000 TO FIX. THE CONSUMER STATED OVER THE YEARS, HE NOTICED RELATIVELY MINOR PROBLEMS DUE TO THE LASTING WATER DAMAGE, SUCH AS REDUCED AND INCONSISTENT PERFORMANCE, AND RANDOM ERROR MESSAGES APPEARING AND DISAPPEARING .

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/29/2013 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
I HAVE RESEARCHED VOLVO FORUMS AND FOUND THAT VOLVO COMPLETED RECALL #181 FOR A FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR. (HTTP://SS.OTHERON.COM/RKELLY/VIDEO/R181+RETAILER+LETTER+-+FINAL.PDF) WHILE I DON'T OWN A VEHICLE INCLUDED IN VOLVO RECALL 181, I DO OWN A VOLVO WHICH SHARES THE SAME FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR. HERE IS THE BACKGROUND: I DRIVE A 2005 VOLVO S40, T5 AWD. I AM THE ONLY PERSON WHOM HAS EVER OWNED THIS CAR. IN SEPTEMBER 2011 MY FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR FAILED AND I WAS CHARGED APPROXIMATELY $550 AT THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT REPLACED. IT FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD ALSO EXPERIENCED POWER-SURGE TYPE BEHAVIORS DURING START-UP, AFTER THE CAR HAD SET OVERNIGHT OR DURING MY WORKDAY. YESTERDAY, WITH THE KIDS IN THE CAR, I WAS DRIVING ALONG ABOUT 60MPH AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IS WAS LIKE MY CAR HAD STALLED OUT. THE BRAKES WORKED AND TURN SIGNALS WORKED. HOWEVER, THE STEERING HAD TIGHTENED UP. ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD WERE LIT. I COASTED TO THE FAR RIGHT LANE AND TURNED ON MY CAUTION LIGHTS, STILL BEING IN THE ACTUAL ROAD. I TURNED THE KEY OFF AND THEN RESTARTED THE CAR. THE CAR STARTED OK. AS SOON AS I ARRIVED HOME IT HAPPENED AGAIN; THIS WAS NOT EVEN 5 MILES AND 15 MINUTES LATER. THE CURRENT FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR PART NUMBER SHOWS BOSCH PART- 31272730; WHICH, AGAIN, WAS NEW AS OF 2011. I'M CONCERNED THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART IS NOW FAILING- ALMOST 2 YEARS LATER AND LESS THAN 7,000 MILES LATER! RECENTLY I HAVE ALSO FOUND THE ISSUES WITH THE POWER-SURGE DURING START UP HAVE BEGAN RECURRING. UNTIL RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I WAS UNAWARE THERE WAS A RELATION BETWEEN THE POWER-SURGE AND FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT ON MONDAY TO DROP OFF MY CAR AT VOLVO. AT THIS POINT I DON'T HAVE CONFIDENCE THAT THE ROOT CAUSE AND COMPLETE SCOPE HAVE BEEN IDENTIFIED IN VOLVO RECALL #181 OR THAT REPLACING THIS PART WILL CORRECT THE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/20/2013 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 VOLVO S40. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VEHICLE STALLED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE INFORMATION SENSOR LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED NOR WAS THE MANUFACTURER NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2013 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I WAS IN THE INTERSECTION READY TO MAKE A TURN WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY STALLED ALL THE DASH DISPLAY LIGHTS WENT OUT ALL GAUGES STOPPED WORKING AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD NOT GO OFF WHEN I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR THE DASH SUDDENLY DISPLAYED BRAKE FAILURE PULL OVER SAFELY, AND IMMOBILIZER CHECK MANUAL AND THE CAR WOULD NOT START IT HAD TO BE PUSHED ACROSS THE INTERSECTION AND IT HAS BEEN SITTING IN A PARKING LOT SINCE THEN WAITING TO BE TOWED THIS HAS HAPPENED ON 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED AT COMPANY EXPENSE EACH TIME I HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO BE IN A PARKING LOT OR A PUBLIC STREET BUT ON THE LAST INCIDENT I WOULD'VE BEEN ON THE FREEWAY. I HOPE SOME ONE WILL CALL OR CONTACT ME TO RECTIFY THIS ISSUE I LOVE THE VOLVO BRAND BUT GOING THROUGH THIS MAKE NOT WANT TO CONTINUE ON WITH ANY OTHER MODEL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2013 - NIXA, MO
THIS CAR HAS DEVELOPED AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WHERE THE DASH LIGHTS START FLICKERING ON AND OFF DISPLAYING VARIOUS FAILURES ON THE DASHBOARD DISPLAY, LIKE IMMOBILIZER FAILURE AND CRASH MODE AND VARIOUS OTHER WARNINGS. AT THE SAME TIME, THE RADIO CUTS OUT AND AN AUDIBLE "CLICKING" IS HEARD UNDERNEATH THE DASH BOARD. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED OUT COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING CAUSING A DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITION AND I HAVE HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE WILL START BACK UP, OTHER TIMES IT SIMPLY WON'T CLICK OR TURN OVER AT ALL. I FEAR AN INCIDENT WHERE THE STEERING COLUMN WILL LOCK AUTOMATICALLY WHEN THE VEHICLE DIES, AS THE STEERING COLUMN IS UNLOCKED BY THE IMMOBILIZER KEY FOB TO INITIALLY START THE CAR. IF THIS WERE TO OCCUR I FEAR THIS COULD CREATE AN UNSAFE CONDITION FOR THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE AND OTHERS MOTORISTS OR PEDESTRIANS. I HAVE JUST HAD TWO NEW REMOTES PROGRAMMED TO THE VEHICLE AND THIS PROCEDURE WAS PERFORMED AT WEISS BRENTWOOD VOLVO IN ST. LOUIS MISSOURI. I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR ONE WEEK PRIOR TO TAKING THIS CAR TO WEISS VOLVO WITHOUT ISSUE AND THIS PROBLEM ONLY AROSE SINCE THIS SERVICE WAS PERFORMED AT WEISS VOLVO. THE PREVIOUS OWNER TOLD ME THIS PROBLEM DID NOT EXIST PRIOR TO THE SALE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/16/2012 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN THERE WAS A LOUD BOOM IN MY CAR THAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. GLASS THEN CAME DOWN ON AND AROUND ME IN MY CAR. I PULLED OVER AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE. IT LOOKS LIKE THE GLASS FROM MY SUNROOF CAME UP AND OUT OF MY CAR. IT DID NOT APPEAR AS IF ANYTHING HIT IT. THERE IS A LARGE GAPING HOLE IN MY SUNROOF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds