Auto Recalls for Consumers

YAMAHA WARRIOR - 2005 YAMAHA WARRIOR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by YAMAHA

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2005 YAMAHA WARRIOR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 YAMAHA WARRIOR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 YAMAHA WARRIOR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/18/2012 - ANTIOCH, IL
WHILE RUNNING THE ENGINE AT AN IDLE AFTER AN OIL CHANGE, A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL WAS DETECTED. THE OIL FILL POINT, A REMOTE TANK, IS UNDER THE SEAT. ALSO UNDER THE SEAT THERE IS A SECOND FUEL TANK, OR SECONDARY TANK THAT HOUSES THE ELECTRIC PUMP USED TO PROVIDE PRESSURIZED FUEL FOR THE FUEL INJECTION. THERE ARE MULTIPLE PORTS IN THE TOP OF THE PUMP HOUSING TOP. THE SMALLEST ONE IS FACING STRAIGHT UP, THIS ONE WAS CRACKED AND LEAKING FUEL. A SEARCH OF THE WEB REVEALED OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE HAVE SEEN THE SAME ISSUE. ONE OWNER EVEN STATED A NEW PART FROM YAMAHA BOUGHT AS A REPLACEMENT TO ADDRESS THE CONCERN WAS ALSO BROKEN IN THE SAME LOCATION IN AN INTACT BOX. THE PUMP IS USED ON 2002 TO 2009 YAMAHA ROAD STAR WARRIOR MODELS. THIS COULD VERY EASILY BECOME A FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/27/2007 - GARDEN CITY, KS
05 1700 YAMAHA ROADSTAR; BIKE WILL LEAN OUT AND DIE,EVEN AFTER COMPLETELY WARMED UP, HAPPENS WHEN ACCELERATING JUST OFF OF IDLE, ESPECIALLY WHEN TURNING. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC OR CROSSING INTERSECTIONS.DEALER RESPONSE: WELL THEY ALL DO THAT! WE CANNOT HELP YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

3/21/2007 - BEDFORD, TX
ENGINE CUTTING OUT AT APPROXIMATELY 3100 RPMS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/14/2006 - CHULA VISTA, CA
CAM SENSOR (CPS) FAILURE ON A 2005 YAMAHA ROAD STAR WARRIOR. 1ST ONE WENT OUT AT LESS THAN 1000 MILES. BIKE STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. IT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. SECOND ONE WENT OUT AT 5600 MILES. ENGINE WOULD MISS DURING ACCELERATION BETWEEN 3000-4000 RPM'S. REPLACED CPS WITH A NEW ONE AND PROBLEM WAS FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/14/2006 - CHULA VISTA, CA
CAM SENSOR (CPS) FAILURE ON A 2005 YAMAHA ROAD STAR WARRIOR. 1ST ONE WENT OUT AT LESS THAN 1000 MILES. BIKE STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. IT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. SECOND ONE WENT OUT AT 5600 MILES. ENGINE WOULD MISS DURING ACCELERATION BETWEEN 3000-4000 RPM'S. REPLACED CPS WITH A NEW ONE AND PROBLEM WAS FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

9/20/2006 - CROSSVILLE , TN
1-MY 2005 YAMAHA 1700 ROADSTAR SILVERADO HAS BEEN SPUTTERING AND HEAVY BACKFIRING COMING OUT OF THE EXHAUST INCLUDING FLAMES, 2-THE BIKE HAS BEEN DYING AT RED LIGHTS AND AT LOW ENGINE REVOLUTIONS, I WAS TOLD BY MY DEALER THAT YAMAHA RECOGNIZES THEY HAVE TO SHORT OF DIPSTICKS IN THE OIL TANK AND THEREFORE FILLING THE ENGINES WITH TO MUCH OIL AND THE OIL IS MAKING THE VALVES STICK PLUS THEY ARE INSTALLING TOO WEAK OF VALVE SPRINGS, 3-CHANGE VALVE SPRINGS AND INSTALL NEW DIPSTICK TO LOWER OIL LEVEL IN TANK + RUN 1 RANGE HOTTER SPARK PLUGS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2006 - HOUSTON, TX
BIKE WAS CUTTING OFF (LIKE IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF GAS OR LIKE WHEN YOU HIT THE KILL SWITCH) AT ABOUT 3200 RPM ,80 TO 90 MPH,AND THE ONLY THING I COULD KEEP IT RUNNING WAS TO PULL THE CLUTCH AND GIVE IT A LITTLE GAS. THAT HAS HAPEND SINCE DEC.2005 MANY TIMES SPECIAL ON HWY'S AT THE ABOVE SPEEDS. I'M A MEMBER OF THE RSWAARRIOR.COM FORUM AND A LOT OF OUR MEMBERS WITH SAME BIKE AS MINE,YAMAHA ROAD STAR WARRIOR AND MAJORITY 2005 YEAR MODEL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND RESOLVED IT BY INSTALLING A NEW SENSOR.AND FINALY I HAD TO ORDER A NEW PART,CRANK POSITION SENSOR, AND REPLACE IT TODAY 8-24-06. WHEN I TOOK THE OLD PART OUT THE BRACKET,THAT HOLDS THE SENSOR SECURE WITH TWO SCREWS ONE ON EACH SIDE OF THE SENSOR, IT WAS BROKEN ON ONE SIDE AND ONLY ONE SCREW WAS HOLDING THE SENSOR,SO THE SENSOR WASN'T MAKING PROPER CONTACT AND WAS CREATING THE STALING,CUTING OFF.ECT. THAT I STATED ABOVE. I WAS LUCKY THE BRACKET DIDN'T BRAKE COMPLETLY AND THE BIKE DIDN'T QUIT ON ME GOING AT THE HWY SPEEDS,THANK GOD...WE HAVE CONTACT YAMAHA AND REPORT IT THIS FALIURE AND UNTIL THIS DAY 8-24-06 NO RESPONSE... PS: MY BIKE HAS ONLY 8156 MILES ON IT AND I BOUGHT IT NEW 0 MILES ON JAN.OF 2005.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

8/22/2006 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THESE ARE EXCERPTS FROM THE LETTER THAT I SENT TO YAMAHA ON JAN 15TH, 2006: THE VALVES BEGAN STICKING ON THE ENGINE, RESULTING IN SEVERE POWER LOSS AND MAKING THE BIKE DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. I TRANSPORTED THE BIKE BACK TO SYLACAUGA ON NOV 15TH, AND EXPLAINED TO THE SERVICE MANAGER THE SYMPTOMS. I ALSO TOLD HIM THAT BASED ON WHAT I HAD EXPERIENCED, THAT I WAS FAIRLY CERTAIN THAT IT WAS THE EXHAUST VALVES THAT WERE STICKING-+ª.. HE SAID THAT THEY WOULD TAKE A LOOK AT THE BIKE. ON DECEMBER 13TH, 29 DAYS LATER, HE CALLED TO SAY THAT THE BIKE WAS READY. HE CLAIMED THAT MY IGNITION MODULE WAS FAULTY, AND HAD BURNED OUT MY FUEL PUMP. HE REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND THE IGNITION MODULE WITH A SPEEDSTAR UNIT, AND CHARGED ME NOTHING. HE ALSO REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS, CLAIMING THAT THEY WERE THE WRONG ONES. THIS CURED NONE OF THE SYMPTOMS THAT I WAS EXPERIENCING. AFTER RIDING THE BIKE FOR SEVERAL DAYS, AND HAVING IT STALL, BACKFIRE, AND UNABLE TO PULL A HILL, I AGAIN TOOK IT BACK. I LEFT IT ON DECEMBER 20TH. I AGAIN TOLD THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT I WAS REASONABLY CERTAIN THAT THE EXHAUST VALVES WERE STICKING. I PICKED UP THE BIKE AGAIN ON JANUARY 7TH. THE SERVICE MANAGER CLAIMED THAT THEY HAD -++CURED-+¥ THE PROBLEMS BY RICHENING THE MIXTURE ON THE CARBURETOR. HE ALSO STATED THAT THEY HAD RIDDEN IT SEVERAL TIMES, AND THAT IT WAS RUNNING FINE. WHEN I GOT HOME, I UNLOADED THE BIKE, AND TRIED TO CRANK IT. IT WAS EXTREMELY RICH, AND BLACK SMOKE BELCHED FROM THE EXHAUST. HOWEVER, I REASONED, I WILL LET IT WARM UP, GO FOR A RIDE AND SEE IF THEY INDEED FIXED THE PROBLEM WITH THESE SIMPLE ADJUSTMENTS. IT RAN OK FOR A COUPLE OF MILES, THEN A VALVE STUCK AGAIN, WITH THE ASSOCIATED BACKFIRING, BUCKING, AND LACK OF POWER. I BARELY GOT THE BIKE HOME, RUNNING AT 45 MPH, ON WHAT FELT LIKE ONE CYLINDER. SO, AFTER 48 DAYS IN THE SHOP, I STILL DID NOT HAVE A SAFE, PERFORMING MOTORCYCLE. I DECIDED TO FIX THE BIKE, EVEN THOUGH IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2006 - STEPHENS CITY, VA
THE REAR CYLINDER VALVES ARE STICKING OPEN WHEN MY 2005 YAMAHA ROADSTAR IS WARMING UP. IT HAPPENS VERY UNEXPECTEDLY AND WITHOUT WARNING CAUSING A LOSS OF POWER. THIS LOSS OF POWER HAS LEFT ME SITTING ALONG A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY WITH A NARROW SHOULDER AS WELL AS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO DROP THE BIKE DURING A LEFT HAND TURN IN FRONT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I SPOKE WITH THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP BUT THEY CLAIMED TO NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A PROBLEM WHILE IT IS WIDELY KNOWN AMONG ROADSTAR RIDERS THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM. IT IS JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS INJURED BY THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

8/19/2006 - BROOKHAVEN, PA
SINCE MY 2005 YAMAHA ROAD STAR HAD 3000-3500 MILES ON IT, IT HAS DEVELOPED A SEVERE LOSS OF COMPRESSION IN IT'S REAR CYLINDER. THIS CAUSES A SAFETY HAZARD BY NOT PRODUCING THE APPROPRIATE ACCELERATION OF SPEED IN CRUCIAL SITUATIONS. AN EXAMPLE WOULD BE WHILE ACCELERATING WHEN MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY. THE MOTORCYCLE OFTENTIMES CANNOT PRODUCE THE SPEED REQUIRED TO SAFELY ENTER INTO A MOVING TRAFFIC LANE. I FEAR BEING HIT OR KILLED IN A TRAFFIC ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF IT, POSSIBLY NOT BEING ABLE TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY ENOUGH OUT OF ANOTHER MOTORIST'S WAY. THIS PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY 'STICKY' VALVES/EXCESSIVE CARBON BUILD-UP IN THE REAR CYLINDER AND VALVES. NOTE; BECAUSE MY MODEL IS NOT LISTED AMONG THE YAMAHA MOTORCYCLE MODEL'S LISTED IN THE DROP-DOWN MENU IN THIS COMPLAINT, I SELECTED 'WARRIOR' AS IT IS CLOSELY RELATED. THIS HAS CAUSED ME PROBLEM'S WELL IN EXCESS OF 300 TIMES, AS I HAVE NUMBERED IN THE 'FAILURES' BOX BELOW. ALSO, THE DEFECTIVE COMPONENT IS UNKNOWN TO ME. IN THIS COMPLAINT I WAS ASKED TO SELECT A DEFECTIVE COMPONENT AND IN ORDER TO CONTINUE, I CHOOSE AN ARBITRARY ONE, FOR THE SAKE OF COMPLETING AND SUBMITTING THIS COMPLAINT ONLY. ONE WAS REQUIRED TO CONTINUE, OTHERWISE I COULDN'T ACCOMPLISH COMPLETING THE COMPLAINT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds